View Full Version : Clare League 2013/14
sour grapes
No he is right. It was a bit of a freak goal. It was a decent enough game played in difficult conditions. Also thanks to the Sligo/ Leitrim District League for the hospitality they showed to everyone that travelled up for the game. It was very much appreciated.
Shuffleruns
27/01/2014, 11:07 AM
Who do Clare play now in the semi-final?
footballfriend
27/01/2014, 1:24 PM
Undecied yet. 3 other quarters have to be played.
28/01/2014, 12:25 AM
sour grapesYou obviously weren't even there so can't comment.
footballfriend
28/01/2014, 1:25 PM
Some amount of rain forcasted ahead. Games probl at risk again.
Rider Cups
28/01/2014, 4:24 PM
Fantastic result for clare league , delighted for all involved , obviously Murphy has something about him .
Second
28/01/2014, 5:55 PM
Well that and the fact that he didnt just pick avenue players like previous managers. Great variety of clubs represented
Hibs7772
28/01/2014, 9:54 PM
Hibs7772 you can call me by whatever name you want. I've seen you play many times and it doesn't surprise me Hibs are struggling because of the quality of players they're picking from aren't good enough, and as you say yourself this is just my opinion. Now just on your opinions about the 3 lads you've mentioned to be good enough for the OT squad I agree slightly. The problem is the 3 lads haven't shown anything consistent in a long time. For example Jamie comes and goes from club to club when he feels like it and as for Brian you can't be sure if he'll stay in of a Saturday night and turn up Sunday. Both of these lads have let your own club down over the years. Gary is the same you might get burst of interest from him now and again, but to say he's good enough for the Clare squad is mad.can you answer me these few questions 1. How much of the Clare league have you seen? 2. Have you seen all the players on the Clare squad play? 3. Do you think them 3 lads would get into the Newmarket and Avenue teams that make up a big part of the Clare OT squad? I'm asking this because I don't think you've seen the likes of Brigdale, Ronan McCormack, Mark Roache, Daryl Eade, Colin Smyth, Croc just to name a few play? These are lads trying to get into the side in the positions the 3 lads you've mentioned play, and are all-round better players then them imo. Remember talent is only half of whats needed. The lads I've mentioned are also reliable which can't be said for the 3 lads.
To answer your questions, 1. I've seen a bits and pieces of the Clare league. 2. No i haven't seen all of the Clare squad play but I have seen a few of them. I think the 3 lads have more than enough ability to get on the Newmarket or Avenue teams, as you say you need more than ability but If they put in the commitment and effort I think they could easily get on either team. The only one of those lads that I've seen play is Colin Smyth, he's a good player but I never said the whole squad was average, just said there are players playing for clubs the likes of Olympic that are better, that's just my opinion just like you have given your humble opinion!
fifty50
03/02/2014, 10:12 PM
Any premier teams strengthen squads in transfer window??
OneNightOnly
04/02/2014, 10:22 AM
Who here thinks there are far too many clubs in Clare? 29 plus 3 that don't enter CDSL.
Second
04/02/2014, 12:53 PM
Who here thinks there are far too many clubs in Clare? 29 plus 3 that don't enter CDSL.
What sort of a statement is that. What 3 dont enter clare league I know 2 shannon clubs but who else.?? and how can you have too many teams
Shuffleruns
04/02/2014, 1:16 PM
Any premier teams strengthen squads in transfer window??
Some might have :D
OneNightOnly
04/02/2014, 1:31 PM
Lough Derg in Killaloe play in North Tipp, well let's just say there was a proper relationship between Kilrush Rangers and Moneypoint, add in St Pats and West Clare, join up and make one club, instead I'd three clubs going no where in third division. Another example would be Moher Ennistymon and Burren to merge and make one very strong premier team.
onetrickpony
04/02/2014, 2:08 PM
Second he is only trying too get a discussion going funny that. He hasn't said there is too many just wants lads view on it but yet again u come on looking for an argument. Onenightonly my opinion would be if u cut numbers it wouldn't mean a more competitive league and we would loss more players to limerick league. Can't really see any harm in having as many teams we can.
Second
04/02/2014, 4:15 PM
Second he is only trying too get a discussion going funny that. He hasn't said there is too many just wants lads view on it but yet again u come on looking for an argument. Onenightonly my opinion would be if u cut numbers it wouldn't mean a more competitive league and we would loss more players to limerick league. Can't really see any harm in having as many teams we can.
Onetrickpony
*Originally Posted by*OneNightOnly*
Do you want to read it again.. who here thinks there are far too many clubs in clare .. he would hardly make a statement like that if he didnt think it..im not starting an argument im expressing my opinion just like you ok..how can you have too many clubs
So come down off your high HORSE ..
fifty50
04/02/2014, 6:11 PM
Care to expand shuffleruns??
fifty50
04/02/2014, 6:12 PM
What sort of a statement is that. What 3 dont enter clare league I know 2 shannon clubs but who else.?? and how can you have too many teams
Think you've scared him off second!!
Second
04/02/2014, 6:33 PM
Think you've scared him off second!!
How can you have too many teams.. surely the more the merrier. If you try join parishes or teams together you will ruin things. Look at bunratty cratloe.
Shuffleruns
04/02/2014, 8:22 PM
Care to expand shuffleruns??
Bridge Utd signed some good players.
footballfriend
04/02/2014, 8:28 PM
Clare away to winners of Kerry V UCL tie in semi of Oscar Traynor.
fifty50
04/02/2014, 8:37 PM
Oh I know who Bridge signed
Second
04/02/2014, 9:31 PM
Oh I know who Bridge signed
Do tell all.. did young mcmahon get his form signed
fifty50
04/02/2014, 9:36 PM
Pa McMahon
James Harty
Jake Dunlea
Jack Carrig
Declan O Mara
Gavin Whyte
All decent young players
Second
04/02/2014, 10:20 PM
Pa McMahon
James Harty
Jake Dunlea
Jack Carrig
Declan O Mara
Gavin Whyte
All decent young players
Ya some good players there.where declan o mara sign from ???. Only problem is will they turn up every week . Isn't that why most of them shannon lads weren't playing regularly for hibs and town.. great signings if committed but worrying for locals with so many outsiders coming in. Are they all signed up to A team??
fifty50
04/02/2014, 10:52 PM
Not my job to pick Bridge A team so I'll leave that to the powers that be, bar Declan o Mara, who signed from Summerville, all are u19. There are no 'Outsiders' at Bridge Utd.
Your address is irrelevant
Second
04/02/2014, 10:56 PM
Not my job to pick Bridge A team so I'll leave that to the powers that be, bar Declan o Mara, who signed from Summerville, all are u19. There are no 'Outsiders' at Bridge Utd.
Your address is irrelevant
Good answer and right attitude.. I think that you will find declan o mara is more than 19.. at least 30..I thought he signed back with olympic b as I saw him play a match for them this year. Might have been a friendly
old git
04/02/2014, 10:57 PM
Pa McMahon
James Harty
Jake Dunlea
Jack Carrig
Declan O Mara
Gavin Whyte
All decent young players
decent young players on their day maybe but have to question there commitment
harty could not train or turn up for matches with hibs and he has not made to many training sessions with the bridge so far , mc mahon quit Shannon town and made a comeback with the bridge / jack carraig the same / dunlea was struggling to get onto a terrible hibs cant see the bridge lads putting up with the same carry on out there ,,
Second
04/02/2014, 11:11 PM
decent young players on their day maybe but have to question there commitment
harty could not train or turn up for matches with hibs and he has not made to many training sessions with the bridge so far , mc mahon quit Shannon town and made a comeback with the bridge / jack carraig the same / dunlea was struggling to get onto a terrible hibs cant see the bridge lads putting up with the same carry on out there ,,
That's what I was thinking old git if they couldn't bother training with "their clubs " what would make them change and travel to bridge for training. Bridge utd have been making great strides hopefully this wont upset too many lads. Bridge have always been close knit community team made up of locals.
Shuffleruns
04/02/2014, 11:14 PM
I think that you will find declan o mara is more than 19.. at least 30..I thought he signed back with olympic b as I saw him play a match for them this year. Might have been a friendly
Where was this game? He hasn't played a game for Olympic in well over a year, if not more.. trained with olympic b alright for a bit.
old git
04/02/2014, 11:30 PM
Where was this game? He hasn't played a game for Olympic in well over a year, if not more.. trained with olympic b alright for a bit.
did he not play in Wesley webb with one of the Olympics ?? he is not u19 anymore ;)
Shuffleruns
04/02/2014, 11:44 PM
did he not play in Wesley webb with one of the Olympics ?? he is not u19 anymore ;)
Ye maybe.
fifty50
04/02/2014, 11:50 PM
That's what I was thinking old git if they couldn't bother training with "their clubs " what would make them change and travel to bridge for training. Bridge utd have been making great strides hopefully this wont upset too many lads. Bridge have always been close knit community team made up of locals.
Nobody from the Bridge would get upset about the club growing and attracting better players..
May upset others but certainly not Bridge Utd
old git
05/02/2014, 12:03 AM
Nobody from the Bridge would get upset about the club growing and attracting better players..
May upset others but certainly not Bridge Utd
good to see any club growing and attracting players but some of the players mentioned here would not fall into that better player statement. plus the bridge teams were always based on homegrown local lads willing to give their all for their team with the odd outsider and some smashing teams over the years
fifty50
05/02/2014, 12:13 AM
It's not as if all the aforementioned players are the core of the A team, I'm sure management will pick and choose accordingly as they see fit, but it's great to have these choices to make.
talisman
05/02/2014, 7:37 AM
agree with old git, bridge teams have always been mainly local lads, which is a priceless thing to have and something that is largely underestimated and ignored..... gavin whyte good young local lad but the rest of them are poisonous signings...... what is it with this generation of shannon lads that cannot commit to one club for any period of time at all...... this is exactly why shannon teams are struggling because of idiots who jump from club to club, constantly on the move. cant see this being a positive thing for bridge, 1/2 outsiders, ok but 5 is way too many. especially when these lads couldnt spell loyalty
Shuffleruns
05/02/2014, 8:13 AM
agree with old git, bridge teams have always been mainly local lads, which is a priceless thing to have and something that is largely underestimated and ignored..... gavin whyte good young local lad but the rest of them are poisonous signings...... what is it with this generation of shannon lads that cannot commit to one club for any period of time at all...... this is exactly why shannon teams are struggling because of idiots who jump from club to club, constantly on the move. cant see this being a positive thing for bridge, 1/2 outsiders, ok but 5 is way too many. especially when these lads couldnt spell loyalty
Harsh^
Its all about how well you know the manager in shannon for whatever club, doesn't matter about quality or how good you are..... Ive heard from one or two of these so called 'poisonous signings' that Snn town was really boring training and no craic between the squad. Least the Bridge have a good management team that are doing things right and play ball the right way IMO.
Second
05/02/2014, 8:38 AM
Crazy comment as you shuffleruns played with A team and jack carrig played with B team so two player's different at different sessions. Plus isn't ger kelly training town and he is oscar traynor coach too can't be that boring since they are in all ireland semi..and from reading earlier posts they are still getting good numbers so maybe you just didn't fit in there. At the end of the day talisman is dead right none of them players mentioned will give any loyalty or commitment.but all good players if They did. Pa mcmahon left cause he wasn't starting james harty has swapped clubs 3 times now in 12 months same with o mara jack dunlea and jack carrig are" gaa first" men. So gavin is probably the only good signing out of the 5
Shuffleruns
05/02/2014, 9:14 AM
Crazy comment as you shuffleruns played with A team and jack carrig played with B team so two player's different at different sessions. Plus isn't ger kelly training town and he is oscar traynor coach too can't be that boring since they are in all ireland semi..and from reading earlier posts they are still getting good numbers so maybe you just didn't fit in there. At the end of the day talisman is dead right none of them players mentioned will give any loyalty or commitment.but all good players if They did. Pa mcmahon left cause he wasn't starting james harty has swapped clubs 3 times now in 12 months same with o mara jack dunlea and jack carrig are" gaa first" men. So gavin is probably the only good signing out of the 5
Stand by what i said.... Never said Ger Kelly isn't a good coach..
Adding numbers is one thing but adding quality is a whole different story.
Having a wave of blowins coming into a local club has it's own issues but having a wave of pre-madonnas is asking for trouble. Maybe one of the jumping jacks, imo, is worth the risk but he really needs a kick up the arse before he finds himself looking back and regretting. Maybe the idle promises might bare fruit, time will tell.
Anyway it looks like another weekend of no fixtures as the forecast isn't great again. Big squads might be the answer with the way the season is progressing.
Second
05/02/2014, 9:30 AM
Adding numbers is one thing but adding quality is a whole different story.
Having a wave of blowins coming into a local club has it's own issues but having a wave of pre-madonnas is asking for trouble. Maybe one of the jumping jacks, imo, is worth the risk but he really needs a kick up the arse before he finds himself looking back and regretting. Maybe the idle promises might bare fruit, time will tell.
Anyway it looks like another weekend of no fixtures as the forecast isn't great again. Big squads might be the answer with the way the season is progressing.
Totally agree your club has proven this mainly home grown but the outsiders brought in are proven quality and commited lads. The new goalie brigdale daithi o connell all serving newmarket well.. alot to be learnt from clubs like newmarket
Second
05/02/2014, 9:30 AM
Stand by what i said.... Never said Ger Kelly isn't a good coach..
So hes a good coach but his trainings are boring.. makes sense
OneNightOnly
05/02/2014, 9:50 AM
What qualifications has Ger Kelly??
old git
05/02/2014, 9:58 AM
only one legend :D
OneNightOnly
05/02/2014, 10:00 AM
only one legend :D
Oh a Uefa Legend badge is it? Very impressive
Shuffleruns
05/02/2014, 10:10 AM
So hes a good coach but his trainings are boring.. makes sense
Something like that
Second
05/02/2014, 10:11 AM
not sure but then again its only junior football do you really need qualifications. I know he has played at a high level and seems to be held in high regard by a lot of people.
Second
05/02/2014, 10:13 AM
Something like that
Makes no sense. Like a few of your posts.. but everyone entitled to their opinion
Shuffleruns
05/02/2014, 10:17 AM
Makes no sense. Like a few of your posts.. but everyone entitled to their opinion
are you sure?
Second
05/02/2014, 11:48 AM
are you sure?
Very much so thanks
Planners
05/02/2014, 12:04 PM
[QUOTE=fifty50;1735278]Pa McMahon
James Harty
Jake Dunlea
Jack Carrig
Declan O Mara
Gavin Whyte
We heard alot of these young impressionable fellows have moved to the Bridge on a promise to a possible step accross the water - if thats the case its a bit unfair - your sending out the wrong message - likens to Liffords past recuting policy !!