View Full Version : Clare League 2013/14

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29

newlad
28/10/2013, 10:17 AM
Guvnor, what players are unavailable due to GAA commitments on Thursday? Can you post the full squad up here aswell please, I'm sure there's lots on here who'd be interested to see it. Best of luck to ye on Thursday night.
Will the GAA players get back on the panel once there finished committing to GAA?

footballfriend
29/10/2013, 7:52 PM
The sooner people forget about the GAA lads the better. The draw against Galway provide results can be obtained without them.

newlad
30/10/2013, 8:33 PM
That's the reason I ask the question, still need the answer tho

footballfriend
31/10/2013, 2:14 PM
Sure panels change as the season goes on. That the norm. Players come and go for one reason or another.

newlad
01/11/2013, 11:32 AM
Yes panels change, but these players showed loyalty to GAA, not Oscer, I'd be very ****ed off if I were asked to play second fiddle to an uncommitted player that all...

Side Cutter
03/11/2013, 6:04 PM
Some laugh up in newmarket for their fai game against rineanna. Game fixed for half 3? Game finishes 2 all and its already dark so the ref says we will only play 5 minutes a half extra time instead of 10. Plays the first half of extra time and says its too dark we will go straight to penalties. Penalties in the dark and rineanna win. The best laugh iv had in a long time. Only in clare ha ha

MikeBassett
03/11/2013, 6:24 PM
Some laugh up in newmarket for their fai game against rineanna. Game fixed for half 3? Game finishes 2 all and its already dark so the ref says we will only play 5 minutes a half extra time instead of 10. Plays the first half of extra time and says its too dark we will go straight to penalties. Penalties in the dark and rineanna win. The best laugh iv had in a long time. Only in clare ha ha

An absolute and utter disgrace! Mike O'Halloran is an embarrassment to the game not only in Clare but on a national level as well. Dark after 90 minutes, he says 5 minutes each way extra-time (makin up his own rules as he went along), then after the first period of 5 minutes he says he's not playin the 2nd period and decides himself it's goin straight to penalties, in the dark!! The man is a disgrace to the game.

https://scontent-b-cdg.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ash4/1457509_10152010850703679_410941801_n.jpg

old git
03/11/2013, 6:25 PM

sounds like grounds for an objection to fai for newmarket:confused: but what a shower of tossers the league are for fixing game for 3pm to suit Newmarket hurlers .. an absolute farce all round

Second
03/11/2013, 6:44 PM
Lads in all fairness m o holloran had to finish the game today. He was put in that position.. mike bassett if you want to have an excuse for losing ask your manager why he agreed to the refs decisions . All he had to do was say no I dont agree.. at the end of the day rineanna were hungrier for the win and won deservedly so..bitter pill to swallow id say ..

I do agree it was stupid having a match at that time but I Presume newmarket thought it would be an easy game and asked for the time change

footballfriend
03/11/2013, 6:47 PM
In other news a great battle between Avenue and Bridge today. Good example for Clare soccer.

mastermind1
03/11/2013, 6:51 PM
Exactly what i taught when i seen the time for the fixture, i presume it was 3.30 kick off so that newmarket players could go yo the hurling..prob taught it would be a handy win for newmarket and not have extra time. If both teams/managers agreed to play on I dont see how they can object. If newmarket won would they be that upset by what choice ref gave them....sounds like sour grapes to me. Well done Rineanna

mastermind1
03/11/2013, 6:57 PM
Surely the league shouldnt have put the ref in this situation. All other fai games were either 2pm or 2.30, why the difference here? Anyone know the reasoning for it being 3.30 kick off?

MikeBassett
03/11/2013, 7:03 PM
Lads in all fairness m o holloran had to finish the game today. He was put in that position.. mike bassett if you want to have an excuse for losing ask your manager why he agreed to the refs decisions . All he had to do was say no I dont agree.. at the end of the day rineanna were hungrier for the win and won deservedly so..bitter pill to swallow id say ..

I do agree it was stupid having a match at that time but I Presume newmarket thought it would be an easy game and asked for the time change

I agree no way it should've been agreed to continue after the 90 minutes, don't know why it was.

Second
03/11/2013, 7:12 PM
If thats the case mikebassett you cant lambast the ref

MikeBassett
03/11/2013, 7:15 PM
Well he was just makin up his own rules as he was goin along for a finish. It was agreed to play five minutes each way extra-time. After 5 minutes he decides to blow it up and say he's going straight to penalties

fifty50
03/11/2013, 7:35 PM
All FAI games should have been on at 11, the showpiece of Irish football was on the television and if right was right and ruled adhered to no local FAI games were to clash. Look it up if you don't believe me

talisman
03/11/2013, 7:39 PM
The result was a shock The ref was poor and the timing of the fixture was a terrible decision. The game should have ended at 2-2 and replayed during the week under the lights in Doora. That the Newmarket manager agreed to play on when it was clear that they were in trouble was stupid and to allow the ref to finish the game early and go straight to penalties was a total mess up. Having your team knocked out of the FAI in a penalty shoot out in the dark is comical. I don't think there would be a case for an objection but no one with a stem of sense would have objected to a replay because from 80 mins on it was dangerous,

TopperHarley
03/11/2013, 8:05 PM
The result was a shock The ref was poor and the timing of the fixture was a terrible decision. The game should have ended at 2-2 and replayed during the week under the lights in Doora. That the Newmarket manager agreed to play on when it was clear that they were in trouble was stupid and to allow the ref to finish the game early and go straight to penalties was a total mess up. Having your team knocked out of the FAI in a penalty shoot out in the dark is comical. I don't think there would be a case for an objection but no one with a stem of sense would have objected to a replay because from 80 mins on it was dangerous,

FAI cup rules states 10 mins each way extra time.....there isnt a hope this result will stand if theres an objection

LegendStriker10
04/11/2013, 8:12 AM
Exactly what i taught when i seen the time for the fixture, i presume it was 3.30 kick off so that newmarket players could go yo the hurling..prob taught it would be a handy win for newmarket and not have extra time. If both teams/managers agreed to play on I dont see how they can object. If newmarket won would they be that upset by what choice ref gave them....sounds like sour grapes to me. Well done Rineanna

What are you on about to presume kick off was at 3.30 to suit Newmarket players is a typical statement from an Avenue player . Why would anyone want to go to a hurling match only to have to leave it before full time to come down and play a soccer match . Newmarket would never ask for a soccer match to be played at 3.30 pm on a sunday evening . This was the Clare league that put this fixture down for that time which was completely clueless from them . No matter who won the match and fair play to Rineanna the conditions which were dark as you can see from the picture from Basset were not acceptable for any team to be asked to play . This is a national competition and for the Clare league and the Ref to treat it the way it was treated yesterday is nothing short of disgraceful . You call yourself a football man take off the Avenue blinkers for five mins and you might see things in a different light . Why was the match not played at 11.00 am???????

DSMALL1
04/11/2013, 8:25 AM
Fair play to Rineanna rovers - they deserved the win over 90mins. As for the penalty shoot out that was a disgrace some fool with a flash light trying to put off the rineanna players. Newmarket need the hurlers back ASAP and could do with the likes of horse coming out of retirement. Putting this match on for half three to suit Newmarket and now they are considering an appeal , hillarious stuff from one of the so called big clubs in Clare.

mastermind1
04/11/2013, 9:39 AM
Legendstriker10, every now and again you come on here and when anybody comments on newmarket you get really worked up. I asked why was the game on at 3.30, was it to suit newmarket or was it to suit rineanna?? You tell me, your well in the loop? Did I come on here and say I call myself a soccer man? Anyone that knows me know I love soccer, why are you bringing avenue into this? Your love affair with avenue bashing continues, its hilarious. It sounds like sour grapes to me that a big club like newmarket were beaten by their local rivals. I agree the game shouldnt have been played at 3.30 but from reading here both managers seem to have agreed to go ahead with the extra time, they should have disagreed right there and then. It wasnt safe for the players. Typical comment from you to come on here and have a go at me though, it doesnt bother me though so i look forward to your reply

Kicks
04/11/2013, 10:01 AM
I think newmarket would be too embarrassed to ask for a replay, of course the game was set for 3.30 to suit them so that they could watch the hurling what other reason would there have been? Normally there would have been 20 mins of extra time for newmarket to try to score a winner instead of just 5 but it shouldnt take more than 90 minutes for a premier team to beat a 3rd division team anyway and newmarket were lucky to even draw in the 90 mins, dont know where the ref found 5 mins of injury time from. Newmarket even had the advantage of not having a flashlight shining into the eyes of their players as they were taking penalties

LegendStriker10
04/11/2013, 10:16 AM
Legendstriker10, every now and again you come on here and when anybody comments on newmarket you get really worked up. I asked why was the game on at 3.30, was it to suit newmarket or was it to suit rineanna?? You tell me, your well in the loop? Did I come on here and say I call myself a soccer man? Anyone that knows me know I love soccer, why are you bringing avenue into this? Your love affair with avenue bashing continues, its hilarious. It sounds like sour grapes to me that a big club like newmarket were beaten by their local rivals. I agree the game shouldnt have been played at 3.30 but from reading here both managers seem to have agreed to go ahead with the extra time, they should have disagreed right there and then. It wasnt safe for the players. Typical comment from you to come on here and have a go at me though, it doesnt bother me though so i look forward to your reply

Pot and Kettle come to mind here , you didnt ask why the game was on at 3.30pm , you presumed as you said yourself and I will quote you " i presume it was 3.30 kick off so that newmarket players could go yo the hurling..prob taught it would be a handy win for newmarket and not have extra time " . Every now and again I come on here to reply to stupid comments made by people who have no facts that was the reason I came on here it was not to slate Avenue . To be honest if you read my post I didnt attack Avenue I attacked you as a player for Avenue if you could even call it an attack . Let me ask you this if Newmarket had won that game yesterday in the DARK would you have made any comment . Like I see in the FAI thread you come on to let everybody know that Newmarket were beaten by a third division side if Newmarket won yesterday would you have posted that result as fast I very much doubt it .

Now I am not going to argue with you all day about Avenue and Newmarket this is about what happened yesterday in our national competition regardless of who won and as I already said fair play to Rineanna. It was dark after 80 mins first of all the game should not have been put down for 3.30pm and secondly regardless of what the two managers agreed or didnt it is up to the ref to make sure of player safety so game should have been called after 90 mins BY THE REF and a replay should have been fixed for during the week above in Doora

Second
04/11/2013, 10:37 AM
Just out of interest legendstriker10 why should it be replayed in doora.. surely rineanna should have home advantage in a replay

mastermind1
04/11/2013, 10:46 AM
If you were paying so much attention to my comments(some even in a different thread) you would have seen my comment a few mins after the post you have quoted asking does anyone know the real reason why it was on at 3.30? Theres been a few other comments onnhere saying it was to suit newmarket but you havent taken your argument up with anybody else, why is that?? I wouldnt have posted the result on the FAI thread if newmarket won as it wouldnt have been a big shock so there you go. And finally why exactly should it be replayed under lights in doora, what would give newmarket the right to have a home game and then a neutral replay....typical comment from you again. As you said to me earlier "take off the blinkers"

LegendStriker10
04/11/2013, 10:58 AM
Just out of interest legendstriker10 why should it be replayed in doora.. surely rineanna should have home advantage in a replay

The reason I said doora was because if the Clare league needed this fixture played and not roll into next week then Doora was the only answer . If not then Rineanna next week would be fine . Please do not miss the point I am trying to make . The ref has a duty to make sure of PLAYERS SAFETY and by the looks of things and correct me if I am wrong but none of the 22 players out there yesterday after 80 mins were safe . What if somebody broke a leg yesterday I wonder what would be said all over these forums everybody would be singing a different tune . It is 2013 nearly 2014 and we are playing a match in our national competition in the dark . This is not me with sour grapes as I said 3 times fair play to rineanna but please do not try to tell me that what went on yesterday was correct .

mastermind1
04/11/2013, 11:09 AM
If you read my posts properly you will see I have said the game shouldnt have continued, players and managers should have disagreed to play on as it wasnt safe. I know you ve said fair play to rineanna 3 times. It was a game that had to finish on the day so should never have been put down for 3.30 like I have already said, maybe you can find out from the fixtures secretary as to why it was 3.30 seeing as you said in an earlier post why wasnt kick off at 11am?

LegendStriker10
04/11/2013, 11:19 AM
If you were paying so much attention to my comments(some even in a different thread) you would have seen my comment a few mins after the post you have quoted asking does anyone know the real reason why it was on at 3.30? Theres been a few other comments onnhere saying it was to suit newmarket but you havent taken your argument up with anybody else, why is that?? I wouldnt have posted the result on the FAI thread if newmarket won as it wouldnt have been a big shock so there you go. And finally why exactly should it be replayed under lights in doora, what would give newmarket the right to have a home game and then a neutral replay....typical comment from you again. As you said to me earlier "take off the blinkers"

Read my comments to second regarding the Doora thing . The rest of your post is making no sense to me so dont really want to comment , the real issue here is PLAYERS SAFETY and by the looks of things it was not taken into consideration yesterday this is the point I am trying to make . I dont really know what point you are trying to make other than having an argument . If you feel what went on yesterday in the DARK is good for football in Clare then fine that is your opinion and that is what these forums are about but do not expect me to agree with it because as far as I am concerned what went on yesterday has put Clare football back to the dark ages excuse the pun :rolleyes:

Planners
04/11/2013, 11:25 AM
That was a great result by the Rovers yesterday - alot of negaive comments here today but by all accounts Rineanna were the better team on the day and deserved the result no matter how it played out .
Its not the first time Newmarket have fallen to the great Rineanna .
Do NOF need to look at their set up and decisions been made on the line ?

mastermind1
04/11/2013, 11:40 AM
Are newmarket going to appeal??

Planners
04/11/2013, 11:48 AM
Word on the street is they(Newmarket) have already made contact with the FAI regarding an appeal!!!! But i know what kind of club they are and they would not stoop so low.....

footballfriend
04/11/2013, 12:04 PM
And I see someone has made a pointnof sending it into the Irish Junior soccer portal.

Side Cutter
04/11/2013, 12:12 PM
Lads i think blaming the ref is wrong. The clare league fixed the game for 3.30. The game had to be finished on the day. The league are a joke. A couple of months ago they fixed games the same evening as Ireland were playing a world cup qualifier. I would doubt newmarket will object. Rineanna deserved the win. The flashing light when rineanna were taking their penalties was a disgrace aswell.

fifty50
04/11/2013, 12:13 PM
Lads stop asking questions ye already know the answers to

The 3.30 kick off was to suit Newmarket simple as that anybody who thinks otherwise is fooling themselves..
The Clare league and the vast vast majority of football followers in Clare would have predicted an relatively straight forward victory at home,. Now weather that's dispespectful or not to Rinneanna is a mater of opinion.
It's an embarrassing loss, simple as that.

Now wether an Avenue player or any other rival player wants to come on here and give his 2 cents is entirely up to him. If I was an Avenue player I'd be laughin at what happened yesterday, and I'm sure some are.

Here's the thing, lads are going on about the safety of the players, and players welfare, if Newmarket had won that penalty shoot out there would be no mention of it. No doubt about it.
the referee was put in an impossible situation he was damned if he did and damned if he didn't. We all know that there's only two decent refs in Clare, Pat Gleeson and Padraic Sutton. The rest are consistently inconsistent to put it mildly.

Its the Clare league at fault. As I stated earlier all games should have been 11am games with FAI Cup on.
But as usual the big game of the weekend was Newmarket v Ballyea and not Newmarket v Rinneanna.

i don't know if many of the posters here attend the AGM or not but these matters are discussed at length and the acceptance of them to delegates is frightening.

Bar Newmarket Avenue Tulla Ennis Town and Bridge what other clubs are being run to even near their potential.??

Side Cutter
04/11/2013, 12:13 PM
And I see someone has made a pointnof sending it into the Irish Junior soccer portal.

And rightly so. The clare league need to be shown up for what they really are. An absolute joke

mastermind1
04/11/2013, 12:28 PM
To make it known I wasnt on looking for an argument or debate. My initial comments were to ask why was the game on at 3.30? And why did both managers agree to play on in the dark? I didnt even get into anything else but of course someone else wanted to have their say on the matter which is fine. Good luck to rineanna and from what i m being told it was a well deserved win

First
04/11/2013, 12:44 PM
Newmarket Celtic will make a decision tonight on this matter. Until then everything is speculation.

footballfriend
04/11/2013, 12:54 PM
I have no problem with Martin O'Brien, Micheal Rock or Mick O'Halloran as refs. Also the new guy Hennessey is decent too.

the lobster
04/11/2013, 1:04 PM
it was put on @ 3.30pm to allow rineanna time to walk to the pitch, simple as.

fifty50
04/11/2013, 1:07 PM
Martin o Brien? Seriously??? Michael rock is decent to be fair.

footballfriend
04/11/2013, 1:26 PM
Well if my choices were Frankie Coote or Martin :)

mastermind1
04/11/2013, 1:37 PM
Terry kennedy is also a good ref

MikeBassett
04/11/2013, 1:39 PM
The 3.30 kick-off time isn't the issue here. Fixtures were posted up early last Sunday and nobody questioned the 3.30 time all week!! The issue here is the referee making up his own rules and FAI Cup rules not being adhered to

mastermind1
04/11/2013, 1:44 PM
I agree mikebassett but why didnt managers disagree yesterday, it wasnt safe for the players. Poor call in my opinion and i havr great time for the newmarket manager. Maybe he wasnt thinking straight and just wanted to win his first local derby. I did think the 3.30 kick off was crazy when i seen it first but didnt question it here. Anyway it ll be investigated and dealt with by the FAI so lets move on. Big win for ourselves yesterday, a real tight game with a very good determined bridge side. 3-2 aet it finished. We got a late late equaliser to get it to 2-2 and a late late winner at the death. Both scored by eamonn o reilly

fifty50
04/11/2013, 1:49 PM
So mike Bassett who is to blame?? I'm interested to hear

ps I'm not starting an argument just genuinely want to hear who you think is at fault

the lobster
04/11/2013, 1:57 PM
the clocks going back last week didn`t help matters either.

newlad
04/11/2013, 4:02 PM
Hasn't been much activity on here lately, and now that there is, it's all about slating clare league, managers and refs,that all be sorted sooner or later,
What we should be talking about is the positive and future of league, and as mastermind hit on there, a cracking game credit to clare league went on in roslavan, avenue V bridge, hard tiring game with not a bad tackle in site, some of the best players in league on show
How's the leg btw?

fifty50
04/11/2013, 4:58 PM
I agree a cracking game in Roslevan.. Where do people reckon Bridge will finish up? Quite impressed with them, very young side aswell. Avenue showed great heart to come back

Regarding slating leagues, managers, Referees etc: we have every right to demand that our league is run to highest possible standard, as fairly as humanly possible, with a high degree of common sense and within the rules of the FAI. It's not acceptable at the present time the way it's been run.. Were papering over the cracks

Second
04/11/2013, 5:12 PM
Fifty50 not looking for an argument but out of interest I've 3 questions for you..
1.. are you a current player
2.. do you attend league agms
3.. have you ever put your name forward to be on league committee

fifty50
04/11/2013, 5:25 PM
Second answer to all those questions is yes.