View Full Version : Clare League 2013/14
mastermind1
08/11/2013, 7:22 AM
Lads heard yesterday that although newmarket havent appealed to the FAI the game against rineanna will be replayed because the game didnt play out as the FAI rules state. The national coverage it has recieved has been a big factor in the case....anybody else hear this??
Second
08/11/2013, 7:57 AM
True story I believe. I hope rineanna refuse to play it. I'm sure the ref will get punished too..
mastermind1
08/11/2013, 8:51 AM
If rineanna refuse to play it I presume newmarket would advance to rd 4 then.....to be fair the ref was put in an awful spot.
Kicks
08/11/2013, 10:18 AM
Clare league should be made to explain their decision to play this game at 3.30 when they knew that if it was played at this time that it would be too dark to play extra time
The Clare lg are getting away with murder here. The least they could do is come out and explain themselves, but it seems they have gone underground.
old git
08/11/2013, 6:35 PM
Lads heard yesterday that although newmarket havent appealed to the FAI the game against rineanna will be replayed because the game didnt play out as the FAI rules state. The national coverage it has recieved has been a big factor in the case....anybody else hear this??
Another option for the mix .. and with fai it would not suprise me they just make teams replay the extra time ... if replayed is the decision Newmarket so do the decent thing and give rineanna a walk over
old git
08/11/2013, 6:37 PM
The Clare lg are getting away with murder here. The least they could do is come out and explain themselves, but it seems they have gone underground.
in fairness when have the clare league ever come out and explain themselves , lots for incidents over the last few years and no explanation ?
Gaffer88
08/11/2013, 11:58 PM
hope the ref isn't punished, was an awful position to be in.. for once the league should step up and take the blame for playin it at 3.30.
Another option for the mix .. and with fai it would not suprise me they just make teams replay the extra time ... if replayed is the decision Newmarket so do the decent thing and give rineanna a walk over
If Newmarket got a replay why would they give a walkover and then bring a fine on the club from the FAI for not fulfilling the fixture?
old git
09/11/2013, 5:03 PM
If Newmarket got a replay why would they give a walkover and then bring a fine on the club from the FAI for not fulfilling the fixture?
because the lost the last day fair and square after agreeing to play extra time & penalties in the dark;)
Rider Cups
11/11/2013, 7:33 AM
There must have been a problem by the look of that scoreline .
Second
11/11/2013, 1:56 PM
Well done yesterday to the avenue.. embarrassing displays by shannon olympic and bridge celtic
footballfriend
11/11/2013, 2:25 PM
Kerry/Clare/Desmond
Newcastle West FC v Tralee Dynamos
Avenue Utd v Carrig Celtic
Killarney Celtic v Shannon Olympic or Ballingarry FC
Bridge Celtic or St Brendans Park v Rineanna Rovers
Castleisland v Abbeyfeale Utd
footballfriend
11/11/2013, 2:30 PM
Any report on Ennistymon v Bridge Utd game? Shocking result and scoreline.
fifty50
11/11/2013, 4:38 PM
@footballfriend a horror show from start to finish in Lahinch, I'm sure Bridge will forget about it quickly and learn from it. League next week to make amends
Does that 4th round draw mean that rineanna are def through or is it subject to an appeal from the newmarket game?
Hibs7772
11/11/2013, 7:42 PM
Well done yesterday to the avenue.. embarrassing displays by shannon olympic and bridge celtic
What were the scores and scorers from both the Olympic and Bridge matches?
Second
11/11/2013, 7:51 PM
Bridge celtic lost 6-0 home to st brendans park .. olympic lost 8-1 away to ballingarry
Hibs7772
11/11/2013, 7:55 PM
Bridge celtic lost 6-0 home to st brendans park .. olympic lost 8-1 away to ballingarry
What happened both of them? missing players or what? Or are the two teams they were playing very good? and who got Olympics goal do you know?
outleft
11/11/2013, 8:13 PM
Did you attend the games to say that both teams display was embarrassing?
Second
11/11/2013, 8:54 PM
Would one need to attend them.. im sure the players were embarresed by the score line.. when I played if you lost by that much you were either embarresed or else you didn't care about your club.. but I was talking to one of the shannon players and he was embarresed
talisman
11/11/2013, 9:12 PM
Did you attend the games to say that both teams display was embarrassing?
you would not need to go to the games the scorelines tell you everythin.....absolutely shambolic and terrible to see...... concedin 6 & 8 is simply disgraceful
outleft
11/11/2013, 9:17 PM
Yes one would need to at least see the games to be embarrassed. Teams and players can be embarrassed by their own display after any game but no need to be embarrassed by checking the score.
Second
11/11/2013, 9:26 PM
Yes one would need to at least see the games to be embarrassed. Teams and players can be embarrassed by their own display after any game but no need to be embarrassed by checking the score.
What a pointless post .." no need to be embarresed by checking the score "
old git
11/11/2013, 11:31 PM
you would not need to go to the games the scorelines tell you everythin.....absolutely shambolic and terrible to see...... concedin 6 & 8 is simply disgraceful
Talisman .. sometimes the scorelines don't tell you everything you often get days were nothing goes right on the day and don't forget we are also talking about two teams in the first division of clare It's a pity ye were all not so quick to come on last week to have a go at Newmarket celtic for getting beat by a 3rd division team in the same competition
Hibs7772
11/11/2013, 11:44 PM
Talisman .. sometimes the scorelines don't tell you everything you often get days were nothing goes right on the day and don't forget we are also talking about two teams in the first division of clare It's a pity ye were all not so quick to come on last week to have a go at Newmarket celtic for getting beat by a 3rd division team in the same competition
To be fair old git when a team loses by 6 or 8 goals I don't think anyone with even the greatest love for the club can come out and say that they have played in anyway well and if you do you are living in a fantasy world! Also you say the two teams are in the first division of Clare but what division of what leagues are St Brendan's park and Ballingarry in? Can't say I've even heard about them before so i wouldn't say they are any great shakes ... ?
fifty50
11/11/2013, 11:56 PM
Ah here hibs7772 shame on you..
Brendan's park contested the Munster champions cup last year, quality side, kerry premier and would feature in latter stages of national cups
Ballingarry are also a very capable top 3 side in the Desmond league, Anthony Forde used play with them
Both playing at a far superior level than any First Division side in Clare
Cant see the fuss really with the results, hardly expected either side to get through did ye??
Hibs7772
12/11/2013, 12:16 AM
Brendan's park contested the Munster champions cup last year, quality side, kerry premier and would feature in latter stages of national cups
Ballingarry are also a very capable top 3 side in the Desmond league, Anthony Forde used play with them
Cant see the fuss really with the results, hardly expected either side to get through did ye??
Sorry fifty50! Showing my ignorance there! Well if that's the case then no i wouldn't see the big fuss about the results but the scorelines are still shocking, no junior team at a half decent level should be losing 8-1 especially since they are probably the best team in the first division and have a few quality players playing with them!
What happened between Bridge Utd and Ennistymon? I presume Bridge were missing lads cos of the hurling? Or do they have many hurlers playing? Bit of a surprise as Ive seen Bridge twice this year and have been very impressed. They'll do very well in the league
footballfriend
12/11/2013, 11:03 AM
As far as I know Bridge only have 2 hurlers on their squad. Surprising result as they were well organised against Avenue.
Second
12/11/2013, 12:01 PM
Lads ennistymon at home are a hard team to beat.
footballfriend
12/11/2013, 12:13 PM
It's more that they conceded 7 that I am surprised at.
I understand they're tough to beat but given the 2 Oscar Traynor lads in defence and the general quality they have I'm surprised that they lost 7-4. Its one thing losing but the score line makes it stand out. Fair play to Avenue the other day. Any idea when and where the final is on? No doubt they will get huge neutral support on here!!!
footballfriend
12/11/2013, 12:42 PM
Looks like 8th of Dec. Clare league have applied for final to be held in Clare more then likely Doora.
fifty50
12/11/2013, 12:57 PM
Lads doesn't the score line of 7 4 not ring some alarm bells? it's was a freak of a game, horror show from bridge point of view, lost John Mulready before half time and no sub keeper. Credit to Ennistymon they took every chance they got. Best of luck to them in next round. Let's not forget that Bridge Utd were a first division side for the past 2 seasons and are extremely young, of the 5 Oscar Traynor players they have, 4 of them have not reached there 20th birthday yet.. Don't judge this team on single results, let's wait until the end of the season to judge how good or bad they are.
Second
12/11/2013, 1:27 PM
Who else is on oscar traynor squad with mull and darren
fifty50
12/11/2013, 2:04 PM
Darragh Fitz, Eric Carr, Mike McNamara.
old git
12/11/2013, 2:25 PM
well said fifty50
old git
12/11/2013, 2:27 PM
Sorry fifty50! Showing my ignorance there! Well if that's the case then no i wouldn't see the big fuss about the results but the scorelines are still shocking, no junior team at a half decent level should be losing 8-1 especially since they are probably the best team in the first division and have a few quality players playing with them!
hibs you are having a laugh .. no junior team at a half decent level should be losing 8-1 :confused: you have a very short Memory on your own results this season
Second
12/11/2013, 2:54 PM
Old git he said at a decent level :-)
Hibs7772
12/11/2013, 6:24 PM
hibs you are having a laugh .. no junior team at a half decent level should be losing 8-1 :confused: you have a very short Memory on your own results this season
Old git he said at a decent level :-)
Yeah i said results like that shouldn't happen, never said it doesn't happen! and yes i remember it only too well, wasn't playing in the game we lost 8-1 but was watching and it's embarassing to say the least, especially when it is blown up early. Was the opposite way round when we beat pike 9-1 and that match was blown up early, and im sure they were embarrassed! Clubs of a similar level shouldn't be beating eachother 8-1 or 9-1 doesn't say much about the league but as fifty50 pointed out the teams that beat Olympic and Bridge Celtic were of a higher standard so you might say it's a small bit more acceptable.
I would say 1A is a half decent standard Second, wouldn't you?:)
LegendStriker10
12/11/2013, 8:12 PM
Yeah i said results like that shouldn't happen, never said it doesn't happen! and yes i remember it only too well, wasn't playing in the game we lost 8-1 but was watching and it's embarassing to say the least, especially when it is blown up early. Was the opposite way round when we beat pike 9-1 and that match was blown up early, and im sure they were embarrassed! Clubs of a similar level shouldn't be beating eachother 8-1 or 9-1 doesn't say much about the league but as fifty50 pointed out the teams that beat Olympic and Bridge Celtic were of a higher standard so you might say it's a small bit more acceptable.
I would say 1A is a half decent standard Second, wouldn't you?:)
Hibs7772 can you goway back into the limerick league threads to talk about them, youre in the clare thread here we dont give a continental what goes on in 1A or 1Z. *please add 'B' after pike .. tryin to make it sound better by sayin just Pike.....it was Pike B
fifty50
12/11/2013, 8:23 PM
Lay off legendstriker10, what harm is he doing posting here? It's an online forum he's as entitled to post as anybody, maybe those in Shannon and Killaloe will see the error in their ways and come back and make us stronger. With the referees situation ya wouldn't know, players might jump ship .
So would you welcome a return to the Clare league then hibs7772??
Second
12/11/2013, 8:40 PM
Well said fifty50 I think the Other fella wanna be a legendstriker is just a tad jealous.. there is a word I use for people like him but cant repeat it here.. he only ever comes on with negative comments.. hibbs7772 has probably played more football in clare than wanna be striker ever did..
ps hibs7772 I was only ball hopping bout standard in 1A. The top half of 1A would beat most clare premier teams..
biglad101
12/11/2013, 8:48 PM
Is the munster champions final been played in Clare thought teams meet
halfway or is home advantage decided before the semi's take place.
The circuspony
12/11/2013, 9:25 PM
Did John Mulready go off injured???
Lets hope he's back for Clares final group game. He has been outstanding for club and county over the last season and a half. I've seen Bridge Utd play twice this year and its great to see all the clubs hard work paying off. The squad is full of young talented players and plenty of experience on the sideline. They'll rattle a few cages in the premier this year no matter what the scoreline was last sunday.
fanaticfan
12/11/2013, 9:45 PM
Surely the venue will be neutral. Played in Jackman in the limerick district league or in Clounreask in the Desmond league
footballfriend
12/11/2013, 9:52 PM
Rumours maybe Turners Cross, home of MFA.
mastermind1
12/11/2013, 9:54 PM
Clare league applied to host the munster final but dont know the outcome. Heard turners cross being mentioned as a possible venue aswell. Jackman park will prob get the nod, be fair on both teams i think. Big game for both clubs, would be great for avenue and clare soccer if we could win it
Wolverine
12/11/2013, 10:30 PM
Hopefully Jackman park. A neutral venue would be the right call.
Anybody know how much does it cost to appeal a sending off( 2 yellows,same game) to the MFA.and when is the suspension started. :(