View Full Version : Clare League 2013/14

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29

OneNightOnly
14/02/2014, 12:55 PM
Not having being at a delegate meeting when a vote takes place, could you explain how the process works. There are 10 teams in the Premier, how did the other 6 vote assuming Avenue and the Bridge voted to scrap it?

A vote is allocated for each team a clubs enters in the CDSL

For example

Ennis Town entered an A team, a B team, an U17a and an u17b team.
This entitles them to 4 votes.

Lifford and Manus were denied a vote due to outstanding registration monies owes to the league.

Burren Utd Ennis Town and Rhine Rovers all voted against the league starting early.

Not sure on Hermitage Tulla or Connolly

First
14/02/2014, 12:58 PM
OneNightOnly what club are you involved with?

First
14/02/2014, 1:03 PM
A vote is allocated for each team a clubs enters in the CDSl For example

Thanks

Lifford and Manus were denied a vote due to outstanding registration monies owes to the league..

Rules are rules

Burren Utd Ennis Town and Rhine Rovers all voted against the league starting early.

What reason did these clubs give?

Was the vote open to all clubs or just this lot, what were the final numbers?

OneNightOnly
14/02/2014, 1:17 PM

I'm not involved in a club in Clare but am a Clare man living in Ennis, I'd have a strong interest in all levels of football especially my own county

OneNightOnly
14/02/2014, 1:23 PM

Thanks

Rules are rules

What reason did these clubs give?

Was the vote open to all clubs or just this lot, what were the final numbers?

All clubs get to vote on all motions whether there directly effected or not

A bit unfair in my opinion

Not all clubs spoke on the matter

Some clubs are more vocal than others as you can imagine

First
14/02/2014, 1:30 PM
I'm not involved in a club in Clare but am a Clare man living in Ennis, I'd have a strong interest in all levels of football especially my own county

Nonsense. If you had you wouldn't be touting less clubs and favouring certain clubs wanting to exclude players.

OneNightOnly
14/02/2014, 1:42 PM
Nonsense. If you had you wouldn't be touting less clubs and favouring certain clubs wanting to exclude players.

Never mentioned excluding players in any of my posts.

I do think there are too many clubs in Clare . I'd have quality over quantity any day

Are you happy with how football in Clare is run??

First
14/02/2014, 1:54 PM
Never mentioned excluding players in any of my posts.

I do think there are too many clubs in Clare . I'd have quality over quantity any day

Are you happy with how football in Clare is run??

Less clubs by definition means less players, you want less clubs, so you want less players or in your Utopia are you looking for these players to move to other clubs maintaining the number of teams just less clubs?

As for happy about how things are going, yes and no.

OneNightOnly
14/02/2014, 2:05 PM
Less clubs by definition means less players, you want less clubs, so you want less players or in your Utopia are you looking for these players to move to other clubs maintaining the number of teams just less clubs?

As for happy about how things are going, yes and no.

I think we should regionalise the clubs and pool the resources, coaches, money and facilities. It would take time to bear fruit but we can't expect to develop young players in the current environment that's in place at the moment.

I think it's vital to the progression of Clare football that Lough Derg, Shannon hibs and Shannon town join the Clare league.

Lifford are in trouble with money
Bridge have poor facilities
Corofin and Mountshannon have atrocious pitches
Ennis town have no facilities whatsoever

Second
14/02/2014, 8:24 PM
A vote is allocated for each team a clubs enters in the CDSL

Burren rhine rovers and ennis town rock have more gaa

Lifford and Manus were denied a vote due to outstanding registration monies owes to the league.

Not sure on Hermitage Tulla or Connolly

burren. rhine rovers and ennis town rock have more gaa players than newmarket so why single out 2 clubs when in fact 5 had gaa players

footballfriend
15/02/2014, 1:11 PM
The league cup needs to be scrapped at the start of the year and thats a simple fact lads. Play it on thurs nights in Doora from now on like Limerick system. If teams go far in national competitions they get punished later on in the year with the amount of league games they have left to played. Soccer is a squad game and players will be missing for different reasons. Most Limerick teams had ten league games played and Clare teams had none by the time OT Lim v Clare was played. There are plenty of GAA players playing soccer in Limerick, Pike have a few and still top of the league. To not start a league based on the fact GAA players wont be available is a joke. Thats like telling fixtures sec I cant play this week cause I am missing my three best players.

First
16/02/2014, 9:39 AM
Astro Lees Road: Avenue United A V Corofin Harps A
R.Hennessey 10.45

Lees Road: Ennis Town A P-P Connolly Celtic A
M.O`Brien

What is the story here? I thought the Astro was to be used by clubs playing out of Lee's Road if the grass pitches are not playable.

footballfriend
16/02/2014, 11:38 AM
Avenue need to catch up on games so they were due to play. Makes no odds anyway. Avenue got a walkover.

Second
16/02/2014, 1:03 PM
Avenue need to catch up on games so they were due to play. Makes no odds anyway. Avenue got a walkover.

A bloody walkover in febuary.. what the hell is wrong with lads

Rider Cups
16/02/2014, 1:38 PM
Wonder what sort of a tall tale will corofin come up with for this one ?

mastermind1
16/02/2014, 4:30 PM
The last thing we wanted was a walkover. Its games we want to play. To answer your question first last year a rule was brought in that no team in the premier would be more than 3 games behind, a rule that has not been followed, now you only have to look at the league table to see why that game was given preferrence.

Well done newmarket on reaching last 8 of munster with a 1-0 win today. Hard luck ennistymon, always gonna be tough against a very good geraldines side.

old git
16/02/2014, 5:44 PM
The last thing we wanted was a walkover. Its games we want to play. To answer your question first last year a rule was brought in that no team in the premier would be more than 3 games behind, a rule that has not been followed, now you only have to look at the league table to see why that game was given preferrence.

Well done newmarket on reaching last 8 of munster with a 1-0 win today. Hard luck ennistymon, always gonna be tough against a very good geraldines side.

Mastermind ... what reason did corofin give for walkover ... crazy situation Avenue find themselves now having to play catch-up in league so much for rules then ?

great to see a clare team progressing in munster and hard luck to ennistymon against a strong geraldines

mastermind1
16/02/2014, 6:04 PM
I ve no idea what excuse they gave as they didnt have the decency to ring anyone and tell us they werent showing up. Very unfair on everyone that showed up to lees road expecting the game today and especially the ref who had to travel from limerick for it.

Newmarket played well today and should have won by 5 or 6 goals if they had taken their chances. A very comfortable win even if the scoreline was only 1-0.

First
17/02/2014, 9:19 AM
A bloody walkover in febuary.. what the hell is wrong with lads

I don't think this is as staright forward as Corofin just giving a walkover. My understanding of the directive was that clubs playing out of Lee's Road and the Fairgreen were to play their games on the astro if the grass pitches were unplayable. Now as far as I am aware neither Avenue or Corofin play out of Lee's Road so how does their game fall under this directive.
I would assume that Corofin would have to have agreed to play on the Astro, which I am led to beleive they didn't.

Clearly stated on this week's and every other week's fixtures:
Note: If Council grass pitches are unplayable Lees Road/Fairgreen games automatically transfer to Astro pitch lees road.

Second
17/02/2014, 9:37 AM
Thats fair enough first but surely if avenue said they had an alternative pitch to play on and enough notice was given then match should have went ahead.

First
17/02/2014, 9:46 AM
Thats fair enough first but surely if avenue said they had an alternative pitch to play on and enough notice was given then match should have went ahead.

Maybe someone from Corofin might tell us their side of this.

I'd also be interested to know how other clubs resident in Lee's Road and Fairgreen feel about none of their games transferring to the Astro.

Also did Sporting Ennistymon get an opportunity to transfer their game to Lee's Road, I think they went to LIT to play their game.

mastermind1
17/02/2014, 10:21 AM
Your gripe is clearly with Avenue here, if it was any other team you wouldnt be looking to see how other clubs felt by the decision. The clare league called off all other games due to inclement weather last week. And i think you ll find that munster junior or fai games cant be played on lees rd until its inspected my munster council and fai. If you want info Donal you might get it from your good contacts on the clare league committee.

First
17/02/2014, 10:58 AM
Your gripe is clearly with Avenue here, if it was any other team you wouldnt be looking to see how other clubs felt by the decision. The clare league called off all other games due to inclement weather last week. And i think you ll find that munster junior or fai games cant be played on lees rd until its inspected my munster council and fai. If you want info Donal you might get it from your good contacts on the clare league committee.

No gripe with Avenue, at least not on this matter David. I have a gripe with the ever evolving rules and directives that go on. Now I may have been missed informed on the directive with the use of the Astro but I don't think so. There is a precedent being set here that would allow any team to take another team to the Astro, which is not what was outlined initially.
And to put your mind at ease the league committee don't share anything with me that they don't share with everyone else.

If the Astro is not FAI approved why are is it being used?

MikeBassett
17/02/2014, 12:05 PM
That astro turf in Lee's Road is absolutely awful. There should be no games played on it imo. If MFA/FAI officials actually come to look at it there's no way that it should get approved. I heard earlier in the season it'd been 'FIFA approved' , couldn't believe it, grand astro for training but no way suitable for matches

mastermind1
17/02/2014, 12:16 PM
It might be a case where more teams have to play on it than the ones that are playing out of lees rd and the fairgreen because of the backlog. I m againat the idea of having games lees rd astro but what choice have the league got at this stage. They are trying their best to keep everyone happy and its not that easy. We are 7 games behind some clubs due to our decent runs in cup competitions so thats the only reason the game was being pushed to go ahead. Look we ll move on from this and hopefully the weather picks up for games to be played on "grass" pitches

17/02/2014, 1:14 PM
Rules are rules and the game should not have gone ahead. If my memory is correct there were 3 games (from different divisions) that could have been played on the Astro Turf but none went ahead. Why should Avenue and Corofin go ahead when the fixtures set down for the Astro Turf were cancelled. I understand Avenue need to catch up but this harps back to the need for the League to start earlier. Am I correct in saying that Avenue werent given a walkover? The League table hasnt been updated to give them 3 points

mastermind1
17/02/2014, 1:42 PM
What rules are you referring to 0030?

First
17/02/2014, 2:09 PM
What rules are you referring to 0030?

Here is a missive sent from the Clare League to the Club Delegates on 6th of November 2013 about Lee's Road.

"Hi All,
As advised on 21st August and at last delegate meeting and at AGM the council were planning on upgrading the surface at Lees Road Astro pitch to the required standard for matches. This work has now been completed and from this weekend on when the grass pitches at Lees Road or the Fairgreen are unavailable 2 matches will be moved to the astro pitch. Club will be notified as early as possible on the Friday or Saturday when matches are being moved. The KO times will not be changed"

LegendStriker10
17/02/2014, 2:35 PM
Here is a missive sent from the Clare League to the Club Delegates on 6th of November 2013 about Lee's Road.

"Hi All,
As advised on 21st August and at last delegate meeting and at AGM the council were planning on upgrading the surface at Lees Road Astro pitch to the required standard for matches. This work has now been completed and from this weekend on when the grass pitches at Lees Road or the Fairgreen are unavailable 2 matches will be moved to the astro pitch. Club will be notified as early as possible on the Friday or Saturday when matches are being moved. The KO times will not be changed"

Lads a lot of confusion here and by the looks of the above a couple of questions need to be asked

1. When were Corofin told about this fixture change and more importantly did they agree to it?? .
2 . When the Clare league send out a ruling like the one above can it be changed on a wim the Saturday before the Sunday fixture and are all teams supposed to just put up with it?? .

And before anyone starts about this been an Avenue witchunt its not I am just looking for a bit of clarification on this as First has already said it is setting a precedent to allow any team to decide when to drag a team to an astroturf .

17/02/2014, 3:21 PM
As far as Im aware the rule is that teams using lees Road and the Fairgreen are to play on the Astro Turf. I could be wrong but you'll see what I'm getting at. If the Astro Turf is only for Ennis Town/Hermitage/Inch/Rhine etc then why should Avenue get priority when matches on the Astro Turf have been called off. PS this isnt an anti Avenue post. Just looking for consistency and trying to make sense of things

OneNightOnly
17/02/2014, 3:26 PM
Lees Rd was not upgraded in any way shape or form. Lines were added to form a full sized pitch, that is all. That's word for word from the company that painted the lines.

It's not FAI approved, so according to the rules of the FAI, you do not have to fulfil a fixture on the surface if you don't want to.

Simple as that.

There are no rules in CDSL relating to AstroTurf pitches.

All other arguments regarding avenue/Corofin are irrelevant

mastermind1
17/02/2014, 4:11 PM
I agree with lads here looking to find out the actual rule but you only have to look at the limerick league to see how many teams use alternative venues if their own pitches are unplayable, once their approved by the league and they dont interfere with anyone elses game (last sunday i think there was no game down till 12 o clock) so in this case it was ok to play the game at 10.30.. Maybe someone from the league could clarify it better, to be honest i m glad I wont be playing on the astro in lees rd often. Like someone said earlier, its grand to train on but not good enough for games i think.

mastermind1
17/02/2014, 4:16 PM
It's not FAI approved, so according to the rules of the FAI, you do not have to fulfil a fixture on the surface if you don't want to.

So do all clubs have the right to disagree to play ennis town/hermitage/manus/inch/rhine rovers/turnpike if the grass pitches are unavailable in lees road and fairgreen and are changed to the astro?

Just curious

OneNightOnly
17/02/2014, 4:23 PM

So do all clubs have the right to disagree to play ennis town/hermitage/manus/inch/rhine rovers/turnpike if the grass pitches are unavailable in lees road and fairgreen and are changed to the astro?

Just curious

The answer is yes, despite what the League may say, the FAI is the ruling body with a higher authority and their rules take precedence

18/02/2014, 9:12 AM
I think Connolly refused to play on the Astro Turf earlier this year. Presumably this is why Corofin didn't turn up?

footballfriend
18/02/2014, 9:14 AM
Corofin played the week before on it. Lost 4 nil. Only had 12 players. I think we all know why they didnt turn up.

LegendStriker10
18/02/2014, 9:36 AM
Corofin played the week before on it. Lost 4 nil. Only had 12 players. I think we all know why they didnt turn up.

Nobody only people involved in Corofin really know why they didnt turn up . Everybody who plays soccer knows that playing on an astroturf field the game is much quicker and will always suit the better teams . Maybe the corofin lads thought the week before that the field did not suit their style of play . I know if I was the manager of Corofin and had seen my team been beaten 4 nil the week before the last thing I would do is agree to play Avenue on that same surface a week later .

No offfence to Corofin but do people think it is fair that for example the likes of Newmarket or Avenue who would be classed as two of the better teams in the league can decide that they want to play a game on astroturf .

My view on this is Corofin were right not to turn up to play that game on Sunday as they were at a disadvantage before a ball was kicked . What do other people think .

mastermind1
18/02/2014, 10:05 AM
Fair enough if corofin didnt want to play. At least have the decency to notify the league. Avenue and the ref were there waiting for the game, do you think thats fair? We had to pay the ref for coming out aswell, as much as i dont like seeing teams get walkovers and its not good for the league this is what it was. A team failing to show for a game is a walkover as ye all know

LegendStriker10
18/02/2014, 10:33 AM
Fair enough if corofin didnt want to play. At least have the decency to notify the league. Avenue and the ref were there waiting for the game, do you think thats fair? We had to pay the ref for coming out aswell, as much as i dont like seeing teams get walkovers and its not good for the league this is what it was. A team failing to show for a game is a walkover as ye all know

This goes back to my my last posts regarding the questions we need answers to .

1. When were Corofin told about this fixture change and more importantly did they agree to it?? .
2 . When the Clare league send out a ruling like the one above can it be changed on a wim the Saturday before the Sunday fixture and are all teams supposed to just put up with it?? .

Also what pressure was put on Corofin by the Clare league to fulfil this fixture again we need answers to all these questions. I do not think it is fair to expect a team that played the week before on a surface that does not suit them to be asked to play again a week later against one of the better teams in the league .

As for ye having to pay the ref, absolute nonsense ye should have refused and told him to ask the Clare league to sort this one out .

MikeBassett
18/02/2014, 12:01 PM
Corofin have a poor track record in recent times of not fulfilling fixtures. Two ridiculous incidents last season — the Bridge Celtic nets fiasco (which I think everyone knows the story with that one) and another stunt pulled to avoid playing Newmarket B.

footballfriend
18/02/2014, 12:02 PM
The fixture was changed since Thurs to astro turf as far as I am aware and was updated on the website.

Rider Cups
18/02/2014, 12:12 PM
Surely corofin should have informed the league of their intention not to fulfill the fixture ?

Wishicouldplay
18/02/2014, 12:28 PM
At this stage I think corofin can do what they like.only the start of this season they were due to play bridge I think, and got that one off too... Bit of a joke!!
that all said I don't think many clubs want to play on that astro, another question if avenue were to play a so called footballing team would they be quick to ask for astro..before ye all say sure avenue are a great footballing side, I know that, just asking the question.

mastermind1
18/02/2014, 12:55 PM
On a personal note I wasnt too keen on the game going ahead on the astro against corofin in the first place but to answer your question if we were again in a position where we had to play bridge/ennis town/newmkt on the astro then yes we would play them. Just my opinion although hopefully we wont have to play any games on it against any team from the league

old git
18/02/2014, 2:37 PM
The fixture was changed since Thurs to astro turf as far as I am aware and was updated on the website.

I assume both clubs were contacted first and asked did fixture change suit both teams , Dont think it fair on any team if league just change fixtures and update website without advising clubs ??

2on2
18/02/2014, 5:09 PM
I have been reading this thread for a while now and it makes me laugh at the constant attack or questioning if you call it about what Avenue are involved in. I am pretty sure Avenue did not request to play on the astro 95% of the players donot want to play on it, 45 min training on it is bad enough never mind a full game, but the fixture was put down so they must turn up which they did.

Now can ye imagine the abuse that would havebeen handed out here if Corofin had been left standing and Avenue didn’t turnup I can only say ye would have loved it!! I see a comment made by“WishIcouldplay” that if Avenue were to play a footballing team would they ask for astro? Funny you brought that up as I was looking to see if anybody would comment on it and of course they didn’t because the Avenue were beaten, the day they played Newmarket in the MJC funny how the game was switched from Newmarket’s first pitch to the back FIELD which is all it is a field.

I went down that day to see what are supposed to be the two best ballplaying teams in Clare and it was like watching a match 20 years ago on a field which was just a disgrace. Now before ye all start with “both teams had to play on same pitch” or they didn’t want to ruin it, the first pitch was in perfect condition that day but it was obvious that the Newmarket management team knew that if they played on their first pitch and tried to play ball chances are they would have got a beaten so let’s move it and play kick and run!!! So don’t come on here and say Avenue were trying to pull a fast one, be under no illusion my friends all teams give the “wink and the nod” when certain teams come to play.

Wishicouldplay
18/02/2014, 7:37 PM
I have been reading this thread for a while now and it makes me laugh at the constant attack or questioning if you call it about what Avenue are involved in. I am pretty sure Avenue did not request to play on the astro 95% of the players donot want to play on it, 45 min training on it is bad enough never mind a full game, but the fixture was put down so they must turn up which they did.

Now can ye imagine the abuse that would havebeen handed out here if Corofin had been left standing and Avenue didn’t turnup I can only say ye would have loved it!! I see a comment made by“WishIcouldplay” that if Avenue were to play a footballing team would they ask for astro? Funny you brought that up as I was looking to see if anybody would comment on it and of course they didn’t because the Avenue were beaten, the day they played Newmarket in the MJC funny how the game was switched from Newmarket’s first pitch to the back FIELD which is all it is a field.

I went down that day to see what are supposed to be the two best ballplaying teams in Clare and it was like watching a match 20 years ago on a field which was just a disgrace. Now before ye all start with “both teams had to play on same pitch” or they didn’t want to ruin it, the first pitch was in perfect condition that day but it was obvious that the Newmarket management team knew that if they played on their first pitch and tried to play ball chances are they would have got a beaten so let’s move it and play kick and run!!! So don’t come on here and say Avenue were trying to pull a fast one, be under no illusion my friends all teams give the “wink and the nod” when certain teams come to play.

dont know why your getting your back up, I take it your whole rant was aimed at me. Why I have no idea, it was a question and I got an answer, thank you.I also said that players don't want to play on it,
what clubs do to fulfill a fixture is there business, if you've got two pitches you can pick and choose.
never said avenue were pulling a fast one.but you just admitted every team gives the "wink and the nod" :-)
just to end, I've nothing against avenue, and I think you shouldn't flatter yourself to think the "Ye" people care.

Wishicouldplay
18/02/2014, 7:39 PM
Any idea if games will go ahead this weekend? I can only imagine a lot of pitches will still need time to dry out, let's we get wind but no rain for a while, think we are all getting withdrawals.

mastermind1
18/02/2014, 8:37 PM
I d imagine most games will go ahead if it stays dry between now and the weekend. At the same time if theres a heavy downpour any day this week then alot of pitches will again be ruled out

old git
18/02/2014, 8:53 PM
I d imagine most games will go ahead if it stays dry between now and the weekend. At the same time if theres a heavy downpour any day this week then alot of pitches will again be ruled out

and the lees road astro will be available if avenue don't need it ;);)