View Full Version : Champions League/Europa League draws 2010
Pages :
[
18]
sullanefc
23/07/2010, 11:41 AM
Well yeah. I meant the league as a whole. It would obviously be great for Rovers.
23/07/2010, 12:32 PM
What are the odds on getting a draw at home? Think ill put my money where my mouth is.
23/07/2010, 12:34 PM
Agree with you Paul, can see a 0-0 at home and a 2-0 defeat away.
23/07/2010, 12:37 PM
Amusing really. LoI supporters bemoan the fact that the League doesn't get pitched or presented to a wider audience but when there is a chance they say "Get lost, this is ours and we don't want to share it with others (i.e. "bar stoolers"). A bit like Gollum and the ring. "Precious, this is mine"
Well, correct me if I'm wrong, but Rovers are actually going to try and win the game, right?
Winning is the aim of football, right?
Giving up home advantage in a European tie is just madness. Especially as most of the Juve players will have more experience of Lansdowne Road than our players.
Real ale Madrid
23/07/2010, 12:46 PM
Especially as most of the Juve players will have more experience of Lansdowne Road than our players.
Who let them in there?
I agree with your overall point tho. Its a pity they can't set the stadium up like the Real madrid Friendly like they had last season .
23/07/2010, 12:48 PM
Well, correct me if I'm wrong, but Rovers are actually going to try and win the game, right?
Winning is the aim of football, right?
Giving up home advantage in a European tie is just madness. Especially as most of the Juve players will have more experience of Lansdowne Road than our players.
None of them will have any experience of Aviva, and home advantage is more to do with logistics and support rather than the actual stadium or pitch
Regardless, it should be in Tallaght.
23/07/2010, 1:33 PM
That bit might have been taking it a bit far, but the main point is that big stadiums are more suited to big teams like Juve. And I disagree about the rest - you don't think Fingal would have benefited from playing Maritimo on their own pitch (unimpressive though it is)?
you don't think Fingal would have benefited from playing Maritimo on their own pitch (unimpressive though it is)?
Nope, if anything the better surface at Dalymount helped them
23/07/2010, 2:26 PM
Surely it would have helped the others more? Technically a lot better from what I've seen of them.
23/07/2010, 4:51 PM
From the Guardian:
"We do not know Shamrock Rovers and therefore we have to study them through videos" - Juventus forward David Lanzafame looks forward to next week's Big Vase third round qualifier against Irish side Shamrock Rovers in Robbie Keane's hometown of Tallaght. If Juventus lose, they won't be the first Old Lady to have been mugged in the notoriously rough Dublin village.
http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2010/jul/23/the-fiver-fulham-sven-goran-eriksson
galwayjames
23/07/2010, 5:05 PM
From the Guardian:
http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2010/jul/23/the-fiver-fulham-sven-goran-eriksson
Interesting that Tallaght is a village despite the fact that almost 100,000 people live there :)
Straightstory
23/07/2010, 5:14 PM
Are the highlights/Rovers goal online anywhere?
23/07/2010, 5:48 PM
Interesting that Tallaght is a village despite the fact that almost 100,000 people live there :)
I think a lot of British people still think all Irish people live in small fishing villages of no more than 50 people.
stovelid
23/07/2010, 6:24 PM
Why can't this be held at Aviva Stadium? It would sell out for sure. Juventus playing in some tin pot stadium doesn't make sense.
http://www.shamrockrovers.ie/news/35-news/1475-juventus-ticket-news
Colbert Report
24/07/2010, 12:32 AM
Surely you don't believe that you have a chance against the likes of Juventus? They'll send over a youth team that will beat ye 5-0. Are Shamrock Rovers even a full time professional team? Before you jump on me here, the LOI's entrant into the Champions League were trounced 4-0 by a semi-pro Welsh team that nobody has ever heard of. They play one level below League 2.
sparky12345678
24/07/2010, 1:04 AM
Surely you don't believe that you have a chance against the likes of Juventus? They'll send over a youth team that will beat ye 5-0. Are Shamrock Rovers even a full time professional team? Before you jump on me here, the LOI's entrant into the Champions League were trounced 4-0 by a semi-pro Welsh team that nobody has ever heard of. They play one level below League 2.
Thats nice, talk about optimism, would you like to see rovers win or not?
Just because you have no respect for them doesnt mean we cant believe in the impossible. Thats what football is all about.
Would you have believed me if i told you Italy would draw with New Zealand in the world cup (in fact new zealand finished higher than italy in the groups!)? or North korea would only lose 2-1 to brazil, that argentina would only beat nigeria one nil, that serbia would beat germany, that switzerland would beat spain, spain only beat paraguay one nil etc i could go on. I could find coutless examples of where underdogs have beaten top class teams,(im sure therer are many FA Cup examples in eng). hell i could find good examples of irish teams preforming well above what would be expected of them against top class teams Drogheda v dynamo kiev comes to mind, that only from my living memory im sure plenty here could give better ones (incl wins).
But no it sounds to me like your not willing to give the irish leagues a chance. Forget about the fact that rovers went to israel a league and a team ranked well above them and beat them on their own soil. forget about the fact the sporting fingal only barely lost in portugal thanks to 94 inj time goal. forget about st pats last year knocking out a russian team. Using your own example TNS who would be considered well below bohs beat them 4 nil which actually proves the point that teams can upset the odds!!!
please have a little faith. and dont disrespect the irish league. to say they play at one level below league 2 is a joke, given Keith Fahey went straight into birminghams team, joe o shea on their books, b murphy playing at ipswitch (and subsequently getting a call up for ireland) G deegan going to coventry. Not to mention Doyle, Ward and the likes. At worst we play below championship level (given that most of our best players get into their teams).
Have you no shame, putting down irish teams and irish leagues just because theyre not in the same league as man u and juventus (btw im a man u fan and also a northsider and id still rather go and cheer on the scum against juve than watch unitd against the loi xi).
You fail to grasp what it means to truly support a club. Its not about the glory and the trophys. its about the passion, the fight. What was so disappointing about the bohs loss was not the loss itself but that they didnt play with passion (like drogheda did v kiev) or heart. If rovers go out and do themselves proud, the fans proud, the league proud and make a game of it.... i'll be happy. At home, id be very surprised to see a loss of over 1 or 2 goals unless they just dont show up like bohs.
To dismiss them so easily is pathetic given the very nature of football and who are you to judge based on one result over the last week.
24/07/2010, 2:25 AM
We LOI fans get this attitude all the time, always have done and always will do, regardless of the evidence to the contrary.
First 6 seconds shows the build up briefly before...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zug_QvsF_1Y
Colbert Report....just :silly:
Jaysus, some atmosphere there, and thats just from the video!
stovelid
24/07/2010, 10:03 AM
I don't care if they beat us 10 nil as long as people like you don't get a ticket.
Enjoy it on the telly.
GalwayRed
24/07/2010, 11:45 AM
Surely you don't believe that you have a chance against the likes of Juventus? They'll send over a youth team that will beat ye 5-0.
I really doubt that will happen.
Are Shamrock Rovers even a full time professional team? Before you jump on me here, the LOI's entrant into the Champions League were trounced 4-0 by a semi-pro Welsh team that nobody has ever heard of. They play one level below League 2.
They're a full time professional team. They dont play any level below League 2 because the Welsh league is completely separate from the English league. You clearly know very little about them.
I enjoyed a bit of a laugh at Bohs when they got beaten but theres no point making things up about their opponents.
Edit:Maybe you meant the Airtricity League is one level below league 2. In that case I think different teams would compete at different levels in the english league system. I wouldnt imagine Bray and Bohs being in the same league for example.
Rasputin
24/07/2010, 12:00 PM
You do realise that with all the galacticos of Real Madrid they only beat them 1-0 last season and yet barstoolers like yourself were pawing themselves over the prospect of seeing a "proper team" humiliate an Irish club.
Stranger things have happened in football.
But for the record I dont expect Shams to beat Juve.
HulaHoop
24/07/2010, 12:28 PM
"Model Club" may get more help from Uefa this time it seems ;)
From the Indo
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/shamrock-rovers-seek-uefa-permission-to-add-more-seats-2271123.html
Shamrock Rovers seek UEFA permission to add more seats
SHAMROCK ROVERS will appeal to UEFA for permission to install extra seats for the visit of Juventus to Tallaght next Thursday night.
The Hoops were able to increase their capacity by 4,000 to 10,000 for last summer's pre-season friendly against Real Madrid, but the European governing body's rules do not permit temporary seating for Europa or Champions League matches.
However, there have been exceptions to this rule and although they received an initial 'no' in preliminary discussions, Rovers hope to add to the significant financial boost that the plum draw will give them.
And from the same article maybe a few lessons for the Bohs board from Mr Roche - don't budget for euro games you might not qualify for :)
Club chairman Jonathan Roche said the club haven't put a figure on what they expect to earn from the tie.
"We just have to wait and see," he said. "This is a bonus to us, we're just concentrating on having Juventus in Tallaght next week. We haven't budgeted for anything so we're in the next round, which is a guaranteed payment and whatever else comes is brilliant.
"Getting the extra seats is not a big deal for us, if it's a no, it's a no. We're only worried as a club about out fans, season ticket holders and the people who come see us every week.
"Anything else is a bonus, if we had 15,000 people there or if the Aviva was available and we got 30,000 at it -- how many of those people would go see us against Sporting Fingal the following week?"
"It's great, but it's kind of a side issue. If we can get a few more people in, then brilliant. If we don't, we don't."
CuanaD
24/07/2010, 12:42 PM
I don't care if they beat us 10 nil as long as people like you don't get a ticket.
Enjoy it on the telly.
Agree with you there - even though I'll be one of those who won't get a ticket.
Great to see the tickets on sale to the season ticket holders first - they are the ones who deserve to get to a game like this, not barstoolers who only want to watch the foreign team & moan about our own.
I was at the home game (Bnei Yehuda) - first time in Tallaght Stadium & the atmosphere was quality - as are the facilities, but I know that I won't have a chance of getting to this one unless UEFA allow temp seats.
But the point is, it'll be great that the true supporters get to this one & it wont be taken over by bandwaggon jumpers. Should be a great atmosphere & I envy all Rovers supporters.
Ezeikial
24/07/2010, 12:47 PM
Great to see the tickets on sale to the season ticket holders first - they are the ones who deserve to get to a game like this, not barstoolers who only want to watch the foreign team & moan about our own.
I was at the home game (Bnei Yehuda) - first time in Tallaght Stadium & the atmosphere was quality - as are the facilities, but I know that I won't have a chance of getting to this one unless UEFA allow temp seats.
But the point is, it'll be great that the true supporters get to this one & it wont be taken over by bandwaggon jumpers. Should be a great atmosphere & I envy all Rovers supporters.
Completely agree with you. This is a day for Shamrock Rovers fans first and foremost.
Jicked
24/07/2010, 1:58 PM
Jaysus, some atmosphere there, and thats just from the video!
It continued till the airport the next day
Just imagine what it'll be like in Modena!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YeblK9rRAUY&feature=player_embedded
Rasputin
24/07/2010, 2:21 PM
Any videos of Shams fans at the game?
24/07/2010, 2:46 PM
what juve say about shams
http://www.juventus.com/site/eng/NEWS_newschampionsleague_DEAA8055B97749C2A76FFD44D 41E7A91.asp
In the hope of returning to the Dublin Arena for the final on the 18th May 2011, the route of Juventus in the Europa League could start off from Dublin. The capital city of the Republic of Ireland is the city of Shamrock Rovers, one of the possible rivals of the bianconeri in the third preliminary round.
Strong from a century-long history (the club was founded in 1901), Shamrock Rovers was one of the most victorious teams in Irish history. In its trophy cupboard one finds 15 national titles (the most recent in 1994), 24 national cups (the most recent in 1987), 18 Irish FA Shields and an Irish FA Cup.
Last championship (in the Republic of Ireland it is held between March an October) they finished in second place behind Bohemians. In the current tournament, which is currently on its 22nd match day, they are leading with 38 points as a result of 10 victories, 8 draws and 5 defeats. Juventus could be playing against the team which is in full championship force.
The team is made up of British and Irish players (Irish, North Irish, English and Scottish). The most important player is Gary Twigg, a Scottish striker who in the last championship won the top-scorer title with 24 goals and also won the player of the year award. The coach is North Ireland national Michael O’Neill.
The 1-1 draw against Bney Yehuda was the result of their seasonal debut in the Europa League. The Irish managed to equalize on the 91st minute thanks to a goal by Bayly.
The club plays its home matches at Tallagh Stadium in Dublin which has a capacity of 5,700 seats.
Up to this day, Juventus has never played against a team from the Republic of Ireland.
HulaHoop
24/07/2010, 3:14 PM
It continued till the airport the next day
Just imagine what it'll be like in Modena!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YeblK9rRAUY&feature=player_embedded
I wonder will there be any Bohs fans contacting SARI about the obvious monkey chants by Rovers fans in that video Jicked? It sounds remarkably like the same noises that were heard in Tallaght against Bohs last season. Joey Ndo must have come out to the airport to greet Rovers home or else maybe just maybe they were chanting hoops hoops hoops as the team came through the arrivals hall :sarcastic:
24/07/2010, 3:16 PM
I wonder will there be any Bohs fans contacting SARI about the obvious monkey chants by Rovers fans in that video Jicked? It sounds remarkably like the same noises that were heard in Tallaght against Bohs last season. Joey Ndo must have come out to the airport to greet Rovers home or else maybe just maybe they were chanting hoops hoops hoops as the team came through the arrivals hall :sarcastic:
why bring that crap up again....
24/07/2010, 3:21 PM
It's good that you got that petty dig in. It adds to the thread.
HulaHoop
24/07/2010, 3:24 PM
why bring that crap up again....
To make the point at how easy it is to misinterpret a chant at a football match. Rovers were hung drawn and quartered on this site, SARI was contacted, complaints made to the FAI, UEFA and FIFA because the same chants in the video above were taken to be monkey noises at Joey Ndo when it was obvious to any Rovers fan it was just hoops hoops hoops. Point made lets leave it there.
do you really want to bring this up again? So your defence is no longer that the video was doctored? Or that when Ndo had the ball the crowd were chanting "boo, boo" at him?
Sure.
24/07/2010, 4:49 PM
it was obvious to any Rovers fan it was just hoops hoops hoops.
It was obvious to everybody else (and even a few more honest Rovers fans) that it was racist chanting.
For other rovers fans, first it didn't happen, then it was 'short booing chants', then it was 'hoops hoops', and finally, it was doctored. All of the various excuses were and still are pathetic.
sparky12345678
24/07/2010, 10:30 PM
Likewise id love to go, went to pats in the RDS against berlin and this obv is another level, but i actually would feel bad about taking a ticket from a more die hard rovers/LOI fan who deserve to be there. surely rovers fans will sell it out, theyve sold out a few times since it opened and shud do def for this....
24/07/2010, 10:38 PM
To be fair, there will be plenty of casual fans there whose season-ticket holding friends and family members get them in. It's their reward for investing in a season ticket so even as a fan I can't complain.
monkey9
24/07/2010, 11:47 PM
Likewise id love to go, went to pats in the RDS against berlin and this obv is another level, but i actually would feel bad about taking a ticket from a more die hard rovers/LOI fan who deserve to be there. surely rovers fans will sell it out, theyve sold out a few times since it opened and shud do def for this....
Don't feel bad if you get a ticket. The die hard Shams fans are quite rightly catered for with all season ticket holders having first option on tickets.
Not every die-hard fan is a season ticket holder, but there's is no other way of making sure as many get their chance as possible. Not every ticket will go to a diehard fan - the second ticket bought might go to family or workmate..that's impossible to 'control'.
But from the club perspective, the tickets will sell..
25/07/2010, 12:49 AM
It was obvious to everybody else that it was racist chanting.
All of the various excuses were and still are pathetic.
There were no excuses, as there was nothing to excuse. We did it then, we did it last night, we'll do it next week, and we'll do it next year. It is a clean chant merely stating who we are, and nothing to do with racism.
HulaHoop
25/07/2010, 2:09 AM
It was obvious to everybody else (and even a few more honest Rovers fans) that it was racist chanting.
For other rovers fans, first it didn't happen, then it was 'short booing chants', then it was 'hoops hoops', and finally, it was doctored. All of the various excuses were and still are pathetic.
One question, the noises in the video in this thread of Rovers fans in the airport and the noises in the video of the Bohs match last season. Is is or is it not exactly the same chant - yes or no?
EastTerracer
25/07/2010, 2:45 AM
a fake Bono just apologised on his Twitter page for the 2nd leg of the Juventus game being moved to Modena..
"I must apologise to my fellow @shamrockrovers fans for getting their massive game moved. Maybe I'll wear a rovers jersey on stage to make up" https://twitter.com/bonopaulhewson
Funny, I've never seen him up in Tallaght. Maybe somebody in the know could get the real Bono in a Rovers shirt in the stadium in Turin while the game is on down the autostrada!
25/07/2010, 3:44 AM
It's a joke account.
EastTerracer
25/07/2010, 4:06 AM
It's a joke account.
Thanks for pointing out my error - i edited the post to make it clear it wasn't true.
25/07/2010, 4:46 AM
It's actually quite convincing. I was taken in for a few weeks until I noticed he was having conversations with his journalist friends.
25/07/2010, 1:17 PM
Well done to Shams, great stuff.
Went to the Bohs game for my sins with DCFCSteve, up from London. Bohs were a complete mess, no heart, no passion. Were rudderless. But TNS are a decent team, and they def deserved the win. I expect them to win the Welsh league at a canter, and they are a full time set up.
Fingal were unlucky, scoring 4 goals and not getting even a draw, and at least Dundalk got us some co efficients.
When the draws were made, I only expected one team in the next round - Bohs, so Im not too disappointed for the LOI. The LOI teams got tough draws this season, so well done to Shams for getting to the next round
Was half thinking of heading to Italy on a cheap flight from London, but my wife is after hiding my passport -LOl
Rasputin
25/07/2010, 4:56 PM
Now dont call me crazy and do hear me out here.
But maybe just maybe I could have mistaken your fans singing about how Joey Ndo's father wash's elephants and his mother is a whore and the whole time it was just a "hoops hoops" chant.
It explains it all, and id say it also explains why you have openly Facist fans on your forum and why you have the same clowns over on Stormfr@nt.
It all stems from the "hoops hoops" chant.
Sad that you had to bring this up again and try and fob it off with the general positive feeling for Shams after their result.
Rasher
25/07/2010, 7:53 PM
http://www.sport2.co.il/
scoll down on right 'til you see the hoops..
There were no excuses, as there was nothing to excuse. We did it then, we did it last night, we'll do it next week, and we'll do it next year. It is a clean chant merely stating who we are, and nothing to do with racism.
Lies.
The Lep
25/07/2010, 9:17 PM
All the best for the Juve game Rovers and dont mind the begrudgers.
25/07/2010, 11:39 PM
What stadium is the Juve v Rovers game in?