View Full Version : Champions League/Europa League draws 2010

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22

01/07/2010, 7:44 PM
In fairness it is a bad result.

Even a large club wouldn't be too worried with a 3-3 draw away from home in the first leg. You have three away goals and no deficit to overcome in the 2nd leg. It leaves Dundalk not having to lose at home to a team who couldn't beat them at home to progress.

abcd
01/07/2010, 7:46 PM
Look I don't care about petty point scoring between clubs in the league. We would have lost the game if we were over there I've no doubt. I don't have any issues with Dundalk, its an issue with the league in general. I was desperate for ye to win tonight like I am for every LOI team that plays in Europe but the fact is the league can't move forward and be taken seriously until we consistently start to beat these kind of teams. Fair enough it was a trip into the unknown but Dundalk were 2-0 up, their extra fitness and quality should have come through in the closing quarter (which was the argument made for summer soccer) and instead they caved in. Look at the result for Luxembourg other represenative (albeit against a good Danish side) if you think this is a good result.

I'm seeing another Shelbourne v Hibernians Malta in the 2nd leg tbh.

01/07/2010, 7:47 PM
In fairness it is a bad result.

No worse than any other LOI club has had at one stage or another

ped_ped
01/07/2010, 7:48 PM
+ 0.125 to the co-efficient. Possibility of +.125 or .250 next week . . . they obviously let their foot off the gas but they'll be that less likely to do it next week - when it matters.

01/07/2010, 7:48 PM
if you think this is a good result.

No one said anything of the sort, but why all the drama?

01/07/2010, 7:54 PM
http://profile.ak.fbcdn.net/object3/1907/89/n40176143950_2035.jpg

PartySaint
01/07/2010, 7:58 PM
No worse than any other LOI club has had at one stage or another

He never said it was worse than any other team has had, he just said its a bad result which im sure you can see that it is

01/07/2010, 8:02 PM
He also then said that he could see them losing the 2nd leg, despite not having seen a single second of the Luxemburgers...

Others called it an embaressment and a disgrace.

All reactionary OTT bull****

Boo_Boy
01/07/2010, 8:06 PM
We lost to a team that was trying to lose.

You can't get worse than that.

PartySaint
01/07/2010, 8:06 PM
He also then said that he could see them losing the 2nd leg, despite not having seen a single second of the Luxemburgers...

No he didnt...

Spudulika
01/07/2010, 8:08 PM
Guys, a little perspective needed. Look at results right now and it's all a bit surprising. A sub-strength Sliema went to Sibenik and got a 0-0 draw. Sibenik are consistently good and have had some smashing results in pre-season. Dundalk could have held on but they're in great shape for the return leg. I'm seeing more Shels-Hajduk from 2004.

01/07/2010, 8:10 PM
Stu I know that Dundalk will beat them at Oriel...and probably will comfortably. But that doesn't detract from the fact that they threw away 2 goal league against a bunch of part timers in Luxembourg of all places. Therefore its still a bad result in my book.

No drama, no frills just saying its a bad result.

01/07/2010, 8:22 PM
oops PartySaint got a little ahead of myself there.

Finlay Harp
01/07/2010, 8:23 PM
They had an off day. Second leg will be straight forward for Dundalk. Big crowd, a pitch the opposition wont be confident with and 3 away goals. Nice position to be in.

A N Mouse
01/07/2010, 8:25 PM
Stu I know that Dundalk will beat them at Oriel...and probably will comfortably. But that doesn't detract from the fact that they threw away 2 goal league against a bunch of part timers in Luxembourg of all places. Therefore its still a bad result in my book.

No drama, no frills just saying its a bad result.

But it's not a bad result, it's disappointing given they were 2-0 up, and decent given they were 3-2 down with 15 mins left.

It's their first time in Europe in how many years?

People also seem overly optimistic about rovers chances, given it's also their first time in Europe, in a while, and the logistics involved in wherever they're going.

01/07/2010, 8:33 PM
Guys, a little perspective needed. Look at results right now and it's all a bit surprising. A sub-strength Sliema went to Sibenik and got a 0-0 draw. Sibenik are consistently good and have had some smashing results in pre-season. Dundalk could have held on but they're in great shape for the return leg. I'm seeing more Shels-Hajduk from 2004.

Especially as the other Luxembourg representatives lost 6-1

A N Mouse
01/07/2010, 8:36 PM
Especially as the other Luxembourg representatives lost 6-1

Oh yeah, and bohs would humps Randers :rolleyes:

abcd
01/07/2010, 8:36 PM
Perhaps it is over-reactionary and from a Dundalk point of view they're still in the driving seat to progress but the longer the game at Oriel stays at 0-0 the more nervous it'll get for Dundalk. They could have saved themselves a lot of hassle and perhaps have rested some key players in the latter stages of the game next week by winning tonight and lets face it Dundalk need to take advantage of any chance to use their squad as it doesn't have the same strength in depth of others. I didn't see one second tonight but the fact the Luxembourg side scored three goals in under 15 minutes suggests they could cause Dundalk problems.

01/07/2010, 8:41 PM

orande b@stards... ;)

01/07/2010, 8:45 PM
But it's not a bad result, it's disappointing given they were 2-0 up, and decent given they were 3-2 down with 15 mins left.

It's their first time in Europe in how many years?

People also seem overly optimistic about rovers chances, given it's also their first time in Europe, in a while, and the logistics involved in wherever they're going.

agree with all this. I think its a decent result all things considered. Plus Dundalk themselves are going through a rough patch formwise and are missing their first choice keeper and Melligan. Gregg was at fault for the third goal. Based on the result today its likely they'll comfortably win through the home leg.

People are overreacting in stating its bad or embarrassing for Irish football. Given everything else there is to be embarrassed about, this doesnt even register.

01/07/2010, 9:06 PM

I look forward to seeing how Derry City are going to get on in their European Campaign this season

CONDESCENDING ROLLY-EYES THING

Randers finished 2 points outside of the relegation zone in the SAS Ligaen this season - only getting into Europe thanks to the Fair Play Draw

From having regularly watched the Danish League on TV this season (thanks to Viasat) - I can confidently say they weren't really that much cop

baddebt
01/07/2010, 9:41 PM
sad to see some negatie comments

Any result for any LOI team away from is great be it against a team from Lux , Andorra , England Scot or where-ever.
M'on the lillywhites.

the object of playing europe is to get to the next round ,
we have 3 away goals , a home tie next week....I think we are in pretty decent shape(barring a disaster),
Roll on next week

dfclilywhite
01/07/2010, 9:45 PM
agree with all this. I think its a decent result all things considered. Plus Dundalk themselves are going through a rough patch formwise and are missing their first choice keeper and Melligan. Gregg was at fault for the third goal. Based on the result today its likely they'll comfortably win through the home leg.

Burns was out aswell, the defence just don't seem to play well when he's not there and Melligan is 99% leaving the club.

01/07/2010, 9:57 PM
Conceding 3 against a Luxembourg team isn't great but as long as Dundalk get through, it's job done and they should manage that without much difficulty.

The Lep
01/07/2010, 10:04 PM
With the confidence of some on here that Dundalk would have walked tonights game then it could be seen as a slip by Dundalk. The truth is that they were playing a team they knew little about and still came away with 3 away goals. Its still game on for both sides but it will be easier on Dundalk to get a result at home and i see them going through easy enough next week. ( It is next week ye? ).

bullit
01/07/2010, 10:17 PM
With the confidence of some on here that Dundalk would have walked tonights game then it could be seen as a slip by Dundalk. The truth is that they were playing a team they knew little about and still came away with 3 away goals. Its still game on for both sides but it will be easier on Dundalk to get a result at home and i see them going through easy enough next week. ( It is next week ye? ).
Yep next thursday @ 7.
Tickets still available so dont all rush at once!!

TheBoss
01/07/2010, 11:34 PM
Is it a good thing that people are disappointed with an LOI side getting a draw away from Home ?

Teams from Ireland have always struggled away from home, despite 2/3 very good performances over the years. It seems some people set the standard of LOI teams when they perform beyond their means on one-off occassions and I think it is unfair to expect very game to be perfect.

abcd
02/07/2010, 12:44 AM
Thats mainly why I'm so dissapointed with tonights result. We've seen over the years how difficult it is to get results away from home and tonight Dundalk had an away win and progression to the next round in their grasp and they let it slip. Ok they are still in control of the tie but its a very tentative advantage.

bullit
02/07/2010, 5:25 AM
Its easy to see,we were trieing to bump the gate up for next week.Hammering the Huns 8-nil would never have worked,its all a cunning plan you see!!!

seand
02/07/2010, 7:55 AM
The result is symptomatic of our poor current form. Disappointing but far from a disaster. The only consideration has to be getting through the round, if we don't it will be extremely disappointing. A pity not to pick up an extra fraction of a coefficient point too.

It's only the fifth time Dundalk have avoided defeat in the away leg in 21 games in Europe.

02/07/2010, 8:50 AM
sad to see some negatie comments

Any result for any LOI team away from is great be it against a team from Lux , Andorra , England Scot or where-ever.

In fairness, as much as this game isn't a sad day for the league or an embarrassment as some have made out, it's hardly comparable to a draw away to an English side either. You can't equate a draw away to a side from the worst league in Europe to one from the best side in Europe (according to the UEFA rankings).

It is a bad result, but that's all it is. Dundalk are still favourites to go through. Move on from there.

A N Mouse
02/07/2010, 9:18 AM
I look forward to seeing how Derry City are going to get on in their European Campaign this season

CONDESCENDING ROLLY-EYES THING

Randers finished 2 points outside of the relegation zone in the SAS Ligaen this season - only getting into Europe thanks to the Fair Play Draw

From having regularly watched the Danish League on TV this season (thanks to Viasat) - I can confidently say they weren't really that much cop

Given the usual comments from a few posters on here I'd say our 'european campaign' is going pretty well this year, 2 defeats away from home, thank you.

You seemed to be replying to calls for perspective by saying, oh the other Luxembourg team got beaten 6-1. My point was the team that beat them would still be expected to beat bohs, should they meet. So yours is hardly a fair comparison, if one exists.

Dundalk should reasonably be expected to win a tie against opposition from Luxembourg.

Randers, no matter where they finished in their league, should expect to win both legs.

I don't think there're many countries LOI teams should have high expectations of winning both legs. They may well fancy their chances

02/07/2010, 9:33 AM
An embarrassing result for Dundalk. Another bad day for L.O.I football in general.

Rubbish, got 3 away goals in first game in Europe comps for years. Dundalk should do the business in the home leg. No problem:)

marinobohs
02/07/2010, 9:53 AM
Perhaps it is over-reactionary and from a Dundalk point of view they're still in the driving seat to progress (1) but the longer the game at Oriel stays at 0-0 the more nervous it'll get for Dundalk. They could have saved themselves a lot of hassle and perhaps have rested some key players in the latter stages of the game next week by winning tonight and lets face it Dundalk need to take advantage of any chance to use their squad as it doesn't have the same strength in depth of others. I didn't see one second tonight but the fact the (2) Luxembourg side scored three goals in under 15 minutes suggests they could cause Dundalk problems.

(1) an early goal by Dundalk will almost certainly finish the tie. With three away goals the risk of an away goals loss is very unlikely.
(2) bad for Dundalk to lose a two goal lead but good to come from behind so late in the game.

Overall Dundalk still in pole position to progress AFTER the away leg - a good result for any LOI team.

02/07/2010, 10:03 AM
I don't think it's a bad result. A few posters on here were saying before the game that a score draw would do nicely, and that's what Dundalk got.

Certainlt, it's disappointing not to get the away win from a position of 2-0 up, but the second leg will see Dundalk only needing a draw against a team they seem to have been better than for much of the game.

Overall, nothing to be ahamed about.

02/07/2010, 10:12 AM
against a team they seem to have been better than for much of the game.What are you basing that on? Because the commentary I was listening to(the Dundalk one), Dundalk were under pressure for a lot of the game and Grevenmacher created a lot more chances than Dundalk. Sounds like they were lucky to get the draw.

I still think they'll go through though, winning handy enough at home.

Cymro
02/07/2010, 10:32 AM
I could be wrong, but I think a team from Luxembourg (Kaerjeng) beat Lillestrom over two legs recently. A 3-3 draw in Luxembourg is not a bad result at all for Dundalk, if you take that into consideration.

Basically it means that if Dundalk get an early goal at home the game's all but over.

02/07/2010, 10:36 AM
They did, yeah, in 2008. Differdang won a first-leg game against Rijeka last year too. Between those two, there were eight consecutive double-leg defeats. Luxembourg sides in Europe here (http://kassiesa.nl/uefa/clubs/search/fm.php?search=lux).

02/07/2010, 1:32 PM
What are you basing that on? Because the commentary I was listening to(the Dundalk one), Dundalk were under pressure for a lot of the game and Grevenmacher created a lot more chances than Dundalk. Sounds like they were lucky to get the draw.
I was only basing it on the fact that they went 2-0 up to be honest.

CuanaD
02/07/2010, 2:55 PM
10 years ago we were hoping that one of our euro representatives could possibly do well in their tie & in a good year get through one round.

Now, we have 3 teams starting in the second rounds of their competitions (one seeded) & the 4th are seeded in the 1st round. We expect teams to progress & are complaining when Dundalk get a good score draw result away from home.

We have progressed :ball:

Or, to put it another way, the league has progressed, but our national moaning attitude hasn't.

02/07/2010, 3:01 PM
In fairness, the reason three teams are starting in the second round of the competitions is because the competitions were restructured. It doesn't of itself indicate progress at all.

Cuyahoga
02/07/2010, 6:13 PM
Yep next thursday @ 7.
Tickets still available so dont all rush at once!!
Could you tell us why the game is on at 7 and not 7.45? I doubt Luxembourg T.V had an influence in it.

bullit
02/07/2010, 7:06 PM
Could you tell us why the game is on at 7 and not 7.45? I doubt Luxembourg T.V had an influence in it.
The reason given by the club for the early k/o is in case the match requires extra-time to be played which is highly unlikely at this time,but one never knows......

Ezeikial
03/07/2010, 1:06 AM

TV is not a factor - there is no demand from Luxembourg or from our own stations for live broadcast. The issue is that the match (including any potential extra time / penalties) is played in daylight hours as the floodlights do not meet the higher standards demanded by UEFA.

The FAI on behalf of UEFA dictate that the latest possible kick-off time is 7pm (leaves more time for the apres-match craic too!).

The Grevenmacher bunch were great hosts off the pitch and there should be great craic next week in Dundalk surrounding the first European tie in almost 20 years in Oriel

Ezeikial
03/07/2010, 1:15 AM
Supporters of other clubs are very welcome to join the hooley next Thursday in Dundalk. (tickets in advance via www.dundalkfc.com (http://www.dundalkfc.com) and maybe also available on match night - double check on the website from day before match)

Maybe wear your own club colours (even Drogs/Bohs/Rovers fans will be welcome!!!!) and join the pre-match party in Kennedys Pub (beside the train station, adjacent to the ground) or in either of the two club bars in the ground after the match

03/07/2010, 2:06 AM
Sure Rovers fans are welcome after the last time?

03/07/2010, 3:58 AM
i love dundalk,..... there i said it :D

bot if you loose you'll break my little heart :(

i'm over tired..

bullit
03/07/2010, 4:53 AM
Sure Rovers fans are welcome after the last time?
Free in with stone island gear!
All publicity is good publicity

Spudulika
03/07/2010, 8:41 AM
B'kara awarded a 3-0 win, while Sliema drew 0-0 in Sibenik. Given that B'kara are almost in meltdown (they won the league last year by default), and Sliema have been hit with one scandal after another including their ex-keeper (now) walking out of the team hotel the night before the Europa League play off having endured 3 hours of grilling regarding the rumours of him about the throw the game - when it was aactually about the fact that he hadn't been paid in 5 months. Both Maltese sides are relatively weak, yet look like progressing (one thanks to a poor pitch the other thanks to politics). So we should all keep behind the Lilywhites and get them into the next round. Then they've a chance to pull off a real shock. In fact I can see all Irish sides winning a round except Rovers - especially if they draw the Israeli side.

oriel
03/07/2010, 11:05 AM
Lads - some of you were a little harsh on the performance by us in Lux. I just got home last night, it was 36c most of Thursday over there, even the locals said it was heatwave, and it wasn`t far off that by kick off at 7.30. We were also missing probably our 3 best players in Cherrie & Burns (both injured) and Melligan (left to Cheltenham), plus we havent won a lge game for 6 or 7 weeks now.

We really struggled with the heat, one of the younger lads drafted into the team had to take an ice bath at half time to cool down. Yes we were dissapointed not to hold it at 2-0, but we`ll beat them easy on thurs night, and overall I think it was a decent effort. Was also a great trip by the fans, hard to put a number on this, Irish Times said 200, I dont think that many, but brilliant craic and its a great city to visit.

Now if we slip up on thurs night, we deserve all we get - but it wont come to that.