View Full Version : Champions League/Europa League draws 2010
Pages :
[
20]
HarpoJoyce
29/07/2010, 11:24 PM
Of the grounds used in the EL 3rd 1st legs I've seen games at five of these and only four grounds that will be used for next week's 2nd legs. A dreadful record.
http://en.uefa.com/uefaeuropaleague/matches/index.html
bullit
29/07/2010, 11:30 PM
Shocking leauge in Canada,play each other twice,and then the CFA(or whatever they are called) fall over themselves on their official website about the massive crowds at the "soccer"bowl final!!!!(21,000)
Take your tounge out of your cheek:p
20 games in total.
Give me CFL anyday:ball:
Colbert Report
29/07/2010, 11:31 PM
NOT trolling here, but seriously, anyone who seriously thought that Shamrock Rovers had any hope of progressing against Juventus is daft.
In order for the sport to grow, the League of Ireland must evolve into a league which can put forth much more competitive teams into European competition. Do you think Juventus were really worried when they learned of who they had been drawn against? When is the last time Ireland had a team capable of competing in the group stages of the Champions League? Have they ever? You all wonder why people prefer to sit at home and watch Man U on the telly. Nights like this should help to explain it.
Colbert Report
29/07/2010, 11:32 PM
Shocking leauge in Canada,play each other twice,and then the CFA(or whatever they are called) fall over themselves on their official website about the massive crowds at the "soccer"bowl final!!!!(21,000)
Take your tounge out of your cheek:p
20 games in total.
Give me CFL anyday:ball:
I wasn't talking about the Canadian soccer league, does such a thing even exist? I was talking about the CFL, different type of football altogether!
29/07/2010, 11:55 PM
NOT trolling here, but seriously, anyone who seriously thought that Shamrock Rovers had any hope of progressing against Juventus is daft.
In order for the sport to grow, the League of Ireland must evolve into a league which can put forth much more competitive teams into European competition. Do you think Juventus were really worried when they learned of who they had been drawn against? When is the last time Ireland had a team capable of competing in the group stages of the Champions League? Have they ever? You all wonder why people prefer to sit at home and watch Man U on the telly. Nights like this should help to explain it.
Nobody wonders why people prefer to sit in and watch telly. Nobody thought Rovers would beat Juventus
I wonder why an Irish football fan in Canada hates the football league of his country. I've asked you before about the league and you said you don't watch it as it isn't shown in Canada, so how come you think you can tell the people who do watch the games how the league can "evolve"
Colbert Report
30/07/2010, 12:13 AM
Nobody wonders why people prefer to sit in and watch telly. Nobody thought Rovers would beat Juventus
I wonder why an Irish football fan in Canada hates the football league of his country. I've asked you before about the league and you said you don't watch it as it isn't shown in Canada, so how come you think you can tell the people who do watch the games how the league can "evolve"
The results speak for themselves. I'm not trying to tell you that you're wasting your time watching your own team in Ireland, what you do with your time is your own business and who am I to judge. What I do have a problem with is people telling me how great the league is and how you produce top notch players year in an year out. The fact is that the league itself is rubbish, very very few people in Ireland care enough to go out to watch the games and when you do draw a big team like Juventus you play it in a tiny stadium instead of trying to market it to the broader audience by having it played elsewhere. Look, the LOI champions were trounced by a WELSH team last week. How does this make the league look to guys like myself that only have access to what's on the telly? I don't have a local side - the Vancouver Whitecaps are the nearest professional team and they are 1350 kms away from where I live. I'd much rather watch Manchester United vs. Liverpool than my local schoolboy team. Does this make me less of a football supporter? Most LOI snobs would say yes.
mrtndvn
30/07/2010, 12:21 AM
I would say you are a ***** tho.
Msg to mods, it was worth the ban I'll most probably receive.
Colbert Report
30/07/2010, 12:22 AM
I would say you are a ***** tho.
Msg to mods, it was worth the ban I'll most probably receive.
Come on now, there's no need for name calling. If you have a problem with something I've written, let's discuss it. I am more than willing to change my position, I would love nothing more than to see a good domestic league in my home country.
Jicked
30/07/2010, 12:25 AM
When you say "good domestic league" you mean, as good as the English Premier League, La Liga, Bundesliga or Serie A. Everything else you would no doubt dismiss as being rubbish because you haven't heard of the players before. There's no point in arguing with someone who thinks unless Ireland somehow produces the money to have one of the top 5 leagues in the world, we're sh*te. It's a ridiculous standpoint which is why people are resorted to name calling, you can't be reasoned with.
Colbert Report
30/07/2010, 12:27 AM
No, I'm not saying we have to have a league up there with England and Spain, I'm just saying it would be nice to be on the same level as Romania, Poland, etc. I'd love to see a LOI team go into the Champions League proper, but I can't see it happening unless there are major changes to the league set up.
Jicked
30/07/2010, 12:31 AM
How many Polish teams have been in the CL proper? One every few years? Sure if we did that you'd just put it down as being a fluke of no interest to you. I can't remember too many games between the two leagues, but do know being a Rovers fan that we rather easily knocked out a Polish team last time we played in Europe.
PartySaint
30/07/2010, 12:33 AM
Its not that they dont understand its that they dont want to understand
30/07/2010, 12:36 AM
No, I'm not saying we have to have a league up there with England and Spain, I'm just saying it would be nice to be on the same level as Romania, Poland, etc. I'd love to see a LOI team go into the Champions League proper, but I can't see it happening unless there are major changes to the league set up.
Changing the league set up won't change much.
In your quest for a magic bullet to cure the LOI, you're over-looking - and ironically reasserting - the single thing that would do most to step-change the league.
If all the glory-hunting, star gazing Irish eejits out there who, like you, trip over themselves to salivate at English and Scottish teams instead showed a little bit of local loyalty and supported their own league/clubs then overnight we'd BE at the level of the likes of Romania, Poland etc as you desireth.
Seriously - if only a tenth of the money that Irish mugs pour gormlessly into foreign football was instead diverted towards the local product then they'd have a league worth following. But no - much easier to live up to the thick Irish stereotype and dance like excitable eejits to Sky Sports tune whilst laughing at your own country's efforts.
BTW - would you rate Scottish football and Glasgow Celtic as being worth watching ? You know - that 'Oirish' team who just got humped by a bunch of Portuguese nobodies, or the other Irish-scottish team who just got gubbed by a bunch of nobodies from Translyvenvakia.
Now go eat some Kraft dinner and stop boring us...
Colbert Report
30/07/2010, 12:49 AM
Celtic have been terrible lately and the SPL isn't on here in Canada except for the odd re-run, meaning no live matches. I don't have much interest in watching them.
The point is, although Celtic have been beaten badly and are currently not a great or even good team, they have the potential to compete seriously in Europe. There is no team in Ireland that is able to say this. I am 26 and I've never seen a team from Ireland compete seriously anywhere outside of the domestic league.
It would be great to see a Dublin team compete in the English league, similar to how Cardiff are part of the English football set up. I know I'll be slaughtered on here for saying it but it would really help spread excitement and interest in the sport. I grew up in north Kildare and I don't think I ever heard anyone EVER talk about the LOI when I was a young lad. It was all Man U this and Aston Villa that. How can you accuse me of being a fair weather supporter when I was never exposed to the league even in the fifteen years I lived in the place?
We have the supporters. We have the money. People aren't fools and they can spot rubbish a mile away. Why should they be expected to shell out their hard-earned dough on a sub-standard product like watching Bohemians get thrashed four nil when the top teams in the world play every night in their living room?
I live in North America. I have no local team to support, as I stated previously my nearest professional team is 1350km away so you can hardly blame me for not turning out to their matches. Why should I have to watch the MLS? I'd rather watch the Champions League instead.
PartySaint
30/07/2010, 12:54 AM
It would be great to see a Dublin team compete in the English league, similar to how Cardiff are part of the English football set up. I know I'll be slaughtered on here for saying it but it would really help spread excitement and interest in the sport..
Are you Freakin serious??
Back to the International threads with you, you are upsetting me
bullit
30/07/2010, 1:01 AM
Fools like this can get green cards????
The Earth is flat.
Socchher 4 ever:o
30/07/2010, 1:04 AM
We have the supporters. We have the money. People aren't fools and they can spot rubbish a mile away. Why should they be expected to shell out their hard-earned dough on a sub-standard product like watching Bohemians get thrashed four nil when the top teams in the world play every night in their living room?
LOI has neither the supporters nor the money.
Many of the people who have the money are the people who talk about how crap the LOI is but, even though they understand that the only way it will improve is if people support and finance it, wouldn't go for love nor money. They watch Sky TV instead, or get a trip to England.
Does the LOI repeatedly shoot itself in the foot by running the league in the most half-assed manner imaginable? You bet.
But people who somehow expect a low-level league in a country where most football fans support teams in another country to miraculously become much better without any support (financial and otherwise) are playing their part in keeping the league where it is.
Colbert Report
30/07/2010, 1:14 AM
LOI has neither the supporters nor the money.
Not true at all. Dublin, until three years ago, was one of, if not the most prosperous city on the entire planet. There was and still is plenty of money to support a Premiership team based in Dublin. If Cardiff can do it, why not us? The proof is in the pudding. Very few people care about the LOI, why continue to force a rubbish product down our throats, Croke Park would be a sell out every week at 60 euro a ticket if Dublin FC were taking on the likes of Chelsea, Aston Villa and Spurs. People will pay to watch the best play.
30/07/2010, 1:17 AM
Not true at all. Dublin, until three years ago, was one of, if not the most prosperous city on the entire planet. There was and still is plenty of money to support a Premiership team based in Dublin. If Cardiff can do it, why not us? The proof is in the pudding. Very few people care about the LOI, why continue to force a rubbish product down our throats, Croke Park would be a sell out every week at 60 euro a ticket if Dublin FC were taking on the likes of Chelsea, Aston Villa and Spurs. People will pay to watch the best play.
That's not LOI. As I said, LOI has neither the supporters nor the money.
The fact that the country has (or had) plenty but the LOI has none is the point I'm making.
30/07/2010, 1:20 AM
Very few people care about the LOI, why continue to force a rubbish product down our throatsNobody is forcing the LOI down anybody's throat. The fact that you grew up with nobody talking about it is evidence of that. The fact that the Irish Times doesn't even print results half the time is evidence of that. The fact that it features for 1 hour a week on TV, because the broadcaster is paid to broadcast the show, is evidence of that.
but I can't see it happening unless there are major changes to the league set up.
I'd be confident that the LOI has changed the league set-up more times than you've had bad posts. Maybe
Colbert Report
30/07/2010, 1:42 AM
I'd be confident that the LOI has changed the league set-up more times than you've had bad posts. Maybe
Thanks for the compliment!
bullit
30/07/2010, 1:51 AM
Them ones in canada could never drink more than a six pack.............grrrrrr
20 years ago i had the same attitude as you but seriously CR, until you have been to games you dont really have any opinion on "the product". Its superb. Its not the best league in the world, of course not, but it is exciting, entertaining live footie. I miss it so much. Its everything the sport should be about. Local people supporting their local team, having a laugh, having a moan, abusing referees, singing, chanting and enjoying the game. You promote the benefits of people watching the best league in the world from the comfort of their own chesterfields ;) but nothing compares to the connection you feel to your local team. I pity the thousands of people who dont realise what they are missing just because they buy into the Sky Sports glamorama...
Osarusan's post above (#967) is bang on the money.
EastTerracer
30/07/2010, 2:28 AM
A "successful" league is not necessarily defined by qualification for the Champions League or results in European ties. I think most LoI fans on here would probably define successful as a financially stable league with decent administrators, a competitive league and reasonable crowds (5,000 rather than 50,000 would be fine).
As SkStu and others have pointed out above, people do not follow their club because they expect them to win the Champions League but because the team, the ground, their fellow supporters and the league become part of their lives. For clubs like Shamrock Rovers, days like today are nice bonuses but its not what being a LoI supporter is about. Obviously winning is important but a LoI title or an FAI Cup would be enough for most of us. Progression in Europe will result from improvements in the LoI but none of us would expect to compete equally with the Spanish, Italian, German and English clubs on a consistent basis. A country the size of Ireland could never support a league like the big European countries.
On the other hand, the idea of a "Dublin FC" style club representing Ireland in the Premier League has been mooted before and has never been able to demonstrate where it's support would come from. LoI supporters are loyal to their own clubs and, like it or not, the lads who support Liverpool, Manchester United and Leeds aren't likely to switch allegiances to this new club either. Croke Park might be full for games against the big English clubs but it wouldn't be full with Dublin FC supporters. In fact, the crowd for a Dublin FC v Blackpool game might not be too much bigger than for a Rovers v Bohs match. People would have no connection with a soulless club like that - that type of connection might build up over time but any investor could not afford to wait long enough for such a tradition to be established. The idea is nothing new and the reason it hasn't happened is because when people sit down to look at the numbers it just wouldn't work.
30/07/2010, 3:05 AM
It would be great to see a Dublin team compete in the English league, similar to how Cardiff are part of the English football set up.
The important part you seem to have ignored is how this would actually come to be. The English clubs have no incentive to admit a Dublin team.
Cardiff, Wrexham et al. are in the English league system for a good reason. Historically, for hundreds of years (until very recently), England and Wales were for all intents and purposes the same country. Cardiff and the other big Welsh sides competed in the English league before the Welsh league had been set up, and they refused to join it because it was too low a standard for them. The Welsh league was the equivalent (in relative terms) to the Blue Square Conference North or the Leinster Senior League.
It would be interesting though, were a Dublin team to compete in England, whether the average Man Utd/Liverpool/Chelsea fan would switch allegiance. I fear those clubs would be the most vociferous opponents of an Irish team entering, as Irish consumers are a significant and reliable source of revenue for English clubs.
WexCar
30/07/2010, 5:32 AM
Just thought i'd go ever so slightly off topic, seeing as LOI exposure was mentioned and the fact some of ye might find this surprising (well it took me by surprise anyway) I regularly read "The Province" newspaper in BC & it publishes LOI results & fixtures.
30/07/2010, 9:00 AM
Colbert - your attitude of "I'll only support the league when it gets brilliant" is exactly why the league won't get brilliant. If you want to help it along, do so (and admittedly, that's hard to do from Canada). But if you're not willing to help it along, you've no right whatsoever to dismiss it in the slightest. It's attitudes like yours which result in the league being so weak.
The idea of Dublin FC suddenly being parachuted into the Premiership shows you understand practically nothing about football. I'd love* to see Dublin FC trying to draw in the crowds playing Grimsby in the Conference on their way up the leagues. Dublin FC would die a death very quickly.
* and for "love", also read "hate"
Edit - oh, and the LoI fans who say you're not a proper fan cos you only watch games on telly aren't "snobs" - they're right.
floatinghoop
30/07/2010, 9:19 AM
20 years ago i had the same attitude as you but seriously CR, until you have been to games you dont really have any opinion on "the product". Its superb. Its not the best league in the world, of course not, but it is exciting, entertaining live footie. I miss it so much. Its everything the sport should be about. Local people supporting their local team, having a laugh, having a moan, abusing referees, singing, chanting and enjoying the game. You promote the benefits of people watching the best league in the world from the comfort of their own chesterfields ;) but nothing compares to the connection you feel to your local team. I pity the thousands of people who dont realise what they are missing just because they buy into the Sky Sports glamorama...
Osarusan's post above (#967) is bang on the money.
Well said. Nothing beats live football.
How many Polish teams have been in the CL proper? One every few years? Sure if we did that you'd just put it down as being a fluke of no interest to you. I can't remember too many games between the two leagues, but do know being a Rovers fan that we rather easily knocked out a Polish team last time we played in Europe.
The last Polish team in the Champions League was in the 1996/97 season. 14 years ago.
The last time an Irish side played a Polish side in a non Inter toto game, they lost 7-0 in the 1st leg. That was Rovers BTW in 1994
Jicked
30/07/2010, 9:34 AM
Rovers beat Odra Wodislaw home and away in the Intertoto cup 7 years ago
http://www.thefreelibrary.com/Football:+IN+POLE+POSITION;+Odra+Wodzislaw+1+Shamr ock+Rovers+2+Grant...-a0103970806
Nobody denied that. But as I said, the last time teams from Ireland and Poland met in a competition that wasn't the Inter Toto, Rovers lost the first leg 7-0
And you suggested a Polish side qualified for the Champion League every few years. None have done it in 14 years
Jicked
30/07/2010, 9:39 AM
Sorry I misread your post, I thought you said we played in the Intertoto 14 years ago.
And I wasn't suggesting Polish sides played in the CL, I was asking Colbert Report how often they did after he suggested they did often make it.
Fair enough, I put him on my ignore list last night so I don't see his posts
Colbert Report
30/07/2010, 11:38 AM
Dodge, will you marry me?
mrtndvn
30/07/2010, 12:20 PM
Come on now, there's no need for name calling. If you have a problem with something I've written, let's discuss it. I am more than willing to change my position, I would love nothing more than to see a good domestic league in my home country.
Whats your problem tho? No one is suggesting the loi is la Liga, but its ours.
You sit there crying about what happened in wales with bohs, news for you, thats football. Only a few weeks ago the World Champions finished bottom of their world cup group behind 11 farmers! It happens.
Rovers were great last night, and if Dan had of put the header away, you just never know. Better team won yes, but its no embarrassment losing to Rovers when you consider how the likes of Man utd and Real Madrid have been craved open by Italians teams in recent memory.
Basically, if you've nothing nice to say, is there really any point in bringing your negativity? It sounds like the loi molested you as a child.
Rasputin
30/07/2010, 12:27 PM
In summary CR, we are right and you are wrong.
Deal with that uncomfortable fact how ever you see fit but preferably as far away from this forum as possible.
Dodge, will you marry me?
I'd better quote this so there's a chance Dodge will see it :)
A N Mouse
30/07/2010, 12:56 PM
I'd better quote this so there's a chance Dodge will see it :)
Think the chances of the offer being taken up might improve if pat's win the fai cup.
A N Mouse
30/07/2010, 1:06 PM
Colbert Report - your opening comments about the juve team last night would seem to show you up for what you are. Others have covered the main points, and better than I could put them, but I will add this.
Next time you're bemoaning another irish failure to qualify for a major international tournament and blaming the lack of quality players - ask yourself where those players are supposed to come from? The continuing reliance on foreign clubs to develop our young players is not sustainable. And unless people are prepared to support their local team - at whatever level - there will be fewer coming through.
30/07/2010, 1:15 PM
I would love nothing more than to see a good domestic league in my home country.
It would be great to see a Dublin team compete in the English league, similar to how Cardiff are part of the English football set up.
Make up your mind.
30/07/2010, 1:31 PM
The point is, although Celtic have been beaten badly and are currently not a great or even good team, they have the potential to compete seriously in Europe. There is no team in Ireland that is able to say this. I am 26 and I've never seen a team from Ireland compete seriously anywhere outside of the domestic league.
Ask yourself why Celtic - a team in a city of 1.5m (similar to Dublin) in a country of 5m (similar to Ireland) are able to have this great potential you speak of. Perhaps the answer is that they have millions of proud Irish people all over the world throwing their cash at them as well ? If that money went on an Irish team instead - or even just a fraction of it - you'd soon see the gap between Celtic and Irish sides narow dramatically. Though you're obviously too blinkered and misty-eyed to grasp that.
It would be great to see a Dublin team compete in the English league, similar to how Cardiff are part of the English football set up. I know I'll be slaughtered on here for saying it but it would really help spread excitement and interest in the sport.
You are, in fact, right here Colbert. I'd go even further and say it would be great to see an Irish side compete in the World Cup and the European Championships. But the Republic of Ireland is just a weak team playing poor football. People can spot rubbish a mile off, and no-one wants to pay good money to watch the sort of muck that the Irish national side serve up when they can watch Brazil, Italy and England from the comfort of their own living rooms.
So it would be even greater to see a British Isles team, with one or two Irish players playing alongside the greats from England, similar to how the Catalunyan and Basque players turn out for Spain. It would really help spread excitement and interest in the sport. So get rid of that avatar opf youras and see the light. Hell - maybe we should just do away with independence altogether. That would really help spread excitement and interest....
SupaJon
30/07/2010, 1:42 PM
I'd much rather watch Manchester United vs. Liverpool than my local schoolboy team. Does this make me less of a football supporter? Most LOI snobs would say yes.
Well for me it's about being at a live match, rather than watching it at home.
Now, Bray aren't having a great season, but I still much prefer being at the Carlisle ground than watching any other match on TV.
I've been to Old Trafford a few times and unless you're sitting in the Stretford End the atmosphere isn't great.
I know the LOI isn't great - but it's live football.
It's being an active part of the support.
It's about leaving the ground gutted coz Dundalk have scored a last minute winner.
Or leaving the ground on a high coz you've finally beaten UCD this season and you're into a final (not one that many people care about, I admit).
That ticks all the boxes for me.
30/07/2010, 1:53 PM
Or leaving the ground on a high coz you've finally beaten UCD this season and you're into a final (not one that many people care about, I admit).
Or sitting chatting with Dutch and Vietnamese friends who are mocking you because your team's losing to Bray 1000 miles away in a Leinster Senior Cup semi... :(
:p
31/07/2010, 1:27 PM
It would be great to see a Dublin team compete in the English league, similar to how Cardiff are part of the English football set up. I know I'll be slaughtered on here for saying it but it would really help spread excitement and interest in the sport. I grew up in north Kildare and I don't think I ever heard anyone EVER talk about the LOI when I was a young lad. It was all Man U this and Aston Villa that. How can you accuse me of being a fair weather supporter when I was never exposed to the league even in the fifteen years I lived in the place?
I live in North America. I have no local team to support, as I stated previously my nearest professional team is 1350km away so you can hardly blame me for not turning out to their matches. Why should I have to watch the MLS? I'd rather watch the Champions League instead.
Sweet jesus!!!!!!!!!!!! Do you know the rep of Ireland isn't part of the UK????
Irish people are not football supporters, hell they even go in their thousands to watch gah games. Football isnt our thing.
I have no local team. Doesnt stop me going to LOI games.
If you have no local team then why not get off your arse (Oo barstool)and start up a team
Or maybe leave this site and go and join the HoganStandforums
31/07/2010, 1:35 PM
Fair enough, I put him on my ignore list last night so I don't see his posts
Tx - must remember to do this likewise:D
Colbert Report
31/07/2010, 9:16 PM
If you have no local team then why not get off your arse (Oo barstool)and start up a team
Or maybe leave this site and go and join the HoganStandforums
Who am I supposed to play against? There are no teams in Canada, save for Montreal, Toronto, and Vancouver.
31/07/2010, 11:47 PM
Who am I supposed to play against?
SkStu...;)
MeathDrog
31/07/2010, 11:56 PM
Who am I supposed to play against? There are no teams in Canada, save for Montreal, Toronto, and Vancouver.
WUM...
peadar1987
01/08/2010, 12:46 AM
I've said this before, and I'll say it again. barstoolers wouldn't support Dublin FC unless they were instantly successful in the league, and in Europe. That pretty much means top 4. Which means over £200 million on transfer fees, a similar amount each year in wages, plus signing-on fees, agents fees, and all the rest. Where's the money going to come from? And even if we had a quarter of a billion odd just lying around, it would be far better spent on the league we already have. New facilities, blanket marketing, proper professionals running the clubs instead of well-meaning volunteers...
The idea doesn't make sense on any level.