View Full Version : Champions League/Europa League draws 2010
Pages :
[
16]
On D. Chisinau - did a LoI team not face them before?? Oh no wait, that was their rivals Zimbru Chisinau.... and it was St. Pats.... and it was.... :)
Hello Stu! I hope you're enjoying your evening. ;)
talk to me when we concede 10.... *grasps at straws*
:cry:
Jesus...our 6-0 mauling away to levski looks respectable now!!!!
talk to me when we concede 10.... *grasps at straws*
:cry:
talk to me if we ever have full time profesionals lose to a ****ing welsh side...
talk to me if we lose 5-0 at home and 5-0 away to a bunch of Moldovan part-timers. :)
They weren't part time. We were. I'd say our squad that year earned about the same per week as your centre halves did this game. If poking fun at results that happened 11 years ago softens your despair tonight, then I'm ahppy for you
swinfordfc
20/07/2010, 9:21 PM
Lads,
No offence but that tonight has set League of Ireland football back 10 years - what the bloody hell happen there?
20/07/2010, 9:29 PM
No offence but that tonight has set League of Ireland football back 10 years
How so?
Spudulika
20/07/2010, 9:38 PM
Jebus, I cannot believe it. I just got in, decided to check on yahoo for results, and my neighbours must have thought I'd gone mental again with my series of WTF. Not just Bohs getting humiliated, Dinamo Zagreb too (though they got through). But TNS, sorry, but Bohs are far better than this. Is Nutsy just looking to concentrate on the League or something?
danthesaint
20/07/2010, 9:50 PM
nothing to stop bohs players playing against man u now..........
20/07/2010, 9:59 PM
Jebus, I cannot believe it. I just got in, decided to check on yahoo for results, and my neighbours must have thought I'd gone mental again with my series of WTF. Not just Bohs getting humiliated, Dinamo Zagreb too (though they got through). But TNS, sorry, but Bohs are far better than this. Is Nutsy just looking to concentrate on the League or something?
No way. Progress tonight would have meant at least 4 more Euro games, a decent crowd against Anderlecht, possible TV rights and more UEFA prize money. Hard to imagine anyone connected with Bohs being anything other than gutted.
Spudulika
20/07/2010, 10:23 PM
Paudie, just trying to look at a positive. I'm not a Bohs fan, despite being to on average 2 games a season for almost 30 years, though I want to see Irish sides do well in Europe. I'm shocked by the loss though am wondering, is this down to higher expectations or overinflated self-regard for our standing. Pats fluked through against a good Valletta side that was just getting together, bashed a top Russian side who were already in freefall, and overall I thought they put in performances far better than anything I'd seen before (and I was away and home with Shels for Hajduk). Tonight is sad and I would love to see Irish fans just get on with it rather than revelling in others misery, however, if they did, we wouldn't have Herr Delaney as our messiah!
20/07/2010, 10:27 PM
I'll continue to revel if you keep trying to say we fluked by Valetta...
20/07/2010, 10:27 PM
They weren't part time. We were. I'd say our squad that year earned about the same per week as your centre halves did this game. If poking fun at results that happened 11 years ago softens your despair tonight, then I'm ahppy for you
sorry, i thought we were having a bit of a laugh.
And, by the way, i poked fun at it originally on Friday.
20/07/2010, 10:28 PM
We are having a bit of a laugh. But this time I'm poking fun at you and the chancers representing your club
Spudulika
20/07/2010, 10:36 PM
Dodge, if you have the brass neck to claim it was comprehensive or even more than poor finishing by the Maltese, then you should be quoted on FTSE metals market! Samara was a massive achievement but the club was falling apart. I'd seen them earlier in their season and they were scoring and playing for fun, the best team in the league by far. Then the money ran out, players weren't paid for 2 months before Europe and they collapsed. But it still ranks, no matter what, as one of the best results for an Irish team in Europe!
bullit
20/07/2010, 10:46 PM
Dodge, if you have the brass neck to claim it was comprehensive or even more than poor finishing by the Maltese, then you should be quoted on FTSE metals market! Samara was a massive achievement but the club was falling apart. I'd seen them earlier in their season and they were scoring and playing for fun, the best team in the league by far. Then the money ran out, players weren't paid for 2 months before Europe and they collapsed. But it still ranks, no matter what, as one of the best results for an Irish team in Europe!
Before the co-ef what WAS the best result in Europe???
My own side have a few calls i reckon but im sure others will argue(in fact i have no doubt);)
20/07/2010, 10:54 PM
Spud, valetta didn't miss a single chance in either leg. They were disgracefully negative at home and there's no question the better team went through, and deserved to go through
D.24saint
21/07/2010, 12:02 AM
I agree I was over there valetta were crap they played their home leg during the mid day heat 35c BTW and it backfired they were unfit and couldnt handle it so dont waffle on what you dont know about
21/07/2010, 12:26 AM
We are having a bit of a laugh. But this time I'm poking fun at you and the chancers representing your club
ah fair enough... schadenfreude. enjoy it! I know i did when you got 10 knocked by you... shameful... and i know i will again. :)
Jicked
21/07/2010, 12:29 AM
ah fair enough... schadenfreude. enjoy it! I know i did when you got 10 knocked by you... shameful... and i know i will again. :)
If I remember correctly, Pats didnt gamble their whole long term future on winning that game? It's a shame that some of us wont have a chance to "know we we will again" get the chance to laugh at Bohs' famous Europe nights. I'd have thought tonight would be a night for Bohs fans winding their necks in, apparently not.
21/07/2010, 12:41 AM
TNS were well worth their win tonight - and didn't play in top gear either.
People need to give them more credit than they're getting.
PartySaint
21/07/2010, 12:43 AM
TNS were well worth their win tonight - and didn't play in top gear either.
People need to give them more credit than they're getting.
Nah its more fun just to laugh at Bohs
If I remember correctly, Pats didnt gamble their whole long term future on winning that game? It's a shame that some of us wont have a chance to "know we we will again" get the chance to laugh at Bohs' famous Europe nights. I'd have thought tonight would be a night for Bohs fans winding their necks in, apparently not.
no absolutely not. I wouldnt give posters like you the satisfaction. The state of you preaching on the other thread about Bohs finances. A Rovers fan?! The mind boggles. How quickly you forget what you lot were like just a few years ago, the debts you dodged and the grant money you misappropriated that resulted in it being withdrawn from the League. If you hadnt done that, you wouldnt be renting. Dont forget it. Turning things around doesnt give you a clean slate despite what you think and what the sympathisers on here will say. Your history is there and will always be there despite the revisionism.
Whatever about tonight we have still honoured every bill, every pay cheque, every creditor. This is the lowest night of my life supporting Bohemians but we still have a long way to go to reach the depths that your club did. Ill take the slagging and ill hold my hands up and say this team let its fans down with a shocking display and undone a lot of the good co-efficient work of Pats, Cork, Derry and previous Bohs teams but what i wont take is the pontificating and hypocrisy from a Rovers fan.
One other thing, stop stalking my posts which have nothing to do with you or your team. Thats three or four times in the last week alone. Thats retarded.
The Lilywhites
21/07/2010, 3:02 AM
Guys, a little perspective needed. Look at results right now and it's all a bit surprising. A sub-strength Sliema went to Sibenik and got a 0-0 draw. Sibenik are consistently good and have had some smashing results in pre-season. Dundalk could have held on but they're in great shape for the return leg. I'm seeing more Shels-Hajduk from 2004.Especially as the other Luxembourg representatives lost 6-1
Look on the bright side, Réiteoir, I suppose you can take comfort from the fact that the other Welsh sides in Europe this year only lost 7-1 to a Finnish team and 5-4 to a Lithuanian team.
I hope you enjoyed Bohs' result last night. I really do. :o
I know I did :rofl:
Hibs4Ever
21/07/2010, 5:29 AM
Whatever about tonight we have still honoured every bill, every pay cheque, every creditor.
So it's not true the Bohs players were told before last nigths game that they wouldn't be getting bonuses even of they won?
superjohnny
21/07/2010, 7:49 AM
So it's not true the Bohs players were told before last nigths game that they wouldn't be getting bonuses even of they won?
Think this says it all hibs4ever.. i think the 5 million loan could be coming home to roost now..
"We won't be able to go forward now and that's the bottom line. The club won't be able to go forward and the players have to realise that.
"It's time to take action. We have to look at the whole picture and make a decision as a football club about what we want do.
"As a manager I have to make decisions, too. I'm not going to watch that. I can't put any figures on what it means to the club but I am responsible for the team and that performance is not good enough. I take responsibility," added Fenlon,
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/fenlon-fumes-as-sorry-gypsies-sent-crashing-2265915.html
Whatever about tonight we have still honoured every bill, every pay cheque, every creditor.
How much is the level of debt now? To the nearest million?
ltfc_2004
21/07/2010, 9:34 AM
Indeed Zurich will be keeping a close eye on all their loans since they are winding down the bank and closing Dunbar in the UK. Gerry Cuffe did a tremendous job lending out the cash ....... http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2010/0716/breaking13.html
green army
21/07/2010, 10:43 AM
you said above that you got to about 2 games over the last 30 years. was the valletta game one of them?. we were poor in the first leg but as dodge said that were shocking in the second leg. i was at the game also and they rarely threaten our goal. will not comprehensive, we deserved to go throu. as for samara, thats the way it goes.
ger121
21/07/2010, 10:59 AM
Jesus...our 6-0 mauling away to levski looks respectable now!!!!
NO it doesn't but nice try:p
Jicked
21/07/2010, 1:15 PM
no absolutely not. I wouldnt give posters like you the satisfaction. The state of you preaching on the other thread about Bohs finances. A Rovers fan?! The mind boggles. How quickly you forget what you lot were like just a few years ago, the debts you dodged and the grant money you misappropriated that resulted in it being withdrawn from the League. If you hadnt done that, you wouldnt be renting. Dont forget it. Turning things around doesnt give you a clean slate despite what you think and what the sympathisers on here will say. Your history is there and will always be there despite the revisionism.
Whatever about tonight we have still honoured every bill, every pay cheque, every creditor. This is the lowest night of my life supporting Bohemians but we still have a long way to go to reach the depths that your club did. Ill take the slagging and ill hold my hands up and say this team let its fans down with a shocking display and undone a lot of the good co-efficient work of Pats, Cork, Derry and previous Bohs teams but what i wont take is the pontificating and hypocrisy from a Rovers fan.
One other thing, stop stalking my posts which have nothing to do with you or your team. Thats three or four times in the last week alone. Thats retarded.
Turning things round doesn't give us a clean slate? Well fair enough, but our fans did turn it around and once we controlled the club we faced up to reality which was to survive we'd have to spend seasons in the wilderness. Pats went back to part-time. Dundalk cut their squad this year. Instead you're still clinging to the fantasy that you've never been late paying a bill, as if that's what matters. What's the plan now, try to find another expensive loan in the hope of gambling again next year on reaching the Quarter Finals of the CL?
I won't make fun of Bohs for losing that game last night, nor Dundalk for being hammered in Sofia. These things can happen in Europe and will happen again, it's just that Bohs gambled their future on winning that game. That's what is "retarded" as you so delicately put it.
But you're right our history will always be there, it's one of our proudest assets at Rovers, and fortunately for us it looks like the future is rather bright too, even if we are beaten 4-0 tomorrow night.
marinobohs
21/07/2010, 2:02 PM
Oh no, dont say we are going bankrupt and getting relegated AGAIN, so soon after you predicted it would happen last season as well :rolleyes:
Horror show last night in Wales and a very embarrassing result for the club. Yes, it will have financial implications for this season and will help colour decisions we make about future seasons/contracts. rest assured we wil not go broke as a result of last night nor did we "gamble our future" on it. Sad to see the bitter nonsence still pours out of Tallaght at every given oppurtunity, sad but hardly surprising.
marinobohs
21/07/2010, 2:05 PM
Turning things round doesn't give us a clean slate? Well fair enough, but our fans did turn it around and once we controlled the club we faced up to reality which was to survive we'd have to spend seasons in the wilderness. Pats went back to part-time. Dundalk cut their squad this year. Instead you're still clinging to the fantasy that you've never been late paying a bill, as if that's what matters. What's the plan now, try to find another expensive loan in the hope of gambling again next year on reaching the Quarter Finals of the CL?
I won't make fun of Bohs for losing that game last night, nor Dundalk for being hammered in Sofia. These things can happen in Europe and will happen again, it's just that Bohs gambled their future on winning that game. That's what is "retarded" as you so delicately put it.
But you're right our history will always be there, it's one of our proudest assets at Rovers, and fortunately for us it looks like the future is rather bright too, even if we are beaten 4-0 tomorrow night.
"Turning things around" = walking away from responibilities :rolleyes:.
"our History" = all the way since 2005 :confused:.
Wow, another thread turns into a Bohs-Rovers who's got the smallest knob debate ... who'd have thought it!
all well and good but what did it take for you to start to turn it around? The total and utter demise and humiliation of your club because you stole and lied your way into oblivion - in other words, you had no other choice but to do it if you wanted to keep Shamrock Rovers alive in whatever guise. This will have implications sure and we are likely going into the wilderness for a few years but not before time and honestly no where near the way your team messed people and creditors around. You cant have it both ways and try and claim the glory of your past while disowning the parts that dont suit you.
seand, get over it.
Somebody in a stinker today??
Straightstory
21/07/2010, 2:57 PM
Wow, another thread turns into a Bohs-Rovers who's got the smallest knob debate ... who'd have thought it!
Agree. All rather childish.
Somebody in a stinker today??
sure am. In this uncomfortable place between humiliation, disappointment, disillusionment, fear and seething fury.
Lamper.sffc
21/07/2010, 3:42 PM
Lets change the humour. Well slightly anyway.
Zayed's Article this week. His views on the European nights so far, also what happened in Madiera and what he hopes to happen on thursday.
http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/3919/
Spudulika
21/07/2010, 6:55 PM
you said above that you got to about 2 games over the last 30 years. was the valletta game one of them?. we were poor in the first leg but as dodge said that were shocking in the second leg. i was at the game also and they rarely threaten our goal. will not comprehensive, we deserved to go throu. as for samara, thats the way it goes.
Green Army, I said that I have averaged to go to 2 Bohs games per year for almost 30 years! I was at the Samara away game, and saw both Valletta games on dvd. Valletta could have pulled off a "shock" but didn't and credit to Pats for batlling through. Samara didn't deserve to win and fair play to Pats for catching them on the hop, it worked for Shels, Bohs and others in the past for big shocks, we take them when we can!
The Lep
21/07/2010, 7:06 PM
Anderlecht are only charging €10 and €5 for their home leg V TNS. Maybe its time for Bohs to cut the €20 they charge in to matches as its not doing them any favours.
How much are Fingal charging in on Thursday? (genuine query as I might head along)
21/07/2010, 8:11 PM
15 for adults, 10 concessions and kids free.
21/07/2010, 8:17 PM
Anderlecht are only charging €10 and €5 for their home leg V TNS. Maybe its time for Bohs to cut the €20 they charge in to matches as its not doing them any favours.
They'd have charged normal if they'd played the Big Cub. Or maybe even raised ticket prices...
placid casual
21/07/2010, 8:26 PM
Really looking forward to the game tomorrow night.
expecting us to go out but you never know we might just sneak it in deholyland.
Win, Lose or Draw our love for Rovers is never in question and never diminishes
isnt football a wonderfull wonderfull game.:cool:
Lamper.sffc
22/07/2010, 12:19 AM
15 for adults, 10 concessions and kids free.
Not trying to be fussy :) but
National School kids go free with one paying adult
Just so there isnt any confusion
22/07/2010, 12:31 AM
HArsh on those attending Christian Brother schools
Really looking forward to the game tomorrow night.
expecting us to go out but you never know we might just sneak it in deholyland.
Win, Lose or Draw our love for Rovers is never in question and never diminishes
isnt football a wonderfull wonderfull game.:cool:
Isn't it great? I think it is fantastic, tremendous and fabulous...such great weather, the birds are singing, the sun shining, Bohs are crying, kick back and watch no matter what the score. No massive implications in defeat, no fear of defeat, just football and maybe just maybe if the planets arrange and the moon turns a shade of azure, just maybe.
:ball::cool2:
22/07/2010, 12:58 AM
bohs....for feck sake, and i taught we were bad...
i know how you feel thou at least, gutted for you and the league
and i also shouted WTF quite a bit
oh and i also told a welsh man i hate him and his country, but he understood :)