View Full Version : Champions League/Europa League draws 2010

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22

15/07/2010, 8:20 PM
A Feck scores for Yehuda , expecting strong performances from A Aaarse and D Rink.
G Earls to make a strong showing from the bench.

Hibs4Ever
15/07/2010, 8:22 PM
Fingal 1-1 now

Saint_Charlie
15/07/2010, 8:22 PM
1-1 in the Fingal game

abcd
15/07/2010, 8:23 PM
1-1 in Portugal now. Important Fingal at least hold that its still a good scoreline. About 10 left

ger121
15/07/2010, 8:27 PM
I see Cliftonville just went 1 up. Good year so far for the Northern Clubs.

abcd
15/07/2010, 8:29 PM
Fingal 2-1 down now to cap off a depressing night for the league. Portadown 2-1 behind also

ger121
15/07/2010, 8:29 PM
ah ****. Fingal 2-1 down now...

TheBoss
15/07/2010, 8:31 PM
2-2 !!

15/07/2010, 8:31 PM
2-2 Fingal

ger121
15/07/2010, 8:33 PM
Some end to the match. Hope they can hold on now.

abcd
15/07/2010, 8:40 PM
Unbelievable Maritimo 3-2 Fingal aobut 5 minutes into injury time. Disaster

15/07/2010, 8:42 PM
Disaster

No its not. its a fine result and one which gives them everything to play for in the second leg.

Really don't like this habit on the forum as painting everything as the best or the worst with no middle ground

pauliek
15/07/2010, 8:42 PM
Go on Martitimo

ger121
15/07/2010, 8:45 PM
No its not. its a fine result and one which gives them everything to play for in the second leg.

Really don't like this habit on the forum as painting everything as the best or the worst with no middle ground

Still though, I'm sure the players will be disapointed to concede a 3rd goal right at the death. Makes the 2nd leg just that bit trickier..

Daragh
Two away goals for Fingal and only 1 down in the tie? Everything to play for there. I wouldn't see that as a disaster at all. Roll on next Thursday.

abcd
I agree the result isn't the worst and they would definitely have taken it before going out there but to concede 3 goals in the last 15 minutes and to concede having got level in the last few minutes is potentially fatal for their chances of progression.

15/07/2010, 8:47 PM
great result away from home for Fingal. Fair play to them.

15/07/2010, 8:47 PM
It's a real shame but at least it ensures they'll approach the game in the right mindset - they have to win.

higgins
15/07/2010, 8:49 PM
Shels lost 3-2 away to Split in the first leg...

Hardly a cause for major depression!
that's a good result

Dalymountrower
15/07/2010, 8:50 PM
Sustained pressure from Rovers in fairness , can see them scoring against a disinterested looking Yehuda.

Cough.

15/07/2010, 8:51 PM

Greatest post in the history of the internet.

15/07/2010, 8:52 PM
1-1 in Tallaght

pauliek
15/07/2010, 8:55 PM
Delighted Fingal lost, pity about Shams getting the draw

Lamper.sffc
15/07/2010, 8:59 PM
Good effort by our lads tonight. Pity about conceding the last minute winner. Ah well. I would have taken that before the match.

Congrats to Rovers for getting back level. Hard luck to Dundalk fans. Hopefully yous still come out in force for the home game and get a positive result on the night.

15/07/2010, 9:03 PM
Delighted Fingal lost, pity about Shams getting the draw

Why do LOI fans have to be so negative towards other clubs.

Completely agree. 3-2 defeat away in the first leg to opposition from a far better league is a decent result in Europe. It gives you every chance of achieving a win at home and going through. Considering Dundalk were hammered 6-0 Fingal achieved a good result. Well done to them.

Well done to Fingal and Rovers. Those results set you up nicely for the second legs. Pity about our result but hopefully we can at least get a draw in the return leg to add something to the national co-efficient. Getting through one round was always the aim for us. I can't say I'm that surprised by our result tonight but it still hurts as hell to lose 6-0. Was shocked at myself when a Rovers goal put a bit of a smile on my face at the end of the evening!

HarpoJoyce
15/07/2010, 9:13 PM
Everybody scores this year.
Good result from Shamrock Rovers and Sporting Fingal. Dundalk can still get something from their fourth game in Europe this year.

Next fixture: Champions League Draw 12:00 (11:00 am Irish Time)
Europa League 13:30 CET (12:30 Irish Time)
Friday 16th July

total hoofball
15/07/2010, 9:19 PM

I thought fans supported football clubs rather than leagues?

I might be crazy when I say this but I for one hate to see rival clubs and clubs I hate winning any match, who'da thunk that!

galwayjames
15/07/2010, 9:19 PM
we've slipped two places to 31st in the uefa cofficient ranking after tonight's matches.

however we only need a draw to move up one again and a win will put us back where we were before tonight.

ped_ped
15/07/2010, 9:22 PM
The day I take joy in a league of Ireland team getting hammered in Europe is the day I give up on following football.

danthesaint
15/07/2010, 9:23 PM
we've slipped two places to 31st in the uefa cofficient ranking after tonight's matches.

however we only need a draw to move up one again and a win will put us back where we were before tonight.

what does 3 defeats do?? (i hope it wont be)

ped_ped
15/07/2010, 9:24 PM
Leaves us where we are (down a place), no? Allowing for whatever the countries around us do.

DaveyPats
15/07/2010, 9:39 PM
Many Dundalk fans in Sofia?

Any Fingal fans in Portugal?

citybone
15/07/2010, 9:45 PM

Leave us with 0.000 points for the night every coefficient points keeps us up high on the coefficient table giving us seeding and starts of off further in the 2 European competitions.
We would need maybe 1.000 points to stay where we are. Its complicated.

15/07/2010, 9:49 PM

Why should they be positive about them?

Daragh
15/07/2010, 9:59 PM
Why should they be positive about them?

Because maybe next season it'll be their club in Europe and good results this season might mean their club gets to skip a round. It's fairly simple stuff really but I fully understand that some people just can't be happy for their rivals.

15/07/2010, 10:01 PM
I can see why people would be reluctant to voice support for other teams but it is true what one poster said about a rising tide. It does the dignity of the league good when teams do well in Europe, as Bohs, Pat's and Drogs have in recent years. I just like to see the teams do well - gives you a little bit of pride even when your own team hasn't done so well.

kdjaC
15/07/2010, 10:02 PM
Many Dundalk fans in Sofia?

Any Fingal fans in Portugal?

I know one pats fans in Portugal, does that count?

haha @ Dundalk
Bah @ rovers
meh@ Fingal

galwayjames
15/07/2010, 10:07 PM

we should stay in 31st because 32nd place lithuania are a good bit off and are too far behind to catch up in four games.

abcd
15/07/2010, 10:16 PM
Finland will pass us out I'd imagine. I reckon we might stay ahead of Bosnia. Really though it would be ok if two teams were starting at the first round stage of the EL next season. Both would be seeded and would probably progress. Bosnia got the majority of their points this year so far from the 2 teams in the first round and their 2nd round team up against a side from San Marino.

Spudulika
15/07/2010, 11:47 PM
I think those who are glorying in irish clubs defeats or mishaps are just frustrated, those hairs sprout but the voice still wobbles and you get mistaken for your sister or mother on the phone, hard to take for an undernourished and innocent 13 year old, so the old anger at mother nature comes out by being a web warrior!

Sickened for Dundalk, thought they would have had more of a chance. Good job from Rovers against a more than decent side, great work from SF, I sense another Shels on the way - though on the playing field only I hope and pray!

TheBoss
16/07/2010, 12:00 AM
Rovers did well to score against a defending team that only had 1 attempt in the match, they have a chance of scoring over there, so the result still keeps the tie.

Great result for Fingal, they are suited to European football with their style of play and proved that you can football with limited players and still get results against superior sides.

I do feel for Dundalk, most of the players are inexperienced with the heavy fixture schedule and it is having a bad effect on them. They were not setup to play in Europe this season and they will learn from this and be bettered prepared next time.

Candystripe
16/07/2010, 12:04 AM
Not surprised at the Dundalk result as Levski are a seriously good side.

Fingals result is good although a pity they couldn't hold out and rvrs are still in the hunt and knowing they both have to score may help.

Buller
16/07/2010, 12:41 AM
Rovers did well to score against a defending team that only had 1 attempt in the match, they have a chance of scoring over there, so the result still keeps the tie.

Great result for Fingal, they are suited to European football with their style of play and proved that you can football with limited players and still get results against superior sides.

I do feel for Dundalk, most of the players are inexperienced with the heavy fixture schedule and it is having a bad effect on them. They were not setup to play in Europe this season and they will learn from this and be bettered prepared next time.

In fairness we dominated the entire game and had a good few chances to score. Their goal was completely against the run of play. We should have won this game. It was very disappointing to conceed but at least there's still something to play for when we go over to there. 2nd leg in the humidity and heat will be gonna extremely tough and they do look very decent on the ball but we can definately score against them. If we score they need 2... There's hope!
Well done to Fingal, fantastic result. Obviously Dundalks defence didnt recover fully from Sundays demolition... ;)

Lamper.sffc
16/07/2010, 1:02 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SK95iaAyqWo&feature=player_embedded#!

Unfortunately its seems we made some bad mistakes at the back which cost us the game. Makes the defeat a little more hard to take but hopefully we can eradicate those mistakes next week.

16/07/2010, 1:07 AM
Keeper very suspect on the first two goals. Not great for the third either but defence has to take most of the blame.

ger121
16/07/2010, 1:12 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SK95iaAyqWo&feature=player_embedded#!

Unfortunately its seems we made some bad mistakes at the back which cost us the game. Makes the defeat a little more hard to take but hopefully we can eradicate those mistakes next week.

Some poor defending there alright. If the keeper covered his near post better and stopped the 1st shot from the 2nd goal it could have been a very good night for the club. Still though, 2 well taken goals and I'd give you a good chance next week.

According to Uefa, you're on the seeded side of the draw tomorrow. So another incentive to go out and win.

16/07/2010, 1:38 AM
Is that Quigley in goal?

Targetman
16/07/2010, 2:20 AM
Suspect Goals from both sides, but a decent result for Fingal. 1-0 at home for Fingal I hope, and to do Ireland proud in this competition, and to progress for a glamour tie. Fair pay for a club that has only been 3 years in existance!