View Full Version : Champions League/Europa League draws 2010

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22

poster
08/07/2010, 10:39 PM
We should have destroyed them tbh. There keeper was dodgy as fook. .

Brings back memories of Vllaznia. :'(

CuanaD
08/07/2010, 10:50 PM
LOI shirts spotted in oriel tonight:
Shamrock Rovers X5 in the shed of all places!!
Bohs and Derry later coming from the stand.Cheers folks and hope yee enjoyed it!!& my 'odd one out' Iraklis shirt (Greek League) - I was sat behind the press in the main stand, just behind the extratime.ie people; reading all their laptops - one guy another row in front was already sorting out his Ryanair flights on his laptop by half time:ball:

Enjoyable game BTW - Dundalk really were far superior on the night

redobit
08/07/2010, 11:07 PM
( To think we could have had the European spot last season if we had kept our 2 goal lead in the Showgorunds - till p***es me of thing bout that game )

Well done Dundalk and best of luck in the next round.

dong
09/07/2010, 1:09 AM
Well done to Dundalk. Great positive news for the league in general. Hopefully a bumper crowd for the next game.

09/07/2010, 6:08 AM
Just saw the highlights now. The performance looked decent overall but the finishing was atrocious.

Duggie
09/07/2010, 8:08 AM
Levski Sofia shouldnt be unbeatable, a lot of those eastern european teams are living on past glory years. Yes there a step up but not unbeatable. I dont see why dundalk shouldnt look at progressing from this tie, it would be great if they did.

09/07/2010, 8:47 AM
As it wasn't confirmed earlier, Rovers are off to Israel; Bnei won 1-0 on the night and 1-0 on aggregate. Not the most worrying of results.

Well done Dundalk. Sounds like it should have been a more convincing win overall, but progression's progression. Next to no chance of the LoI catching anyone this year, but we drop below Bosnia in the rankings, and Finland have caught up a lot; could be looking at the CL team not being seeded next year if both those pass us out. But that's a worry for next year.

Portadown off to play Garabag Agdam of Azerbaijan in the next round. Away leg first, next week. Now there's a proper European tie! They also kept the North from being in pre-qualifying for the CL next year; getting very close to having San Marino, Malta, Luxembourg and the North as the four sides in that first round. Though at least they'd win a game surely?

Steve Bruce
09/07/2010, 9:17 AM
Good result for Dundalk and good result for Portadown.

I'm glad that saved the embarrassment from playing in the 1st round with Andorra etc.
How beatable is this azarbajan(sp?) team?

09/07/2010, 9:21 AM
Wikipedia (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/FK_Qaraba%C4%9F) says they beat Rosenborg and Honka last year before putting up a good fight against Twente, so yeah, Portadown are probably going out. Andrejs Rubins is a former Crystal Palace player who played for Latvia in Euro 2004. They play in Agdam, a good bit inland from the capital Baku, so even getting there will be more of a nightmare than usual.

Edit - in fact, this gets better - here's the wiki (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Agdam) on Agdam, the town they're "based" in.

In July 1993, after heavy fighting, Agdam was captured by the forces of the Nagorno Karabakh Republic during its 1993 summer offensives. As the town fell its entire population fled eastwards...Agdam is currently a ruinous, uninhabited ghost town...The city has one professional football team competing in the top-flight of Azerbaijani football - FK Qarabağ

They played in Baku up till last year, when they got permission to move to Quzanli, a town near Agdam, in Nagorno-Karabakh. The ground is 2000 capacity though, so the game may be moved to Baku.

Steve Bruce
09/07/2010, 9:23 AM
Rosenborg are easy :D

Steve Bruce
09/07/2010, 9:26 AM
Incidently, what's the site with all the co-efficients etc?

Thanks

09/07/2010, 9:28 AM
Last time I saw Shamrock Rovers play a team from Luxembourg, the aggregate was 8-2 in Rovers' favour. Mind you that was a great Rovers team

1966 European Cup Winners Cup, First Round

•First Leg : Shamrock Rovers 4 Spora Luxembourg 1 (Johnny Fullam, Billy Dixon, Mick Kearin, Frank O'Neill (pen.))

•Second Leg : Spora Luxembourg 1 Shamrock Rovers 4 (Billy Dixon (2), Mick Kearin, Frank O'Neill).

Airtricity League teams should easily be beating teams from Luxembourg or is that heresy to say? By all accounts though Dundalk missed a hatful of chances so perhaps the scorelines didn't reflect the dominance.

09/07/2010, 9:30 AM
Incidently, what's the site with all the co-efficients etc?

Thanks
Bert Kassies' site (http://www.xs4all.nl/~kassiesa/bert/uefa/).

baddebt
09/07/2010, 9:41 AM
we did beat them easily last night , scoreline defintiely does not reflect the game, we hit the woodwork 3 or 4 times .

next round will be different , levski are a formiable side (beat lazio away last season in the group stages, not saying lazio's are the greatest team in the world , but they are a lot better than LOI teams), I just hope we can get something from the away leg even a close loss with an away goal 2--1 something like that (they haven't played a match yet apart from a couple of friendlies, so that might help a little.
Rovers and Fingal also have tough matches , Fingal more so , as Portugese teams are very technical

09/07/2010, 9:44 AM
http://www.xs4all.nl/~kassiesa/bert/uefa/data/method4/trank2011.html

Jaysus, didn't realise that if Pats were in europe this year we'd have been ranked so high. Maybe next year, eh...

oriel
09/07/2010, 9:45 AM
We hit the bar twice, the post twice and they scored in the 90th min, took a little bit of the gloss off it, we should have been 4-0 up at HT. But the real win for Dundalk fans was having the match in oriel, tremendous work by all in the club to make this happen, first euro game we could host for 19 years.

The 2-1 win and 5-4 agg score did not really reflect our dominance over the two legs, but its the same prize as if we had won 4-0, advancement to the next round, and mission accomplished, plus we are unbeaten in europe, so far !

Thanks to fans from other clubs for going, great to see bohs, rovers tops, and I believe others too.

Duggie
09/07/2010, 10:01 AM
id be hopefull that rovers with there squad of players might progress. fingal seem to have a tougher task but you never know, will they play in dalymount?

seand
09/07/2010, 10:25 AM
id be hopefull that rovers with there squad of players might progress. fingal seem to have a tougher task but you never know, will they play in dalymount?

Fingal will be in Dalymount.

Dundalk really should have won by 4 or 5 last night, but finishing was poor and there were lapses at he back. If we don't improve dramatically we'll be no match for Rovers on Sunday, never mind Levski Sofia.

White Horse
09/07/2010, 10:41 AM
Thanks to fans from other clubs for going, great to see bohs, rovers tops, and I believe others too.

Two Drogheda fans in Louth GAA shirts were seated beside me. Nights like this show LOI fans at their best. :dance:

baddebt
09/07/2010, 10:42 AM
yeah sunday is going to be a tough , tough game for us,
its seems as though we've changed from being a 2nd half team , to a 1st half team .......we look like we just run out of steam after about 50mins, any new signings coming ?

Duggie
09/07/2010, 11:08 AM
seems like you would struggle without faz and fenn if they got injured at the same time. hope they stay fit for the european games anyway.

KevB76
09/07/2010, 12:33 PM
Is there any websites that have updates of the scores for the all european games ?

http://www.xscores.com/LiveScore.do

Im using this

You could also try www.flashscore.com

marinobohs
09/07/2010, 12:42 PM
Wikipedia (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/FK_Qaraba%C4%9F) says they beat Rosenborg and Honka last year before putting up a good fight against Twente, so yeah, Portadown are probably going out. Andrejs Rubins is a former Crystal Palace player who played for Latvia in Euro 2004. They play in Agdam, a good bit inland from the capital Baku, so even getting there will be more of a nightmare than usual.

Edit - in fact, this gets better - here's the wiki (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Agdam) on Agdam, the town they're "based" in.

They played in Baku up till last year, when they got permission to move to Quzanli, a town near Agdam, in Nagorno-Karabakh. The ground is 2000 capacity though, so the game may be moved to Baku.

judging by wikipedia report on Agdam portadown should feel right at home ;)

Seriously, best of luck to all teams in Europe and congrats to Dundalk on doing the LOI proud.

Duggie
09/07/2010, 12:54 PM
id imagine levski would be of the same standard as steau bucharest, hopefully they get a decent away result.

09/07/2010, 2:41 PM
I'm confirmed as driving up from London for the TNS away game on the 20th July now if any curioius exiles fancy a lift.

09/07/2010, 2:48 PM
did you get tickets from TNS steve?

HarpoJoyce
09/07/2010, 4:38 PM
We hit the bar twice, the post twice and they scored in the 90th min, took a little bit of the gloss off it, we should have been 4-0 up at HT. But the real win for Dundalk fans was having the match in oriel, tremendous work by all in the club to make this happen, first euro game we could host for 19 years.

The 2-1 win and 5-4 agg score did not really reflect our dominance over the two legs, but its the same prize as if we had won 4-0, advancement to the next round, and mission accomplished, plus we are unbeaten in europe, so far !

It was a great performance 5 goals so far is very decent. And after the 1st leg, the nay-sayers used a comparision of a Lux. team getting well beat as a reason to criticise Dundalk, so in the same way Duffedange's result against Randers surely proves how strong Luxembourg teams are at home. It will keep the anti-Irish Football crowd quiet for a while.
Maher and Fenn had great games. Maher was so busy it was inevitable he'd get booked, a little earlier than he might have liked. I think Dundalk are now carrying 5 yellow cards into the next game, one disadvantage of playing in early rounds.

Quay Celtic was another top I saw after the game, there was a few Drogheda Utd. tops too.
I know Dundalk invited other fans to wear there own colours. But I think it is gate-crashing the party or stating temporarily support for the team. I bought some souvenirs on the night, something that's tangible to Dundalk.

Delighted with Portadown and Glentoran results. Stay unbeaten at home is a platform for success.
Portadown one of only two unseeded teams to reach the next round, the other an undervalued ETO Gyor of Hungary.

09/07/2010, 6:02 PM
Yeah - Bohs was sold out when I rang them. TNS were very helpful.

I'd give a wink and a nudge to any Bohs fans who didn't get a ticket through their own club to consider the TNS route instead. Plus I think they're cheaper that way as well given the exchange rate.... ;)

Cuyahoga
09/07/2010, 6:09 PM
Good feature on rte's six one tonight on Dundalk's match last night.

The Lep
09/07/2010, 10:30 PM
we did beat them easily last night , scoreline defintiely does not reflect the game, we hit the woodwork 3 or 4 times .

next round will be different , levski are a formiable side (beat lazio away last season in the group stages, not saying lazio's are the greatest team in the world , but they are a lot better than LOI teams), I just hope we can get something from the away leg even a close loss with an away goal 2--1 something like that (they haven't played a match yet apart from a couple of friendlies, so that might help a little.
Rovers and Fingal also have tough matches , Fingal more so , as Portugese teams are very technical

So are Fingal :)

TheBoss
10/07/2010, 12:49 AM
I did see Maritimo play a few times last against the usual teams, in Porto, Benfica etc. They are a decent enough side but Fingal do have a realistic chance of doing some damage to them. I think it is 60/40 in Maritimo's favour and with the league out of season, it is a good time to play them.

Also, Shamrock Rovers have a great chance of qualifying, Bnei are of a similiar level if not ahead Rovers, it is 50/50 game imo.

Dundalk have a tough ask, I can see them struggling badly in Sofia. 80/20 in Sofia's favour.

PartySaint
10/07/2010, 9:13 PM
http://www.xs4all.nl/~kassiesa/bert/uefa/data/method4/trank2011.html

Jaysus, didn't realise that if Pats were in europe this year we'd have been ranked so high. Maybe next year, eh...

How come teams they arent even in Europe this year are getting points??

10/07/2010, 9:51 PM
How come teams they arent even in Europe this year are getting points??

They're getting the national score (ie normal points earned by all clubs divided by entrants)

The Lep
10/07/2010, 10:35 PM
With a good few drums etc being played at league matches would it be good for as many of those as possible to come together as one for the home legs of the euro matches no matter who you support. It would make for a cracking atmosphere at the games even though some may already have it at their games but imagine the noise of all the diffrent drums playing for 90 minutes.

kdjaC
10/07/2010, 10:57 PM
With a good few drums etc being played at league matches would it be good for as many of those as possible to come together as one for the home legs of the euro matches no matter who you support. It would make for a cracking atmosphere at the games even though some may already have it at their games but imagine the noise of all the diffrent drums playing for 90 minutes.

you get the odd weirdo going to other teams games in europe (we had shels fans go away with us twice). I find it odd and scary that people who support a team go to anothers game just to "support the league". im wishing Zimbrus on all of you :)

11/07/2010, 9:36 AM

thinly veiled

"lads we've feck all support of our own, any chance of coming to our game?"

Whatver about people going along to watch the games, and (for want of a better phrase) wishing the LOi club well. I'd never speak to a Pats fan I found out was singing/chanting/drumming (whatever) for another LOI club. Mind you that might encourage a few to do it...

Rasputin
11/07/2010, 10:41 AM
Why dont you rent a crowd like the final last year?
Hand out those quaint little flags and what not and remember to tell the crowd when to chear.

11/07/2010, 12:29 PM
Hand out those quaint little flags and what not and remember to tell the crowd when to chear.

greens not your colour honey :D

11/07/2010, 3:16 PM
Quay Celtic was another top I saw after the game, there was a few Drogheda Utd. tops too.
I know Dundalk invited other fans to wear there own colours. But I think it is gate-crashing the party or stating temporarily support for the team. I bought some souvenirs on the night, something that's tangible to Dundalk.

HarpoJoyce, were you the UCD fan I was speaking to in Kennedy's before the game?

The Lep
11/07/2010, 5:29 PM
thinly veiled

Whatver about people going along to watch the games, and (for want of a better phrase) wishing the LOi club well. I'd never speak to a Pats fan I found out was singing/chanting/drumming (whatever) for another LOI club. Mind you that might encourage a few to do it...

Thinly veiled nothing dodge. It was about the talk of people coming out to support teams other than their own in the euro cups and im sure you may have encouraged people to do so when pats was in europe. It was just an idea and not a request .

The Lep
11/07/2010, 5:30 PM

That was a bit predictable of a reply from a sligo head :)

HarpoJoyce
11/07/2010, 6:34 PM
HarpoJoyce, were you the UCD fan I was speaking to in Kennedy's before the game?

( Steve Martin line in The man with Two Brains "My God there must be hundreds")

Sent you a PM and then I remembered that watching a European game in Oriel Park put's another of the European Old Guard on the list for me.

Still have to see the likes of former Yugoslav Premier Division Zeljeznicar (of Sarajevo) and FK Vojvodina who missed out on qualifying this year but newly promoted Spartak Zlatibor Voda (Subotica and Serbia) will play in Vojvodina's ground in Novi Sad. Another remider for Dundalk to be proud.

11/07/2010, 7:45 PM
( Steve Martin line in The man with Two Brains "My God there must be hundreds")

Sent you a PM and then I remembered that watching a European game in Oriel Park put's another of the European Old Guard on the list for me.

Still have to see the likes of former Yugoslav Premier Division Zeljeznicar (of Sarajevo) and FK Vojvodina who missed out on qualifying this year but newly promoted Spartak Zlatibor Voda (Subotica and Serbia) will play in Vojvodina's ground in Novi Sad. Another remider for Dundalk to be proud.I thought it was a 'yes/no' question meself.

11/07/2010, 9:42 PM
Thinly veiled nothing dodge. It was about the talk of people coming out to support teams other than their own in the euro cups and im sure you may have encouraged people to do so when pats was in europe.

I did in my ********.

The Lep
11/07/2010, 11:45 PM
You wouldnt encourage fans of the other teams to come out and cheer on St Pats if they get drawn against a big team next year if they qualify and that they are close to making the group stages or would you just want St Pats fans to show up ?

12/07/2010, 2:44 AM
anyone want to be a longford fan for a few weeks? just because we have none

12/07/2010, 7:19 AM
You wouldnt encourage fans of the other teams to come out and cheer on St Pats if they get drawn against a big team next year if they qualify and that they are close to making the group stages

No, I wouldn't. If they go the game I hope they enjoy themselves and thanks for the money.

If they don't go, fair enough.

12/07/2010, 10:19 AM
No, I wouldn't. If they go the game I hope they enjoy themselves and thanks for the money.

If they don't go, fair enough.

I think you'd call what was going on up there from the Fungus fan as a modern example of Press Ganging

marinobohs
12/07/2010, 11:08 AM
thinly veiled

Spot on, Dodge. Have gone to see many LOI teams play in Europe and genuinely wish all of them well but would draw the line at actively supporting any of them ! Cant understand going to european away game with club other than your own either.

12/07/2010, 11:13 AM
Cant understand going to european away game with club other than your own either.

Well for one Shels fan I know who went away with Pats, he went on a euro **** up with his mates. He didn't have much interest in the game