View Full Version : Limerick Premier Division 2008/09

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57

abbeyvale
23/10/2008, 5:50 PM
It's mark and stop giving him a big head.He knows hes good already.How do people think corbally and wembley will fair out?

I fancy Corbally after their big win last weekend, but then again Wembley can play nice football at times.
I cant see Corbally losing though.

halo16
23/10/2008, 5:52 PM
It's mark and stop giving him a big head.He knows hes good already.How do people think corbally and wembley will fair out?

Who is at home?if corbally are i fancy them to get a draw.they will be encouraged by there win last week.im going to say 1-1 anyway

Football MaD
23/10/2008, 6:02 PM
I fancy Corbally after their big win last weekend, but then again Wembley can play nice football at times.
I cant see Corbally losing though.
Ya i cant see corbally losing to wembley at home either. Should be a good game. I predict Corbally 3-2 Wembley.

Green_Hoop
23/10/2008, 6:07 PM
Well the players above I named were all of one age group (minor), add to that the players a year ahead of us that were just out of minor, plus the players that were just U-17 coming into minor, and I'd say you'd be talking a top 3 Prem team today easily.

Pike U-16's, arguably one of the best from Limerick, Alan Barry, Karl Meehan(best of the lot IMO), Pa McGarry, Dermot Phelan, Pat Purcell(If I remember correctly), Noel Noonan, etc. Funny how clubs are still hoarding players under-age to the present day..

http://img502.imageshack.us/img502/7505/scan0003ao2.jpg

oscar
23/10/2008, 6:55 PM
Jamie Dundon was a fine player too,is he playing with anyone now

W.R.F.C
23/10/2008, 6:55 PM
Christ noonan and mcgarry havent changed one bit, meeehan,s hair is cruel.
Who was in goals

Football Alien
23/10/2008, 8:27 PM
Who was in goals

Man they were some ropey haircuts!!good picture though!!

As for hula, an average centre half, solid if nothin else, still at the moment the boro could do with him!!

On The Ball
23/10/2008, 8:41 PM
Who was in goals
He went for that haircut again a few years back.He looked the same and as you can probably tell,it didn't suit the second time round either.

abbeyvale
23/10/2008, 9:45 PM
Pike U-16's, arguably one of the best from Limerick, Alan Barry, Karl Meehan(best of the lot IMO), Pa McGarry, Dermot Phelan, Pat Purcell(If I remember correctly), Noel Noonan, etc. Funny how clubs are still hoarding players under-age to the present day..

I remember many a battle against them, and we won more than we lost against them.
Team (as per picture).
Back row : Alan Barry, Noel Noonan, Kieran Stewart, Anthony Bourke, Donal Lavery, Pat Purcell, Dermot Phelan.
Front Row : Jodie Delany, Ger Nash, Pat McGarry, (?), Karl Meehan, Jamie Dundon.

To answer one of the above questions, Jamie Dundon is signed with Hill Celtic this season as far as I know and why wouldnt he be a fine player back in the day??? He was 2/3 years overage and got away with it for years (as he produced a false birth cert, and he'll tell you that himself).

W.R.F.C
23/10/2008, 10:07 PM
Taught it was stewy alright, sound foor clearing that up abbyvale

Bonovox
23/10/2008, 10:11 PM
I remember many a battle against them, and we won more than we lost against them.
Team (as per picture).
Back row : Alan Barry, Noel Noonan, Kieran Stewart, Anthony Bourke, Donal Lavery, Pat Purcell, Dermot Phelan.
Front Row : Jodie Delany, Ger Nash, Pat McGarry, (?), Karl Meehan, Jamie Dundon.

To answer one of the above questions, Jamie Dundon is signed with Hill Celtic this season as far as I know and why wouldnt he be a fine player back in the day??? He was 2/3 years overage and got away with it for years (as he produced a false birth cert, and he'll tell you that himself).

Abbeyvale, thats Paul Finucane between Pa McGarry and Karl Meehan.

hula4
23/10/2008, 10:13 PM

its not paul would be a few years younger than that

Abbey Road
23/10/2008, 10:38 PM
its not paul would be a few years younger than that

Paul would be 26 or 27 at the most!!

The guy looks like him though buy Paul played schoolboy football with Granville unless he signed later with Pike!Not sure..........

hula4
23/10/2008, 10:39 PM
Paul would be 26 or 27 at the most!!

The guy looks like him though buy Paul played schoolboy football with Granville unless he signed later with Pike!Not sure..........

he played with granville until the kennedy cup then went to pike for under 15s and 16s after that, i was on the bench for the same team under Pa Mul and we would have been a couple of years younger than that team

Abbey Road
23/10/2008, 10:43 PM
is it mark hula ye are on about if so he played interfirm with us this summer still a great player

Top player is Mark Houlihan and still young!Would walk on to any premier team in town at present.

hula4
23/10/2008, 10:44 PM
Top player is Mark Houlihan and still young!Would walk on to any premier team in town at present.

stop taking the **** outta me you!! i know who you are!! leave that subject lie please

abbeyvale
23/10/2008, 11:07 PM

I dont think it is...........I would remember his name if I heard it again..........but a Paul Finucane doesnt ring a bell.

Abbey Road
23/10/2008, 11:24 PM
stop taking the **** outta me you!! i know who you are!! leave that subject lie please

I'm an honest man as you know!!!

Will leave subject lie just for you.Unfortunately others will agree on my opinion on you.To hell with any begrudgers...............

Green_Hoop
24/10/2008, 12:05 AM
Its amazing to see the few who made it through to play at premier level in Limerick, Its mostly down to the attitude of the player.

Football Alien
24/10/2008, 6:40 AM
I dont think it is...........I would remember his name if I heard it again..........but a Paul Finucane doesnt ring a bell.

its def not paul as he wouldn't have been old enough, and the pike under 16's team he was on would have had gary power, jamie o'brien, and i think niall mc played with em up as far as 16's, just before he signed for forest, could be wrong though

Pike B
24/10/2008, 7:47 AM
Team (as per picture).

The question mark in the photo is Matthew Bashford. He plays the bagpipes or something like that and travels around the world doing it. Or so I'm told anyway..

dared
24/10/2008, 9:12 AM
Its amazing to see the few who made it through to play at premier level in Limerick, Its mostly down to the attitude of the player.
Very true... ive seen average underage players become very good premier players and exceptional under age players loose interest and end up playing in lower divisions...The right attitude does give players an edge...

Noddy
24/10/2008, 9:13 AM

Mathew Bashford, fine full back in those days

faces
24/10/2008, 10:30 AM

carew park had a fine minor team going back a few years.gordon stewart,paul dillon james naughton nicky kelly jason and philip colopy ger ned pat koyce etc.

Goals4fun
24/10/2008, 11:20 AM
carew park had a fine minor team going back a few years.gordon stewart,paul dillon james naughton nicky kelly jason and philip colopy ger ned pat koyce etc.

think that was about 1992-1993 - some of them played on the youth OT team the lost in the final on peno's (i think gordon missed the vital one)

faces
24/10/2008, 11:31 AM
think that was about 1992-1993 - some of them played on the youth OT team the lost in the final on peno's (i think gordon missed the vital one)

spot on gordon missed it but they had a super team at time.

Football Alien
24/10/2008, 11:33 AM
spot on gordon missed it but they had a super team at time.

didnt dom foley play on that team at the time and mick devine the cork city keeper was in goals against them in the final for waterford and got man of the match

On The Ball
24/10/2008, 12:56 PM
Didn't realise alan barry was that old.Does that donal lavery guy play with abbey now?

dared
24/10/2008, 1:13 PM
Didn't realise alan barry was that old.Does that donal lavery guy play with abbey now?
Yeah he'd be almost 30...

faces
24/10/2008, 2:31 PM
didnt dom foley play on that team at the time and mick devine the cork city keeper was in goals against them in the final for waterford and got man of the match

yes dom did play.didnt know the keepers name but he was outstanding the same day as far as i remember.

Abbey Road
24/10/2008, 4:30 PM
yes dom did play.didnt know the keepers name but he was outstanding the same day as far as i remember.

It was actually Paul Flynn who plays with Waterford hurling that was in goals that day!He did get the Man of the Match award but Billy Tynan was to be given it only for Waterford winning the penalty shoot out and your man Paul Flynn saving most of them.

lifegoeson
24/10/2008, 4:52 PM
anyone from granvile on here,
hows robbie doing for ye in goals

awiseman
24/10/2008, 6:52 PM
he has some pain in his back i'd say from picking the ball out of the net

Easy Easy
24/10/2008, 11:30 PM
Very true... ive seen average underage players become very good premier players and exceptional under age players loose interest and end up playing in lower divisions...The right attitude does give players an edge...
-------------------------------------------------------
Wouldnt say it has anything to do with attitude
More like good players having lifes to live and not wanting to take local football as serious as some people!
Because the Premier is pretty poor these days (probably due to the average players with the good attitudes),whether your in the Premier or 3b its all the same really just as long as your enjoying yourself with mates!

Abbey Road
25/10/2008, 1:08 AM
-------------------------------------------------------
Wouldnt say it has anything to do with attitude
More like good players having lifes to live and not wanting to take local football as serious as some people!
Because the Premier is pretty poor these days (probably due to the average players with the good attitudes),whether your in the Premier or 3b its all the same really just as long as your enjoying yourself with mates!

Would not say the premier is poor but in my opinion the standard has dropped as the years have gone on.I believe that a lot of the top teams now would not have lived with the top teams of the 80's and 90's.

oscar
25/10/2008, 1:15 AM
you'd still do a job i'd say

abbeyvale
25/10/2008, 1:04 PM

yeah Lavery is with Abbey but mostly concentrates on the GAA with Claughaun.

tedd11
26/10/2008, 2:54 PM
how did ye get on against wembley today dared?what was the result in the game?

Futebol
26/10/2008, 3:16 PM
Corbally 3-1 Wembly. Corbally were by far the better team despite their first goal coming against the run of play.The two centre halves and keeper were a bit shakey at the start. They could have won by a lot more in the second half which they dominated. Wembly threatened very little and when they did it came from long through ins from Brian Finnegan. Things could really turn around considering they have most of the top teams played and they have some of their better players to come back for the second half of the season.

halo16
27/10/2008, 4:05 PM
thats a good win for corbally.they seem to be getting the better of the teams down around them in the league.another win or 2 and i can definately see them staying up and finishing comfortably in mid table.anybody have the scorers for them?

dared
28/10/2008, 7:29 AM
thats a good win for corbally.they seem to be getting the better of the teams down around them in the league.another win or 2 and i can definately see them staying up and finishing comfortably in mid table.anybody have the scorers for them?

Ian O Donoghue and Mike Mcguire got 2.....

faces
28/10/2008, 7:56 AM
kilmallock 2 sumerville b 2.sumerville won 4 3 on penaltys.

abbeyvale
28/10/2008, 8:36 AM
Regional Utd 7 6 1 0 16 2 19
Ballynanty Rvs 7 5 1 1 20 7 16
Aisling Annacotty 7 5 1 1 16 4 16
Fairview Rgs 7 5 1 1 22 7 16
Pike Rovers 6 5 0 1 20 4 15
Wembley Rvs 7 1 3 3 13 21 6
Corbally Utd 7 2 0 5 9 19 6
Janesboro 6 1 2 3 11 14 5
Dromore Celtic 6 1 1 4 8 22 4
Granville Rgs 7 1 1 5 5 18 4
Kilmallock 8 1 1 6 12 25 4
Carew Park 4 1 0 3 4 11 3

Fixture
Sun 02/11/08
Corbally v Granville, 10.30 Corbally.
Dromore v Kilmallock, 10.30 Rathuard.

dared
28/10/2008, 8:41 AM
Regional Utd 7 6 1 0 16 2 19
Ballynanty Rvs 7 5 1 1 20 7 16
Aisling Annacotty 7 5 1 1 16 4 16
Fairview Rgs 7 5 1 1 22 7 16
Pike Rovers 6 5 0 1 20 4 15
Wembley Rvs 7 1 3 3 13 21 6
Corbally Utd 7 2 0 5 9 19 6
Janesboro 6 1 2 3 11 14 5
Dromore Celtic 6 1 1 4 8 22 4
Granville Rgs 7 1 1 5 5 18 4
Kilmallock 8 1 1 6 12 25 4
Carew Park 4 1 0 3 4 11 3

Result
Sun 26/10/08
Corbally Utd 3-1 Wembley Rvs

No Prem Fixtures this weekend (02/11/08) due to FAI.
Corbally playing Granville at home in premier.

Football MaD
28/10/2008, 12:20 PM
Prediction

Corbally 3-1 Granville

dared
28/10/2008, 1:10 PM
Prediction

Corbally 3-1 Granville

Corbally 2-0 Granville

Football Alien
28/10/2008, 1:25 PM
Corbally 2-0 Granville

couple of good wins for ye dared, what was the performance like on sunday, were ye full value for the win?

dared
28/10/2008, 1:36 PM
couple of good wins for ye dared, what was the performance like on sunday, were ye full value for the win?
I think we were yeah... they had a couple of good spells but overall we we're the better side on the day. Good performance overall and with a few guys coming back from injury over the coming weeks we should hopefully be stronger next time we play the sides above us.:o

faces
28/10/2008, 2:16 PM

dromore versus kilmallock in rathuard.

dared
28/10/2008, 2:30 PM
dromore versus kilmallock in rathuard.
1 all draw id say..