View Full Version : Limerick Premier Division 2008/09

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57

supporter
13/11/2008, 12:32 PM
Lads, whats happened to Balla lately. Somcouldmatche bad defeats!, is it a case of a bad run of form or what?

have to say they havent had much luck lately.Carew game could have gone either way including shoot out. FAI match players that were missing and loosing home advantage would hurt any team.

faces
13/11/2008, 1:51 PM
Agree with what?

i think he is a new signing just being smart.

gaidin
13/11/2008, 3:51 PM
have to say they havent had much luck lately.Carew game could have gone either way including shoot out. FAI match players that were missing and loosing home advantage would hurt any team.

Balla were poor in the mjc against Fairview. Ok they were missing Dunphy and Daly but hte team that played never looked like beating fairview. This team could be on their last legs. There are a lot of old players involved in the team. It needs new players to be brought in to freshen things up.

Buzzer
13/11/2008, 4:04 PM
Balla were poor in the mjc against Fairview. Ok they were missing Dunphy and Daly but hte team that played never looked like beating fairview. This team could be on their last legs. There are a lot of old players involved in the team. It needs new players to be brought in to freshen things up.

they are still only 3 points off the lead in the premier.
agree to a certain extent it needs some younger players to be brought through.
next few matches will tell a tale,the players will either put their heads down and work hard or put the legs up on the couch and not bother with training.
i think the last thing they needed right now was a munster senior cup match,especially away.
can't honestly see any benefit in junior teams entering that comp.
on the flip side,they won't have any distractions(bar that msc!!!) and could conceiveably rack up a sizeable lead inthe league if the other contenders remain in either of the mjc or fai cups!!!!
seen happy afew times before!!!!

supporter
13/11/2008, 6:16 PM

You cant be serious on their last legs.I think there are 3 of the squad over the age of 27 or 28 which would be the average age of the team.Also missing were Rob earls Frank lee and Paudie hickey.including daly and dunphy thats half the team that would normally start.

gaidin
13/11/2008, 8:38 PM
You cant be serious on their last legs.I think there are 3 of the squad over the age of 27 or 28 which would be the average age of the team.Also missing were Rob earls Frank lee and Paudie hickey.including daly and dunphy thats half the team that would normally start.

Ok maybe not on their last legs but they are in serious threat of falling behind the top teams in the next year or 2 unless they can attract or bring through some younger quality players. The 3 players you just mentioned that were missing are over 30. Add to that Gareth ryan, Keith Fitz and Ray Mc, and its an old team. Most of them would start when available. I just think that they need some new young players to come through to push some of the older players for a place but thats not happening and that was seen on sunday.

On The Ball
13/11/2008, 10:14 PM
Ok maybe not on their last legs but they are in serious threat of falling behind the top teams in the next year or 2 unless they can attract or bring through some younger quality players. The 3 players you just mentioned that were missing are over 30. Add to that Gareth ryan, Keith Fitz and Ray Mc, and its an old team. Most of them would start when available. I just think that they need some new young players to come through to push some of the older players for a place but thats not happening and that was seen on sunday.
The manager is obviously sticking with the old guard.Robert brock,dave o'leary,jamie o sullivan and jossie are all round 23 i think,then shane doran,paul quinn,spud and dunphy cant be more than 27/28 so they could have the bones of a young enough team there.Still with alot of experience.

gaidin
14/11/2008, 7:47 AM
The manager is obviously sticking with the old guard.Robert brock,dave o'leary,jamie o sullivan and jossie are all round 23 i think,then shane doran,paul quinn,spud and dunphy cant be more than 27/28 so they could have the bones of a young enough team there.Still with alot of experience.

Maybe thats their problem, sticking with the old guard and also bringing some more of them back. Im not sure O' Leary is still there otherwise he would surely have played right full at the weekend. Dodo isnt get a look in. Ya the others are still young and are good players. But its my opinion that they need a few more young/youngish players to come in, in the next year to stay at the top. Just wondering if they can get those players though?

abbeyvale
14/11/2008, 9:17 AM

Dunphy is surely older than 27/28 isnt he? also Conway is 30 (I think).
I agree with Gaidin on this one.............

Centrehalf
14/11/2008, 10:50 AM
Dunphy is surely older than 27/28 isnt he? also Conway is 30 (I think).
I agree with Gaidin on this one.............

List of Balla squad and age, alot of injuries and players missing which would hurt any squad

Dunphy 26 suspended
Jossy 20
Jamie O Sullivan 21
Dave O Leary gone to Shannon playing rugby
DoDo hasn't been training
Gareth Ryan 33
Robert Earls 33 missing
Conway 32
Paul Quinn 26
Spud 26
Ray Mc 31
Tom Daly 26 holidays
Rob Brock 20 injured
Frank Lee 32 injured
Smiggy 27 injured
Gary Ryan 27
Damien leo 26 injured
Keith Fitz 31
Paudie Hickey 32 injured
Ronan Keane 28

Futebol
14/11/2008, 11:56 AM
Jossy is definitely older than 20 anyway! 23 I think

abbeyvale
14/11/2008, 12:13 PM
List of Balla squad and age, alot of injuries and players missing which would hurt any squad

Dunphy 26 suspended
Jossy 20
Jamie O Sullivan 21
Gareth Ryan 33
Robert Earls 33 missing
Conway 32
Paul Quinn 26
Spud 26
Ray Mc 31
Tom Daly 26 holidays
Rob Brock 20 injured
Frank Lee 32 injured
Smiggy 27 injured
Gary Ryan 27
Damien leo 26 injured
Keith Fitz 31
Paudie Hickey 32 injured
Ronan Keane 28

You sure about the ages of Keane / Smiggy / Daly / Jossy / Dunphy & Conway
I would have said 2 years older for each of all of them except Conway who I'm nearly sure has just turned 30.

kalyani
14/11/2008, 1:46 PM

Dunphy 26 suspended
Jossy 20
Jamie O Sullivan 21
Gareth Ryan 33
Robert Earls 33 missing
Conway 32
Paul Quinn 26
Spud 26
Ray Mc 31
Tom Daly 26 holidays
Rob Brock 20 injured
Frank Lee 32 injured
Smiggy 27 injured
Gary Ryan 27
Damien leo 26 injured
Keith Fitz 31
Paudie Hickey 32 injured
Ronan Keane 28

half if not more of these ages are incorrect, and brock and smiggy both started against fairview last sunday.

TopperHarley
14/11/2008, 2:51 PM
half if not more of these ages are incorrect, and brock and smiggy both started against fairview last sunday.
----------------------------------------------
Dunphy was 26...............in 2005

allab
14/11/2008, 3:03 PM
----------------------------------------------
Dunphy was 26...............in 2005

dunphy has just turned 27, also 27 are daly,spud,quinny,leo,james ryan, conway is just gone 30

the real deal
14/11/2008, 4:04 PM
any predictions for carew against dromore sunday?

On The Ball
14/11/2008, 5:02 PM
Im nearly sure brock didn't start.

Balbec77
14/11/2008, 5:24 PM
any predictions for carew against dromore sunday?i think carew will be a bit too strong for dromore
carew 3 dromore 1

oscar
14/11/2008, 5:26 PM
any predictions for carew against dromore sunday?

Carew to win and another "wonder goal" from yourself:D

the real deal
14/11/2008, 7:26 PM
that was a once off fluke never to be seen again ha

the real deal
15/11/2008, 2:08 PM
which goal was he on about?

hes only jokin take no notice

oscar
15/11/2008, 2:16 PM
don't be modest,take him through it...you know you want to

the real deal
16/11/2008, 11:38 AM
carew 3 dromore 1 good win for carew lifts them right up the table

the only 1
16/11/2008, 12:13 PM
carew 3 dromore 1 good win for carew lifts them right up the table

not much to boast about there game just over and going straight to post it:D carew are useless end of story bottom 4 again:eek:

the real deal
16/11/2008, 12:36 PM
not much to boast about there game just over and going straight to post it:D carew are useless end of story bottom 4 again:eek:

well they are off the bottom boro now in the relegation places and carew are stronger than most of the teams around them so we will keep silencin the likes of u my friend

abbeyvale
16/11/2008, 12:46 PM
i think carew will be a bit too strong for dromore
carew 3 dromore 1

Great prediction Balbec, any lotto numbers for next Wednesday?

abbeyvale
16/11/2008, 12:49 PM
........club........Pld W D L F A PTS
1.Regional Utd.. 7 6 1 0 16 2 19
2.Ballynanty Rvs7 5 1 1 20 7 16
3.Aisling A'cotty 7 5 1 1 16 4 16
4.Fairview Rgs....7 5 1 1 22 7 16
5.Pike Rovers..... 6 5 0 1 20 4 15
6.Granville Rgs.... 8 2 1 5 8 19 7
7.Dromore Celtic 8 2 1 5 11 26 7
8.Carew Park.....5 2 0 3 7 12 6
9.Wembley Rvs.. 7 1 3 3 13 21 6
10.Corbally Utd.... 8 2 0 6 10 22 6
11.Janesboro..... 6 1 2 3 11 14 5
12.Kilmallock.... 9 1 1 7 13 27 4

Result
Sun 16/11/08,
Carew Pk 3-1 Dromore

abbeyvale
16/11/2008, 12:51 PM
8.Carew Park.....5 2 0 3 7 12 6
10.Corbally Utd.... 8 2 0 6 10 22 6

Result
Sun 16/11/08,
Carew Pk 3-1 Dromore

3pts seperating the bottom 7 teams..........

the only 1
16/11/2008, 1:03 PM
well they are off the bottom boro now in the relegation places and carew are stronger than most of the teams around them so we will keep silencin the likes of u my friend

and what will ye win this year again nothing:D what a season fighting relagation ha ha enjoy;)

kev08
16/11/2008, 1:36 PM

stronger my ass ive seen carew they are useless:D:D

the real deal
16/11/2008, 4:44 PM
care will be comfortable ive seen the other teams which carew are stronger than even though we lost to two of them we were unlucky and what club are involved with the only 1?????dromore granville killmallock and boro are the four weakest teams ive seen

oscar
16/11/2008, 4:53 PM
anyone know how Balla got on

Balbec77
16/11/2008, 6:44 PM
Great prediction Balbec, any lotto numbers for next Wednesday?i must check last nights first abbey :D:D

diego10
16/11/2008, 7:44 PM
was at carew match today,think they are well organised and will be hard to beat especially at home. good mixture of youth and experience.

abbeyvale
16/11/2008, 8:15 PM
anyone know how Balla got on

Balla were beaten 1-0 in Cork in the MSC.

HuRya
16/11/2008, 9:14 PM
Balla were beaten 1-0 in Cork in the MSC.
think thats 4 defeats on the spin for balla , losing to Aisling, Carew Pk, Fairview and Douglas Hall

supporter
16/11/2008, 10:53 PM
think thats 4 defeats on the spin for balla , losing to Aisling, Carew Pk, Fairview and Douglas Hall

thats it another season over for balla.N excuses at all.As an earlier poster said ballas seasons over.Whats their next league game. Have you seen any of these games HuRya whats your own opinion.

oscar
16/11/2008, 10:59 PM
well they're still in with a shout for the league,then there's the local cups too

awiseman
17/11/2008, 12:34 AM
bobby creg on his way to the view

Buzzer
17/11/2008, 10:33 AM
bobby creg on his way to the view

he's not the only one!!!!....trust me there is 3 more in the pipeline

Buzzer
17/11/2008, 11:26 AM

comments like that will be certain to fire carew up when they are playing pike.
thought i posted this already,but,no sign of it on here.
credit to carew park on their facilities,
tea,coffee,soup and sandwiches available too!!!!fair play to 'em

Goals4fun
17/11/2008, 11:40 AM
comments like that will be certain to fire carew up when they are playing pike.

most teams are fired up when playing pike .

i would not associate 'the only 1' with any club, he is 'the only 1' stirring on here and probably 'the only 1' we should all ignore :D

Buzzer
17/11/2008, 11:56 AM
most teams are fired up when playing pike .

i would not associate 'the only 1' with any club, he is 'the only 1' stirring on here and probably 'the only 1' we should all ignore :D

fair enough....thought as much,now you've confirmed it.
not long on this site but i have seen a few of his/her posts and he/she seems to have an opinion,mostly bad ones,one every thing being posted.

HuRya
17/11/2008, 12:57 PM
thats it another season over for balla.N excuses at all.As an earlier poster said ballas seasons over.Whats their next league game. Have you seen any of these games HuRya whats your own opinion.

I saw all 3 Limerick based matches....Aisling were far superior against them out in LIT..They got their tactics spot on and destroyed them on the ground and with pace....The same goes for the Fairview match.Balla were no match for the view on the deck and couldn't handle their pace and movement off the ball..
They were, however, unlucky against Carew Pk.. The match could have gone either way but it seemed Lady Luck was shining on Carew for their first ever match at their new grounds and were just destined to win..
Still think Balla will be there or there abouts come May - as the obvious lack of fixture congestion will help them over the likes of Pike, Fairview, Aisling and Regional

Monster
17/11/2008, 1:24 PM

I wouldnt say there season is over - last time they were knocked out of both major competitions very early did they not go on and win the league, the touhy and the lawson??

Fairkop
17/11/2008, 3:40 PM
hard to see balla winning anything this season in their current state.out of the two big cups it will be interesting to see how they react.

Football Alien
17/11/2008, 4:14 PM
What are the fixtures for this weekend lads, any interesting games?

oscar
17/11/2008, 4:44 PM
only one game down this weekend,Wembley V Carew

HuRya
17/11/2008, 4:52 PM
8.Carew Park........5 2 0 3 7 12 6
10.Corbally Utd.. 8 2 0 6 10 22 6

Sun Nov 23rd
Wembley Rvs v Carew Park, 10.30, Rathuard, M Weldon

the only 1
17/11/2008, 4:59 PM
shane guerin to fairview also he didnt even play with balla yesterday played oscar traynor instead