View Full Version : Limerick Premier Division 2008/09
tedd11
28/10/2008, 2:51 PM
Corbally 2-0 Granville
on current form id say a 3-1 victory for corbally.taht will put them clear in mid table.
1 all draw id say..
can you find out for definite if those two league matches are on as i heard they might not be or if anyone else might help clear this up,thanks.
Both matches are on according...to Limerick junior soccer site...
thanks
Football MaD
28/10/2008, 4:56 PM
dromore versus kilmallock in rathuard.
Dromore 1-2 Kilmallock
Balbec77
28/10/2008, 5:17 PM
Dromore 1-2 KilmallockBig game for both sides sunday more so us i think
Football MaD
28/10/2008, 6:16 PM
Big game for both sides sunday more so us i think
Ya big game with the last few matches not going your way, Think ye will win it though. But if ye dont it looks very doubtful for your survival hopes.Dromore would be my favourite to come bottom.
Rafa 08
28/10/2008, 11:36 PM
Corbally 4-2 Granville
abbeyvale
29/10/2008, 7:37 AM
Corbally 3-1 Granville
Dromore 1-2 Kilmallock
Corbally 3-1 Granville
Dromore 1-2 Kilmallock
Jez Abbey your finally showing faith in us... :o
abbeyvale
29/10/2008, 8:01 AM
Yer on a good run, and home advantage should shade it for ye,
Football Alien
29/10/2008, 8:47 AM
Yer on a good run, and home advantage should shade it for ye,
its amazing how a couple of wins can fire a team up the table. it shows how tight it is at the bottom, big gulf between the top 5 and lower 6!!
With a bit of luck it'll be the top 6 and bottom 5 come christmas.. :o
the only 1
29/10/2008, 10:21 AM
lads anyone hear how dunphy+nabs got on with there suspensions they could both get long bans
widow
29/10/2008, 10:27 AM
With a bit of luck it'll be the top 6 and bottom 5 come christmas.. :o
ha. league is shaping up very well, every team is involved, except boro (whose season seems to be slipping away into nothingness) in something to play for, be it relegation or to win the league
Centrehalf
29/10/2008, 10:28 AM
lads anyone hear how dunphy+nabs got on with there suspensions they could both get long bans
Dunphy got 4 weeks plus 1 automatic match, suspension started Mon 27th of Oct.Didn't hear about Nabs that will be dealt with by Munster Council.
dared
29/10/2008, 10:38 AM
ha. league is shaping up very well, every team is involved, except boro (whose season seems to be slipping away into nothingness) in something to play for, be it relegation or to win the league
I wouldnt be writing them off yet.. the league title is out of reach but i wouldnt rule them out of winning a cup..
Football Alien
29/10/2008, 11:07 AM
I wouldnt be writing them off yet.. the league title is out of reach but i wouldnt rule them out of winning a cup..
i agree with you dared, i think they'll be in with a good shout for the local cups, they have some good players so no doubt they'll go on a good run somewhere this season!!
Leather do many of the experienced heads tog out for the A's these days?
abbeyvale
29/10/2008, 11:44 AM
Dunphy got 4 weeks plus 1 automatic match, suspension started Mon 27th of Oct.Didn't hear about Nabs that will be dealt with by Munster Council.
What was this suspension for again??
Dunphy's was for throwing 2 punches against Aisling after a goal was ruled offside a few weeks back...Nabs' was for throwing a punch which led to a 20 man brawl 10 minutes into Pike v Knockainey at the weekend
lifegoeson
29/10/2008, 1:20 PM
dont think ye will put three past granvile but will go for a 1-1 draw
abbeyvale
29/10/2008, 1:34 PM
for throwing a punch i know hard to believe
And Derek Hannon got 5 GAMES on the opening day of the season for us, for calling the ref a l*anger.....................1 rule for certain clubs and another rule for others!
Football MaD
29/10/2008, 1:44 PM
dont think ye will put three past granvile but will go for a 1-1 draw
I think they will, maybe even more. Granville are a weak side, dromore put 4 past them 2 weeks ago.
If we put 1 pass them and win 1 nil ill be happy... but i can see why people might think we could get more, 8 goals in 2 games shows we're a side who know where the net is..
Jock MIB
29/10/2008, 2:03 PM
well alan you cant really call a ref that:rolleyes:
Its nice to see the message is sinking in :D
Football MaD
29/10/2008, 2:09 PM
If we put 1 pass them and win 1 nil ill be happy... but i can see why people might think we could get more, 8 goals in 2 games shows we're a side who know where the net is..
Ya, think ye will give the bigger teams a good go next time around aswell.Wembley are a good side and ye beat them convincingly, so cant see ye losing to granville.:eek:
da bishop
29/10/2008, 2:23 PM
And Derek Hannon got 5 GAMES on the opening day of the season for us, for calling the ref a l*anger.....................1 rule for certain clubs and another rule for others!
what exactly is your point here abbey,a player abuses a ref gets 5games and your club feels victimised.no one should condone that type of behaviour
its nice to see the message is sinking in :d
well jock the message has sunk in.but ye refs will have to try and be a bit more consistent and players might not give ye as much hassle.
One week its this rule and the next its a different rule for same offence.by the way you were not too bad on sunday.small mistakes here and there but not too bad everyone is human.
francesco_1
29/10/2008, 2:49 PM
LoL i dont think it was just a langer he called him,i remember the ref had to turn the page on his notepad to write down the other quotes
Jock MIB
29/10/2008, 2:53 PM
well jock the message has sunk in.but ye refs will have to try and be a bit more consistent and players might not give ye as much hassle.
One week its this rule and the next its a different rule for same offence.by the way you were not too bad on sunday.small mistakes here and there but not too bad everyone is human.
Well you got the answer there in your post, we are given the rules of soccer Fifa and are told to inforce our interpretation of those rules we can only inforce what we see and we are one person in a fast game with no use of assistants, we might not get into the best position for a call but are always trying, what a referee sees could be interpreted differently by another it happens in all levels. Look at the referein at the highest level they have all the best training etc and still make mistakes.
as i say to everyone there is a reason i blow the whistle or not if you ask me i will respond to you if you F and Blind me i will deal with it a different way. Its up to you's the players and managers you take up that opportunity to communicate with me or not :)
well you got the answer there in your post, we are given the rules of soccer fifa and are told to inforce our interpretation of those rules we can only inforce what we see and we are one person in a fast game with no use of assistants, we might not get into the best position for a call but are always trying, what a referee sees could be interpreted differently by another it happens in all levels. Look at the referein at the highest level they have all the best training etc and still make mistakes.
As i say to everyone there is a reason i blow the whistle or not if you ask me i will respond to you if you f and blind me i will deal with it a different way. Its up to you's the players and managers you take up that opportunity to communicate with me or not :)
good explaination.point taking on board
Easy Easy
29/10/2008, 3:58 PM
--------------------------------------------------------------
We played Hyde a couple of weeks ago and we had the young ref(Name anybody??)
The Hyde Forward gave the ref some abuse and the ref just gave it straight back...First bit of common sense by a ref iv seen this season,he realised that things are said in the heat of the moment and didnt over-react!!
Bonovox
29/10/2008, 4:10 PM
Wow, it will be Corbally for the FAI next!!:D:D:D
Goals4fun
29/10/2008, 5:05 PM
Nabs' was for throwing a punch which led to a 20 man brawl 10 minutes into Pike v Knockainey at the weekend
I think you don't have all the facts or even accurate ones at that (apart from nabs being sent off)
On The Ball
29/10/2008, 6:41 PM
And now you said it.Was talking to a few wembley player's and they said paul mccormack got the same as dunphy for a mistimed tackle.They said he caught him alright but it's hardly as bad as throwing punches.call the ref something in the heat of the moment or throw punches,no difference now with these decisions.
see's it
29/10/2008, 8:39 PM
should Wembley play a 4-3-3 or a 4-4-2?
On The Ball
29/10/2008, 10:11 PM
should Wembley play a 4-3-3 or a 4-4-2?
I dont know,should they?
Wow, it will be Corbally for the FAI next!!:D:D
There's always one... maybe next year:)
abbeyvale
30/10/2008, 7:52 AM
well alan you cant really call a ref that:rolleyes:
I know that, but in all fairness, which offence is worse?
1) Verbally abusing an official in the heat of the moment (which happens a lot), if the refs makes a poor decision
or
2) A violent attack on an apposing player?
I would say the latter, but yet it gets less punishment!!!!!!!
abbeyvale
30/10/2008, 7:53 AM
LoL i dont think it was just a langer he called him,i remember the ref had to turn the page on his notepad to write down the other quotes
No he turned the page to write the goalscorers!!!!
abbeyvale
30/10/2008, 7:56 AM
Well you got the answer there in your post, we are given the rules of soccer Fifa and are told to inforce our interpretation of those rules we can only inforce what we see and we are one person in a fast game with no use of assistants, we might not get into the best position for a call but are always trying, what a referee sees could be interpreted differently by another it happens in all levels. Look at the referein at the highest level they have all the best training etc and still make mistakes.
as i say to everyone there is a reason i blow the whistle or not if you ask me i will respond to you if you F and Blind me i will deal with it a different way. Its up to you's the players and managers you take up that opportunity to communicate with me or not :)
Yes, but not ALL refs are the same (most wont communicate with players)
Some refs love the power and at times it goes to their heads.
I could name more than a few refs that WILL NOT EXPLAIN a decision (not even to the captain), and would rather threaten the player by telling him to move away or be booked.
For me, a better ref, is one who will take a second or two to explain a decision (whether or not the player agrees), and IMO if all refs done this they would have more respect on a football pitch, from both players and supporters.
Yes, but not ALL refs are the same.
Some refs love the power and at times it goes to their heads.
I could name more than a few refs that WILL NOT EXPLAIN a decision (not even to the captain), and would rather threaten the player by telling him to move away or be booked.
I had one who thankfully doesnt ref anymore tell me to "Get the f**k out of my face or ill put you outside the gate".. when i question a decision.. now the fact that i was playing and managing the team did not make any difference. I had to take myself off soon after as i felt i would have done something stupid. The point is, some refs will not take the time to defuse situations and in some cases make it worse...
Big fan Jock keep up the good work :D
leather
30/10/2008, 9:01 AM
i agree with you dared, i think they'll be in with a good shout for the local cups, they have some good players so no doubt they'll go on a good run somewhere this season!!
Leather do many of the experienced heads tog out for the A's these days?
the oldest player that i know turns out for Boro would be dom Fitz..approx 26yrs.the majority would have between 2 and four years expierience playing premier with the club..some a little less..
Ronald1
30/10/2008, 9:42 AM
Hi All,
Just a quick question, who would be the oldest person currently playing in the Premier League?
Hi All,
Just a quick question, who would be the oldest person currently playing in the Premier League?
Gordan Stewart i think...
abbeyvale
30/10/2008, 11:00 AM
alan finucane,dara droog,colm enright,conor lynch would be up there also
Ian Sullivan?
Football Alien
30/10/2008, 11:02 AM
the oldest player that i know turns out for Boro would be dom Fitz..approx 26yrs.the majority would have between 2 and four years expierience playing premier with the club..some a little less..
it was always going to be a tough season for ye so considering the experienced heads ye lost, when it comes to the matches which are battles a young side will find it tough cos most of them wont be used to it
dared
30/10/2008, 11:04 AM
Ian Sullivan?
From Aisling? is he still playing?
Football Alien
30/10/2008, 11:07 AM
I had one who thankfully doesnt ref anymore tell me to "Get the f**k out of my face or ill put you outside the gate".. when i question a decision.. now the fact that i was playing and managing the team did not make any difference. I had to take myself off soon after as i felt i would have done something stupid. The point is, some refs will not take the time to defuse situations and in some cases make it worse...
Big fan Jock keep up the good work :D
as tough a job as referee's have and i do think its a thankless job, most of them dont do themselves any favours. we had the same referee 2 games runnin and in the first game i've never seen a ref take so much abuse but he just laughed it off and didnt book a single player for mouthin, and the followin week he was dishin out yellows for questioning a decision!!