View Full Version : Limerick Premier Division 2008/09
Think he was being sarcastic.It wasn't one of his better games but second gear for pike.Come on,i felt wembley couldve genuinely won the game.Most full backs would find it tough against john boyle and wayne o donovan.Clarke a massive loss,he shouldve stayed,wembley would be as good as boro with him i think.
dont get me wrong ive great time for wembley and they always pass the ball around and have some good players. nearly signed for them before back in my hay day. would only say 2 full backs (are very slow) and there left wing were poor. everyone else was decent enough for wembley.
I just thought pike were very comfortable for 80 mins and only got a small bit edgy when wembley pulled one back. do you play for wembley.
On The Ball
08/10/2008, 3:43 PM
dont get me wrong ive great time for wembley and they always pass the ball around and have some good players. nearly signed for them before back in my hay day. would only say 2 full backs (are very slow) and there left wing were poor. everyone else was decent enough for wembley.
I just thought pike were very comfortable for 80 mins and only got a small bit edgy when wembley pulled one back. do you play for wembley.
No,just know a few of them playing.They had a chance right before half time to equailise.If they'd taken that it wouldve been different.Pikes wingers are very good and quick in fairness and im sure their left winger has seen better games.
abbeyvale
08/10/2008, 4:27 PM
No,just know a few of them playing.They had a chance right before half time to equailise.If they'd taken that it wouldve been different.Pikes wingers are very good and quick in fairness and im sure their left winger has seen better games.
Lads
Can anyone confirm who Franky Stewart is playing with?
Did he stay with Regional or move back to Pike before the transfer window closed?
Green_Hoop
08/10/2008, 5:36 PM
Lads
Can anyone confirm who Franky Stewart is playing with?
Did he stay with Regional or move back to Pike before the transfer window closed?
Regional. He scored at the weekend in there massive win.
maestro
08/10/2008, 7:26 PM
Bit of sarcasm there Green Hoop? Didnt Regional Beat Pike this season? Reckon Regional will be top
on their own after this weekend.
Goals4fun
08/10/2008, 7:39 PM
Bit of sarcasm there Green Hoop? Didnt Regional Beat Pike this season? Reckon Regional will be top
touchy touchy....
yes regional beat pike, you know that.
if they are they are, no prizes for being top this time of the year, you know that also..;)
could do with you sunday,when you coming back to us
the lads that are there are more than good enough, they will come good i hope. with the bit of controversy at the start of the season plus new players coming in, you have to be a bit patient.
as for coming back, ill be well over the hill by the time i move back down to Limerick, that assuming i ever set foot on the hill!!
ill be keeping my fingers crossed for a boro win on sunday
Abbey Road
08/10/2008, 10:57 PM
the lads that are there are more than good enough, they will come good i hope. with the bit of controversy at the start of the season plus new players coming in, you have to be a bit patient.
as for coming back, ill be well over the hill by the time i move back down to Limerick, that assuming i ever set foot on the hill!!
ill be keeping my fingers crossed for a boro win on sunday
It will be a tough one for the 'boro' especially against a very strong Pike squad!That's said,the 'boro' have a very good record above in the Pike field over the last number of years.
hula4
08/10/2008, 11:14 PM
It will be a tough one for the 'boro' especially against a very strong Pike squad!That's said,the 'boro' have a very good record above in the Pike field over the last number of years.
yep, i have fond memories of a certain alan o keeffe scoring a very important equaliser and then ado lobbing smackers on the way to winning the league
and i remember alan sheehan scoring a free kick at the clubhouse end against a much better pike side on paper
and i remember winning 2-0 there in the fai with jason o connor and connor lynch scoring in my first season with the boro!
lost a few games to pike in my time as well! i remember hitting the crossbar with a penalty in a shootout in some cup game.
you'd miss it when your not involved anymore
oscar
08/10/2008, 11:15 PM
ah the memories:p
hula4
08/10/2008, 11:19 PM
i know, great times!!
its what its all about, no doubt the pike lads have theirs as well and good luck to them.
Abbey Road
08/10/2008, 11:23 PM
ah the memories:p
Boro seemed to have a lot of success up in the Pike field while Pike seemed to get a lot down in the Boro.........
Plenty of successful memories for the Pike lads down in the Boro aswell notably more or less clinching the league last year down there.
Green_Hoop
09/10/2008, 1:05 AM
Eh? He asked a question and I gave an answer, I was too lazy to check what the score was from there last game,9-2 or something?(finuc's got a hatrick in the game) So I just put "massive" as it seemed to cover my bases well. No sarcasm.
Rob67
09/10/2008, 12:15 PM
well thats your opinion,i'm not the only one who predicted a draw by the way and if i was to be kind i'd go for an away win,everybody knows Pike and Boro is always a tough close game(even the Pike lads will tell you this)
there was alot of B players playing against Cals and Holycross so i wouldn't look into those games too much,its a tough place to get anything but i'll stick with my prediction and say a draw
lets see your predictions
AA 2 Ball
Pike 1 Boro
Granville 1 Dromore
Regional 2 Corbally
Wembley x Fairveiw
do you really think Corbally will beat Regional?i'd be surprised if they did,especially away
abbeyvale
09/10/2008, 10:31 PM
do you really think Corbally will beat Regional?i'd be surprised if they did,especially away
Cant see it happening TBH.
I'd fancy Regional to win by 3 clear goals. (Sorry Dared)
Football MaD
09/10/2008, 10:51 PM
i think wembley drawing with the view is a bit far out.Dont think corbally will lose by 3 goals either.
No That was a mistake. Win for regional there.
TopperHarley
10/10/2008, 11:06 AM
AA 1 - 2 Ball
Pike 1 - 0 Boro
Granville 2 - 1 Dromore
Regional 3 - 1 Corbally
Wembley 2 - 2 Fairveiw
Centrehalf
10/10/2008, 11:47 AM
AA 1 - 3 Balla
Pike 2 - 2 Boro
Granville 3 - 1 Dromore
Regional 1 - 1 Corbally
Wembley 1 - Fairveiw
dalegend
10/10/2008, 3:41 PM
AA 1-3 Balla.....balla too physical for aa
Pike 3-0 Boro.....pike to get their season up and running against a weak boro
Granville 2-0 Dromore.....granville to beat a team just not ready for life in the top league
Regional 5-1 Corbally.....handy 3 points for regional
Wembley 1-3 Fairview.....could be closer all depends which fairview team turns up
Philbert
10/10/2008, 3:46 PM
Will there be any games on this weekend with this rain???
Easy Easy
10/10/2008, 3:56 PM
Will there be any games on this weekend with this rain???
--------------------------------------------------------
There sure will,but the weather is supposed to pick up tomorrow and sunday so hopefully most games will go ahead!
Green_Hoop
12/10/2008, 11:30 AM
Pike 5 - 0 Boro'
2 Hartnett, 2 Moloney, Enright(Pen)
Boro' out of the game from the get go, Pikes finest performance to date against a weak Boro' side.
Abbey Road
12/10/2008, 11:59 AM
Pike 5 - 0 Boro'
Boro' out of the game from the get go, Pikes finest performance to date against a weak Boro' side.
Had 'Boro' a full side out???
Very convincing win for Pike.Heaviest defeat in a while for the Boro.
oscar
12/10/2008, 12:10 PM
full side out or not thats a shocking result
maestro
12/10/2008, 12:29 PM
Regional 3 Corbally 0
allab
12/10/2008, 12:29 PM
balla 0 ashling 2
abbeyvale
12/10/2008, 12:40 PM
Regional 3 (O'Donoghue, Mullins & Stewart) -0 Corbally
abbeyvale
12/10/2008, 12:43 PM
P W D L F A Pts
Regional Utd 7 6 1 0 16 2 19
Ballynanty Rvs 7 5 1 1 20 7 16
Pike Rovers 6 5 0 1 20 4 15
Aisling Annacotty 6 5 0 1 14 2 15
Fairview Rgs 6 4 1 1 18 5 13
Janesboro 6 1 2 3 11 14 5
Wembley Rvs 5 1 2 2 10 16 5
Granville Rgs 7 1 1 5 5 17 4
Kilmallock 7 1 1 5 11 21 4
Dromore Celtic 6 1 1 4 8 22 4
Carew Park 4 1 0 3 4 11 3
Corbally Utd 5 0 0 5 1 17 0
Results
Sunday 12th October 2008 @ 10.30
Wembley Rovers 2-5 Fairview Rangers (Doyle, Heffernan, Grant (2) Plus another)
Aisling/Annacotty 2-0 Ballynanty Rovers (Cummins (2))
Pike Rovers 5-0 Janesboro (Hartnett 2, Maloney 2, & C Enright)
Dromore Celtic 4-0 Granville Rangers (O'Riordan 2, Frawley & Bourke)
Regional United 3-0 Corbally United (Mullins, O'Donoghue & Stewart)
bit of a gap opening up already from 5th down
halo16
12/10/2008, 1:53 PM
balla 0 ashling 2
went to this game this morning.from a neutral point of view it was a good game imo.ashling matched balla physically and chased and challenged everything.balla got what i thought was a legitimate goal disallowed for offside which would have brought them level.in saying that though balla lost the plot completely after the goal was disallowed.i felt that balla spent far too much time giving out and complaining.if they got on with the game they might have had a chance..thought cummins had a fine game for ashling.he terrorised the 2 centre backs and was unlucky not to have 4 goals on the day.great save from hickey in the balla goal just before halftime to stop a certain goal by cummins.thought that balla were just feeding off long ball scraps.they will need to improve imo if they want to be up towards the top at the end of the season.
things are going to get interesting over the next few weeks.5 teams playing good stuff up at the top.good to see the league opening up a bit.can only be good for the division and will make for some very exciting games for the rest of the season.
halo16
12/10/2008, 1:59 PM
very bad result for ye today oscar.what kind of team did ye have out?were ye missing players?alot of people in yer club wont be happy with that result.did ye just not turn up or were pike that much better?
halo16
12/10/2008, 2:00 PM
looks like you have a career as a pundit when you hang up the boots abbeyvale:Dgood prediction
abbeyvale
12/10/2008, 2:05 PM
Yep, I said it at the start of the season, the Prem in Limerick is split into 3 tiers.
The top 5 (Any of who could realistically win the league)
The middle 2 (Boro & Wembley, neither will win the league nor get relegated)
The bottom 5 (Any of who could easily be relegated)
Abbey Road
12/10/2008, 2:06 PM
went to this game this morning.from a neutral point of view it was a good game imo.ashling matched balla physically and chased and challenged everything.balla got what i thought was a legitimate goal disallowed for offside which would have brought them level.in saying that though balla lost the plot completely after the goal was disallowed.i felt that balla spent far too much time giving out and complaining.if they got on with the game they might have had a chance..thought cummins had a fine game for ashling.he terrorised the 2 centre backs and was unlucky not to have 4 goals on the day.great save from hickey in the balla goal just before halftime to stop a certain goal by cummins.thought that balla were just feeding off long ball scraps.they will need to improve imo if they want to be up towards the top at the end of the season.
things are going to get interesting over the next few weeks.5 teams playing good stuff up at the top.good to see the league opening up a bit.can only be good for the division and will make for some very exciting games for the rest of the season.
Whitestripe's assessment on Cummins a few weeks seems quite justified.Up against a very strong Balla back four and banged in 2!
Ya,good to see the league not fought out between the usual crew.Regional and Aisling seem to be coming to the fore this year........
abbeyvale
12/10/2008, 2:08 PM
Whitestripe's assessment on Cummins a few weeks seems quite justified.Up against a very strong Balla back four and banged in 2!
Ya,good to see the league not fought out between the usual crew.Regional and Aisling seem to be coming to the fore this year........
Its very early yet, Regional were strong up to Xmas last season and fell away, its just a matter of whether they can be more consistant this season.................If they can they'll have a chance. (Especially as they've played both Pike and View away already).
Abbey Road
12/10/2008, 2:10 PM
full side out or not thats a shocking result
Ya,not good enough for the 'boro'..............
I seem to remember another asses beaten received up there some years back.I think it was 8-3 or something like that.I can't remember anything since so bad!
Football MaD
12/10/2008, 2:10 PM
P W D L F A Pts
Results
Just as i predicted, except for granville, i predicted a draw.;)
Balbec77
12/10/2008, 2:15 PM
watched the first 50 mins of the fairview wembley game wembley keeper had a shocker of a game fairview could of won the game by a lot more .watched the end of the dromore granville game granville never turned up this morning looked like they were missing a few players they had 1 of there defenders in goal but congrats to dromore by far the better team on the day its tight at the bottom
Football MaD
12/10/2008, 2:27 PM
looks like you have a career as a pundit when you hang up the boots abbeyvale:Dgood prediction
ya spot on. Didnt think they would win by as much.
Monster
12/10/2008, 3:46 PM
Cummins is an excellent player,ballas defence cannot handle pace - simple as that in my opinion and its been the same for a number of years.
abbeyvale
12/10/2008, 4:06 PM
watched the first 50 mins of the fairview wembley game wembley keeper had a shocker of a game fairview could of won the game by a lot more .watched the end of the dromore granville game granville never turned up this morning looked like they were missing a few players they had 1 of there defenders in goal but congrats to dromore by far the better team on the day its tight at the bottom
Granville keeper went off injured after 5mins, one of their defenders then took over.
Balbec77
12/10/2008, 4:16 PM
Granville keeper went off injured after 5mins, one of their defenders then took over.were they missing any out field players looked a different team that played us two weeks a go tough pitch to play ball on very narrow
P W D L F A Pts
Results
Balla vs Aisling was played in LIT as a Balla home fixture as Aisling's pitch was deemed unplayable before yesterdays 2pm deadline.....Where as Granville are going to seriously struggle after losing home advantage to Dromore this morning.......By the way John Mullane scored the other for the View and Enright's goal for Pike was from the spot ( to avoid Hartnetts head getting any bigger if he got the hat trick against the Boro)....
Bonovox
12/10/2008, 4:55 PM
Balla vs Aisling was played in LIT as a Balla home fixture as Aisling's pitch was deemed unplayable before yesterdays 2pm deadline.....Where as Granville are going to seriously struggle after losing home advantage to Dromore this morning.......By the way John Mullane scored the other for the View and Enright's goal for Pike was from the spot ( to avoid Hartnetts head getting any bigger if he got the hat trick against the Boro)....
Granville switched the game to Rathuard as their 17s had an FAI game in the afternoon and had it been called off they would have lost home advantage. The return game against Dromore takes place in Glenbrook, they didn't forfeit home advantage.
In that case,
.......Club.......P W D L F A Pts
Regional Utd. 7 6 1 0 16 2 19
Ballynanty Rvs7 5 1 1 20 7 16
Pike Rovers ....6 5 0 1 20 4 15
Aisling A'cotty 6 5 0 1 14 2 15
Fairview Rgs ..6 4 1 1 18 5 13
Janesboro...... 6 1 2 3 11 14 5
Wembley Rvs. 5 1 2 2 10 16 5
Granville Rgs ...7 1 1 5 5 17 4
Kilmallock..... 7 1 1 5 11 21 4
Carew Park .....4 1 0 3 4 11 3
Corbally Utd.... 5 0 0 5 1 17 0
Results
Sun 12/10/08
Ballynanty Rvs 0-2 Aisling Annacotty
Dromore Celtic 4-0 Granville Rgs
Pike Rvs 5-0 Janesboro
Regional Utd 3-0 Corbally Utd
Wembley Rvs 2-5 Fairview Rgs
Fairkop
12/10/2008, 7:10 PM
have to agree with halo,balla,s discipline a big problem.ref could have sent off a few more.in fairness to aisling they physically matched balla all through and balla,s back 4 lack of pace was exposed by cummins.
halo16
12/10/2008, 9:51 PM
have to agree with halo,balla,s discipline a big problem.ref could have sent off a few more.in fairness to aisling they physically matched balla all through and balla,s back 4 lack of pace was exposed by cummins.
understandably balla were annoyed that the goal they got was disallowed.i thought it was a legitamite goal and it would have brought them level with 20mins to go.i was just disapointed how they let that particular situation affect the rest of there performance for the remainder of the game.instead of driving on and trying to equalise they resorted to giving away stupid frees which just made aisling wind down the clock.as good as balla are at times they can be there own worse enemies by imploding when a decision goes against them.its a pity really as on there day they can be a fine side.
hula4
12/10/2008, 10:38 PM
Pike 5 - 0 Boro'
ouch!! very disappointed, its probably very easy for me to say, but that is not good enough.
thank god i wasnt playing or it might have been 7 or 8
surely the boro are better than that