View Full Version : Stephen Ireland

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85

18/04/2008, 3:46 PM
I am awaiting the latest Sun exclusive report that Stephen Ireland, before Trap arrives, has promised to paint his wheels green in order to demonstrate to Trap his Irish pride.

18/04/2008, 4:15 PM
I am awaiting the latest Sun exclusive report that Stephen Ireland, before Trap arrives, has promised to paint his wheels green in order to demonstrate to Trap his Irish pride.

He's saving it for the Serbia friendly where he'll pull down his shorts and produce green giant speedo's:D

Razors left peg
18/04/2008, 6:37 PM
Steven Ireland is 21 years of age and is basically a stupid young fella.But at the age of 21 people are writing him off and saying hes not good enough and we are better off without him.Yes he has made some huge mistakes in the last year and is probably a very difficult character to deal with but we are not blessed with the kind of numbers that other countries have.With 4 goals in 6 appearances he has shown that he can be a big asset for us and he will only get better and better and he gets older.His performance in the Manchester derby in Old Trafford this year also showed a glimpse of the talent that he has. Yes he does need to do it more consistantly but young players are often like that.
I dont see what the problem with him having a chat with Trapattoni before he returns , he has had an absense from the squad for a short time now and he obviously has some issues that need talking about... but thats what good man management is, dealing with different players in different ways. Some players will just get on with things and hardly ever have to be spoken to while others need constant coaxing and reassurence to get the best out of them.
At the end of the day we now have whole new set up and every one starts off on a clean slate.If he doesnt want to rejoin the squad and retire from international football I think it would be disgraceful and he would deserve the critism he get but if he comes back and scores the winner against Italy Im sure even his harshest critics would be calling him a hero

ken foree
18/04/2008, 8:23 PM
dude's got a hang-up with a group of players teasing him about his hair, is the rumor right. so yea let him talk to the new manager and sort it out, episode over. hopefully.

livehead1
19/04/2008, 9:43 AM
dude's got a hang-up with a group of players teasing him about his hair, is the rumor right. so yea let him talk to the new manager and sort it out, episode over. hopefully.

Yee Haa Mannn, way to go!

jjppc
19/04/2008, 11:42 AM

Couldn't agree more, high time this was brushed under the carpet...

19/04/2008, 2:16 PM
Couldn't agree more, high time this was brushed under the carpet...
or under the rug :D

19/04/2008, 3:38 PM
I'd have full confidence that experienced heads like Trap and Tardelli will be able to see what is up with the player, make a sound judgement call and follow up on his behaviour in the squad.

A "meeting" is not necessary.

He walked out, it's up to him to come back, not up to a professional manager to go to his gaff and coax a 21-year old to play for his country. If I was GT, I'd tell him where to shove his meeting.

Any player who is 21-years old and doesn't want to play under a world class management team, needs their head.....

Turn up when the squad meets up in Dublin, and have your meeting on the boss's terms, not yours. :mad:

19/04/2008, 8:12 PM
All that stuff happened before him.
And as Trap is the new professional manager, he is entirely free to choose what he wants to do in order to get the strongest squad available. I trust he will not compromise himself nor the the team in the process.
That's a new managers privilege. He may only play that card once :)
After that it's the ethos that he establishes and maintains within the team that is more important.

Greenforever
20/04/2008, 1:46 AM
Stevie Ireland is at best a fantastic midfield option with amazing prospects, at worst a very entertaining character.

I don't know why people are looking to shove him out of the scene. If it wasn't for him Stan's campaign would have been even less successful and much, much less entertaining. :D

are you SI in disguise?

we all know you're only a kid at this stage, but surely you can read by now, I mean my 6 yr old nephew can read.

SI fell out with Brian Kerr, Steve Staunton, Don Givens

If you call a spolit kid deserting OUR country entertaining you really have a problem

FarBeag
20/04/2008, 5:13 PM
As much as i dislike the bloke the way he is p!ssing about re playing for his country he is a good player and showed this again this afternoon.

20/04/2008, 5:16 PM
According to todays paper he's leaving Man City as the other players hate him and think he's spoiled.
He needs to make a decision on his Irish future soon as otherwise it's gonna be a never-ending saga.

20/04/2008, 5:37 PM
According to todays paper he's leaving Man City as the other players hate him and think he's spoiled....
What do you expect? He's from Cork FFS :confused:

paulie_walnuts
20/04/2008, 5:45 PM

Agree.

He could and should go on to be our best midfielder for many years to come. At 21 he is a very good Premier League player, highly rated over in England, hopefully this little issue gets sorted and il Trap wil get to use and develop him into a top class international, which he is more than capable of being.

bohsRap
20/04/2008, 6:13 PM
Two assists from today's game, highlights here (http://101greatgoals.magnify.net/item/Y5H9FRF41RT1YV1G).

Checking a Man City forum here's a rating for him:

Ireland - 9 - Best game since the Derby. Why? Because he got to play in his proper position! Ran the show for the 75 minutes he was on. Some of his passing was unreal and 2 assists is a good days work for anyone. Again, **** the critics.

This guy is a real prospect with great vision and a decent ball. I agree, he does seem lost at times but going forward he's a real asset. Someone who, when played correctly, can provide a good link up with attackers.

carloz
20/04/2008, 6:27 PM
Every time i see Ireland play he is poor. However today he was bloody excellent. Instrumental in 2 goals, his lovely pass also caused the last man tackle that resulted in the sending off. As has been pointed out he was playing in the hole which is his best position. His passing was a joy to watch

20/04/2008, 8:09 PM
According to todays paper he's leaving Man City as the other players hate him and think he's spoiled.
He needs to make a decision on his Irish future soon as otherwise it's gonna be a never-ending saga.what paper is that in?

20/04/2008, 8:12 PM
News of the World. It could be in some more but thats the only paper i've read today.

paulie_walnuts
20/04/2008, 9:02 PM
Tell me you don't believe the News of the World. Believe that and you'll believe anythign!

Adrianovic
20/04/2008, 11:31 PM
I loved watching him today. That Man City fan said he ran the show, exactly the phrase I would use.

Whilst Man City might feel they can't give him such a luxury all the time, we probably can. I reckon a continental coach like Trap will make the most of him.

Ade

Manc Irish Wolf
21/04/2008, 12:01 PM
Don't give a monkeys how mad or spoilt he is. The Kid is potentially the most gifted player in our whole set up - so has to play. The closest thing I've seen to Paul Scholes for years - his ability to thread a weighted pass between defenders is sublime and he was completely running the game yesterday. Great to see him thrive playing just off the striker - fits straight into Trap's 4-3-3 style playing off Doyle.

21/04/2008, 12:05 PM
The Kid is potentially the most gifted player in our whole set up - so has to play. The closest thing I've seen to Paul Scholes for years.

:D:D

The bloke is an average player, and a traitor to his country. He should be looking forward to meeting up with our squad in a month, not demanding meetings with his brand new boss, over whether he might be bothered to turn up from time to time. :mad:

Morbo
21/04/2008, 12:46 PM
Don't give a monkeys how mad or spoilt he is. The Kid is potentially the most gifted player in our whole set up.
A players attitude should definitely be a factor in deciding whether a player plays or not, Wenger correctly offloaded Henry when he recognised than Henrys whinging has hurting the team. A player with S.Irelands attitude would have to be very talented to compensate for the detrimental effect his attitude will have on the team overall and I don't think he is that good

26/04/2008, 7:38 PM
Anyone see his goal today?

Ireland need a player who can do that out of nowhere. Ireland should do their best to get him in the team.

stojkovic
26/04/2008, 8:26 PM
It's simple. Name him in the squad. If he doesnt turn up, f**k him.

27/04/2008, 5:21 AM
Anyone see his goal today?

A wickedly deflected goal against Fulham, who could have managed that? :confused: :rolleyes:

27/04/2008, 8:38 AM
there was no deflection there. Will people just either shut up repeating themselves woth the same stupid gags and smart comments or give the lad the credit he deserves.

27/04/2008, 8:39 AM
The bloke is an average player, :

average player my arse, average players dont score the goals he scored today, his vision all game long his pass to vassell was second to none, hiom and andy reid on form playing in robbie, we wont go far wrong.

Razors left peg
27/04/2008, 8:42 AM
average player my arse, average players dont score the goals he scored today, his vision all game long his pass to vassell was second to none, hiom and andy reid on form playing in robbie, we wont go far wrong.

Well said

carloz
27/04/2008, 9:12 AM
Took off before 60 minutes though. Fantastic goal but to be took off that early he must have been playin poor. However Fulham ran riot after he was took off.

Saint07
27/04/2008, 10:10 AM
Took off before 60 minutes though. Fantastic goal but to be took off that early he must have been playin poor. However Fulham ran riot after he was took off.

only plays 60 mins every week! dont know why that is cause he's been one of their better players esp yesterday. watched football first on sky with extended highlights and he was making some great runs and involved in everything looked very good!

27/04/2008, 11:02 AM
Great goal. Played some lovely through balls through as well.

Sven is under a bit of pressure.....

27/04/2008, 3:47 PM
give the lad the credit he deserves.

He gives us nothing, we give him nothing, that's how it works.

Razors left peg
27/04/2008, 4:21 PM
He gave us 3 goals in 4 games in the last campaign

bohsRap
27/04/2008, 4:44 PM

In what respect does he "give us nothing"?

jmurphyc
27/04/2008, 7:47 PM

It was 4 goals in 5 appearances (in 6 if you're including friendlies), but this statistic masks the fact that he has so far been relatively mediocre for us so far. He's going to have to step it up if he wants to get a place in the first 11, provided he comes back. He has a lot of potential but he is still far from fulfilling it IMO.

Razors left peg
27/04/2008, 9:10 PM
It was 4 goals in 5 appearances (in 6 if you're including friendlies), but this statistic masks the fact that he has so far been relatively mediocre for us so far. He's going to have to step it up if he wants to get a place in the first 11, provided he comes back. He has a lot of potential but he is still far from fulfilling it IMO.

I agree with what u are saying, his overall performances havent been great for us but in my opinion he has the potential to be a serious top class player.He is a difficult character to deal with but a good manager can deal with that, Stan wasnt up to it I think.A good example is Cantona, he was a nightmare for a manager to deal with but Ferguson managed it and got the rewards(and before anyone jumps on it Im not saying hes as good as Cantona Im just using the example).
We dont have many players of his age with the potential that he has so I think its worth Trapattoni making the extra effort to get him back into the squad.He probably isnt worth a starting place in every game at the moment but in a year or 2 I think he will be

carloz
27/04/2008, 9:50 PM
Maybe its just me, but i feel if we can get Ireland and Reid in the same team plaing just behind Keane, then we would have a bit of creativity that we have been crying out for in recent years. Would put added pressure on our defensive midfielder be it Carsely or S. Reid though

27/04/2008, 9:52 PM
Maybe its just me, but i feel if we can get Ireland and Reid in the same team plaing just behind Keane, then we would have a bit of creativity that we have been crying out for in recent years. Would put added pressure on our defensive midfielder be it Carsely or S. Reid though

ya i said it earlier, one holding player, carsely or s reid, and let the two lads attack, would be class

HomeBrewPlease
27/04/2008, 10:01 PM

Was at the game yesterday. He was class, ran the show in midfield. You are right in the last part though - City fell apart once he was taken off

27/04/2008, 10:10 PM

...and we finished 11 points off qualification.

More importantly, what's he given us since September 9th last?? :confused:

27/04/2008, 10:13 PM
the dubs against us again ha.

27/04/2008, 10:19 PM
Britisms

27/04/2008, 10:19 PM
And you're a traitor to your country for using Britisms in your linguistics

:D:D

Is this the definition of irony?

You do realise you wrote that post in ENGLISH. Right Ciarán?

FarBeag
27/04/2008, 11:15 PM
I wouldnt pay too much heed to what Ciaran writes or attempts to write to be honest.

boovidge
28/04/2008, 9:32 AM
give it a rest with this "traitor" talk. You don't know the facts or the full story. Let's wait and see what happens instead of leaping to conclusions.

28/04/2008, 9:44 AM
give it a rest with this "traitor" talk. You don't know the facts or the full story. Let's wait and see what happens instead of leaping to conclusions.

exactly

28/04/2008, 9:52 AM

Well said, the only official quotes from Ireland are that he wants to meet Trapattoni and he never told anybody he didn't want to play for his country.
Everything else is conjecture and hearsay.

lionelhutz
28/04/2008, 10:10 AM
Was at the game yesterday. He was class, ran the show in midfield. You are right in the last part though - City fell apart once he was taken off

What game were you watching?? I went to the game too with a few friends who are City fans and after he scored (top class strike I admit) he was practically anonymous. City should have been 4 or 5 up at half time - but that was down to the attacking play of Petrov, Benjani, Vassell and Elano. Ireland wasn't involved at all.

And if you're implying City fell apart due to him being taken off, thats just laughable. I think he would be very useful playing off Keane with Ireland, but he definitely needs to get himself involved in the game more.

Greenforever
28/04/2008, 12:35 PM
Well said, the only official quotes from Ireland are that he wants to meet Trapattoni and he never told anybody he didn't want to play for his country.
Everything else is conjecture and hearsay.

His no shows are all conjecture and hearsay, come lads get your heads out of the sand, the man has no intention of playing for his country and we need him like a hole in the head, if we bow to his tantrums or however you want to discribe his behaviour we might as well tell the whole squad just to turn up whenever it suits