View Full Version : Stephen Ireland

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 [32] 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85

15/03/2009, 8:55 PM
Interesting to see Trap at Stamford Bridge today, does he really need to see Given and Dunne?......my hunch is that Ireland is going to be asked for a final decision.

Agreed, they are hardly border line players.
I suppose he will see Shay and Dunne after the match.
It also gives Ireland a chance to make it clear he is not interested, just in case anyone still has any doubts.

16/03/2009, 10:53 AM
You could be right or else he is trying to restore his name before he comes back so that he won't be subjected to as much abuse as if he returned now.
I don't think he even knows himself to be honest :P

However, for those who want him to return, maybe it's best for him to do it in his own way so that he feels as comfortable as possible with it or else his feebel ego might not be able to handle the abuse and he would run away with his tail between his legs again. For this very reason I would prefer him to return in a friendly where he can't harm our chances of qualification or progressing in a tournament. If all goes well then he could play a competitive game.

Not in todays squad. The interviews he has been giving of late are two things. One is publicity for his charity which is fair enough and the other is to somehow get back his good name (if he ever had one) and stop being a laughing stock. He is failing miserably on that issue but that seems to be the motivation for it though.

KK77
16/03/2009, 3:01 PM
Was Trap asked about him at todays press conference?

16/03/2009, 4:22 PM
Not in todays squad. The interviews he has been giving of late are two things. One is publicity for his charity which is fair enough and the other is to somehow get back his good name (if he ever had one) and stop being a laughing stock. He is failing miserably on that issue but that seems to be the motivation for it though.

His self deception has been an everpresent.
Now comes an added dimension, that he has a belief that we would actually swallow his fantasy over and above Trap's version of events.
And this is coming from the same birdbrain space that came up with the 2 dead granny tales.
He has a compulsion to tell lies /not be honest.
He is actually not emotionally mature enough to be maligned.

Hard to credit that he could actually dig a deeper hole. He is too worried even obsessed about how people perceive him, yet keeps avoiding the simple rectification action of making himself available to the squad and now has to dig deeper holes to cover his tracks on that deception.

The Fly
16/03/2009, 9:11 PM
His self deception has been an everpresent.
Now comes an added dimension, that he has a belief that we would actually swallow his fantasy over and above Trap's version of events.
And this is coming from the same birdbrain space that came up with the 2 dead granny tales.
He has a compulsion to tell lies /not be honest.
He is actually not emotionally mature enough to be maligned.

Hard to credit that he could actually dig a deeper hole. He is too worried even obsessed about how people perceive him, yet keeps avoiding the simple rectification action of making himself available to the squad and now has to dig deeper holes to cover his tracks on that deception.

I am in agreement with the above sentiment.

16/03/2009, 9:19 PM
I am in agreement with the above sentiment.

I had to look if up (maligned) :)

Denis The Red
16/03/2009, 10:15 PM
Was Trap asked about him at todays press conference?

I couldn't hear the journos properly so I don't know the question,but I assume so cause Trap got really agitated and like me is really tired about this subject. Please stop the madness, let it go, it's tearing us apart.
Goddamn Stephen fecking Ireland, enough already.:D

16/03/2009, 11:35 PM
He is more effective out of the squad than in it IMO.

Metrostars
17/03/2009, 2:57 PM
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/has-everything-been-done-toget-stephen-ireland-back-in-the-fold-1675234.html

"He is not my son. Also, I know very well Mark Hughes, his coach, and he said: 'I think he's not ready'. I think he is not ready to come back so you have to respect the team. We have other players.

"My feeling is he will not come back. Stephen is not my son. I cannot force him. My feeling is he wishes not to come back. I have said also that now it's up to him. Ok, it's clear."
I think Trap has had enough of him. SI has missed his chance and even if he does declare "he is ready", I don't think Trap will pick him after this unless things go disastrously wrong in these two upcoming games.

Greenbod
17/03/2009, 11:03 PM
That probably was Ireland's last window to get into this campaign. Shame he didn't take it, it's as much our loss as it is his.

Speak for yourself. I've lost nothing. He doesn't want to play for us... We, as Ireland fans, should only support those that do. l'm glad he hasn't been forced to play for us. You talk of "this campaign". It would take some really major contrition for me to accept he should ever be given the honour of the chance to play for us again.

kingdomkerry
18/03/2009, 9:05 AM
That scumbag has p1ssed all over the Ireland jersey. He should have his Irish passport revoked and never allowed back in to the country. Disgrace!

Brendan 82
18/03/2009, 2:08 PM
Simply put he had a bad experience with the Irish team and doesn't want to face it again

If it is so simply put, can you enlighten me and tell me what it is? This "bad experience"

magnumpi
18/03/2009, 2:24 PM
bad experience was - having the **** taken out of him for going bald / being ridiculously stupid. (on a mcateer level, which is a good comparison, at least he takes the stick in good humour)

not sure they gave him stick for grandma-gate or not.

he should get over it and come back and play, but not this campaign, would be harsh on the guys who have put it in so far.

18/03/2009, 2:42 PM
bad experience was - having the **** taken out of him for going bald / being ridiculously stupid. (on a mcateer level, which is a good comparison, at least he takes the stick in good humour)

not sure they gave him stick for grandma-gate or not.

he should get over it and come back and play, but not this campaign, would be harsh on the guys who have put it in so far.

He was never in the squad after grandma-date so unless they did it when he was playing in the Premiership or they text him privately I doubt they did this.

18/03/2009, 4:33 PM
You might not like his personality but from a purely sporting point of view he's our best player on current form and probably the most exciting Irish youngster since Keane and Duff. It's a shame he's not playing for us.

As for the "this campaign" part I don't think a lot of people understand the mindset of Stephen. He's an insecure fellow and not doing any of this out of lack of patriotism. Simply put he had a bad experience with the Irish team and doesn't want to face it again, that isn't to say he wants to rule himself out of it he's just happy with life at the moment and insecurity dictates that he's afraid to mix it up by confronting an issue he doesn't want to address.
It's not what you or I would do in such a situation but its worth keeping in mind why he's doing what he's doing.

Ciaran,

Unless you are actually SI, this is pure speculation. I don't believe he has ever said this was the case.

mjpcc
18/03/2009, 4:59 PM
I am disgusted by SI's attitude.

I would like to see the FAI/Trap state catogorically that he will not be considered for this campaign under any circumstances and that he would have to declare himself available - without pre conditions - for any future campaigns before the campaigns begin.

I really do not care how good he becomes - even if he were to become World player of the year. The guy is playing week in, week out for MC, is rich beyond most of our wildest dreams - and must surely understand what it means to the average person - like myself - who supports Ireland through thick and thin and want to see us qualify for and compete in major WCs and Euros.

I left Ireland for Canada over 20 years ago and still go back for games every year whenever I can get tickets.

I've been to Japan/Korea, Dublin, Paris, and Stuttgart and will be in SA if we qualify. However, I do not not want him in our squad for this campaign - no matter how much we need him.

:mad:

Fergie's Son
18/03/2009, 5:13 PM
Agreed. It's time to move on. I don't want him back. He's Stephen Manchester to me.

stiffler
18/03/2009, 5:14 PM
I am disgusted by SI's attitude.

I would like to see the FAI/Trap state catogorically that he will not be considered for this campaign under any circumstances and that he would have to declare himself available - without pre conditions - for any future campaigns before the campaigns begin.

I really do not care how good he becomes - even if he were to become World player of the year. The guy is playing week in, week out for MC, is rich beyond most of our wildest dreams - and must surely understand what it means to the average person - like myself - who supports Ireland through thick and thin and want to see us qualify for and compete in major WCs and Euros.

I left Ireland for Canada over 20 years ago and still go back for games every year whenever I can get tickets.

I've been to Japan/Korea, Dublin, Paris, and Stuttgart and will be in SA if we qualify. However, I do not not want him in our squad for this campaign - no matter how much we need him.

:mad:

Good post

18/03/2009, 5:52 PM
Is it really fair for someone who has chosen to live in Canada to criticize another for lack of commitment to Ireland? :rolleyes:

my god. Read his post again. Use your brain. :rolleyes:

You seem to me Ciaran like the kind of guy who reads a newspaper headline and then makes up your mind based on that. Are you a taxi-driver by any chance?

The Fly
18/03/2009, 6:32 PM
Anybody else think that Ciaran is Stephen Ireland?........................anybody?.......... ..........;)

Conormack
19/03/2009, 12:53 AM
He's an ar*ehole that's why people dislike him.

I personally hope to never see him again in an Ireland shirt as it will devalue the honour associated with representing this proud country to allow him to do so.

its come now that we shouldn be saying that hes refusing .. it should be knowledge tat hes not wanted anyone.. we need players who want to play and will put it in. . cant even tell the fans why he doesn want to be considered for selection... someone should just just put this story to bed and move on.

19/03/2009, 10:07 AM
someone should just just put this story to bed and move on.

Yes and that someone is SI who should just be honest and come out and say CLEARLY for a change that he doesnt want to play for Ireland now and does not see that changing at any point in the future.

I pity the management team that in every press conference seem to have to answer questions about a player that does not want to play for his country. And this is despite the fact that the team has had the best start to a campaign in years.

BaZmO*
19/03/2009, 11:12 AM
http://www.stephenireland.com/matchreport/matchdetails.php?DAILY-MAIL-INTERVIEW-6
http://www.stephenireland.com/~stephen/cmsadmin/uploads/img056.jpg
"INSIDE THE MIND OF STEPHEN IRELAND"

Echo........ Echo............

19/03/2009, 11:22 AM
Ian Ladyman:D

a

kingdomkerry
19/03/2009, 12:38 PM
He's a creep. He knows his reputation is in tatters as he is a traitior to his country, all of a sudden this charity pops up so we can all say what a great lad he is.

I for one will not be fooled by this poisonous **** and his PR stunt!

Wolfie
19/03/2009, 12:45 PM
It was up to Ireland to make contact and I think he needs a clear message that its up to him to resolve the situation.

He's been pandered to enough and he needs to grow up.

I'll just re-iterate what I said above on this thread in January 2008!! :eek:

Time to move on, I reckon.

19/03/2009, 12:55 PM
He's a creep. He knows his reputation is in tatters as he is a traitior to his country, all of a sudden this charity pops up so we can all say what a great lad he is.

I for one will not be fooled by this poisonous **** and his PR stunt!
It's not "all of a sudden", he's been running it for some time now.

kingdomkerry
19/03/2009, 3:46 PM
I think he deserves alot worse and I know many of my work collegues and friends have a lot worse to say about him.

19/03/2009, 3:47 PM
Save your traitorous insults for Andy O Brien or Stephen Carr, I don't think SI deserves them.

Why is kingdomkerry a traitor for calling Ireland a creep :confused:

third policeman
19/03/2009, 3:58 PM
We've all done something we've regretted but have been too embarrassed to address the issue at the time so just let it be and try not to think of it. Stephen isn't so different, he's never said he doesn't want to play for Ireland he's just not prepared to confront the issue right now, I'm sure he will when he's ready. It's frustrating for everyone else because how good he is but lets not forget Paddy Kenny did the exact same thing because of his personal problems, but nobody apparently cares since he's not a top class player.

Being disappointed in his inability to handle the situation? Fine. Being fed up of the issue constantly being brought up when there's no new developments in the case? Fair.
But acting like Stephen Ireland is some sort of despicable traitorous vermin is ridiculous. And comments like the below are just plain bad form.

Save your traitorous insults for Andy O Brien or Stephen Carr, I don't think SI deserves them.

Well said Ciaran. This is why I save my most intense frustration for Trapp, Brady and the FAI. It's obvious we are dealing with an immature indivudual who is having difficulty dealing with the fall-out from a deeply regrettable and idiotic lapse of judgement. Yet they dont give any impression that they actually understand the issue or are equiped to deal with him. I have said it before, and I know there are very few who sympathise with this sentiment, but we are paying these people to manage, and that goes beyond tactics and training. It also involves managing people and being able to deal with the sort of personnel issues that middle managers in companies up and down this country face day in day out. Saying "its up to him" and admitting that the only direct commuincation with Ireland was via a fax on Xmas day is pitiful.

19/03/2009, 4:11 PM
Well said Ciaran. This is why I save my most intense frustration for Trapp, Brady and the FAI. It's obvious we are dealing with an immature indivudual who is having difficulty dealing with the fall-out from a deeply regrettable and idiotic lapse of judgement. Yet they dont give any impression that they actually understand the issue or are equiped to deal with him. I have said it before, and I know there are very few who sympathise with this sentiment, but we are paying these people to manage, and that goes beyond tactics and training. It also involves managing people and being able to deal with the sort of personnel issues that middle managers in companies up and down this country face day in day out. Saying "its up to him" and admitting that the only direct commuincation with Ireland was via a fax on Xmas day is pitiful.

OH FFS................the new management team when appointed expressed their desire for him to return, then meet with the lad personally to discuss his issues and to outline their visions for the team. Following this meeting, the management team outlined their hopes that he would return.
Next SI declares he is not yet making himself available, the mgmt team respect his decision but have reiterated on numerous occasions that the door remains open for him at any stage and all he has to do is pick up the phone. That remains the management's stance.
What possibly more could they do..................at the end of the day they have 22 + players who WANT to play for Ireland and are happy to play for Ireland, that is the most important thing.

Just because SI has not come out and said I do not want to play for Ireland you somehow feel that the management still have not done enough. I will not insult the guy because at the end of the day it is his decision but I think I speak for most of the contributors on this site when I say that our main grievance with the lad is his abject lack of clarity and consistency in what he has said. It is clear to me that he does not want to play for Ireland for at least the foreseeable future, well then why does he not come out and say that and let us all move on instead of his vague mannerisms and responses such as "never say never"

Manblue
19/03/2009, 5:57 PM
OH FFS................the new management team when appointed expressed their desire for him to return, then meet with the lad personally to discuss his issues and to outline their visions for the team. Following this meeting, the management team outlined their hopes that he would return.
Next SI declares he is not yet making himself available, the mgmt team respect his decision but have reiterated on numerous occasions that the door remains open for him at any stage and all he has to do is pick up the phone. That remains the management's stance.
What possibly more could they do..................at the end of the day they have 22 + players who WANT to play for Ireland and are happy to play for Ireland, that is the most important thing.

Just because SI has not come out and said I do not want to play for Ireland you somehow feel that the management still have not done enough. I will not insult the guy because at the end of the day it is his decision but I think I speak for most of the contributors on this site when I say that our main grievance with the lad is his abject lack of clarity and consistency in what he has said. It is clear to me that he does not want to play for Ireland for at least the foreseeable future, well then why does he not come out and say that and let us all move on instead of his vague mannerisms and responses such as "never say never"

Doesnt never say never imply that he will at some stage just not at the moment which is what your asking him to clarify.... or is it just me?

SUB of the day
19/03/2009, 5:58 PM
I think the time has come for Trap to close the door, and say Ireland is retired as long as he is in charge,thus ending the speculation.Irelands dirtiest town, with the second highest public order offences station in the state ,could do without a native son giving the finger to the National team and fans.I hope he enjoys the praise from some Man City fans for "tellin' the Irish to sod off".

Manblue
19/03/2009, 6:07 PM
I think the time has come for Trap to close the door, and say Ireland is retired as long as he is in charge,thus ending the speculation.Irelands dirtiest town, with the second highest public order offences station in the state ,could do without a native son giving the finger to the National team and fans.I hope he enjoys the praise from some Man City fans for "tellin' the Irish to sod off".

If he is as immature as ye all say he is do ye not think trap should of played a bigger part then trying to get him back, meeting him in a hotel room without even a desk or chairs is hardly professional, and he is as stubborn as Ireland if ya ask me. and i seriously doubt any city fans even care enough about our national side to warrant praising him.

SUB of the day
19/03/2009, 6:16 PM
In fairness how relevant is that?.....The door is open, he turned his back,simple really.

19/03/2009, 10:56 PM
Doesnt never say never imply that he will at some stage just not at the moment which is what your asking him to clarify.... or is it just me?

'It's not that I am not patriotic and I know much of this is my fault. But it's sad the way some people still want to criticise me. I know the Irish thing will take longer to fix. I just think I am quite happy as I am right now.

'I read in the press that (Giovanni) Trapattoni and Liam Brady have said they have contacted me. Well, they haven't. That's all I can say. Never say never, though.'

The lack of clarity clearly arises from the fact that he has never outlined his reason(s) for not wanting to return to the Irish team............. as an Ireland supporter all I want from SI is the reason why he doesnt want to play for us. As outlined above, I respect his decision not to return and will not insult him for it, but i think its only fair the Irish supporters know his reason why. At no point does he address his reasons for not returning.

SI states above that the Irish thing will take longer to fix..........why? SI please clarify

He states he is happy as he is right now...............fine, but the same question, why does he not want to play for Ireland?

He states that Trap and Brady havent contacted him, although this is contrary to what they have said........for one did they not sit down with the lad and ask him return?? Given this guy's record with telling the truth i wonder who we should believe. How many approaches does he require from the management team?

Denis The Red
19/03/2009, 11:20 PM
Didn't Shay have a good game tonight?;)

Razors left peg
20/03/2009, 7:07 AM
Is it really fair for someone who has chosen to live in Canada to criticize another for lack of commitment to Ireland? :rolleyes:

I really hope u are only havin a laugh with that comment because if not it has to be one of the most ridiculous things I have ever read on this website

Wolfie
20/03/2009, 8:22 AM

I understand that modern football management requires a variety of attributes to carry out the job successfully - eg, people skills, man mangement etc etc.

That said, I'd imagine a hypothetical job description for the Ireland football job would not seek a candidate with a Clinical Psychology background and Social Work Experience as essential - with possibly a smattering of football knowledge thrown in.

Stephen Ireland's "personal issues" requires a case manager and a database at this stage.

This issue has dominated this campaign far too much.

Only Stephen Ireland can resolve this definitively.

To be of any value to the team he should be available for the next two games - which he won't be.

ken foree
20/03/2009, 9:04 AM
He states that Trap and Brady havent contacted him, although this is contrary to what they have said........for one did they not sit down with the lad and ask him return?? Given this guy's record with telling the truth i wonder who we should believe.

no no it was the other management team that contacted him. no wait it was actually the other one, on his mother's side ;) part of me would be very interested in his reasoning elroy but for now i would take a clarification rather than all this never-say-never implying.

manblue, i think the point people are making is that he shouldn't be implying, he should simply state something to the effect of "time's not right at this moment, i hope to be back for the next campaign."

i mean what if we qualify? and on the eve of the world cup he declares himself available, very publicly? even his most ardent supporters would be sick to the gills if he did that. i would and i have a lot of time for the guy.

20/03/2009, 9:13 AM
It also involves managing people and being able to deal with the sort of personnel issues that middle managers in companies up and down this country face day in day out.

Middle managers up and down the country deal with the issue of people who don't want to work for a company by telling them to f*** off and to seek a job elsewhere.

Drumcondra 69er
20/03/2009, 9:14 AM
It's frustrating for everyone else because how good he is but lets not forget Paddy Kenny did the exact same thing because of his personal problems, but nobody apparently cares since he's not a top class player.

You're excelling yourself on this thread Ciaran, for a start Paddy Kenny has declared himself available since then and just hasn't been picked, comparing the 2 is laughable.

20/03/2009, 9:46 AM
Soon we will need a book and a play to document this saga.

But it will still be a hard job following the plot.
Amongst the many storylines that don't make sense is the incident when Kerr allegedly (and most probably) banished SI from the youth set up after a bust up in Cork.
Yet in later years in his IT column, Kerr blasts Brady's bullheaded approach as the cause of SI's continued exile :rolleyes:

noby
20/03/2009, 10:19 AM
Act I

Opening scene.

A door is left open.
Inside, an old man stands, pretending not to peer out the door to a strange character in the corridor.
There are no chairs or desk in the room...

third policeman
20/03/2009, 11:44 AM
Middle managers up and down the country deal with the issue of people who don't want to work for a company by telling them to f*** off and to seek a job elsewhere.

As opposed to sending them a fax on Xmas day telling them to drop me a line when you next fancy coming in

third policeman
20/03/2009, 11:46 AM
Act I

Opening scene.

A door is left open.
Inside, an old man stands, pretending not to peer out the door to a strange character in the corridor.

I have long suspected that the FAI was following a script penned by Beckett. Precious. I take my hat off. I wish I had written it myself.

20/03/2009, 1:59 PM
Act I

Opening scene.

A door is left open.

The strange character looks like a balding leprechaun who is moaning softly over the death of his leprechaun granny. The old man decides to approach the leprechaun and.....

20/03/2009, 4:48 PM
commiserates with the bald leprechaun over the death of his granny. "No, no" says Baldy, "it's my hamster called Hammy not my granny who has died". The old man is confused but he...

20/03/2009, 5:39 PM
commiserates with the bald leprechaun over the death of his granny. "No, no" says Baldy, "it's my hamster called Hammy not my granny who has died". The old man is confused but he...
was stunned even more when the bald leprechaun burst out "I didn't mean to make trouble, I was only trying to help".
The old man had heard those words before, indeed he had spoken those words before, only the night before, when he was reading a bed time story to his grandchildren about a mischievous clumsy young bear called Teddy.
"How did that story end?" the old man wondered, grasping for some clue on how to connect with the world bald leprechaun inhabits, when ....

23/03/2009, 2:55 PM
...the Leprechaun stated: "To be honest, it wasn't Hammy the Hamster who died but Horney, my favourite pet Hornet". The old man was really confused now and said "Mama mia. It's a only a hornet. Whasa matter with you, whya you looka so sad" to which the Leprechaun replied "Ah, get out of my face!"

"Senda me the faxa if you wanta to talk" replied the old man and closed the door behind him. The Leprechaun smirked and threw his green top in the bin. "Won't be needing that again for a while" he thought as he put on a sky blue pullover and readied himself for a night out on the town. "I really don't have any interest in this Irish Leprechaun thing" he mused as the chauffeur driven car arrived at his plush mansion with his two grannies waving at him from the back.