View Full Version : Stephen Ireland
kingdomkerry
29/05/2008, 5:16 PM
Link Ciaran?
SilkCut
29/05/2008, 11:34 PM
Why are ye still acknowledging his refusal to play for his country by keeping this thread going?
All this thread is doing is offering false hope to the masses and obviously the situation hasn't been resolved so it's time to get over it and focus on the new generation of Irish football minus Stephen Ireland.
Obviously he's an idiot who thinks he deserves world class treatment when the truth is that he is an idiot who deserves absolutely no special treatment for being an average player with an under-achieving team.
A man who speaks sense. Nice one rambler. And to those who are giving Liam Brady a hard time, get bent, the man is a footballing legend and deserves some respect.
30/05/2008, 12:36 AM
A man who speaks sense. Nice one rambler. And to those who are giving Liam Brady a hard time, get bent, the man is a footballing legend and deserves some respect.
A man who speaks sense?? R14, come off the stage?? :D:D
seanfhear
30/05/2008, 1:26 PM
maybe stephen ireland is one of those misunderstood genius's that come around once in a lifetime.The only problem with this is that so far we have only seen the tiniest glimpses of this[particularly in an ireland shirt].For us to appreciate the great loss we may be losing he has to give us a few years of that genius so that we can then lie prostrate at his feet and beg for his forgiveness and mesiac return to save us
RivaldoBabb
30/05/2008, 1:44 PM
maybe stephen ireland is one of those misunderstood genius's that come around once in a lifetime.The only problem with this is that so far we have only seen the tiniest glimpses of this[particularly in an ireland shirt].For us to appreciate the great loss we may be losing he has to give us a few years of that genius so that we can then lie prostrate at his feet and beg for his forgiveness and mesiac return to save us
If only he was that good mate.
Lets move on, hes obviously a fool and has shown no desire or commitment to play for his country, something that 99% of the people on this forum would love to be able to do.
I'm over it.
02/06/2008, 11:46 AM
i wonder could ireland end up like this:
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/england/7431283.stm
irishultra
02/06/2008, 2:48 PM
If only he was that good mate.
Lets move on, hes obviously a fool and has shown no desire or commitment to play for his country, something that 99% of the people on this forum would love to be able to do.
I'm over it.
I agree, but if he could play like he did at OT this season over a consistent basis, he really would develop into a genius.
I really think he(if he stays at a good level) will move to Italy/Spain or Germany to play football within the next three years. He seems to have that sort of charachter who would want to play in them leagues.
02/06/2008, 3:34 PM
I didn't vote because there is no "Not bothered" option.
been there
03/06/2008, 11:37 AM
if Mark Hughes is appointed manager i think mr Ireland will be on his way i dont think
he would be his type of player i hope it happens becuase the way he has behaved up
till now is jest not on
03/06/2008, 12:36 PM
The headline could be spun as
"Most of the fans either don't want Stephen Ireland back or want him to apologize first."
I don't know what way to vote,
How about a
No, not even if he apologized on RTE - option
Same option, but also mentions his love for his dog who is now 2 legged, but can use his tail for balance.
I'd vote for a - let me back in, I'm sorry and I'll promise to score at least a goal in every game I play.
Wolfie
03/06/2008, 12:41 PM
"Most of the fans either don't want Stephen Ireland back or want him to apologize first."
I don't know what way to vote,
How about a
No, not even if he apologized on RTE - option
Same option, but also mentions his love for his dog who is now 2 legged, but can use his tail for balance.
I'd vote for a - let me back in, I'm sorry and I'll promise to score at least a goal in every game I play.
I'm undecided - can the dog say "sausages" like the one off of "That's Life"?
03/06/2008, 12:47 PM
I thought someone would ask if it was front or the hind legs missing.
Wolfie
03/06/2008, 12:52 PM
I thought someone would ask if it was front or the hind legs missing.
Could have a leg remaining at the front and a leg remaining at the back. :)
03/06/2008, 1:18 PM
Tbh geysir I don't think the american papers would have much interest in a piece about stephen ireland. ;)
Guidedbyvoices
03/06/2008, 2:02 PM
We dont want him.He is more mad than i am and believe me that is Crazy!!
Guidedbyvoices
03/06/2008, 2:06 PM
Tbh geysir I don't think the american papers would have much interest in a piece about stephen ireland. ;)
Here we go again. Mr Smarty ass with his usual glorious input!! Hey thought you were to meet me at the match last Thursday man what happened dude?
03/06/2008, 4:38 PM
He got stoned and he missed it.
05/06/2008, 8:58 AM
Looks more and more likely that Stephen Ireland will not return.
From my reading of Ireland's language since he went on the bounce, it is a consistent story.
He says he wants to return and play but won't turn up, blaming his own wolf stories, blaming Stan or the players, blaming Given and if we can give any credence to Kerr's deep throat, blaming Liam Brady from the new management team.
It looks like he gave absolutely no indication to Trap that he will return or that he even wants to.
Trap, as a good Italian, just mentions his positive feelings that if he changes his mind the door is always open.
Trapattoni
“I called one week ago (3rd week in May) and I said, ‘Now you know my number’. Now I wait.’ My feeling is that one or two said to me, ‘At the moment no, because I have a problem, but in the future, there is a possibility I will come back’”
Razors left peg
05/06/2008, 4:47 PM
For the first time I am begining to believe that he wont come back, I dont think O'Brien will anymore either.Finnan looks like he will, but for the other two to leave international football at such young ages is disgraceful
irishultra
05/06/2008, 4:55 PM
Ireland might come back some day(when he's like 28), but yeah Razors left peg, I sort of agree.
ShamrockIreland
05/06/2008, 5:23 PM
For the first time I am begining to believe that he wont come back, I dont think O'Brien will anymore either.Finnan looks like he will, but for the other two to leave international football at such young ages is disgraceful
Looks like it Razor and will he say anything about it? NO. At least Finnan has the balls to come out and say well I'll meet him. As for the other 2 especially Ireland the silence says it all.
Manblue
05/06/2008, 7:41 PM
Looks like it Razor and will he say anything about it? NO. At least Finnan has the balls to come out and say well I'll meet him. As for the other 2 especially Ireland the silence says it all.
Just wondering how thats balls sure they already met,, i wonder whats more to be dicussed,,
And its only been two weeks if man city sign ronaldinho and jo and the rest hell be looking to play all the games he can,, wait till after footballers hols at least for them to announce
Razors left peg
05/06/2008, 8:09 PM
Just wondering how thats balls sure they already met,, i wonder whats more to be dicussed,,
And its only been two weeks if man city sign ronaldinho and jo and the rest hell be looking to play all the games he can,, wait till after footballers hols at least for them to announce
Hope you're right
carloz
05/06/2008, 8:33 PM
I still dont understand why he is 'retired' from international football.
It was HIS decisiion to lie about his grannies while in eastern Europe, it was his decision to walk away from that big game against the Czechs. Then after that we had to accept him not coming back to the squad. Now he still wont give an answer as to whether he will come back or not. I do not see how anyone can have sympathy for the guy. Personally if he retires now i wouldnt want him back into the squad ever again, even if he had a change of heart. Yes he is a talented player but we shouldnt have to put up with this **** from any player. This circus must be a laughing stock to English and Scottish fans
Razors left peg
05/06/2008, 8:44 PM
I still dont understand why he is 'retired' from international football.
It was HIS decisiion to lie about his grannies while in eastern Europe, it was his decision to walk away from that big game against the Czechs. Then after that we had to accept him not coming back to the squad. Now he still wont give an answer as to whether he will come back or not. I do not see how anyone can have sympathy for the guy. Personally if he retires now i wouldnt want him back into the squad ever again, even if he had a change of heart. Yes he is a talented player but we shouldnt have to put up with this **** from any player. This circus must be a laughing stock to English and Scottish fans
Thats your opinion, but the majority of fans would like to see him back
SilkCut
06/06/2008, 12:09 AM
Thats your opinion, but the majority of fans would like to see him back
So it would appear from this poll. Shameful really, us chasing after a player like Ireland, France didnt chase Cantona and did OK without him. England didnt chase Shearer (well not to this extent). There have been numerous situations like this and in almost all cases the National FA's and fans involved had the dignity and pride to just walk away and carry on. Not us Irish though eh? Nope lets be happy to continue underselling ourselves and bowing to the demands of those who reject us. We are acting like a psycho ex-boyfriend / girlfriend who cant accept we have been dumped and are prepared to change everything about our natural selves in order to stay in a relationship which in the end will only be destructive to us. WAKE UP PEOPLE we can and will do better than this f##king gimp, let him go and look to the future, if we bow to his demands once we will be bowing to kiss his arse for the remainder of his career, forever worried that he may take off in a huff again. No team should ever entertain such a character. He does not want to play for us therefore he should not play for us, it would be better to have a player with half his talent and double or triple his commitment wearing his jersey. Stop letting people **** all over us, as Ciaran Fitzgerald famously said "Where is your fu#king pride"
beepbeep
06/06/2008, 12:47 AM
So it would appear from this poll. Shameful really, us chasing after a player like Ireland, France didnt chase Cantona and did OK without him. England didnt chase Shearer (well not to this extent). There have been numerous situations like this and in almost all cases the National FA's and fans involved had the dignity and pride to just walk away and carry on. Not us Irish though eh? Nope lets be happy to continue underselling ourselves and bowing to the demands of those who reject us. We are acting like a psycho ex-boyfriend / girlfriend who cant accept we have been dumped and are prepared to change everything about our natural selves in order to stay in a relationship which in the end will only be destructive to us. WAKE UP PEOPLE we can and will do better than this f##king gimp, let him go and look to the future, if we bow to his demands once we will be bowing to kiss his arse for the remainder of his career, forever worried that he may take off in a huff again. No team should ever entertain such a character. He does not want to play for us therefore he should not play for us, it would be better to have a player with half his talent and double or triple his commitment wearing his jersey. Stop letting people **** all over us, as Ciaran Fitzgerald famously said "Where is your fu#king pride"
yes well, france had deschamps,desailly, djorkaeff,blanc,barthez,thuram.... england had scholes......bla bla bla...u get my point-------
who have we? dunne and keane?!!
we arnt chasing after the player....just trying to convince him, he is one of our star players. and WE DO NEED HIM.
i agree, he must be a bit of a nut job, but hes talented. i wonder how Mark Hughes will take to him??
irishfan86
06/06/2008, 1:49 AM
i wonder how Mark Hughes will take to him??
I'm one of the guys saying we should take him back (if he wants to come back), but if I were Hughes I'd sell him for 8 million if Roy (or anyone else) bid that amount.
SilkCut
06/06/2008, 6:36 AM
yes well, france had deschamps,desailly, djorkaeff,blanc,barthez,thuram.... england had scholes......bla bla bla...u get my point-------
who have we? dunne and keane?!!
we arnt chasing after the player....just trying to convince him, he is one of our star players. and WE DO NEED HIM.
i agree, he must be a bit of a nut job, but hes talented. i wonder how Mark Hughes will take to him??
Chasing - Convincing, at the end of the day it is the same thing. We are selling ourselves short and showing an enormous lack of confidence in the players we have to replace him. He is not a "Star" player he is a regular starter with a mid table premiership club, he is being linked with Sunderland not Utd., Liverpool, Chelsea, Arsenal or even Spurs, Villa or Portsmouth. This is not just because he is young either, each of the top four have had huge success with buying young midfielders or even bringing through their own (Gerrard, Lampard, Carrick, Scholes, Fabregas, Flamini) None of them have shown the remotest interest in him therefore he must not be good enough. Even Garvan was linked with Villa, while James McCarthy is being linked with everyone and their dog!! Steven Reid was linked with Utd which suggests that if he can avoid injury he will be a star. We do not need him or his disruptive influence. I know transfer rumours etc.. dont really count for much but there is no smoke without a fire. As for the players the other countries had at their disposal my point is that they were of the same level of talent as the players who quit, we have players of the same calibre as Ireland. We will never progress if we are afraid to let go of players who dont want to play. This whole situation gives me the sh*ts. Fighting Irish my arse. Fawning Irish more like. We are becoming a joke and as a proud Irishman it hurts.
Razors left peg
06/06/2008, 6:46 AM
Chasing - Convincing, at the end of the day it is the same thing. We are selling ourselves short and showing an enormous lack of confidence in the players we have to replace him. He is not a "Star" player he is a regular starter with a mid table premiership club, he is being linked with Sunderland not Utd., Liverpool, Chelsea, Arsenal or even Spurs, Villa or Portsmouth. This is not just because he is young either, each of the top four have had huge success with buying young midfielders or even bringing through their own (Gerrard, Lampard, Carrick, Scholes, Fabregas, Flamini) None of them have shown the remotest interest in him therefore he must not be good enough. Even Garvan was linked with Villa, while James McCarthy is being linked with everyone and their dog!! Steven Reid was linked with Utd which suggests that if he can avoid injury he will be a star. We do not need him or his disruptive influence. I know transfer rumours etc.. dont really count for much but there is no smoke without a fire. As for the players the other countries had at their disposal my point is that they were of the same level of talent as the players who quit, we have players of the same calibre as Ireland. We will never progress if we are afraid to let go of players who dont want to play. This whole situation gives me the sh*ts. Fighting Irish my arse. Fawning Irish more like. We are becoming a joke and as a proud Irishman it hurts.
I dont think we have been chasing him all that hard,Trapattoni has met him once to ask him to come back and has now said that the 3 players have his phone number and its up to them to call him if they want to return, I dont think there is anything wrong with that.I also disagree with you that England didnt chase Shearer this hard.There were media campaigns to try to convince Shearer to change his mind, and it was the same with Paul Scholes.
Bottom line is that while we have some good players in midfield we dont have the same choice as France, England or other big countries so if we are to be sucessful we need as many options as possibly
I dont think we have been chasing him all that hard,Trapattoni has met him once to ask him to come back and has now said that the 3 players have his phone number and its up to them to call him if they want to return, I dont think there is anything wrong with that.I also disagree with you that England didnt chase Shearer this hard.There were media campaigns to try to convince Shearer to change his mind, and it was the same with Paul Scholes.
Bottom line is that while we have some good players in midfield we dont have the same choice as France, England or other big countries so if we are to be sucessful we need as many options as possibly
we mightnt have the players but we should have the pride in ourselves as a nation not to bow down to this surrender monkey's demands.
No player is bigger than his team, no man is bigger than his country.
Razors left peg
06/06/2008, 4:29 PM
we mightnt have the players but we should have the pride in ourselves as a nation not to bow down to this surrender monkey's demands.
No player is bigger than his team, no man is bigger than his country.
what demands exactly has he made??
irishfan86
06/06/2008, 5:03 PM
I think Finnan will come back if he's guaranteed a starting place at right back, his natural position.
Call that traitorous or whatever you want, but at this stage of his career he probably (and rightly so) feels that he shouldn't be moved to accomodate the likes of O'Shea or Kelly at right back.
phrased poorly, i admit. But you should know what im getting at. He shouldnt have to be begged to play for his country. It should be an absolute honour like it was to numerous generations of Irish (born or blood) before him. He is a documented liar and a coward to boot.
I would have forgiven his lies if he had apologised and come back to the squad immediately. But the more this farce continues, the more p1ssed off i am at him and the harder it is to wish for his return.
I think it is time to put him behind us, whether we need him or not.
Razors left peg
06/06/2008, 5:48 PM
phrased poorly, i admit. But you should know what im getting at. He shouldnt have to be begged to play for his country. It should be an absolute honour like it was to numerous generations of Irish (born or blood) before him. He is a documented liar and a coward to boot.
I would have forgiven his lies if he had apologised and come back to the squad immediately. But the more this farce continues, the more p1ssed off i am at him and the harder it is to wish for his return.
I think it is time to put him behind us, whether we need him or not.
I do agree with you to a point,most of us here would do anything to even get to play 5 minutes for the national team and its impossible to understand why anybody in his position would simply refuse to play for us.Again I agree with you that the longer it goes on the harder it is to want him back in the squad but I for one am willing to wait to see if himself and the other lads come back into the squad for the next game.If at that point he still isnt willing to return than he should be totally forgotten about and not even mentioned on this forum
Greenforever
06/06/2008, 8:12 PM
I do agree with you to a point,most of us here would do anything to even get to play 5 minutes for the national team and its impossible to understand why anybody in his position would simply refuse to play for us.Again I agree with you that the longer it goes on the harder it is to want him back in the squad but I for one am willing to wait to see if himself and the other lads come back into the squad for the next game.If at that point he still isnt willing to return than he should be totally forgotten about and not even mentioned on this forum
Why should we wait this long, he's had 9 months to make a statement, do our other players not deserve a bit better than putting up with his crap.
What kind of example is he giving to others, it's alright to turn up when it suits you.
Razors left peg
06/06/2008, 8:20 PM
Why should we wait this long, he's had 9 months to make a statement, do our other players not deserve a bit better than putting up with his crap.
What kind of example is he giving to others, it's alright to turn up when it suits you.
I would wait that long because he obviously had issues with the last manager so when the new manager comes in he could change his mind. I would have liked to have seen him in the recent squad but end of season friendlies are not the best time to get all the players u want into squads so Im willing to wait to see what happens at the start of the season after he has had plenty of time over the summer to think about it..... and yes I know that he should need to think that long about it but I would still like to see him, Finnan and O'Brien return. I dont actually think he would get into my first choice team at the moment but its all about options
Qwerty
07/06/2008, 5:02 PM
It's going to be interesting if Ireland stays at City next season, I wouldn't see him as being a player that Mark Hughes would realy like and Hughes certainly won't tolerate Ireland's 'quirkiness'. I wouldn't be surprised if Hughes cashes in on Sunderland offer if there will be one.
07/06/2008, 6:08 PM
I wouldn't see him as being a player that Mark Hughes would realy like and Hughes certainly won't tolerate Ireland's 'quirkiness'. I wouldn't be surprised if Hughes cashes in on Sunderland offer if there will be one.
I don't think Keane would put up with his "quirkiness" either.
eekers
02/07/2008, 5:15 AM
International football is now fashionable again, thanks to the wonderful euro2008 tournament, after years of it being seen as an inferior product to club football. Do you think this will have an effect on Stephen Ireland's outlook?
Reality Bites
02/07/2008, 7:42 AM
International football is now fashionable again, thanks to the wonderful euro2008 tournament, after years of it being seen as an inferior product to club football. Do you think this will have an effect on Stephen Ireland's outlook?
It will take more than three weeks of vintage football for him to mature!
Do you think this will have an effect on Stephen Ireland's outlook?
hahahahaha oh wait you were serious, alow me to laugh even harder HAHAHAHAHA.
Seriously though I doubt Daddy Dick even watched the euros
02/07/2008, 7:57 PM
He's bald now. No more dodgy hair to get bullied over. See the Mirror (http://blogs.mirror.co.uk/3pm/2008/07/stephen-ireland-hairy-pics.html) website.
theworm2345
02/07/2008, 10:22 PM
He looks like this guy now
http://webservices.mymovies.name/Photos/e10ee82e-3b2b-4d04-a664-bcc1bed3a391.jpg
From ER and a commercial where he rides a bike off a cliff
JP Manoux
02/07/2008, 10:43 PM
He's bald now. No more dodgy hair to get bullied over. See the Mirror (http://blogs.mirror.co.uk/3pm/2008/07/stephen-ireland-hairy-pics.html) website.
It's never going to grow back now:D:D
Qwerty
02/07/2008, 10:43 PM
The bottom picture remind me of Yellow ******* from Sin City...buhrootill feckin hed on him.
He looks like a penis now, Very poiny head on Daddy Dick in that pic
Sligo Hornet
03/07/2008, 9:25 AM
Maybe he was just running late for training, and being the eejit he is, he put his head on upside down!
Greenforever
03/07/2008, 9:35 AM
Did you not say the same thing before the Serbia and Colombia games, and before the Brazil game?
Maybe you didn't but the point being loads of his "supporters" have done so and to be honest I find it insulting to the rest of the squad and the fans who spend a fortune travelling the world to support the team.
Mr Maroon
04/07/2008, 4:40 PM
http://blogs.mirror.co.uk/3pm/2008/07/stephen-ireland-hairy-pics.html