View Full Version : Stephen Ireland
16/05/2008, 9:09 AM
If the players have snubbed the training camp and the two friendlies without good reason then I don't want to see em back. O'Brien only signed a year contract at Bolton? I doubt it.
16/05/2008, 9:13 AM
If the players have snubbed the training camp and the two friendlies without good reason then I don't want to see em back. O'Brien only signed a year contract at Bolton? I doubt it.
Wouldn't surprise me! After all he'd a shocking time of it at Portsmouth.
Anyway, I think its been posted he's injured. I know a lot of people can't stand him, for various reasons (perceived ****tiness, England underage caps), but for me the guy is as important, if not more important, a recall as Finnan.
Our current alternative at centre half is John O'Shea. Which isn't great. O'Brien has had an excellent season at Bolton, and is one of 2 players available to us playing centre half in top flight overseas football. have him back? Yes Please.
Manblue
16/05/2008, 10:34 AM
Things settle down? He's made a clown out of himself, and he's vastly overrated. He wouldn't get in the team at the minute, and I agree with you; we have spent too long talking about him. He's not worth a tenth of what's been written.
Wouldnt get in the team at the minute,, go back to bed boy would ya,, whose more creative then him, kilbane,Steven Reid,mcphail, potter rowlands whelan ?? Duff whose played about 5 games all season,, miller ya hes quality (ya right) or garvan or someone like that whose getting bossed at under 21 level,, what are you talking about?
Id say your over rating everyone else bud.
Manblue
16/05/2008, 10:39 AM
HA, do you think we don't want the best results? I'd take him back if I thought it would improve our chances of qualifying but I really think Ireland coming back would do more harm to team moral than his talent justifies
If none of the players have a problem with him,, and it would only be a bit of banter how would this harm moral,, and weve a better chance of winning games with him in the side so that will also lift moral no??
livehead1
16/05/2008, 10:47 AM
Wouldnt get in the team at the minute,, go back to bed boy would ya,, whose more creative then him, kilbane,Steven Reid,mcphail, potter rowlands whelan ?? Duff whose played about 5 games all season,, miller ya hes quality (ya right) or garvan or someone like that whose getting bossed at under 21 level,, what are you talking about?
I don't need to go back to bed, thanks for the advice though; when I need advice from you I'll ask.
I wouldn't have him in our midfield at the moment. I would go with: McGeady/Kilbane, Carsley, Reid, S.Reid. This is a good blend of athleticism and experience with quite an amount of creativity. Much of this depends on McGeady's ability to step up to the plate as far as Ireland internationals are concerned. Nevertheless, I would have Steven Ireland some way behind these.
Steven Ireland, whilst clearly talented, plays too far up the pitch for my preferred 4-4-2 formation and also flits in and out of games with great regularity. If he was to start I believe it would be behind the striker, but there are also draw backs to this, not least that Robbie Keane performs this role excellently for Spurs, and also Damien Duff, if he were to regain form, did well in this position in previous games.
galwayhoop
16/05/2008, 10:57 AM
Stephen Ireland has been asked to come back and play for his country. HE DECLINED.
There is no grey area here at all. Unlike Saipan where there was always debate about was RK sent home or did he choose to leave.
Stephen Ireland was on international duty, made up lies to get home just before the most important game of the campaign, has since been asked to rejoin the squad with a clean slate. HE DECLINED.
If and when this lying toe-rag decides that he wants to start playing for his country it will be up to the incumbent manager to accept him or not. Regardless of whether people think he is talented or an average player or will get onto the team or get on with players the simple fact is the ball is in his court and has been for some time - yet he still chooses to exclude himself from the set-up.
dr_peepee
16/05/2008, 11:06 AM
You're not comparing apples with apples there... Duff, Kilbane, Steven Reid, Whelan are not competing with Ireland.
Miller, Andy Reid, yeah... And Andy Reid is the better player and performer at this point in time..
Morbo
16/05/2008, 11:07 AM
If none of the players have a problem with him,, and it would only be a bit of banter how would this harm moral,, and weve a better chance of winning games with him in the side so that will also lift moral no??
Well it seems Ireland can't handle a bit of banter and if there was a bit of banter he is likely to feck off during the middle of a crucial double header again so no it wouldn't really lift moral. It doesn't really matter anyway as its pretty obvious he doesn't want to come back, I do agree with you on one point though, we have spent far too much time talking about him
lionelhutz
16/05/2008, 12:19 PM
Does pulling out of the international scene twice, driving a pink car, having a bebo page exposing your ass that you didnt think anyone would find, claiming both your grannies are dead when they aren't and pulling your pants down after scoring a goal. Does any of that sound like the doings of a rationally thinking guy?
Sounds like the things a very intellectually challenged person would do - and someone who craves attention - even though he claims not to
Greenforever
16/05/2008, 5:19 PM
THe poll shows just how one player can cause problems. If there is a similar feeling among the squad surely we are better off without an individual who is going to continue to cross problems in the future.
beepbeep
20/05/2008, 4:59 PM
MESSAGE FOR STEPHEN IRELAND- just incase he happens to be reading this, and he very well might be.
Do what is right. Please come back. Play for ur country. Get us to the world cup.
if you dont,i think you will regret it as far as ur career goes.
p.s dont listen to others that dont know what is going on behind the scene.
20/05/2008, 6:55 PM
MESSAGE FOR STEPHEN IRELAND- just incase he happens to be reading this, and he very well might be.
Do what is right. Please come back. Play for ur country. Get us to the world cup.
if you dont,i think you will regret it as far as ur career goes.
p.s dont listen to others that dont know what is going on behind the scene.
Yeah, right (http://www.forumammo.com/cpg/albums/Upload/thread%20sucks/Thread-Crap-Graph.jpg)
Slaney
20/05/2008, 7:09 PM
He is a loose cannon. I don't think he should come back, I don't think he will anyway. A lot of the players dislike him.
beepbeep
20/05/2008, 9:11 PM
He is a loose cannon. I don't think he should come back, I don't think he will anyway. A lot of the players dislike him.
And how do u know that???? wat proof
and yeah right- well he does have a bebo...theres nothing to say he doesnt use this. or view it.
20/05/2008, 11:49 PM
Ireland has 2 goals in the goal of the season poll on Man City's website: http://www.mcfc.co.uk/default.sps?pagegid={DBD12D53-8346-431D-A04F-5D0F8664DE80}&newsid=5646899
The only other player with more than one is Elano
Manblue
21/05/2008, 7:58 AM
Wat players dont like him??? Just because you dont doesnt mean players dont,, maybe their not happy with what hes done but that doesnt mean they dont like him,, Christ im still with my missus for god sake.... lol
26/05/2008, 12:06 PM
im actually very confident hell be back playing for us soon.
dr_peepee
26/05/2008, 3:24 PM
Was that supposed to be followed by one of these ;)?
From your avatar can I take it you have heard something or is it just a hunch?
26/05/2008, 3:29 PM
just a hunch
Greenforever
26/05/2008, 8:45 PM
just a hunch
and if he does id bet my house on him falling out with someone within 6 months and walking out again,
are his grandads still alive:D:D
He should come back, but he needs to apologise to all and sundry for being such a clown of a human being first. That said if I were his team mate I wouldn't want him back, and Ireland's crazier than he sounds if he thinks Trap or Brady are going to go to him on bended knee
I really don't think he will be back, sur wan't he attacked by a shark? a really big one too
Manblue
27/05/2008, 11:03 AM
He should come back, but he needs to apologise to all and sundry for being such a clown of a human being first. That said if I were his team mate I wouldn't want him back, and Ireland's crazier than he sounds if he thinks Trap or Brady are going to go to him on bended knee
Ha they already did two wednesdays ago,, it was widely reported in the press,, what rock are you living under
Greenforever
27/05/2008, 4:08 PM
Ha they already did two wednesdays ago,, it was widely reported in the press,, what rock are you living under
Not quite what ive heard, Brady laid the rules out and he didnt like them
irishultra
27/05/2008, 5:08 PM
Yeah thats what I heard too. Brady told him ''its our way, or the highway'' or something alone those lines.
A well informed one apparantly
craig7042
27/05/2008, 6:21 PM
It shouldnt really matter if people dont like each other. Playing for your country should be the motivator. I'd love Ireland to come back. Just come back and play well, but I fear that he's another Roy Keane in temperament, and we cant afford that again.
Razors left peg
27/05/2008, 6:25 PM
It shouldnt really matter if people dont like each other. Playing for your country should be the motivator. I'd love Ireland to come back. Just come back and play well, but I fear that he's another Roy Keane in temperament, and we cant afford that again.
Seriously????
I wish we had full squad of players with Roy Keanes temperament
Manblue
27/05/2008, 7:40 PM
Seriously????
Completely agree,,
To the lads above if yer so well informed id love to hear what was "really"
said,, although id say Brady couldnt lay down a table in fairness not to mind the law
Greenforever
27/05/2008, 8:17 PM
Seriously????
That walks out on his country before a world cup, surely we don't need that s*** again.
Manblue
27/05/2008, 8:21 PM
That walks out on his country before a world cup, surely we don't need that s*** again.
Funny i thaught this forum was about stephen Ireland and his irish career or lack thereof and not that roy keane arguement AGAIN
Razors left peg
27/05/2008, 8:31 PM
Definately not going back into that arguement again
RiffRaff
27/05/2008, 10:02 PM
I dont think it matters too much whether Stephen Ireland comes back or not. He obviously doesnt have the aptitude or mentality to handle the pressure of professinal football. I'd be surprised if he is still playing in the premiership in 2 or 3 years, just like Thomas Butler, Sean Thornton etc
Razors left peg
27/05/2008, 10:09 PM
I dont think it matters too much whether Stephen Ireland comes back or not. He obviously doesnt have the aptitude or mentality to handle the pressure of professinal football. I'd be surprised if he is still playing in the premiership in 2 or 3 years, just like Thomas Butler, Sean Thornton etc
So are you basing that on the 80 odd appearances he has already in Man Citys first team ..... or is that not enough proof that he can handle it???
irishfan86
27/05/2008, 10:38 PM
I don't think it's an issue of whether or not he can handle it.....I think it's an issue of whether or not he wants to do it.
It's a motivation problem, not a mental one.
SilkCut
28/05/2008, 12:56 AM
I have the same feeling. Exept more like Liam Miller he will just plod along picking up his pay cheques and never really achieving what he is capable of. The guy is obviously lacking any serious ambition can't we just let this go and move on. We have players of the same level and in my opinion better than him coming through i.e. Owen Garvan and if the hype is justified, James McCarthy. Why must we as Irish football fans demean ourselves and our national team by going cap in hand to average players who have not got the neccessary heart and desire to represent our proud nation. SOD OFF STEPHEN enjoy what will surely be a middle of the road career capped at the end with a million regrets as you tell your kids and grandkids what could have been if only you had been a little more mature as a youngster.
bohsRap
28/05/2008, 1:04 PM
I have the same feeling. Exept more like Liam Miller he will just plod along picking up his pay cheques and never really achieving what he is capable of.
Stephen Ireland has a lot more ability than Liam Miller and I expect him to do more than just "plod along".
irishultra
28/05/2008, 1:47 PM
At the same age, Miller was showing a lot more than Ireland has now. In fairness I have heard Ireland is meant to have insane levels of skill, but he's too light. He gets knocked off the ball so easy. He doesn't score enough goals.
His best ability is feeding in Petrov with quick one touch passes.
Greenforever
28/05/2008, 1:49 PM
Stephen Ireland has a lot more ability than Liam Miller and I expect him to do more than just "plod along".
he probably has, which makes his attitude all the worse, as previously posted he will regret it in years to come especially if Trap and Co lead us to South Africa
bohsRap
28/05/2008, 2:04 PM
he probably has, which makes his attitude all the worse, as previously posted he will regret it in years to come especially if Trap and Co lead us to South Africa
Ye but, as has been said, we don't know the full story and he should, hopefully, be back in the fold shortly.
Manblue
28/05/2008, 6:24 PM
At the same age, Miller was showing a lot more than Ireland has now. In fairness I have heard Ireland is meant to have insane levels of skill, but he's too light. He gets knocked off the ball so easy. He doesn't score enough goals.
His best ability is feeding in Petrov with quick one touch passes.
hahahahah
Obviously you havent watched many of his matches he has one of the highest ball retention rations in the premiership for a midfielder and also put in the most tackles for man city this year even though hes ment to be attacking right/free role player
Hes also our 4th highest scorer and concidering elano takes pens thats not bad,, and he only has 4 goals in 6 international,, nice input though......
hahahahah
Obviously you havent watched many of his matches he has one of the highest ball retention rations in the premiership for a midfielder and also put in the most tackles for man city this year even though hes ment to be attacking right/free role player
Hes also our 4th highest scorer and concidering elano takes pens thats not bad,, and he only has 4 goals in 6 international,, nice input though......
okay... this poster is DEFINITELY Steven Ireland.
Razors left peg
28/05/2008, 7:09 PM
Well he is right though!
irishultra
28/05/2008, 7:11 PM
I like Stephen Ireland, but it is true that a lot of City fans want him out of the club.
I'm just trying to say he is not our ''saviour'' or some Kakaesque midfielder.
Well he is right though!
probably... it is him after all!
Manblue
28/05/2008, 9:36 PM
Facts are facts,, i wudn go into a debate without them,, and im not saying hes our saviour at all i was jus replying to some of the posts
SilkCut
28/05/2008, 11:48 PM
hahahahah
This is why it is such a frustrating situation. He is obviously full of potential, however without commitment and determination that potential will never be fulfilled. Just to put those 4 goals in perspective, Cyprus,
San Marino, Slovakia and Wales. Am I alone in thinking we should be beating teams like this by 2-3 goals every time we play them?? We need to stop underselling ourselves, we can produce a team made up of players from supposedly the best league in Europe plus probably the best player in Scotland. Why do we not believe we can hammer a team of amateurs or three teams predominantly made up of lower league players and as I previously posted, why do we feel the need to beg a player to play for us. Why not leave him alone and when we qualify for the WC let him come grovelling to us begging for a chance to play on the worlds biggest stage, by then I reckon this forum will be telling him to get f*#ked because Owen Garvan or Steven Reid will be bossing our midfield with Andy Reid or Glenn Whelan helping them keep it together. We have quality in the centre lets have a little faith in them.
29/05/2008, 12:01 AM
Why are ye still acknowledging his refusal to play for his country by keeping this thread going?
All this thread is doing is offering false hope to the masses and obviously the situation hasn't been resolved so it's time to get over it and focus on the new generation of Irish football minus Stephen Ireland.
Obviously he's an idiot who thinks he deserves world class treatment when the truth is that he is an idiot who deserves absolutely no special treatment for being an average player with an under-achieving team.
RiffRaff
29/05/2008, 12:06 AM
Completely agree,,
To the lads above if yer so well informed id love to hear what was "really"
said,, although id say Brady couldnt lay down a table in fairness not to mind the law
Great - we have a thread about Stephen Ireland and some people are slagging off Liam Brady, one of our greatest and most committed players. Lets see if anyone remembers whats-his-name from Man City in 20 years time.
29/05/2008, 12:11 AM
Lets see if anyone remembers whats-his-name from Man City in 20 years time.
Doubt it. If he is remembered it will be for the wrong reasons.