View Full Version : Stephen Ireland

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85

16/04/2008, 2:58 PM
Nothing wrong with his shooting, scoring (Check his goals for city) or running with the ball. (He's not McGeady or Duff but check his goal v wales)
I think he's referring to the fact that he doesn't shoot, score or run with the ball enough?

youngirish
16/04/2008, 3:02 PM
I think he's referring to the fact that he doesn't shoot, score or run with the ball enough?

Exactly we can all pull isolated incidents out of the hat for any player. I recollect Kilbane played a great 30 yard pass to Keane once in one of the WC qualifiers under Kerr. This doesn't mean he's Zidane.

eekers
16/04/2008, 3:48 PM
I'd like to believe its all tabloid ****e. But last night on 'On the Ball' on Newstalk, they were talking to Daniel Taylor since he is a manchester based journalist. They asked since the last quotes from stephen ireland were mainly positive about coming back to play, were had the recent story come from? He said that Man City was briefing journalists that they had links to, that Ireland was not likely to be coming back.
So where is the story coming from? the man city press room and obviously second hand from Ireland himself.

16/04/2008, 3:54 PM
6 goals in nearly 90 appearances is not a good goal tally for an offensive midfielder by any stretch of the imagination. Tets he played 6 games for Ireland btw.

To be fair, Frank Lampard (a player who he has a lot of similarities with) wasn't exactly prolific when he first broke through with West Ham. It's only since he's been at Chelsea really that he added goals to his game so I would expect Irelands goal tally to improve as he gets more experience.

youngirish
16/04/2008, 4:05 PM
Worth a look again just to remind everyone the level of intelligence and maturity we are dealing with:

http://bp2.blogger.com/_CBrg2cTGKFU/R8LYBDLedyI/AAAAAAAAAj8/VEu0DD7SN9A/s1600-h/IrelandPinkRange_800x459.jpg

dr_peepee
16/04/2008, 6:00 PM
Exactly we can all pull isolated incidents out of the hat for any player. I recollect Kilbane played a great 30 yard pass to Keane once in one of the WC qualifiers under Kerr. This doesn't mean he's Zidane.

It's like the few well constructed, informed posts from your good self in recent times.... Doesn't mean you're Stuttgart88 though.

cavan_fan
16/04/2008, 10:18 PM
Worth a look again just to remind everyone the level of intelligence and maturity we are dealing with:

http://bp2.blogger.com/_CBrg2cTGKFU/R8LYBDLedyI/AAAAAAAAAj8/VEu0DD7SN9A/s1600-h/IrelandPinkRange_800x459.jpg

I love the fact the licence plate has been obscured. This is in case anyone sees the car and realises it's his on the basis of the plates. Of course nothing else would give it away!

17/04/2008, 12:11 AM
From todays (Thursday's) Sun:

MANCHESTER CITY are set to sell Stephen Ireland after a season of bizarre behaviour.

The club are ready to accept an offer of around £8million from Sunderland in the summer.

Ireland, 21, is contracted to City until the end of next season but there have been no talks about extending that.

Instead, Eastlands bigwigs want the midfielder out.

Last September, he quit the Republic of Ireland camp claiming his gran had died. But the FAI found out that was not the case.

Ireland then insisted it was a different grandmother but she too was alive.

The player finally admitted he went home because his girlfriend had suffered a miscarriage.

Then, after scoring the winner at home to Sunderland in November, he pulled down his shorts to reveal a pair of Superman underpants.

Black Cats boss Roy Keane has made no secret of his desire to land the Irishman.

Keane said: “Whatever problems he has, he is a very, very good player.”

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/sport/football/article1050956.ece

17/04/2008, 5:13 AM
From todays (Thursday's) Sun:

MANCHESTER CITY are set to sell Stephen Ireland after a season of bizarre behaviour.

The club are ready to accept an offer of around £8million from Sunderland in the summer.

Ireland, 21, is contracted to City until the end of next season but there have been no talks about extending that.

Instead, Eastlands bigwigs want the midfielder out.

Last September, he quit the Republic of Ireland camp claiming his gran had died. But the FAI found out that was not the case.

Ireland then insisted it was a different grandmother but she too was alive.

The player finally admitted he went home because his girlfriend had suffered a miscarriage.

Then, after scoring the winner at home to Sunderland in November, he pulled down his shorts to reveal a pair of Superman underpants.

Black Cats boss Roy Keane has made no secret of his desire to land the Irishman.

Keane said: “Whatever problems he has, he is a very, very good player.”

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/sport/football/article1050956.ece

Interesting news, one wonders what effect Roy Keane would have on him and particularly his attitude to playing for Ireland.

God alone knows :rolleyes:

But I think Keane wears the Superman pants at Sunderland :D

Could be interesting.

I'd expect Roy would require him to bring any dead grandma's with him to training. ;)

Wolfie
17/04/2008, 8:36 AM
Interesting news, one wonders what effect Roy Keane would have on him and particularly his attitude to playing for Ireland.

God alone knows :rolleyes:

Interesting to see if Reid and Ireland could be accomodated within the same team.

Dr. Ogba
17/04/2008, 8:48 AM
Interesting to see if Reid and Ireland could be accomodated within the same team.

wouldn't be surprised if they went for a similar thing that we might do. Reid and Whitehead sitting deep, Edwards/Murphy and Richardson on the wings and Jones up front with Ireland behind. Wouldn't be a bad setup actually....

youngirish
17/04/2008, 8:59 AM
It's like the few well constructed, informed posts from your good self in recent times.... Doesn't mean you're Stuttgart88 though.

Speaking of which I haven't seen the great man on these forums for a long time now.

17/04/2008, 9:05 AM
Speaking of which I haven't seen the man on these forums for a long time now.

Yes a month now since he posted, I knew the place was missing something! Hope all is well there.

17/04/2008, 9:37 AM
Yes a month now since he posted, I knew the place was missing something! Hope all is well there.

Stutts is fine. Started a new job recently and is a bit wary of spending all his time on football forums!

17/04/2008, 9:42 AM
Go back to your old job Stutts it was clearly more fulfilling.

17/04/2008, 10:22 AM
Go back to your old job Stutts it was clearly more fulfilling.

Very good :D glad to hear he's alright, hopefully he'll be back offering his insight soon.

17/04/2008, 12:14 PM
The credit crunch effects football too! :D

SunderlandBohs
17/04/2008, 12:28 PM
As a Sunderland fan. I'd be delighted if we land Ireland. I'd love to see Cobh's two favourite son's joined at the Stadium of Light by there young gifted even 'slightly' mad son! But before I get excitied by this concept, remember it was in The Sun.

cavan_fan
17/04/2008, 2:09 PM
Stutts is fine. Started a new job recently and is a bit wary of spending all his time on football forums!

My tips on the surfing at work issue are:

Improve Alt Tabbing skill. Aim should be to be able to alt tab away in under 1 second.

Ensure you perfect your studious reading face. I like "the frown" as anyone that is frowning is clearly very important/busy.

If at all possible get a back corner desk, this is worth its weight in gold.

17/04/2008, 2:31 PM
My tips on the surfing at work issue are:

Improve Alt Tabbing skill. Aim should be to be able to alt tab away in under 1 second.

Ensure you perfect your studious reading face. I like "the frown" as anyone that is frowning is clearly very important/busy.

If at all possible get a back corner desk, this is worth its weight in gold.

Ctrl + Tab handy for going between tabs in Firefox / I.E

Windows button and D to close all windows quickly

All have helped in my work avoision over the years

17/04/2008, 2:33 PM

George: I always look annoyed. Yeah, when you look annoyed all the time, people think that you're busy. Think about it...:mad:
Elaine: Yeah, you do! He looks very busy!
Jerry: Yeah, he looks busy! Yeah!
George: I know what I'm doin'. In fact Mr. Wilhelm gave me one of those little stress dolls. All right, back to work :mad:

Works for me :mad:

17/04/2008, 2:50 PM

Gustavo, my boy, you don't know how much you've helped me. I'll say a prayer for you, hurrah salvation.

lionelhutz
17/04/2008, 3:07 PM
Quote:
George: I always look annoyed. Yeah, when you look annoyed all the time, people think that you're busy. Think about it...
Elaine: Yeah, you do! He looks very busy!
Jerry: Yeah, he looks busy! Yeah!
George: I know what I'm doin'. In fact Mr. Wilhelm gave me one of those little stress dolls. All right, back to work

You can never beat Costanza and co.

Another classic;

Jerry Seinfeld: I have a friend who's collecting unemployment insurance. This guy has never worked so hard in his life as he has to keep this thing going. He's down there every week, waiting on the lines and getting interviewed and making up all these lies about looking for jobs. If they had any idea of the effort and energy that he is expending to avoid work, I'm sure they'd give him a raise.

eekers
17/04/2008, 3:27 PM

use workfriendly.net (http://www.workfriendly.net/)
it opens up a window to browse in that is identical to word2003. so essential you're on the internet but it looks like your studying some document.

17/04/2008, 5:12 PM
Start new job in May!! Been away for a few weeks and the missus hogs the laptop. New job might actually involve some work so don't expect any meaningful contribution until I learn how to get by on minimal effort. I also have a personal "project" on the go that's taking up some time (soccerc knows about it but not telling anyone else as it could be embarrassing if it goes a bit wrong).

Also, there's a contractual probation period of 3 months in the new place so I'd better not give them anything they can get me with!

congrats on City's youth cup win Tets!

back of the net
17/04/2008, 9:33 PM
stevie ireland dismisses rubbish rumours and newspaper stories

Ireland rubbishes rumours
Midfielder keen to remain in the international fold

Ireland: Wants to play

Stephen Ireland has dismissed suggestions that he has no desire to play for his country again.

The Manchester City midfielder has not featured for the Republic of Ireland since his controversial withdrawal from the national squad for a Euro 2008 qualifier against the Czech Republic last September.

He was not included in any of Steve Staunton's squads for the remainder of the qualifying campaign, leading to speculation that he had made himself unavailable for selection.

However, Ireland insists that he is keen to return to the international fold and will hold discussions with new boss Giovanni Trapattoni next week in a bid to clear up the confusion.

Open mind

"I have never told anybody that I am not going to play for my country and I have an open mind going into my meeting with Mr Trapattoni," he said in the Irish Daily Star.

"Obviously, because I am meeting with the new Irish manager I cannot say a lot, but I am looking forward to sitting down with him.

"Personally, I will be happy to resolve the matter as soon as I have met with the manager and we have both discussed our situations."

ramsfan
17/04/2008, 9:59 PM
ireland is a fantastic talent, but needs to stop make headlines for being a little loon and start making them for football achievements. sunderland is like ahome for the waifa and strays of irish football, next thing you know there will be dicey reilly and shamrock pubs being opened near the ground to be sure to be sure

18/04/2008, 12:37 AM
Start new job in May!! Been away for a few weeks and the missus hogs the laptop. New job might actually involve some work so don't expect any meaningful contribution until I learn how to get by on minimal effort. I also have a personal "project" on the go that's taking up some time (soccerc knows about it but not telling anyone else as it could be embarrassing if it goes a bit wrong).

Also, there's a contractual probation period of 3 months in the new place so I'd better not give them anything they can get me with!

congrats on City's youth cup win Tets!
My bad, thought you were already started on the new job.

stevie ireland dismisses rubbish rumours and newspaper stories

Ireland rubbishes rumours
Midfielder keen to remain in the international fold

Ireland: Wants to play

Stephen Ireland has dismissed suggestions that he has no desire to play for his country again.

The Manchester City midfielder has not featured for the Republic of Ireland since his controversial withdrawal from the national squad for a Euro 2008 qualifier against the Czech Republic last September.

He was not included in any of Steve Staunton's squads for the remainder of the qualifying campaign, leading to speculation that he had made himself unavailable for selection.

However, Ireland insists that he is keen to return to the international fold and will hold discussions with new boss Giovanni Trapattoni next week in a bid to clear up the confusion.

Open mind

"I have never told anybody that I am not going to play for my country and I have an open mind going into my meeting with Mr Trapattoni," he said in the Irish Daily Star.

"Obviously, because I am meeting with the new Irish manager I cannot say a lot, but I am looking forward to sitting down with him.

"Personally, I will be happy to resolve the matter as soon as I have met with the manager and we have both discussed our situations."First quotes from Ireland on the subject of whether or not he wants to play for the national team, and about f*cking time too. Really getting sick of "insider" quotes, and stories based on "sources close to the player". It's done and dusted. He never told anybody he is not going to play for his country (although I concede this does not mean he doesn not want to play, just he has not told anyone) He want to meet Il Trap to discuss his future. End of story.

18/04/2008, 12:46 AM
always back him 100%, hope he moves to sunderland, man city seems to be a ticking timebomb with that loon at the helm, talks of sacking erickson are crazy. Have confidence ireland will do the proper thing and play for his country. All these
quotes are bull****, until i hear eith brady trap or ireland i will not believe a thing.

18/04/2008, 8:10 AM
tets, those quotes are from last Saturday's Irish Star. I mentioned those quotes on here earlier this week I think. It was the only paper to carry quotes when all the others were saying he won't come back.

http://foot.ie/showpost.php?p=919934&postcount=278

back of the net
18/04/2008, 10:36 AM
My bad, thought you were already started on the new job.
First quotes from Ireland on the subject of whether or not he wants to play for the national team, and about f*cking time too. Really getting sick of "insider" quotes, and stories based on "sources close to the player". It's done and dusted. He never told anybody he is not going to play for his country (although I concede this does not mean he doesn not want to play, just he has not told anyone) He want to meet Il Trap to discuss his future. End of story.

the only person who knows whether steve ireland will play intl football again is STEVE IRELAND - until we hear otherwise from the man himself , he is playing for his country and he should be welcomed back with open arms.

Im sick to the teeth of ppl jumping on the "ireland doesnt want to play for the republic" bandwagon when they have no official source to back up their argument, apart from some quote from a "SOURCE!!!!!!!! on some tabloid , - which is obviously complete boll*x

youngirish
18/04/2008, 10:40 AM
the only person who knows whether steve ireland will play intl football again is STEVE IRELAND - until we hear otherwise from the man himself , he is playing for his country and he should be welcomed back with open arms.

Im sick to the teeth of ppl jumping on the "ireland doesnt want to play for the republic" bandwagon when they have no official source to back up their argument, apart from some quote from a "SOURCE!!!!!!!! on some tabloid , - which is obviously complete boll*x

So why even when he's been named in the squad do Traptonni and/or Brady need to have a meeting with him before he decides to come back? Can't he just show up for training like the rest of the players? Don't be so foolish.

I personally couldn't care less if he plays for Ireland again or not. This is not the point as a far as I'm concerned. He's being a severe ar*e about the whole situation, it's plain for all to see. Read the signs and stop ignoring them. You rarely have the liberty of having access to 100% of all the facts when making decisions in life . I've seen more than enough evidence to (paraphrasing a court term) show beyond reasonable doubt that Stephen Ireland is a 'grade A' tos*er who is showing not even an ounce of the enthusiasm to play for his country that you would expect from an Internatonal footballer.

If he was Roy Keane I would at least understand (though possibly not adhere to) the arguments stating that we need him and must do whatever it takes to get him back. However he's an average player in a position we are reasonably strong in so I don't see what all the fuss is about.

18/04/2008, 11:18 AM
So why even when he's been named in the squad do Traptonni and/or Brady need to have a meeting with him before he decides to come back? Can't he just show up for training like the rest of the players? Don't be so foolish.

I doubt he rang up and requested a meeting. Probably just arranged by Sven and he wants to get stuff off his chest. Wait until the squad meet up before making assumptions.

back of the net
18/04/2008, 11:28 AM

I personally couldn't care less if he plays for Ireland again or not. This is not the point as a far as I'm concerned. He's being a severe ar*e about the whole situation, it's plain for all to see. Read the signs and stop ignoring them. You rarely have the liberty of having access to 100% of all the facts when making decisions in life . I've seen more than enough evidence to (paraphrasing a court term) show beyond reasonable doubt that Stephen Ireland is a 'grade A' tos*er who is showing not even an ounce of the enthusiasm to play for his country that you would expect from an Internatonal footballer.

If he was Roy Keane I would at least understand (though possibly not adhere to) the arguments stating that we need him and must do whatever it takes to get him back. However he's an average player in a position we are reasonably strong in so I don't see what all the fuss is about.

how many editions of the sun have you read - you know f**k all about it

sven arranged the meeting with trappatoni and has been in consistent contact with him over the stephen ireland situation

QUOTE["You rarely have the liberty of having access to 100% of all the facts when making decisions in life . I've seen more than enough evidence to (paraphrasing a court term) show beyond reasonable doubt that Stephen Ireland is a 'grade A' tos*er who is showing not even an ounce of the enthusiasm to play for his country that you would expect from an Internatonal footballer."]UNQUOTE -

but yet can call him a tosser and claim to know that he is been a toss*r -its idiots like yo that keep tabloid thrash in business

ur even contradicting yourself in your own post , you say you expect a player to have the enthuasism to play for his country so therefore you slate ireland - but then you say if it was roy keane , it would be ok , cos he is better - so are you saying "1 rule for 1 player and a different rule for every other player"

also im intrigued to know about all this evidence that you have "SEEN"????

youngirish
18/04/2008, 11:35 AM
how many editions of the sun have you read - you know f**k all about it

sven arranged the meeting with trappatoni and has been in consistent contact with him over the stephen ireland situation

QUOTE["You rarely have the liberty of having access to 100% of all the facts when making decisions in life . I've seen more than enough evidence to (paraphrasing a court term) show beyond reasonable doubt that Stephen Ireland is a 'grade A' tos*er who is showing not even an ounce of the enthusiasm to play for his country that you would expect from an Internatonal footballer."]UNQUOTE -

but yet can call him a tosser and claim to know that he is been a toss*r -its idiots like yo that keep tabloid thrash in business

ur even contradicting yourself in your own post , you say you expect a player to have the enthuasism to play for his country so therefore you slate ireland - but then you say if it was roy keane , it would be ok , cos he is better - so are you saying "1 rule for 1 player and a different rule for every other player"

also im intrigued to know about all this evidence that you have "SEEN"????
I simply stated I could understand the logic of an argument to pressure the likes of Roy Keane to come back if we needed him as he obviously makes a big difference to our team. However I also stated I wouldn't agree with such an argument just that it was more logical. Newsflash Stephen Ireland is no Roy Keane, he won't even be deemed good enough for city next year imo and will be either offloaded or only used sparingly in the starting 11.

Again as I stated why if Stephen Ireland is so keen to come back does he not just show up for training with the rest of the squad? When is Trap having his meeting with Duff, R Keane, Dunne et all to convince them to show up for his first training session? Let's see, mmmmm, yes the only logical deduction is that S Ireland believes he requires some special attention to pursuade him to return. Come up with any other conclusion that makes more sense (the keyword here is more) and I might start to take you seriously.

youngirish
18/04/2008, 11:48 AM
I doubt he rang up and requested a meeting. Probably just arranged by Sven and he wants to get stuff off his chest. Wait until the squad meet up before making assumptions.

Didn't Sven state on numerous occasions that he wasn't sure after talking to Ireland if he wanted to come back? Come on lads cop on. There's not this much smoke for such a long period of time without fire.

Yes we can ignore all the stories in the media regarding football as most are only written by tabloid hacks but then we'd have no information on anything.

I wouldn't be surprised if he turned out for Ireland again after some serious effort has been put in to convince him to do so but he'll cause more trouble in the future. Let's be honest his track record is pretty long in this regard isn't it?

18/04/2008, 11:49 AM
BOTN, I don't know about consistant contact.
Sven has said he has spoken to Trap once pink think (http://www.independent.co.uk/sport/football/internationals/trapattoni-aiming-to-coax-ireland-out-of-irish-retirement-808215.html)
"I hope that Trapattoni will come here and visit us and speak to Stephen," Eriksson said. "I know he wants to meet [him]. I have spoken to Trapattoni once and he has said that he will come here".

Ireland has not indicated his willingness to play as that headline suggested, he is just quoted as saying that he has an "open mind".

I wonder how Jack would have responded on that day in Oxford if Houghton or Aldo had replied "I´ll keep an open mind" when asked to declare for Ireland.

back of the net
18/04/2008, 11:49 AM
You're being even more of an idiot now. I simply stated I could understand the logic of an argument to pressure the likes of Roy Keane to come back if we needed him as he obviously makes a big difference to our team. However I also stated I wouldn't agree with such an argument just that it was more logical (a universal concept you seem to have great difficulty understanding). Newsflash Stephen Ireland is no Roy Keane, he won't even be deemed good enough for city next year imo and will be either offloaded or only used sparingly in the starting 11.

Again as I stated why if Stephen Ireland is so keen to come back does he not just show up for training with the rest of the squad? When is Trap having his meeting with Duff, R Keane, Dunne et all to convince them about showing up for the training? Let's see, mmmmm, yes the only logical deduction is that S Ireland believes he requires some special attention to pursuade him to return. Come up with any other conclusion that makes more sense (the keyword here is more) and not the usual rubbish you've been spouting until now and I might start to take you seriously (unlikely though).

Tip - Another step on the road to being taking seriously is to learn how to use the quotes.

if steve ireland has no reason for his international wilderness and his past actions with the irish team - then of course he should be left to his own and the irish squad should move on without him

however you dont know what his reasons are -either do i or does anyone else - so stop presuming you do and wait till the outcome of the trappatoni meeting is revealed to the public - you dont know what the full topics of the meeting between will be about

i dont need you telling me ireland is no keane , but my point was that if keane had done similar for no reason(as you assume with s ireland) then why should he be given the special treatment and stevie ireland not?

this whole thread has had people preaching assumptions because they read some thrash that has no official background to it and just presumed that thrash to be correct

and as for your " using quotes comment" - it aint even worth a reply

back of the net
18/04/2008, 11:52 AM
BOTN, I don't know about consistant contact.
Sven has said he has spoken to Trap once pink think (http://www.independent.co.uk/sport/football/internationals/trapattoni-aiming-to-coax-ireland-out-of-irish-retirement-808215.html)
"I hope that Trapattoni will come here and visit us and speak to Stephen," Eriksson said. "I know he wants to meet [him]. I have spoken to Trapattoni once and he has said that he will come here".

Ireland has not indicated his willingness to play as that headline suggested, he is just quoted as saying that he has an "open mind".

I wonder how Jack would have responded on that day in Oxford if Houghton or Aldo had replied "I´ll keep an open mind" when asked to declare for Ireland.

thats not my point - all im saying is that wait till the outcome of the meeting is revealed - ppl are throwing to many accusations around without knowing the full facts

there is no point comparing the ireland situation to any other player - lets just wait and see how the meeting goes and then ppl should make their verdict

youngirish
18/04/2008, 11:52 AM
if steve ireland has no reason for his international wilderness and his past actions with the irish team - then of course he should be left to his own and the irish squad should move on without him

however you dont know what his reasons are -either do i or does anyone else - so stop presuming you do and wait till the outcome of the trappatoni meeting is revealed to the public - you dont know what the full topics of the meeting between will be about

i dont need you telling me ireland is no keane , but my point was that if keane had done similar for no reason(as you assume with s ireland) then why should he be given the special treatment and stevie ireland not?

this whole thread has had people preaching assumptions because they read some thrash that has no official background to it and just presumed that thrash to be correct

and as for your " using quotes comment" - it aint even worth a reply
An honest, intelligent well constructed reply unlike your previous one. I'll edit the other post.

back of the net
18/04/2008, 11:57 AM
An honest, intelligent well constructed reply unlike the previous one. I'll edit the other post.

your fine mate - u can leave it alone - dont assume you all the facts next time ((-:

18/04/2008, 12:11 PM
thats not my point -
but this was
"sven arranged the meeting with trappatoni and has been in consistent contact with him over the stephen ireland situation"
Sven has said he talked with Trap on one occasion.

back of the net
18/04/2008, 12:29 PM
but this was
"sven arranged the meeting with trappatoni and has been in consistent contact with him over the stephen ireland situation"
Sven has said he talked with Trap on one occasion.

sorry geysir - crossed wires mate

my point is : all im saying is that wait till the outcome of the meeting is revealed - ppl are throwing to many accusations around without knowing the full facts

there is no point comparing the ireland situation to any other player - lets just wait and see how the meeting goes and then ppl should make their verdict

it just annoys the hell out of me when ppl start presuming stuff about our players when they dont know the full facts

18/04/2008, 12:57 PM
I'd let Trap deal with it as he sees fit.
Any manager would want to have the best squad available and that includes checking out retired and semi retired players.
It is not Trap's responsibility on what went on before. Regardless of how silly Ireland has behaved in the past, it wasn't done under Trap's watch.
I'd have full confidence that experienced heads like Trap and Tardelli will be able to see what is up with the player, make a sound judgement call and follow up on his behaviour in the squad.

back of the net
18/04/2008, 1:13 PM
Any manager would want to have the best squad available and that includes checking out retired and semi retired players.
It is not Trap's responsibility on what went on before. Regardless of how silly Ireland has behaved in the past, it wasn't done under Trap's watch.
I'd have full confidence that experienced heads like Trap and Tardelli will be able to see what is up with the player, make a sound judgement call and follow up on his behaviour in the squad.

agreed mate

18/04/2008, 1:15 PM

Great point and I'll subscribe to that theory.

Wolfie
18/04/2008, 1:19 PM
Whose theory?

http://foot.ie/showpost.php?p=921050&postcount=320

18/04/2008, 1:43 PM
Whose theory?

We're all friends here¬ :ball:

18/04/2008, 2:23 PM
Whose theory?

Kingdom didn't claim that anyone had ownership of the theory:)
Should you?;)
The clean slate theory has been mentioned often enough through the past zillion posts.

Wolfie
18/04/2008, 3:01 PM
Kingdom didn't claim that anyone had ownership of the theory
Should you?
The clean slate theory has been mentioned often enough through the past zillion posts.

Jaysus, not atall!!. Twas messin about there, Geysir :)

Should have added the :) in the first place. Its the common sense stance, afterall.

As for the World is Round theory - hands off, thats mine!!!