View Full Version : Stephen Ireland

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 [40] 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85

Manblue
07/06/2009, 11:50 AM
Ye are right trap is a clever man!!! he had no intention of trying to get him before this game hence why he left it so close to the game to call, because ireland would disrupt his system which worked quite well last night, but does want him for the last 3 games for his creativity against two of the weaker teams for fear we fail to break them done with whelan and andrews in midfield like nearly happened before

Mcgeady46
07/06/2009, 11:59 AM
don't need people like him in a squad.

never want to see him or any1 with his attitude in an Irish jersey again.

his Ireland career is dead to me, it is dead to Richard dunne as well

Manblue
07/06/2009, 12:14 PM
Prob wudnt be if he wore a celtic jersey though id say

youngirish
07/06/2009, 12:18 PM
don't need people like him in a squad.

never want to see him or any1 with his attitude in an Irish jersey again.

his Ireland career is dead to me, it is dead to Richard dunne as well

I agree, he would devalue the jersey if he wore it. Please God give us a couple of decent midfielders out of McCann, McCarthy, Gibson, O'Toole and Garvan so the absence of Stephen Ireland is no longer such an issue.

Mcgeady46
07/06/2009, 12:21 PM
Prob wudnt be if he wore a celtic jersey though id say
what the hell is that rubbish about?

I agree, he would devalue the jersey if he wore it. Please God give us a couple of decent midfielders out of McCann, McCarthy, O'Toole and Garvan so the absence of Stephen Ireland is no longer such an issue.

I think his absence is making him a cult fugure, the longer he is out of the team the better he becomes.

the stephen Ireland topic is just easy cannon fodder for lazy hacks who don't have the imagination to think about anything else to write about!

Manblue
07/06/2009, 12:26 PM
what the hell is that rubbish about?

I think his absence is making him a cult fugure, the longer he is out of the team the better he becomes.

the stephen Ireland topic is just easy cannon fodder for lazy hacks who don't have the imagination to think about anything else to write about!

As far as i see it, whilst it would be an honour for 99.9% of the pop to wear the jersey, he doesnt have the same affection for it, he doesnt want to play. It is the media mainly and trap who keep bringing it up not him

youngirish
07/06/2009, 12:31 PM
As far as i see it, whilst it would be an honour for 99.9% of the pop to wear the jersey, he doesnt have the same affection for it, he doesnt want to play. It is the media mainly and trap who keep bringing it up not him

The sad thing is he'll regret it when his career ends and he looks back and realises he could have played at the highest level in football namely the World Cup but chose not to. In 50 years tme no matter how great a player you are during your career for Manchester City nobody other than die hard city supporters will remember you. If you play and perform well in a couple of World Cups then that's a different story. Even the great George Best is barely known outside Ireland and Britain in comparison to the likes of Maradona, Puskas, Pele, Eusebio and Cryuff. He arguably has or will have the talent to be one of the top performers in a world cup with a half decent team behind him considering he frequently overshadows the likes of Robinho on a weekly basis.

Unfortunately I think he's too stupid at present to realise this.

Manblue
07/06/2009, 12:40 PM
The sad thing is he'll regret it when his career ends and he looks back and realises he could have played at the highest level in football namely the World Cup but chose not to. In 50 years tme no matter how great a player you are during your career for Manchester City nobody other than die hard city supporters will remember you. If you play and perform well in a couple of World Cups then that's a different story. Even the great George Best is barely known outside Ireland and Britain in comparison to the likes of Maradona, Puskas, Pele, Eusebio and Cryuff. He arguably has or will have the talent to be one of the top performers in a world cup with a half decent team behind him considering he frequently overshadows the likes of Robinho on a weekly basis.

Unfortunately I think he's too stupid at present to realise this.

This is a very valid point but surely one which has been pointed out to him so he most feel very strongly about it (not playing that is)

youngirish
07/06/2009, 12:45 PM
This is a very valid point but surely one which has been pointed out to him so he most feel very strongly about it (not playing that is)

Probably but it's sad our most talented players always seem to be the most difficult in some way. I was talking to some English lads yesterday when watching the match and they claimed that the Stephen Ireland, Roy Keane situations would never happen with English players as the media and fans for both their club and International team would crucify them where as ours seem to look for excuses for them and try to accomodate them.

I think the English possibly have the correct attitude on this one.

07/06/2009, 12:56 PM
Good players like Scholes have called it quits though, not too much fanfare followed.

07/06/2009, 4:13 PM
David Bentley refused to play for the U-21's in the European Championships, and was booed at games for more than a year afterwards

Noelys Guitar
07/06/2009, 4:49 PM
I'd like to see McCarthy make the move to Wigan if the rumours of Martinez's interest prove true. If he goes for 3/4/5 mill then I expect him to go straight into the starting eleven. He would then have 3 or 4 games in the Premiership under his belt come the August friendly. If he stands out then he might be our midfield answer rather than SI.

Junior
07/06/2009, 5:04 PM
Fat Frank in recent times, Man Utd players when the likes of Neville, Beckham, Scholes were regulars got booed by the England faithful at Wemberlee on numerous occasions.

English club fans at the likes of Man U and Liverpool quite often resent the national side (or certainly dont give a toss about it), I dont see how they would give a $hit whether the likes of Stephen Ireland played for his country - in fact Id say theyd be fairly happy that he abstained.

I dont see how English fans have got anything right in this regard........

Den Perry
08/06/2009, 11:20 AM
Was listening to John Brennan from the Sunday World on the Radio this morning and he said that Stephen Hunt went on the record saying that players would not be happy if Stephen Ireland returned. Now I couldn't give a toss what that moron Hunt says, but Brennan also stated that a few other players stated it off the record. Anybody hear of what players are for his return and who would be against it?

cheers

Razors left peg
08/06/2009, 11:35 AM
Was listening to John Brennan from the Sunday World on the Radio this morning and he said that Stephen Hunt went on the record saying that players would not be happy if Stephen Ireland returned. Now I couldn't give a toss what that moron Hunt says, but Brennan also stated that a few other players stated it off the record. Anybody hear of what players are for his return and who would be against it?

cheers

The same sort of stuff was being spread around before Roy Keane came back into the Irish squad.People were saying that he could never come back because players would resent it and rubbish like that. At the end of the day they are professionals and they will get on with it like they have done before. Hunt is probably coming out and saying it because he would face more competition for his place in the team if Ireland came back, as would others.That should bring out the best in them if they are proper pros as they should work harder to keep their place

Den Perry
08/06/2009, 12:07 PM
The same sort of stuff was being spread around before Roy Keane came back into the Irish squad.People were saying that he could never come back because players would resent it and rubbish like that. At the end of the day they are professionals and they will get on with it like they have done before. Hunt is probably coming out and saying it because he would face more competition for his place in the team if Ireland came back, as would others.That should bring out the best in them if they are proper pros as they should work harder to keep their place

Good point. I have never disliked an Irish player as much as Stephen Hunt

Oink
08/06/2009, 12:16 PM
Why is it so difficult for people to take the level headed approach on this.... it seems you have to either whinge about how he would have won us the * insert last game here" or, with much disregard for irony, publicly announcing your dislike for him and the attention he recieves.

He's a great player who had a fantastic year, he made a few crazy mistakes and let himself down. Let him decide what he wants to do and let us forgive and forget if needs be, but keep our dignity and whats best for the team as our top priority....... exactly what Trappatoni is doing.

Noelys Guitar
08/06/2009, 1:28 PM
Stephen Ireland's father claims his son wants to return and play.

http://www.herald.ie/sport/soccer/boost-for-trapattoni-as-ireland-says-hes-eager-to-end-exile-1765758.html

Also Trap has said today that he has been talking with Mark Hughes about how to get Ireland back playing for his country.

08/06/2009, 1:37 PM
again no quote and the only quotes we have had has been Ireland saying he is not interestd in playing and he does not miss it one bit. His father has feck all to do with this in my view. He shoudl give trap a call and then Trap should think about it and make a decision weighing up all the options and effects his return would have.

youngirish
08/06/2009, 1:58 PM
Won't this thing just lay down and die? It's the same old story recycled that first appeared about two weeks before the Georgian home game.

Hasn't Ireland already said recently that he has no interest playing for the national team again anytime soon?

youngirish
08/06/2009, 2:06 PM
Apparently Trapattoni wants to extend his contract beyond South Africa. I'd be happy with that even if we don't qualify. Great news. He must be sick of being asked about Stephen Ireland though. Maybe he will have it written into his new contract that he doesn't have to answer questions on his availablility.

http://goal.com/en/news/9/england/2009/06/07/1311515/trapattoni-stephen-ireland-must-decide-his-international

dr_peepee
08/06/2009, 2:35 PM
Crucially though Trapp says SI still never got back to him ("He's a shy boy")..

I don't know yer mans Da. He could be a jayzus bar fly media whore living vicariously through his sons fame (infamy??) cos he didn't make it himself. Who knows??

I know me own Da would tell people where to go and to ask me themselves if he had to answer a question on my behalf more than once (And probbly not even that either)... Then tell me to wise up and give a straight answer one way or the other...

As regards having him back. I'm leaving it in the hands of Trapp. If Hunt isn't being quoted out of context.. Trap won't do anything counter productive to the squads goals..

I think I'm just gonna blindly follow what he does now, the ******...

MeathDrog
08/06/2009, 2:38 PM
Stephen Ireland can f*ckoff.

Deckydee
08/06/2009, 5:20 PM
If he comes back, we will qualify, its a simple as that

What the hell is wrong with some people.

shaneker
08/06/2009, 5:35 PM

Steven Ireland is a good footballer (although he's the fu*king second coming according to some people).

Steven Ireland doesn't give two s*its about playing for Ireland. This is 100% undeniable at this stage.

Steven Ireland is a lying arrogant *****.

'Bring back Ireland, we need Ireland, Trap's an idiot because we don't have Ireland, forgive Ireland, blah blah blah.' Messi's not bad, but he probably won't play for us either. Where is your outrage?

Seriously - what the hell is wrong with some people?

Oh - and we're going to qualify anyway, because for the first time in 7 years we're HARD TO BEAT. It's worked before, and it is working again. Daddy D!ck won't help us on that score.

08/06/2009, 5:44 PM
from man city's official site: http://www.mcfc.co.uk/default.sps?pagegid={DBD12D53-8346-431D-A04F-5D0F8664DE80}&newsid=6634093

Trapattoni said: "We have to know if he wishes to come back or not. I saw two or three City games and I like him, and I will try all possible ways to get him to come back. I want to know what he is thinking and Mark Hughes is not sure. He said it is up to him, but we do not know."

MeathDrog
08/06/2009, 9:24 PM

Correct, but we'll qualify anyway. :ball:

youngirish
08/06/2009, 9:28 PM
Correct, but we'll qualify anyway. :ball:
I wouldn't be too sure. Even if we make the play-offs we will struggle to beat anyone half decent over 2 legs.

stiffler
08/06/2009, 9:35 PM
I wouldn't be too sure. Even if we make the play-offs we will struggle to beat anyone half decent over 2 legs.

If we get to the play offs we would definetely give it our best shot, who knows what would happen over the 2 legs.

The key at this stage is to make sure we do enough to be in that position come November.

Razors left peg
08/06/2009, 9:39 PM

We'll just have to top the group so!

Manblue
09/06/2009, 7:44 AM

I honestly dont see what a player like stephen ireland would bring to traps team, he would not be allowed express himself in our line up at all and lets face it, whilst he is top five in tackles in the premiership and distance covered per game, it is his vision and brain (footballing) that are key to his game. He plays alot better with better players as seen with city this year and to put it nicely our players wudnt suit him..hunt,whelan, duff et al

Jicked
09/06/2009, 8:10 AM
For the first time in years there's a very positive mood in the squad. They've battled through two massive away games and come out with great results. On the flight home from Sofia they apparently were singing songs and enjoying themselves like the Ireland of old. If SI comes back there'll be a big mood shift. IMO he can come back, once he owns up to how pathetic and devious he has been.

irishfan86
09/06/2009, 8:42 AM
I honestly dont see what a player like stephen ireland would bring to traps team, he would not be allowed express himself in our line up at all and lets face it, whilst he is top five in tackles in the premiership and distance covered per game, it is his vision and brain (footballing) that are key to his game. He plays alot better with better players as seen with city this year and to put it nicely our players wudnt suit him..hunt,whelan, duff et al

Stephen, we'll play you on the wing. I know it's not your favourite position, but you won't have to worry about the defensive side of things.

I realize you won't get as much of the ball as you get at Manchester City, but we both know that even with reduced service you will be able to create more than our alternatives.

Maybe once Steven Reid returns, you can play in the centre, as he will be able to handle the defensive side of things.

I also think there's a slight chance that you can play in Robbie's position if you impress Trap enough. So go on, give Trap a call and join the squad against Australia.

Den Perry
09/06/2009, 9:15 AM
Crucially though Trapp says SI still never got back to him ("He's a shy boy")..

I don't know yer mans Da. He could be a jayzus bar fly media whore living vicariously through his sons fame (infamy??) cos he didn't make it himself. Who knows??

I know me own Da would tell people where to go and to ask me themselves if he had to answer a question on my behalf more than once (And probbly not even that either)... Then tell me to wise up and give a straight answer one way or the other...

As regards having him back. I'm leaving it in the hands of Trapp. If Hunt isn't being quoted out of context.. Trap won't do anything counter productive to the squads goals..

I think I'm just gonna blindly follow what he does now, the ******...

What exactly has Hunt been quoted as saying?

dr_peepee
09/06/2009, 9:50 AM
What exactly has Hunt been quoted as saying?

I dunno. Someone here posted on this thread that Hunt said something like himself some of the current squad aren't too keen on having SI back...

Duggie
09/06/2009, 9:53 AM
wha is the story with stephen irelands dad. everytime something bout him comes up i see him in the star saying what he thinks. is he in touch with stephen or what ? otherwise he should keep stum IMO.

09/06/2009, 9:58 AM
what is the story with stephen irelands dad?.

I heard he was dead or was that his granny or girlfriend's third cousin once removed. Ah no, it was his pet rabbit.

Manblue
09/06/2009, 9:58 AM
Stephen, we'll play you on the wing. I know it's not your favourite position, but you won't have to worry about the defensive side of things.

I realize you won't get as much of the ball as you get at Manchester City, but we both know that even with reduced service you will be able to create more than our alternatives.

Maybe once Steven Reid returns, you can play in the centre, as he will be able to handle the defensive side of things.

I also think there's a slight chance that you can play in Robbie's position if you impress Trap enough. So go on, give Trap a call and join the squad against Australia.

Sept 5th is it?? Think im washing my hair sorry 86

irishfan86
09/06/2009, 10:00 AM
Stephen Ireland doesn't even know who his real dad is, so he just pretends he was sent here from Krypton (as evidenced by his choice in undergarments).

Polster
09/06/2009, 10:01 AM
Whose actions were worst? Reidy and his late night sing along, or Ireland who told multiple lies while he threw his toys out of the pram. Is it that 'we and trap' are more happy to overlook certain players behaviour based on ability? I think we can make it to this world cup without Ireland, and the lads there fully deserve the chance to finish the job they started. I don't think Stephen Ireland deserves any part in this campaign, he has had loads of opportunities to make right what happened, and if we were already out of contention would he be 'thinking' about returning?

irishfan86
09/06/2009, 10:05 AM
In Italy, playing a guitar past nightfall is punishable by death.

If anything, we should be praising Trapattoni for being lenient.

Duggie
09/06/2009, 10:06 AM
well if he came back - said im sorry and id like to come back all would be forgiven in time i think. i dont know how he would fit into trap way of playing though. still a midfield of ireland and s.reid does have a good look about it in the middle. it would be tough on whelan and andrews but we should be putting our best players out. at least we are building a very good squad going forward under trap. id like him to stay another 2 years. get him signed up i say.

09/06/2009, 11:11 AM
In the end, it's what Trap decides what is best for the team that matters, it's up to the other players to adjust to what Trap decides.

Den Perry
09/06/2009, 11:13 AM
I dunno. Someone here posted on this thread that Hunt said something like himself some of the current squad aren't too keen on having SI back...

That was me !! but I was only stating what I heard a journo say on Radio, however I'd believe that fool is well capable of talking too much

youngirish
09/06/2009, 3:08 PM
Sept 5th is it?? Think im washing my hair sorry 86
Stephen Ir .... I mean manblue any idea why your.. I mean Stephen's father keeps making statements to the media of his son's impending return? Surely if these claims aren't true then your/his father needs to stop spreading rumours that only contribute to making it more difficult for his son to return if ever he desides to do so.

Uncle_Joe
09/06/2009, 3:30 PM
Whose actions were worst? Reidy and his late night sing along, or Ireland who told multiple lies while he threw his toys out of the pram. Is it that 'we and trap' are more happy to overlook certain players behaviour based on ability?

The difference between Reid and SI is that Reid did what he did when Trap was manager. SI hasnt personally questioned Traps authority so no, its nothing to do with overlooking certain players behaviour based on behaviour.

I doubt if SI will be back for the world cup anyway (provided we make it). The controversy and disruption it would cause, would be huge. Personally I dont think he would want the attention.

09/06/2009, 3:32 PM
In Italy, playing a guitar past nightfall is punishable by death....

And resurrecting your dead grannies is worthy of canonisation!

09/06/2009, 3:59 PM

Andy could have been one too many renditions of the night's most popular refrain
"Where's your granny gone? Where's your (other) granny gone?"

Fergie's Son
09/06/2009, 4:57 PM
I think it is unlikely that he will return. If he does, it'll be for the Australia friendly. I think Trapp is handling this very well. Basically saying that the door is open but that you come back on his terms. He's not chasing him.

If Ireland wants to come back then I think he should be able to. We all make mistakes and he wants to atone for them I think. That's admirable.

Let's see where this goes and welcome him back if he indeed does come back.

09/06/2009, 5:06 PM
I doubt if SI will be back for the world cup anyway (provided we make it). The controversy and disruption it would cause, would be huge. Personally I dont think he would want the attention.

not so sure about that. he could return for the australia friendly in limerick where he wont get too much abuse id imagine given the way munster people support their own. the next game is then away followed shortly by another limerick friendly. next thing you know its 4 weeks later and he's back in croke park yet the sting of his return has been largely reduced by him already having played a part in 3 games, him playing well and Ireland on the verge of wc qualification. its doable without too much fuss