View Full Version : Stephen Ireland

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 [47] 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85

23/07/2009, 11:16 PM
Dublin word?? Im lost bud sorry??

A crass individual is coarse or unrefined e.g someone who'd highlight that in japan they'd both sound the same anyway.

Den Perry
24/07/2009, 9:46 AM

Oh good God - please tell me you are joking?

Drumcondra 69er
24/07/2009, 9:59 AM
A crass individual is coarse or unrefined e.g someone who'd highlight that in japan they'd both sound the same anyway.

I like that! :D

Scram
24/07/2009, 12:13 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scram View Post
Mate??

Inability to sense humour???

Inability to sense humour??????

Manblue
24/07/2009, 1:32 PM

Nah just terrible banter

26/07/2009, 1:40 PM
According to today's Indo, Stephen Ireland will not be in the squad VS Australia, to be announced on wednesday: http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/ireland-wont-be-in-traps-squad--bolton-snap-up-knight-ricketts--adebayors-city-bow-ends-in-loss-trezeguet-keen-to-earn-milan-move--villarreal-snare-brazilian-nilmar-1841400.html

Stephen Ireland will not be in the Ireland squad when Giovanni Trapattoni names his panel in Limerick on Wednesday for the upcoming friendly against Australia, writes Dion Fanning.

Speculation had intensified this summer that Ireland was ready to return following encouraging comments from the player and further contact with Trapattoni. However, the friendly in Limerick appears to have come too quickly.

Privately, the FAI is not prepared to rule out a return at any stage. However, Trapattoni will hope that Ireland makes a quick decision that boosts his country's chances of qualification.

26/07/2009, 1:56 PM
what a plonker lads.Im sorry but it just gets worse and worse.

Razors left peg
26/07/2009, 2:39 PM
I'll would wait until the squad is announced before making any judgements on it, Dion Fanning isnt the most reliable source. But if he isnt in this squad he shouldnt be considered for the World cup

Manblue
26/07/2009, 4:05 PM

?????

rebelmusic
26/07/2009, 8:07 PM

Wait till wednesday - no need to call him a plonker without facts on this one

Crosby87
26/07/2009, 9:24 PM
This is ridiculous if true. Was there ever any chance he would be back? I dont even blame SI for the confusion. The only thing Im positive he said was that it was unlikely he would be back yet I keep getting my hopes up which makes no sense... Its like people ask him, so, you coming back? "No." Well great see you when you get back then!

And what is it coming to quickly for? Thats stupid writing unless it came for SI saying that. How much notice does one need to play a friendly against Australia?

Manblue
26/07/2009, 11:19 PM
This is ridiculous if true. Was there ever any chance he would be back? I dont even blame SI for the confusion. The only thing Im positive he said was that it was unlikely he would be back yet I keep getting my hopes up which makes no sense... Its like people ask him, so, you coming back? "No." Well great see you when you get back then!

And what is it coming to quickly for? Thats stupid writing unless it came for SI saying that. How much notice does one need to play a friendly against Australia?

This is obviously another complete fabrication because tardeilli stated he doesnt have to play in friendly as they have seen him 20 times this season, and to answer your question i dont think he ever hinted he was gonna come back now

27/07/2009, 7:51 AM
This is obviously another complete fabrication because tardeilli stated he doesnt have to play in friendly as they have seen him 20 times this season, and to answer your question i dont think he ever hinted he was gonna come back now

if he is going to come back for this campaign a friendly in his native munster would be the best place to do it. we dont need him returning just before a qualifier and the hype upsetting our preparations. its either for the friendly next month or not at all in my opinion

irishfan86
27/07/2009, 8:53 AM
He doesn't need to play in a friendly to prove his worth, he needs to play in a friendly to get used to playing with the current squad and get used to Trap's system. This isn't Stan-style Sunday league sh*t anymore.

Getting the media frenzy over with in a non-competitive situation is also desirable.

dr_peepee
27/07/2009, 11:01 AM

I'm surprised you can see the keyboard, it must be so dark up there??

Scram
27/07/2009, 11:16 AM
He doesn't need to play in a friendly to prove his worth, he needs to play in a friendly to get used to playing with the current squad and get used to Trap's system. This isn't Stan-style Sunday league sh*t anymore.

Getting the media frenzy over with in a non-competitive situation is also desirable.

Agree 100%.

youngirish
27/07/2009, 11:39 AM
It sends out the wrong message that Ireland seems to be allowed to waltz into the team whenever he decides it suits him to come back yet he has never shown any of the desire or passion you would expect as base requirements for an International footballer. Alternatively Andy Reid is still left out in the cold even though he seems desperate to get back.

Why do we even assume this baldy, immature, insecure, idiot will even improve our team? I still see him as a luxury player, useful perhaps when you have the majority of possession but not the type of player you need in the team against Italy or Bulgaria when our backs are against the wall. I also sense he could be a disruptive influence to the harmony of the team which has no doubt been an important element of our success under Trap.

Anyway point being even if he was Pele (which he's not) the lack of respect he's thus far shown for the Ireland team, management and most of all it's fans means I'd be far happier to never see him in a green jersey again and would rather pin my hopes on McCarthy or McCann emerging over the following season than waiting for super**** to decide to end his self-imposed exile.

On a sidenote what sort of inbred, hillbilly, lowlife sends his brother photos of a sexual nature containing his long term girlfriend and mother of his kids?

Razors left peg
27/07/2009, 12:07 PM
Why do we even assume this baldy, immature, insecure, idiot will even improve our team? I still see him as a luxury player, useful perhaps when you have the majority of possession but not the type of player you need in the team against Italy or Bulgaria when our backs are against the wall. I also sense he could be disruptive influence to the harmony of the team whihc has no doubt been an important element of our success under Trap.

what is it that makes him a luxury player exactly? The guy works his socks off on the pitch, is a decent tackler, scores goals and has an eye for a pass.I understand the dislike of him because his attitude to the national team but he is very nearly world class already. All u have to do is see the Man City fans comments on him on any forum to see how highly they regard him and I doubt that would happen if he was just a luxury player that drifts in an out of games

Scram
27/07/2009, 12:50 PM
what is it that makes him a luxury player exactly? The guy works his socks off on the pitch, is a decent tackler, scores goals and has an eye for a pass.I understand the dislike of him because his attitude to the national team but he is very nearly world class already. All u have to do is see the Man City fans comments on him on any forum to see how highly they regard him and I doubt that would happen if he was just a luxury player that drifts in an out of games

Exactly, he is definitely not a Berbatov, gives you the work rate of Tevez with the goal scoring ability of Berbatov.

Also re. his personality. you have to remember, he is from Cork so can't be expected to behave like the rest of us!

27/07/2009, 1:51 PM
On a sidenote what sort of inbred, hillbilly, lowlife sends his brother photos of a sexual nature containing his long term girlfirend and mother of his kids ?
How many sorts are there?

Made me laugh that did.

I think the point above about Ireland needing to be integrated into the team in a friendly (or two) is a good one. Yes, we all know he's a real talent but team balance & dynamic is something else. The team plays to a system now and they all know how it works. Ireland's inclusion would introduce a wild card element - it could go either way.

kingdomkerry
27/07/2009, 3:29 PM
Dont get your hopes up for the squad on Wednesday. Mr Manchester will leave his country down again like he has done countless times in the past.

Manblue
27/07/2009, 10:31 PM
I'm surprised you can see the keyboard, it must be so dark up there??

haha nice, i liked that, oh and to kerrykingdoms comment about waiting til wednesday, dont bother waiting cause he wont be back.

youngirish
27/07/2009, 11:06 PM
haha nice, i liked that, oh and to kerrykingdoms comment about waiting til wednesday, dont bother waiting cause he wont be back.

Again more proof that Manblue is Stephen Ireland if anymore was needed. Such a waste of talent.

irishfan86
27/07/2009, 11:10 PM
It just seems a pity that one of Europe's top players seems to have no interest in playing in the World's greatest competition.

I pity Stephen Ireland more than I hate him.

If we qualify, I sincerely believe he will regret his decision not to come back when he's watching on TV with friends/family.

27/07/2009, 11:13 PM
There is a greater chance of Elvis rising out of the river Laune to jockey King Puck down through the streets of Killorglin

Manblue
27/07/2009, 11:16 PM
Again more proof that Manblue is Stephen Ireland if anymore was needed. Such a waste of talent.

This a joke at this stage, geysir has just said something similar to what i said that he wont be back, why isnt he S.I

Crosby87
27/07/2009, 11:20 PM
Just funny how bad Andy Reid wants in, and SI could be in and doesnt want it...Andy should get a Stephen Ireland mask from a Halloween store and try to come back that way:

Trap: Uhh, Marco...Steva Irela seema different somahow....He seema shorter and less daft butta not bya much...
Tardelli: Agree. Maybe Hea lost weight?
Trap: No..He stilla fatta. But hea no pass crisp. Hea more funny though.
Liam Brady: Something is a miss here. Its almost like its Andy Reid in a Stephen Ireland mask...But that cant be.
Trap: Who?
Brady: That Andy Reid guy you got mad at for staying out so late.
Trap: Thisa Irish,,day very confuse...I dont know why I leava Belgium.
Brady: Holland you mean.
Tardelli: Lets finish dis discussion ova luncha. I make da meatballs you like Liam, witha the veal.

27/07/2009, 11:52 PM
Manblue while I doubt very much you're Stephen himself you're obviously a City supporter judging by your username and a Cobh man judging by your posts. You also have a lot of inside knowledge on Stephen. You know who are and aren't his friends, you know whether Richard Dunne has spoken to him about Ireland, you know his specific premiership stats that wouldn't really be available to the public, plus you know mostly about the players in S.Ireland's age group, etc, etc.

So what in the name of jaysus is the story? When is he going to come back?

youngirish
28/07/2009, 12:08 AM
This a joke at this stage, geysir has just said something similar to what i said that he wont be back, why isnt he S.I
Manblue surely if you're not the man himself you would have long since realised that you're trying to defend the indefensible. A professional footballer who treats his country with the disregard that Ireland does when so many (not myself mind you) have been desperate for him to come back and forgive him for past sins is sickening tbh.

This compared to the likes of McGeady and McCarthy who have steadfastly stuck with Ireland, a country they weren't born in, and endured years of sectarian abuse for doing so even though in McGeady's case he's probably never going to recieve the accolades playing for Ireland that Superman would.

A player's career is short and if Ireland do qualify for the World Cup and Stevie leaves it too late to end his exile he could well miss his only chance at playing at the top level in the prime of his career (he'll be almost 24 when the World Cup comes around) and simply be consigned to that long list of talented mid table Premiership/First Division footballers that never played on the world stage and nobody remembers 20 years down the line.

Thommo
28/07/2009, 7:38 AM
It's a difficult one not sure how some of the players will react if he was to return at this stage if he is to return it should be a friendly get all the media stuff out of the way cos it's gonna be a circus if he does come back for his first game.
At the end of the day beggars can't be choosers our midfield is weak but if your gonna come back "bungalow" please come back with your football head on.
Can't see it myself but where there's a will there's a way.

Den Perry
28/07/2009, 9:03 AM

I think Ireland is a fantastic player, and would love to see him back. I can understand that if he hates certain players in the squad, he would be reluctant to return (if that is the reason) and wish that muppet Stephen Hunt would shut his mouth(as I 've stated many times before).However, S.I. himself is no angel and really should play for us.

Now, I havn't got the time to look back all your posts Manblue, but do you wish to see him back in the squad, as your post above gives the impression of sneering that he won't be back. If you would rather he stayed away, what would your reasons be?

shaneker
28/07/2009, 9:45 AM
It's been said before, but it needs to be true now. No more waiting around, second guessing every development the team makes. Either Ireland comes back for the FRIENDLY (Christ, even Roy did that) in Thomond or he is 100% out of consideration for the WC if we qualify. Which we will. A statement should be made by the FAI after the game that he won't be considered until after this coming season is over. Bam - speculation gone for a year.

Personally, I hope he doesn't come back. Rhymes with dastard.

28/07/2009, 10:01 AM
On a hypothetical return,
i'd be more concerned with the many fans with their heads in the sick bucket, overwhelmed by the odour from the initial media focus.

Too much imagination is used up on players possible reactions or possible discontent.
The squad is battle scarred and strong enough to handle (hypothetically) the mere detail of a return of SI. After over a year with Trap and Tardelli, they also have enough assuredness.

It is Stephen Ireland who can not handle it and who is discontent with any thought of coming back.
Trap has stretched the limits of diplomacy in this case. We know Trap has the cojones to close the door until our 2010 WC is over.
That suggests to me that he does see a place for SI in the team, or at a minimum, a valuable role to play.

Wolfie
28/07/2009, 12:02 PM
I'd be more concerned with the many fans with their heads in the sick bucket, overwhelmed by the odour from the initial media focus.

Too much imagination is used up on players possible reactions or possible discontent.
The squad is battle scarred and strong enough to handle (hypothetically) the mere detail of a return of SI. After over a year with Trap and Tardelli, they also have enough assuredness.

It is Stephen Ireland who can not handle it and who is discontent with any thought of coming back.
Trap has stretched the limits of diplomacy in this case. We know Trap has the cojones to close the door until our 2010 WC is over.
That suggests to me that he does see a place for SI in the team, or at a minimum, a valuable role to play.

On a hypothetical return,
i'd be more concerned with the many fans with their heads in the sick bucket, overwhelmed by the odour from the initial media focus.

You can say that again.

Razors left peg
28/07/2009, 12:09 PM
You can say that again.

quality:D

dr_peepee
28/07/2009, 1:03 PM
Manblue while I doubt very much you're Stephen himself you're obviously a City supporter judging by your username and a Cobh man judging by your posts. You also have a lot of inside knowledge on Stephen. You know who are and aren't his friends, you know whether Richard Dunne has spoken to him about Ireland, you know his specific premiership stats that wouldn't really be available to the public, plus you know mostly about the players in S.Ireland's age group, etc, etc.

So what in the name of jaysus is the story? When is he going to come back?

He's his Brother.... But he's the one that lost the phone with the mucky Pictures so Stephen's blanked him for a bit!!!

28/07/2009, 1:38 PM
It's tiresome that this issue won't go away. Realistically do any of you believe that Trapattoni would play Ireland if he came back? What he says in the media is one thing, but what he does behind the scenes is another. By playing Ireland he risks weakening his authority over the team and the trust of the players that have played in the games so far. It would be the coaching equivalent of committing suicide, especially when there's only 3 qualifying games left to play.

Razors left peg
28/07/2009, 3:49 PM
It's tiresome that this issue won't go away. Realistically do any of you believe that Trapattoni would play Ireland if he came back? What he says in the media is one thing, but what he does behind the scenes is another. By playing Ireland he risks weakening his authority over the team and the trust of the players that have played in the games so far. It would be the coaching equivalent of committing suicide, especially when there's only 3 qualifying games left to play.

Thats rubbish, if for example James McCarthy or Owen Garvan had an outstanding seasons should Trap leave them out of the squads just because they hadnt been involved up to now.The players in the squad are professionals and it is up to them to fight for their place in the team no matter who is brought into the squad and if they are not good enough too keep their place then we move on with better players.Yes loyalty is important but only up to a certain point.
Having said that I do think that in Irelands case if he is not involved in the upcoming friendly then a line should be drawn under it until after the world cup

28/07/2009, 4:59 PM
Thats rubbish, if for example James McCarthy or Owen Garvan had an outstanding seasons should Trap leave them out of the squads just because they hadnt been involved up to now.

Garvan and McCarthy haven't made themselves, their grannies, or their wigs unavailable. Totally different from the case with Ireland.

The players in the squad are professionals and it is up to them to fight for their place in the team no matter who is brought into the squad and if they are not good enough too keep their place then we move on with better players.Yes loyalty is important but only up to a certain point.

The emphasis is on the word professional. Nobody is allowed to pick and chose which games they want to be a part of. It's all about respect, commitment and loyalty, qualities which Stephen Ireland has not shown our team. As far as I'm concerned I don't think he should ever be capped again (but unfortunately I don't get to pick the team :D.)

Razors left peg
28/07/2009, 5:06 PM
Garvan and McCarthy haven't made themselves, their grannies, or their wigs unavailable. Totally different from the case with Ireland.

The emphasis is on the word professional. Nobody is allowed to pick and chose which games they want to be a part of. It's all about respect, commitment and loyalty, qualities which Stephen Ireland has not shown our team. As far as I'm concerned I don't think he should ever be capped again (but unfortunately I don't get to pick the team :D.)

Lee Carsley, Dean Kiely,Roy Keane made themselves unavailible for selection at one time or other.... was their a mass walkout of players or a sudden dramatic dip in squad morale when they were brought back in?

28/07/2009, 5:16 PM
Lee Carsley, Dean Kiely,Roy Keane made themselves unavailible for selection at one time or other.... was their a mass walkout of players or a sudden dramatic dip in squad morale when they were brought back in?

Are we talking about the special case of Stephen Ireland here or just generalising for the heck of it? I think everyone can agree that Stephen Ireland is indeed A Special Case.

Razors left peg
28/07/2009, 5:19 PM
Are we talking about the special case of Stephen Ireland here or just generalising for the heck of it? I think everyone can agree that Stephen Ireland is indeed A Special Case.

why is it more of a special case than Roy Keane?? I never remember anything that divided fans more than that case... and the same arguements were used saying that he could never play with the same players again.There was no problem once he returned

28/07/2009, 5:32 PM
why is it more of a special case than Roy Keane?? I never remember anything that divided fans more than that case... and the same arguements were used saying that he could never play with the same players again.There was no problem once he returned

I'm not going to go there. Sorry.

Razors left peg
28/07/2009, 5:37 PM
I'm not going to go there. Sorry.

I dont wanna get into the Keane thing again either, been done to death too many times.... but my basic point is that if Ireland was brought back I dont go along with the arguement that it would cause problems in the squad... Duff has already come out and said as much.The only squad member who has come out against it is Steven Hunt, and that was probably because he is one of the guys whos place might be under threat

28/07/2009, 5:45 PM
I dont wanna get into the Keane thing again either, been done to death too many times.... but my basic point is that if Ireland was brought back I dont go along with the arguement that it would cause problems in the squad... Duff has already come out and said as much.The only squad member who has come out against it is Steven Hunt, and that was probably because he is one of the guys whos place might be under threat

Ok - in the context of the current qualification campaign and the fact that's there only 3 games left, I believe it too much of a "risk" to re-introduce Ireland back into the squad at this point in time. If he wants to play again, the European qualifiers start next year and he can make his availability known.

Manblue
28/07/2009, 10:57 PM
I think Ireland is a fantastic player, and would love to see him back. I can understand that if he hates certain players in the squad, he would be reluctant to return (if that is the reason) and wish that muppet Stephen Hunt would shut his mouth(as I 've stated many times before).However, S.I. himself is no angel and really should play for us.

Now, I havn't got the time to look back all your posts Manblue, but do you wish to see him back in the squad, as your post above gives the impression of sneering that he won't be back. If you would rather he stayed away, what would your reasons be?

To be honest i am in different to his return at this stage, i think he will strenghten our squad, but by very little. As i stated before i dont think traps system suits his style of play and he would not be allowed express himself,, secondly i dont think the majority of fans would understand this an slate him if he doesnt play very well in every game.

This is my personal opinion but when ppl wanted him out of city i argued that his footballing brain was to advanced for the players around him (proved right this year) and im sorry i think the players that would be around him in the irish squad now would be a whole lot worse so that is another reason i dont think he will make that big an impact.

Saying that i would like to see him back.

Would welcome any sensible replies

Razors left peg
28/07/2009, 11:16 PM
To be honest i am in different to his return at this stage, i think he will strenghten our squad, but by very little. As i stated before i dont think traps system suits his style of play and he would not be allowed express himself,, secondly i dont think the majority of fans would understand this an slate him if he doesnt play very well in every game.

This is my personal opinion but when ppl wanted him out of city i argued that his footballing brain was to advanced for the players around him (proved right this year) and im sorry i think the players that would be around him in the irish squad now would be a whole lot worse so that is another reason i dont think he will make that big an impact.

Saying that i would like to see him back.

Would welcome any sensible replies

I think players like Robbie Keane, Kevin Doyle, Damien Duff, Aidan McGeady, Steven Reid,John O Shea,Richard Dunne, Steve Finnan are all top class players and have proven to be at International level and are well capable of playing alongside anybody

28/07/2009, 11:17 PM
and im sorry i think the players that would be around him in the irish squad now would be a whole lot worse so that is another reason i dont think he will make that big an impact.

I think S.Reid, Duff, Keane and Doyle would be well capable of playing on Ireland's wavelength, offer the movement and play the passes that he expects. Would really benefit Gibson too to finish of that front 6.

Manblue
28/07/2009, 11:25 PM
I think players like Robbie Keane, Kevin Doyle, Damien Duff, Aidan McGeady, Steven Reid,John O Shea,Richard Dunne, Steve Finnan are all top class players and have proven to be at International level and are well capable of playing alongside anybody

Personally i think Mcgeady isnt good enough, reid never plays, duff is borderline at this stage and finnan is well past it, agree with the others although as stated b4 i am not robbies biggest fan, i do acknowledge Gibsons arrival too

Razors left peg
28/07/2009, 11:41 PM
Personally i think Mcgeady isnt good enough, reid never plays, duff is borderline at this stage and finnan is well past it, agree with the others although as stated b4 i am not robbies biggest fan, i do acknowledge Gibsons arrival too

Duff was class away to Bulgaria as he is whenever he plays for Ireland,McGeadys international performances are improving all the time and he has put in some brilliant displays in this campaign, Reid is injury prone granted and u are probably right about Finnan. I think there are enough quality players within the Irish set up that have excellent football brains so that Ireland would have no trouble integrating into them.... if he could be bothered to try, which I hope he does