View Full Version : Stephen Ireland
29/01/2008, 11:26 AM
yes, agreed.
29/01/2008, 11:26 AM
yeah I agree with you Stuttgart about Duff and Hunt starting. I know McGeady has his fans on here but I'd like to see him on the bench for the time being. Hunt is more than an impact player and is probably our most in form player alongside Robbie Keane. Ireland will have to wait his turn - a good goal scoring midfielder and pops up with vital goals but I've yet to see him grab a game by the scruff of the neck. He tends to drop out of gmes for 10/15 minutes at a time.
29/01/2008, 11:43 AM
Just saw this on YBIG
http://www.setanta.com/en/Sport/News/Football/2008/01/29/International-Ireland-on-Ireland/
Interesting article, and I agree with some of the points Ireland makes.
But he should realise that he needs to make an effort to get into the squad. It's not like he was dropped because he was playing poorly. He was dropped because he said he didn't want to be there. That is apparently the status quo until he specifies otherwise.
Talking about your desire in a newspaper is one thing, but the thing for Steven Ireland to do would be to call Givens and say something along the lines of "I want you to know I'm available for selection. I'm hoping I'll get a chance to be involved with the squad for the Brazil game".
Given his apparent desire to play for Ireland, that wouldn't have been too difficult to do, even with Givens.
bohsRap
29/01/2008, 11:51 AM
Talking about your desire in a newspaper is one thing, but the thing for Steven Ireland to do would be to call Givens and say something along the lines of "I want you to know I'm available for selection. I'm hoping I'll get a chance to be involved with the squad for the Brazil game".
Possibly, but with Givens as manager he should have at least put him in the squad or given him a call instead of, as Stephen said, mouthing off.
Glad to hear he's willing to play and not discouraged by the whole thing. Now only hope to god Don doesn't appoint himself as manager.
29/01/2008, 12:45 PM
I am a bit worried that Kevin Doyle isn't exactly setting the world alight at the moment. I hope he starts knocking a few goals in again shortly.
Ireland4ever
29/01/2008, 12:47 PM
..... Hunt is more than an impact player and is probably our most in form player alongside Robbie Keane. Ireland will have to wait his turn - a good goal scoring midfielder and pops up with vital goals but I've yet to see him grab a game by the scruff of the neck. He tends to drop out of gmes for 10/15 minutes at a time.
Agreed, i hate the way people dimiss Hunt as an impact player for ireland. He never got a good run of matches starting for Ireland. His performances for Reading should be enough to prove that given the chance he can be a real handful.
29/01/2008, 12:50 PM
Nothing wrong with making an impact from the first minute!
29/01/2008, 2:19 PM
Duff hasn't done anything yet to convince me that he can recapture anything resembling his best form so I wouldn't have him and Hunt as our wide men just for the sake of it.
Hunt and McGeady are similar in that both seem to offer us a better option when coming on later in the game so for me it's open to debate about what our best midfield line up would be. If only all 3 could consistently produce the goods for Ireland.
bohsRap
29/01/2008, 2:24 PM
I am a bit worried that Kevin Doyle isn't exactly setting the world alight at the moment. I hope he starts knocking a few goals in again shortly.
I am too but I'm nearly sure he's been played out the wing on occasion so maybe this has something to do with his lack of goals of late.
carloz
29/01/2008, 2:25 PM
I actually think he comes across quite well in interviews and i think that isd a decent article from him. He will be back on the fold wehn crafty El Tel gets him back in the squad with a smile on his face.
dr_peepee
29/01/2008, 2:57 PM
He has been played wide on the right at times this season by coppell though...
30/01/2008, 8:20 AM
IT today Givens (http://www.ireland.com/newspaper/sport/2008/0130/1201501727361.html)
'The manager dismissed the idea that the matter was a personal one. "It's not about Stephen and me, that's nonsense . . . if any other player in the squad had behaved the way he has then I'd have expected the same thing, that they get in touch to say they want to play again.
"I mean, what he's supposed to have said here is all in a newspaper and what am I supposed to do? Treat everything that appears in a paper as fact and act on it?
"The fact is that this is no big deal if he's sincere in what he's saying. If he wants to come back and play then there's an easy way to do it, just pick up the phone to me and he'd be in the squad tomorrow."
30/01/2008, 9:49 AM
thats fair comment from Ireland. Ireland pulled out of the squad and said he did not want to be picked so its up to him to change that. Givens was a bit tactless in his comments on radio to muppet supreme on Newstalk but his anger on having to look and such an ugly ginger tosser probably made him take that anger out on Stephen IReland.
Billsthoughts
30/01/2008, 10:12 AM
Givens was a bit tactless in his comments on radio to muppet supreme on Newstalk but his anger on having to look and such an ugly ginger tosser probably made him take that anger out on Stephen IReland.
bit harsh neil......did he slag bohs or spurs or something?
30/01/2008, 10:42 AM
No I just think he is a muppet and a very bad journalist in the Cathal Devan, Dion Fanning end of journalism in that the journalist wants to be bigger than the story. Guys like Mc Donnell and Emmet Malone and Liam Mackey just keep their head down and are actually good journalists. His style on Newstalk is terrible. I know its an act but it is still a crap form of journalism in my view. The cynic. He is ginger and he is a tosser in my view.
dr_peepee
30/01/2008, 11:25 AM
Who are yiz talking about???
30/01/2008, 11:27 AM
The ginger git on Off the Ball who asked Givens the questions in relation to Stephen Ireland.
dr_peepee
30/01/2008, 11:42 AM
Dude...Sorry.. I'm not being sarcy. It's radio. I dunno which one's Ginger!!! (I didn't hear the interview).. I listen to the show from time to time and they seem alright..
30/01/2008, 11:45 AM
I think his name is Ken Early or something like that. He has a sarcy lanquid style to his rambling and nonsense.
30/01/2008, 2:37 PM
It's radio. I dunno which one's Ginger!!! Classic!
30/01/2008, 3:01 PM
The ginger git on Off the Ball who asked Givens the questions in relation to Stephen Ireland.
Have you ever listened to Off The Ball? He describes it as a strawberry blonde!
There's some pics of the team on NewsTalk's site here: http://newstalk.ie/newstalk/off-the-ball/gallery.html
In the second one in the second row, he's the one in the red jacket.
Billsthoughts
30/01/2008, 3:21 PM
There's some pics of the team on NewsTalk's site here: http://newstalk.ie/newstalk/off-the-ball/gallery.html
swoon.....!
He is a dreamboat alrite....
still, try and keep personal abuse to a minimum neil. he may well be a member of this site. you wouldnt like it if someone called you a ginger tosser.
30/01/2008, 3:30 PM
swoon.....!
He is a dreamboat alrite....
still, try and keep personal abuse to a minimum neil. he may well be a member of this site. you wouldnt like it if someone called you a ginger tosser.
Did not realise you were mod but congrats on the job if you are. In addition I did not know there was a rule against personal abuse to members of the public or those who are high profile media figures or journalists. If that is the case I am sure most threads would contain such comments and up to now I have not seen any correction on this basis. In this case I did not directly insult a member of the forum. If he happens to be a member of the forum tough ****, but in addition, Dion Fanning or Cathal Dervan could also be a member of the forumand they have been called tossers by many people and I have not seen you with your moderator hat, on going around correcting them. So until you adopt a consistant policy on this issue you, your argument does not stand up.
30/01/2008, 3:31 PM
I describe it as ginger.
Billsthoughts
30/01/2008, 3:59 PM
Did not realise you were mod but congrats on the job if you are. In addition I did not know there was a rule against personal abuse to members of the public or those who are high profile media figures or journalists. If that is the case I am sure most threads would contain such comments and up to now I have not seen any correction on this basis. In this case I did not directly insult a member of the forum. If he happens to be a member of the forum tough ****, but in addition, Dion Fanning or Cathal Dervan could also be a member of the forumand they have been called tossers by many people and I have not seen you with your moderator hat, on going around correcting them. So until you adopt a consistant policy on this issue you, your argument does not stand up.
Just the rules of civilised society Neil.
There is a report the post button if you have a problem with other posts.
I do not have the time to read every post.
31/01/2008, 8:26 AM
Are you "strawberry blonde" perhaps Bill?
Billsthoughts
31/01/2008, 2:08 PM
www.gingerkids.org
they are people too you know!
31/01/2008, 11:59 PM
anyone else think the question mark at the end of the title to this thread is the biggest waste ever of a question mark?
danonion
01/02/2008, 2:53 AM
anyone else think the question mark at the end of the title to this thread is the biggest waste ever of a question mark?
Does a lad who fashions himself as "Daddy Dick" really have self-esteem problems?
kennedmc
01/02/2008, 12:45 PM
Saw highlights of City V Derby the other night and Ireland looked very good in central midfield - his awareness, passing, technique and ability to get in the box at the right time are first class.
In time and with more self belief I believe he can be our Cesc Fabregas (although not quite up to his level)
I thought you had to be selected to join an international squad? Not the other way around. People / footballers are different and need to be treated / managed in different ways - it called man management and Givens is a ********* clown that does know much about much.
Ireland has few players of this quality and we need him in the squad.
01/02/2008, 1:55 PM
In time and with more self belief I believe he can be our Cesc Fabregas
Unfortunately we don't have a Flamini, a Hamaan or a Joey Barton (alongside whom Ireland played well under Pearce), each capable of enforcing midfield in his own different way. Steven Reid might just be capable.
01/02/2008, 1:58 PM
What about a 3 man midfield of Andy Reid, Steven Reid and Stephen Ireland with Duff and Keane either side of them and Doyle up the middle possibley. Give Robbie Keane lots of freedom.
01/02/2008, 2:11 PM
There are lots of permutations from the Reids, Carsley, Duff, Hunt, McGeady, Ireland, Doyle and Robbie that make sense in theory from a laptop but what'll work in reality against a midfield of four agile, tall athletes with good technique?
The midfielder whose performances in green have impressed me most in the last year (bar Reid against Germany) was Darren Potter who did everything I like to see a midfielder do. Can we trust him to play to the same standard in qualification games? I wouldn't.
02/02/2008, 8:42 PM
How did ye think he played today? I was keeping a close eye on him and his off the ball running was frighteing only to be let down endlessy by petrov and elano poor passing, every time ireland had the ball attacking he seemed to be the furthest player forward and had to hold the ball up. Andy Gray commented on how weel he played but in the manchester evening news (which seems to have the most negative members in the comments section btw) only gave ireland a 5 and said he poor. Followed by comments by fans saying most of the players are not good enough for prem league and ireland was extremely poor. What ye think?
Paddy Garcia
02/02/2008, 8:49 PM
The midfielder whose performances in green have impressed me most in the last year (bar Reid against Germany) was Darren Potter who did everything I like to see a midfielder do. Can we trust him to play to the same standard in qualification games? I wouldn't.
Well he is currently not trusted in the starting line up for a Championship side. I think he is way off international class at present.
02/02/2008, 9:08 PM
Well he is currently not trusted in the starting line up for a Championship side. I think he is way off international class at present.
agree wityou paddy garcia, saw him at 21 match and thought he was only alright being honest. I ws actually more impressed with stephen quinn that day, the foxy quinn that is not sure if he stephen quinn or alan.
cheifo
02/02/2008, 10:11 PM
Arsenal outplayed Citeh so comphrehensivley it was difficult to judge but I thought Ireland was their only player that looked like making something happen.
03/02/2008, 1:43 AM
If he'd scored early on when he beat the offside trap and just needed to lift the ball over Lehmann, it could have all been so different
RivaldoBabb
03/02/2008, 11:20 AM
Arsenal outplayed Citeh so comphrehensivley it was difficult to judge but I thought Ireland was their only player that looked like making something happen.
You were obviously watching a different game than I watched, he was brutal, touched the ball about 3 times and was bundled off it everytime there was a 50/50. He is much ado about nothing if you ask me ... and he obviously has a problem playing for ireland so stuff him. Does he think he is Roy Keane or something or some kind of wayward genius?? Imagine making rubbish excuses when selected to play for Ireland...
03/02/2008, 12:30 PM
You were obviously watching a different game than I watched, he was brutal, touched the ball about 3 times and was bundled off it everytime there was a 50/50. He is much ado about nothing if you ask me ... and he obviously has a problem playing for ireland so stuff him. Does he think he is Roy Keane or something or some kind of wayward genius?? Imagine making rubbish excuses when selected to play for Ireland...
well you were obviously watching a dofferent game to what myself and chief were watching.
03/02/2008, 12:52 PM
I think Ireland is going to get the same criticism's throughout his career as the likes of Seedorf. Too many people don't appreciate the simple things. There's a reason he's getting his game.
cheifo
03/02/2008, 3:35 PM
I think Ireland is going to get the same criticism's throughout his career as the likes of Seedorf. Too many people don't appreciate the simple things. There's a reason he's getting his game.
True IMO hes clearly got ability at getting in scoring positions and setting up others as he has vision especially when he floats inside.He might never be world class but a damn good player who we could do with.Needs a quality centre forward at City to play behind.Benjani would/will do.
03/02/2008, 7:12 PM
Just won the Young player of the year. Priceless he can film the interview but he cant contact Don Givens or the FAI. Irish football is like a soap Opera sometimes.
Murpholini
03/02/2008, 7:41 PM
Superman said he will return but he's still feeling a bit Kraptoniite.;)
04/02/2008, 1:07 PM
I heard an interview with Dunne on the radio this am and he said Ireland has no interest in coming back and would much prefer to stay at home during the international breaks.
V off Ireland :p.
04/02/2008, 1:49 PM
I thought it was funny how Micah Richards presented him with the award and not done. Thought Peter collins was priceless after it returned to citywest, ****ing himself laughing.
george
04/02/2008, 1:54 PM
Listening to Richard Dunne interview this morning, it's clear Stephen Ireland has no intention of returning to play international football till its suits him, we're better off without the likes of him...Complete tool...
youngirish
04/02/2008, 1:58 PM
Listening to Richard Dunne interview this morning, it's clear Stephen Ireland has no intention of returning to play international football till its suits him, we're better off without the likes of him...Complete tool...
He's a fool anyway. We should be ok in central midfield for the future with the two Reids playing regularly in the Premiership and the likes of Joey O'Brien and Garvan as backup so thankfully no great loss. He's far too slow for the wide positions.
He's too much of a passenger for our team we need someone with a bit of bite and drive in the midfield.
04/02/2008, 2:02 PM
I think it's better to have players available than not available but I agree with youngirish. I just don't see Ireland being in our starting XI. He's a luxury player but we can't afford to include his type.
I really hope our midfield copes well against England U21s tomorrow night, just to confirm our hopes that there's a good batch of midfielders coming through.
Sligo Hornet
04/02/2008, 2:06 PM
Is it just me....but everytime I see him he irritates the sh*te out of me:mad:.....he's got that face now that you could never tire of slapping!;)