View Full Version : Stephen Ireland

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 [84] 85

15/05/2016, 11:51 PM
The virtual (indignant) finger was pointed at Stu.
If one turns context on it's ears, cut a smiley from one part of Stu's post and paste it into another part, then we could make a solid case against Stu for laughing at the plight of SI.

I don't care enough about SI to feel anything atm, but I wouldn't rule out indulging in a bit of schadenfreude in the near future.
I guess Roy won't be pitching his tent outside Stephen's house now.

My apparent indignant swipe at our Canadian resident was in fact an indignant swipe at TOWK for surmising that all and sundry were laughing at the great Mr Ireland. Pack away the pistol. POSH ain't here.

16/05/2016, 11:41 AM
My apparent indignant swipe at our Canadian resident was in fact an indignant swipe at TOWK for surmising that all and sundry were laughing at the great Mr Ireland. Pack away the pistol. POSH ain't here.
I thought it was understood (as in bleedin' obvious) that you would understand that I was not referring to you as being the owner of the indignant finger.

You are slower than I thought Bonnie, I will have to put in about 5 disclaimers in future, possibly 6.

TheOneWhoKnocks
16/05/2016, 2:16 PM
Guess that rules him out of the Euros...

Presumably what happened to Fabrice Muamba was also a source of wisecracks.

16/05/2016, 2:38 PM
Guess he won't be going to the Euros either.

16/05/2016, 2:49 PM
alright, Stephen Ireland has broken a leg, which has ruled him out of football for the forseeable future. Moving on.

16/05/2016, 2:51 PM

I think the person that equates a leg break with a career ending on-field heart attack during which the person was clinically dead for a number of minutes is the one who has the bigger issues here and absolutely zero grasp on reality.

The joke, my friend, is that SI had already ruled himself out of the Euros by his words and deeds. The leg break makes absolutely no difference. It wasn't "ahahahaha that d1ckhead cant play the euros now ahahahahaha".

16/05/2016, 3:01 PM
I thought it was understood (as in bleedin' obvious) that you would understand that I was not referring to you as being the owner of the indignant finger.

You are slower than I thought Bonnie, I will have to put in about 5 disclaimers in future, possibly 6.

One can't keep reading the lines between the lines. It becomes rather tiresome.

By all means be "obvious" but when the resident "Angry of Windsor" is involved, perhaps bullet points and diagrams can help us not descend into madness.

TheOneWhoKnocks
16/05/2016, 3:18 PM
You would think people would be a bit more sensitive all things considered.

I'm not going to say anything else. I'm sure the penny will drop for one or two eventually.

16/05/2016, 3:23 PM
*Unsubscribe*

17/05/2016, 5:46 PM
Charlie is that a suggestion or a personal action?

17/05/2016, 5:49 PM
I'm in a bit of a pickle here because it was the latter but by answering I'm showing I clearly haven't had the moral courage to follow through.

17/05/2016, 7:31 PM
I'm in a bit of a pickle here because it was the latter but by answering I'm showing I clearly haven't had the moral courage to follow through.

You've never had the moral courage to follow-through.

19/05/2016, 2:40 PM
One can't keep reading the lines between the lines. It becomes rather tiresome.

By all means be "obvious" but when the resident "Angry of Windsor" is involved, perhaps bullet points and diagrams can help us not descend into madness.
You didn't have to read between the lines, you just had to postpone emotional response and read the lines as written.
What can stop you going mad? the answer to that is beyond me, perhaps talk less and listen to Stutts a bit more :)

Eminence Grise
14/06/2016, 7:42 AM
Because it's all about meeeeeee...

http://www.rte.ie/entertainment/2016/0614/795416-stephen-ireland/

http://www.independent.ie/style/weddings/inside-stephen-ireland-and-jessica-lawlors-lavish-weddingincluding-a-cake-taller-than-the-two-of-them-34799183.html (http://www.rte.ie/entertainment/2016/0614/795416-stephen-ireland/)

Sad that the only way he gets press coverage during a major tournament is in the gossip pages. Time to stfu and stop annoying us?

14/06/2016, 10:59 AM
Wealthy man spends large amounts of money on wedding. I, for one, am shocked

TheOneWhoKnocks
05/12/2016, 11:25 AM
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/premier-league/daniel-mcdonnell-irelands-mystery-man-stephen-ireland-has-fallen-out-of-sight-35267719.html

05/05/2017, 1:44 PM
Rewarded a short term contract to help him recover from injury:
http://www.stokesentinel.co.uk/stoke-playmaker-stephen-ireland-to-be-handed-new-short-term-contract/story-30314258-detail/story.html

20/08/2017, 10:07 PM
Interviewed in the Times at the weekend, but it's behind a paywall: https://www.thetimes.co.uk/edition/irish-sport/stephen-ireland-playing-the-waiting-game-rwhkgqdgl

Olé Olé
20/08/2017, 10:30 PM
http://m.independent.ie/sport/soccer/international-soccer/stephen-ireland-reveals-breakdown-in-communication-with-martin-oneill-and-roy-keane-over-ireland-return-36049867.html

Snippet from the interview in the above. I find it hard to believe anything this lad says, for obvious reasons. I would imagine, particularly given the sensitivities, MON would be more measured in his interactions with him.

Everything he says appears to me like a desperate effort to save face. The reality is that the guy will never have a legacy. Not with City, Villa, Newcastle or Stoke. Most importantly, from my perspective, he will never enjoy a legacy amongst his countrymen, the Ireland supporters. He was/is incredibly gifted. James McClean, for instance, is not. But James is a sporting icon in his own country that will be remembered for generations. Stephen Ireland will be the butt of a funny story about grannies.

Olé Olé
20/08/2017, 10:42 PM
Maybe I'm a bit harsh. He played over 100 games for City and had some good seasons but the influx of wealth has ensured that they have a new and more successful history to refer to. That said, I'm sure he won't ever enjoy the legacy of someone like Shaun Goater that would pre-date that.

liamoo11
20/08/2017, 11:23 PM
I hope he gets back to a level to go and play in the championship and play 10or 15 games in a row at that level and then he should ring up Martin o Neill and say please consider me for a friendly in March. He might still have 2 campaigns in him to help us in a creative sense at times in games but it would be one hell of a resurrection

samhaydenjr
21/08/2017, 12:43 AM
http://m.independent.ie/sport/soccer/international-soccer/stephen-ireland-reveals-breakdown-in-communication-with-martin-oneill-and-roy-keane-over-ireland-return-36049867.html

Snippet from the interview in the above. I find it hard to believe anything this lad says, for obvious reasons. I would imagine, particularly given the sensitivities, MON would be more measured in his interactions with him.

Everything he says appears to me like a desperate effort to save face. The reality is that the guy will never have a legacy. Not with City, Villa, Newcastle or Stoke. Most importantly, from my perspective, he will never enjoy a legacy amongst his countrymen, the Ireland supporters. He was/is incredibly gifted. James McClean, for instance, is not. But James is a sporting icon in his own country that will be remembered for generations. Stephen Ireland will be the butt of a funny story about grannies.

It's not so much that anything is factually incorrect - it's the way he interprets and rationalises events to make him seem that he's the reasonable party - for example when he talks about how MON had said he might try to meet him when he was in the Manchester area (note, without a definite commitment) but didn't, for whatever reason, make it. Then he talks about missing a call from MON but not calling him back because O'Neill had already reached his agent and the call was to tell him he wasn't in that squad, after which he complains that people thought he was being diva-ish. Well...he kinda was - for whatever reason (reliability perhaps), O'Neill had decided to go a different way and had done him the courtesy of reaching out to let him know personally. And the grown-up, professional thing for Ireland to do, given the circumstances, would have been to call him back, thank O'Neill for his consideration and for taking the time make the personal call, and reiterate his desire to play for Ireland in the future. O'Neill seems like the kind of guy who's willing to be patient and reasonable but doesn't want to be given the runaround (as I think the successful recruitment of Scott Hogan has shown)

Olé Olé
21/08/2017, 10:47 AM
It's not so much that anything is factually incorrect - it's the way he interprets and rationalises events to make him seem that he's the reasonable party - for example when he talks about how MON had said he might try to meet him when he was in the Manchester area (note, without a definite commitment) but didn't, for whatever reason, make it. Then he talks about missing a call from MON but not calling him back because O'Neill had already reached his agent and the call was to tell him he wasn't in that squad, after which he complains that people thought he was being diva-ish. Well...he kinda was - for whatever reason (reliability perhaps), O'Neill had decided to go a different way and had done him the courtesy of reaching out to let him know personally. And the grown-up, professional thing for Ireland to do, given the circumstances, would have been to call him back, thank O'Neill for his consideration and for taking the time make the personal call, and reiterate his desire to play for Ireland in the future. O'Neill seems like the kind of guy who's willing to be patient and reasonable but doesn't want to be given the runaround (as I think the successful recruitment of Scott Hogan has shown)

Agree with this from top to bottom.

DeLorean
21/08/2017, 11:27 AM
Herself was watching an episode of Homes Under The Hammer yesterday, co-presented by none other than Dion Dublin. I asked if Dublin is actually presenting this show on a regular basis or if it's just a one-off kind of thing. She informed me that it's a regular thing. Anyway, I said I always thought Dublin comes across very well, to which she replied, "yeah, he does, but it's a pity he's such a liar". I was a bit baffled by this so asked what she means... The thread I'm posting this on probably ruins the ending but she answered back, "wasn't he the guy that lied about his granny dying?". :eek:

Diggs246
21/08/2017, 12:45 PM
He let his country down and has went on to blame everybody, apart from himself

colonelwest
21/08/2017, 1:24 PM
Delusions of self importance still abound I see, 5-10 years later and still looking for the management to go running after him asking him to come back. Well, tough luck Stephen, we moved on a long time ago while you and your career stood still and there's about 10 other lads ahead of you in the pecking order even if you did come crawling back. Could have been a very good player but his career has just passed him by down to his own issues and lack of determination/ work ethic etc, a pity but all of his own making. Stoke only extended his contract until January this year as he had the break, he'll be looking for another club come the new year/ end of the season and will be lucky to get one given he hasn't kicked a ball for the guts of 2 years.

youngirish
21/08/2017, 7:47 PM
Now this is the player we really should be chasing to play for Ireland. A 31 year old journeyman whose best days are far behind him. Martin fly over to his house immediately and do whatever it takes to get him back on board. If you're thinking of a bribe I believe he needs a new black land rover with pink rims.

CraftyToePoke
21/08/2017, 8:03 PM
He might offer something we don't have, player wise, in the set up worth the chat anyway with him.

Diggs246
21/08/2017, 10:01 PM
Thats a gag right?

22/08/2017, 9:19 AM
Just a comma in the wrong place, hardly worth a laugh.

KrisLetang
22/08/2017, 5:56 PM
It's his Birthday today.

16/12/2017, 11:03 AM
Hughes convinces board to extend Ireland's contract: https://m.independent.ie/sport/soccer/mark-hughes-convinces-stoke-board-to-extend-stephen-irelands-contract-36411843.html
Hopes to return after 18 months out in Stoke's cup tie in January

19/12/2017, 9:24 AM
Had totally forgotten him. Surprised Hughes is able to persuade the Board to do anything with him only a few consecutive losses away from the sack.

I wonder what website I went on to have Pat Kenny looking at me all the time here in an advertisement. I went to the RTE site to read Scott Brown's comments on the defeat by Hearts but Kenny doesn't work for RTE any more. Time to go a Russian dating site: the pictures from the cookie trail are much more attractive.

19/12/2017, 3:51 PM
Had totally forgotten him. Surprised Hughes is able to persuade the Board to do anything with him only a few consecutive losses away from the sack.

I wonder what website I went on to have Pat Kenny looking at me all the time here in an advertisement. I went to the RTE site to read Scott Brown's comments on the defeat by Hearts but Kenny doesn't work for RTE any more. Time to go a Russian dating site: the pictures from the cookie trail are much more attractive.

My God, these cookies are powerful. I just have to MENTION Russian dating in my post (I swear I didn't go on to a site) and the next time I log on.....frightening.

ArFella
20/12/2017, 8:06 AM
I know what you mean, I called someone a w****r in a previous post and now all I'm getting is the same: :P

https://foot.ie/attachment.php?attachmentid=2636&stc=1

liamoo11
01/01/2018, 2:02 PM
well done to stephen ireland back on bench today after horror injury

liamoo11
05/01/2018, 10:08 PM
https://m.independent.ie/sport/soccer/stephen-ireland-on-gruesome-leg-break-and-recovery-hell-i-saw-my-tooth-fly-out-of-the-ambulance-when-i-asked-them-to-find-it-they-came-back-with-a-stone-36461772.html great read hope goes well for him

liamoo11
06/01/2018, 1:50 PM
gets a start today hope he helps hughes keep his job

Olé Olé
06/01/2018, 4:15 PM
gets a start today hope he helps hughes keep his job
Hughes has helped him keep enough of jobs.

samhaydenjr
06/01/2018, 7:41 PM
Hughes gone: http://www.bbc.com/sport/football/42332958. Don't think that's good news for Ireland - a new manager may not have the same patience with him as Hughes obviously did

07/01/2018, 5:00 PM
Don't think that's good news for Ireland Yes, but it might be good news for Ireland.

samhaydenjr
07/01/2018, 10:56 PM
Yes, but it might be good news for Ireland.

So what you're saying is what's bad for Ireland could be good for Ireland... yes, I can see that. Of course it's possible that it might turn out to be good for Ireland, but bad for Ireland. There is also the possibility that it could turn out to be good for both Ireland and Ireland, but I don't think anyone's counting on that - would be some new manager at Stoke to pull that off. Most likely, whether it's good or bad for Ireland, it will likely make no difference to Ireland. In fairness, there was a moment in the FA Cup defeat to Coventry where Ireland's potential value to Ireland was shown, but unfortunately we all know that Ireland can't really count on Ireland.

08/01/2018, 2:05 PM
Loved that.

12/08/2018, 8:06 AM
Linked with a move to Germany now. As a free agent, he can still move outside the transfer window.

The reports all seen to stem from one article in the daily mail, so it could just be his agent pushing Bolton (where he had a trial) to offer a contract

seanfhear
12/08/2018, 10:34 AM
If only his Granny had not taken that turn . In fairness he was too high maintenance for International football . You either want to be there or you don’t . Over no loss to us .

21/08/2018, 10:03 PM
more on the potential move to Germany: https://reviersport.de/artikel/bundesligisten-an-ex-mancity-star-interessiert/
(piping through google translate)

Irish international Stephen Ireland (31) made a name for himself at Manchester City in England. Now he could change to Germany.

As this editors learned, several Bundesliga clubs will be interested in the central midfielder, including Borussia Mönchengladbach (https://reviersport.de/team/bor-moenchengladbach/) . The 31-year-old recently played in the Premier League with relegated Stoke City. His contract was terminated after the season ended, since Ireland has found no new club.

During his long career on the island he has played football at a high level. His breakthrough came in the jersey of Manchester City. For the Citizens Ireland made 138 games and scored 16 goals. His other stations in England were Aston Villa, Newcastle United and most recently Stoke City.

27/09/2018, 10:22 PM
Possibly signing for Aberdeen in the next few days: https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/3267350/stephen-ireland-aberdeen-transfer-news-free-transfer-closing-in-stoke-city-derek-mcinnes/

09/10/2018, 9:27 PM
Signed a short term deal with Bolton: https://www.bwfc.co.uk/news/2018/october/wanderers-snap-up-stephen-ireland-on-short-term-deal/

11/10/2018, 10:11 AM
more on the potential move to Germany:)

Possibly signing for Aberdeen in the next few days

Signed a short term deal with Bolton: https://www.bwfc.co.uk/news/2018/october/wanderers-snap-up-stephen-ireland-on-short-term-deal/

From Germany to Aberdeen to Bolton all in the space of a few weeks. Aberdeen was never going to be a runner when Adam Rooney left them for higher wages in the 5th tier of English football. Bolton. Hmmm. They couldn't afford to pay their players' wages a month or so ago. I think he should have stuck with Germany.

seanfhear
11/10/2018, 10:15 AM
He could have been a contender ! He could have been some one ! Maybe he is happy enough....but he means nothing to us !