View Full Version : Stephen Ireland
ArdeeBhoy
15/09/2013, 11:05 AM
Ask him to come back. And don't pick him...
Unless he deserves it on merit, then treat him as a newbie and use him as a sub in friendlies etc.
Crosby87
15/09/2013, 12:36 PM
https://encrypted-tbn1.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSFqRg8FxBUhTB_e3yrFckcPVU5f4vmI GGs6rCehZbQh_bXNdUXPw
Perhaps we can bribe him with free hair plugs.
ArdeeBhoy
15/09/2013, 1:48 PM
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/international/2013/0915/474360-ireland-ponders-international-return/
http://thescore.thejournal.ie/poll-would-you-welcome-stephen-ireland-back-1084277-Sep2013/?utm_source=facebook_short
15/09/2013, 2:49 PM
He's being a bit non-committal, but I'd imagine at this stage it might be to avoid the embarrassment of not being picked. If he was playing well enough, I'd gladly have him back.
Paddy Garcia
15/09/2013, 7:17 PM
I imagine this will squeeze Whelan to the fringes. A midfield of Wilson, Nzonzi and Ireland could be absolute magic.
Agreed, though news to me - is it an Irish granny?
Crosby87
15/09/2013, 7:52 PM
It was, sadly she has passed.
back of the net
23/09/2013, 11:20 AM
How can anyone doubt Stephens Commitment to the Irish cause - look at his squad number "IRELAND 32" ......hahaha....dear lord stephen.
http://www.stokecityfc.com/team/player-profile/index.aspx?playerid=299570&tcmuri=1034193
ArdeeBhoy
23/09/2013, 11:27 AM
Irony alert...
23/09/2013, 12:58 PM
back of the net, as regards your signature and apropos of nothing other than this is a debate about Ireland, your country is actually Ireland, not the Republic of Ireland. Have a look at your passport and the Official name of the State.
back of the net
23/09/2013, 1:02 PM
back of the net, as regards your signature and apropos of nothing other than this is a debate about Ireland, your country is actually Ireland, not the Republic of Ireland. Have a look at your passport and the Official name of the State.
Owlsfan............read all my signature...."Republic of Ireland Forever" is representative of my football team not the island of ireland.
In football terms are we not recognised by UEFA and FIFA as "Republic of Ireland" or do you know something that i dont?
23/09/2013, 1:04 PM
He gave the ball away cheaply for Arsenal's 3rd. Looked tidy enough otherwise from the 25 mins or so that I saw. He doesn't mind being on the ball, which is often a useful attribute for a footballer. He still looks every inch a final-third player though, rather than a guy who can grab a game and influence it.
back of the net
23/09/2013, 1:12 PM
Thought he looked very tidy for his short appearance against arsenal ...considering the lack of game time he has been getting over the past while is good to see.
Must say at times during the 08/09 season at city i thought he did influence games albeit thats along time ago now
ArdeeBhoy
23/09/2013, 1:14 PM
http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10151663394591801&set=a.189926531800.122340.175730311800&type=1&theater
back of the net
23/09/2013, 1:16 PM
http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10151663394591801&set=a.189926531800.122340.175730311800&type=1&theater
Ardee - cant access it - whats the photo?
ArdeeBhoy
23/09/2013, 1:19 PM
Same photo, more about the comments...
You must know someone on Facebook, surely?
as_i_say
23/09/2013, 2:04 PM
Seems his career began to nosedive when he ditched the wig. I'd only consider having him back if he came back with the wig, and only if it was a ginger wig too. Needs to do something to prove his commitment imo.
I voted yes to the poll, wish I could unvote that yes though. The lad is a tulip.
ArdeeBhoy
23/09/2013, 2:51 PM
Reckon if he did actually come back, he would prove to be the first Irish player to be booed by the majority of an Irish crowd.
Which is a negative vibe which probably means it's not worth considering?
Probably wouldn't myself, but could understand why.
Yard of Pace
23/09/2013, 3:39 PM
He is on record as saying he watched us play on telly and felt nothing so it'd be pretty difficult to endear himself to the fans again. That said, we've had such a drought of creativity that if the Divil himself was handy on the ball in the centre and had an Irish grandparent then we'd probably take him.
23/09/2013, 3:41 PM
I've no time for him but it's a new start for everyone. New manager, new ideas (or old ideas but in English), clean slate for everyone. Game on.
23/09/2013, 4:35 PM
That's my opinion too, but he should be one to contact the FAI to make himself available.
Therefore, I don't think it's going to happen.
If it did happen by some outcome, I think there would be little to bother about, he's a small personality in the scheme of things and we have managed in the past to get over the return of an infinitely larger and more divisive personality.
23/09/2013, 5:32 PM
They could stage the first home game at St. Colman's Park.
23/09/2013, 5:38 PM
He would be a big personality in St Colman's Park.
24/09/2013, 3:31 AM
If his form is good enough, call him into a squad, even without him making contact with the FAI first.
See if he turns up and makes the effort. If the fans react negatively, see how he response to that.
Can't remember how I voted in the poll (or if I did) but my vote now would just be 'yes', or preferably 'yes depending on his form'.
24/09/2013, 6:45 AM
It's all done via agents these days. Both parties could save face about making the first move, but it'd enhance my nobheadometer's reading of SI if he maintained he needed to be contacted.
24/09/2013, 11:13 AM
Funny that the add at the top of the page is for hair transplants. Obviously the advertisements can pick up wording in topics like wigs and the appropriate advertisements appear. I wonder what the advertisements are for the hot celebrity pictures in the general forum.
24/09/2013, 11:41 AM
Owlsfan............read all my signature...."Republic of Ireland Forever" is representative of my football team not the island of ireland.
In football terms are we not recognised by UEFA and FIFA as "Republic of Ireland" or do you know something that i dont?
I wouldn't worry what Septic Blatter and his ilk call us - we are Ireland.
24/09/2013, 11:47 AM
Funny that the add at the top of the page is for hair transplants. Obviously the advertisements can pick up wording in topics like wigs and the appropriate advertisements appear. I wonder what the advertisements are for the hot celebrity pictures in the general forum.
You do realise that google ads are also based on your own browsing history.
24/09/2013, 12:01 PM
I think they also pick up keywords. So anytime I discuss Darron Gibson I get online guitar shop ads. Anytime I discuss my age and possible dissatisfaction with Mrs Stuttgart I get middle-aged slappers. I never get hot celebs unfortunately.
SwanVsDalton
24/09/2013, 12:09 PM
I think they also pick up keywords. So anytime I discuss Darron Gibson I get online guitar shop ads.
Is that why this thread is showing me clip-on hair extensions?
Junior
24/09/2013, 12:17 PM
I think they also pick up keywords. So anytime I discuss Darron Gibson I get online guitar shop ads.
Surely you mean Andy Reid?;)
back of the net
24/09/2013, 12:20 PM
I wouldn't worry what Septic Blatter and his ilk call us - we are Ireland.
Our team are called officially the "Republic of Ireland"......so I will focus on that as that is what we are called in the international football community and within the football governing bodies
CraftyToePoke
24/09/2013, 4:24 PM
Do ye not just use some add blocker lads?
Not that I do. Or would. Ever.
24/09/2013, 4:32 PM
Do ye not just use some add blocker lads?
This is an advertising supported site. Please consider disabling your ad blocking software on Foot.ie.
CraftyToePoke
24/09/2013, 4:39 PM
This is an advertising supported site. Please consider disabling your ad blocking software on Foot.ie.
So where did you read that then geysir ? It wasn't amongst any pesky distracting ads I'll wager :)
24/09/2013, 4:45 PM
So where did you read that then geysir ? It wasn't amongst any pesky distracting ads I'll wager :)
Top of the page
http://foot.ie/forum.php
I got fed up with ads reminding me of my browsing history :D
ArdeeBhoy
26/09/2013, 12:08 AM
Noel's got his eye on 'our' Stephen...:eek:
http://thescore.thejournal.ie/stephen-ireland-scores-stoke-tranmere-noel-king-1100692-Sep2013/?utm_source=facebook_short
Luckily it was only Tranmere he played well against...
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/english/2013/0926/476517-ireland-impresses-stoke-boss-hughes/
DannyInvincible
26/09/2013, 10:54 AM
Ireland's goal last night was his first since scoring for Aston Villa against Chelsea on the 31st December, 2011.
27/09/2013, 3:48 PM
highlights of the Tranmere - Stoke game, including Ireland's goal: http://www1.skysports.com/watch/video/sports/football/8943350/tranmere-0-2-stoke
DannyInvincible
01/10/2013, 10:51 PM
The message from Ireland appears to be much the same, even after King having gone to the effort of speaking with his agent; non-committal.
"‘He wants to play for us’ – Noel King on Stephen Ireland": http://www.thescore.ie/stephen-ireland-wants-to-come-back-noel-king-1107922-Sep2013/
AFTER RECALLING FOUR players who had found themselves out of favour under former manager Giovanni Trapattoni, Noel King said today that another exile, Stephen Ireland, ‘wants to play’ for his country again.
Speaking after announcing his 25-man squad for the upcoming World Cup qualifiers against Germany and Kazakhstan, King said he’d been in touch with representatives of the Stoke midfielder who hasn’t played for his country since 2007.
“I spoke to Stephen’s agent. I completely understand, he’s been out for so long. He’s a very good player and has played a couple of half games that I watched.
“He’s getting his career back on track and I understand fully that he’s not ready in his head, in his physique, in his conditioning.
“I respect what he said. If you had a son and he was in that position you’d like to make sure not to rush it.
“He wants to be back in top condition for himself and he wants to play for Ireland.”
When pressed further, King said that any decision on a return would ultimately have to be taken by the 27-year old.
“That’s up to him but from what I’ve gathered he wants to play for Ireland and that’s great.”
Ireland has been in self-imposed exile from the international set-up since falsely claiming his grandmothers had died before a key Euro 2008 qualifier against the Czech Republic.
Despite only playing six times for his country, Ireland has four goals to his name and has reportedly expressed a desire to return recently.
He's been claiming he'd be interested in a return for quite some time now, so when will he actually decide he's ready, if ever?
Fixer82
01/10/2013, 11:04 PM
Seems perfect for him to come back under an interim manager.
That way there's no issue with the new manager
02/10/2013, 6:37 AM
I think he's got a point. Re-establish his club form and match fitness first, available for selection later. If anything, not having him in this squad is good for King. He can get down to business without all the fuss.
dr_peepee
02/10/2013, 1:05 PM
Nah... Have to disagree...These two matches under an interim manager is exactly the right time to absorb the fuss around a return for Stephen Ieland.
Plus, it's not as if he's returning from an extended absence as a result of a career threatening injury and so needs to consider his efforts to that degree. I don't buy his reasoning.
I said in a previous post i was more annoyed at myself for hoping he'd see this oppertunity for what it is. He's not all there. Must get some sort of kick out of being courted.
02/10/2013, 1:17 PM
Ah, go back to your own exile so then!
I agree he's a nutjob though.
youngirish
02/10/2013, 5:12 PM
He's an idiot. The intelligence and attitude of a spoilt 5 year old.
Surely he's not deserving of taking the place of someone in the squad that may actually consider it an honour to play for their country. He's been rubbish anyway with the exception of a good season and a half he had at city about 5 years ago now.
02/10/2013, 5:34 PM
For a second I thought you were going to call him 'pants' :)
youngirish
02/10/2013, 6:48 PM
For a second I thought you were going to call him 'pants' :)
He has been absolute superman pants for about 5 years now.
03/10/2013, 6:58 AM
My God, could you imagine if he was due to play this week and then withdrew because of this?
http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/grandmother-of-soccer-star-stephen-ireland-dies-29631179.html
Anyway, may she RIP.
ArdeeBhoy
03/10/2013, 8:59 AM
Hmm, part of you almost isn't sure, given the content. And source.
RIP anyway.
back of the net
03/10/2013, 10:51 PM
mark hughes has said today, ireland should not rejoin the intl setup until he establishes himself at club level first
ArdeeBhoy
04/10/2013, 2:35 AM
My God, could you imagine if he was due to play this week and then withdrew because of this?
http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/grandmother-of-soccer-star-stephen-ireland-dies-29631179.html
Anyway, may she RIP.
http://waterfordwhispersnews.com/2013/10/03/nation-not-all-that-convinced-about-death-of-stephen-irelands-grandmother/