View Full Version : Stephen Ireland

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 [72] 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85

27/02/2012, 8:20 PM
he wants back in after the euros

So he doesn't want to play friendlies, just Germany in October I guess. Any other games he is willing to give up playing against Stoke and Sunderland reserves for? Brazil 2014/France 2016/Russia 2018 maybe???

“I am buzzing about the European Championships and I will be supporting the team all the way.”
He's a madman. It's not that long ago he was saying when he sees us on the telly he feels nothing! He did say that, didn't he? I'm 99% sure he did. Anyway, I guess this story will just run and run. It must be the longest saga in Irish football history at this stage.

I vaguely remember the media telling us on many occasions last year that x game and y game could be Trap's last in charge. Shockingly he's still here. How could all the sources get it completely wrong???

If Gary McKay wasn't playing for Jack, Jack would have been history after 87. Qualification changes everything. Suddenly trivial issues look what they are and most people see the bigger picture. Stephen Ireland's issues are not trivial however, they are fundamental.

Scooby Doo
27/02/2012, 8:45 PM
That is great! How long did it take to do that Worm?! :clap:

DannyInvincible
27/02/2012, 9:03 PM
I can see it now
http://i41.tinypic.com/29ny0yr.png

Where's the 'thank' button gone?

Sullivinho
27/02/2012, 9:07 PM
I don't think Trap would trust this chap as far as he could throw him. A physical feat very unlikely to be accomplished by a pensioner. The water muddies further when you try to factor in the approximate speed of the oncoming bus.

I'm sure he'll be spectacular in the post-Italian era though.

theworm2345
27/02/2012, 9:13 PM
That is great! How long did it take to do that Worm?! :clap:
Whole process (including gathering pictures) took basically the duration of the Shrewsbury - Crawley match which I was hoping to watch but once I got the picture in my head I couldn't stop. Probably could've made it better but rushed it a bit so I could pay full attention to the end of the match.

27/02/2012, 10:23 PM
It's hilarious, well done Worm.

gastric
27/02/2012, 10:46 PM
Where's the 'thank' button gone?

It's disappeared a bit of late, but like you infer Danny, this is certainly worthy of appreciation!

the bear
27/02/2012, 11:11 PM
nice one worm

shay as judus? hope he's not in league with the romans for the italy match

theworm2345
27/02/2012, 11:37 PM
nice one worm

shay as judus? hope he's not in league with the romans for the italy match
Oh Christ, my non-Christian education has screwed me over. Actually, I think the alteration makes it look better. I figured Judas would be the guy in the back whispering. Some Newcastle fans might like the original though.

http://i40.tinypic.com/33v0k1y.png

Crosby87
28/02/2012, 11:27 AM
So if we are to believe the Da Vinci code, Trap and RK are secretly married?

30/03/2012, 9:38 AM
Claims in the Daily Star today that he wants to come back: http://www.dailystar.co.uk/football/view/243213/Aston-Villa-star-Stephen-Ireland-would-love-Giovanni-Trapattoni-call-up/

30/03/2012, 10:17 AM
Claims in the Daily Star today that he wants to come back:

I read, others want him to come back, that he would welcome being invited to come back and he just might consider the matter after that prerequisite first contact invitation has been made.

DannyInvincible
30/03/2012, 12:32 PM
Someone should tell him the ball is in his court with regard to contacting the FAI and letting them know he's re-available for selection.

Junior
30/03/2012, 1:19 PM
Someone should tell him the ball is in his court with regard to contacting the FAI and letting them know he's re-available for selection.

I disagree. He should be ignored, there is no ball, there is no court.

theworm2345
30/03/2012, 2:20 PM
Someone should tell him he's an arrogant lying bald narcissistic **** who would be best served whoring his chav self for attention elsewhere.

DannyInvincible
30/03/2012, 5:36 PM
Hehe, easy now. I wasn't saying anyone should select him. I just think it's a bit odd that he seems to believe it's up to the FAI to come crawling back to him again after the association went to the bother of organising fruitless meetings with him in the past.

seanfhear
30/03/2012, 6:22 PM
Take your time Stephen. Just think about it for 10 or 15 years. Just wait by the phone.

30/03/2012, 10:09 PM
Take your time Stephen. Just think about it for 10 or 15 years. Just wait by the phone.

+1

Too many people who'd love to and deserve to never get to wear that shirt. F*** him right in his ear.

Crosby87
31/03/2012, 1:31 PM
More about the family wanting him to come back.
"Even the kids are putting me under pressure."

http://www.setanta.com/ien/Articles/2012/03/30/Ireland-feeling-pressure-over-Ireland/gnid-136591/ (http://www.setanta.com/ien/Articles/2012/03/30/Ireland-feeling-pressure-over-Ireland/gnid-136591/)

Nevermind its all already pretty much in the other article.

31/03/2012, 2:41 PM
A new poll might be in order?

But surely, on form, he isn't worthy of a place, right? Admittedly ive only seen him play twice this season and he was very good but don't even know (or care to check) whether he is currently in the villa team or not...

Yard of Pace
09/04/2012, 6:11 PM
"We watch all the Ireland matches. We still totally support them, we're not like this bitter, twisted, you know . . ." she trails off, horrified at the idea that people might imagine any bad blood on their part.

"I want people to know we're fully supportive of the whole Irish team. Like I said, we've put it in the past. We never wanted it to happen that way. We'd love to be part of that again -- love to be!" she says emphatically.
Does she think Stephen would to like to play for his country? "Yeah," she says without hesitation. "Definitely. We'd love it."
Does she think he believes it will happen? "I hope so. I don't know if he thinks . . . I mean there's so much politics to it. And obviously, after what happened, it's completely up to the manager. And we respect that. It's his decision. He's the one that does the team and stuff. It's up to him."

Read more: http://www.independent.ie/lifestyle/independent-woman/celebrity-news-gossip/wagamama-stephen-irelands-partner-jessica-lawlor-invites-us-into-their-beautiful-home-3074809.html#ixzz1rZHMc2P7

"We"!

Men just ain't like what they used to be, are they? ;)

09/04/2012, 7:08 PM
I think she also misses the point about SI having (a) retired and (b) openly criticised Trap's arrogance. It's not up to Trap at all. Why don't interviewers press her / him on this point?

theworm2345
09/04/2012, 7:10 PM
Does she think Stephen would to like to play for his country? "Yeah," she says without hesitation. "Definitely. We'd love it."
Does she think he believes it will happen? "I hope so. I don't know if he thinks . . . I mean there's so much politics to it. And obviously, after what happened, it's completely up to the manager. And we respect that. It's his decision. He's the one that does the team and stuff. It's up to him."
I'd say shes right there.

youngirish
09/04/2012, 7:53 PM
I wonder will he seem this keen to be called back into the squad after the Euros is over. I reckon deluded as he is that he still reckons there's time to force himself into the Euro squad. Its also poignant that he himself hasn't said anything on the matter. All the noise is emanating from third parties.

09/04/2012, 10:26 PM
Nice little set-up from Steven for Weimann's screamer today.

seanfhear
10/04/2012, 6:09 PM
I'd say shes right there. She sounds fairly keen but can she do the defensive work that Trap demands from his midfielders in a 442 formation.

13/04/2012, 5:54 PM
http://www.mirrorfootball.co.uk/news/Stephen-Ireland-ex-Manchester-City-now-Aston-Villa-admits-is-closet-Manchester-United-fan-article889831.html

He just loves any sort of attention!

you really do have to question his upbringing! (http://foot.ie/threads/99286-The-say-anything-what-s-on-your-mind-thread?p=1587542&viewfull=1#post1587542) ;)

13/04/2012, 6:45 PM
http://www.mirrorfootball.co.uk/news/Stephen-Ireland-ex-Manchester-City-now-Aston-Villa-admits-is-closet-Manchester-United-fan-article889831.html

He just loves any sort of attention!

you really do have to question his upbringing! (http://foot.ie/threads/99286-The-say-anything-what-s-on-your-mind-thread?p=1587542&viewfull=1#post1587542) ;)this is hardly new information
from 2006 (seriously, 2006!): http://fourfourtwo.com/interviews/boysabitspecial/320/article.aspx

Team supported
Manchester United until I arrived at City aged 14 and everything changed.

gilberto_eire
14/04/2012, 11:44 AM
From that same article, and this is one I don't remember whether it came up or not....

Hopefully enjoying my fifth season in the first team for City and playing international football – but seeing as I can play for England, Ireland and Italy, I’m not sure who it will be for.

Now I know things are a bit different for lads from Africa etc... but I can't think of one person who would have been born here, with full Irish parents(both of his are full right?) and who would consider playing for Italy and England.
You'd think for someone with a 100% Irish background, it would be Ireland or nothing.... :\

20/04/2012, 5:43 PM
Interview with the foreigner on Football focus tomorrow.

If the question comes his way.........he would consider it. Going to review the situation after the euros as unlikely that he will be picked for euros.

Seriously, this lad.....

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/17791626

DannyInvincible
20/04/2012, 7:56 PM
I think he's trying to say he's an angel with divine qualities: http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/17791952

Royal rover
20/04/2012, 8:23 PM
should never be allowed near the squad again - he's not patch on what he was 3 seasons ago , however the villa connection could see him back in the fold come september

backstothewall
21/04/2012, 8:24 AM
Doing his best to come across as a semi-normal human being. If he keeps this up and the likes of Shay, Dunners and Keano open a door for him he could well be back in September. Even if he isn't the same player he was 3 years ago, he has to be a better option than Paul Green.

Although I actually think his game now will suit trap's system better than it did 3 years ago

Colbert Report
21/04/2012, 8:54 AM
Trap always said that he would change the system to accomodate Ireland's qualities. ie. more attacking style. Mind you that was three years ago when he was one of the best players in the Premiership.

dr_peepee
21/04/2012, 9:19 AM
I'd sooner have Jon Douglas back in Green....

dr_peepee
21/04/2012, 11:32 AM
Just watched it there... There's some level of contrition and ownership of his situation at least.

Scooby Doo
21/04/2012, 3:01 PM
Dear Stephen,

http://25.media.tumblr.com/tumblr_lwlcobi1Yf1qzpsuoo1_500.jpg

Sincerely,
SD

21/04/2012, 3:29 PM
Goal line clearance there to deny Bendtner. Could yet be vital for Villa's season.

DannyInvincible
21/04/2012, 3:31 PM
Is there anyone here who'd welcome him back into the fold? A new poll would be interesting.

I wouldn't go as far as welcoming him back with open arms or anything, but if Trap decided he had a role to play for us, I'd accept that as Trap's decision. His lies and later comments about Cork, Trapattoni and whatnot have been immature in the extreme, but people can change. I wouldn't condemn him for life if he was prepared to acknowledge his mistakes and put them behind him.

Colbert Report
21/04/2012, 4:36 PM
Christ if there were quotes from me in my late teens and early twenties people would think I was some kind of Communist! Give him a break lads. He's an adult now and everyone deserves another chance, it isn't like he killed someone. He was right about his comments regarding empty buildings in Cork, have any of ye ever been there? Disgraceful what was allowed to happen all over Ireland during the boom. Futhermore, I can't fault him on the granny thing, a girlfriend having a miscarriage is none of our business and he's under no obligation to tell us anything regarding his personal life. The guy's a great player and I'd love to see what he could do in our team come September.

Manblue
21/04/2012, 4:52 PM
Can't wait to see him in the green again, smashing player

Colbert Report
21/04/2012, 4:55 PM
Manblue, hasn't it been determined that you are, in fact, Mr. Stephen Ireland himself?

theworm2345
21/04/2012, 5:21 PM
Futhermore, I can't fault him on the granny thing, a girlfriend having a miscarriage is none of our business and he's under no obligation to tell us anything regarding his personal life.
So lying about your granny dying, then lying about the other one dying is the proper thing to do if your girlfriend has a miscarriage? All you have to do is say he is out for "personal reasons" for ****s sake you see that as a reason all of the time.

21/04/2012, 5:26 PM
The lack of empathy with which people treated Ireland after that situation is appalling. Whatever about his conduct afterwards and obvious emotional difficulties, he lost a child at a very young age and had to deal with it under constant media scrutiny. Put yourself in his position for a second and tell me you'd be incapable of making a mistake or two.

Colbert Report
21/04/2012, 5:34 PM
So lying about your granny dying, then lying about the other one dying is the proper thing to do if your girlfriend has a miscarriage? All you have to do is say he is out for "personal reasons" for ****s sake you see that as a reason all of the time.

I'm not making excuses for him, but c'mon, he had just turned twenty-one when that whole thing went down. We've been through this already and I don't think many people are going to change his mind, but seriously, at this point, it isn't like he killed your grandmother here. His girlfriend lost a child (allegedly) and the guy clearly has a few screws loose. Nothing wrong with that, most of us do, especially at that age. Give him another chance I say. He's admitted his mistakes, owned up to it, not sure what else you want from him.

theworm2345
21/04/2012, 6:23 PM
I'm not making excuses for him, but c'mon, he had just turned twenty-one when that whole thing went down. We've been through this already and I don't think many people are going to change his mind, but seriously, at this point, it isn't like he killed your grandmother here. His girlfriend lost a child (allegedly) and the guy clearly has a few screws loose. Nothing wrong with that, most of us do, especially at that age. Give him another chance I say. He's admitted his mistakes, owned up to it, not sure what else you want from him.
I'm a month removed from twenty one and I can't understand ever lying about that regardless of the situation...maybe I could have forgiven him after that too but its not exactly the last incident he's been involved in in relation to the national team. I will never accept him back until he apologizes to the team, to Stan, to the FAI, to Trap, etc...to the fans would be nice as well but I rarely believe a player truly owes the fans anything. Until then I'd boo every touch he had if I was at a match.

DannyInvincible
21/04/2012, 6:28 PM
The lack of empathy with which people treated Ireland after that situation is appalling. Whatever about his conduct afterwards and obvious emotional difficulties, he lost a child at a very young age and had to deal with it under constant media scrutiny. Put yourself in his position for a second and tell me you'd be incapable of making a mistake or two.

Good point. I used to be of the opinion he owed us fans an apology, but now I'm not so sure he does. Naturally, I felt frustrated as a football fan that such a talent wouldn't want to represent his country (or entertain myself and the nation with his footballing abilities, in other words), but that was just selfishness on my part really along with an inability or unwillingness to understand how playing for Ireland mightn't appeal to someone for whatever reason. What did Stephen Ireland ever owe us in the first place to further owe us an apology? His original lies showed folly of youth, even if he was an adult (on this side of the Atlantic), and the 'personal reasons' excuse would undoubtedly have sufficed (unless the whole thing - miscarriage story and all - was a charade, of course), but we can all make mistakes, especially in times of great emotional stress. I'm prepared to believe the miscarriage story on good faith. What right do I then, as an Ireland fan, but, most importantly, as a total stranger, have to get on some moral high horse over all that?

He might later have referred to Trap "arrogant" and may well have affronted the people of Cork, but that's not really my business. If Trap can see past that, why should I hold some grudge?

the bear
21/04/2012, 6:53 PM

i said more or less the same thing on here a couple of months ago and people were saying that he prob made up the miscarraige aswell. don't think a lot of people would ever accept him in green again

Eminence Grise
21/04/2012, 7:57 PM
Like many on here, I would have no truck with Stephen Ireland, as he has been since he quit the team, returning to the fold. I've found his attention-seeking around international dates disruptive and disrepectful. I've scorned all the pink trappings of wealth. But we have to allow for people to change and if he decides to make himself available for selection he should come into consideration, provided his intentions are sincere and he accepts unequivocally that it is a matter for Trappatoni to choose whether or not to call him up.

Trust is the issue for me. He breached the trust he enjoyed with his manager, team mates and fans, whether because of youthful naivety, or a propensity to muddy the waters which he has displayed since. Before anything else, he has to rebuild that trust with the team and show that he can be relied on. Fans are easier to satisfy: all we ask is that he plays his heart out. Get your boots on and play to make us want you. No tears. Lots of sweat. Blood optional.

He has to take responsibility, too, for the granny story. Maybe he was emotionally immature at 21, but he had an agent to advise him, and there’s no way that an FAI press officer wouldn’t have advised him to plead personal circumstances – the media here, generally, are sensible enough to know when to leave a story alone if it has little public interest. Either he or his agent chose the wrong approach. When you’re caught out in a lie you have to show remorse and accept that, whatever your motive, the lie was wrong. I recall he explained why he lied, but I can’t recall whether he accepted it was wrong. Maybe somebody here knows.

Humility is important, too. Paul McGrath, for all that demons stalked his brilliance, was a humble man. Gary Waddock accepted being cut from the 1990 WC squad with humility and dignity. Niall Quinn and Packie Bonner on NewsTalk earlier today deflected praise towards them onto team mates. Irwin, Duff, Doyle... how many more like them have we cheered? Humble and unassuming. As a people, I think we like our heroes that way. It might be something for him to mull on.

DannyInvincible
21/04/2012, 8:08 PM
In fairness to him, he has already apologised for the granny thing: http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2007/sep/15/newsstory.sport4

"I decided at that stage that I must tell the truth and admit I had told lies," Ireland said. "I realise now that it was a massive mistake to say my grandmothers had died and I deeply regret it. It was wrong and I sincerely apologise as I have caused a lot of problems for many people. I would like to apologise to my grandmothers and all my family. I have learnt a valuable lesson from this mess and hope those I have hurt will forgive me."