View Full Version : Stephen Ireland

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 [59] 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85

Manblue
16/08/2010, 4:20 PM
I don't think anyone can begrudge someone trying to get the most out of a club. He's signed a contract and wants a payoff. Par for the course and I'd be looking for a payout as well.

Was expecting a few people to rip into him but fairly mature response on here, well played lads...now that I've said this, I expect some morons to come on here and let 'er rip on poor old Stevie...

Has been training with the reserves for last 2 wks, mancini and/or hierarchy hoping he will spit the dummy to get a quick deal but has proved resilient thus far, suspect it is likely to cause unrest amongst other players when they see how Ireland and bellamy have been treated by not bowing down and doing exactly what the club want them to do, and others may feel if they become surplus to requirement this may be in store for them.
Both have behaved very professionally in my opinion however will be interesting interviews after both leave on the subject i would suspect

Razors left peg
16/08/2010, 5:05 PM
Heard a story earlier that is almost guaranteed to be rubish but I would love if it was true...

Not long after Mancini took over he approached Steven Ireland on the training ground and asked him if he had a row with Trapattoni or anyone else in the Irish camp.Ireland said no so then Mancini asked why he wasnt playing for his country so. Ireland just said it was because he didnt want to, and with that Mancini just turned and walked away with him without saying another word. And thats the reason Mancini has seemed not to rate him since

I have no clue where the bloke got the story from so I would say I would be 99% sure its not true................. but I really really want it to be :)

16/08/2010, 6:01 PM
Didn't Ireland say that Trap only approached him to make himself look good? A respectful captain like Mancini knows that you don't diss the Don.

16/08/2010, 7:11 PM
Mancini knows Trap is the elder, he is the untouchable one.

SI might wake up some morning with the head of a shark next to him, if he's not careful.

17/08/2010, 9:54 AM
forced to train with the reserves again yesterday as punishment for the exit payment demands: http://menmedia.co.uk/manchestereveningnews/sport/football/manchester_city/s/1314078_ireland_left_out_in_cold_by_city

Noelys Guitar
17/08/2010, 12:25 PM
Not dull at City. Does anyone know if Richard Dunne got a payoff from City when he moved to Aston Villa? I can remember a hold up to that transfer as well. I have a feeling that Mancini will lose this particular battle with Ireland. Ireland strikes me as someone who could quite easily languish in the reserves collecting his wages.

SwanVsDalton
17/08/2010, 12:33 PM
Almost 100% confirmed he's off to Villa: http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11661_6317838,00.html

17/08/2010, 12:49 PM
Ironic that Kevin McDonald was part of the Irish set up that SI told his porkies to. McDonald may even be in with a chance of the job fulltime. He obviously doesn't bear grudges.

Wolfie
17/08/2010, 12:55 PM
Kevin MacDonald would know Stephen Ireland to a certain degree from the International squad from when he was Stan's assistant.

Wolfie
17/08/2010, 12:56 PM
Ironic that Kevin McDonald was part of the Irish set up that SI told his porkies to. McDonald may even be in with a chance of the job fulltime. He obviously doesn't bear grudges.

Got there before me, drummerboy!!!!!!

Manblue
17/08/2010, 1:07 PM
cant be confirmed until after medical

The Fly
17/08/2010, 1:44 PM
http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2010/aug/17/james-milner-manchester-city

SwanVsDalton
17/08/2010, 2:05 PM

I'm not sure McDonald will know that much about it and doubt he'd have any opportunity to voice any dissent even if he wanted to. Surely is ironic though. If McDonald gets the job full-time he might have a little 'clear-the-air' before Ireland even gets on the pitch

17/08/2010, 2:35 PM
cant be confirmed until after medicalDoes the medical include mental health?

17/08/2010, 3:14 PM
Does the medical include mental health?

It would be brilliant if they did!

Bellamy, Ireland and Barton would be struggling.

17/08/2010, 5:28 PM
Just watching the Trap on SSN

He still wants Ireland. Door is still open.

backstothewall
17/08/2010, 7:40 PM
Putting my Villa hat on for a second, I reckon we have swapped 2 players of roughly similar ability. Its just that City have been mug enough to send £20m along with theirs. Fools and their money....

seanfhear
17/08/2010, 7:49 PM
Stephen should tell city that his back from the dead grannys can only be happy again when he plays for city.

It will take a large sum of money to appease the once wronged grannies and that he has no alternative but to exact the lagest compensation possible to satiate the fairy grandmothers.

Alternatively he can say that he has the direct opposite feelings to playing for city as he has for playing for Ireland and that a large amont of wonga would be the only compensation that could bring him to stop playing for city !

Sullivinho
17/08/2010, 8:15 PM
Putting my Villa hat on for a second, I reckon we have swapped 2 players of roughly similar ability. Its just that City have been mug enough to send £20m along with theirs. Fools and their money....

'Bargain' doesn't begin to describe it. Milner on his day is a very good player but Milner = (Stephen Ireland + 20 million)? Hilarious.

And when asked if the deal would also involve Ireland, Mancini added: "I hope so." :D

17/08/2010, 8:35 PM
Poor Richie Dunne, he thought he had managed to get away from that clown and all the media questions that will likely go with it.

When you consider what City have paid for milner versus what Real have paid for Ozil, it shows how overinflated the english players are.

backstothewall
17/08/2010, 8:51 PM
I think this will be a turning point for the lad. Trap seemed a lot more open to him coming back this evening. I'm going to stick my arm out and say I think we will be seeing him back in an Ireland shirt before the end of the season.

18/08/2010, 2:56 PM
I think this will be a turning point for the lad. Trap seemed a lot more open to him coming back this evening. I'm going to stick my arm out and say I think we will be seeing him back in an Ireland shirt before the end of the season.

i wouldnt be so sure although id be lying if i said i didnt think a comitted and well behaved SI would add a lot to our team

18/08/2010, 3:14 PM
Careful now - sharks in transit.

TrapAPony
18/08/2010, 3:22 PM

I would hope so. We badly need more quality players in the team/squad.

18/08/2010, 4:02 PM
Did he get his £2,000,000?

Lend us a tenner Steve!

Also:-

Stephen Ireland deal pleases Villa boss Kevin MacDonald

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/a/aston_villa/8925046.stm

18/08/2010, 4:13 PM
Poor Richie Dunne, he thought he had managed to get away from that clown and all the media questions that will likely go with it.

When you consider what City have paid for milner versus what Real have paid for Ozil, it shows how overinflated the english players are.I agree in general, but Ozil was free to walk at the end of this season. Length remaining in a player's contract is a key factor in transfer value.

18/08/2010, 4:26 PM
Yea if Milner is worth £24 million I'm worth £10 million :)

18/08/2010, 4:33 PM
i wouldnt be so sure although id be lying if i said i didnt think a comitted and well behaved SI would add a lot to our teamI misread you there for a minute and thought you said he should be committed. I'd agree with that.

Last thing we need at the minute is a disruptive influence with precious little first team football under his belt. If he decides he's interested again, I'd name him in a few training squads to see how he fits in and wouldn't let him near the team until the 2011 games.

But then again, I'd be equally as happy if he wasn't let near Lansdowne Road for the rest of his life.....

21/08/2010, 12:02 AM
Spectacular piece of bridge-burning by Stevie. Not sure where the pot gets off calling the kettle black, but it's an interesting interview nonetheless.

"I don't think loyalty is much in anyone's mind at Manchester City," he said. "I felt like I would be next [to leave]. A lot of players felt like that as well – the homegrown guys."

"I've really landed on my feet here. I think it's a family club and one that will get the best out of me. I am actually shocked at how good it is. I've settled in so well, so fast. Even the young lads are so polite. I'm actually quite shocked with that. At City they're not like that. They're coming in with £10,000 watches on their wrists and walking around as if they have played 200 Premier League games."

"I guess James Milner must think the grass is greener on the other side. He's going to get a shock soon because it's definitely not that way."

http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2010/aug/20/manchester-city-stephen-ireland

21/08/2010, 1:16 AM
Maybe a lot of truth in what he says about Man City, however it remains to be seen if
he is as good as he thinks he is, obviously Stephen has not been in favour recently at Man City,
I expect the guys with the £10,000 watches thinks its a lot better than Stephen does.
It will be interesting to see he gets on on Sunday.
I wonder how much Stephen's watch is worth?

21/08/2010, 1:28 AM
http://images.icnetwork.co.uk/upl/birmmail/aug2010/3/5/stephen-ireland-812429543.jpg

Anyone know who is the guy with his back to camera?

http://www.birminghammail.net/birmingham-sport/aston-villa-fc/aston-villa-news/2010/08/18/aston-villa-stephen-ireland-poised-to-make-birthday-bow-with-villa-debut-at-newcastle-97319-27083537/

21/08/2010, 2:09 AM
That's David Silva if I'm not mistaken.

21/08/2010, 6:02 AM
http://images.icnetwork.co.uk/upl/birmmail/aug2010/3/5/stephen-ireland-812429543.jpg

http://www.birminghammail.net/birmingham-sport/aston-villa-fc/aston-villa-news/2010/08/18/aston-villa-stephen-ireland-poised-to-make-birthday-bow-with-villa-debut-at-newcastle-97319-27083537/

D Silva

Crosby87
21/08/2010, 12:39 PM
Its his Grandmother actually, her friends always mistake her for Silva in the bingo parlor.
She lives in B'Ham so they are going to be staying with her while he sorts out getting a new pink house with a million dollar fish tank where his bowling balls will swim.

Also todays article in the Independent, at least online, says "Ireland hints at return." But when you actually read it, despite him saying he would have a conversation with the FAI, it is basically him hinting that he WILL NOT return, i.e "I havent missed it. I only played 6 games for the national team so there is not much to miss." and "My club is the priority."
I will believe he is coming back when a paper says "Ireland never coming back."

seanfhear
21/08/2010, 1:09 PM
Its just not the same anymore Stephen. Not a bit like "back in the day"

If only we could return to the good old days when the clubs and the players had not lost the run of themselves.

Luckily Stephen never did anything daft when he was young and less wise than he is today !

21/08/2010, 2:14 PM
The guardian.

Stephen Ireland last night lifted the lid on life at Manchester City with an astonishing attack on his former club. Ireland, who joined Aston Villa this week as part of the deal that took James Milner in the opposite direction, tore into everyone, from the manager Roberto Mancini to the club's "money-obsessed" young players, as he revealed the full extent of his anger at the way he has been treated.

The Irishman was prevented from discussing the details of the financial pay-off he received from City because of a confidentiality agreement he has signed – he is believed to have picked up a little more than half the £2m he was demanding – but every other subject was considered fair game as he reeled off a list of complaints that painted a bleak picture of his final 12 months at City. Ireland's tirade included:

• Warning James Milner he will get a shock if he thinks the grass is greener at City

• Claiming Mancini has no relationship with any of the players

• Insisting he is as good as if not better than any of the new signings

• Accusing City's young players of wearing £10,000 watches and believing they are Premier League stars

• Describing City as a club where loyalty is no longer recognised

• Branding Mancini's criticism of his attitude unfair because he was the "best player in training"

It was a remarkable assault on City and will make for uncomfortable reading when the club's officials, players and supporters wade though Ireland's diatribe. The midfielder, who is expected to make his Villa debut at Newcastle on Sunday on his 24th birthday, spoke about City as if they were a club he could not wait to leave. "I think Aston Villa got a really good deal," he said. "I guess James Milner must think the grass is greener on the other side. He's going to get a shock soon because it's definitely not that way.

"I've really landed on my feet here. I think it's a family club and one that will get the best out of me. I am actually shocked at how good it is. I've settled in so well, so fast. Even the young lads are so polite. I'm actually quite shocked with that. At City they're not like that. They're coming in with £10,000 watches on their wrists and walking around as if they have played 200 Premier League games."

Ireland, who has a reputation for spending his own money quite lavishly, came through City's youth system and spent nine years at the club, but he felt as though the service he gave them counted for nothing in the end.

"I don't think loyalty is much in anyone's mind at Manchester City," he said. "I felt like I would be next [to leave]. A lot of players felt like that as well – the homegrown guys."

The former City trainee said he had not spoken a word to Mancini before he left although he suggested there is little communication between the manager and his former team-mates full stop. "He doesn't really build relationships with players," said Ireland. "He brought Patrick Vieira in and when I spoke to him about his relationship [with Mancini], he said he doesn't really have one, and he's worked for him for years. I think that's the way he is."

Ireland won the player of the year award at City in 2009 but he was a peripheral figure last season, in particular after Mancini replaced Mark Hughes in December. When asked about Ireland's lack of action last season, the Italian implied the midfielder had an attitude problem, when he claimed he needed to "change his head". Ireland remains deeply upset with those comments.

"I think that was really unfair, all the players know I was the first player into training and the last to leave," he said. "I worked the hardest. With all the heart-rate monitors and tests, I was always No1, far ahead of everyone. You see the performance in training and I was practically always the best player in training. If [Mancini's] standing there watching that, I don't know how he doesn't see that."

Another wave of big names have arrived at Eastlands this summer but Ireland claimed he is as good as any of them. "I'm not really a highly-self-confident person," he said, with no hint of what was to come. "But I can honestly say Manchester City have tried to replace me for the last three or four seasons and it's never happened. I can easily say I've got, if not more ability, as much ability as any player they have signed this year."

Ireland described the way his time with City ended as "heartbreaking" but he is adamant he is heading in the right direction. "I can understand why James Milner has gone there but I can tell him that I'm very happy to leave there and come here," he said. "Some people have used the phrase that I've been forced out. I couldn't be more happy to be forced to come here, to a club like Aston Villa."

21/08/2010, 3:21 PM
I love it - those kids with their 10 grand watches. Pot calling the kettle black?

Manblue
21/08/2010, 3:23 PM
now burnt bridges with city fans who are far from impressed by his comments

21/08/2010, 3:59 PM
You've got to hand it to Stephen Ireland. He's such a modest, unassuming and genuine character. :bigsmile:

21/08/2010, 4:06 PM
probably going to be slaughtered for this but to be fair, Ireland didn't start showing off his cash until he got a massive pay rise, and started spending it. He's talking about 18/19 year olds blowing their entire wage packet on a watch/car/whatever to the detriment of their football.

21/08/2010, 8:29 PM

Looks like it's pay day and they are taking home their wages :p

IsMiseSean
21/08/2010, 8:30 PM
Look out for the papers tomorrow.... No Ireland return EVER!! They just had a preview on Soccer Saturday

21/08/2010, 8:35 PM
You would think Stephen could invest in a decent pair of jeans on his wages :p

hoops1
21/08/2010, 8:58 PM
The deluded world of a footballer. These clowns actually believe the rubbish the spout. LOYALTY don't make me laugh. The kids are flash? Well driving around in a big pink jeep isn't. I worked the hardest and am better than most of the new signings and players there( well the manager doesnt think), but im not a self confident person. Hes an absolute moron his family and the people around him have a lot to answer for. So full of contradictions its cringeworthy. It should upset genuine football people that we haven't shut the door to him.

21/08/2010, 9:15 PM
most people have, this comes out every time someone puts a microphone in front of him
journalists know it's easy copy

SUB of the day
21/08/2010, 9:29 PM
Look out for the papers tomorrow.... No Ireland return EVER!! They just had a preview on Soccer Saturday

Thank God for that, having that virus in the ROI team would only end in tears.Goodbye and good riddance!

21/08/2010, 10:55 PM

Hopefully that will put his international future to bed forever.

Crosby87
22/08/2010, 12:05 AM
Hopefully that will put his international future to bed forever.

Agree Drummer. I just want to hear him say it though, not read it. At this point...He is crazy, that is obvious, but I still want to hear it.
Its a shame. I was going to say hopefully Dick Dunne talks some sense into him but...what is the point? He already played with Dicky.
Thats why i want all this to end, but again i have to hear it, i swear reading about SI is more confusing than who killed Kennedy. He needs to say on video, I am not coming back ever. Its easy, he is on cam all the time. Thats what we need or else we all know the competitivness in all of us, and the fan in all of us is going to wonder about this stupid mother loving crap he puts out or the papers lie about.
If he really is saying no tomorrow then good, I hope it is Dunne. But please do it on cam so we can all officailly believe it for frucks sake.

rebelmusic
22/08/2010, 2:10 AM
I think he simply needs to issue a formal retirement from international football. Am I correct in thinking he's never done that? Look at Scholes for England, he did it years ago and the stories stopped.

22/08/2010, 2:14 AM
I don't know why people are so keen to see shut of him. I'd be delighted if he decided to return.