View Full Version : Stephen Ireland
Razors left peg
19/09/2009, 6:10 PM
He's not messing us around by saying maybe he'd come back, it doesn't get much clearer than "I will never play for Ireland again." Get it through your heads lads, he's gone for good. Let's move on.
I think we have all got that point now... but hasnt he messed us around for the last 2 years
Colbert Report
19/09/2009, 6:13 PM
I think we have all got that point now... but hasnt he messed us around for the last 2 years
No, I honestly don't think he has. I believe we've been messing ourselves around by wanting to believe that he'll come back. I think you'll find it hard to produce a link quoting him saying anything regarding a possible comeback other than a simple NO.
Diarmo
19/09/2009, 6:18 PM
No, I honestly don't think he has. I believe we've been messing ourselves around by wanting to believe that he'll come back. I think you'll find it hard to produce a link quoting him saying anything regarding a possible comeback other than a simple NO.
Em, i think you'll find from this article:
Asked if he is considering a return himself, the Cobh-born 22-year-old added: 'Yeah, yeah, but I'm trying to keep the head down at the moment.'
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2008/1214/irelands.html
Razors left peg
19/09/2009, 6:21 PM
I cant be bothered to go looking through all his comments in the past 2 seasons but in nearly every one of them he said some variation of never say never. This is the first time he has definitively said that he is not coming back.
Anyway, this is my last post about the pr1ck.Retiring from international football at such a young age is ridiculous.I hope he will be happy counting his money while being a pariah in his own country for the rest of his life
L37Ultra
19/09/2009, 6:24 PM
Let's forget about this excuse of a man and concentrate on qualifly for the World Cup and bringing pride back for football in this country.
Jicked
19/09/2009, 6:24 PM
What are you on about CR? Honesty?! The guy could have put this to bed years ago, instead he allows himself go on the record making "never say never" and "I'm happy not playing, for the time being" so that the press whirlwind blows up again and again and so that he can centre of attention time and again. Paul Scholes retired from international football, said thank you very much, not inetersted any more. Was asked to come back years later, and refused.
Stephen doesn't have the class or dignity to act like that if he doesn't want to play for Ireland (which we all know he doesn't). Instead he's a nasty, nasty piece of work, trying to put other people in trouble, keep himself in the press and seemingly cause as much turmoil as possible. As I've said before I'll be so proud of this Irish team if we go the World Cup with two guys like Andrews and Whelan in the middle whilst a hugely talented individual like Ireland is forced to stay at home.
Again, hopefully the FAI man up as the Scottish FA did re: Barry Ferguson and say Stephen Ireland will no longer be conisdered for selection.
Crosby87
19/09/2009, 7:22 PM
"When I watch the Ireland games its weird, I feel like I was never part of it."
Why watch if you dont care and will never come back? I thought he had all manner of other things to do? Is he rooting against the team?
Im tired of this dope. 2 Reids and a Finnan will equal 1 S. Ireland. I hope. Gulp.
19/09/2009, 7:52 PM
It'd be nice if the media at large could pick up on these quotes and stop insinuating that maybe there's more that can be done to bring him back. They guy has shown contempt to every single one of us, the team, the management and everyone in the press too.
Time for the press to turn on him. Instead of "of Stephen, we'd be sooooo much better with you" it's time to call him for what he is - an immature self-interested cnut who walked out on Ireland as a teenager and has done it again.
I agree with Crosby (seriously): 2 Reids & Finnan = me doing cartwheels down Oxford Street singing c'mon you boys in green. Even 2 of those 3.
19/09/2009, 7:58 PM
I don't think Trap would have had him back anyway, I think he knows that.
Anyway he was crap in his last Man CIty match.
carloz
19/09/2009, 8:10 PM
Good, this should finally put this issue to bed. I have long hoped to have him back, and always stood up for the guy, but no more. He has come across as a little **** in the way he spoke about Trap. This should finally open all Stephen Irelands supporters to the kind of person he is. We have a great chance of getting to a world cup with committed players who care about the shirt, we dont need toss pots like this who need their ego massaged. Good riddance. To see guys like Kevin Kilbane, with a handicapped child, come over for every single game and give his everything for his cause just highlights how patethic an individual Mr Ireland has shown himself to be. You will be forgotten by the Man City fans one year after you retire Stephen, had you returned to us you could have been remembered forever
19/09/2009, 8:16 PM
Did not know that about Kilbanes child.
19/09/2009, 8:20 PM
I thought that was Lee Carsley, even more impressed by the guy if thats the case.
carloz
19/09/2009, 8:21 PM
Both Kilbane and Carsley have a child with Downs Syndrome IIRC
19/09/2009, 8:24 PM
http://icliverpool.icnetwork.co.uk/0100news/0100regionalnews/tm_objectid=15918356&method=full&siteid=50061&headline=blues-star-s-devotion-to-down-s-syndrome-daughter-name_page.html
http://www.downs-syndrome.org.uk/news-and-media/press-releases/current/575-ds-football.html
19/09/2009, 8:26 PM
You just cant class Ireland and someone like Kilbane in the same stratosphere can you, super individual even if his best playing days are beinhd him.
19/09/2009, 8:27 PM
If Kevin Kilbane brought peace & infinite food supply to the world tomorrow he wouldn't go up in my estimation. He's already the biggest role model any Irish kid could ever have in sport. Legend.
amaccann
19/09/2009, 9:20 PM
I agree; there's a level of continued support for S. Ireland in the press & constant suggestions that not all is being done to persuade this excuse of a man to come back. I suspect he has some friends or contacts in the Irish press doing a number. To hell with him. Seriously, what does it say about the value of our sporting nation that we kow-tow to jumped up, spoilt, little feckers like this? No more talk, not more asking, no more patience. He has nailed his colours to the mast & lets show him to be surplus to requirements anyway.
19/09/2009, 11:20 PM
I don't think Trap would have had him back anyway, I think he knows that.
Anyway he was crap in his last Man CIty match.
well said, i was going to post that earlier. He was anonymous and has absolutely no rapport with Adebayor or Barry. I hope he rots and dies in the City reserves (metaphorically speaking).
20/09/2009, 12:15 AM
If Kevin Kilbane brought peace & infinite food supply to the world tomorrow he wouldn't go up in my estimation. He's already the biggest role model any Irish kid could ever have in sport. Legend.
Kevin Kilbane: I walk over hot coals for him
Stephen Ireland: I wouldn't pi*s on him if he was on fire
i finally voted on the poll above. :)
20/09/2009, 6:35 AM
i finally voted on the poll above. :)
I want to change mine now, like a lot of other people....
Am I the only one that feels stupid now that I believed the grannygate story. I gave the lad a benefit of doubt. I'm nearly embarrassed now that this ***** strung this story out so long.
Message to Stephen:
To represent your country in sport, whether it be long distance running, boxing, football or bog snorkling, is an honour. And 99% of the country would bend over backwards to have that esteem.
Kevin Kilbane, we salute you.
Jicked
20/09/2009, 11:14 AM
Shock, horror, Stephen is still living in a fantasy world:
Privately the Irish manager is believed to consider the player's version of events "absurd" and there is now no chance of the player returning for his country in the foreseeable future.
I hope Man City have a very good sports pyschologist, this loon could have a major breakdown one day.
The player has done that now. He recently met the media at Manchester City's training ground but Irish journalists were excluded from the gathering with the player nurturing a sense that he was being persecuted in his homeland.
:D What a joke this man is.
And yet the Indo article those quotes are taken from still try to paint Trap as being in the wrong, saying these comments will give fuel for those criticisng Trap for never genuinely wanting Ireland back :confused:
Sounds more like some Irish hacks aren't happy about being asked to leave the room over at City and don't want to fall on the bad side of a big player at the worlds most interesting club from a media point of view :rolleyes:
20/09/2009, 11:16 AM
I want to change mine now, like a lot of other people....
Am I the only one that feels stupid now that I believed the grannygate story. I gave the lad a benefit of doubt. I'm nearly embarrassed now that this ***** strung this story out so long.
Kevin Kilbane, we salute you.
This bloke is like a politician. He'll lie to curry favour, and deceive people (i't's not my fault) when they rebel against him. As for the arrogance reference, he is the last person in the squad to accuse anyone of arrogance.
As for Kilbane, he isn't an angel either. He was one of the most vocal defendants of Staunton when he was in charge, describing our press as being worse than the English for criticising crap results.
Keane came back to the side to play Albania in 2003 a few days after he lost his da. That took bravery, and courage, stuff that the rebel doesn't understand.
20/09/2009, 1:16 PM
Keane praised Staunton too mypost and I am a big fan of Kilbanes and Keanes and I have no problem with them defending staunton. Thats what good people do for their manager.
Robbie Keane and Kevin Kilbane are Irish heros, Stephen Manchester is a Granny Killing Machine.
Cheer up Stephen Ireland
Oh What can it mean
To a Manc Baldy Bast*rd
and a Granny Killing Machine.
Why not put up a new poll show the little fool what genuine Irish Fans think of him now. Its sad that people some journalists in particular are prepared to suck up to a man who obviously doesnt give 2 ffs for the country of his birth.
Jicked
20/09/2009, 1:49 PM
If we go the World Cup, I demand someone photoshops Stephen in to this pic spending his summer with his grannies.
http://www.myrtlebeachcondostore.com/condo-images/vacation-in-myrtle-beach.jpg
Alternatively, you could shop his head on to the bloke in this pic, but a warning for
possible NSFW: http://bp2.blogger.com/_jHFsYHRLBSM/Rh4HBLNOVGI/AAAAAAAAAro/JFQamSzjV9U/s400/old-woman-beach7.jpg
I would happily put either on a flag and bring to SA :D
weldoninhio
20/09/2009, 4:01 PM
Kevin Kilbane: I walk over hot coals for him
Stephen Ireland: I wouldn't pi*s on him if he was on fire
He lied from the start, he is a clown and the FAI should just make a statement saying that he will never represent his country ever again.
Would it not be bad enough being on fire, without people p*ssing on you?
Didn't he also refuse to play for Brian Kerr a few years back............?
carloz
20/09/2009, 4:22 PM
No doubt Dunphy and Dolan will ahve the usual **** in their paper articles where they will somehow blame this on Trap, but this quote from what Ireland said should say a lot
"When I watch Ireland games, it's weird. it's like I was never part of it. I don't miss it at all."
The guy was never happy in the squad. He was probably always looking for a way out of it. We have close enough to the same squad now as we did when Ireland last played for us so if he did come back he would obviously have the same problems. He wasn't happy when he played for us, so obviously he wouldnt be happy to come back to us.
20/09/2009, 4:28 PM
Yeah he never wanted to play for us but he wanted us to want him to play for us. That is the key problem. Paul Scholes gave up playing for England as he did not enjoy it. He did not bitch about anyone, he just retired and that was it. Stephen Ireland as a person is lacking in some serious basic human qualities. As a result I think he would have a negative impact on this squad. Football is a team game and I know that is a cliche but sometimes the way people comment on footoball tehey seem to forget it.
Jicked
20/09/2009, 5:13 PM
Didn't he also refuse to play for Brian Kerr a few years back............?
Correct, it was during an Under-16 game I believe, the team was playing a game in Cobh so Stephen had invited his whole extended family along. Kerr only named Ireland amongst the substitutes, so before the game a very emotional Stephen Ireland confronted Kerr (imagine a 15 year old kid doing that!) saying he felt humiliated by being on the bench. When Kerr reiterated that he was starting from the bench and to just get over it, Ireland asked to leave as he wouldn't be humiliated like that. As he was just a kid, Kerr agreed to let him go and both parties pretended he picked up a late injury so he wasn't embarassed in front of his mammy.
Great to see he's matured a lot since then!
20/09/2009, 5:27 PM
Jicked, I agree with your earlier post: he is now adding Irish journalists to the list of people he's insulting yet bizarrely they're still sticking up for him.
Time for everyone to turn on him. The guy obviously relishes our supposed desire to have him back. Let's see how he likes it when he realises nobody has anything but contempt for him.
Correct, it was during an Under-16 game I believe, the team was playing a game in Cobh so Stephen had invited his whole extended family along. Kerr only named Ireland amongst the substitutes, so before the game a very emotional Stephen Ireland confronted Kerr (imagine a 15 year old kid doing that!) saying he felt humiliated by being on the bench. When Kerr reiterated that he was starting from the bench and to just get over it, Ireland asked to leave as he wouldn't be humiliated like that. As he was just a kid, Kerr agreed to let him go and both parties pretended he picked up a late injury so he wasn't embarassed in front of his mammy.
Great to see he's matured a lot since then!
Yes, and when people were grasping around looking for sticks to beat Brian Kerr with, this became another one.
Jicked
20/09/2009, 5:54 PM
Jicked, I agree with your earlier post: he is now adding Irish journalists to the list of people he's insulting yet bizarrely they're still sticking up for him.
Time for everyone to turn on him. The guy obviously relishes our supposed desire to have him back. Let's see how he likes it when he realises nobody has anything but contempt for him.
Fairly obvious why they're not turning on him. Stephen Ireland is a main man in the city squad and would have quite a bit of pull. From a column inches point of view that's one of the most fascinating clubs in the world, and will fill up an awful lot of copy over the course of this season. No way editors or gutless journalists will confront SI if it means they'll be cut out of press conferences, a power I'd imagine SI could easily get over irrelevant (to City) Irish hacks.
SUB of the day
20/09/2009, 5:58 PM
And so the credits roll, our hero happy with the best decision he has ever made.The ultimate goal of having a stand named after him at Eastlands is now a step closer, yes, a bank of concrete with blue seats......One word...LANGER!
20/09/2009, 6:41 PM
past the point - of reasoned journalism (http://www.tribune.ie/sport/soccer/article/2009/sep/20/past-the-point-of-no-returned-calls/)
'Still, Ireland's words will give credence to critics of the manager who believe that the Italian has never really been that interested in getting the 23-year-old back in the Irish party'
You are already bankrupt if you had to quote Stephen Ireland's world view, to give credence to a belief.
20/09/2009, 7:00 PM
i just cant stand the boy.. i'd give my right testicle away to have half his tallent and get the chance to play!! he needs a good kickin
20/09/2009, 7:48 PM
Pity that poll can't be reviewed.
21/09/2009, 7:38 AM
If we go the World Cup, I demand someone photoshops Stephen in to this pic spending his summer with his grannies.
http://www.myrtlebeachcondostore.com/condo-images/vacation-in-myrtle-beach.jpg
Alternatively, you could shop his head on to the bloke in this pic, but a warning for
possible NSFW: http://bp2.blogger.com/_jHFsYHRLBSM/Rh4HBLNOVGI/AAAAAAAAAro/JFQamSzjV9U/s400/old-woman-beach7.jpg
I would happily put either on a flag and bring to SA :D
i will go halfs on the flag!
21/09/2009, 7:53 AM
i will go halfs on the flag!
Consider this an offer, IF we go to the World Cup, I'll happily Photoshop him in. But only IF.
Reality Bites
21/09/2009, 8:06 AM
Apart from one or two passes I thought he was ****e yesterday, Giggs skinned him at one stage yesterday as well!!
21/09/2009, 8:09 AM
As someone who has been involved in grass roots football for many a year, I'm glad the little turd has finally revealed his stance on all this. He and his ilk are ruining the game of football. He typifies everything that is wrong in the sport. I want my kid to grow up having role models like Given, Kilbane, Keane, Doyle. I certainly don't want this vile little man to represent my country again.
Wangball
21/09/2009, 11:40 AM
Can this thread just be closed now?
Wolfie
21/09/2009, 12:39 PM
It's for the best that the issue has been resolved now.
If we did make it to South Africa - with Stephen Ireland included - I think there may have been a high possibility of "Saipan 2".
The bloke is entitled to do what he wants, but the manner in which he's handled the matter has been bizarre.
At the earlier stages of this laughable saga, I figured Richie Dunne would smooth things over and would influence Ireland to return. Once it was apparent that wasn't happening the chances of a return diminished significantly.
His failure to give a definitive answer for 2 years is just plain odd. Why perpetuate the speculation if you've no intention of returning?
Stephen Ireland needs to acknowledge to himself that HE walked out of his own volition. It was up to him to make himself available again.
Why the need for meetings with Managers?
Ironically enough, it took some arrogance to expect a man of Trapp's experience and standing to not only be expected to meet with this self-exiled player - but to apparently expect Trapp to conduct himself in a manner that was to Stephen Irelands exacting standards of etiquette.
Furthermore, to think this privately was one thing but to then state it in an interview shows a total lack of respect for Trapp.
21/09/2009, 1:36 PM
Furthermore, it's entirely reasonable for Trapp to ask if it's ok for news that they met to be released to the media. The only arrogance is on Ireland's part, thinking that Trapp may be trying to glorify himself in some way by being seen to bring Ireland back.
21/09/2009, 3:58 PM
actually, on the point of him leaving the room to answer a phone, I always leave the room to answer my mobile.
How arrogant am I??
Royal rover
21/09/2009, 5:22 PM
I often wonder what sort of advice is given to the lad from a PR or agent perspective - i think it's a great shame that he has come out with these comments he makes - i think the Keane's and Killer kilbanes of this world would stage a protest if he was ever re-called , it's a crying shame that someone of his ability will now live in international wilderness for the remainder of his career, i don't think he's very mature individual, and possibly doesn't understand the consequences of what he's publicy said - i really believe this, at the sa me time Citeh wouldn't have any problem with him going down this route if anything they would be delighted, i only wish he was english now and his comments related to the English national team - i wonder how long his career with City would last.
cheifo
21/09/2009, 6:11 PM
Furthermore, it's entirely reasonable for Trapp to ask if it's ok for news that they met to be released to the media. The only arrogance is on Ireland's part, thinking that Trapp may be trying to glorify himself in some way by being seen to bring Ireland back.
I suspect he(or he was advised) said that to muddy the waters a little to make
it look like he is dealing with an unprofessional set up- hoping it distracts from the fact that he just can't be bothered playing for his Country.
People are alot more easy going about these things now. In the eighties his decision would have met with National anger & disgust.
dr_peepee
21/09/2009, 7:18 PM
I can't wait for his very public melt down... CAN'T WAIT
He's gonna go all Sol Campbell before the end of the Season... Gauranteed!!
21/09/2009, 7:46 PM
No more time should be devoted to the question of Ireland playing for Ireland. His talent may be useful but his attitude stinks and he's a fantasist to boot. A complete twunt, end of story.
:ball: PP