View Full Version : Stephen Ireland

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 [44] 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85

24/06/2009, 7:50 PM
I'd say its more likely than not that he isn't; this is two summers in a row S.I. has taken on a massive workload over the summer to benefit him in time for the new season.

Yea must be tough for footballers to get used to trotting about for up to 90 minutes a week after sitting on their arses for 3 months. Must take a high degree of motivation for them to get off thier backsides during those 3 months, especially if they have lost the remote control.

livehead1
24/06/2009, 9:19 PM
Yea must be tough for footballers to get used to trotting about for up to 90 minutes a week after sitting on their arses for 3 months. Must take a high degree of motivation for them to get off thier backsides during those 3 months, especially if they have lost the remote control.

I wonder how many time's this summer we'll see pictures of Cristiano Ronaldo plastered all over the front and back pages of newspapers sunbathing and walking out of nightclubs; fair play to S.I for taking steps many other footballers don't and working hard during the off-season.

24/06/2009, 11:07 PM
There are plenty of people of SI's age who keep themselves fit all year round whilst doing a full time job and without an infinite supply of money, I don't see what makes SI's efforts so special.

livehead1
25/06/2009, 12:03 AM
There are plenty of people of SI's age who keep themselves fit all year round whilst doing a full time job and without an infinite supply of money, I don't see what makes SI's efforts so special.

I'm not saying its special, but I know quite a few professional players and it certainly isn't the norm, far from it. He's 22 years of age, absolutely loaded, and could be out living it up with the permission of his employer for a few weeks and yet he is concentrating on taking measures to improve his game. I don't know how many other ways to make the same point!

MeathDrog
25/06/2009, 12:09 AM
No doubt the camera men were invited over. It makes good PR.

25/06/2009, 12:22 AM
I wonder how many time's this summer we'll see pictures of Cristiano Ronaldo plastered all over the front and back pages of newspapers sunbathing and walking out of nightclubs; fair play to S.I for taking steps many other footballers don't and working hard during the off-season.
Exactly , Ronaldo should be on the training pitch as we speak working hard and maybe next season he can emulate the achievements of Ireland

DeLorean
25/06/2009, 9:12 AM
Ok Ireland seems to work hard in the gym, big deal. I even know a few guys that put massive work in the gym and it's just for healthy living. Lots/most of the GAA players are doing the same through the winter. I wouldn't really sing his praises for it as I'm sure there are plenty of players doing the same, without the photographs to prove/emphasise it. Talk about Ronaldo not doing the same...we'll he's had a far more strenuous season having played far more club games, not to mention representing his country in between.

Dun Laoire
25/06/2009, 9:33 AM
and just to add to the whole SI working on his fitness while Ronaldo is off sunning himself. I'd be pretty damn sure he either has already or will be sunning himself before pre season. Come on now lads think about it everyone is entitled to a holiday.

26/06/2009, 9:43 AM
Talk about Ronaldo not doing the same...we'll he's had a far more strenuous season having played far more club games, not to mention representing his country in between.

has he? not so sure. he was injured for a number of weeks at the start. Ireland was a regular in a team that got to the 1/4 finals of the uefa cup

livehead1
26/06/2009, 10:13 AM
Exactly , Ronaldo should be on the training pitch as we speak working hard and maybe next season he can emulate the achievements of Ireland

Dont be a pedantic c*nt; you know what I'm saying makes sense. If this was Richard Dunne everyone would be saying fair play, and bigging him up.

youngirish
26/06/2009, 10:21 AM
I suspect with the noises that have been emanating from his camp (through his father) and from Trapattoni we'll probably see him back for our next set of qualifiers. I can't imagine he would agree to meet Trap just to reiterate again that he's not coming back. Why waste the man's time agreeing to the meeting in the first place when he could easily tell him that over the phone? Saying that it's impossible to predict what's going on in Superman's head. His train of thought doesn't seem to adhere to any logical pattern.

Hopefully if he does decide to come back he doesn't cause anymore disruption. We could do without a repeat of Saipan if we make it to South Africa.

26/06/2009, 10:23 AM
Dont be a pedantic c*nt; you know what I'm saying makes sense. If this was Richard Dunne everyone would be saying fair play, and bigging him up.
Not being pedantic and indeed I applaud Ireland for putting in the extra effort that seems to have helped him become a better player last season . I'm just saying that I'm sure CRonaldo has put in similar types of effort over the years and if he does spend his Summers on holiday then surely he is entitled to

Wangball
26/06/2009, 10:29 AM
Anyone see Pat Dolan's column in the Star this morning? He was saying that if you speak to anyone "in the know in England" its a foregone conclusion that Stephen Ireland will be in the Ireland squads for our August friendlies but its being kept quiet so they can use it to boost ticket sales closer to the games....I wonder who he's speaking to thats so "in the know"

On the subject of giving up his holidays to work out I reckon Ireland will regret this especially as he won't be getting much of a holiday next year, what with us being at the wordl cup and all!

Duggie
26/06/2009, 10:42 AM
Anyone see Pat Dolan's column in the Star this morning? He was saying that if you speak to anyone "in the know in England" its a foregone conclusion that Stephen Ireland will be in the Ireland squads for our August friendlies but its being kept quiet so they can use it to boost ticket sales closer to the games....I wonder who he's speaking to thats so "in the know"

On the subject of giving up his holidays to work out I reckon Ireland will regret this especially as he won't be getting much of a holiday next year, what with us being at the wordl cup and all!

pat dolan :rolleyes:

youngirish
26/06/2009, 10:56 AM

Sounds a bit ridiculous. Surely the FAI will sell just as many tickets if they declared Ireland was coming back tomorrow instead of 3 or 4 weeks down the line. They would then have 5 weeks to build up and hype his return in the media.

Crosby87
26/06/2009, 11:05 AM
So Pat Dolan is not something we can take seriously? Clue me in here.

Noelys Guitar
26/06/2009, 12:00 PM

"In the know" usually means the bloke at the end of the bar that all the regulars avoid like the plague.

Manblue
29/06/2009, 9:20 AM
Dolan knows about as much if not a whole lot less than anyone on this site, the only one that knows whats going on in Irelands mind is himself...if even

SallyMan
29/06/2009, 3:23 PM
In fairness I think pretty much everyone would welcome Stephen Ireland back to the squad. I think he would fit perfectly into Trapitoni's plans, either on the wings or even as a second striker with Robbie Keane, i could see him being equally effective in both positions, perhaps given a free role to drop back into midfield to collect the ball, leaving keane up front alone and doyle on the bench as an impact sub.

His biggest attributes are his running off the ball, supporting play all the way from box to box on the break, his excellent finishing and passing ability are a joy to watch and i think he would be THE link in midfield that would make the team tick

30/06/2009, 7:45 AM
In fairness I think pretty much everyone would welcome Stephen Ireland back to the squad. I think he would fit perfectly into Trapitoni's plans, either on the wings or even as a second striker with Robbie Keane, i could see him being equally effective in both positions, perhaps given a free role to drop back into midfield to collect the ball, leaving keane up front alone and doyle on the bench as an impact sub.

His biggest attributes are his running off the ball, supporting play all the way from box to box on the break, his excellent finishing and passing ability are a joy to watch and i think he would be THE link in midfield that would make the team tick

if its doyle he is to replace then no thanks. doyles attitude is exactly what we want from our players

30/06/2009, 10:04 AM
In fairness I think pretty much everyone would welcome Stephen Ireland back to the squad. .....

Doesn't include me :mad:

DeLorean
30/06/2009, 11:14 AM
Doesn't include me :mad:

We'll judging by your location I think it's fair to say you're pretty biased on these matters. Don't think you'd be alone in not welcoming him back though, regardless of the location.

SallyMan
30/06/2009, 12:20 PM
if its doyle he is to replace then no thanks. doyles attitude is exactly what we want from our players

Doyle will be lucky to win his place instead of Caleb Folan, who has played exceptionally well in the few games he has played a part in. His hold up play, good use of the ball, and provides a good threat from high balls. If he continues with the same level of performance i cant see him being replaced to easily, Doyle is in the same mould except Folan seems to be much better at finding players to setup attacks.

On a side note, attitude is great to have, but we have plenty of it. Kilbane has a great attitude but i think id rather someone with greater talent filling that left back position. He has been a great servant but i think we need to try Kelly or Foley out either at right back and switch John O'Shea, or else try them at left back altogether.

Anyone that would like to turn down Stephen Ireland because of what has happened in the last year or two has lost their marbles. He has shown he has the right attitude at club level by becoming the young player of the year, i think there is obviously something that went on when he was in the squad which caused him to leave, and since i dont know the whole story its hard to apportion blame, but i doubt it is all on one side.

I can see real competition for places in the irish set up in the next year or so. You have Hunt, Duff, McGeady fighting it out for the wings, Keane, Doyle, Folan fighting it out for the two striking positions, about ten players can fill in at central midfield, its really only our defence that needs to be strenghtened considerably. If we could get a decent left back i think we would have a pretty decent team.

Thebolg
30/06/2009, 12:25 PM
We'll judging by your location I think it's fair to say you're pretty biased on these matters. Don't think you'd be alone in not welcoming him back though, regardless of the location.

well? is the little b****x coming back or what?

Wolfie
30/06/2009, 12:26 PM
Doyle will be lucky to win his place instead of Caleb Folan, who has played exceptionally well in the few games he has played a part in. His hold up play, good use of the ball, and provides a good threat from high balls. If he continues with the same level of performance i cant see him being replaced to easily, Doyle is in the same mould except Folan seems to be much better at finding players to setup attacks.

On a side note, attitude is great to have, but we have plenty of it. Kilbane has a great attitude but i think id rather someone with greater talent filling that left back position. He has been a great servant but i think we need to try Kelly or Foley out either at right back and switch John O'Shea, or else try them at left back altogether.

Anyone that would like to turn down Stephen Ireland because of what has happened in the last year or two has lost their marbles. He has shown he has the right attitude at club level by becoming the young player of the year, i think there is obviously something that went on when he was in the squad which caused him to leave, and since i dont know the whole story its hard to apportion blame, but i doubt it is all on one side.

I can see real competition for places in the irish set up in the next year or so. You have Hunt, Duff, McGeady fighting it out for the wings, Keane, Doyle, Folan fighting it out for the two striking positions, about ten players can fill in at central midfield, its really only our defence that needs to be strenghtened considerably. If we could get a decent left back i think we would have a pretty decent team.

Have to say I wouldn't share your assessment of the central midfield.

Stephen Reid has been sorely missed and his track record for remaining injury free is dismal (through no fault of his own).

Without Reid there, I'd still hold major reservations about the quality we have at our disposal there.

MeathDrog
30/06/2009, 12:34 PM
Exactly. Just imagine to yourself that Stephen Ireland was born in say Manchester for example, and he was a 'placca Paddy'. 80% of the country would tell him to f*ckoff and don't even bother trying to get back onto the team. Yet when he's from Cork (Or any county for that matter) , there seems to be a big change in attitude towards him.

Personally it's a matter of principle. I would be more than happy to see Stephen Ireland to stay well away from the Irish soccer team.

youngirish
30/06/2009, 12:45 PM

I also wouldn't share your assessment of Folan. Big and strong and can make a nuisance of himself but he has little else going for him. Did ok in the two appearances against Italy and Bulgaria but was by no means exceptional. To say he should be considered for a start instead of Doyle is nonsense imo who is a far superior player. Folan will struggle to hold down a place for himself in any team in the Premiership (as he did in a very poor Hull side last season). He'll probably have to drop down a division to get a regular starting berth next year and even then he won't set the world alight in the Championship.

Leon Best is a better long term option for the big man/little man striker combination role if we want to go down that route or possibly Cillian Sheridan if he continues to improve over the next season or two.

In any case that tactic is only useful in International football when used sparingly unless you have a top quality target man like Kohler that has other valuable attributes in his game (Kohler was also a top class goal poacher and finisher and not just a striker for someone more talented to play off).

DeLorean
30/06/2009, 1:25 PM

I agree with most of this but, like Wolfie, wouldn't be quite as content with the centre midfield. The fact that there is competition for places there is only down to the fact that they are all very limited in what they can do. Obviously Stephen Reid could change this big time, not to mention the other fella!!

30/06/2009, 1:31 PM
So Pat Dolan is not something we can take seriously? Clue me in here.Can we take Pat seriously?
No (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kgMnkj8UxVU)

30/06/2009, 1:37 PM
Despite nearly every (or is it 100% every?) goal we have conceded this campaign being from the full back position, I think the biggest weakness the team has is in central midfield. They really find it hard to impose themselves on a game and take charge. That said, I think Trap was quick to recognise this and I've been really impressed how midfield has shaped up when they don't have the ball. Although it can be nerve racking to be without possession for long periods it's hard to deny that the result is effective. I noticed the same with the USA in the Confederations Cup.

At full back, it's simple errors or lack of concentration that has been the main failing, though clearly the better the players you have the less likely such errors are.

Put it this way: if I could have a top class full back or a top class athletic CM right now, I'd go for the latter. No matter how much I rtae him I'm afraid I can only ascribe minimal probabilty to Steven Reid staying fit long enough to influence this team. I hope I'm wrong.

A top class left-back AND a top class CM would be a dream outcome! I don't think much else is needed tbh.

I think Folan's recent performances have been really encouraging. I think Doyle offers more but Folan's in-your-face approach with no mean ability to lay the ball off well is a useful option. I can see Doyle & Folan even partnering each other, with Robbie dropping deeper as a Plan B in the next few games.

30/06/2009, 2:51 PM
Playing with 2 out and out wingers (2 from Duff, McGeady, SHunt, Keogh have started the qualifiers) then you're going to lose possession on the wings. That's the disadvantage of the formation and tactics Trapattoni has employed to date.
Kilbane was clearly targetted by the Bulgarians, and they scored twice in the two games. Unfortunately, apart from Damien Delaney, he's the best option we have there at the moment. If (IF) Stephen Kelly gets a run at Fulham, or Steve Finnan returns to fitness and form, then O'Shea could be shunted over there, but again he'll just be the latest square peg in that particular round hole.

30/06/2009, 3:13 PM
Kilbane was clearly targetted by the Bulgarians, and they scored twice in the two games. Unfortunately, apart from Dean Delaney, he's the best option we have there at the moment. Presume you mean Damien, isn't Dean a keeper?

30/06/2009, 3:15 PM
Presume you mean Damien, isn't Dean a keeper?
D'oh! Original post fixed. That's not the first time I've made that mistake either!

co. down green
01/07/2009, 12:00 PM
Charlton wants no return for Ireland (http://www.meathchronicle.ie/sport/soccer/articles/2009/07/01/41216-charlton-wants-no-return-for-ireland/)

Wolfie
01/07/2009, 12:38 PM
Charlton wants no return for Ireland (http://www.meathchronicle.ie/sport/soccer/articles/2009/07/01/41216-charlton-wants-no-return-for-ireland/)

Jack didn't want a return for this bloke for about 2 years as well............. see how that one worked out.

http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/45595000/jpg/_45595543_oleary_1990_512.jpg[/QUOTE]

SallyMan
01/07/2009, 1:25 PM
I agree with most of this but, like Wolfie, wouldn't be quite as content with the centre midfield. The fact that there is competition for places there is only down to the fact that they are all very limited in what they can do. Obviously Stephen Reid could change this big time, not to mention the other fella!!

Well Im thinking Andy Reid, Stephen Reid, Stephen Ireland,Darren Gibson, all possibly being fit and available for a place by the time the next qualifiers come around. Then there is the likes of Keith Andrews, Glenn Whelan & Liam Lawrence who although limited could do a job should three of the four mentioned be unavaliable. Considering that they are all Premiership players its hardly a weak position.

Our really weak position is left back, if we could somehow conjour up a quality left back i think id be confident enough of getting to south africa next summer. Kilbane has cost us four points in these series of qualifiers. We would be in a great position if we had them.

DeLorean
01/07/2009, 1:36 PM
Well Im thinking Andy Reid, Stephen Reid, Stephen Ireland,Darren Gibson, all possibly being fit and available for a place by the time the next qualifiers come around. Then there is the likes of Keith Andrews, Glenn Whelan & Liam Lawrence who although limited could do a job should three of the four mentioned be unavaliable. Considering that they are all Premiership players its hardly a weak position.

Our really weak position is left back, if we could somehow conjour up a quality left back i think id be confident enough of getting to south africa next summer. Kilbane has cost us four points in these series of qualifiers. We would be in a great position if we had them.

Well obviously it depends on whether you are talking about the next campaign or this one in relation to centre mid. Whelan and Andrews is a suspect pairing, PL players or not. Even in relation to the next campaign we can't take much for granted, Ireland might not return, Trapp might still be there and therefore Andy Reid might not and Steven Reid's fitness is anybody's guess.

SallyMan
01/07/2009, 1:39 PM
I also wouldn't share your assessment of Folan. Big and strong and can make a nuisance of himself but he has little else going for him. Did ok in the two appearances against Italy and Bulgaria but was by no means exceptional. To say he should be considered for a start instead of Doyle is nonsense imo who is a far superior player. Folan will struggle to hold down a place for himself in any team in the Premiership (as he did in a very poor Hull side last season). He'll probably have to drop down a division to get a regular starting berth next year and even then he won't set the world alight in the Championship.

Leon Best is a better long term option for the big man/little man striker combination role if we want to go down that route or possibly Cillian Sheridan if he continues to improve over the next season or two.

In any case that tactic is only useful in International football when used sparingly unless you have a top quality target man like Kohler that has other valuable attributes in his game (Kohler was also a top class goal poacher and finisher and not just a striker for someone more talented to play off).

Ah he was brilliant in the two games hes played for Ireland. You must have a set against him to not see that!! He gave us an outlet time and time again Bulgaria, and often was able to hold off one or two players and feed it back to the nearest supporting player. Whilst this might not seem much to you, i thought it provided us with our only outlet, it ensured that we could boot the ball to safety and folan 9/10 if he got possesion he would hold it up and start an attack. He outshone Robbie Keane on both occasions and he set up the goal we scored against Italy, he also set up another great chance in that game which Robbie Keane nearly converted aswell, proving they have a chance of getting an understanding going.

Doyle may be a far superior player...which I would dispute having watched the two qualifiers (and its all im judging Folan on). But Folan offers you a completely different option imo, Doyle is more likely to try and do things on his own. Folan realises his strenghts and weaknesses and uses them intelligently, he doesnt try and go alone when he realises its not on and thats a main reason i think he would work well in the irish team.

01/07/2009, 3:33 PM
Jack didn't want a return for this bloke for about 2 years as well............. see how that one worked out.

Jack said he would not pursue Ireland, possibly in reference to Trap's alleged pursuit of Ireland.
Implying, that if Ireland wanted to be considered he would have to pursue Jack? or Ireland would have to wait until Jack felt he was needed.
Jack did not pursue O'Leary for years until injuries to the center halves forced the issue for Jack. Once O'Leary turned up and played then he was sort of back into the scheme of things

Wolfie
01/07/2009, 3:39 PM
Jack said he would not pursue Ireland, possibly in reference to Trap's alleged pursuit of Ireland.
Implying, that if Ireland wanted to be considered he would have to pursue Jack? or Ireland would have to wait until Jack felt he was needed.
Jack did not pursue O'Leary for years until injuries to the center halves forced the issue for Jack. Once O'Leary turned up and played then he was sort of back into the scheme of things

Yeah - O'Leary and Ireland is not a like for like situation.

O'Leary was effectively in enforced exile for 2 years as Charlton wouldn't select him.

Ireland absence is obviously self enforced.

My main point is that if Jack had have continued with his pig headed refusal not to select O'Leary, he'd never have taken that peno in 1990.

SallyMan
02/07/2009, 12:02 AM
Well obviously it depends on whether you are talking about the next campaign or this one in relation to centre mid. Whelan and Andrews is a suspect pairing, PL players or not. Even in relation to the next campaign we can't take much for granted, Ireland might not return, Trapp might still be there and therefore Andy Reid might not and Steven Reid's fitness is anybody's guess.

Im talking of this campaign, the next games arent until September i think it is so as I said all four could be available, the chances are that at least Gibson will be available for selection, so if continues the form he showed this year i would expect him to be a starter. I do honestly think that trap would favour a gibson / steven reid partnership in an ideal world, but with both being unavailble at different times in the campaign Whelan and Andrews have filled in ok. I think trap had to play with two holding midfielders to protect a weak defence imo, and because whelan / andrews are having to hold these positions it gives the opposing central midfield a lot of time on the ball, it also makes both players look bad as they are chasing the ball for 70% of the time. Its a tough job and both players have done it quite well. It is this system that will ensure we will not concede breakaway goals. The only problem with this system is kamikase kilbane.

MeathDrog
02/07/2009, 1:02 AM
“Stephen Ireland is a good, decent player but if he didn’t want to play for his country I wouldn’t pursue him,” said Charlton

That is it in a nutshell really. Why can't people se this and get over it?

Keen2win
02/07/2009, 12:07 PM
Because he could be the difference between us qualifing or not qualifing. Also because, if he wanted, he would walk into the team. At the end of the day we want to go to South Africa, and with Stephen Ireland it would be a hell of a lot easier!

amaccann
02/07/2009, 12:30 PM
Ifs, buts and maybes; we should all know by now that club form doesn't always translate into international form. Look at S. Ireland's own teammate, Dunne. Not the greatest of seasons for his club (albeit with legitimate reasons why), but stellar for Ireland.

MeathDrog
02/07/2009, 5:02 PM
Because he could be the difference between us qualifing or not qualifing. Also because, if he wanted, he would walk into the team. At the end of the day we want to go to South Africa, and with Stephen Ireland it would be a hell of a lot easier!
If we don't qualify, then so be it. It is a matter of principle at the end of the day. No room for mercenaries.

Wexford Delboy
02/07/2009, 9:20 PM
Ifs, buts and maybes; we should all know by now that club form doesn't always translate into international form. Look at S. Ireland's own teammate, Dunne. Not the greatest of seasons for his club (albeit with legitimate reasons why), but stellar for Ireland.
4 goals 6games not bad form

03/07/2009, 1:18 AM

That's speculation, he would likely be a liability and may adversely affect the team spirit.

03/07/2009, 2:42 PM
I'm happy to trust Trap's judgment and skill in handling this type of situation. That extends to managing morale & deciding how to accomodate him.

Razors left peg
03/07/2009, 3:23 PM
That's speculation, he would likely be a liability and may adversely affect the team spirit.

Thats specualtion too

SUB of the day
03/07/2009, 7:39 PM
I'm happy to trust Trap's judgment and skill in handling this type of situation. That extends to managing morale & deciding how to accomodate him...sums it up perfectly, in Trap we trust!