View Full Version : Stephen Ireland

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 [34] 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85

antrimgreen
02/04/2009, 8:12 AM
Agree Manblue that was one off both Andrews & Whelan better games due to the sending off opening up the park to play, yet i was still completley fustrated watching the pair off them time and time again pass the ball to our LB or RB but not in a forward attacking move a ball behind. I was no big fan of Gibson but thought he was much better in the middle than them 2 at least he takes a touch looks up and tries to get the ball moving quick and forward he could still become a very good player and he could be at no better club to learn.

Manblue
02/04/2009, 11:07 AM
Agree Manblue that was one off both Andrews & Whelan better games due to the sending off opening up the park to play, yet i was still completley fustrated watching the pair off them time and time again pass the ball to our LB or RB but not in a forward attacking move a ball behind. I was no big fan of Gibson but thought he was much better in the middle than them 2 at least he takes a touch looks up and tries to get the ball moving quick and forward he could still become a very good player and he could be at no better club to learn.

While this is true I thought his distribution was terrible, he had some nice ideas just a shame about the execution, Reid or Ireland on the other hand have a proven ability to distribute the ball and we need players that can do it now rather than in years to come unfortunaetly

antrimgreen
02/04/2009, 11:51 AM
He had a chance to crossed from the LW position twice in a row and it looked like he kicked the ground no elavation at all didn't beat the first man. True true Manblue but while trap prefers these lads we can only hope that they get better as time goes on. Glad Gibson is at Man U because look what it has done for O'Sheas game, the guy is solid now.

The Bunk
02/04/2009, 8:15 PM
Nobody should turn their back on their country, I'm sure that wasn't the solution to his problems that he had.

But with our current midfield duo, I would forgive him and accept him back, because we need him now more than ever. And hopefully by the next campaign we will have Ireland and Gibson as a midfield partnership with McCarthy fighting for a start too

irishultra
02/04/2009, 8:51 PM
interestingly in fm09 even if you untick irelands international retirement he still remains retired in game.. re

02/04/2009, 8:55 PM
interestingly in fm09 even if you untick irelands international retirement he still remains retired in game.. re

what a pr1ck!!!! :mad:

02/04/2009, 9:03 PM
Nobody should turn their back on their country, I'm sure that wasn't the solution to his problems that he had.

But with our current midfield duo, I would forgive him and accept him back, because we need him now more than ever. And hopefully by the next campaign we will have Ireland and Gibson as a midfield partnership with McCarthy fighting for a start too

Well you might accept him back on your bended knees but you have bit of problemm when he does not turn for training, or indeed turn up at all.
Still, accept him and see what happens, I will start my stop watch..1..2..3....

03/04/2009, 8:04 AM
I'd like Stephen to be back in the team however he doesnt fit into Traps system,Whelan and andrews/Gibson arnt that creative but they are good passers of the ball and tackling.

And with a bit of luck, we will have Stephen Reid back for the start of next season. I can see up beating Italy if he is available.

Manblue
03/04/2009, 8:24 AM
Well you might accept him back on your bended knees but you have bit of problemm when he does not turn for training, or indeed turn up at all.
Still, accept him and see what happens, I will start my stop watch..1..2..3....

What are you on about not turning up for training, its not as if they meet up on a wednesday for training, if there in the squad they train before a game,

The Fly
03/04/2009, 2:28 PM
This is a question posed to all those who would welcome Stephen Ireland back, of which I am one. If Ireland were to come back, is it now too late for this campaign or is the match against Bulgaria in June or the match against Italy in September the last chance saloon?

When is the point of no return for this campaign?

03/04/2009, 2:44 PM
i thnk it has passed already to be honest - i think Georgia was the perfect opportunity to reintegrate with the minimum of fuss.

The upcoming games are already huge enough without the distraction of "The Return of Ireland"

Colbert Report
03/04/2009, 2:55 PM
The point of no return has passed, unfortunately. With the injuries we had to our two main wingers in the last match, he would have been welcomed with open arms. Now it is simply too late.

Football is a funny game though, you never know, he could come back at any moment.

aidz1
03/04/2009, 11:55 PM
Them 2 scottish lads are being kicked off the scottish fold forever for sticking their 2 fingers to a tv camera while on the subs bench.
steve ireland has basically stuck his 2 fingers up at the chance of representing ireland.... and yet quite a few want us to go on our knees and beg him to return to international football ...
strange

Thebolg
04/04/2009, 8:49 AM
86 pages in a thread i would imagine most of them about the fact that he has given up the oportunity to represent his country. He has chosen his ego over his responsibilities to his country and the fans.

I believe he has crossed the point of no return certainly for this campaign and if he does return it should certainly not be because anybody is on bended knee for him.

I have a feeling that once people stop talking about him and giving him all the attention he might start to realise what he is missing. then for purely selfish reasons he will want to return. it is then that we should bring him back and sit him on the bench for a few matches to see what his effect on the squad is.

One little peep out of him and he should be back in Manchester on his arse. This beg him to return craic is a joke. He got himself into this situation and he needs to grow up and dig himself out of it and not just hide from it.

Colbert Report
04/04/2009, 3:30 PM
No Stephen Ireland in the Man City team today. Is he seriously injured? Hasn't played at all now for four games in a row.

04/04/2009, 3:50 PM
Just the one game missing before this afternoon. Hasn't missed a game before that since January.
According to Man City's site - http://www.mcfc.co.uk/default.sps?pagegid={DBD12D53-8346-431D-A04F-5D0F8664DE80}&newsid=6630094 - he picked up an ankle knock in training on thursday

The influential midfielder limped out of training after damaging an ankle on Thursday,

04/04/2009, 6:46 PM
What are you on about not turning up for training, its not as if they meet up on a wednesday for training, if there in the squad they train before a game,

OK but you still have a slight prolbem if you accept him back and he does not turn up for any of the matches.
Basically you are going to be a player short.
I guess you could accomadate that by switching to 4-4-1 and getting a cardboard cut-out of him for the team photo.
Obviously you would have to airbrush his hair off.

04/04/2009, 7:04 PM
Them 2 scottish lads are being kicked off the scottish fold forever for sticking their 2 fingers to a tv camera while on the subs bench.
steve ireland has basically stuck his 2 fingers up at the chance of representing ireland.... and yet quite a few want us to go on our knees and beg him to return to international football ...
strange

Very true ...and Scotland doing without Ferguson is easily comparable to us without SI.

irishfan86
04/04/2009, 7:21 PM
Very true ...and Scotland doing without Ferguson is easily comparable to us without SI.

Ferguson is a decent player, but his best days are behind him.

No way is he comparable to Stephen Ireland who is becoming one of the Premier League's best players.

Another factor to consider is the greater depth Scotland have in midfield, so from that perspective Stephen Ireland presents a bigger hole for us since we're so weak there than Ferguson leaves for Scotland.

SUB of the day
04/04/2009, 9:24 PM
....but Ferguson turns up for his country, Ireland turns his back.......self indulgent little ...

04/04/2009, 9:51 PM
....but Ferguson turns up for his country, Ireland turns his back.......self indulgent legend ...
:o...

09/04/2009, 6:51 PM
What a goal there lads. The lad is so gifted its crazy, he sprayed a 40 yard pass to robihno burst his balls to get to the box one touch finish bottom corner, superb altogether. Love him or hate him hes going to be world class!!

09/04/2009, 7:25 PM
I won't take from the subtlety of the tap in ...now how about acknowledging that the goal was 95% Robinhos work eh?

09/04/2009, 8:45 PM
Drogba was alright last night.

09/04/2009, 8:46 PM
I won't take from the subtlety of the tap in ...now how about acknowledging that the goal was 95% Robinhos work eh?
95% Robinho? You sure about that?...
http://www.101greatgoals.com/videodisplay/2343450/

Youths4Ever
09/04/2009, 8:55 PM

where you not watching the goal he made the pass to Robinho and then ran the distance for his tap in. Does not matter how easy the finish the pass and run made by Ireland created more than 5% of the goal

09/04/2009, 10:43 PM
must be a contender for longest 1-2 pass ever?

theworm2345
09/04/2009, 10:53 PM
where you not watching the goal he made the pass to Robinho and then ran the distance for his tap in. Does not matter how easy the finish the pass and run made by Ireland created more than 5% of the goal

I can't stand the ******* but to be fair it was hardly a tap in

09/04/2009, 11:06 PM
worst analysis ever take off your blinkers lionel, give the lad credit ffs. The goal was 70% his if anythingm robihno held it up very well and thats all really.

10/04/2009, 1:29 AM
Great goal by Ireland. Great ball and then great attitdue to not sit back and admire it and get into a great position and then great finish too. Not a big fan of the guy for letting his country down but still a great goal.

irishultra
10/04/2009, 2:19 AM
i cant believe we have a player who would take our starting 11 genuinely to another level. its not like s reid where there are doubts among people who watch him week in and out, ireland is proper class

10/04/2009, 8:44 AM
Great goal by Ireland. Great ball and then great attitdue to not sit back and admire it and get into a great position and then great finish too. Not a big fan of the guy for letting his country down but still a great goal.
So, you'd say it's "great" then Neil ;)

10/04/2009, 11:06 AM
Great goal by Ireland. Still don't like the lad no matter how well he plays for City. He emptimises all that is wrong with the modern game. A really bad example to kids growing up.

10/04/2009, 11:29 AM
Really? Do you think this - http://www.stephenireland.com/charity/ - is a bad example to kids growing up?

Thebolg
10/04/2009, 11:36 AM
95% robinho, wtf. All season when Robinho has played well he's been made play well from Ireland, his vision last night not just for the goal was superb, picks passes others would never see. He's like an ungodly fusion of Pirlo and Gerrard these days.

I would say more of a mix of roy keane and timmy mallet. Roy Keanes arrogance / ego / preciousness, and Timmy Mallet's maturity.

Emmet7
10/04/2009, 11:57 AM
Great goal by Ireland.

However, defensively he isn't great, see the third goal.

That's the problem with Man City. They can score great goals but there midfield has more holes than swiss cheese.

It's the same with Stephen Ireland. He can get you a wonder goal now and again. But he can also disappear for long periods of matches and the opposition can walk through midfield. Do we want that for the Irish national team? If Stephen Ireland was playing against Italy, would he have kept their midfielders in check from a defensive point of view? I have never been impressed with his defensive skills, he lets people by too easily.

He is most definately not a Roy Keane, he in unable to impose his will on the team or bully other players. You need a bully in midfield or even as a manager so players are forced to pull their weight. How many times when an attacker had beaten the last defender you have Keane putting in a saving tackle? I've never seen Ireland do that. Five minutes later Keane would be up the other end scoring a goal.

Ireland is ok at attacking but not great at defending. Sure, playing for Ireland he might score the odd goal here or there and set up another. But's that's no use if we concede 3 goals a game because our midfielders won't close down the opposition.

Better to win 1-0 as Trap's philosophy seems to be than lose 4-3 or 5-2 as we did against Cyprus.

10/04/2009, 12:41 PM
In an ideal world you'd have a solid competitive midfield with Ireland deployed elsewhere providing the creativity. There's no way you could have this with Duff & McGeady in same team as him, so in my opinion McGeady's place would be most vulnerable to Ireland's hypothetical return.

I think Ireland's best work is in the final third but where we're lacking most is in the middle third.

With a good central midfield I could see him being as effective as Houghton was for us under Jack, with proper instruction.

10/04/2009, 1:07 PM
Really? Do you think this - http://www.stephenireland.com/charity/ - is a bad example to kids growing up?

Fair play to him for subscribing to that charity. A lot of other footballers subscribe to it as well but probably don't put it on their personal webpages.

What irks me about Ireland is the attitude he has shown in the past towards his country, fellow players and supporters. He has been found out to be a liar, something he has yet to apologise for. Just because you subscribe to a charity doesn't mean that dropping your shorts is tasteful. He's on the BBC website today saying City players need to be braver, rich coming from someone who hasn't got the character to apologise to all the kids who would love to see him turning out for his country. What do you tell a kid of 11 when he asks why Stephen doesn't want to play for his country.

10/04/2009, 1:08 PM
It's the same with Stephen Ireland. He can get you a wonder goal now and again. But he can also disappear for long periods of matches and the opposition can walk through midfield. Do we want that for the Irish national team? If Stephen Ireland was playing against Italy, would he have kept their midfielders in check from a defensive point of view? I have never been impressed with his defensive skills, he lets people by too easily.
You could obviously say the same about Kaka and hundreds of attacking playmakers. Ireland may be playing in the central midfield position under Hughes but he's not a central midfielder. What I think happened with Ireland is that he's not a wide player. He's clearly a central player. And he's a midfielder. In Britain, that type of player must track back. Britain doesn't do Kaka's or Riquelme's or Diego's. Because he learned to track back he's now playing in a central midfield role but his instincts are all attacking. He's just not a central midfielder.

kingdomkerry
10/04/2009, 1:24 PM

This is a PR stunt pure and simple. Trying to improve his reputation for being a traitor and well..................... lets just say not the full shilling.

10/04/2009, 1:42 PM
Fair play to him for subscribing to that charity. A lot of other footballers subscribe to it as well but probably don't put it on their personal webpages.
He didn't subscribe to it, he set it up, it's his own charitable foundation. The memorabillia on it was given to him by other players to sell.

This is a PR stunt pure and simple. Trying to improve his reputation for being a traitor and well..................... lets just say not the full shilling.
Ah, come on, that's a bit much. Is it possible that your opinion of Ireland is colouring your judgement of the charity? Anyone else who sets up a foundation would hardly receive that kind of response.

The Fly
10/04/2009, 1:45 PM
I'm surprised he has that Football Focus interview, (with Lawrenson's comments at the end), on his home page.
Maybe he doesn't have much to do with the website :rolleyes:

Emmet7
10/04/2009, 2:08 PM
You could obviously say the same about Kaka and hundreds of attacking playmakers. Ireland may be playing in the central midfield position under Hughes but he's not a central midfielder. What I think happened with Ireland is that he's not a wide player. He's clearly a central player. And he's a midfielder. In Britain, that type of player must track back. Britain doesn't do Kaka's or Riquelme's or Diego's. Because he learned to track back he's now playing in a central midfield role but his instincts are all attacking. He's just not a central midfielder.

That's fair enough.

But what I saw last night was Ireland score a great goal but then was largely at fault for Hamburg's final goal...You could see he had woeful defensive instincts. He was in the box, there was an attacker in the box and he never went within 5 yards of the attacker. When the ball came in Ireland was wrong-footed. Defensively he is poor.

So his goal was cancelled out by that mistake and it was a mistake...you should never stand off someone in the box, first rule, you have to challenge for the ball. And Man City were opened up time and time again through the midfield. And once again it could have been 6 or 7 goals to the Germans if it wasn't for Shay Given. That raises questions about their midfield of which Ireland is a part. Do you think Roy Keane would have let any midfield he was a part of have so many gaps.

The midfield has to be a line of defense too.

10/04/2009, 2:25 PM
That raises questions about their midfield of which Ireland is a part.
You're talking about a midfield which about the same balance as:

-- Keane --- Bent --- Pavl --
----- Modric -------- Lennon
--------- Palacios----------

Not a difficult question to answer. :) I don't know what Mark Hughes is thinking and it's no wonder Dunne has had a tough season.

Manblue
10/04/2009, 4:52 PM

If it was a PR stunt he would of done it with an irish charity, i doubt the english care about him not playing for ireland to be honest

10/04/2009, 5:54 PM
SI has absolutely no relevance to Ireland the football team.
He is of no relevance to our qualification efforts and if we do qualify he will have no relevance at the WC Finals. Trap has behaved impeccably in this matter

Call a poll and see how many members want this thread to stay

A. in the Ireland section
or
B. moved to World Football

10/04/2009, 6:31 PM

Comes across as a PR exercise to me, some of those kids will never get the opertunity to play for their country.

10/04/2009, 8:18 PM

PR stunt are you for real ffs take your head out of your hole and give the lad a break. Fair play to him. A legend im my opinion

10/04/2009, 8:20 PM
The web site was created three months after he quit Ireland.

kingdomkerry
10/04/2009, 10:14 PM
The web site was created three months after he quit Ireland.

Exactly. PR stunt and no one is going to convince me any different.