View Full Version : Stephen Ireland

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 [27] 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85

Greenbod
15/12/2008, 8:45 AM
Maybe he'd like to play keeper......Shay's a nice guy, I'm sure he'd be willing to step aside for Stephen.

HammerNThongs
15/12/2008, 10:36 AM
**** him. Convenient of him to say this when there isnt a game for another 2ish months so Irish football fans will get off his back. Until he steps foot on the football pitch he will be a Judas *****...and even then, there will always be an element of doubt about him and his commitment and every poor performance he will have for us will raise questions

15/12/2008, 10:51 AM
when did the word priest become banned on this site?!

Reality Bites
15/12/2008, 10:52 AM
**** him. Convenient of him to say this when there isnt a game for another 2ish months so Irish football fans will get off his back. Until he steps foot on the football pitch he will be a Judas *****...and even then, there will always be an element of doubt about him and his commitment and every poor performance he will have for us will raise questions

Oh my dear lord :rolleyes:

back of the net
15/12/2008, 10:56 AM

pathetic..will u grow up

lionelhutz
15/12/2008, 10:57 AM
No, Because what sort of signal does it send to the rest of the team, when a player who didnt want to show for his national team for the last 12 months or so, suddenly is available again and is immediately in the starting XI.

No doubt it would be great to have him back but look how hard man city are trying to work out a formation that suits attacking players...the likes of SI. As mentioned above, I think he would fit best in our team playing behind the striker, im not sure we really have the quality around him to play him in a midfield 4. Watch him for Man City, he often plays ahead of the strikers, we could not have him playing such a role for Ireland.

I agree that his position is just off a striker but who would he start instead of? I don't think keane will be dropped and Keane and ireland just wouldn't work.

I think he would do very well playing behind Doyle and they would probably be a better partnership than Keane Doyle. IMO I'd pick him ahead of Keane if he comes back

dr_peepee
15/12/2008, 1:38 PM
when did the word priest become banned on this site?!

Ha!!! That one took a while.....

Greenbod
15/12/2008, 2:05 PM
and even then, there will always be an element of doubt about him and his commitment and every poor performance he will have for us will raise questions

This is a perfectly reasonable comment.

Are all those who are prepared to welcome him back, seriously suggesting that there is not a doubt about his commitment to his country?

HammerNThongs
15/12/2008, 2:18 PM
This is a perfectly reasonable comment.

Are all those who are prepared to welcome him back, seriously suggesting that there is not a doubt about his commitment to his country?

Judging by the posts above, apparently so.

DotTV
15/12/2008, 2:54 PM
There will always be questions on his commitment until he comes back and proves his loyalty to the team...which can only happen over time.
As for his best position,I watched him on Saturday and he was tracking back all the time making challenges. I think Trap could mould him to cover defensively as well as giving us the attacking option.

Greenbod
15/12/2008, 3:05 PM
Commitment is a problem with the Irish team in general it doesn't begin and end with Ireland.

Carr and Finnan have sauntered in and out of the team for years, Andy O Brien doesn't care in the slightest any more. Alan Lee the same, Joey O Brien showed a clear lack of respect with his comments as well. Even look at Andy Reid who is one of our more commited players yet still doesnt care enough to happily fill the bench.

You dont have to look any further than the American trip and the sheer number of players who pulled out of that, O Shea even rejecting the chance to captain his country for a couple of days on a beach. You've got Kilbane, Doyle, S.Hunt, Given, Duff, Dunne and Keane giving a good level of commitment and thats about it.

Against my better judgement, I tried to make some sense of this drivel...... I failed.

15/12/2008, 3:20 PM
Team vs Georgia?

..............Given
Finnan Dunne O'Se Kilbane
.........Reid Gibson
......Ireland Duff
..........Keane
..........Doyle

Subs
McGeady
McShane
Whelan

Would he be one of the Ard an Bhotair O'Sé's? :)

15/12/2008, 3:40 PM
No it's not, his position is centre mid. He's a box to box player so he travels a lot, everywhere from defensive mid to ahead of the strikers and even drifting out to the wings. What he needs is a creative license and someone beside him who'll cover for him when he goes wandering like Kompany does at City. He has far more presence now than he did last time he was in an Irish shirt so the prospect of a Carsley/Ireland midfield isn't as absurd as it once was.
If Ireland was a magnificent box to box player Man City would not be 1 place off the relegation zone because they'd have a perfect balance of excellent players. Their problem is Kompany is playing a defensive role while Ireland and Elano are too attacking. They've no real all round central midfielder with Johnston out injured.

Maybe Ireland will grow into that role in the future but at the moment he's an attacking midfielder without question. It's not all about getting back and tackling. Tevez does that.

15/12/2008, 4:03 PM
I've watched Ireland a lot lately and he really does look to be completely free to look for the ball wherever he sees fit. He hangs around the box or goes deep as he pleases.

He's a lovely player no doubt but I still struggle to see how we'd accomodate him. This isn't in the knowledge that Trap is very conservative - it's from looking at our options elsewhere and seeing that in the absence of a really ood ball winner we'd be lightweight and too easy to play through.

I think the most likely way we could use Ireland is in a 4-3-1-2 with a solid midfield 3 (probably without Duff and McGeady), or using the same shape as now with Ireland playing instead of McGeady.

15/12/2008, 4:09 PM
He has far more presence now than he did last time he was in an Irish shirt so the prospect of a Carsley/Ireland midfield isn't as absurd as it once was.I think he's a super player but I don't see how he has increased his "presence". I don't see Carsley / Ireland workin with lightweights like Duff & McGeady on the wings. That'd be 3 midgets out of 4 across the pitch and for all Carsley's tenacity there's nobody there who can win anything in the air.

As soon as Trap was appointed I thought he'd adopt 4-2-3-1. This hasn't been too far wrong - he does insist on 2 defensive midfielders and two very attacking wide players.

15/12/2008, 5:09 PM
He should be required to make a full public apology before he is taken back.

Razors left peg
15/12/2008, 5:48 PM

Hes a footballer, not a politician. Hes a young fella whos made a few mistakes and was rightly critisied for it but come on its time to get over it

third policeman
15/12/2008, 5:49 PM

To who and for what exactly? As far as I am aware it is niether illegal or sinful to choose not to play international football for a period of time.

15/12/2008, 5:55 PM
He shouldn't have turned his back on the team at a time when we aren't exactly flush with options. A simple apology to the fans who pay to travel around watching the team saying that he should have made himself available for selection would suffice.

15/12/2008, 6:41 PM
Commitment is a problem with the Irish team in general it doesn't begin and end with Ireland.

Carr and Finnan have sauntered in and out of the team for years, Andy O Brien doesn't care in the slightest any more. Alan Lee the same, Joey O Brien showed a clear lack of respect with his comments as well. Even look at Andy Reid who is one of our more commited players yet still doesnt care enough to happily fill the bench.

You dont have to look any further than the American trip and the sheer number of players who pulled out of that, O Shea even rejecting the chance to captain his country for a couple of days on a beach. You've got Kilbane, Doyle, S.Hunt, Given, Duff, Dunne and Keane giving a good level of commitment and thats about it.

Oh my god.....a new low.

Im far from Andy Reid biggest fan on this site, but when does he not care enough to sit on the bench. Besides I would prefer a player who wants to start than someone who is happy to sit on the bench. There is countless posts from you in the AR thread defending and praising him and now you come out with this!!!

Joey O'Brien has clarified his comments, and the same point re sitting on the bench applies.

Carr and Finnan "sauntered" in and out of the team??? Like when?? Bar injury both have always been available to us. Im not a great fan or Carr but have nothing but respect for Finnan, he was consistently played out of position for Ireland despite been one of the top right backs in europe.

Anyone who questions Shay, Kilbane, Robbie, Hunt, O'Shea etc commitment to the Irish jersey hasnt a clue about the Irish team or even football for that matter. The US trip was really an exercise to blood new youngsters and no one could ever question those guys performances for us in the qualifiers.

cavan_fan
15/12/2008, 10:08 PM
Oh my god.....a new low.

Carr and Finnan "sauntered" in and out of the team??? Like when?? Bar injury both have always been available to us. Im not a great fan or Carr but have nothing but respect for Finnan, he was consistently played out of position for Ireland despite been one of the top right backs in europe.

Is it my poor memory that makes me remember Finnan retiring from International duty while he still had a Liverpool career?

15/12/2008, 11:07 PM
Is it my poor memory that makes me remember Finnan retiring from International duty while he still had a Liverpool career?

Nope, your memory is correct. He did retire and then came back when Trap was appointed.

Razors left peg
15/12/2008, 11:32 PM
Nope, your memory is correct. He did retire and then came back when Trap was appointed.

What about Lee Carsley and Dean Kiely.... should they have apologised first before returning to play after retiring

15/12/2008, 11:59 PM
did Roy Keane apologise for deserting his country before he came back?

Look Stephen Ireland either comes back fully committed or he doesnt come back at all, no in betweens - no apologies necessary, as long as he does his talking on the pitch.

Colbert Report
16/12/2008, 12:15 AM
did Roy Keane apologise for deserting his country before he came back?

Look Stephen Ireland either comes back fully committed or he doesnt come back at all, no in betweens - no apologies necessary, as long as he does his talking on the pitch.

No, but Roy Keane received an official apology from the FAI for the treatment he received in Saipan. He was sent home, he did not walk out on his country. Big difference. I'm amazed people still do not realize this.

bmorgan87
16/12/2008, 1:01 AM
No, but Roy Keane received an official apology from the FAI for the treatment he received in Saipan. He was sent home, he did not walk out on his country. Big difference. I'm amazed people still do not realize this.

come on..u cant be serious!?
keane walked out durin the world cup and he had the chance to return!!
young stephen ireland has done nothin wrong..hes 21 with 3 kids for god sake..
roy went back home to wallk his dog!!!!
we need ireland back in the team and any1 who wud even think of givin him a bad reception shud stay at home...

Colbert Report
16/12/2008, 1:40 AM
Mick McCarthy sent Roy Keane home. End of story. Maybe you were only fourteen or fifteen at the time but that's what happened. Just the facts.

EastTerracer
16/12/2008, 2:11 AM
Mick McCarthy sent Roy Keane home. End of story. Maybe you were only fourteen or fifteen at the time but that's what happened. Just the facts.

I hate to bring this back up again but let's look at the only "facts" we have - those accounts given by the people in the room. If you have ever listened to Keane's side of the story it goes as follows (as he said publicly during his 2003 appearance on the Dunphy chat show on TV3).

"Nobody sent me home, I left". The version in his biography is consistent with this.

During the infamous confrontation in the hotel ballroom in Saipan all the published accounts (Keane, McCarthy & Quinn) agree that Keane told McCarthy to "shove your world cup up your jacksey" and walked out of the room. Mick McCarthy claimed in the subsequent press conference that he had sent Keane home but its not clear that he ever actually said this to Keane (who had already sequestered himself in his hotel room). Roy claims he left Saipan of his own accord but Mick claims he sent him home - which account do you believe? Despite having plenty of opportunities, Keane chose not to play for Ireland for another two years so he wasn't exactly desperate to come back.

On another point of fact the FAI never apologised to Keane (and neither has he for that matter). They accepted the findings of the Genesis report regarding poor logistics and planning but at no stage have they ever said that Keane was correct (nor should they).

Colbert Report
16/12/2008, 2:36 AM
I hate to bring this back up again but let's look at the only "facts" we have - those accounts given by the people in the room. If you have ever listened to Keane's side of the story it goes as follows (as he said publicly during his 2003 appearance on the Dunphy chat show on TV3).

"Nobody sent me home, I left". The version in his biography is consistent with this.

During the infamous confrontation in the hotel ballroom in Saipan all the published accounts (Keane, McCarthy & Quinn) agree that Keane told McCarthy to "shove your world cup up your jacksey" and walked out of the room. Mick McCarthy claimed in the subsequent press conference that he had sent Keane home but its not clear that he ever actually said this to Keane (who had already sequestered himself in his hotel room). Roy claims he left Saipan of his own accord but Mick claims he sent him home - which account do you believe? Despite having plenty of opportunities, Keane chose not to play for Ireland for another two years so he wasn't exactly desperate to come back.

On another point of fact the FAI never apologised to Keane (and neither has he for that matter). They accepted the findings of the Genesis report regarding poor logistics and planning but at no stage have they ever said that Keane was correct (nor should they).

There you go. End of story. Let's stay on topic.

EastTerracer
16/12/2008, 3:02 AM
Sorry Colbert Report but selective quotes out of context are the only way you can ever claim to win that argument. That debate hasn't been resolved in 6 years and its unlikely it ever will be. We can all quote our own version of the facts but we'll never agree.

Ok back to the topic - if Stephen Ireland is selected in a squad and turns up then that should be the end of the discussion. If he wants to play let him. If he doesn't want to play then let's leave it at that until he changes his mind.

Wolfie
16/12/2008, 12:38 PM
[I]"Ireland's father Michael, himself a former Irish U-21 player with 16 caps, believes his talented son is ready to play for Ireland again as the country bids to land a spot at the 2010 World Cup.

Speaking in today's Irish Daily Star Sunday, the 39-year-old revealed: 'The country needs him, he's a good player and he'll go back in his own time. He's just focusing on his family right now and Man City. He's keeping his head down, but he'll be back hopefully next year.'

He added: 'I would never put pressure on him but I'd love to see him at the next World Cup.'

Asked if he is considering a return himself, the Cobh-born 22-year-old added: 'Yeah, yeah, but I'm trying to keep the head down at the moment.'

The attributed quotes above are not compelling evidence to suggest he'll be back in the short term unfortunately.

There'll be no major gain in him returning in the Autumn if we've blown it by then.

There's a temptation to turn our attention to the head to heads with Italy and Bulgaria without concentrating on the Georgia at home game.

This game is massive, as a win against Georgia could be an insurance against an adverse home result against Bulgaria.

Personally, I think Ireland can be accomodated within the starting eleven - where he'd be best deployed is certainly up for debate. Trapp could retain the defensive centre and possibly tinker with the attacking formation to include Ireland.

I think Ireland - in comparison to everyone else currently at our disposal - has the composure to take a chance when it comes his way.

This can't be said of Duff, McGeady or Keane in this campaign.

16/12/2008, 1:28 PM
Good points, well raised wolfie! I definitely think he has the presence of a whipper-snapper without a care and is composed enough to take the chances, that others have lacked, such as in the game against montenegro, in a game like that as with slovakia away he took his chance and it wasn't an easy one. I htink he would have done the same against montenegro. Anyway the Georgia game is massive and whatever about insurance point it puts serious pressure on bulgaria coming to ireland and it also gives us serious relief and as keith wood used to say "shackles are off" and we can just play football. At the moment I think this game could be the most important one we will have played come the end of the qualifying(assuming we are looking at 2nd). The defining point if you will.

16/12/2008, 2:16 PM
I think he can stay away for this qualification campaign.

Morbo
16/12/2008, 2:22 PM
It still seems like he isn't that bothered, that he could take it or leave it, I'd probably take him back purely because he is great form this season but he isn't the answer to our problems, I doubt Trap would play him in the middle, his best position would be behind the main striker but that isn't going to happen unless Keane gets injured so that only leaves the right wing which isn't his best position but he may do a slightly better job that McGeady. So overall he may improve the team slightly but would taking Ireland back now cause a rift in the squad? Trap needs to consider if the pro's of taking him back outweight the cons

16/12/2008, 4:45 PM
[I]"Ireland's father Michael, himself a former Irish U-21 player with 16 caps, believes his talented son is ready to play for Ireland again as the country bids to land a spot at the 2010 World Cup.

Speaking in today's Irish Daily Star Sunday, the 39-year-old revealed: 'The country needs him, he's a good player and he'll go back in his own time. He's just focusing on his family right now and Man City. He's keeping his head down, but he'll be back hopefully next year.'

He added: 'I would never put pressure on him but I'd love to see him at the next World Cup.'

Asked if he is considering a return himself, the Cobh-born 22-year-old added: 'Yeah, yeah, but I'm trying to keep the head down at the moment.'

From the Indo:

Nevertheless, the tentative message emitted from the Manchester City star through the medium of a phone call with a journalist who was in the company of his father provides some chink of light in this protracted issue.

"Yeah, yeah, but I'm just trying to keep my head down at the moment," the 22-year-old is reported to have said when asked if it was true that he was planning to return in the early part of 2009.

I still don't understand why his father would give a journalist his sons phone number (or hand him the phone) to ring while he was standing beside him but the quote from Stephen is pretty much exactly the same as his father so they've obviously been speaking about a return in the new year.

ken foree
16/12/2008, 5:28 PM
There'll be no major gain in him returning in the Autumn if we've blown it by then.

well i get you but if doesn't come back in early 2009 AND we have blown it, then surely the main thing to be gained by an autumn return would be some face-saving on his part, i.e. that he wasn't trying to hop on the world cup bandwagon, knowing we weren't going to qualify anyway? it'd almost be the more noble thing to do. but the noblest thing for all would be a massive helping of pride to swallow and a plan to re-shape our midfield to accomodate him if does indeed return in early '09.

Wolfie
17/12/2008, 12:19 PM
well i get you but if doesn't come back in early 2009 AND we have blown it, then surely the main thing to be gained by an autumn return would be some face-saving on his part, i.e. that he wasn't trying to hop on the world cup bandwagon, knowing we weren't going to qualify anyway? it'd almost be the more noble thing to do. but the noblest thing for all would be a massive helping of pride to swallow and a plan to re-shape our midfield to accomodate him if does indeed return in early '09.

We need him for the very next game - feck the optics of face saving. No matter when he'd return he'd have to expect some degree of stick.

We've a stronger squad with Ireland included - lets just get him back to the fold and move on.

We need every player with an eye for a goal we can get at the moment.

ken foree
17/12/2008, 12:43 PM
We need him for the very next game - feck the optics of face saving. No matter when he'd return he'd have to expect some degree of stick.

We've a stronger squad with Ireland included - lets just get him back to the fold and move on.

We need every player with an eye for a goal we can get at the moment.

yes yes and yes.

Razors left peg
17/12/2008, 5:37 PM
They weren't 22 years old when they did it..

why should that make a bit of difference??? If he wants to come back now and he gives his all for us then great

weldoninhio
17/12/2008, 7:25 PM
They weren't 22 years old when they did it..

And they didn't kill off 2 grannies to do it.

18/12/2008, 8:21 AM
I think that giving them "a shot" is all that has ever been advocated on this site.
Exactly & Ciaran should know that.

18/12/2008, 2:43 PM
As soon as Trap was appointed I thought he'd adopt 4-2-3-1. This hasn't been too far wrong - he does insist on 2 defensive midfielders and two very attacking wide players.Sorry to quote myself but I thought in the context of the above comment, I thought this article in today's Guardian is interesting.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/blog/2008/dec/18/4231-442-tactics-jonathan-wilson

“a side playing 4-4-2, with the wingers pushed high and one of the centre-forwards dropping deep, is effectively playing a 4-2-3-1. When Manchester United beat Barcelona in the 1991 Cup-Winners' Cup final, for instance, they had Bryan Robson and Paul Ince holding, with Lee Sharpe and Mike Phelan wide, and Brian McClair dropping off Mark Hughes. Everybody still referred to it as 4-4-2, but it was in effect a 4-2-3-1.”

This is what I was saying about Trap’s system. He has realised we were like a turnstile in the middle of the pitch so his preference was for 2 defensive midfielders in front of our back 4, 2 out-and-out wide men (Duff & McGeady if fit), with Keane playing off Kevin Doyle.

The question then is where would you accommodate Andy Reid or Stephen Ireland if they were picked or available and we stuck with this system. I personally think that either could play the classic “10” or Totti role, i.e., behind a main striker, or either could play the wide right role with freedom to come inside.

Personally I think Trap is going the right way about covering up our weaknesses and maximising our strengths, though I'd continue to query the personnel choices made at times, especially in the choice of midfielders since Steven Reid's injury.

Paddy Garcia
20/12/2008, 5:00 PM
"Jack Charlton, the former Ireland manager, suggested recently that Ireland should “say sorry and come back or bugger off”. Ireland is nonplussed. “When he says, ‘You can bugger off’, that is what I have done, so what does he mean?” he said.

“He said, ‘Come back and play or don’t’ but I haven’t come back, so what’s he on about? So much has gone on behind closed doors that I feel it’s almost too difficult for me to go back"

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/sport/football/premier_league/manchester_city/article5372363.ece

richieos
20/12/2008, 6:38 PM
''So much has gone on behind closed doors that I feel it’s almost too difficult for me to go back, but I’ve come out a stronger and better person so it’s not something that worries me now.”

sounds to me like hes made his mind up, and that hes coming back.

20/12/2008, 7:55 PM
''So much has gone on behind closed doors that I feel it’s almost too difficult for me to go back, but I’ve come out a stronger and better person so it’s not something that worries me now.”

sounds to me like hes made his mind up, and that hes coming back.

To be honest i wouldve read that the exact opposite and that he isnt coming back. But in light of his dad's comments you may be right.
If it doesnt come back, hes gonna be asked the question in every interview he does for years to come.

20/12/2008, 9:42 PM
sounds like to me he is telling serious porkies again. The fella is a serial liar.

Crosby87
20/12/2008, 10:09 PM
He needs to come back and we need him. What is the deal with all this drama? Its irritating. Its so needless. Also every time some 90 year old ex manager or pundit in Ireland or England wakes up from whatever ditch they were in and says something negative it makes things worse. He shouldnt even respond. Just come back and let your game do the talking, Steve. The man is only 22 years old, right? People make mistakes. Just come back and stop letting it fester, in my opinion, and it will be the best answer for all concerned. Jeez.

tommy_c12000
26/12/2008, 2:56 PM
Has been absolutely sensational in the 1st half against Hull. 4-0 up with ireland with 3 assists

26/12/2008, 4:26 PM
He needs to come back and we need him. What is the deal with all this drama? Its irritating. Its so needless. Also every time some 90 year old ex manager or pundit in Ireland or England wakes up from whatever ditch they were in and says something negative it makes things worse. He shouldnt even respond. Just come back and let your game do the talking, Steve. The man is only 22 years old, right? People make mistakes. Just come back and stop letting it fester, in my opinion, and it will be the best answer for all concerned. Jeez.
Then let him do 2 simple things:

- state publicly he is now making himself available for selection. None of this 'dont know if the lads/fans will welcome me back or I am not sure of the time is right' crap. Just say 'I am available for selection for the next game against Georgia in February'. Then it is down to Trapp.

- state publicly ' What I did in Sept. 2007 was wrong, I apologise to my team mates and to the fans'. End of. None of this 'I was young/I was going through a difficult time' crap. Never mind trying to offer excuses for the inexcuseable.

If he wants to come back and play for Ireland, and is man enough to admit unconditionally he was wrong, then so be it. Lets all get on with it.

My belief is that he doesn't really want to play for us and he still does not believe what he did was wrong.

This discussion is only being carried on because Ireland is playing well for his club. If this was John O'Shea or Paul McShane for example, most people would be taking the attitude 'Fu*k him'.

No player is bigger than a team. End of.

RiffRaff
26/12/2008, 10:25 PM
All this great form doesnt really make any difference. We cant pick someone who will just walk out in the run up to a big match, or if the team is playing badly. And he WILL do that if he is brought back. Time to forget him and move on.