View Full Version : Stephen Ireland

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 [24] 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85

20/10/2008, 11:36 PM
Ireland interviewed before tonights game again confirming that he won't be coming back in the near future. He says there's absolutely no problems between himself and the squad members. He's just happy with life atm.

RivaldoBabb
21/10/2008, 1:06 AM
Yes because gibson and whelan are such proven midfieldersd who are scoring and creating vital goals for their club in the premier league week in week out, oh and were tipped for player of the month last month, oh wait, thats stephen ireland im talking about is it,

i respect and agree with posters views on here about not having him play for loyalty reasons but that comment is just sheer stupidity IMO.

But he doesnt want to play for his country or he would have made himself available at the begining of the campaign, surely? i have said it before and ill say it again, lets move on.

Reality Bites
21/10/2008, 7:54 AM
Tasty Goal last night

aidz1
21/10/2008, 8:40 AM
Sickening to hear a good man like given beaten by that little sh1thead. glad i havent seen it.

dr_peepee
21/10/2008, 9:06 AM
Ireland interviewed before tonights game again confirming that he won't be coming back in the near future. He says there's absolutely no problems between himself and the squad members. He's just happy with life atm.

I firmly believe he'll need us before we'll need him... Everything's tickadee boo now. His form is good. A club with potential.... That's all gonna change innevitably

Ireland hasn't got the mental strength of Frank Lampard.

21/10/2008, 9:18 AM
Ireland hasn't got the mental strength of Frank Lampard.
Exactly my thoughts. He's a mini-Gazza.

He's extremely emotionally immature and if and when he grows up, he''ll want back in.

jmurphyc
21/10/2008, 10:12 AM
If we made the World Cup he'd surely have regrets and I assume he'd attempt to get back into the reckoning. Right now he obviously doesn't believe we can make it. It'll be interesting if we're closing in on qualifying or a play off place to see whether he'd ask to be considered for selection.

He's only young and considering his fame and fortune I'd say he feels on top of the world, but if he has a middling career at club level 10 years down the line he may really rue this decision. But it's definitely time for us to move on without him.

Reality Bites
21/10/2008, 10:41 AM
I was just wondering if he was to recant and return to the Irsh Fold, how would he be accomodated into Trapps thinking, he is obviously a very attack minded midfielder, yet Trap seems to prefer the two water carriers in central midfield at the moment, Its kind of like the Andy Reid scenario except lets face Stephen Manchester is superior

jmurphyc
21/10/2008, 10:43 AM
Its kind of like the Andy Reid scenario except lets face Stephen Manchester is superior

I disagree with that. I think Reid is a far superior player to Ireland at present. Ireland goes missing a lot during games. I can't see it being something that Trap would put up with from a central midfielder. Plus, his defensive positioning is woeful.

21/10/2008, 10:44 AM
I was just wondering if he was to recant and return to the Irsh Fold, how would he be accomodated into Trapps thinking, he is obviously a very attack minded midfielder, yet Trap seems to prefer the two water carriers in central midfield at the moment, Its kind of like the Andy Reid scenario except lets face Stephen Manchester is superior

Exactly. Given Trapattoni's preferred formation and tactics for the team, I don't see how Stephen Ireland would fit in with them.

Reality Bites
21/10/2008, 10:55 AM
I disagree with that. I think Reid is a far superior player to Ireland at present. Ireland goes missing a lot during games. I can't see it being something that Trap would put up with from a central midfielder. Plus, his defensive positioning is woeful.

We are all angry and annoyed with S. Manchester but that remark is simply deluded.

jmurphyc
21/10/2008, 11:38 AM
We are all angry and annoyed with S. Manchester but that remark is simply deluded.

Do you care to explain how? I suggest you rewatch his final appearance in an Ireland shirt. He was dreadful in that game. Unless he's improved remarkably seen then putting him in a 2 man central midfield would be suicide for us.

Drumcondra 69er
21/10/2008, 12:10 PM
Do you care to explain how? I suggest you rewatch his final appearance in an Ireland shirt. He was dreadful in that game. Unless he's improved remarkably seen then putting him in a 2 man central midfield would be suicide for us.

Much as I despise the little sh1t it's obvious that he has......

Reality Bites
21/10/2008, 12:33 PM

Yes he has - which has added to the ire of Irish supporters - possibly one of the most exciting emerging talents in premiership now

Newryrep
21/10/2008, 1:43 PM
Have we no pride in this country ? that currently we would have to beg someone to play for us. The ball is in his court and has been for a long time. He should come running to us not vica versa,it is getting embarassing.

Personal View - leave it to Trappatoni to decide

Personal Preference - he appears to place damn all value on a green shirt and for that reason I dont wish to see him anywhere near one (even if it is to the detriment of the team - which I dont think it would be)

dr_peepee
21/10/2008, 2:35 PM
Yes he has - which has added to the ire of Irish supporters - possibly one of the most exciting emerging talents in premiership now

Not me.. Lads I'm telling ye... Sit back... Wait... And watch the little dope go to bits.

Dublin12
21/10/2008, 2:45 PM
possibly one of the most exciting emerging talents in premiership now

Give us a break will ya, any Hull supporters would claim the same about half of their team. He's not a bad player but certainly not a world class player that could walk into any team. If he's as good as people suggest lets see what top clubs put in an offer for the muppet in the next transfer window.

Reality Bites
21/10/2008, 2:47 PM
Back to my original comment though -if he did come back how would Trapp accomodate him without ruining the shape and mentality of team, I think I am coming around to thinking he mightn't make a huge difference and we would be more annoyed if he was a holding midfielder because then we really would need him, at the moment he is just a better version of Andy Reid so no huge loss at the moment...It's an SOS to no-frill hard tackling simple passing midfielders - Fancy Dans need not apply just now..

Drumcondra 69er
21/10/2008, 2:50 PM
Give us a break will ya, any Hull supporters would claim the same about half of their team. He's not a bad player but certainly not a world class player that could walk into any team. If he's as good as people suggest lets see what top clubs put in an offer for the muppet in the next transfer window.

More to the point let's see if Hughes spends any of the millions at his disposal on someone else in his position in teh transfer window or doesn't think he needs to. He's playing for by far the richest club in Europe, he doesn't need to go anywhere.

Dublin12
21/10/2008, 2:57 PM
He's playing for by far the richest club in Europe, he doesn't need to go anywhere.

Thats what Duffer thought at Chelsea or Scott Parker, remember him:D

irishfan86
21/10/2008, 5:58 PM
If he did return I'd say he'd be competing for McGeady's spot, or could fill in at Robbie's position "in the hole" if he was unavailable.

kingdomkerry
21/10/2008, 9:09 PM
What is it about Cork people turning their backs on their counrty.

Stephen Manchester = Scumbag

23/10/2008, 5:50 PM
What is it about Cork people turning their backs on their counrty.

Stephen Manchester = Scumbag

Pppppppppppppffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffff! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

My grandad fought for our country, blah blah blah:D:D

Stick to the gaa!!:p

third policeman
23/10/2008, 9:11 PM
Back to my original comment though -if he did come back how would Trapp accomodate him without ruining the shape and mentality of team, I think I am coming around to thinking he mightn't make a huge difference and we would be more annoyed if he was a holding midfielder because then we really would need him, at the moment he is just a better version of Andy Reid so no huge loss at the moment...It's an SOS to no-frill hard tackling simple passing midfielders - Fancy Dans need not apply just now..

If the shape and mentality of the team is defined by Whelan and Gibson we are in the deep deep sh*t. Ireland is a different class to all our other midfield contenders including Andy Reid. He is well capable of fulfilling the sort of role that Trap wants from the central midfield, whilst at the same time providing the guile and vision to service Robbie and Doyle. He would IMO make a huge positive difference to the team. A fit Stephen Reid and Ireland would turn us from being a well organised unit into a very good international team.

23/10/2008, 9:16 PM
He is well capable of fulfilling the sort of role that Trap wants from the central midfield
Completely disagree. Ireland is a Hleb, Nakamura, Krajcnar type player. A player that will always be as good as the team he's in. Certainly not a central midfielder atm but may develop into one. He's playing centrally this season but always in a 3 man midfield with SWP, Robinho and Jo ahead. Elano also isn't a great defender but Elano+Ireland alongside Kompany is strong enough. I think S.Reid, A.Reid and Ireland would work very well as a 3 man midfield in the right team.

24/10/2008, 12:28 AM
He is well capable of fulfilling the sort of role that Trap wants from the central midfieldNot even close to it. Trapattoni wants his central midfield to protect the centre of defence and spray the ball out to two creative wingers. Ireland was sent off last season for one of his tackles near the penalty area! His passing ability is far above Whelan, Gibson and possibly Steven Reid, but only in the last third of the pitch, in a through ball sense. If he did come back to the squad, I genuinely believe he'd be behind McGeady for the right wing spot, and behind Robbie Keane for the out and out striker position.

irishfan86
24/10/2008, 12:45 AM
Assuming he hadn't left us, I'd have him starting over McGeady to be honest with you.

We don't need crossing ability, we need through balls and more goals from midfield.

McGeady, tricky though he can be, hasn't been scoring goals for Celtic like he did last season.

We need end product from our attacking 4, and that is basically all Stephen Ireland is doing right now- scoring and setting goals up every game.

That said, if he returned I wouldn't start him in favour of McGeady right away- he'd have to start on the bench and work his way back into the team.

24/10/2008, 7:03 AM
We don't need crossing ability, we need through balls and more goals from midfield.
My inclination would be to play Andy Reid in one of the wide roles. Trap could keep his solid CM pairing still.

Good point eb about being as good as the team he's in. He's the kind of player that'll perform well if the others around him have the measure of the opposition. If not he'll struggle.

third policeman
24/10/2008, 8:24 AM
Completely disagree. Ireland is a Hleb, Nakamura, Krajcnar type player. A player that will always be as good as the team he's in. Certainly not a central midfielder atm but may develop into one. He's playing centrally this season but always in a 3 man midfield with SWP, Robinho and Jo ahead. Elano also isn't a great defender but Elano+Ireland alongside Kompany is strong enough. I think S.Reid, A.Reid and Ireland would work very well as a 3 man midfield in the right team.

I dont think that because he has the capability to play in a more attacking and creative role that he does not have the attributes to play in the Trap system. There was a lengthy analysis on LFCTV of his performance against Liverpool. City totally dominated the midfield in the first half and Ireland's tacking and closing down work was exceptional. The fact that he can use the ball creatively when he has won it is a massive bonus.

jmurphyc
24/10/2008, 10:21 AM
I dont think that because he has the capability to play in a more attacking and creative role that he does not have the attributes to play in the Trap system. There was a lengthy analysis on LFCTV of his performance against Liverpool. City totally dominated the midfield in the first half and Ireland's tacking and closing down work was exceptional. The fact that he can use the ball creatively when he has won it is a massive bonus.

His best games for us - in his short spell - were always when he was just behind the striker. What we would need him for is his creativity. In terms of spots for a two man central midfield I'd say Ireland would be way down on the list of contenders. When he played for us in that position before he was costing us games and had no defensive side to his game whatsoever. If he were to come back I'd be almost certain it would be as a wide player or behind the front man. Playing him in a two man central midfield would make us weaker, not stronger.

L37Ultra
24/10/2008, 11:20 AM
Do you think Stephen Ireland will ever play for Ireland again?

Personally I think he will if/when we ever qualify for a major tournament.

dr_peepee
24/10/2008, 11:44 AM
I wonder does he read these message boards?? He knows his way around the interweb, judging by his Bebo antics...

24/10/2008, 6:52 PM

I don't think so, if he doesn't play in the qualifiers he should not play in the the finals, unless it was due to illness or other good reason. I mean for a start he would not be needed anyway.

24/10/2008, 6:53 PM
I don't think so, if he doesn't play in the qualifiers he should not play in the the finals, unless it was due to illness or other good reason.
Agree with that. If a proven international like Brady wasn't given preferential treatment, someone like Ireland shouldn't get any.

25/10/2008, 11:30 AM
Anyone read Big Jack's comments on this whole farce?
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2008/1024/charlton_ireland.html

seanfhear
25/10/2008, 12:28 PM
Anyone read Big Jack's comments on this whole farce?
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2008/1024/charlton_ireland.html
Big Jack was a great man manager.
He certainly would have put little boy Stephen in his place and kept him there too.

26/10/2008, 1:38 PM

He shouldn't be given the chance. If we do qualify for a World Cup and he comes crawling back then he should be told where to go.. :mad:

On The Ball
28/10/2008, 10:32 PM
I agree that if we do qualify he shouldn't be just allowed walk back into the squad but to read people say he's not that good and this and that is a joke.He's playing very well at the moment and would be a quality addition.

SilkCut
29/10/2008, 3:34 AM
I agree that if we do qualify he shouldn't be just allowed walk back into the squad but to read people say he's not that good and this and that is a joke.He's playing very well at the moment and would be a quality addition.

Not if he is only there to showcase himself he isn't. Certainly not if he were to demoralise the rest of the squad, which he undoubtedly would. If you were part of a succesful team for two years and one of your mates was dropped to make room for some ***** who had shown no interest in you until you were successful how would you react? He is a talented player, of that there is no question, but he obviously has no fighting spirit. Go to the WC with him in tow, how long would he last if we were performing badly? Would he pull us through or would he sulk? no one knows for sure, but based on the current situation I reckon he would sulk. No team needs that.

Colbert Report
29/10/2008, 10:55 AM
If he was to return to the team, where would he play? I'm not sure he'd fit in as a deep-lying central midfield tackler. I'd see him more as a right winger or striker. I don't see him in the team over McGeady or Keane/Doyle.

On The Ball
29/10/2008, 10:37 PM
If he was to return to the team, where would he play? I'm not sure he'd fit in as a deep-lying central midfield tackler. I'd see him more as a right winger or striker. I don't see him in the team over McGeady or Keane/Doyle.
Trap has already stated he likes to play with 2 holding midfielder's and get our attack threat from the wide men and striker's.If you're telling me he wouldn't get on ahead of duff,mcgeady or doyle you must be joking.Doyle is playing very well at the minute,probably even more so then keane,and our captain wont be dropped,so it'll have to be 1 of the wide men and i think he'd have a much better attack threat then either of them.

Junior
30/10/2008, 6:29 PM
What ive seen of Ireland, IMO he doesnt pose as much of a threat from a wide position and certainly no more than a Duff or McGeady. What has been eye catching this season so far for City is his late bursts into the box or receiving or playing through balls - all from central positions.

So possibly off a front man would work, but that means dropping Keane (aint going to happen) or Doyle, leaving absolutely no target man at all. So a bit like Reid, does he fit in?

16/11/2008, 6:31 PM
Scored 2 today, still didn't win though.

Reality Bites
17/11/2008, 7:57 AM
Along with Nicolas Anelka - Stephen Ireland is the best player in Premiership so far this season.

Sligo Hornet
17/11/2008, 8:01 AM
His second goal was pure class!

BaZmO*
17/11/2008, 9:22 AM
Well according to Trap he wouldn't fit into our system at the moment.

"I have a system and so far it has worked. Reid plays the position at Sunderland that Ireland plays at Manchester City but, at the moment, our system does not include this position"
http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2008/1117/1226700658581.html

irishfan86
17/11/2008, 10:35 AM
Perhaps if Ireland returned, the system would be changed to suit him.

I wouldn't bet on it, but Trap's comments don't exclude that possibility.

Razors left peg
17/11/2008, 12:02 PM
Perhaps if Ireland returned, the system would be changed to suit him.

I wouldn't bet on it, but Trap's comments don't exclude that possibility.

not a hope I would say

boovidge
18/11/2008, 9:00 AM
Sky Sports News have interviews with Brady and Kerr regarding Stephen Ireland on rotation at the moment to promote their coverage of the Poland game.

18/11/2008, 9:36 AM
as if it's the only angle they can think of.