View Full Version : Stephen Ireland

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 [22] 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85

29/09/2008, 7:15 PM
I think the difference is people could understand they reasons why those players no longer wished to play, this just seems like a direct snub, he does not seem to consider himself Irish and quite frankly neither do I. Maybe Italy will cal him up.
He's played in a competitive game for Ireland, he can't declare for anyone else

29/09/2008, 7:23 PM
I can understand (and share) the frustration, but some of you are going way over the top. It's not like he's the first player to ever take a break from international football. There are other players still playing for Ireland who have done so in the past. He hasn't ruled out ever playing for us again. I happen to believe if he was 2gen or 3gen he'd be getting much worse.

SuperDub
29/09/2008, 8:54 PM
I can understand (and share) the frustration, but some of you are going way over the top. It's not like he's the first player to ever take a break from international football. There are other players still playing for Ireland who have done so in the past. He hasn't ruled out ever playing for us again.

The idea that he shouldn't be mentioned in this forum is ridiculous. He has not retired from international football. And even if he had, are we not supposed to talk about ex Irish international football players in this forum???

Regarding him taking a break, he is only 22 with only a handful of caps. It is not as though he has been around for a decade. I myself was very open minded until i saw him on tv on saturday. How many times has he walking out on irish squads. I like many others on this forum spend our hard earned cash travelling to see the national team play and i would now rather concentrate on the lads that want to play and who show up for meaningless friendlies etc.

Reality Bites
30/09/2008, 8:44 AM
He is no David Beckham.

Not sure whether its David Beckham the product or David Beckham the person but he does seem to love playing for his country..

On another note I couldn't see the equivalent happening in England with a promising young talent turning his back on his country, imagine the furore if Theo Walcott refused to play for England in forthcoming friendlies..

To happen twice in the space of a few years and both players coming from the same County, Its like our own version of the Mason-Dixon line splitting Cork from the Northern parts of country - maybe Cork could petition FIFA to qualify separately for major tournaments in the future, so the ordinary Irish Fans wouldn't have to put up with the uncertainy and disappointment of these Rebel county fellows turning their backs on their countries of Birth.

30/09/2008, 8:56 AM
To happen twice in the space of a few years and both players coming from the same County, And both cases to be so completely identical too, what are the odds?;)
You and your can of worms. :D

FarBeag
30/09/2008, 9:08 AM
Not sure whether its David Beckham the product or David Beckham the person but he does seem to love playing for his country..

On another note I couldn't see the equivalent happening in England with a promising young talent turning his back on his country, imagine the furore if Theo Walcott refused to play for England in forthcoming friendlies..

To happen twice in the space of a few years and both players coming from the same County, Its like our own version of the Mason-Dixon line splitting Cork from the Northern parts of country - maybe Cork could petition FIFA to qualify separately for major tournaments in the future, so the ordinary Irish Fans wouldn't have to put up with the uncertainy and disappointment of these Rebel county fellows turning their backs on their countries of Birth.

Oh come on man. You cannot compare Steven Ireland and Roy Keane. One is a spoilt sociopath who puts himself in the spotlight by wearing a thatch, sporting pink wheels on his jeep, lets half the world view his bepo site and shows millions his superman’s pants on TV, told lies about his dead gran,gets a bit of slagging from his Ireland team mates and never wants to play for his country again. The other is a legend in Irish football who won us many a game single handed and is proud to be Irish.Ok he pulled out of a couple of friendlies but mainly through injury and the other incident which I will not mention but overall Roy Keane proudly wore the green jersey and retired when he was in his thirties.

Drumcondra 69er
30/09/2008, 9:15 AM
Oh come on man. You cannot compare Steven Ireland and Roy Keane. One is a spoilt sociopath who puts himself in the spotlight by wearing a thatch, sporting pink wheels on his jeep, lets half the world view his bepo site and shows millions his superman’s pants on TV, told lies about his dead gran,gets a bit of slagging from his Ireland team mates and never wants to play for his country again. The other is a legend in Irish football who won us many a game single handed and is proud to be Irish.Ok he pulled out of a couple of friendlies but mainly through injury and the other incident which I will not mention but overall Roy Keane proudly wore the green jersey and retired when he was in his thirties.

:rolleyes: The comparison was obvioulsy tounge in cheek.

And are you for real with the quote in bold? A couple of friendlies?? :D And who's definition of injury is that, Alex Ferguson's? What about the US Cup where, as appointed captian, he simply didn't bother turning up at the airport for example?

I agree let's not forget his performances when he bothered turing up but to suggest he only missed a couple of friendles and that was just because of injuries and then to whitewash 'the other incident' is laughable and misses the point entirely.

FarBeag
30/09/2008, 9:36 AM
:rolleyes: The comparison was obvioulsy tounge in cheek.

And are you for real with the quote in bold? A couple of friendlies?? :D And who's definition of injury is that, Alex Ferguson's? What about the US Cup where, as appointed captian, he simply didn't bother turning up at the airport for example?

I agree let's not forget his performances when he bothered turing up but to suggest he only missed a couple of friendles and that was just because of injuries and then to whitewash 'the other incident' is laughable and misses the point entirely.

Really! maybe on you reading of it:rolleyes:. Look the point I am trying to make is there is no comparison between the two individuals.I will defend Roy keane to the last based on how he played in the green jersey when he turned up. Sod the American cup and a couple of meaningless friendlies. Keane had a problem with the organisation and preparation surrounding the Irish team from day one not a problem with his team mates. How many caps has he got? A lot more than the other doughnut that’s for sure. You can defend SI and slag of RK all you want but I know where my alliances lie.

Drumcondra 69er
30/09/2008, 10:01 AM
Really! maybe on you reading of it:rolleyes:. Look the point I am trying to make is there is no comparison between the two individuals.I will defend Roy keane to the last based on how he played in the green jersey when he turned up. Sod the American cup and a couple of meaningless friendlies. Keane had a problem with the organisation and preparation surrounding the Irish team from day one not a problem with his team mates. How many caps has he got? A lot more than the other doughnut that’s for sure. You can defend SI and slag of RK all you want but I know where my alliances lie.

I'm not defending Stephen Ireland in the least, his behaviour is despicable. He's done reasonably well when he's turned up though, should that be defended?

Mind you somehow I think that if he wore a red shirt in Manchster rather then a blue one he'd be getting blindly defended an awful more.

You'll defend someone not turning up and not letting management know in advance even if it was a US Cup trip? When a phone would have sufficed? Speaks volumes. And trust me RK had problems with various team mates over the years, in particular one who went on to manage him. Organisation and preperation was an excuse for a patholigical dislike of said team mate, regardless of the spin many have swallowed.

FarBeag
30/09/2008, 10:16 AM
I'm not defending Stephen Ireland in the least, his behaviour is despicable. He's done reasonably well when he's turned up though, should that be defended?

Mind you somehow I think that if he wore a red shirt in Manchster rather then a blue one he'd be getting blindly defended an awful more.

You'll defend someone not turning up and not letting management know in advance even if it was a US Cup trip? When a phone would have sufficed? Speaks volumes. And trust me RK had problems with various team mates over the years, in particular one who went on to manage him. Organisation and preperation was an excuse for a patholigical dislike of said team mate, regardless of the spin many have swallowed.

Ok I get your point on the phone call and I agree he had issues with some of his team mates but for totally different reasons than SI. When Keane played football he played for the Irish team and left his likes/dislikes of fellow colleagues behind him while on the pitch at least. SI could not cope with a bit of banter among his and deserted his country because of it, a big difference imo.

Drumcondra 69er
30/09/2008, 10:37 AM
Ok I get your point on the phone call and I agree he had issues with some of his team mates but for totally different reasons than SI. When Keane played football he played for the Irish team and left his likes/dislikes of fellow colleagues behind him while on the pitch at least. SI could not cope with a bit of banter among his and deserted his country because of it, a big difference imo.

That's fair enough, I don't disagree in general. Although it really is all speculation as to why Stephen Ireland actually left, the banter thing has been denied by various people.

I genuinely think his weave might have got rubbed a bit too hard when he was being patted on the head being congratulated after scoring in Slovakia and he had to rush home to get it tightened! :eek:

30/09/2008, 2:28 PM
I pointed this out before, David Bentley refused to play in the U-21 Championships for England, and is still booed by the crowd at Wembley for that.

carloz
30/09/2008, 7:24 PM
It worries me that people are still giving their support to Ireland. Yes he is probably our most talented player but he has refused to play international football for abosultly no bloody reason. Even Andy O'Brien gave a reson even if it was a bit patethic. Ireland hasnt even had the balls to explain to the Irish people why he refuses to wear the jersey

theworm2345
01/10/2008, 3:49 AM
Says he has three young children...was the miscarriage thing a lie too?

01/10/2008, 7:14 AM

but didnt he kind of give up on his football career by going to the USA on behalf of his wife? Not much commitment to the cause there
(where he has been getting booed on a regular basis apparently)

third policeman
01/10/2008, 9:23 AM
Says he has three young children...was the miscarriage thing a lie too?

I think the villification of Stephen Ireland just hit a new low.

Sligo Hornet
01/10/2008, 9:25 AM

On the other hand, after claiming family deaths, you could argue that "you reap what you sow"

dr_peepee
01/10/2008, 11:53 AM
.... A Dingo took my Baby!!!!

01/10/2008, 1:22 PM

I never saw anything to suggest that the miscarriage story was true though, it's just that bit harder to disprove than either of the grandmothers. If his partner had lost a baby I can't imagine anybody would have expected him to do anything other than go home to his family in their hour of need. Though wasn't he simply 'trapped' by his girlfriend's original lie? :rolleyes:

Docboy
01/10/2008, 2:39 PM
In light of the fact that he was caught out committing two unbelievable lies, I think I'd excuse a bit of cynicism surrounding his final answer. All he had to say initially was that it was a family matter and it would have been left alone.

It's time to move on, he doesn't want to play for us so let's concentrate on those who do.

seanfhear
01/10/2008, 3:55 PM
Until/if stephen Ireland decides to play for Ireland this thread should be removed from the Ireland forum.
It is an afront and displays a lack of respect to the footballers that are honoured to play for Ireland.

Let those who want to cowtow to the follically challenged one do so in private and spare the rest of us the unedifying sight of Irish people on their knees to the King of baldness.

This man has single handedly made the lives of slapheads more difficult in the whole of Ireland.If I was a slaphead I would not rest until the good name of slapheads is restored.

musicinmouth
01/10/2008, 4:39 PM
Until/if stephen Ireland decides to play for Ireland this thread should be removed from the Ireland forum.
It is an afront and displays a lack of respect to the footballers that are honoured to play for Ireland.

wow... that couldn't be more ridiculous... just because he takes a break from international football to look after his 3 young children, you say we can't talk about him... so we can only talk about the present squad? we can't talk about other players who take breaks from international football? maybe we can't talk about retired players either then?

i also think those personal insults are childish and cruel and just make everything else you say less credible...

i think seanfhear's posts should be moved to the kids forum.

01/10/2008, 4:51 PM
wow... that couldn't be more ridiculous... just because he takes a break from international football to look after his 3 young children, you say we can't talk about him... .

I can't believe I'm getting sucked into speculating on the personal details of any players life because, frankly they're none of my business and I couldn't give a tuppenny fcuk, BUT is it not widely reported and unchallenged in the print media that he walked out on the mother of these kids you say he's taken a break from international football to mind? The girl he's with now, the one who phoned Bratislava, is not the mother of his kids ...am I right?

Greenforever
01/10/2008, 5:21 PM

I can't believe I'm getting sucked into speculating on the personal details of any players life because, frankly they're none of my business and I couldn't give a tuppenny fcuk, BUT is it not widely reported and unchallenged in the print media that he walked out on the mother of these kids you say he's taken a break from international football to mind? The girl he's with now, the one who phoned Bratislava, is not the mother of his kids ...am I right?

You are right, his current girlfriend is the mother of his 3rd child, he left the mother of his other 2 kids.

While I agree with you that his private life is his own business, it's all the crap about him and his girlfriend being on their own with no support etc, I just wonder why his grandparents are not happy to help out, or his own parents etc, possibly they've had enough of his self pity too.

seanfhear
01/10/2008, 5:44 PM
To have stephen ireland on the same forum as a player of the standing as Dave Langan is a travesty.

cavan_fan
01/10/2008, 9:22 PM
While I agree with you that his private life is his own business, it's all the crap about him and his girlfriend being on their own with no support etc, I just wonder why his grandparents are not happy to help out, or his own parents etc, possibly they've had enough of his self pity too.

They're probably concerned he'll really kill them this time

EastTerracer
01/10/2008, 11:21 PM
To have stephen ireland on the same forum as a player of the standing as Dave Langan is a travesty.

Dave was a terrific player for us and always 100% committed. However, I think he'd be the first to concede that he had his own personal problems off the pitch (particularly after all the horrific injuries). No saint was our Dave but hopefully a ton of money will be raised at the dinner to help him through life.

S.Ireland obviously has a fair few problems himself and I think he's rapidly burning any bridges he had left to the Irish team. If he wanted to play for us I'd happily take him back but that doesn't look like it's going to happen. However its perfectly reasonable for his attitude to be debated on the Ireland forum - whether you like it or not he will always be an Irish international (or at least a former International).

EastTerracer
01/10/2008, 11:35 PM
And trust me RK had problems with various team mates over the years, in particular one who went on to manage him. Organisation and preperation was an excuse for a patholigical dislike of said team mate, regardless of the spin many have swallowed.

I have to agree with this but another parallel with that situation was that "said teammate" left the Ireland manager's job in September 2002 but it was almost two years later before Roy Keane decided he wanted to play for his country again. Even then there were apparently a few players in the squad who he never spoke with. With that precedent, perhaps Stephen Ireland will change his mind eventually as well - I'm not holding my breath though.

Wheels
02/10/2008, 10:13 PM
He seems to be a different player this year... maybe he's getting himself back together and a little more time will see him want to play for us again.

Tonights performance (http://www.manchestercity.vitalfootball.co.uk/matchrep.asp?a=126963) is further evidence of what we're missing:

"STAR PLAYER: Stephen Ireland.
I am not quite sure whats happened to him. His performances recently are as good as anyone. He always looked a threat on the break and never stopped running. Keep it up son."

Irish_Praha
05/10/2008, 10:20 AM
I've just been looking at the FAI website and Ireland and Andy O'Brien are still included in the Squad Profile. I know they have always been slow about upading the site but other players stats have been updated since the last two games, you would think that they could delete these two from the system when they were at it.:mad:

luka
05/10/2008, 10:32 AM
The guys is hands down, our best performer thus far this season. If we drop points against Cyprus just watch the public call for him to return...

Considering he hasn't worn a green shirt in how long? :rolleyes:

Reality Bites
06/10/2008, 7:35 AM
Another Goal for Ireland at the weekend! I also noted he featured heavly in the Press at the weekend, With Given and Alonso having a Pop at him in the press, Eamon Dunphy also wrote him an open letter in the Star on Saturday:rolleyes:

06/10/2008, 8:32 AM
Another Goal for Ireland at the weekend! I also noted he featured heavly in the Press at the weekend, With Given and Alonso having a Pop at him in the press, Eamon Dunphy also wrote him an open letter in the Star on Saturday:rolleyes:
Do you have links to these? Cheers.

Razors left peg
06/10/2008, 4:57 PM

what did Alonso say about him??

06/10/2008, 6:56 PM
Do you have links to these? Cheers.
Not sure what Alonso was supposed to have said but Given said:

"I can't understand it.

"I don't know what his reasons are. I don't see why he shouldn't be playing.

"Every game people keep asking that question, but as a football player it's a short enough career.

"In my opinion, to play for your country is one of the proudest things you'll ever do in your life. For him not to want to play for his country? There's people out fighting wars for their country. You play a game of football, it's an absolute honour."

06/10/2008, 8:51 PM
Shay Given is a legend. Fair play he nearly plays as if he is going to war.

06/10/2008, 11:47 PM
I don't know why that twát gets a 1000 replies when Shay Given is the one who personifies most everything that an Irish fan would want in their main player.

Colbert Report
07/10/2008, 12:03 AM
Does anyone have a link to the Eamonn Dunphy open letter?

Greenforever
07/10/2008, 7:08 AM
Shay Given is a legend. Fair play he nearly plays as if he is going to war.

So does his Dad:D

07/10/2008, 12:45 PM
Great interview with Dunne on RTE radio just now. Dunne basically says, that Ireland has made up his decision and he does not want to play and that nobody should be begging him to play as he clearly has made up his mind and he does not want to play. He finds it baffling that he does not want to play for his country but that we should concentrate on the players who do want to be in the squad.

Hear hear can we all now take a leaf fro Richard Dunnes book.

Wolfie
07/10/2008, 12:58 PM
Great interview with Dunne on RTE radio just now. Dunne basically says, that Ireland has made up his decision and he does not want to play and that nobody should be begging him to play as he clearly has made up his mind and he does not want to play. He finds it baffling that he does not want to play for his country but that we should concentrate on the players who do want to be in the squad.

Hear hear can we all now take a leaf fro Richard Dunnes book.

Speaks volumes if his club team-mate has given up on him.

kingdomkerry
07/10/2008, 1:20 PM
Can we change the name of this thread to Stephen "traitor who is an embarrasment to his counrty, let the spoilt granny killing ******* go to hell" Ireland

07/10/2008, 1:22 PM
Stephen Manchester will do.

07/10/2008, 1:24 PM
A bit harsh. Look the lad doesn't want to play. He has his reasons. Get over it. What most other people would do in his situation is irrelevant.

If he decides to comeback, I for one would welcome him. I don't think he has decided not to play to spite me or any other Irish fans. But until he has a change of heart. We should ignore him on the topic of international recognition. I'll still follow his progress in the Premier League like I do all Irish players.

ken foree
07/10/2008, 3:26 PM
well said joe denilson. i for one find given's comments to be ridiculously out of proportion with the situation (as well as a lot of the angry, anti-s. ireland posts on here). people go to war for their country? why yes, they do, in wars like. this is football and has nothing to do with it. such silliness is unwelcome and conflates something relatively trivial with something utterly more serious. the opposite "so what" opinion would serve EVERYONE's interests a lot better.

stojkovic
07/10/2008, 8:51 PM
Stephen Manchester will do.

Agreed, its Stephen Manchester for me.

Can we get this changed by deed poll, in absentia ?

07/10/2008, 11:16 PM
well said joe denilson. i for one find given's comments to be ridiculously out of proportion with the situation (as well as a lot of the angry, anti-s. ireland posts on here). people go to war for their country? why yes, they do, in wars like. this is football and has nothing to do with it. such silliness is unwelcome and conflates something relatively trivial with something utterly more serious. the opposite "so what" opinion would serve EVERYONE's interests a lot better.

That was Shay Given who said that about war by the way.

out red
08/10/2008, 10:50 AM
the boy thinks his another roy keane. might be from the same county but he wouldnt lace his boots. his a disgrace simple as.

FarBeag
08/10/2008, 11:19 AM
If the guy just came out and told his colleagues and the Irish supporters the reasons he does not want to play for us then I would have some respect form him. Until this happens I will continue to believe he could not take a bit of banter among his team mates about his famous syrup. My God the abuse that McGeady and McCarthy get week in week out for not playing for the country of their birth and they still are proud to pull on the Irish jersey.

08/10/2008, 12:16 PM
I pretty much agree entirely with everything Dunne says here. And from my point of view, this is my last post on Stephen Ireland in the Ireland thread at least unless he makes himself available again. Not gonna waste any more time on a man city player when we have plenty of other players who want to play for Ireland who deserve more time that SI.

Manchester City captain Richard Dunne has distanced himself from the Stephen Ireland issue, saying he no longer sees his club colleague as an international teammate.

Ireland has enjoyed a fine start to the Barclays Premier League season, scoring three goals and nailing down a key position in Mark Hughes’s side.

He has so far opted against ending his 13-month international exile despite an invitation from new Irish boss Giovanni Trapattoni – and Dunne no longer wants to be asked questions about a player he now clearly sees as a former Ireland teammate.

Speaking to Newstalk’s Off the Ball on Monday, Dunne said: “I had a chat with him after the last series of games and told him things had changed a bit and it was a bit more enjoyable and he might enjoy it. It seemed like he might be coming back but apparently he’s done an interview in a paper so it doesn’t like he will.

“As far as I can tell I don’t think he’ll want to play again. I don’t know what’s going to change apart from getting a bit older and a bit more experienced.

“The only thing that’s annoying for the players in the squad is the fact that we have to keep answering questions for him and about him. It’s his choice. We always seem to be asked about one person who doesn’t want to play for Ireland. It’s nothing to do with anyone else. We all get picked in the squad, we all turn up and wants to play.

“He doesn’t want to get picked, he doesn’t want to play for Ireland. It’s not an issue. He’s my Manchester City team-mate but he’s not an international team-mate. He doesn’t play for Ireland, that’s the way I see it.

“I don’t see why we should beg him to play, because we’ve got Aiden McGeady who plays in that position and he’s just as good so why should we make people in the squad feel bad. We’ve already got players there who are just as good and want to play.”