View Full Version : Shelbourne FC Demoted to First Division - All Purpose Thread
Pages :
[
16]
higgins
21/02/2007, 3:26 PM
Sorry Higgins, I must have missed something, what are the conditions that has effectively put you out of business? I thought you had a division 1 licence and would be in that division next year.
For what its worth, I would not like to see Shels fold. The loss of a real club is always a blow to any league.
Thanks Chippie.
I know we should be punished and will take first division and even a points deduction in there. Take the league titles away if they want too but not send us out of business!
Gary Brown told everyone last night the situation. We got punished by the FIC for obtaining the Premier License unfairly. We got that taken away and in it's place a new First Division one with conditions.
These conditions he didnt say but they are unrealistic as he mentioned they come up for review on March 31st. How can Shels operate until then if we don't know what they will say ???
They are backing us into a corner and trying to make Shels fold for them is what I think.
Effectively we can't operate until March 31st as we don't know where we stand with the FAI. Except the league starts soon so what do you do ???
Ah yes - as I thought. It's not Shels' fault.
higgins
21/02/2007, 3:36 PM
Why should you be given a season to turn it around? On what basis do Shels deserve this preferential treatment? What track record do the people coming into the club have of running a football club? Should Shels be given a premier license because they "might" be able to pay their way?
There is no might about it.
We will have cash there for the 2007 season if the FAI would allow us get on with things.
The track record the board have is that over the last few weeks and months they have tried to come up with a deal that will save Shels. We came up with that deal and can clear tax and wages and pay players for the next season. Yet we are still being forced to pay for the mistakes of the last few seasons.
I could maybe understand if Ollie was still around but he's not. IF the FAI allow us we can sort everything out over the next few weeks to satisfy license requirements and over the next couple of years pay off our debts by moving rom Tolka.
You'd have a Shels, without Ollie, with it's 112+ years history and a better league. Do you really think a club invited to the EL in the place of Shels can offer more than the current Shelbourne can?
I realise we ****ed up.
Take all that was won away if you like but theres no need to kick us out on the basis we lied when the rules state that you can stay in the league.
It's not just the case of meeting first division standards, we can do that easily enough once the FAI tell us they would be happy with that but they wont even say that.
Anyway I think I know your feelings on the matter and you're entitled to them but it doesn't make it right
HulaHoop
21/02/2007, 3:41 PM
Higgins - Ollie is still the owner of the club. Until that changes he is still very much part of Shels. The day the fans of Shels take over Shels is the day Shels should stop being punished.
21/02/2007, 3:48 PM
and gufct, if you believe Ollie is in the picture you have never heard of a Brian Tumor.
EXCLUSIVE TO FOOT.IE: BRIAN TUMOR TAKES THE HELM AT SHELS.
Little more information is available at this time, as Mr. Tumor was unavailable for comment. A Shelbourne fan did however say that he was glad that the turmoil was over, and fully expected there to be chants of "We love you Brian, we do" at the first game,
hoops1
21/02/2007, 3:51 PM
I dont believe Ollie has a brain never mind a tumor.
If the truth be known the tumor was in hospital getting Ollie removed from it
EXCLUSIVE TO FOOT.IE: BRIAN TUMOR TAKES THE HELM AT SHELS.
Little more information is available at this time, as Mr. Tumor was unavailable for comment. A Shelbourne fan did however say that he was glad that the turmoil was over, and fully expected there to be chants of "We love you Brian, we do" at the first game,
Is he anything to the Philip J. Tumor that used to play for Athlone?
Frankfurt Hoop
21/02/2007, 4:18 PM
There is no might about it.
We will have cash there for the 2007 season if the FAI would allow us get on with things.
The track record the board have is that over the last few weeks and months they have tried to come up with a deal that will save Shels. We came up with that deal and can clear tax and wages and pay players for the next season. Yet we are still being forced to pay for the mistakes of the last few seasons.
I could maybe understand if Ollie was still around but he's not. IF the FAI allow us we can sort everything out over the next few weeks to satisfy license requirements and over the next couple of years pay off our debts by moving rom Tolka.
You'd have a Shels, without Ollie, with it's 112+ years history and a better league. Do you really think a club invited to the EL in the place of Shels can offer more than the current Shelbourne can?
I realise we ****ed up.
Take all that was won away if you like but theres no need to kick us out on the basis we lied when the rules state that you can stay in the league.
It's not just the case of meeting first division standards, we can do that easily enough once the FAI tell us they would be happy with that but they wont even say that.
Higgins,
The FAI are bending over backwards for you. You are getting until the end of next month to fulfill the criteria for the First that the nine other clubs fulfilled months ago (honourable exceptions - WY and L37 for obvious reasons).
Given the lack of bone fides with which SFC have dealt with the EL and FAI in recent years, it would be astounding if they trusted you to keep your word.
When you add in the fact that there are few clubs that SFC haven't tried to screw at some stage, you can hardly be surprised that there is little sympathy for your plight.
Moreover, there have been threads ad nauseum here over the years telling Shels "fans" that this was going to happen. You poo-pooed the whole lot.
When the fans were taking over SRFC and raising 750k to do it, one club fought tooth and nail to have us put out of football for good. Guess who that was?
And now, just in case your "fans" get uppity ideas like wanting to discuss the future of Ollie's club you've closed your forum down.
The bottom line is that if you're not prepared to compete under the same conditions as everyone else (despite being given months more to comply with those than anyone else) you won't be allowed to compete.
And nobody wants your League Titles. The last four are tarnished.
21/02/2007, 4:28 PM
We got that taken away and in it's place a new First Division one with conditions.
These conditions he didnt say but they are unrealistic
Unrealistic? You have to have a TCC by then, something the rest of us had in place months ago. If you can't produce it by March 31 then you've no business in senior football.
As someone else pointed out, the FAI are going out of their way to help you out of this hole you've dug for yourselves. A luxury not afforded Limerick FC.
This is terrible for Irish football, but at least it means a day out to Tolka. Which will be good. FOr us. Not for you.
higgins
21/02/2007, 4:35 PM
Unrealistic? You have to have a TCC by then, something the rest of us had in place months ago. If you can't produce it by March 31 then you've no business in senior football.
As someone else pointed out, the FAI are going out of their way to help you out of this hole you've dug for yourselves. A luxury not afforded Limerick FC.
You're wrong there..
The FAI are not going out of there way.
conditionS
TCC is not the problem, even Ollie could get that!!
Anyway, I'm getting the picture from here...
Thats all I wanted, thanks
I know there are not people queuing up to run eL clubs but maybe they should require a licence too.
Ollie Byrne & fools like Seery should be banned from eL involvement for 10 years. Instead the FAI actually wished Seery well after his idiocy.
As usual once the details start to filter out eL fans opinions change... Kick Shels out, keepo wateford in the 1st division & hey presto got new 10 team league ahead of schedule.
21/02/2007, 4:43 PM
You're wrong there..
The FAI are not going out of there way.
conditionS
TCC is not the problem, even Ollie could get that!!
Anyway, I'm getting the picture from here...
Thats all I wanted, thanks
Wind your neck in son - I suppose that's a case of "I'm not playing anymore", and off you go home taking your ball with you...
21/02/2007, 4:45 PM
WAAAAAAAH, WAAAAAH, WAAAAAAAAH, WAAAAAH, WAAAAAH, WAAAAAAH, WAAAAAH
"Conditions" my Ar$e, What gives ye the right??
No wonder everyone hates Shels :rolleyes:
21/02/2007, 4:46 PM
Ollie Byrne & fools like Seery should be banned from eL involvement for 10 years. Instead the FAI actually wished Seery well after his idiocy.
This type of thing is old news to all of us but it can never be said too often:
“Ronan Seery and the team at Dublin City have worked tirelessly to keep the club going but in the end, all their efforts were not enough.
“The involvement of the Seery family dates right back to the formation of Home Farm and the family are steeped in the game - while the Dublin City dream may have ended, I sincerely hope we see the family’s continued involvement within football into the future."
http://www.thestar.ie/sports/delaney_delight_at_year_of_great_progress.404.212. html
Wonder if he included this quote in the presentation to all media on how great he is.:rolleyes:
21/02/2007, 4:48 PM
Higgins you are deluded!
You have been given a first division license when you don't comply with the requirements and the "conditions" are that you have been given a grace period to get into compliance.
By all rights you should have been thrown out of the League (a la Limerick) as evidenced by the resignation of the Chairman of the First Instance Committee.
Your club is and has been treated unbelieveably leniently and yet you seem to have some kind of persecution complex.
Does Irish football owe you a favour or something?!?!
Mindblowing.
21/02/2007, 4:51 PM
Higgins you are deluded!
You have been given a first division license when you don't comply with the requirements and the "conditions" are that you have been given a grace period to get into compliance.
By all rights you should have been thrown out of the League (a la Limerick) as evidenced by the resignation of the Chairman of the First Instance Committee.
Your club is and has been treated unbelieveably leniently and yet you seem to have some kind of persecution complex.
Does Irish football owe you a favour or something?!?!
Mindblowing.
Don't you know ORA - he supports Shelbourne - a club which apparently - is bigger than the whole league put together.
Ergo - they get the special treatment no-one else gets - think of it as the relationship that Bolsheviks had with the Kulaks
The Man Himself
21/02/2007, 4:54 PM
:D :D :D
21/02/2007, 5:12 PM
Wow a tumor joke
Hilarious :rolleyes:
21/02/2007, 5:13 PM
I know there are not people queuing up to run eL clubs but maybe they should require a licence too.
That's a very serious point and one that should be addressed post haste. Even the English FA have a (half-hearted) system of making sure directors and owners are fit to own clubs or serve as directors.
Tony Maguire, Ronan Seery, Ollie Byrne, Finbar Flood, Alan Duncan, Louis Kilcoyne etc should never ever be allowed to be involved in Irish football again. But in this country we reward (Kilcoyne) or praise (Seery) these shysters. :rolleyes:
Brigader
21/02/2007, 6:40 PM
:ball:
Better to have a First Division team to support; than your club to go bust !!!!
Hmmmm, guess u's have a taste some what of how we feel in a sense right? Weren't Students on cards for next in line for chop after Dublin City?? :D
Anyway, that front on 'stab joke' aside man... ya have a point. Heeded... :)
21/02/2007, 6:42 PM
Weren't Students on cards for next in line for chop after Dublin City?? :DYes, our financial recklessness was world renowned. :rolleyes: :confused:
21/02/2007, 9:08 PM
Hmmmm, guess u's have a taste some what of how we feel in a sense right? Weren't Students on cards for next in line for chop after Dublin City??
Anyway, that front on 'stab joke' aside man... ya have a point. Heeded...
Was this whole post some kind of rap :confused:
21/02/2007, 9:13 PM
Hmmmm, guess u's have a taste some what of how we feel in a sense right? Weren't Students on cards for next in line for chop after Dublin City?? :D
Hmmmm, reminds me of something that happened a few months back. As I was exiting Tolka after our 6-0 drubbing at the hands of Shels, the week after Dublin City's demise, one of their fans tapped me on the shoulder and said "Dublin City, hahaha, UCD, you're next, bang bang" with a smoking gun hand gesture.:rolleyes:
LeixlipRed
21/02/2007, 9:17 PM
What next, a joke about people in wheelchairs?? Idiot
Brigader
21/02/2007, 9:19 PM
Yes, our financial recklessness was world renowned. :rolleyes: :confused:
Was this whole post some kind of rap :confused:
It's cool lads... can't a Real Red not have a BIT of humor under the current circumstances... I meant no harm.
HulaHoop
21/02/2007, 9:40 PM
You'd never guess it's mid-term would you :rolleyes:
21/02/2007, 9:51 PM
Yes, our financial recklessness was world renowned. :rolleyes: :confused:
Millions spent on Dutch Gold! :D
22/02/2007, 4:46 AM
3 disableds (a blind man, an amputee, and a wheelchair-guy) are stranded in the middle of the Sahara Desert and waiting for someone to rescue them. They start to get thirsty, so they decide to seek out water. The amputee leads the way, with the blind man pushing the guy in the wheelchair; and, eventually they find an oasis. The amputee goes into the water first, cools himself down, drinks a load of water, walks out the other side and lo and behold, he has a NEW LEG! He gets excited and encourages his friends to do the same. The blind man offers to push the guy in the wheelchair, but he gets refused because the guy in the chair wants to be Mr Independent and insists the blind man goes ahead first. So he goes into the water, cools himself down, drinks a load of water, walks out the other side and lo and behold, he can SEE! Now the guy in the wheelchair's getting really excited, starts pushing with all his might, goes into the water, cools himself down, drinks a load of water, and wheels out the other side. Lo and behold, NEW TYRES!!!
22/02/2007, 8:48 AM
Heard a rumour that Permanent TSB will be the next sponsors of Shels. A statement from the embattled football club cited the banks policy of applying no transfer fees, no late payment fees, no overdraft fees and no withdrawal fees as the main reason for their decision to accept the deal.
22/02/2007, 12:13 PM
From the IT
Shelbourne officials to meet on course of action
Emmet Malone Soccer correspondent
Thu, Feb 22, 2007
League of Ireland:Shelbourne officials hope to resume their deliberations today on how to respond to the decision by the FAI's First Instance Committee (FIC) to relegate them to the First Division.
The club has until Monday to appeal the punishment but some of its management committee members have expressed reservations about pursuing the matter while making it clear that they view the conditions attached to even their First Division licence as unreasonable.
The club has been told that it must pay all monies owed to players and the Revenue Commissioners by March 5th and that it must then submit a full set of accounts for review by independent auditors to be nominated by the FIC after which its First Division status would be looked at again. Club officials, including interim chairman Gary Brown, believe that the condition creates unreasonable uncertainty regarding even the club's medium-term future at a time that it urgently needs to set about recruiting a manager and players for the coming season - the deadline for signing players is next Wednesday after which it could only bring in free agents.
Provisional arrangements made on this front have been thrown into doubt by the outcome of Monday's FIC meeting. Some within Tolka Park initially took some small consolation immediately after that decision was announced from the reports that Liam Moggan, the committee's chairman, had resigned. It appears, however, that, while he has declined to comment on his departure, it was in fact motivated by a belief that Shelbourne had been too leniently rather than too harshly treated.
Brown insists, even accepting the punishment is not exactly a straightforward affair. "How are we supposed to go out and sign people on that basis?" he asks. "Do we tell them that we want them to come to the club and we'll pay them so much but that we might be out of business in a month? It's hard not to think that what is being imposed on Shelbourne Football Club here is death by a thousand cuts.
HOW ****ing dare the FAi insist that Shels pay back their debt. Shame on them
Brown insists, even accepting the punishment is not exactly a straightforward affair. "How are we supposed to go out and sign people on that basis?" he asks. "Do we tell them that we want them to come to the club and we'll pay them so much but that we might be out of business in a month? It's hard not to think that what is being imposed on Shelbourne Football Club here is death by a thousand cuts.
you facking waanker Browne - you signed all the leagues best for years on an even more spurious basis - so fck off -no sympathy. The cheek of that sentence is galling.
22/02/2007, 12:37 PM
According to today's Indo the main barrier to Shels signing players is an unofficial PFAI embargo on its members signing for them until all monies owed to players is paid.
Which seems reasonable enough.
Gary Brown's comments are verging on the ridiculous, Shels have had 4 months since the end of the season to sort things out and the Kilkenny deal has been on the table much longer than that.
New poll added:
Will Shels start the 2007 season?
New poll added:
Will Shels start the 2007 season?
Is there not enough in this thread already?
st pats and ucd bring nothing to this league.
He hee he
soccerc
22/02/2007, 8:01 PM
2 teams in dublin is enough for league of ireland soccer, one from the north and one from the south (bohs and rovers),
st pats and ucd bring nothing to this league.
LOL, WUM
Pats bring nothing to this league?
22/02/2007, 8:01 PM
I think TMH has some manner of attention deficit disorder that he considers it necessary to use the same bait twice in a couple of days (http://foot.ie/showpost.php?p=627050&postcount=39) to wind people up...
JB - careful now! ;)
soccerc
22/02/2007, 8:03 PM
I think TMH has some manner of attention deficit disorder that he considers it necessary to use the same bait twice in a couple of days (http://foot.ie/showpost.php?p=627050&postcount=39) to wind people up...
JB - careful now! ;)
...and it appears he is a Waterford fan. Now what have they given, apart from the obvious, and that's not IMHO a good thing, to Irish football in the past 35 years?
22/02/2007, 8:06 PM
Bobby Charlton for a couple of games?
22/02/2007, 8:16 PM
JB - careful now! ;)
No problem fellas - he's binned for a week for picking up three infractions in two days...
soccerc
22/02/2007, 8:18 PM
No problem fellas - he's binned for a week for picking up three infractions in two days...
oooh, when I read that first ref I thought it said three infections in two days.
Imagine being that unlucky in love!
...and it appears he is a Waterford fan. Now what have they given, apart from the obvious, and that's not IMHO a good thing, to Irish football in the past 35 years?
So if some WUM gets himself a banning, that opens up WUFC as fair game?
Yawn.
charliesboots
23/02/2007, 7:55 AM
So if some WUM gets himself a banning, that opens up WUFC as fair game?
Yawn.
Lads let's not get off the point of this thread....revelling in Shels demise!!!
charliesboots
23/02/2007, 8:07 AM
http://www.ireland.com/newspaper/sport/2007/0223/1172184912742.html
Shelbourne to accept their fate
Paul Buttner
League of Ireland: Reigning League of Ireland champions Shelbourne are believed to be set to announce today their intention not to appeal their demotion to First Division licence status.
With no manager and no team, the club are eager to finally put the decision of the FAI's First Instant Committee (FIC) of last Monday, that condemned them to relegation, behind them and prepare for the new season which begins in earnest a fortnight today. It also emerged yesterday that Alan Moore, the club's former Republic of Ireland international midfielder, is the chief candidate for their vacant managerial post. A full statement, or a hastily arranged press conference, regarding both pressing issues is expected from Tolka Park today following a further meeting of the club's board last night.
An appeal to the FIC's decision to relegate Shelbourne would have to be lodged by the club by Monday. While reluctantly accepting the decision to relegate them, the club are angered by the conditions of the decision, which stated that all debts to players (€147,000) and the Revenue Commissioners (€104,000) be paid by March 5th and, in particular, that they must then submit a further set of accounts for deliberation by the end of next month at which point their situation would be reviewed.
The club feel that despite their best efforts to right their situation, the threat they may be put out of business in a month's time should the FAI not be satisfied at that point remains.
Should 32-year-old Moore, with fellow midfielder Jim Crawford - who turned down the manager's post himself before Christmas - touted as his likely assistant, be installed as the club's new boss he faces a race against time to cobble together a team for Shelbourne's opening First Division game against Kildare County at Tolka Park on March 9th. The transfer deadline is next Wednesday after which only out of contract players can be signed.
Cork City, meanwhile, revealed a major new sponsorship deal with local brewer Beamish and Crawford whose name will be used on the front of the club's shirts next season.
Beamish replace Nissan as City's main sponsors while local media outlets, The Echo newspaper and Red FM, will also back the club financially over the next three years. In total the deal is reported to be worth just short of €500,000 over the next three seasons with the Beamish putting up around €300.000 of that.
"We're delighted that they're coming on board," said City chairman Brian Lennox at yesterday's announcement, "and we look forward to making them proud sponsors in 2007, both at home and abroad."
Limerick 37 play their first game tonight when they host Bray Wanderers in a friendly at Jackman Park. Three of last season's top defenders, Pat Purcell, Paul Finucane and Brian Buckley are expected to start in manager Paul McGee's first team sheet.
John Healy could start in goal and McGee is also likely to have a look at his new goalkeeper signing, Davy Ryan who was with Galway United for the past two seasons. Other newcomers to Limerick are expected to be striker Davy Wall and Peter McCarthy.
© 2007 The Irish Times
lofty9
23/02/2007, 8:25 AM
Is their a press conference today by the FAI regarding Shels?
23/02/2007, 9:49 AM
Is their a press conference today by the FAI regarding Shels?
Friday's Irish Times:
Shelbourne to accept their fate
Paul Buttner
Fri, Feb 23, 2007
With no manager and no team, the club are eager to finally put the decision of the FAI's First Instant Committee (FIC) of last Monday, that condemned them to relegation, behind them and prepare for the new season which begins in earnest a fortnight today. It also emerged yesterday that Alan Moore, the club's former Republic of Ireland international midfielder, is the chief candidate for their vacant managerial post. A full statement, or a hastily arranged press conference, regarding both pressing issues is expected from Tolka Park today following a further meeting of the club's board last night.
23/02/2007, 10:45 AM
For the millionth time you cannot get, receive or pick up an infraction. You commit an infraction. :confused:
From answers.com - "The act or an instance of infringing; a violation."
http://www.answers.com/topic/infraction
23/02/2007, 10:54 AM
Infraction for WaR for exagerating. "millionth time"
Please provide proof of the other 999,999 times or the neccessary disciplinary procedures will follow!
23/02/2007, 11:06 AM
Infraction for WaR for exagerating. "millionth time"
Please provide proof of the other 999,999 times or the neccessary disciplinary procedures will follow!
I never said they were all on here - I walk around mumbling to myself about it all day. It must be at least a million times by now.