View Full Version : Shelbourne FC Demoted to First Division - All Purpose Thread
Pages :
[
10]
02/02/2007, 11:19 AM
Gavin was shocking last night, turned it off after he squirmed his way around Miriam asking if Shels getting a Premier licence made a joke of the whole process, and Dolan did his usual profit of doom act
...and Dolan did his usual profit of doom act
Almost forgot about him...
Pat Dolan saying clubs should live within their means :eek: Next up Roddy Collins to back up Dolan. :D
02/02/2007, 11:29 AM
And if you only knew how much that incompetent fool Gavin is on.... :eek:
Paraic
02/02/2007, 11:29 AM
Didn't see it, but it's a prety poor indictment of the FAI's PR skills. A trip down to see Bunny Carr might be required for Mr Gavin.
It seems to be a trend though - we had a few of the senior guys in Sligo a couple of seasons ago (03) and I thought the standard of speaking could have been a lot better.
Fran Rooney was at the helm and I really expected him to be a lot better, given the kind of presentations he should have been used to with Baltimore. He was very average.
Brendon Dillon was head of the league at the time, and he was very articulate - a good speaker - pity he's out of things.
I can't remember who else spoke that night, but it was far from inspirational stuff.
and Dolan did his usual profit of doom act
profit of doom
you suggesting he profits from doom?
is this related to the doyle transfer!???!
corbyeire
02/02/2007, 12:12 PM
profit of doom
you suggesting he profits from doom?
is this related to the doyle transfer!???!
:D very good
02/02/2007, 12:13 PM
steve i reckon you should chair some shelbourne fans takeover with all your enthusiasm and belief in how possible it is ;)
I'd be happy to host them in the Stockwell Multiplex ! Drop me a PM with your flight details boys, and I'll get the tea and biscuits in.... :D
I'm just an eternal optimist POS. Also - with a background in 'political' representation and running campaigns, I probably have greater faith in the power of individuals than most people do. And I'm a supporter and shareholder in a fn-controlled club who have done exactly the type of thing that Shels fans arguably need to do (AFC Wimbledon).
People tend to totally under-estimate the level of power and influence they can have if and when they get organised - which is a huge shame.
02/02/2007, 12:26 PM
Didn't see it, but it's a prety poor indictment of the FAI's PR skills. A trip down to see Bunny Carr might be required for Mr Gavin.
It seems to be a trend though - we had a few of the senior guys in Sligo a couple of seasons ago (03) and I thought the standard of speaking could have been a lot better.
Theory about Delaney appointments - do you think he* deliberately hands out important jobs to incompetents to make himself look better. He made his name during Saipan by being the only available FAI person who could (barely) string two sentences together.
When I say "he" appoints people I mean, of course, a faceless FAI committee which means Delaney isn't accountable for bad decisions.
Theory about Delaney appointments - do you think he* deliberately hands out important jobs to incompetents to make himself look better.
If you appoint incompetent people you are responsible. Same in any company so would make no sense. A successful or improved FAI eLOI boosts Delaneys position unless he is looking to be sacked & given golden handshake for remaining 5-6 years of his contract.
neutrino
02/02/2007, 12:43 PM
Theory about Delaney appointments - do you think he* deliberately hands out important jobs to incompetents to make himself look better. He made his name during Saipan by being the only available FAI person who could (barely) string two sentences together.
When I say "he" appoints people I mean, of course, a faceless FAI committee which means Delaney isn't accountable for bad decisions.
Unfortunately, as has been said before i'm sure, alot of people in the FAI are simply not football people. the politics in el circles is such that it's nigh on impossible for anybody who wants to - to progress in football admin in this country. How many of these officials came up through the ranks for example i.e supported local club, into club, then onto fai's top chair.
alot of pish posh has been talked about reform and blah blah etc, but we've yet to see it. his favourite is always talkin grass-roots football, yet some counties in this country have far less facilities for kids / youth football than most developing countries have.
the licencing is obviously got by the the old irish nudge and a wink. i havent read all threads here but how shels got a licence is not just a question that should be answered, it borders on criminal negligence. same could be said of dub city debacle.
anyway it's my opinon that all this reform is just the self-appointed delaney appeasing the uefa's and fifa's of this world so he can continue junketing around with the national team. you simply cant be seen as creditable, when your a faceless, unaccountable, untransparent and grossly paranoid administration.
fergalr
02/02/2007, 12:45 PM
Gavin was just simply awful. For the FAI to effectively promote the eL they must never again waste such a Prime Time opportunity like that.
Banner
02/02/2007, 12:48 PM
"THE future for Shelbourne remains in the balance after chairman Finbarr Flood's assertion that a big 48 hours lay ahead for the league champions, with their survival chances rated only as "50-50".
Flood and Shels' management committee are attempting to deal with a long list of creditors and could be forced to pull the plug unless they can find a method to wipe the club's debts with an immediately pressing figure of €4m needing to be cleared.
Unless the creditors are prepared to be patient, the only way Shels will survive is if they can strike a deal with property developer Ossie Kilkenny - who has first option on the sale of the lease on Tolka Park - to follow through on the completion of the sale now.
For the past three seasons, Kilkenny has been providing bridging capital to the club and has offered to put forward the cash to sustain the team for the coming season although that money would be drawn down from the value of any eventual sale.
Kilkenny, who is chairman of the Irish Sports Council, is currently keeping a low profile. He failed to make a scheduled appearance at yesterday's announcement of the Irish Institute for Sport's new Director of Sports Science.
Daniel McDonnell"
Funny then how Flood could come out yesterday and dismiss talk of Shels not being able to participate in the new Premier League or in Europe as rubbish and assure everyone that Shels will be fielding teams in both competitions.
Any of you folk resident in Dublin hear anything on the grapevine that has not already been aired? Personally I think the club would have some chance if they were to volunatrily crop out of the CL and also go down to Division 1 and radically slash their costs. They would at least then get some kudos from other El supporters and could maybe bounce back in a few years ala Rovers.
02/02/2007, 12:48 PM
its not necessarily about people or how they are organised, its more about the person(s) that is organising them, getting them organised and speaking on behalf and for them.
Brigader
02/02/2007, 1:02 PM
Iam worried & not...
Banner
02/02/2007, 1:14 PM
??????? OK I can understand the "I am worried" part but the "& not" requires further explanation, care to elaborate?
02/02/2007, 1:19 PM
Personally I think the club would have some chance if they were to volunatrily crop out of the CL and also go down to Division 1 and radically slash their costs. They would at least then get some kudos from other El supporters and could maybe bounce back in a few years ala Rovers.
They certainly would earn back some of the respect they've squandered over the last few years. Someone said in another thread, they should drop out senior football for a couple of years and get their house in order, then apply for the A league and work their way up. I would agree with that and if they announced they were going to do that, as much as I loath the fekers I'd consider throwing a few quid into a collection bucket for them. Especially if the fans took over the club.
Gareth, Higgins and Co., its over to you.
DaveyCakes
02/02/2007, 1:22 PM
Fran Rooney was at the helm and I really expected him to be a lot better, given the kind of presentations he should have been used to with Baltimore. He was very average.
Brendon Dillon was head of the league at the time, and he was very articulate - a good speaker - pity he's out of things.
I can't remember who else spoke that night, but it was far from inspirational stuff.
Rooney's never been a good speaker...don't forget it was one of his presentations that precipitated Baltimore's collapse
Loads of rumours. ome from high placed sources. If Shels pull out I'm sure it'll all come out. I won't say too mcuh but there's more than football authorities looking at things now
pól-dcfc
02/02/2007, 1:37 PM
Loads of rumours. ome from high placed sources. If Shels pull out I'm sure it'll all come out. I won't say too mcuh but there's more than football authorities looking at things now
Come on Dodge, you can't just leave us hanging on that cliff...
Spill them. Is Inspector Knacker after Shels?
Gavin a first-class arsehole. Whilst head of the PFAI, he remained quiet for months on the Shels non-payment of wages to players. Why? Because he knew he had a cushy job lined up with the association at the end the season. Compare this to how outspoken the PFAI were at the time of Shamrock Rovers and others were not paying their players. As a former head of the PFAI, Gavin of all people should know how badly the clubs are run. Instead, he has sold out to the forces of evil of Delaney & co.
Also, don't forget that his last act as head of the PFAI was to move the asscociation's headquarters from the SIPTU's offices in Parnell Sq. to the new FAI headquarters in Abbotstown. What other industry would this happen in? Can you imagine ASTI moving their offices to the Dept. of Education? No other union would move in with an association that represents their employers. It's all part of Delaney's plan to have every aspect of the game in this country other his thumb and Gavin went along with it knowing he had the eL job sewn up... a total conflict of interests. Hope the pair of them die screaming... *******...
Banner
02/02/2007, 1:57 PM
Oooooooooooooooooooohhhhhhh!!
Sounds intersting, I wonder have the CAB or the revenue commissioners or the Gardai taken an interest in the goings on at Shels? Has someone been making "loads a money" without paying any tax?
Maybe a director taking his salary directly from an aforementioned buscuit tin without inforing the auhtorities? (or some such skullduggery?) Could result in a nasty fine or perhaps even a prison sentence?
C'mon lads the above is pure speculation please spill some beans!
hoops1
02/02/2007, 2:08 PM
Ollie and Maxi in a cell
Makes OZ look like Porridge
passerrby
02/02/2007, 2:14 PM
ollie could bring the fags and maxi the lighter
02/02/2007, 2:15 PM
ollie could bring the fags
I doubt they'd be in short supply where they're going ;)
bohs til i die
02/02/2007, 2:16 PM
Come on Dodge, you can't just leave us hanging on that cliff...
Spill them. Is Inspector Knacker after Shels?
Word on the street is that some creditors are more nervous then others, the revenue arent too keen to hang around waiting either and the developers arent interested in stumping up another 7 figure lump sum.
If the creditors want repayment pronto, they could go legal, get Shels wound up and then get what they are owed from the sale of the asset[s]. I am sure there are others better positioned to explain how exactly this works but thats doing the tounds.
Gavin a first-class arsehole. Whilst head of the PFAI, he remained quiet for months on the Shels non-payment of wages to players. Why? Because he knew he had a cushy job lined up with the association at the end the season. Compare this to how outspoken the PFAI were at the time of Shamrock Rovers and others were not paying their players. As a former head of the PFAI, Gavin of all people should know how badly the clubs are run. Instead, he has sold out to the forces of evil of Delaney & co.
Also, don't forget that his last act as head of the PFAI was to move the asscociation's headquarters from the SIPTU's offices in Parnell Sq. to the new FAI headquarters in Abbotstown. What other industry would this happen in? Can you imagine ASTI moving their offices to the Dept. of Education? No other union would move in with an association that represents their employers. It's all part of Delaney's plan to have every aspect of the game in this country other his thumb and Gavin went along with it knowing he had the eL job sewn up... a total conflict of interests. Hope the pair of them die screaming... *******...
nail on the head
delaney is unreal - the brass neck of those two thinkin they could get away with this as well
stupid fcks writing a letter over a perceived slight at booze up whilst the irish representatives for the CL are crumbling before there eyes
what the fck is their priority!??!
02/02/2007, 2:27 PM
what the fck is their priority!??!
Take a wild fookin guess. Delaney can't lose with Gavin anyway. After this season is yet another unmitigated disaster, he sacks Gavin and hey presto, he has a scapegoat abd the PFAI is knobbled in one fell swoop.
Dunnoe, some in the PFAI mightn't be happy. Might turn them more militant
Pigs might fly
I wonder have the CAB or the revenue commissioners or the Gardai taken an interest in the goings on at Shels?
The Office of the Director of Corporate Enforcement should probably have a gander too.
02/02/2007, 2:33 PM
If the case is that Derry are taking Shelbourne's place as champions, shouldn't Derry be moved to Shelbourne's group, and St. Pat's take the spot in the group left by Derry?
Aye, but it's handier to leave it the way it is. Would rather change group though, personally.
hoops1
02/02/2007, 2:39 PM
Gareth if you want to know why there is no sympathy for your situation
take a look and your own forum.
One lad is trying to organise a night to get ideas, some lads cant go because
they are going to watch the Dubs. Another Cant go because he is going out with his girlfriend :rolleyes: .Some kid gives a good suggestion but asks for somoeone else to run with it as he is only 16( probably has to much homework). Some tools are talking about the match programme( the least of the worries i would think) others are giving out why Shelsweb werent given
information before the media. There is also talk of Tallaght which instantly loses any Rovers support
But best of all some headcase is writing poetry. Whatever floats your boat I suppose
if thats that Pete Goulding fella - arrrrrgh
hes THE real reason why so many HATE shels
Ode to Stephen Geoghaghans tache
pass me the razor blades
hoops1
02/02/2007, 2:44 PM
Cant remeber who it is but thats only the tip of the iceberg.
They should shut that site down out of embarrassment
If memory serves me right the one that cant go to the meeting because he is going out with his girlfriend
is Mr Shels himself Gareth
stickyjoe
02/02/2007, 2:56 PM
nail on the head
delaney is unreal - the brass neck of those two thinkin they could get away with this as well
Thinking...? It looks to me like they`ve got away with it quite easily Delaney has a nice contract until 2010, if he is removed before that he`ll be guaranteed a nice payoff.
02/02/2007, 3:09 PM
Cant remeber who it is but thats only the tip of the iceberg.
They should shut that site down out of embarrassment
If memory serves me right the one that cant go to the meeting because he is going out with his girlfriend
is Mr Shels himself Gareth
Aw but have you met his lovely girlfriend?? If I was into women......:eek:
02/02/2007, 3:10 PM
LOL. why cant they just do another night?
hoops1 is completely correct. Too many Shels fans think that they're going to get somewhere by debating this forever on the internet. By the time they wake up, it'll be too late.
Headcase stuff on the shels forum alright. My own favourite was last weeks "Why don't we go to play deportivo in a friendly" suggestion
Fingal hoop
02/02/2007, 3:17 PM
she is a bit of a skank
02/02/2007, 3:28 PM
she is a bit of a skank
You shouldnt talk about your mother like that.
Brigader
02/02/2007, 3:33 PM
??????? OK I can understand the "I am worried" part but the "& not" requires further explanation, care to elaborate?
"Not" as in... I've a feelin it can't get any worse!(?) :o
Aye, but it's handier to leave it the way it is. Would rather change group though, personally.
I'm assuming the draw was done alphbetically, in which case St. Pat's would have had the same ball number as Shels, so it's not an issue.
02/02/2007, 3:39 PM
I'm more worried about how this has messed up my betting on the Setanta Cup!
02/02/2007, 3:41 PM
hehe!
Billy Lord
02/02/2007, 3:43 PM
Here come the sun king
Everybody's laughing
Everybody's happy
Here come the sun king
Cuando para mucho mi amore de UEFA expenses form
Mundo paparazzi mi amore FIFA freebies anyone?
Cuesto abrigado tanta mucho Machiavellian goings-on
charliesboots
02/02/2007, 3:56 PM
Headcase stuff on the shels forum alright. My own favourite was last weeks "Why don't we go to play deportivo in a friendly" suggestion
It's even better now. Ollie has a statement up about how he hopes to be back soon and they're welcoming him.
There were posts deleted asking if they were being serious about wanting him back and asking will he be as keen to come back if there's a Garda investigation into reckless trading and false accounting.
They were deleted for being irresponsible - dt125 may be many things, obnoxious, stubborn, irresponsible but he is not a porn star.
02/02/2007, 3:56 PM
Here come the sun king
Everybody's laughing
Everybody's happy
Here come the sun king
Cuando para mucho mi amore de UEFA expenses form
Mundo paparazzi mi amore FIFA freebies anyone?
Cuesto abrigado tanta mucho Machiavellian goings-on
Dear Mr Lord,
Your exorbitant fine will be in the post as soon as Franner gets that translated for us.
Yours,
your ever competent friends in the FAI
02/02/2007, 4:16 PM
Dear Mr Lord,
Your exorbitant fine will be in the post as soon as Franner gets that translated for us.
Yours,
your ever competent friends in the FAI
Don't forget
We care about Irish football
02/02/2007, 4:24 PM
Aw but have you met his lovely girlfriend?? If I was into women......:eek:
Now you drop the bombshell Magicme....!?!! :eek:
I'm afraid it's all over now between you, me and the donkey... :(
02/02/2007, 4:25 PM
Completely agree with this.