View Full Version : So farewell then...

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 [40] 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58

24/06/2016, 11:09 AM
No loss.

Eminence Grise
25/06/2016, 10:46 PM
Just as Brexit throws Northern Ireland up in the air again, Patrick Mayhew, secretary of state when the Downing St Declaration was signed, passes away.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2016/0625/798194-patrick-mayhew-dies/

27/06/2016, 3:25 PM
Theresa Saldana: ‘Commish’ & ‘Raging Bull’ Actress Who Survived Stalker Knife Attack dies at the age of 61

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/tvshowbiz/article-3630065/Raging-Bull-star-Theresa-Saldana-dies-age-61.htm

28/06/2016, 9:24 PM
Theresa Saldana: ‘Commish’ & ‘Raging Bull’ Actress Who Survived Stalker Knife Attack dies at the age of 61

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/tvshowbiz/article-3630065/Raging-Bull-star-Theresa-Saldana-dies-age-61.htm

Everytime I see the Commish mentioned I always get blown away cos I always felt like I was the only one who watched it.

28/06/2016, 10:47 PM
Basketball revolutionary Pat Summitt

https://www.theguardian.com/sport/blog/2016/jun/28/pat-summitt-tennessee-basketball-ncaa

I remember reading about her before and it always struck me that her maiden name was Head and she married to become Summitt. Mad.

28/06/2016, 11:00 PM
She really reached the top.

29/06/2016, 7:21 AM
Scotty Moore, aged 84. Most famous as Elvis Pressleys guitarist in the early rock 'n roll years

Eminence Grise
02/07/2016, 3:08 PM
Caroline Aherne, Royle Family, Mrs Merton and voice of Gogglebox. Only 52.

http://www.rte.ie/entertainment/2016/0702/799755-mrs-merton-star-caroline-aherne-dies/

Eminence Grise
03/07/2016, 8:15 AM
Two directors, with barely a handful of films between them - but what a cinematic legacy they left.

Robin Hardy, best known for The Wicker Man.
http://www.bbc.com/news/entertainment-arts-36693545

Michael Cimino, The Deer Hunter and Heaven's Gate.
http://www.bbc.com/news/entertainment-arts-36696560

03/07/2016, 11:08 AM
You beat me to it. Also, 915 on a Sunday is no time to be awake never mind coming in here.

Eminence Grise
03/07/2016, 11:25 AM
Work to be done, Bonnie, even on a Sunday. And procrastination was a terribly attractive choice right then - as it is right now.:struggle:

Seagull
17/07/2016, 8:34 PM
Alan Vega, singer with legendary group Suicide RIP http://variety.com/2016/music/news/alan-vega-dead-suicide-1201816050/
'Springsteen told Mojo magazine that he met the two in the late ’70s and said, “if Elvis came back from the dead, I think he would sound like Alan Vega.”

22/07/2016, 4:09 PM
So it's goodbye to the carpet man. Des Kelly RIP.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/tributes-paid-after-death-of-carpet-man-des-kelly-1.2731055

22/07/2016, 4:28 PM
^^^^I'm Floored...

05/08/2016, 9:29 AM
Actor, David Huddleston known for his roles in The Big Lebowski, Blazing Saddles and The Producers.

http://www.rollingstone.com/movies/news/david-huddleston-who-played-the-big-lebowski-dead-at-85-w432934

09/08/2016, 9:39 AM
Edward Daly, Bishop of Derry, and famous for the iconic photo holding the bloodstained white handkerchief during Bloody Sunday. Interesting (but not surprising) that in the Daily Telegraph's headline to his obituary he is described as "a critic of the IRA".

13/08/2016, 9:25 PM
Rainy Boy Sleep, Stevie Martin, aged 29. Body found on Fanad Head after he went missing three weeks ago. The latest tragedy of this sort to hit Donegal. Was making a name for himself on the music scene, playing Glastonbury twice, and appearing on the Late Late Show back in March.

RIP

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jXVFl7SFpY4

Eminence Grise
13/08/2016, 9:42 PM
Former Ireland manager, Liam Tuohy.
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2016/0813/808998-liam-tuohy/

And one from almost a fortnight ago that I missed on holiday - handball legend, Ducksie Walsh, just 50.
http://www.irishtimes.com/life-and-style/people/michael-ducksie-walsh-greatest-player-in-history-of-irish-handball-1.2755720

14/08/2016, 11:03 AM
R2D2... (https://www.theguardian.com/film/2016/aug/13/kenny-baker-r2-d2-dies-star-wars)

15/08/2016, 9:15 AM
Former Ireland manager, Liam Tuohy.
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2016/0813/808998-liam-tuohy/

I wouldn't say Rasher was a boyhood hero (Frank O'Neill was the man!) but he was in the Rovers' team of the 1960s whom I had the pleasure of seeing win cup after cup. Really skillful and very hard. To coin a classic "he was a lot more deceptive than you might think he was". Didn't he have a fall out with Big Jack over something or other?

15/08/2016, 10:27 AM
Yeah, Jack came in to the dressing room and gave the half-time chat during Tuohy's first match as Jack's U-19 manager; he quit after that.

Closed Account 2
15/08/2016, 10:36 AM
Dalian Atkinson, former Villa striker in the early premier league era...

http://www.shropshirestar.com/news/emergency-services/2016/08/15/man-dies-after-being-tasered-by-police-in-telford/

Scored the Premier League's first goal of the season
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9E9FDiUTp30

15/08/2016, 10:46 AM
Dalian Atkinson, former Villa striker in the early premier league era...

http://www.shropshirestar.com/news/emergency-services/2016/08/15/man-dies-after-being-tasered-by-police-in-telford/

Scored the Premier League's first goal of the season
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9E9FDiUTp30

just came in to poost that. Unreal news.

https://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/2016/aug/15/man-dies-taser-shooting-by-police-in-telford-west-mercia

15/08/2016, 11:16 AM
just came in to poost that. Unreal news.

https://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/2016/aug/15/man-dies-taser-shooting-by-police-in-telford-west-mercia

Ex-Owl, Villa and others. Good player.

Eminence Grise
16/08/2016, 1:47 PM
Former FIFA president, and the mould out of which they poured the primordial gloop that became Sepp Blatter, Joao Havelange, aged 100.

https://www.theguardian.com/football/2016/aug/16/joao-havelange-president-fifa-ioc-dies

16/08/2016, 5:13 PM
Ireland's Boxing medal chances...:sad::disappointed:

Eminence Grise
16/08/2016, 5:27 PM
Ouch!

An odd combination of assassination, hard luck and self-inflicted wounds.

16/08/2016, 6:41 PM
Former FIFA president, and the mould out of which they poured the primordial gloop that became Sepp Blatter, Joao Havelange, aged 100.

https://www.theguardian.com/football/2016/aug/16/joao-havelange-president-fifa-ioc-dies

When you read something like this you have to go wow, that's some life:

He swam for Brazil at the 1936 Olympics in Berlin

17/08/2016, 8:30 AM
Here he is apparently -

http://brasileiros.com.br/wp-content/uploads/2016/06/joao-havelange-nos-tempos-de-atleta-OK.jpg

NeverFeltBetter
17/08/2016, 9:25 PM

Sam Neill played him in that dire FIFA movie a few years ago. Even in that masturbatory exercise he was portrayed as essentially corrupt.

Eminence Grise
23/08/2016, 8:03 PM
Anthony Jay, co-creator of one of the most brilliantly satirical shows of all time, now reunited with the Rt Hon Jim Hacker MP and Sir Humphrey Appleby.

https://www.theguardian.com/tv-and-radio/2016/aug/23/yes-minister-co-writer-sir-antony-jay-dies

23/08/2016, 8:12 PM
wow, was only reading up on Yes Minister last night. Couldn't remember if the party was ever named or not.

Eminence Grise
23/08/2016, 10:05 PM
No, it was never stated, though the newspaper he edited before entering politics was seen as a liberal one, iirc.

23/08/2016, 10:31 PM
No, it was never stated, though the newspaper he edited before entering politics was seen as a liberal one, iirc.
correct, it was never stated, but this is on his wiki entry: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jim_Hacker#Political_affiliation

However, the concentration on "making budget cuts (of 5%)" in the Yes Minister episode "Doing the Honours" and cutting taxes in the Yes Prime Minister episode "The Smoke Screen" allude towards him being a conservative; and the writers have since established that they privately saw Hacker as a centrist "wet" Conservative.

Eminence Grise
26/08/2016, 12:28 PM
Former Tánaiste, Peter Barry.

http://www.rte.ie/news/ireland/2016/0826/812132-peter-barry/

(http://www.rte.ie/news/ireland/2016/0826/812132-peter-barry/)[Edit]

Just remembered a story from a Cork friend... At the height of the Troubles, when Barry was Minister for Foreign Affairs, he had Garda security outside his house. The Guards, apparently, made sure that in the window of their security hut was a large, prominent box of tea... Lyons tea!

Eminence Grise
29/08/2016, 7:32 PM
Sky reporting that AP have announced Gene Wilder passed away yesterday.

Link as soon as I find one.

[Edit]

Here is is...
http://variety.com/2016/film/news/gene-wilder-dead-dies-willie-wonka-young-frankenstein-1201846745/

One of the greatest comic actors -I couldn't tell you how many times I've watched Blazing Saddles, Young Frankenstein and The Producers - but he'll always be that weird, oddly compelling, scary but fun Willy Wonka. Pure imagination... (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1y8aYd9uqFY)

29/08/2016, 7:36 PM
http://www.independent.ie/entertainment/movies/willy-wonka-star-gene-wilder-dies-aged-83-35005121.html

Terrible news. One of the all time greats.

29/08/2016, 7:41 PM
sky reporting that ap have announced gene wilder passed away yesterday.

Link as soon as i find one.

83? Wow!!!

TheBoss
29/08/2016, 8:21 PM
The films he did with Richard Pryor were just a joy to watch as well as the ones mentioned above.

2016 is continuing to be cruel to the real greats of all genres.

Eminence Grise
29/08/2016, 8:49 PM
Stir Crazy, Silver Streak - rewatched See No Evil, Hear No Evil only a month ago. Just a magnificent actor. So sad that he ended his days with Alzheimers. Might dig-out the film OST to Willie Wonka and the Chocolate Factory tonight for a quick listen...

When you think that Johnny Depp and Matthew Broderick (who really has stage musical talent) both tried to recreate his WW and Leo Bloom (The Producers) character and didn't come close, you get a measure of his genius.

A talented writer as well, by all accounts - fiction and screenwriting.

31/08/2016, 10:57 PM
Hear no Evil... is an underrated gem. Was my first introduction to him and Pryor. What a movie.

CraftyToePoke
09/09/2016, 12:59 AM
Prince Buster

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EZC6Ot1MLP0

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D3DAHAPLaVI

RIP

09/09/2016, 2:51 PM
http://www.independent.ie/sport/other-sports/irish-rower-ailish-sheehan-23-tragically-dies-after-fall-during-world-university-championships-35036138.html

Irish rower Ailish Sheehan. 23 years old, had high hopes of representing Ireland at the next Olympics. Freak accident in Poland.

TheOneWhoKnocks
11/09/2016, 7:55 PM
http://cdn.moviestillsdb.com/sm/7b85b46273107ea8f532b3bfaf64ad84/pulp-fiction.jpg

Eminence Grise
12/09/2016, 4:18 PM
One presumes you mean Alexis Arquette. She was in rather more recent productions (and more prominent in them) than bit roles in 1994...

Nice tribute from the Arquette siblings here.
http://www.rte.ie/entertainment/2016/0912/815907-alexis-arquette/

13/09/2016, 10:52 AM
Greta Zimmer Friedman, identified later as the nurse in the iconic photo taken on V-J Day on Aug. 14, 1945. Taken by photographer Alfred Eisentaedt, the picture captured the jubilance people felt upon the war’s end it shows a sailor kissing Mr. Friedman in Times Square. She is leaning so far back she was obviously not reciprocating.

15/09/2016, 11:57 AM
One presumes you mean Alexis Arquette. She was in rather more recent productions (and more prominent in them) than bit roles in 1994...

Nice tribute from the Arquette siblings here.
http://www.rte.ie/entertainment/2016/0912/815907-alexis-arquette/

That's the presumption one would have to make.

"That gun was bigger than him"

Eminence Grise
25/09/2016, 10:33 AM
Dentist and terrorist kidnap victim, John O'Grady.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/john-ogradys-life-of-goodness-recalled-35076312.html

26/09/2016, 10:20 AM
Golfer, Arnold Palmer http://edition.cnn.com/2016/09/25/us/arnold-palmer-death/

Eminence Grise
02/10/2016, 8:07 PM
Sir Neville Marriner, conductor and founder of the Academy of St Martin in the Fields.

https://www.theguardian.com/music/2016/oct/02/conductor-sir-neville-marriner-dies-academy-st-martin-in-the-fields-amadeus