View Full Version : So farewell then...
D24Saint
08/09/2022, 7:04 PM
Queen Elizabeth II of England. She got a good innings in fairness.
09/09/2022, 8:34 AM
Change of lyrics for the Brandywell then.
02/11/2022, 7:50 AM
Jerry Lee Lewis.
Who I never knew spent four years living down the road from me while I was growing up
02/11/2022, 3:38 PM
Jerry Lee Lewis.
Who I never knew spent four years living down the road from me while I was growing up
I'd say a huge percentage of the general population had him the wrong side of the grass a long time ago.
30/11/2022, 7:21 PM
Christine McVie the Mac in Fleetwood Mac.
Fair_play_boy
19/12/2022, 11:49 PM
Terry Hall, lead singer with The Specials.
TheBoss
24/12/2022, 10:14 PM
Maxi Jazz, vocalist with Faithless.
29/12/2022, 6:05 PM
The legend that is Pelé
NeverFeltBetter
30/12/2022, 6:06 PM
Pele in Dalymount: https://www.rte.ie/archives/2014/0609/622506-pele-attracts-30-000-to-dalymount/
Love him sprinting off the field at full time to avoid the mob!
30/12/2022, 7:53 PM
The legend that is Pelé legends never die
31/12/2022, 10:15 AM
There's only one living Pope again - Benedict XVI has died.
The only Vatican City Euro coin I ever got was on the day he stood down. Which was also the day Dennis Taylor was sat opposite me on the train to Limerick.
Strange day, that one
02/01/2023, 10:42 PM
I could never look at him and not instantly prefix his name with Darth. I've always had the impression his morals and actions weren't far off either.
03/01/2023, 8:50 AM
Racing and stunt driver and stunt Ken Block in a snowmobile accident.
06/01/2023, 9:17 AM
Gianluca Vialli
Seriously, **** cancer
06/01/2023, 7:56 PM
I could never look at him and not instantly prefix his name with Darth. I've always had the impression his morals and actions weren't far off either.
I saw a headline earlier that there are calls to make him a saint. I had a little chuckle. As head of the inquisition (or whatever they call it these days), he was central to the protection of child molesters.
D24Saint
16/01/2023, 4:28 PM
Lisa Marie Presley will now sadly be taking up permanent residence in Graceland.
Eminence Grise
16/01/2023, 8:59 PM
The luminous Gina Lollobrigida (https://www.theguardian.com/film/gallery/2023/jan/16/gina-lollobrigida-a-life-in-pictures), 95
CraftyToePoke
20/01/2023, 3:21 AM
Van Conner - bassist of Screaming Trees, also played with Dinosaur Jr. Only 55.
David Crosby from The Byrds and Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young... great talent! RIP
24/01/2023, 3:06 PM
Probably covered elsewhere last week but just seen it now: Peter Thomas, goalkeeper of that great Waterford side of the late 60s and early 70s. Hated by some Rovers fans because he was English, along with Johnny Matthews (died 2019) and Peter Bryan (who died in 2021), his was the team which denied Rovers titles during that era, but not FAI Cups. He became an Irish citizen and even got a couple of caps.
16/02/2023, 12:41 PM
Raquel Welch : hard to believe that she was 82 when she died.
seanfhear
16/02/2023, 2:55 PM
Raquel Welch : hard to believe that she was 82 when she died.Beautiful Woman ~ Adult Human Female.
20/02/2023, 3:20 PM
World of Sport presenter Dickie Davies https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-england-lancashire-64700358
World of Sport was ITV's answer to BBC sports Saturday afternoon programme Grandstand but because BBC had all the sports covered, World of Sport was stuck with wresting, horseracing and darts and go-karts and many other minority sports.
21/02/2023, 2:00 PM
Dickie Davies Eyes
joey B
23/02/2023, 9:00 AM
John Motson passed away at the age of 77.commentated on almost 2,500 televised games during his 50-year career with the BBC.
D24Saint
23/02/2023, 9:37 AM
John Motson passed away at the age of 77.commentated on almost 2,500 televised games during his 50-year career with the BBC.
That's sad news , he was brilliant.
NeverFeltBetter
23/02/2023, 10:45 AM
Had literally just listened to a podcast talking about his "commentary" over some kind of Subbeteo advertisement, where everyone was stunned at how well he just applied his style to ridiculous situations: "What's this? A giant hand had just come into the stadium and picked up one of the players!"
seanfhear
23/02/2023, 2:26 PM
That's sad news , he was brilliant.
Great Commentator. One of the best if not the best. I reckon I would first have heard him commentating from about 1974.
01/03/2023, 10:43 AM
Just Fontaine, who scored 13 goals in the 1958 world cup.
His overall statistics were amazing really :https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Just_Fontaine
I remember I had a book - must be going back to the late 80's, early 90's - that went through each world cup since inception, summarizing the qualifying background, the groups and how they played out and all of the knock out games in each one. Had a load of stats for each one too. At the end of each "chapter" they focused on a few key players, their player of the tournament, top goal scorers and such. Great little book - and it was the first time I heard/read about Just Fontaine and his performance in 1958. It was an incredible feat (13 goals in 6 games) and i think he scored in every game that France played? I have kind of checked up on him since then and was always surprised that he never got mentioned along with some other greats of the game. RIP.
01/03/2023, 11:35 PM
Wasn't helped by having his career ended by injury at 26. Another World Cup with those stats and he'd be far better known. People give out about soft fouls today - "He got the ball" stuff when it's the dangerous tackle that's the issue - and to see a career like Fontaine's ended like that reminds you why the rules tightened. I think the challenge is on YouTube somewhere; certainly it's on UEFA's Euro history DVD
02/03/2023, 11:15 AM
Yeah, definitely. I was going to comment on his early retirement and the fact that players were absolutely butchered back then. Again, from recollection, there were stories of players playing on with broken limbs and head injuries due to the fact that no subs were allowed up until... I'm guessing here... sometime in the 60s? I think i read somewhere that Beckenbauer played with a dislocated shoulder. Crazy stuff looking back on it now.
02/03/2023, 11:30 AM
Yeah, the 1970 World Cup semi-final. Though that was because they'd used their two subs by then.
Bert Trautmann played the 58 (?) FA Cup final with a broken neck.
06/03/2023, 3:09 PM
Last remaining original member of Lynyrd Skynyrd, Gary Rossington, dead at 71 years of age. No cause of death given.
https://www.theguardian.com/music/2023/mar/06/gary-rossington-dead-lynyrd-skynyrd-guitarist-founding-member-dies-aged-71
D24Saint
09/03/2023, 9:53 AM
Famous psychic Mystic Meg but it was no surprise to her.
29/03/2023, 7:26 AM
Paul O'Grady aka Lily Savage
Have recently been watching a few of the old Blankety Blanks Savage hosted back around 2002 and they're great craic. Some character
31/03/2023, 2:12 PM
Dick Fosbury, of Fosbury Flop high-jumping fame, age 76.
Got to admit, he's one of those I hadn't even realised was still about.
Jerry Springer
I can imagine God and all the lads chanting "Jerry! Jerry! Jerry!" as he walks through the pearly gates.
Eminence Grise
27/04/2023, 8:26 PM
Tune in to S28 E01 - 'My dad is my son - and he 's a ghost!'
02/05/2023, 3:31 PM
Singer/songwriter Gordon Lightfoot https://www.bbc.com/news/entertainment-arts-65455240?at_link_id=74A2557C-E8D5-11ED-A6A0-B6C879448730&at_link_type=web_link&at_link_origin=BBCWorld&at_bbc_team=editorial&at_campaign_type=owned&at_format=link&at_ptr_name=twitter
If you could read my mind....
Andy Rourke, Smiths bassist - only 59 and after a long battle with pancreatic cancer.
CraftyToePoke
20/05/2023, 2:39 AM
https://www.facebook.com/100051906105179/posts/pfbid02AZWBqhHbRcmJJonVZQxZu739mqAfPWSttE2dz31Kpix aGqzevRiaQvQDWBn1yE22l/?app=fbl
Rourke making this look easy here.
23/05/2023, 10:36 PM
Rolf Harris, at 93.
Probably the biggest surprise/disappointment to come out of Operation Yewtree. Jimmy Savile was always a bit of a weirdo, Gary Glitter seemingly can't help himself (released in Feb this year but had breached parole inside a month), Max Clifford was a ****** I think, but Harris never came across like those.
24/05/2023, 11:56 AM
Can't trust anyone, as far as I can see.
seanfhear
24/05/2023, 12:16 PM
Can't trust anyone, as far as I can see.
Any vigilant parent knows this. Though I was not abused myself. I know people that were abused.
Paedophiles look for opportunity. Parents and others must be forever Vigilant.
sidewayspasser
24/05/2023, 8:06 PM
Tina Turner, aged 83
Eminence Grise
13/06/2023, 4:47 PM
Christy Dignam (https://www.rte.ie/entertainment/2023/0613/1388967-christy-dignam-death/), 63.
Crazy world.
14/06/2023, 2:47 PM
Former player for and manager of Chelsea, John Hollins https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/65904644
CraftyToePoke
14/06/2023, 11:22 PM
John Rowan, the drummer for '90s Chicago rock band Urge Overkill who performed under the name Blackie Onassis.
Pulp Fiction soundtrack band.