View Full Version : Transfer Rumours 2016 season
Pages :
[
17]
23/01/2016, 6:54 PM
Michael Rafter on trial with Harps, Richard Brush close to agreeing a deal with Harps and Wilfried Tagbo back from France expected to sign again for Harps.
An American, another French lad and an Australian also on trial as is a young striker from Strabane.
Is Tagbo the lad that came on in midfield against us in the play off at the Markets Field. From what I saw he would struggle big time in the premier. Was extremely slow and easily beaten by a few of our players.
23/01/2016, 7:05 PM
Tagbo only played the last 10 minutes or so in the play-off in Markets Field. He's not the most technically gifted footballer but he's strong as an ox and is a decent target-man and excellent at holding up the ball. In other words, he's a pure athlete.
**FrOsTy**
23/01/2016, 8:56 PM
Following a meeting held in Abbotstown today the FAI and Waterford United reached an amicable agreement re the financial standing between the two bodies and as a result team manager Roddy Collins can now push ahead and complete his panel of player's ahead of the new season. Fran Gavin the FAI Director of Competitions, Waterford United Chairman John O'Sullivan and Paul Cleary the Waterford United General Manager were the three people present at today's meeting. Paul Cleary described the outcome as ''highly productive and positive'' Roddy Collins will be speaking to a number of players during the coming day's and all signed player's will be unveiled on Wednesday evening in Carriganore. Time to be confirmed.
24/01/2016, 10:45 AM
James O Brien (Athlone) to Waterford
Cracking player.
SPXcyan
24/01/2016, 11:18 AM
Good news indeed Frosty, hopefully Roddy brings in a few seasoned players now.
Jd2793
24/01/2016, 1:21 PM
Stephen Kenny the footballer from cork any good?
Decent footballer would question his attitude at times though.
**FrOsTy**
25/01/2016, 11:24 AM
Cobh have made two top signings in Evan and Cory Galvin. Possible dark horses now.
4tothefloor
25/01/2016, 9:45 PM
Has Sam Oji signed for anyone yet?
**FrOsTy**
25/01/2016, 9:46 PM
Who is the young Braziallian attacker Rovers signed? Marcelo???
25/01/2016, 10:16 PM
Richard Brush close to agreeing a deal with HarpsRobertson has said Peers is likely to be the only one left from last year's squad who may still be re-signed by Rovers so I'd imagine Alan Keane must be looking at signing for either Harps, Longford or maybe Galway as, like Brush, he is Sligo based so likely to suit him.
25/01/2016, 10:37 PM
Who is the young Braziallian attacker Rovers signed? Marcelo???
He hasn't signed, he was just brought over by some fans and invited to train. Marcelo Norton.
patrickccfc
25/01/2016, 11:14 PM
Marcelo Norton.
A love child of Graham? :cool:
25/01/2016, 11:19 PM
A love child of Graham? :cool:
Somehow I doubt that's going to ever happen :D
26/01/2016, 1:25 AM
Robertson has said Peers is likely to be the only one left from last year's squad who may still be re-signed by Rovers so I'd imagine Alan Keane must be looking at signing for either Harps, Longford or maybe Galway as, like Brush, he is Sligo based so likely to suit him.
Very much doubt he's on our radar, cousins oldest signing in the window has been a 26 year old. Released the likes of salmon and rice, pat Sullivan retired. Average age has been brought down dramatically. Plus we already Have 2 right fulls and 4 centre halfs. We are done in the market as far as I can see.
Jd2793
26/01/2016, 8:46 AM
Cobh have made two top signings in Evan and Cory Galvin. Possible dark horses now.
Agree Lehane up top and Darren Murphy aswell Cobh putting together a decent young side.
Town Legend
26/01/2016, 10:29 AM
No more signings coming into us. Signed our final player for this window yesterday.
**FrOsTy**
26/01/2016, 12:16 PM
He hasn't signed, he was just brought over by some fans and invited to train. Marcelo Norton.
Apparently he's signing for Ye but coming on loan to Waterford.
Fenlon doesn't think he's ready to play first team but thinks with some first team experience with us he could be ready for next season.
He contacted Roddy because Roddy has jobs lined up for players who need them.
26/01/2016, 12:26 PM
Apparently he's signing for Ye but coming on loan to Waterford.
Fenlon doesn't think he's ready to play first team but thinks with some first team experience with us he could be ready for next season.
He contacted Roddy because Roddy has jobs lined up for players who need them.
Good stuff I need the number of a good plasterer
joey B
26/01/2016, 1:09 PM
Very much doubt he's on our radar, cousins oldest signing in the window has been a 26 year old. Released the likes of salmon and rice, pat Sullivan retired. Average age has been brought down dramatically. Plus we already Have 2 right fulls and 4 centre halfs. We are done in the market as far as I can see.
Harps are pretty well stocked aswell 4 center halves,and both full back postions have regular starters with ample cover if required,can see Keane ending up at Galway .
Redser87
26/01/2016, 3:05 PM
RE: Shels transfers
I’ve been travelling, finally got around to joining. Couldn't make the game either last night. Apparently we weren't great. Are any of these lads any use / have potential?
Shannon (Longford)
Dylan Kavanagh and Cian Kavanagh (Shams u19s)
Bobby O’Reilly (Drogs)
Jamie Doyle (UCD)
Sodiq Oguntola (Cabo)
gufc2000
26/01/2016, 3:07 PM
In regard to Alan Keane, we already have Colm Horgan and Cormac Raftery as right backs. Killian Cantwell, Stephen Folan and Stephen Walsh signed up as our centre halves, and we might be signing a Swedish centre back that's been on trial since the beginning of pre-season so can't see us signing him unless things change dramatically. A left winger remains our priority but not much left in the budget
26/01/2016, 3:58 PM
A left winger remains our priority but not much left in the budget
Surely a true left winger will play for the love of the shirt.
26/01/2016, 5:14 PM
Marcelo Norton is a rubbish name for a Brazilian footballer. They're all gone to feck lately though, Fred, Alan etc. You'll have a Derek or Clive next.
bluewhitearmy
26/01/2016, 5:41 PM
Marcelo Norton is a rubbish name for a Brazilian footballer. They're all gone to feck lately though, Fred, Alan etc. You'll have a Derek or Clive next.
I demand an immediate change to Roddinho if this loan move to Waterford happens.
sulywaterfordfc
26/01/2016, 6:24 PM
Agree Lehane up top and Darren Murphy aswell Cobh putting together a decent young side.
Which Darren Murphy??
26/01/2016, 7:18 PM
A Clive and a Delaney would be much more interesting.
Now he definitely wasn't Brazillian !!
joey B
27/01/2016, 12:34 AM
http://www.irishmirror.ie/sport/soccer/soccer-news/stephen-rice-hoping-sign-league-7247977
Suprised one of the Dublin 1st division clubs haven't snapped him up would surely do a job for one of them.
27/01/2016, 12:56 AM
http://www.irishmirror.ie/sport/soccer/soccer-news/stephen-rice-hoping-sign-league-7247977
Suprised one of the Dublin 1st division clubs haven't snapped him up would surely do a job for one of them.
They're all going for young players, same as the other top clubs. Cousins let him go because the top teams are prioritising speed and youth. Think it's a bit unfair as he has more class on the ball than most players in the league, but he wouldn't do at a team challenging for the European spots in my opinion. Still a Rovers legend.
Olander
27/01/2016, 4:10 AM
Think it's a bit unfair as he has more class on the ball than most players in the league, but he wouldn't do at a team challenging for the European spots in my opinion. Still a Rovers legend.
Stephen Rice does possess some qualities, but class on the ball wouldn't be one that immediately springs to mind.
I'm not entirely sure that age is the reason that Tony Cousins got rid of him, afterall he did re-sign Mark Rossiter who is roughly 3 stone overweight and 31 or 32. Rice had a falling out with Cousins apparently.
27/01/2016, 6:56 AM
He can be a bit mouthy but hadn't heard of a major falling out. He scored a few important goals for us but really he was struggling with the increased pace of the Premier. Wasn't all that much of a shock when he was let go. He was very good in the First two years ago though and I'd say he'd be a decent addition at somewhere like Drogs. Experience can be important if you want to challenge for promotion.
seand
27/01/2016, 11:42 AM
Surely a true left winger will play for the love of the shirt.
I see what you did there comrade :)
27/01/2016, 3:50 PM
Stephen Rice does possess some qualities, but class on the ball wouldn't be one that immediately springs to mind.
I'm not entirely sure that age is the reason that Tony Cousins got rid of him, afterall he did re-sign Mark Rossiter who is roughly 3 stone overweight and 31 or 32. Rice had a falling out with Cousins apparently.
He was top class in the Europa League against very good opposition. Nothing flashy but at his best was setting the tempo against much better teams than ever played in this league.
27/01/2016, 5:54 PM
Class on the ball certainly wasn't one of his traits for us. Basically he sealed his fate when he went over the top with his criticism of a young player in a cup game against Cockhill Celtic. Cousins instantly took him off and rumours of the same sort of thing happening on the training ground have come out since he's left so you can see why TC wouldn't want him around such a young squad. That's not to say he wouldn't do a great job again in the first division.
**FrOsTy**
27/01/2016, 7:08 PM
Waterford United are continuing their preparations off the field in assembling their squad for the upcoming SSE Airtricity League of Ireland First division with the announcing of nine more players.
Aaron O'Connor, Shane Mackey, Dean Reidy, Robbie Buckley, Colum Nugent and Thomas Croke have agreed to remain with the club again for the coming season.
Former Blues keeper and Waterford native Kevin Burns has also committed to the club, while Roddy Collins has also confirmed that he is to bring in Jimmy Dermody and goalkeeper Corey Chambers.
"I'm delighted that all the young lads have decided to stay on board for the coming season," said Roddy Collins.
"I also thank the supporters for their patiences as we have been working hard behind the scenes to get things done right. There is a couple of things that need to be tied down in the coming days but we will be in a position to name further signings over the course of the weekend.
"With that in mind, we would be delighted to invite the fans to an open meet and greet training session with the players at Carriganore on Wednesday next February 3rd, at 6pm. It's important that the fans get the chance to see our plans for the season and I'm really excited that things are coming together nicely."
27/01/2016, 10:21 PM
Class on the ball certainly wasn't one of his traits for us. Basically he sealed his fate when he went over the top with his criticism of a young player in a cup game against Cockhill Celtic. Cousins instantly took him off and rumours of the same sort of thing happening on the training ground have come out since he's left so you can see why TC wouldn't want him around such a young squad. That's not to say he wouldn't do a great job again in the first division.
that was Kaleem Simon that Rice was having a go in Buncrana.. thank god we were right on top of the town dugout!
patrickccfc
28/01/2016, 5:59 PM
http://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/sport/england-legend-stuart-psycho-pearce-signs-for-longford-717952.html
This made me look twice, I was thinking surely not. But wrong longford :cool:
28/01/2016, 6:26 PM
Ha! Yeah; did the exact same thing myself.
28/01/2016, 6:36 PM
Several people in the UK have also gotten confused judging by Twitter mentions. Keith Gillespie was one thing, Stuart Pearce might be just a little too old at this stage.
28/01/2016, 9:40 PM
Several people in the UK have also gotten confused judging by Twitter mentions. Keith Gillespie was one thing, Stuart Pearce might be just a little too old at this stage.
heard this in the Longford Leader today when using their archive for research today! that is a mad story!
Redser87
29/01/2016, 2:32 AM
I saw it on bbc and that was the first thing I checked out!
Darklordsbane
30/01/2016, 9:57 AM
Rices best days are well behind him, dont know the guy at all but from what I saw of him for longford I doubt he will be missed I wouldnt wish any badness on him but I wouldnt have him for free
30/01/2016, 12:52 PM
He seems young enough to have his best days behind him. He is only 31. I'd say he would do a solid job in the first division anyway.
gufc2000
30/01/2016, 3:34 PM
On our forum today that David O'Leary was playing with Waterford Utd today in a friendly. At this stage, he won't be re-signing for us. Rumours that Limerick were interested in him as well.
30/01/2016, 5:20 PM
He seems young enough to have his best days behind him. He is only 31. I'd say he would do a solid job in the first division anyway.
He'd be grand sitting in front of a defense or in a midfield 2/3 where there's someone else willing to do the running. There's far worse footballers knocking around the two leagues, but as was mentioned earlier, I think he was causing a bit too much disruption in the dressing room, and has a bit too big an ego, for what he still has to offer.
KeepersBall
30/01/2016, 9:08 PM
Cian Kavanagh has SERIOUS potential, I'll be surprised if he stays in LOI too long, Shels also signed Aidan Collins from Athlone today
I’ve been travelling, finally got around to joining. Couldn't make the game either last night. Apparently we weren't great. Are any of these lads any use / have potential?
Shannon (Longford)
Bobby O’Reilly (Drogs)
Jamie Doyle (UCD)
Sodiq Oguntola (Cabo)[/QUOTE]
bluewhitearmy
30/01/2016, 9:38 PM
Cian Kavanagh has SERIOUS potential, I'll be surprised if he stays in LOI too long, Shels also signed Aidan Collins from Athlone today
Shannon (Longford)
Bobby O’Reilly (Drogs)
Jamie Doyle (UCD)
Sodiq Oguntola (Cabo)[/QUOTE]
I hear this lad has SERIOUS potential, not sure though.
30/01/2016, 9:48 PM
It was a badly quoted post by KeepersBall in which he was replying to.
bluewhitearmy
30/01/2016, 9:51 PM
It was a badly quoted post by KeepersBall in which he was replying to.
Damn.
Wasn't trying to be cheeky btw just thought I was hilarious for a second.
30/01/2016, 9:58 PM
Damn.
Wasn't trying to be cheeky btw just thought I was hilarious for a second.
You're not digging your way out of this one ;)