View Full Version : Transfer Rumours 2016 season
Pages :
[
15]
White Horse
12/01/2016, 7:23 AM
Any word on signings from Caulfield's US scouting expedition?
El-Pietro
12/01/2016, 8:23 AM
Any word on signings from Caulfield's US scouting expedition?
That wasnt a scouting expedition. That US touring team PCS paid for him to go over and coach their players.
White Horse
12/01/2016, 8:47 AM
That wasnt a scouting expedition. That US touring team PCS paid for him to go over and coach their players.
"Look-it. Just drill the ball to the big man up top".
strikeforce
12/01/2016, 10:01 AM
"Look-it. Just drill the ball to the big man up top".
Ha Ha..... Must be those diesel fumes. What you said is true but I firmly believe this will not be the case this year. We will be much more competitive and adventurous, but don't hold me to that..:laugh::laugh::laugh:.
**FrOsTy**
12/01/2016, 12:36 PM
Richard Bryan last club Brentford - trained for Waterford last night, along with former Wexford full back Jimmy Dermody.
Roddy also, had a look at LSL player Gary Clarke (club unknown) over the festive period, if anyone has any information on him?
bluewhitearmy
12/01/2016, 11:39 PM
Have Athlone signed anyone at all?
12/01/2016, 11:40 PM
Have Athlone signed anyone at all?
They still haven't paid their players from last season.
bluewhitearmy
12/01/2016, 11:41 PM
Theres that too. Wondering will they be around next season.
colonelwest
13/01/2016, 10:42 AM
Pic of the PFAI travelling party on their jolly to Norway
https://twitter.com/PFAIOfficial/status/687234865469734912
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CYmMdP3WsAA3i8d.jpg
**FrOsTy**
13/01/2016, 12:07 PM
Apparently they owe 15,000 in wages.
Pic of the PFAI travelling party on their jolly to Norway
https://twitter.com/PFAIOfficial/status/687234865469734912
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CYmMdP3WsAA3i8d.jpg
Apparently they owe 15,000 in wages.
Woah! And after all their giving out about the clubs!
:cool:
Chris Lyons has signed for Sligo Rovers
13/01/2016, 4:33 PM
it was in one of the papers the other day that Athlone and Waterford have satisfied the FAI in regards to wages owing to players from last season! there will be no new clubs in the first div either!
Derry have reportedly made an offer for Portadown striker Darren Murray, as have Cliftonville
13/01/2016, 7:07 PM
Keith Ward
Mick Leahy
Dave O'Leary
Jason McGuinness
All waiting on the call to join Limericks First Division Champions 2016 nationwide tour.
McGuinness is under contract at Pats
Suspect he could get out of it if he wanted...
Nah Nah Nah Nah
13/01/2016, 8:51 PM
Chris Lyons has signed for Sligo Rovers
He has? Is he any good?
**FrOsTy**
13/01/2016, 11:37 PM
Waterford Utd:
The following players all trained with the club Monday and this evening:
Robert Birsdall (Last years squad)
Roy Butler (U19)
Colm Nuggent (Last years squad)
Thomas Croke (Last years squad)
Anthony McAlavey (Last years squad)
Cory Galvin (Last years squad)
Evan Galvin (Last years squad)
Robbie Buckley (u19)
Shane Mackey (Last years squad)
Dean Reidy (Last years squad)
Jake Mooney (u19)
Aaron O Connor (Last years squad)
Timi Sobowale (u17)
Adam Prendergast (u19)
Darren Murphy (Last years squad)
Jimmy Dermody (Wexford Youths)
Richard Tobin (Carrigaline)
Kevin Burns (Former Cork and Waterford)
To join them on Friday at training:
Sean Byrne (Tolka)
Roddy Jr (Drogs)
Wilo McDonagh (Shels)
Philly Gorman (Athlone)
Gary Clarke (Unknown LSL club)
Daniel Pender (last years squad) is injured but will be joining up when fit.
There are still 5/6 others including some U19/17 that Roddy wants to see and an Abdeen Adbul (Navan) who he is keen on.
He wants a squad of 20 (not including 17's 19's)
oriel
13/01/2016, 11:42 PM
Derry have reportedly made an offer for Portadown striker Darren Murray, as have Cliftonville
I wonder how much their offer was, I think the transfer of McEleney will cost Dundalk around 18k stg but not sure when it's due to be paid, maybe Derry are factoring this in on their offer.
oriel
13/01/2016, 11:52 PM
Keith Ward
Mick Leahy
Dave O'Leary
Jason McGuinness
All waiting on the call to join Limericks First Division Champions 2016 nationwide tour.
I think Keith Ward would be an excellent signing by Limerick, before he got injured in 2013, he was a really important player for Dundalk operating in the play maker role, he just never recovered after that injury and never really got a look in again, played first half EA Sports Cup Final in 2014, but didn't really feature after that.
He deserves another chance as he has plenty of ability, not sure why it didn't work out for him Sligo though.
14/01/2016, 12:21 AM
Limerick could rack up some serious scorelines in the FD next season
bluewhitearmy
14/01/2016, 12:58 AM
Limerick could rack up some serious scorelines in the FD next season
If our manager would bother to sign people.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
14/01/2016, 7:03 AM
I think Keith Ward would be an excellent signing by Limerick, before he got injured in 2013, he was a really important player for Dundalk operating in the play maker role, he just never recovered after that injury and never really got a look in again, played first half EA Sports Cup Final in 2014, but didn't really feature after that.
He deserves another chance as he has plenty of ability, not sure why it didn't work out for him Sligo though.
Showed talent at times alright but not the sort of player you want when you're in a relegation fight all the same. The highlight of his season though was when he was booked against Bray and then got himself a second yellow card for heading the ball out of the keepers hands.
Yeah maybe so, he would see himself as a passer, probably not a player to get his sleeves rolled up and get stuck in. He was lucky at Dundalk that he had Towell and O'Donnell in beside him, but think he did ok for a season at Bohs in between spells with Dlk so he has talent, but he had a bad injury at Dlk second time.
14/01/2016, 11:17 AM
I wonder how much their offer was, I think the transfer of McEleney will cost Dundalk around 18k stg but not sure when it's due to be paid, maybe Derry are factoring this in on their offer.
Portadown are looking the in the region of £20k for him.
I don't think ourselves, or any Irish club really, should be paying transfer fees. Plenty of other talent out there.
14/01/2016, 12:27 PM
Richard Bursh, Jake Dykes, Ryan McManus, Sean Houstan, Liam Martin and Ruari Keating all linked with Harps. A few of them trained with us during the week.
Martin has an offer from Sligo.
Keating has an offer from Galway.
Houstan has an offer from Bohs.
Interesting to see how tonights session goes and how many of the above are in attendance. Training match v Strabane Athletic on Tuesday night might show up a few more faces.
oldyouth
14/01/2016, 1:01 PM
Waterford Utd:
The following players all trained with the club Monday and this evening:
Robert Birsdall (Last years squad)
Roy Butler (U19)
Colm Nuggent (Last years squad)
Thomas Croke (Last years squad)
Anthony McAlavey (Last years squad)
Cory Galvin (Last years squad)
Evan Galvin (Last years squad)
Robbie Buckley (u19)
Shane Mackey (Last years squad)
Dean Reidy (Last years squad)
Jake Mooney (u19)
Aaron O Connor (Last years squad)
Timi Sobowale (u17)
Adam Prendergast (u19)
Darren Murphy (Last years squad)
Jimmy Dermody (Wexford Youths)
Richard Tobin (Carrigaline)
Kevin Burns (Former Cork and Waterford)
To join them on Friday at training:
Sean Byrne (Tolka)
Roddy Jr (Drogs)
Wilo McDonagh (Shels)
Philly Gorman (Athlone)
Gary Clarke (Unknown LSL club)
Daniel Pender (last years squad) is injured but will be joining up when fit.
There are still 5/6 others including some U19/17 that Roddy wants to see and an Abdeen Adbul (Navan) who he is keen on.
He wants a squad of 20 (not including 17's 19's)
What's the story with Brian Nolan?
ForzaForth
14/01/2016, 3:05 PM
I heard that Brian Nolan is concentrating on his studies - not going to sign.
**FrOsTy**
14/01/2016, 8:42 PM
Ye Brian wont be back hes doing his masters as far as I know.
sulywaterfordfc
14/01/2016, 10:00 PM
it was in one of the papers the other day that Athlone and Waterford have satisfied the FAI in regards to wages owing to players from last season! there will be no new clubs in the first div either!
We (Waterford) paid the owed monies to last years squad just before christmas by all accounts
14/01/2016, 10:15 PM
We (Waterford) paid the owed monies to last years squad just before christmas by all accounts
Courtesy of the super duper investors Roddy was talking about?
sulywaterfordfc
14/01/2016, 10:34 PM
Courtesy of the super duper investors Roddy was talking about?
The chairman did like always. I think there's some local investment and not a group of investors
Flexy
15/01/2016, 10:04 AM
Stephen O'Flynn has asked for a Transfer from Crusaders
Im Sure DERRY & HARPS will be monitoring his situation
15/01/2016, 10:11 AM
I thought he had claimed his tax return already and that's why he wasn't playing in the republic anymore. Wasn't getting his game with crusaders and that's why he asked for the request.
Aaron
15/01/2016, 10:36 AM
Thats right, cant sign for a LOI club
15/01/2016, 11:04 AM
Darren Murray signed for Cliftonville there. Happy that we didn't try to outbid them.
Ezeikial
15/01/2016, 11:56 AM
Darren Murray signed for Cliftonville there. Happy that we didn't try to outbid them.
Was there a fee involved? Is it known how much?
15/01/2016, 1:10 PM
Was there a fee involved? Is it known how much?
There would have been, but no mention of a figure.
15/01/2016, 1:11 PM
He'll most likely end up back at Institute.
Apparently, Shamrock Rovers are to sign Stephen Elliott to fill up the void left by Damien Duff of crocked ex-internationals.
15/01/2016, 1:22 PM
Would it have mattered if you did?
bluewhitearmy
15/01/2016, 2:59 PM
Stephen O'Flynn can't play LOI again I don't think something about getting tax back.
gufc2000
15/01/2016, 3:15 PM
http://www.thesun.ie/irishsol/homepage/sport/irishfootball/6862791/Galway-United-boss-Tommy-Dunne-says-Nordic-scouting-trip-was-a-no-brainer.html
Any opinions from others as to what Kevin Devaney and Paul Finnegan are like?
White Horse
15/01/2016, 3:21 PM
http://www.thesun.ie/irishsol/homepage/sport/irishfootball/6862791/Galway-United-boss-Tommy-Dunne-says-Nordic-scouting-trip-was-a-no-brainer.html
Any opinions from others as to what Kevin Devaney and Paul Finnegan are like?
Finnegan is a good ball playing centre half. Quick, good in the air, and composed on the ball. Left Oriel Park as he was too old for the U19's and we operate with a small squad of senior players supplemented by the U19's.
El-Pietro
15/01/2016, 3:31 PM
Stephen O'Flynn can play LOI again. Nothing prohibiting it. If he has claimed back his tax however he can't play professional football in this country, so there would be limitations on what he would be able to earn beyond expenses.
The question is how Derry are taken into consideration for this as its an Irish government scheme, not an LOI scheme so he may well be able to play for Derry and continue to pay his tax in the North.
15/01/2016, 3:33 PM
I don't think you're actually allowed play LOI even as an amateur if you've claimed the refund. Revenue got the hump after a few players did it.
15/01/2016, 3:50 PM
Kevin Devaney is a very decent player. Was disappointed when he left Harps, wouldn't mind seeing him return.
El-Pietro
15/01/2016, 4:23 PM
I don't think you're actually allowed play LOI even as an amateur if you've claimed the refund. Revenue got the hump after a few players did it.
Neal Horgan did it for several seasons If I'm remembering correctly.
15/01/2016, 4:47 PM
You can play again but you have to pay back what you claimed so no chance
15/01/2016, 4:52 PM
Neal Horgan did it for several seasons If I'm remembering correctly.
I'm open to correction but I'm pretty sure that's why O'Flynn didn't sign for Harps when he was training with them a while back. He even played for their reserves in Ulster Senior League I think. Nigel or Mr A would know more. You're supposed to claim the refund when you retire.
15/01/2016, 5:31 PM
I'm open to correction but I'm pretty sure that's why O'Flynn didn't sign for Harps when he was training with them a while back. He even played for their reserves in Ulster Senior League I think. Nigel or Mr A would know more. You're supposed to claim the refund when you retire.
He was in with Harps alright two years ago. Was training with the first team and played a couple of friendlies and a tournament on Arranmore Island but ended up going to Institute for the reasons above regarding his tax.