View Full Version : Transfer Rumours 2016 season
Pages :
[
11]
27/11/2015, 1:04 PM
He was one of their better players if I remember rightly. Not that he had a lot of competition.
Ezeikial
27/11/2015, 4:19 PM
Lee Duffy left a positive impression each time I saw him play last season. Decent signing
sulywaterfordfc
29/11/2015, 10:59 PM
Right that must be him, is he in or around 28 years old.
By the way when on the subject of keepers, are there any stand out ones left in the first division, from what I seen last season Dunican at Athlone was dire , Murray at Shels was okay, Cabo seemed to use about four hundred different goalies none of whom were great, Corbett at UCD was good but I think he lost his place late on, I'm not counting the relegated or promoted sides in this. And by the way Brian Kane, ex Bray currently with Malahide and a teacher in Drogheda is set to be Drogs new number one, and he's nothing special either.
It is Kev. He was with Cork for the 2012/3 seasons. Before than he spent a couple of years with us (Waterford) playing for our under 20 and also went into be the number one first team keeper and played for us in the 2014 season signing back from Cork. He's an excellent keeper and can be the one of the best in the division. He spent a year in the states and is back now. BTW he's 25, next birthday is next summer and he's also a local lad.
ATFC-1887
02/12/2015, 11:10 AM
By the way when on the subject of keepers, are there any stand out ones left in the first division, from what I seen last season Dunican at Athlone was dire ,
Ye are stuck with him next season now 😂
KeepersBall
02/12/2015, 4:11 PM
Ye are stuck with him next season now
Who's stuck with who don't tell me the Drogs have signed him
White Horse
02/12/2015, 6:49 PM
Who's stuck with who don't tell me the Drogs have signed him
Signed, sealed. and delivered.
http://www.droghedaunited.ie/news/post.php?s=2015-12-02-dunican-joins-drogheda
KeepersBall
02/12/2015, 9:10 PM
Oh good mother of Jaysus
KeepersBall
02/12/2015, 9:12 PM
So who's gonna be in goal for Athlone
02/12/2015, 11:03 PM
So who's gonna be in goal for Athlone
maybe Chris Bennion will come out of retirement?
KeepersBall
03/12/2015, 12:11 AM
And who's Skinners back up at Longford then, now Hunt has gone
03/12/2015, 11:10 AM
And who's Skinners back up at Longford then, now Hunt has gone
Don't have one yet.
pateen
03/12/2015, 1:41 PM
Galway United have lost Jake Keegan to FC Edmonton.
Massive loss to Gufc.
Step up in wages no doubt.
Step down in standard though, piety, very good player
Vinny Faherty to sign/signed for Galway.
gufc2000
03/12/2015, 6:50 PM
Vinny Faherty to sign/signed for Galway.
Two year deal for Vinny http://galwayunitedfc.ie/faherty-returns/
LOI_Fanatic
04/12/2015, 11:13 PM
Gary Shaw is a done deal to Rovers. Stephen Elliot is likely to be next.
sulywaterfordfc
05/12/2015, 12:09 AM
I presume Michael Rafter will be on the look out for a club seeing as he's back in Ireland. After a year away in Australia.
patrickccfc
05/12/2015, 9:17 AM
I presume Michael Rafter will be on the look out for a club seeing as he's back in Ireland. After a year away in Australia.
He was looking good for us in pre-season before injury ruled him out for the season. Scored a few goals so was disappointing as I thought he would've been very good for us.
disgruntled
05/12/2015, 10:30 AM
He was looking good for us in pre-season before injury ruled him out for the season. Scored a few goals so was disappointing as I thought he would've been very good for us.
I thought his career was finished.
Wonder if he's up to much after that injury ?
Ezeikial
05/12/2015, 10:30 AM
I understand that the ankle injury he suffered at Cork was particularly serious and potentially career-ending. Did he play while in Australia? He also has had significant weight & general fitness issues - he will have his work cut out to earn a contract.
oriel
05/12/2015, 12:24 PM
Very good move for the player and the club.
oriel
05/12/2015, 12:25 PM
Dundalk in talks with both McEleney and Benson it appears, Mirror reported a compensation figure of €28k for McEleney, I think that is very expensive.
White Horse
05/12/2015, 12:38 PM
Mirror reported a compensation figure of €28k for McEleney, I think that is very expensive.
Not when we deduct what they owe for Griffin.
07/12/2015, 5:29 PM
It seems the compensation we're due for Gary Shaw is the reason he hasn't been announced by Rovers yet. Whether it's a case that they can't afford it or don't want to pay it is open to debate. Cork are also interested but he wants to join Rovers.
disgruntled
07/12/2015, 5:40 PM
It seems the compensation we're due for Gary Shaw is the reason he hasn't been announced by Rovers yet. Whether it's a case that they can't afford it or don't want to pay it is open to debate. Cork are also interested but he wants to join Rovers.
Probably don't want to pay most likely.
07/12/2015, 5:41 PM
Wouldn't have thought we were due anything seeing as he's 23 now? I may be wrong though.
07/12/2015, 5:41 PM
We're not paying anything until we've gotten our ball back.
07/12/2015, 5:47 PM
Wouldn't have thought we were due anything seeing as he's 23 now? I may be wrong though.
Derry seem to be hoping to get £18k for McEleney when he goes to Dundalk/Pats and he's 23 too afaik. I always thought clubs were due something until the player turns 24 but I'm open to correction there.
07/12/2015, 5:58 PM
You're probably right as I saw those reports about McEleney. Pats are strongly in for him now as well as Dundalk seemingly. I went looking for the actual rules a while back and got a bit confused on when you're no longer entitled to something. I doubt they want to pay for him but you'd have thought they know the rules about compensation themselves and wouldn't go making offers to players if they didn't want to pay the compensation.
D24Saint
07/12/2015, 6:26 PM
Id be shocked if we paid that type of fee at the moment shocked.
07/12/2015, 6:28 PM
Might be looking to spend some of that €39k they got the other day if it wasn't already budgeted for.
White Horse
07/12/2015, 6:29 PM
Id be shocked if we paid that type of fee at the moment shocked.
Just look it as reinvesting the money you got for Kilduff.
Anyway, you'll recoup half of it from the sale of Fagan to Cork ;)
Ezeikial
07/12/2015, 7:41 PM
Derry seem to be hoping to get £18k for McEleney when he goes to Dundalk/Pats and he's 23 too afaik. I always thought clubs were due something until the player turns 24 but I'm open to correction there.
The age criteria involved is where a player is under twenty three years of age on the 1st of January of the year of expiry of the contract. So a player who turned 23 last December is over the age threshold whereas the January birthday boy remains good to attract compensation for his club
07/12/2015, 8:23 PM
Shaw was 23 in May so we are entitled to something under those rules. Pay up Rovers.
Ezeikial
07/12/2015, 9:15 PM
Shaw was 23 in May so we are entitled to something under those rules. Pay up Rovers.
There is some other criteria involved - like sending a similar or improved contract offer to the player by registered post 60 days prior to the expiry of the contract.
Although very simple stuff - it is amazing how some are incapable of doing it correctly
07/12/2015, 9:21 PM
Yeah I knew that bit alright. Hopefully the club took care of that and I'm sure Rovers or whoever else will be made aware of it if they didn't.
Town Legend
07/12/2015, 9:26 PM
Maybe we should be paying Rovers to take Shaw off our hands!
**FrOsTy**
07/12/2015, 10:13 PM
I'm been told by a fairly reliable source that there is to be a big announcement from Waterford on Wednesday afternoon.
Rumours are flying around that an English consortium are going to pump money into the club and change the whole structure of how it has been run in "A project that aims to blow what Dundalk have done out of the water".
Apparently this group wanted to take over at Shrewsbury but Roddy convinced them to come meet with the him and the board at Waterford and meetings have been going extremely well. A few new local business men involved as well, Michael Garland been one of the main guys involved (marketing wiz)
Couple of players been bandied about as well, although I'd imagine some of them wont materialise, but names been mentioned that I'm certain will sign are Roddy Jr, Kevin Burns, Philly Gorman, and the message I received had the name Willo Flood, which I know has to be a mistake, so I'm making an assumption it was meant to be Willo McDonagh or Anto Flood, and I'd be 99% sure its McDonagh as he was training at the end of last season.
Coupled with getting Aaron O Callaghan in as a coach its looking to be very postive for us, and at least we may be back to competing next year after a woeful 2 years.
Although, this is all just rumours at the moments so my hopes are not to high until its all confirmed Wednesday.
07/12/2015, 10:40 PM
Roddy LOVES Willo McDonagh
And talking about investors
07/12/2015, 10:46 PM
I thought Gorman, McDonagh And a few others were already announced?
07/12/2015, 11:02 PM
There is some other criteria involved - like sending a similar or improved contract offer to the player by registered post 60 days prior to the expiry of the contract.
Although very simple stuff - it is amazing how some are incapable of doing it correctly
Was it Sligo who diddled themselves out of compensation a few years back by not offering Eoin Doyle a contract, or am I thinking of somebody else?
07/12/2015, 11:08 PM
Always investors who were "going to" take over an English club too. Until they actually have to come up with money. History is repeating itself quicker than I expected. Papers are full of land deals and dodgy politicians, and Roddy has investors lined up.
I'm been told by a fairly reliable source that there is to be a big announcement from Waterford on Wednesday afternoon.
Rumours are flying around that an English consortium are going to pump money into the club and change the whole structure of how it has been run in "A project that aims to blow what Dundalk have done out of the water".
Let's see about finishing outside the reelection places first, eh?
Dalymountrower
08/12/2015, 8:45 AM
Roddy has also persuaded Destiny`s Child to re-form and do the half time entertainment.
redobit
08/12/2015, 11:57 AM
Was it Sligo who diddled themselves out of compensation a few years back by not offering Eoin Doyle a contract, or am I thinking of somebody else?
Don't think so. He was out of contract when he moved on from us. There was interest from Scotland and England at the time so there was no need for him to sign any contract with us as he knew he had options.
08/12/2015, 12:45 PM
Don't think so. He was out of contract when he moved on from us. There was interest from Scotland and England at the time so there was no need for him to sign any contract with us as he knew he had options.
McEleney is out of contract too.
Doyle was 23 when he signed with Hibs so if he was offered a contract by sligo on the same/improved terms, Hibs would have had to pay the compensation fee
Ezeikial
08/12/2015, 4:08 PM
McEleney is out of contract too.
Doyle was 23 when he signed with Hibs so if he was offered a contract by sligo on the same/improved terms, Hibs would have had to pay the compensation fee
Sligo certainly thought that they were entitled to compensation
Hibernian sign up striker Eoin Doyle
Hibernian have signed striker Eoin Doyle on a contract to the end of the 2012/13 season.
The 23-year-old arrives from Sligo Rovers and scored 25 goals for the League of Ireland outfit last term.
Doyle, who has had spells at Shelbourne and Shamrock Rovers, will not be eligible to play until the transfer window opens in January.
A spokesman for Sligo Rovers told BBC Scotland on Wednesday that they would be seeking compensation.
Keith O'Dwyer said: "He is under 24 and we would seek clarification from the FAI and Uefa about the need to pay a training and development fee."
http://www.bbc.com/sport/0/football/16285005
Apparently this group wanted to take over at Shrewsbury but Roddy convinced them to come meet with the him and the board at Waterford and meetings have been going extremely well. A few new local business men involved as well, Michael Garland been one of the main guys involved (marketing wiz)
Couple of players been bandied about as well, although I'd imagine some of them wont materialise, but names been mentioned that I'm certain will sign are Roddy Jr, Kevin Burns, Philly Gorman, and the message I received had the name Willo Flood, which I know has to be a mistake, so I'm making an assumption it was meant to be Willo McDonagh or Anto Flood, and I'd be 99% sure its McDonagh as he was training at the end of last season.
Coupled with getting Aaron O Callaghan in as a coach its looking to be very postive for us, and at least we may be back to competing next year after a woeful 2 years.
Although, this is all just rumours at the moments so my hopes are not to high until its all confirmed Wednesday.
I'd be very cautious about anyone Roddy Collins is associated with, he always looks after himself first and foremost.
09/12/2015, 1:42 PM
Gearoid Morrissey released by Cambridge this morning, fuelling rumours he's returning to Cork for the 2016 season.
White Horse
09/12/2015, 1:47 PM
Gearoid Morrissey released by Cambridge this morning, fuelling rumours he's returning to Cork for the 2016 season.
It didn't really work pout for him in England. League 2 is not an easy division.
09/12/2015, 3:26 PM
Judas Dennehy and his brother Darren to Pats.