View Full Version : Transfer Rumours 2015
01/11/2014, 11:04 AM
He wasn't at Bohs before was he?
Yourselfs,Bohs and us i think
01/11/2014, 11:07 AM
We must have signed him off Bohs so. I always discard our players' clubs before signing for us, and assume we're the first. :)
He did go from us straight to Dundalk, yeah?
Decent player for Sligo alright. Lots of bustle and energy. And even a bit of skill. And a nice guy to boot.
Edit - google says he signed for Dundalk from Bohs. So he must have left us to go to Bohs. Don't remember that at all!
CityRebel
01/11/2014, 11:09 AM
We should have most of our business done by the end of next week.
White Horse
01/11/2014, 11:17 AM
We must have signed him off Bohs so. I always discard our players' clubs before signing for us, and assume we're the first. :)
Decent player for Sligo alright. Lots of bustle and energy. And even a bit of skill. And a nice guy to boot.
Edit - google says he signed for Dundalk from Bohs. So he must have left us to go to Bohs. Don't remember that at all!
He went from UCD to Dundalk, played one season and then went to Bohs as McCaffrey didn't want him (??)
After a season at Bohs, he was signed back to Dundalk and has spent two injury ravaged seasons here.
I really hope it woks out for him at Sligo. A great lad and a lovely player.
01/11/2014, 11:20 AM
Handy little guide here from our website-
http://www.dundalkfc.com/players/keith-ward/
And you're right,a lovely guy.
http://www.dundalkdemocrat.ie/news/local-news/cillian-lifts-the-cup-alongside-his-heroes-with-keith-s-medal-around-his-neck-1-6313990
Ezeikial
01/11/2014, 12:40 PM
For anyone who doesn't know he immediately sought after a well known popular young supporter who was in a wheelchair at the time after the EA Sports final (he played 45 mins, turned out his last action with us) and gave up his medal.
In that act of thoughtfulness alone Wardy demonstrated the sort of person he is. Fantastic generosity in giving his medal to a young man who was ecstatic with joy.
He's also a cracking footballer
bluewhitearmy
01/11/2014, 1:06 PM
shane duggan going back to city according to his fb page great signing also Karl Sheppard and Danny Morrissey and Iain turner going to limerick is rumour on leeside
Shane signed a two year contract with us when he signed last season so would be surprised with that. Only way around that is maybe a deal made between the two clubs for some kind of a swap.
http://www.limerickfc.ie/new-signing-duggan-joins-hometown-club
Don't think he is even on facebook either tbh
01/11/2014, 1:44 PM
All the best to Shep. A class act all-round whose second spell at Rovers just never took off. The replay in Dundalk showed just what he's capable of when it clicks. Hopefully Nutsy has a good replacement already identified. I hear Denis Behan is free on Fridays.
bluewhitearmy
01/11/2014, 1:46 PM
All the best to Shep. A class act all-round whose second spell at Rovers just never took off. The replay in Dundalk showed just what he's capable of when it clicks. Hopefully Nutsy has a good replacement already identified. I hear Denis Behan is free on Fridays.
We'll need him when ye take Rory :(.
WoodquayBoy
01/11/2014, 4:23 PM
Wasn't aware of that about Ward - that's an act of pure class from him, a lovely gesture
CityRebel
01/11/2014, 4:57 PM
Shane O'Connor highly likely to be returning to City.
PartySaint
02/11/2014, 6:59 AM
Announced last night that Ian Bermingham has re-signed for us for next season. Great news to get just before a cup final, he's by a distance the best left back in the league.
patrickccfc
02/11/2014, 9:38 AM
Shane O'Connor highly likely to be returning to City.
didn't think much of him when he was last with us
delboyderis
02/11/2014, 10:51 AM
he didnt do much for the little time he was with limerick fc either.if was any good ipswich wouldnt have left him go.
02/11/2014, 10:56 AM
he didnt do much for the little time he was with limerick fc either.if was any good ipswich wouldnt have left him go.
Silly thing to say. There's plenty of players who didn't have it work out for them in England who came back to have very successful Loi careers.
Wouldn't fancy him based on his time with us but heard that he had done well with Limerick. A lot of his problem with us seemed to stem from his attitude. If he can sort that he can be a good player for us I think. JC must be confident that he can get his head right.
CityRebel
02/11/2014, 11:15 AM
Silly thing to say. There's plenty of players who didn't have it work out for them in England who came back to have very successful Loi careers.
Wouldn't fancy him based on his time with us but heard that he had done well with Limerick. A lot of his problem with us seemed to stem from his attitude. If he can sort that he can be a good player for us I think. JC must be confident that he can get his head right.
It's completely understandable why he struggled the first time with us, it's very tough on lads coming back from England after things don't work out and it can take different players different amounts of time to adjust, some players never play again after they come back. Hopefully he'll come in a do well with us, JC is the right man to help get him motivated and playing to his potential.
02/11/2014, 12:25 PM
O'Connor did very well for us at left full. I'd like to hold onto him. Reads the game well, is quick and offers another option going forward.
I don't think Caufield has to get his head right because it looked to me like Russell had done a good job of that already.
bluewhitearmy
02/11/2014, 12:37 PM
Shocked that anyone could watch him with us and say he didn't do well he did very well anytime he played and his attitude was spot on was one of the first people I wanted re-signed.
02/11/2014, 6:06 PM
Ipswich let Colin Healy go at the same time. Apparently he's done alright since.
delboyderis
03/11/2014, 9:17 AM
its only silly because it doesnt concur with your point of view.its a sad fact that a lot of irish players who go over just arent good enough.loi football is not at championship level,i would say league one standards.i have followed ipswich since the early 80's and i always keep an eye out for irish lads that come over.when he first went to ipswich he looked very good but a lot of the irish guys just dont make it at that level for whatever strange reason.i can tell you that he wasnt great for limerick fc since he signed as i had seen him play a few times.i had expected him to do better when martin russell signed him.john caulfield might get something more out of him.dave o leary was excellent for us when he was with us for a few seasons but didnt seem to do much in cork this year.maybe he wasnt given the chance?
Macmurffy
03/11/2014, 10:38 AM
anyone got any news at bohs, who is going, who staying who is comin g in ?
03/11/2014, 5:33 PM
OK, cool, but any Limerick fan I've talked to says he's been one of their best players - if not their best player - since he signed. He looked terrific to me when they played Rovers. Not sure what all the irrelevant stuff about League One is about, nobody suggested it was anything above that level.
bluewhitearmy
03/11/2014, 6:10 PM
OK, cool, but any Limerick fan I've talked to says he's been one of their best players - if not their best player - since he signed. He looked terrific to me when they played Rovers. Not sure what all the irrelevant stuff about League One is about, nobody suggested it was anything above that level.
Since he came in he has definitely been in the top 3 or 4 for me.
delboyderis
03/11/2014, 6:22 PM
i wouldnt say that he was one of limericks better players this season as he didnt play many games.the few i saw him in was dissappointing when i remember how good he looked when he first played for ipswich.he has gone backwards in his form.he has great potential but dont know what has happened to him.its not irrelevant when somebody is trying to voice their opinion in a point of view.a lot of people on this forum try to belittle other peoples opinions when they dont agree with them.
delboyderis
03/11/2014, 6:27 PM
colin healy wasnt good enough at ipswich and he has found his level with cork in the airtricity league where he has done well.
03/11/2014, 6:36 PM
i wouldnt say that he was one of limericks better players this season as he didnt play many games.the few i saw him in was dissappointing when i remember how good he looked when he first played for ipswich.he has gone backwards in his form.he has great potential but dont know what has happened to him.its not irrelevant when somebody is trying to voice their opinion in a point of view.a lot of people on this forum try to belittle other peoples opinions when they dont agree with them.
What on earth has Ipswich got to do with it? He hasn't played for them for years. I didn't say he was one of the better players this season, I said from the people I've talked to he was one of the better players SINCE HE SIGNED. I shouldn't need to point that out really. I mean, fine, you don't think he's been particularly good. My own limited experience and the experiences of others tells me you're wrong.
adamd164
03/11/2014, 9:50 PM
Twigg returning to LOI?
03/11/2014, 9:55 PM
Danny North hinting at some sort of announcement on Thursday. Hopefully it'll be confirmed that we've finally got rid of him.
03/11/2014, 10:02 PM
They're both signing for LTFC, front three with Peter Hynes. Worth their weight in gold.
03/11/2014, 10:11 PM
Danny North hinting at some sort of announcement on Thursday. Hopefully it'll be confirmed that we've finally got rid of him.
And that we've avoided him.
PartySaint
04/11/2014, 12:00 AM
He's definitely leaving Sligo, he's either Dublin bound or he's going back to England.
its only silly because it doesnt concur with your point of view.
It's silly because plenty of LOI players have been released by teams like Ipswich, or worse, and done incredibly well later in the LOI. Being let go by Ipswich is no indication that he won't do well in the LOI
.i can tell you that he wasnt great for limerick fc since he signed as i had seen him play a few times.i had expected him to do better when martin russell signed him
As you can see, most other Limerick fans disagree with you. I assume they've seen him play too.
colin healy wasnt good enough at ipswich and he has found his level with cork in the airtricity league where he has done well.
Either you're contradicting yourself or you think all LOI players are not 'any good'.
You claimed if Shane was any good Ipswich would have kept him. Ipswich didn't keep Colin Healy, and he's plenty good.
04/11/2014, 6:41 AM
The annual Pats/Rovers swingers party appears to be getting underway according to the Indo. Rovers confident of getting Fahey and Fagan but likely to miss out on Browne and Bolger as they're under contract. Pats signing Kilduff, McCabe and Jason McGuinness.
White Horse
04/11/2014, 8:01 AM
The annual Pats/Rovers swingers party appears to be getting underway according to the Indo. Rovers confident of getting Fahey and Fagan but likely to miss out on Browne and Bolger as they're under contract. Pats signing Kilduff, McCabe and Jason McGuinness.
From a Dundalk perspective, it is great that a very good Pats team is breaking up. However, from a league point of view, it is a terrible shame. They were capable of playing some lovely football and were a joy to watch at times.
adamd164
04/11/2014, 8:07 AM
Fagan would be a good signing for Rovers, but then that has been said about a few players who've moved in that direction before.
It'll be interesting to see whether Fenlon brings in a few from the UK.
desaintsno.12
04/11/2014, 8:18 AM
From a Dundalk perspective, it is great that a very good Pats team is breaking up. However, from a league point of view, it is a terrible shame. They were capable of playing some lovely football and were a joy to watch at times.
Meh.... Fagan will be a big loss for the way we play. If he stays in the league, i reckon it will be with us.
We were better last year when Fats wasnt there, but in this league, he is a cut above, but still not overly worried about losing him. Obviously if he went to the shelter, it would be a kick in the stones.
We have 8 of our starting 11 signed up for next year. the core of the team is still there and i expect Forrester to be added, to make it 9 out 11.
And we'll be in a position to keep 90% of reserve players we want IMO - hopefully that will include McCormack and Chmabers anyway. Bucko will add again, and between himself and Dave Campbell, they have done well on that front, most of the time
They're both signing for LTFC, front three with Peter Hynes. Worth their weight in gold.
That's a LOT of gold
Dalymountrower
04/11/2014, 2:03 PM
They should just face up to the inevitable , merge with Rovers and play out of Tallaght.
Alternatively just move to Tallaght, and they might just pip Bohs for higher average crowds.
04/11/2014, 2:37 PM
They'd have no chance of beating Shelbohs' crowds though.
PartySaint
04/11/2014, 2:57 PM
They should just face up to the inevitable , merge with Rovers and play out of Tallaght.
Alternatively just move to Tallaght, and they might just pip Bohs for higher average crowds.
Would that mean we'd have to stop winning things :(
delboyderis
04/11/2014, 3:49 PM
thats your opinion?everybody is entitled to their opinion no matter what.this is like kindergarten with people knocking each other constantly rather than having meaningful discussions.
delboyderis
04/11/2014, 3:54 PM
The truth hurts the majority of loi players would not be good enough for championship level in the uk.at the fai cup final in attendance was the manager of luton town and he was very dissapointed with the standard and said none of the players on show would make it onto his side.
04/11/2014, 3:58 PM
The truth hurts the majority of loi players would not be good enough for championship level in the uk.at the fai cup final in attendance was the manager of luton town and he was very dissapointed with the standard and said none of the players on show would make it onto his side.
You keep missing people's points though. No one barr you is arguing that the players are good enough for English teams. You said O'Connor was poor for Limerick. You are the only limerick fan ive heard think so and are using the fact he didn't make it with Ipswich as one reason he is poor. Fair enough if you think he was poor for us from watching him.
O'Connor will be a good signing for Cork because he is a good LOI player. What he has or hasn't done in the UK is of no relevance.
I'd be shocked if the Luton manager would base the quality of a player on one game. Any coach/manager that does that is foolish. That's like saying because some average player had a stormer in a cup final he is suddenly good enough for Championship.
The truth hurts the majority of loi players would not be good enough for championship level in the uk.
You won't find a single LOI fan that has EVER claimed this.
at the fai cup final in attendance was the manager of luton town and he was very dissapointed with the standard and said none of the players on show would make it onto his side.
He's talking through his hoop, but you go ahead and belief what some random low level English guy said to Roddy Collins if you like
04/11/2014, 5:08 PM
Where would we be without Del Boy to come in and deliver some harsh doses of truth? We'd probably all be off planning our trips to see Dundalk beat Cork in the Champions League final.
Pablo Escobar
04/11/2014, 6:22 PM
Where would we be without Del Boy to come in and deliver some harsh doses of truth? We'd probably all be off planning our trips to see Dundalk beat Cork in the Champions League final.
We're due a win over them I feel
04/11/2014, 8:29 PM
You won't find a single LOI fan that has EVER claimed this.
He's talking through his hoop, but you go ahead and belief what some random low level English guy said to Roddy Collins if you like
Its actually what Roddy Collins said that John Still said to him. Our journalists are just too lazy to be arsed asking John Still about it. I wouldn't believe Roddy if he said he wasn't paying the water charges.
Trainee
04/11/2014, 8:35 PM
Garry Twigg to Longford
04/11/2014, 8:39 PM
We're going to pay him €2k a week plus a house and a car :cool:
I love that this rumour is taking off at last though.