View Full Version : Transfer Rumours 2015
09/01/2015, 12:12 PM
There are literally hundreds who've had a go across the water, specially if we're including triallists and sign-ups for youth teams.
Another couple that sprang to mind that I don't think have been mentioned, Conor Gethins (now in the Highland League, ex Scottish div 3), Chris Turner (Scots 1 Dumbarton), Richie Byrne ex Rovers lots of SPL football, Barry Prenderville (Pats, Shels) had short spells in England and Scotland, Neale Fenn
Conor Gethins is a real success story in non-league terms. Scored something like 101 goals in 100 games for Nairn County of the Highland League. Real shame he didn't get picked up by a league club there, probably too late for him now at 31, although he did have one year in Scottish Division 3 with Peterhead. Still would love to see him back at Harps. Probably the greatest shame for Harps fans of this era that we've not watched Kevin McHugh and Conor Gethins in the same team.
DannyInvincible
09/01/2015, 12:21 PM
Derry's Patrick McEleney is going on trial with Brentford next week: http://www.goal.com/en-ie/news/3942/ireland/2015/01/09/7800762/derry-city-boss-confirms-mceleney-brentford-trial
09/01/2015, 2:40 PM
Yeah no offence to anyone but I think we have enough examples now to establish whatever pattern you want. Time to get back to the transfer rumours.
And the imaginary headlines.
Was just going to suggest perhaps a separate thread, we've gone a bit off topic here.
See in today's sun, Daryl Kavanagh says he has several big offers off the back of the PFAI trip. Would love him at town personally but would imagine he's outside our budget.
PartySaint
09/01/2015, 3:53 PM
Was just going to suggest perhaps a separate thread, we've gone a bit off topic here.
See in today's sun, Daryl Kavanagh says he has several big offers off the back of the PFAI trip. Would love him at town personally but would imagine he's outside our budget.
Longford could definitely be in with a chance of getting Kavanagh.
He wont be at Pats, Dundalk, Rovers, Sligo or Cork.
Derry seem to be a bit all over the place.
So that would leave, Bohs, Lims, Galway, Bray, Drogs and Longford. I don't see why you can't compete with those clubs for players.
09/01/2015, 4:01 PM
He has been with us already and was basically kicked out from what I remember so doubt he is coming back here. stranger things have happened though and our squad is pretty thin. Can't imagine wih his rep he'll be demanding a big wage.
09/01/2015, 4:37 PM
Doesn't strike me as a signing Tony Cousins would make but you never know. I would have said the same about Ben Mohamed from the little I know of him.
bluewhitearmy
09/01/2015, 4:44 PM
He has been with us already and was basically kicked out from what I remember so doubt he is coming back here. stranger things have happened though and our squad is pretty thin. Can't imagine wih his rep he'll be demanding a big wage.
Daryl has a great relationship with Pat O Sullivan.
Is that a joke?
donnrua
10/01/2015, 9:07 AM
Is that a joke?
It's not as if Daryl hasn't burned a lot of bridges down through the years so I'd safely say it is:p
bluewhitearmy
10/01/2015, 4:00 PM
Is that a joke?
It's not as if Daryl hasn't burned a lot of bridges down through the years so I'd safely say it is:p
Not a joke at all unless things have changed and I didn't hear about it.
disgruntled
10/01/2015, 4:18 PM
Yea they watch the same Tv programs.:shake:
cobhlad
11/01/2015, 10:22 PM
Anthony O'Donnell and Bobbi Donoghue sign for Waterford from Cobh. O'Donnell is decent but with Shane O'Connor starting left full he wouldn't have played anyway this year. Bobbi is a good player but won't be heavily missed either
KeepersBall
11/01/2015, 10:30 PM
Am hearing four names rumoured down by the Boyneside. as about to sign for the Drogs.
Daryll Kavanagh, Mark Quigley. the return of Johnny Breen and a lad called Joe Gorman from Bray.
All meant to be done and dusted this week
littlebray
11/01/2015, 11:36 PM
Gorman didn't get a lot of game time with Bray this season, but looked decent enough.
bluewhitearmy
11/01/2015, 11:57 PM
I thought Drogs didn't have much money.
12/01/2015, 12:12 AM
Yea they watch the same Tv programs.:shake:
Which, if my brief time following Kavanagh on twitter is anything to go by, means they both watch Geordie Shore and get really personally offended by everything.
I thought Drogs didn't have much money.
They don't, and neither do any of the bottom 6
Pfft, since when did that stop a Legue of Ireland club spending?
My point is; that they won't have to. They can offer a player €200 a week and that will outbid most of them
12/01/2015, 10:59 AM
My point is; that they won't have to. They can offer a player €200 a week and that will outbid most of them
Not only that, but the likes of Kavanagh and Quigley wouldn't exactly have any right to expect big wages from clubs given the season they had last year. They've both done the rounds enough at this stage to know they won't have many chances left in the loi so will likely take anything they can get.
TheOneWhoKnocks
12/01/2015, 11:17 AM
https://twitter.com/EmeraldExiles/status/554568913246494720
"Daryl Kavanagh and Ian Turner will be offered deals to play in Finland".
JC_GUFC
13/01/2015, 7:34 AM
Just to bring it back off topic...
Ex-Bohs, Galway, Longford and Shels player Gary Deegan is now playing with Southend in L2.
He initially did well at Coventry before moving to Hibs under Fenlon.
Sean Dillon ex-Longford and Shels is now captain of Dundee United. Scored the winner last night.
13/01/2015, 7:46 AM
Yeah Dillo's been captain for a couple of years now I think. A really nice guy and a good player. Deserves whatever success he gets.
13/01/2015, 4:05 PM
Yeah Dillo's been captain for a couple of years now I think. A really nice guy and a good player. Deserves whatever success he gets.
was watchin that game last night. hes Dundee Utds longest serving player and has made nearly 300 appearances and has scored 5 goals for them! his winner last nite reminded me of his winner for us in FAI Cup semi in 04!
White Horse
14/01/2015, 9:40 AM
In an interview in this week’s Argus, Richie Towell has revealed he has turned down a number of moves to the UK in recent weeks and said he would be happy to remain at Oriel Park in 2015. “I got offered a couple of contracts over in England and Scotland but they weren’t the contracts that I wanted,” he said.
“I said from day one that I wasn’t going to go over and join a club that I didn’t want to be at. I wasn’t going to join a club on the terms that I didn’t want to be there on. The contracts that have been offered to me just didn’t suit me".
“With regard to the moves, I just didn’t fancy them at the time because of different situations but I’m actually just looking forward now to getting the ball back at my feet. We’ve worked hard the last two years that I’ve been here to aspire to things like the Champions League and I would be gutted if I missed it to be honest,” he said.
http://talkofthetown.ie/2015/01/14/towell-pledges-commitment-to-dundalk-fc-as-club-return-for-pre-season-training/
14/01/2015, 11:12 AM
Typical LOI loser talk.
14/01/2015, 10:36 PM
"Dundalk wedding photographer to quit game he never played professionally"
Ezeikial
15/01/2015, 7:59 AM
"Dundalk wedding photographer to quit game he never played professionally"
Thats brilliant! The other Mark Quigley might take up photography:
http://www.herald.ie/sport/mark-quigley-on-the-verge-of-quitting-football-30905851.html
15/01/2015, 10:15 AM
Surprised Quigley can't get a club. Should be able to pick up a lower Premier Division club easily. I'd imagine he's just being stubborn and looking for a full time option however.
15/01/2015, 10:24 AM
Surprised Quigley can't get a club. Should be able to pick up a lower Premier Division club easily. I'd imagine he's just being stubborn and looking for a full time option however.
Seen a drogs fan on Twitter saying there was an interview in some of the papers with Johnny Mc in which he basically said Quigley had priced himself out of a move.
15/01/2015, 10:44 AM
Seen a drogs fan on Twitter saying there was an interview in some of the papers with Johnny Mc in which he basically said Quigley had priced himself out of a move.
Priced himself out of a move to Drogheda! They only pay expenses ye know...
15/01/2015, 2:16 PM
Ya I'd imagine wages are the biggest factor and who is going to pay big wages to someone that hasn't been playing the best for the last few years.
Redzer
16/01/2015, 8:35 AM
Ya I'd imagine wages are the biggest factor and who is going to pay big wages to someone that hasn't been playing the best for the last few years.
Sham's of coarse:p
Wot, with the fourth highest budget and all?
Tiarnan Mulvenna mutualled by Cliftonville.Wouldn't be surprised to see him returning to the LOI.
17/01/2015, 6:09 PM
That sounds painful.
17/01/2015, 7:28 PM
Mulvenna always seems to do a job at a LOI club but in a very quite fashion, would he be any addition to a team like longford as a bench player for those who have had him at their clubs before?
17/01/2015, 9:49 PM
I think he is the type of player that is suited to coming off the bench where he can use his pace against tired defenders. His weakness probably his lack of physicality otherwise and be a bit aimless with his runs. He would be a grafter though and track back but he wouldnt be a top side premier level striker. He was a popular player at Dundalk obviously being a local lad but also he would really care about the club he is at. The likes of Shels he would be a good signing for as a 1st Division club who could be in the promotion mix. Griffen would be a good signing for Longford if ye could get the best out of him and he decided to rebuild his rep. Dont know where he is at though tbh.
18/01/2015, 12:03 AM
Heard a second hand rumour, albeit from someone who is trustworthy, that we have a striker and a defender "of surprising quality" coming in from England. Since this thread lacks unsubstantiated rumours I said I'd throw it in. I presume they meant surprising in a good way but who knows if it'll actually happen.
18/01/2015, 12:17 PM
Heard a second hand rumour, albeit from someone who is trustworthy, that we have a striker and a defender "of surprising quality" coming in from England. Since this thread lacks unsubstantiated rumours I said I'd throw it in. I presume they meant surprising in a good way but who knows if it'll actually happen.
Been hearing rumours of english based players all window and nothing yet to happen so I won't get too excited by this.
Town Legend
18/01/2015, 12:57 PM
This striker from England could end up getting the board in hot water if signed as has what happened a few clubs in England!
18/01/2015, 1:04 PM
Been hearing rumours of english based players all window and nothing yet to happen so I won't get too excited by this.
Early days yet, they're only just started back to pre-season. Was just passing on what I heard, I don't know anything more other than that it came indirectly from our sponsor.
This striker from England could end up getting the board in hot water if signed as has what happened a few clubs in England!
I highly doubt it'd be him, and he can't play outside the UK at the moment anyway!
Town Legend
18/01/2015, 1:18 PM
Yeah I was only joking. Some Maltese side tried to sign him, but as he couldn't leave the UK that scuppered the move. We could do with another winger to be honest as well as a striker.
Spudulika
18/01/2015, 2:01 PM
Yeah I was only joking. Some Maltese side tried to sign him, but as he couldn't leave the UK that scuppered the move. We could do with another winger to be honest as well as a striker.
That was Hibs (Malta version), and it was a spoof. A very dodgy group tried to get Hibs to sign him, but the club refused, so the group went public to force their hand. Only heard the "full" story from a friend of mine from there who is up in Russia on business. I asked him what the craic was and he said it's the Vaughans. (Google them, it's a story perfect for Guy Ritchie)
18/01/2015, 8:09 PM
Going off topic but if Evans wanted to sign for a club in the LOI but lived in england/the North would it be possible or is he Simply banned from WORKING in another country
18/01/2015, 8:13 PM
Going off topic but if Evans wanted to sign for a club in the LOI but lived in england/the North would it be possible or is he Simply banned from WORKING in another country
Can't leave the UK.
patrickccfc
18/01/2015, 9:57 PM
Can't leave the UK.
Could he play for Derry city then?
18/01/2015, 10:02 PM
Could he play for Derry city then?
He could play at home. In reality, I doubt it. He's probably had his passport taken off him, which would be troublesome even within the free travel area.
18/01/2015, 10:28 PM
would be troublesome even within the free travel area.
Ever taken the ferry? Barely even look at a face never mind a (colour of) passport.
18/01/2015, 10:38 PM
Aye, but that's hardly convenient. Plus you'd have the added hassle of the locals looking at you with suspicion because you're not from Derry.