View Full Version : Transfer Rumours 2015

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24

paykanti
03/12/2014, 5:20 PM
I'd be open to the idea of one squad of 23 being passed around the four teams but a lot of fixtures clash at that time of the year. The question is, would you spread the talent evenly for four decent sides or go with some Galway Globetrotters concoction.

wonder88
03/12/2014, 5:32 PM
Anyone have an idea how many league of Ireland players claim the tax back for sporting professionals when they retire. I find it difficult to understand how facilities could decide if someone is a full-timer or not, but it is often used alright by LoI folk. Dortmund trained on a public park in London before their game against Arsenal, and Roddy had good success when operating from the Phoenix Park, according to the tv documentary anyway.

I hear Galway will be training during the day next season, that means Bohs, Drogheda and Longford will be the teams who some would classify as PT.

harry crumb
03/12/2014, 5:40 PM
Anyone have an idea how many league of Ireland players claim the tax back for sporting professionals when they retire. I find it difficult to understand how facilities could decide if someone is a full-timer or not, but it is often used alright by LoI folk. Dortmund trained on a public park in London before their game against Arsenal, and Roddy had good success when operating from the Phoenix Park, according to the tv documentary anyway.

I hear Galway will be training during the day next season, that means Bohs, Drogheda and Longford will be the teams who some would classify as PT.

Keep their P60's every year from the club.

03/12/2014, 6:01 PM

Yes it worked out well for Roddy and Monaghan alright.

bluewhitearmy
03/12/2014, 6:37 PM
Jake Kelly is a quality signing for Dundalk. The mid-to-lower table sides should just contribute their best players to build four league dream teams to compete in Europe. Wearen should have gone to one of them but I'll let him off if he wants to bum Owen. By my count, only McEleney, Turner and Benson remain from that pool.

Which Turner?

03/12/2014, 7:05 PM
Tina.

Guinney
03/12/2014, 8:26 PM
Please lets stop the talk about part-time players in the League of Ireland; at least 7 clubs were full-time last season. That is; the players trained during the day and were paid a wage equal too, or greater than the average earnings in the country.

Are you sure on this one? I could be wrong but I couldn't name 7 clubs (at least) who were full time and trained during the day last season. Correct me if I am wrong. Dundalk trained in the evenings and a number of players have daytime jobs - Massey works as an electrician in a Dublin shopping centre and Brian Gartland works as a community and basketball coach during the day. A few more had jobs outside of football too.

But what I would say is that Kenny and his backroom team brought in a professional ethos to the club, with a good strength and conditioning coach in place and good preparation for matches. But still wouldn't classify it as full time.

03/12/2014, 8:32 PM
Are you sure on this one? I could be wrong but I couldn't name 7 clubs (at least) who were full time and trained during the day last season. Correct me if I am wrong. Dundalk trained in the evenings and a number of players have daytime jobs - Massey works as an electrician in a Dublin shopping centre and Brian Gartland works as a community and basketball coach during the day. A few more had jobs outside of football too.

But what I would say is that Kenny and his backroom team brought in a professional ethos to the club, with a good strength and conditioning coach in place and good preparation for matches. But still wouldn't classify it as full time.
It's not. Wonder88 is being contrary for some reason, as he/she often is, but I can't really see the logic behind it.

No club in Ireland has a full-time set-up. Rovers are probably the closest, but they train on the opposite side of the city as they play and where the players live and, despite what anybody says, having a proper integrated base is key to a full-time set up. Plus the previous manager had a day job and training was arranged around that, but for some reason he never mentioned that when he was talking about having the fourth-biggest budget. Nutsy will have the team working full-time hours at least.

Liam Buckley said himself before the game in Poland that Pats are basically semi-pro, even if most of the players do it as their job, and I'd imagine Dundalk and Cork are similar.

03/12/2014, 11:11 PM
Dave o'leary to galway

Pablo Escobar
04/12/2014, 7:10 AM
Dave o'leary to galway
That would be a good signing. He was criminally underused by us last season.

04/12/2014, 9:05 AM
Dave o'leary to galway

We should be looking to get him back but the way he was treated just before he left us I could understand him going to Galway.

Onefootednopace
04/12/2014, 7:21 PM
http://www.eveningecho.ie/2014/12/04/morrissey-cambridge/Looks like Gearoid Morrissey is on his way across the pond to Cambridge Utd, and if O'Leary heads west, it will leave us short of options in the middle of the park.

delboyderis
05/12/2014, 1:51 PM
Its on twitter that Dave o Leary has signed for Galway.good signing for them.no sign of any signings in Limerick yet?

donnrua
06/12/2014, 10:41 AM
We should be looking to get him back but the way he was treated just before he left us I could understand him going to Galway.

Jaysus, what happened there exactly, from what I can recall he wanted to go?

06/12/2014, 12:34 PM
Jaysus, what happened there exactly, from what I can recall he wanted to go?

Ya he was leaving but there was an incident the last home game of the season with him that was ridiculous and certainly would have put me off the club of I was him.

bluewhitearmy
07/12/2014, 12:08 PM
Stephen Folan apparently the latest to leave Limerick. Supposedly headed Sligos way.

delboyderis
07/12/2014, 3:19 PM
Stephen would be a big loss.himself and Sammy Oji had a very good partnership this past season.will Mick Leahy stay fit enough to take his place?club supposed to announce new signings next week.

07/12/2014, 4:15 PM
Stephen would be a big loss.himself and Sammy Oji had a very good partnership this past season.will Mick Leahy stay fit enough to take his place?club supposed to announce new signings next week.

Meh.

Oji had a good partnership with himself most of the time.

Olander
07/12/2014, 4:23 PM
Meh.

Oji had a good partnership with himself most of the time.

O'Leary? What is the verdict

07/12/2014, 5:13 PM
O'Leary? What is the verdict

Pros:

Lovely passer of the ball
Clever

Cons:

Wont go box to box for you
Questionable engine
Bit soft

He'll sit in the middle of the park stroking the ball around for you basically. I was a big fan when we were in the first division he was often the only bit of guile you'd see for weeks on end. Given his flaws though it was never gonna work out for him in Caulfields set up.

Put it this way if we'd been linked with him back in October I'd have been sayin Jaysus that's a big stepdown from Lee Lynch, but it's gotten to the stage of the off season now where I'd take him!

Without being patronising he's an excellent signing for a promoted Galway because like I said he was a cut above nearly everything we came across in first division.

donnrua
07/12/2014, 5:39 PM
Ya he was leaving but there was an incident the last home game of the season with him that was ridiculous and certainly would have put me off the club of I was him.

Not trying to be smart but I'm as wise as ever now - what incident?

sidcon
07/12/2014, 7:18 PM
Derek Prendergast and James O Brien sign for bohs from Athlone

Nah Nah Nah Nah
07/12/2014, 8:23 PM
Derek Prendergast and James O Brien sign for bohs from Athlone

Good to see ye are following our transfer policy

07/12/2014, 8:25 PM
Aaron Callaghan gone from UCD apparently. He's not cut out for management, should concentrate on coaching.

PartySaint
08/12/2014, 7:39 AM
Aaron Callaghan gone from UCD apparently. He's not cut out for management, should concentrate on coaching.

Off to Shels maybe?

08/12/2014, 8:29 AM
I doubt it. He's not exactly been a success as a manager. He's a very pleasant fella most of the time but he needs someone there to rein him in when he loses the head. He ends up alienating the players and they stop trying for him.

Dalymountrower
08/12/2014, 2:11 PM
Good to see ye are following our transfer policy
Signing players from high achieving squads?

Never a good sign when a new manager signs a group of pals. Could
see Bohs and Sligo battling it out at the end of the table this season .

08/12/2014, 9:03 PM
I doubt it. He's not exactly been a success as a manager. He's a very pleasant fella most of the time but he needs someone there to rein him in when he loses the head. He ends up alienating the players and they stop trying for him.
which is what he did with us.. We made a promisin start in 08 and couldnt sustain it. that was the season that we had way too many players playing for us that season which was 35.. it took a good while for us to recover!!

08/12/2014, 11:15 PM
Ched evens in limerick tonight

08/12/2014, 11:37 PM
That would actually be very Limerick:

Spunk 100k a year on the U-19s. Blather in the media about focusing on youth.

Hire a rapist.

??????

Profit.

08/12/2014, 11:40 PM
He's a very pleasant fella most of the time but he needs someone there to rein him in when he loses the head.

One thing that always struck me about Callaghan aside from the tripe his teams served up was his absolutely inability to keep the head.

I've been at games where he has genuinely spent more time staring down the fans behind him than watching the game. Once you get a reputation for that kind of nonsense you're doomed.

09/12/2014, 9:08 AM
He's no Stuart Taylor but yeah, he can fly off the handle at anything. Having massive squads (of ****e players) is another of his trademarks

redobit
09/12/2014, 12:26 PM
Signing players from high achieving squads?

Never a good sign when a new manager signs a group of pals. Could
see Bohs and Sligo battling it out at the end of the table this season .

If were battling for relegations next season it wont be because of a few ex-Bohs lads. We have a lot of young and inexperience players. There is plenty of potential in the squad but staring so many in the first team could be a problem. That and the older lads like Peers, Keane, Raf will be good leaders but are prone to injuries.

PartySaint
09/12/2014, 12:30 PM
Sligo won't be anywhere near relegation next season, they've already put together a decent enough squad. They'll be comfortably mid table, probably 5th might even sneak 4th

Ezeikial
09/12/2014, 1:26 PM
Sligo won't be anywhere near relegation next season

Agreed - Sligo have a very decent core to their squad and the starting 11 should be strong. Strength in depth may be the issue - a lot will depend on the quality of the remaining signings and how the younger players emerge.

09/12/2014, 2:17 PM
I think Sligo look in poor enough nick at the moment but they'd still be above most of the league at the moment. Plenty of time for all squads to improve but can't see Sligo being in trouble next year

Trainee
09/12/2014, 2:19 PM
Sligo won't be anywhere near relegation next season, they've already put together a decent enough squad. They'll be comfortably mid table, probably 5th might even sneak 4th

Bray, Bohs, Drogs, Galway, Limerick, & Longford will all finish below sligo.

bluewhitearmy
09/12/2014, 2:21 PM

What are you basing a judgment of us off?

Trainee
09/12/2014, 2:24 PM
What are you basing a judgment of us off?

Current squads for coming year

bluewhitearmy
09/12/2014, 2:29 PM
Current squads for coming year

They will finish ahead of our one player alright.

D24Saint
09/12/2014, 3:08 PM
One player ?? pre season starts in little over a month I'd find that concerning.

09/12/2014, 3:11 PM
It'll be grand.

bluewhitearmy
09/12/2014, 3:37 PM
One player ?? pre season starts in little over a month I'd find that concerning.

Sorry 2. Paul O Conor and Shane Duggan are the only ones that are confirmed to be there next season. We have more signed as far as I know just haven't been announced.

delboyderis
09/12/2014, 3:45 PM
We still need a few more signings besides the old guard.striker badly wanted for starters.

09/12/2014, 6:13 PM
Stephen Folan apparently the latest to leave Limerick. Supposedly headed Sligos way.

I think if fit Leahy and Oji could be a better partnership.

Folans best games were with Oji at his side. Would like to keep Folan but I don't think anyone would be too upset to lose him and a few fans would be delighted.

Oji most likely our number 1 priority to hold onto in defence.

bluewhitearmy
09/12/2014, 6:36 PM
I think if fit Leahy and Oji could be a better partnership.

Folans best games were with Oji at his side. Would like to keep Folan but I don't think anyone would be too upset to lose him and a few fans would be delighted.

Oji most likely our number 1 priority to hold onto in defence.

I'd definitely be ok with Oji and Leahy I thought Leahy did ok when he got a few games into him.

I wouldn't be delighted to see him go but I don't really care if he leaves I think with Oji next to him he looks decent without him he has looked a mess at times.

vinnie
10/12/2014, 12:53 PM
Doubt Bohs will be behind them to be honest

dong
10/12/2014, 11:10 PM
My main concern is our defence (injury prone with no adequate cover, no aerial dominance, serious lack of pace) and lack of a goalscorer.

I'm not one bit optimistic but just hoping Heary can get the best out of what he has.

11/12/2014, 3:58 PM
It's in the star that Ryan manning will be signing for QPR

11/12/2014, 7:51 PM
Barry Ryan's retired.