View Full Version : Transfer Rumours 2015

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24

delboyderis
25/11/2014, 10:24 PM
Best of luck rory.will be hard to replace you.worrying times on shannonside.

25/11/2014, 10:47 PM
Three months till the season starts. 2 confirmed re-signed and another new signing confirmed. Rumoured to be 4 more re-signed. A new signing on the way. We've lost 1 player to England, one to Scotland, one released and one wasn't supposedly going to be re-signed anyway. Hardly that worrying. It wasn't that long ago we would be slapping together a team at the end of February.

It would be nice to have an announcement soon but I certainly would be far from worrying at this stage.

delboyderis
26/11/2014, 9:22 AM
It still doesnt bode well.with rory gone who is going to get goals.its were we struggled a lot for the last few seasons.we have lost one of the leagues best experienced keepers in barry ryan and its no good putting a young inexperienced guy in his place.lee lynch is a loss and shane duggan if he stays along with prince needs help.most of the leagues better players have signed back with their existing clubs or moved elsewhere.what calibre of player is left for us to sign?

26/11/2014, 9:47 AM
It still doesnt bode well.with rory gone who is going to get goals.its were we struggled a lot for the last few seasons.we have lost one of the leagues best experienced keepers in barry ryan and its no good putting a young inexperienced guy in his place.lee lynch is a loss and shane duggan if he stays along with prince needs help.most of the leagues better players have signed back with their existing clubs or moved elsewhere.what calibre of player is left for us to sign?

Well, for a start, if you expect to be signing the top players in the league, that's more worrying.

26/11/2014, 10:09 AM
It's November. If you're panicked now I fear for you by the end of February!

delboyderis
26/11/2014, 11:32 AM
We will have to wait and see what happens.just worrying with the lack of movement with transfers,all going out and not much coming in.

26/11/2014, 4:57 PM
hopefully Roddy does get back into the league just so he can get battered by the 3 managers he just slated, what a spoofer.

cobhlad
26/11/2014, 6:07 PM
Cobh Ramblers captain Martin Deady signs for Longford. Great player and hope it works out well for him. Will be a big loss to Cobh though

26/11/2014, 6:34 PM
Yeah, announced this evening. Fair play to him for upping sticks and coming to play for us.

26/11/2014, 9:32 PM
Yeah, announced this evening. Fair play to him for upping sticks and coming to play for us.
not very often we sign a player directly from Cobh.. think the last player we signed from ye was Anthony Keenan who played for us in the late nineties!

27/11/2014, 8:59 AM
Ryan Manning over in England on trial. Couple of premier/ championship clubs mentioned but none confirmed as of yet.

oriel
27/11/2014, 10:07 AM
I think Dundalk were also looking at Manning. He could have a decent career ahead of him, very tidy player.

JC_GUFC
27/11/2014, 6:14 PM
I think Dundalk were also looking at Manning. He could have a decent career ahead of him, very tidy player.

I'd be disappointed if he joined another League of Ireland club but has a huge future ahead of him.

With the amount of former Galway based players ye now have I presume your 2nd jersey will be maroon.

Stjimmy87
27/11/2014, 7:37 PM
Shane Grimes officially a Dundalk player

jinxy lilywhite
27/11/2014, 10:07 PM
We have only Barnett haven't we?

The old GUFC died in 2010 or whenever or do the tribesmen in the west have the same revisionist policy as cork

27/11/2014, 10:17 PM
God, you know you're in the off-season when people start banging on about which club ceased to exist and when. Classic foot.ie

27/11/2014, 10:22 PM
I'd be disappointed if he joined another League of Ireland club but has a huge future ahead of him.

With the amount of former Galway based players ye now have I presume your 2nd jersey will be maroon.

The old GUFC died in 2010 or whenever or do the tribesmen in the west have the same revisionist policy as cork

where did he mention GUFC? he said Galway based players......GUFC,MUFC,SDFC,SD Galway, Galway FC etc....

oriel
27/11/2014, 11:13 PM

O'Donnell and Horgan Jinxy, well one ex Galway, both from Galway.

28/11/2014, 10:29 AM
http://www.punditarena.com/football/irish-football/league-of-ireland/rlyons/derrys-mcnamee-third-city-player-to-go-on-trial/

Barry McNamee on trial with Fleetwood Town in League One.

28/11/2014, 1:49 PM
Fabio O'Brien gone to Glenavon apparently. Huge loss for Drogheda even if he is getting on.

delboyderis
28/11/2014, 2:43 PM
Probably gone past it now.in his day was a very good striker/cleaver player.dont think he is able for the full 90mins anymore.

28/11/2014, 10:49 PM
Johnny McDonnell new Drogheda manager.

29/11/2014, 12:20 AM
Probably gone past it now.in his day was a very good striker/cleaver player.dont think he is able for the full 90mins anymore.

Bit of a hatchet man?

longfordjames
29/11/2014, 1:11 PM
According to todays Star Sean Thornton wants to return to LOI preferably with Drogheda. He asked Darius Kierans about joining Pats but their squad is full.

disgruntled
29/11/2014, 4:28 PM
According to todays Star Sean Thornton wants to return to LOI preferably with Drogheda. He asked Darius Kierans about joining Pats but their squad is full.

I'd like to see him with Drogheda :)
This is what they'de probably get.
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/sad-story-of-thorntons-slide-into-obscurity-29952056.html

JC_GUFC
29/11/2014, 5:20 PM
O'Donnell and Horgan Jinxy, well one ex Galway, both from Galway.

Gary Rogers, John Mountney too obviously Hoban but he's now gone.

JC_GUFC
29/11/2014, 5:23 PM

We'll have to wait for the next DVD to find out!

29/11/2014, 5:39 PM

Hardly be a massive signing. He's been playing Welsh league for the past 4 or 5 years.

Never kicked on in a way most would have imagined when he was at Sunderland. A career that really went down the gutter fast.

PartySaint
29/11/2014, 6:54 PM

We're actually a midfielder short maybe Darius didn't want to hurt Thortons feelings.

White Horse
29/11/2014, 6:58 PM
We're actually a midfielder short maybe Darius didn't want to hurt Thortons feelings.

Do you not have Richie Towell signed? Pats fans have been claiming this for weeks.

PartySaint
29/11/2014, 7:42 PM
Do you not have Richie Towell signed? Pats fans have been claiming this for weeks.

Have we?

D24Saint
30/11/2014, 8:32 AM
http://i4.bebo.com/029/4/mediuml/2007/03/29/20/3632126157a3960563948b368783584ml.jpg

Haven't heard a single fan claim we have definitely signed Towell, don't forget how the chart works.

30/11/2014, 2:27 PM

Yeah, sounds like a "Oh, I'd love to , but I'm washing my hair that night" type of response :)

mcgonigle
01/12/2014, 3:54 PM
http://i4.bebo.com/029/4/mediuml/2007/03/29/20/3632126157a3960563948b368783584ml.jpg

Haven't heard a single fan claim we have definitely signed Towell, don't forget how the chart works.

It's a helpful chart that's made even more helpful with a real life example, such as:

Dream: Pats become back to back champions by regaining the league title in 2014.

Reality: http://www.uefa.com/MultimediaFiles/Photo/competitions/DomesticLeague/02/17/24/09/2172409_w2.jpg

D24Saint
01/12/2014, 5:19 PM
Hasn't taken long for heads to get big, gloating is beneath any reasonable LOI fan each of us is only a heartbeat from the Abyss. Bohs called themselves the big club and are now in financial ruin ,wonder will Dundalk make the same mistake.

01/12/2014, 5:38 PM
Hasn't taken long for heads to get big, gloating is beneath any reasonable LOI fan each of us is only a heartbeat from the Abyss. Bohs called themselves the big club and are now in financial ruin ,wonder will Dundalk make the same mistake.

Not taken long?? We were playing We are the Champions since last season!! As for Bohs financial woes we couldnt try to sell our ground twice even if we wanted to...we were always a big club just lost our way for a bit:p

oriel
01/12/2014, 6:39 PM
Great photo McG

As for gloating. I'm not sure about about that, but I tell you knew thing, the feel good factor is still strong, and why wouldn't it be. First title in almost 20 years is up there with a lot of gaps that other clubs had from their last win. I haven't got the figures to hand but seem to remember Rovers in 1984 was a huge gap (possibly since late 60's)

I think Shels in the 90's was the biggest gap of all since their last one, Bohs last title before early 2000's was 1978, and even Pats last year was a fair wait to their last one. Finally, Sligo in 2011 was only their second (I think) and first since 1977. So taking all into account, damn right we are still enjoying it.

Back on topic, Jake Kelly to be announced tomorrow and Mountney too as re-signed, just need a replacement for Hoban and Towell to decide, then one more MF man and we should be all set.

mcgonigle
01/12/2014, 9:01 PM

Ah Jaysus cheer up there D24. Only a bit of fun. I disagree with the big head comment though, we can't be big headed when we have the greatest team to ever play football on this island!

sidcon
01/12/2014, 9:09 PM
Signed: Kealan Dillon (Athlone Town), Lorcan Fitzgerald (St Patrick’s Athletic), Marc Griffin (Dundalk), Dylan Hayes (Athlone Town), Dean Kelly (Shamrock Rovers).

Re-signed: Stephen Best, Keith Buckley, Dan Byrne, Jason Byrne, Dean Delany, Adam Evans, Jake Hyland, Patrick Kavanagh, Roberto Lopes, Karl Moore, Anto Murphy, Derek Pender.

01/12/2014, 9:13 PM
Jake Kelly to sign soon and Mountney to re-sign for Dundalk.
McDermott gone and Griffin off to Bohs.Towell a wait & see.

http://www.dundalkdemocrat.ie/sport/soccer/dundalk-still-waiting-on-towell-1-6449643

01/12/2014, 9:29 PM
Where's McDermott gone? He's a weird one - bags of talent but unlucky to sign for a team where the strongest XI was pretty much nailed on and there was no route in. Hopefully he doesn't drop out of football entirely.

On Towell, it's been great craic watching the ITK crowd on Facebook. Regardless of what PS says, there are plenty of Pats fans convinced he was signing with them, on the basis of some jokes about his Inchicore granny, and for some reason loads of Dundalk fans convinced he was going around Dundalk a few weeks ago telling everyone he'd signed a new contract but was going on holiday to Vegas before anything was announced.

PartySaint
01/12/2014, 9:35 PM
Where's McDermott gone? He's a weird one - bags of talent but unlucky to sign for a team where the strongest XI was pretty much nailed on and there was no route in. Hopefully he doesn't drop out of football entirely.

On Towell, it's been great craic watching the ITK crowd on Facebook. Regardless of what PS says, there are plenty of Pats fans convinced he was signing with them, on the basis of some jokes about his Inchicore granny, and for some reason loads of Dundalk fans convinced he was going around Dundalk a few weeks ago telling everyone he'd signed a new contract but was going on holiday to Vegas before anything was announced.

I genuinely haven't seen any Pats fans who believed he was coming to us. He's from Inchicore himself not sure where he's granny is from

cobhlad
01/12/2014, 9:51 PM
Robert Birdsall and Craig Burns sign for Waterford from Cobh. Had been expected. Two decent players and will be badly missed. Not looking good for next season again sadly

dundalkfc10
01/12/2014, 9:53 PM

McDermott had about 3/4 good performances (Rovers away on his debut, Hadjuk Split and 1 or 2 more) Rest of the team, he was a tad lazy and got booked in at least 70% of games he played (he would be booked minutes after coming on as a sub for stupid tackles) He has bags of talent. Id think he would need a team to be built around him, could do a decent job at alot of clubs.

As for lads going around in Dundalk saying signed a contract (that would come from Maxi and only be said by clowns) Towell has publicy stated on a few occasions since we won the league, that if he is playing in Ireland next season it will be at Dundalk.

01/12/2014, 10:02 PM
I genuinely haven't seen any Pats fans who believed he was coming to us. He's from Inchicore himself not sure where he's granny is from
Like I said, it's from Facebook (and Twitter) where lads are passing on things they've heard as gospel. You know as well as I do the amount of nonsense people talk as if they have an inside track.

McDermott had about 3/4 good performances (Rovers away on his debut, Hadjuk Split and 1 or 2 more) Rest of the team, he was a tad lazy and got booked in at least 70% of games he played (he would be booked minutes after coming on as a sub for stupid tackles) He has bags of talent. Id think he would need a team to be built around him, could do a decent job at alot of clubs.
I watched him a couple of times in England and it was obvious the talent he had, and obviously when he came on against Rovers he just had that bit of class. From what I've seen and heard, I'm not sure he'd be a player you build around either as he's not the very professional and driven Towell-type player and not as naturally gifted as Quigley, but he's a player you want to see in the league.

jinxy lilywhite
01/12/2014, 11:15 PM
McDermott was the only frustrating thing in the Dundalk side this year. The getting booked and moving around the pitch in that half jogging motion like pretending to give a **** ****ed me off.

Question to ask out there? How happy or disappointed are you so far with your clubs signings?

01/12/2014, 11:17 PM

Flattered to deceive.Bounced out of the traps 1st match v Sh.Rovers and that was it!!
Attitude sucked and picked up a lot of silly yellow cards for us.No tears lost in Dundalk over his leaving but a good talent for LOI if some manager can get him going properly.

01/12/2014, 11:22 PM
Flattered to deceive.Bounced out of the traps 1st match v Sh.Rovers and that was it!!
Attitude sucked and picked up a lot of silly yellow cards for us.No tears lost in Dundalk over his leaving but a good talent for LOI if some manager can get him going properly.

McDermott was the only frustrating thing in the Dundalk side this year. The getting booked and moving around the pitch in that half jogging motion like pretending to give a **** ****ed me off.
So is he a Quigley or just a chronic waster?

Question to ask out there? How happy or disappointed are you so far with your clubs signings?
Pretty happy. Midfield is better with Fahey. The most important signing was always going to be Barry Murphy and a two-year deal means we don't have to worry about that. We all know how talented North is but his fitness and desire has been sketchy in the past, and we definitely need two more strikers at least.

wonder88
02/12/2014, 12:01 AM
Fahey took a pay cut after leaving Pats, I had doubts when Crolly claimed the budget he had was only 4th biggest in the league, but he might have been right after all.

ger121
02/12/2014, 12:08 AM
Fahey took a pay cut after leaving Pats, I had doubts when Crolly claimed the budget he had was only 4th biggest in the league, but he might have been right after all.

You don't really believe that do you? Why would you leave one club for another, for less money. It's not like he was having a bad time at Pat's. You or me wouldn't leave our jobs for one that paid less so neither would Fahey.