View Full Version : Transfer Rumours 2015
Nah Nah Nah Nah
02/12/2014, 7:37 AM
Fahey took a pay cut after leaving Pats, I had doubts when Crolly claimed the budget he had was only 4th biggest in the league, but he might have been right after all.
Didn't he claim when he joined Pats last year that he had turned down a bigger offer from Shams at that time as well?
Feck. Harps should have offered €100 a week and we'd have got him for sure.
White Horse
02/12/2014, 9:19 AM
So is he a Quigley or just a chronic waster?
I thought that he wasn't fit enough and became frustrated that he couldn't impose himself on games.
02/12/2014, 9:36 AM
You don't really believe that do you?
Well it's quite simple if nobody was offering him the same terms as last year.
Dundalk keen on Patterson according to this: http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/dundalk-keen-on-snapping-up-patterson-and-quigley-30786550.html
He's contracted for another year though, so Dundalk would probably be looking at a sizeable fee.
02/12/2014, 10:09 AM
Dundalk keen on Patterson according to this: http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/dundalk-keen-on-snapping-up-patterson-and-quigley-30786550.html
He's contracted for another year though, so Dundalk would probably be looking at a sizeable fee.
Derry want to reduce their wage bill so wouldn't be surprised if they just let him move.
dundalkfc10
02/12/2014, 10:21 AM
Derry want to reduce their wage bill so wouldn't be surprised if they just let him move.
Kenny is in local paper today and has said he wasnt speaking too or thinking about signing Patterson when it was put to him (said the same about Quigley).
DundalkDemocrat can't find the link on my phone
02/12/2014, 10:22 AM
If he became available I think Kenny could change his mind. He needs a striker, if he can't get one somewhere else Patterson could come into his thoughts, as he would Rovers and any other club needing a goalscorer.
02/12/2014, 10:23 AM
Kenny is in local paper today and has said he went been speaking to or thinking about Patterson.
Here you go ;)
Two potential targets that could certainly be labelled as high profile are former Lilywhites terrace favourite Mark Quigley and Derry City hitman Rory Patterson. Mondays Irish Independent had both players linked with a move to Oriel Park to replace Patrick Hoban but Kenny said that a move for a striker was some way off.We arent close to signing anybody there and I havent spoken to those two players, he said.
We have David McMillan, who we feel is capable of scoring a lot more goals, but we do want to add to that. We are widening our net and having a look to see whats available elsewhere.
http://www.dundalkdemocrat.ie/sport/soccer/dundalk-still-waiting-on-towell-1-6449643
dundalkfc10
02/12/2014, 10:23 AM
True but he's a scumbag off the field. Can't see him ending up here (hopefully)
02/12/2014, 10:24 AM
If he became available I think Kenny could change his mind. He needs a striker, if he can't get one somewhere else Patterson could come into his thoughts, as he would Rovers and any other club needing a goalscorer.
Of course.
redobit
02/12/2014, 12:09 PM
He could just sit on his contract either. Could Derry afford a pay-off would be the next question.
Ezeikial
02/12/2014, 12:17 PM
Kenny is in local paper today and has said he wasnt speaking too or thinking about signing Patterson when it was put to him (said the same about Quigley).
Not quite - we did not say he was not interested, just that at this point he had not spoken with either Patterson or Quigley. He may well have checked out the situation with Derry
02/12/2014, 12:20 PM
He could just sit on his contract either. Could Derry afford a pay-off would be the next question.
It'd be cheaper to pay him off than let him sit on it. But despite his reputation as a lazy player, he doesn't seem the type. Spending a year sitting on his arse, if it came to that, wouldn't do much for his ability to earn a wage in future.
Ezeikial
02/12/2014, 12:33 PM
I watched him a couple of times in England and it was obvious the talent he had, and obviously when he came on against Rovers he just had that bit of class. From what I've seen and heard, I'm not sure he'd be a player you build around either as he's not the very professional and driven Towell-type player and not as naturally gifted as Quigley, but he's a player you want to see in the league.
So is he a Quigley or just a chronic waster?
Donal McDermot got a reasonable amount of game time and has shown glimpses of his talent.
His fitness levels would have counted against him as he had not played any football for some months before coming to Dundalk. The absence of a pre-season fitness regime and no B team football to sharpen fitness meant it was always going to be difficult for supporters to see his full potential.
However, Stephen Kenny would have had the opportunity to assess his attitude and character along with making a call on his ability and willingness to get to the required fitness levals.
The fact that he has not been signed up for 2015 probably tells its own story.
colonelwest
02/12/2014, 12:58 PM
Donal McDermot got a reasonable amount of game time and has shown glimpses of his talent.
His fitness levels would have counted against him as he had not played any football for some months before coming to Dundalk. The absence of a pre-season fitness regime and no B team football to sharpen fitness meant it was always going to be difficult for supporters to see his full potential.
However, Stephen Kenny would have had the opportunity to assess his attitude and character along with making a call on his ability and willingness to get to the required fitness levals.
The fact that he has not been signed up for 2015 probably tells its own story.
McDermott's supposed to be signing up for the army to be fair to the lad.
Ezeikial
02/12/2014, 1:19 PM
McDermott's supposed to be signing up for the army to be fair to the lad.
With a 3 star private starting at €360 and rising to €385 in year 3 this is hardly a quantum leap upwards from League of Ireland
02/12/2014, 1:37 PM
At least it'll get him fit
ger121
02/12/2014, 2:20 PM
Well it's quite simple if nobody was offering him the same terms as last year.
Seriously Charlie, you're not trying to spin that one are you? If anyone else said the same about one of their players, I'm sure your thinking wouldn't be along the same lines.
ger121
02/12/2014, 2:24 PM
Rumour mill on social media doing the rounds that Towell gone to Blackpool. Was on local radio up in Dundalk, supposedly
02/12/2014, 2:29 PM
Seriously Charlie, you're not trying to spin that one are you? If anyone else said the same about one of their players, I'm sure your thinking wouldn't be along the same lines.
It's not spin, it's basic logic.
Look, Pats didn't offer him the same terms as last year. Now, that doesn't mean that Rovers didn't completely **** the bed and offer him double what he got last year, but it's pretty unlikely as he's not in a position to drive a hard bargain. He's had no offers from the UK and none of the other clubs in the league were in for him. If you reckon he's getting insane money, then fine.
02/12/2014, 2:32 PM
Rumour mill on social media doing the rounds that Towell gone to Blackpool. Was on local radio up in Dundalk, supposedly
Heard Nottm Forest here.
Peter Hutton rubbished rumours linking Patterson away saying he's contracted for another year and is staying with us. Said he wished Rory contacted him about his future before going to the Journal
ger121
02/12/2014, 3:34 PM
It's not spin, it's basic logic.
Look, Pats didn't offer him the same terms as last year. Now, that doesn't mean that Rovers didn't completely **** the bed and offer him double what he got last year, but it's pretty unlikely as he's not in a position to drive a hard bargain. He's had no offers from the UK and none of the other clubs in the league were in for him. If you reckon he's getting insane money, then fine.
I don't think he is getting insane money and I never suggested he is. What I did say originally, was that I highly doubt he took a pay cut when he went to Rovers.
02/12/2014, 3:39 PM
I don't think he is getting insane money and I never suggested he is. What I did say originally, was that I highly doubt he took a pay cut when he went to Rovers.
Fair enough. Basic economics suggests a player whose value and demand has dropped will struggle to maintain his wage level, but there are always exceptions.
Football in Ireland isn't basic economics. In fact its the complete opposite of that.
sulywaterfordfc
02/12/2014, 10:27 PM
Given that Shamrock Rovers can offer full time football and Pat's can't must of played some part in Fahey making he's decision.
After all at the beginning of the year he was on the radio moaning about having to go down the park to train. To me I get the impression a nice wage as well as full time football was offered by Rovers and it's simply not something many people will turn down. At the end of the day every football wants to play full time as well as getting a nice wage.
PartySaint
02/12/2014, 10:33 PM
Given that Shamrock Rovers can offer full time football and Pat's can't must of played some part in Fahey making he's decision.
After all at the beginning of the year he was on the radio moaning about having to go down the park to train. To me I get the impression a nice wage as well as full time football was offered by Rovers and it's simply not something many people will turn down. At the end of the day every football wants to play full time as well as getting a nice wage.
Pats train full time.
wonder88
03/12/2014, 1:02 AM
Fahey himself stated in interview with Mail on Sunday that he is on less money now than at Pats. Also seems that Pats were not too pushed in keeping him, which is understandable as he didn't deliver on the hype when he first signed at Inchicore.
Please lets stop the talk about part-time players in the League of Ireland; at least 7 clubs were full-time last season. That is; the players trained during the day and were paid a wage equal too, or greater than the average earnings in the country. The excuse of players not being full-time pros is often used after european games when poor level of fitness compared to opponents is displayed by Irish clubs. I remember Stewi Byrne saying on soccer republic that there is no excuse for a young lad getting 400 euro a week for not being in a proper physical condition and have the basic skill levels of a professional soccer player.
03/12/2014, 1:39 AM
Ah would you go away, 400 euro a wage isn't far above minimum wage. There may be 6 or 7 clubs where the players are "full time" in terms of it being their sole income (for 40 weeks) and they train during the day, but that's not full time in football terms. When you don't have a dedicated workplace, where you train one place and then the club has a deal with a private gym for physical work, where you might have a part-time fitness coach and meals but otherwise you're left to your own devices, it's not full time in any meaningful football sense. The clubs are going the right way, but they have a long way to go.
GypsyBlackCat
03/12/2014, 7:55 AM
No man, someone bought a towel in Blackpool!
Ezeikial
03/12/2014, 8:08 AM
at least 7 clubs were full-time last season. That is; the players trained during the day and were paid a wage equal too, or greater than the average earnings in the country.
That is an interesting interpretation - according to CSO figures the average industrial earning is about €35,000
Do you think there are many LoI players getting €900 a week on 40 week contracts?
. I remember Stewi Byrne saying on soccer republic that there is no excuse for a young lad getting 400 euro a week for not being in a proper physical condition and have the basic skill levels of a professional soccer player.
€400 over 40 weeks is €16,000
A minimum wage worker clocking 36 hours a week would exceed that amount over a full year
GypsyBlackCat
03/12/2014, 8:18 AM
Lorcan Fitzgerald (Pat's)
Marc Griffin (Dundalk)
Dean Kelly (Shams)
Robbie Creevy (UCD)
Robbie Duggan from Peterborough United will join on loan in January.
Rumours that Evan McMillan and Marc Quigley signing for Bohs.
sulywaterfordfc
03/12/2014, 8:21 AM
Pats train full time.
I thought I read a couple of year ago, Pats went to part time due to not be able to sustain the finances to be playing full time ?
Well for me full time means 52 weeks paid employment. If you're not on a 52 week contract then I don't think its full time.
03/12/2014, 9:10 AM
Think it was said at the start of last season that Pats would be going full time with every player.
For Limerick we aren't considered full time but a lot of the players would have been. Folan, Leahy, Lynch, Duggan, Djillali, O'Connor, Oji, Nzuzi, Williams, Ageymang, Abass off the top of my head had no other jobs or college and only played matches, trained and had Gym sessions.
03/12/2014, 9:39 AM
That is an interesting interpretation - according to CSO figures the average industrial earning is about 35,000
Do you think there are many LoI players getting 900 a week on 40 week contracts?
400 over 40 weeks is 16,000
A minimum wage worker clocking 36 hours a week would exceed that amount over a full year
Since when does 35,000 a year equate to 900 a week? It'd end up at 27,000 over a 40 week season, around 675 a week.
Even then, if you ask me, that's grossly over-estimated figures. I know very few people earning that sort of a wage up around here.
400 a week is more than comfortable to live on anywhere outside of Dublin.
I'd chew your hand off for 400 a week at present.
Besides, minimum wage must be a lot larger in Dundalk than it is everywhere else if you think they're taking home more than 400 a week.
I thought I read a couple of year ago, Pats went to part time due to not be able to sustain the finances to be playing full time ?
They went part time in 2009.
Last year wasn't really full time either. They trained during the day but it wasn't every day. Some of them worked side jobs but not many.
Most of the top 6 from last year are the same
Ezeikial
03/12/2014, 10:28 AM
Since when does 35,000 a year equate to 900 a week? It'd end up at 27,000 over a 40 week season, around 675 a week.
Even then, if you ask me, that's grossly over-estimated figures. I know very few people earning that sort of a wage up around here.
400 a week is more than comfortable to live on anywhere outside of Dublin.
I'd chew your hand off for 400 a week at present.
Besides, minimum wage must be a lot larger in Dundalk than it is everywhere else if you think they're taking home more than 400 a week.
Are you always so edgy?
35,000 / 40 weeks = 875
Minimum wage is based on the National Minimum Wage Act of 2000 (http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/2011/en/si/0331.html) and for experienced adults is 8.65 gross per hour
Based on 36 hours per week, this equates to 311.40 per week or just over 16,000 per annum
GypsyBlackCat
03/12/2014, 10:48 AM
Well for me full time means 52 weeks paid employment. If you're not on a 52 week contract then I don't think its full time.
Unless it's been worked on some scheme? Their wages might been split. Your weekly wage is say €700 a week with say 15% being taken off each week for 'savings' from the club so to speak during the off-season and reduce wage i.e 50%. So off-season a player could earn €350+€105=€455 before tax. He'd be making €595 before tax during the season. So he'd be down €140 instead of €350.
I'm not saying this is fact or that any clubs are or should do it. It's just one way I've been looking at it.
Titan
03/12/2014, 11:16 AM
Unless it's been worked on some scheme? Their wages might been split. Your weekly wage is say €700 a week with say 15% being taken off each week for 'savings' from the club so to speak during the off-season and reduce wage i.e 50%. So off-season a player could earn €350+€105=€455 before tax. He'd be making €595 before tax during the season. So he'd be down €140 instead of €350.
I'm not saying this is fact or that any clubs are or should do it. It's just one way I've been looking at it.
Yeah you see that makes sense and would be a mature approach.
You see the problem??😜
oriel
03/12/2014, 12:30 PM
They went part time in 2009.
Last year wasn't really full time either. They trained during the day but it wasn't every day. Some of them worked side jobs but not many.
Most of the top 6 from last year are the same
I think this would pretty much sum up where we were at last season. Not many of the first xi had jobs, and training didn't take place every day but it was 4 or 5 times a week I think. Also I remember reading notes from SK in a match programme and he said something like 'although we are not strictly full time, dont call us part time' So seems to be a mix of both.
03/12/2014, 2:03 PM
Are you always so edgy?
€35,000 / 40 weeks = €875
Minimum wage is based on the National Minimum Wage Act of 2000 (http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/2011/en/si/0331.html) and for experienced adults is €8.65 gross per hour
Based on 36 hours per week, this equates to €311.40 per week or just over €16,000 per annum
Some people call me The Edge. For some sort of copyright reasons beyond me, I'm unable to use this pseudonym however.
I'm basing your 35,000 average wage figure over 52 weeks, which would be an industry standard year. Over the course of a league of Ireland season, they'd not be getting that, as over 40 weeks it would work out around 27,000.
You're right on 311.40 per week too. Not the 400 you stated previously being less than minimum wage worker doing 36 hours a week. That 90 quid could make a huge difference to some families, and is almost 5 grand a year of difference.
My point is, 400 a week is a fierce good wage for a lot of people. I'd wager there's a fair amount of full time footballers on such a wage across the water.
I didn't mean to come across so snappy and I do apologise.
Ezeikial
03/12/2014, 2:20 PM
I'm basing your 35,000 average wage figure over 52 weeks, which would be an industry standard year.
Why?
When in my original post and again subsequently I have clearly spelled it out
That is an interesting interpretation - according to CSO figures the average industrial earning is about 35,000
Do you think there are many LoI players getting 900 a week on 40 week contracts?
You're right on 311.40 per week too. Not the 400 you stated previously being less than minimum wage worker doing 36 hours a week.
Please go back and read it again - I cant be arsed to explain it again
03/12/2014, 2:24 PM
Maybe I'm simply not understanding your wording of the whole thing. I'm not arsed arguing over something so small and irrelevant to this thread.
03/12/2014, 3:27 PM
Maybe I'm simply not understanding your wording of the whole thing. I'm not arsed arguing over something so small and irrelevant to this thread.
The average industrial wage is around an annual €35,000. Football players in Ireland are only contracted for 40 weeks, so to earn the average industrial wage they'd need to be paid almost €900 per week, since most footballers can't just walk straight into an equally well-paying job for 12 weeks and then quit again when football starts again.
paykanti
03/12/2014, 4:10 PM
Jake Kelly is a quality signing for Dundalk. The mid-to-lower table sides should just contribute their best players to build four league dream teams to compete in Europe. Wearen should have gone to one of them but I'll let him off if he wants to bum Owen. By my count, only McEleney, Turner and Benson remain from that pool.
03/12/2014, 4:16 PM
:struggle:
4 dream teams? There can be only one.
https://pbs.twimg.com/profile_images/378800000548894442/07cc8723c6271b42c7b97e31721547c7.jpeg