View Full Version : Euro 2012 Qualifying Group B - General Discussion
07/09/2010, 12:27 PM
At one point, well into the second half, SKY showed that we were on 57% possession vs. 43%. That's quite high.
True enough, I saw that as well, possibly after the hour mark or even later.
end of game stats on skysports.com linked by Tets
Armenia 48.7 Possession Ireland 51.3
47.1 Territorial Advant 52.9
That just goes to demonstrate what a difference going a goal up with 10 minutes remaining, does to our overall possession stats :)
SwanVsDalton
07/09/2010, 3:30 PM
Slovakia go one up in Russia. Stoch, I think, with a great strike after a horror show from the Russian defence.
The Russians have been on top but both sides look like they'll concede.
IsMiseSean
07/09/2010, 3:33 PM
Slovakia go one up in Russia. Stoch, I think, with a great strike after a horror show from the Russian defence.
The Russians have been on top but both sides look like they'll concede.
Have you got a link for the game?
Noelys Guitar
07/09/2010, 3:34 PM
http://entertainmenow.net/channel1.php Arabic commentary Surely more goals in this one.
SwanVsDalton
07/09/2010, 3:35 PM
Have you got a link for the game?
I wouldn't want to post it, but My P2P has all the links.
Sullivinho
07/09/2010, 3:37 PM
Huge result for Slovakia if they can maintain this. Long way to go though.
07/09/2010, 3:40 PM
Slovakia are a goal up in Russia. (stoch 27")
http://www.uefa.com/uefaeuro2012/matches/season=2012/live/day=4/session=1/match=2002217/matchcenterlight/index.html
Sullivinho
07/09/2010, 3:49 PM
http://www.iraqgoals.net/12664-russia-vs-slovakia-.html
SwanVsDalton
07/09/2010, 3:51 PM
Russia 0 - Slovakia 1 (Stoch) HT
It could be 4-2 to Russia, extremely open, fast-paced game. Both sides look great with the ball at their feet, especially Russia, but both are leaving themselves really open at the back. On this evidence we'll have our work cut out against both, but we could frustrate them and nick a goal.
eekers
07/09/2010, 3:52 PM
1-0 at half time. Great first half. Russia playing skillful possession football. They nearly recreated that Argentina goal from the 2006 world cup. Slovakia are very direct going straight for goal when they can. I cant see this staying 1-0 for very long.
Noelys Guitar
07/09/2010, 3:58 PM
Both teams look good going forward. But like both teams first games in this group they find it hard to stick the ball in the net. No way will Trap allow either team the number of chances they have got in this first half against us.. It will be interesting to see how they do when they are working off scraps. 48 mins Russia havejust had a well worked goal disallowed (rightly for offside)
07/09/2010, 4:11 PM
It will be interesting to see how they do when they are working off scraps.Or facing Paul McShane or presented with a Richard Dunne special :)
Brendan 82
07/09/2010, 4:12 PM
What are we looking for here? A draw?
boysingreen
07/09/2010, 4:17 PM
I'd say a draw is the best result. If Slovakia win, then we'll want to win in Russia as well to keep pace... no easy task.
At the same time, a Slovakia win might not be the worst result? Perhaps Armenia can take some points from them at home.. and we'll be gunning for 4 points from them.
if russia do lose, we have an opportunity to mess them up in a serious way by beating them in dublin.
a long way to go yet though. i think a late russia leveller would be best.
07/09/2010, 4:23 PM
Draw would probably suit more
Noelys Guitar
07/09/2010, 4:30 PM
Pav coming on for Russia.
SwanVsDalton
07/09/2010, 4:31 PM
I tell ye what lads it's some game, absolutely frantic end-to-end stuff. Fair play to Slovakia, they arn't looking to sit and instead keep playing quick and direct to hit Russia on the break. Crazy that it's still 1-0. 20 mins to go.
eekers
07/09/2010, 4:31 PM
It really depends on whether we are aiming to win the group or come second. If we want to win the group then 1-0 to Slovakia is the result we want.
SwanVsDalton
07/09/2010, 4:33 PM
True but it just makes the margins so much smaller. A close three horse race means the price of failure is elimination rather than a play-off.
Brendan 82
07/09/2010, 4:35 PM
It really depends on whether we are aiming to win the group or come second. If we want to win the group then 1-0 to Slovakia is the result we want.
How do you figure that?
boysingreen
07/09/2010, 4:36 PM
A Slovakia win will make that injury time winner v. Macedonia all the more sickening. Feck!
Lads a russian loss would be bad news from our point of view.
boysingreen
07/09/2010, 4:38 PM
Have to figure a Russia loss will see them guns a-blazing v. us in October.
07/09/2010, 4:39 PM
What are we looking for here? A draw?
Probably a draw, but if Russia are the better side it might be better if they lose, a Russia win would be
the worst possible outcome I would say.
eekers
07/09/2010, 4:39 PM
How do you figure that?
I think Russia will steamroller the group. The football they have been playing today is outstanding. They could easily be 4 goals up, but have been unbelievably unlucky.
Brendan 82
07/09/2010, 4:40 PM
Lads a russian loss would be bad news from our point of view.
That is what I thought. Slovakia won their last European qualifying group to secure automatic qualification. They then performed well in the World Cup. Now they are winning in Russia. Are they not the best team in the group? Surely we want a Russian equalizer to stop the Slovaks from running away with the group?
SwanVsDalton
07/09/2010, 4:42 PM
That is what I thought. Slovakia won their last European qualifying group to secure automatic qualification. They then performed well in the World Cup. Now they are winning in Russia. Are they not the best team in the group? Surely we want a Russian equalizer to stop the Slovaks from running away with the group?
I'd fancy us more to get a result in Slovakia than Moscow. And I don't think anyone's underestimating Slovakia rather than just believing we're more likely to take points from them.
But I agree, I'd rather a draw or even a Russian win to maintain the status quo. This result really ups the ante for everyone.
Also - watching the match both teams have actually been very good. As said before, if Russia lose this they will be fuming and they will come at us with their considerable attacking talent next month. Although they do look likely to concede goals.
From the point of view of winning the group it already will make things difficult, from the point of view of attaining second it would be a good result. But I dont think any of us want to be aiming for second this time around.
07/09/2010, 4:47 PM
That is what I thought. Slovakia won their last European qualifying group to secure automatic qualification. They then performed well in the World Cup. Now they are winning in Russia. Are they not the best team in the group? Surely we want a Russian equalizer to stop the Slovaks from running away with the group?Of course they're the best team in the group. Can't believe so many think otherwise. We're getting all English and basis our predictions based on GDP size. Slovakia are the momentum team. Draw best result - no brainer in my mind.
Brendan 82
07/09/2010, 4:48 PM
Of course they're the best team in the group. Can't believe so many think otherwise. We're getting all English and basis our predictions based on GDP size. Slovakia are the momentum team. Draw best result - no brainer in my mind.
Thanks. I thought I was going crazy
boovidge
07/09/2010, 4:52 PM
yes, but as someone mentioned earlier, russia have been very unlucky. looks like even making the playoffs is going to be a substantial achievement.
boysingreen
07/09/2010, 4:55 PM
Full time Russia 0-1 Slovakia
SwanVsDalton
Of course they're the best team in the group. Can't believe so many think otherwise. We're getting all English and basis our predictions based on GDP size. Slovakia are the momentum team. Draw best result - no brainer in my mind.
It's not the only thing to base it on though. Pedigree is important, and Russia have it throughout their side. Plenty of these guys were at Euro 08. Plus a lot of smaller teams often come off a successful major tournament only to have a stinking qualifying campaign (such as us 02-03). Although they do appear to be curiously underrated I still fancy our chances against them more than the Russians.
Brendan 82
We could deliver a hammer blow to Russia now by beating them in Dublin
Noelys Guitar
07/09/2010, 4:56 PM
Dick out of a job tomorrow? Should really be 2-0 to the Slovaks. Slovakia have had two great chances in the last few mins. Russia huffing and puffing and never really look like scoring. For all their flair going forward they still have too many mediocre players along with their couple of great players. Apart from one free kick and one cross field ball the Slovak keeper has not had a save to make. Best team won IMO. And both defences are going to have a real problem dealing with Kevin Doyle. Sort out our left back problem and we can win this group
07/09/2010, 4:57 PM
So Slovakia win then. Russia will be doubly determined in Dublin in October.
If Trap really was a lucky manager (take note David Kelly) other results would go his way. They didn't last time and they haven't done so yet in the group.
07/09/2010, 5:00 PM
Russia looks like a work-in-progress to me - ie still adjusting to life under Dick Advocaat. I think we have a good chance of getting the better of them.
Slovakia are functional. No great shakes but they won't be easily beaten. But nothing to fear either.
Noelys Guitar
07/09/2010, 5:06 PM
Slovakia have had the breaks in this group so far. But we should be leading the group come 5pm. We can kill off Russia in October and our record against them down the years has been good. Should be a great match with them now having to win the game. I would have prefered a draw in the game today but who knows what the result of todays game will mean come the end of the group.
07/09/2010, 5:07 PM
We could deliver a hammer blow to Russia now by beating them in Dublin
Lol I expect a hammer blow will be dealt one way or another, I just hope we are on the right end of the hammer :D
07/09/2010, 5:08 PM
Will it be an inflatable hammer?
Noelys Guitar
07/09/2010, 5:11 PM
it will be interesting to see how Armenia do against Macedonia. I thought Macedonia were very unlucky to lose against Slovakia on Friday (sending off changed the game completely).
07/09/2010, 5:12 PM
This could either be a very good result for us or a very bad one.
All depends on the results we get really. First or third for us.
07/09/2010, 5:26 PM
A win next month, won't kill off the Russians. Too early in the group for that, and they have 4 of their last 6 games at home.
07/09/2010, 5:27 PM
it will be interesting to see how Armenia do against Macedonia. I thought Macedonia were very unlucky to lose against Slovakia on Friday (sending off changed the game completely).
Ideally we would like to see Armenia get a result of some kind showing they are a decent side.
If they get thrashed it won't look too good for us. A Draw would be OK.
In a sense it means beating Slovakia now will be more important that beating Russia. I always wouldve fancied our chances of beating the Slovaks in comparison to beating Russia. Anyways lets do our own job first, off to the game now. 3-0 win.
Scooby Doo
07/09/2010, 5:39 PM
An absolutely dreadful result for Russia. Slovakia will be flying high after 6 points from two of their three most difficult away games. Lets hope they don't make it three out of three! Its still very, very early in the group but I suspect anything but a win for Ireland against them might see us scrapping it out with Arshavin and Co for second place. Then again, we still have to be quietly confident of getting four points from Slovakia.
Its gonna be a long few weeks till October 8th!
boysingreen
07/09/2010, 5:48 PM
Slovakia will be flying high after 6 points from two of their three most difficult away games.
Their win against Macedonia was in Slovakia mate! Russia was their first away fixture. So they still have to travel to Macedonia, Armenia, and Dublin.
rebelmusic
07/09/2010, 5:51 PM
Is 4 points against both teams good for us, or does it hand first place to Slovakia? Me brain no like maths
Scooby Doo
07/09/2010, 6:07 PM
Their win against Macedonia was in Slovakia mate! Russia was their first away fixture. So they still have to travel to Macedonia, Armenia, and Dublin.
Cheers for the correction. :)