View Full Version : Euro 2012 Qualifying Group B - General Discussion

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29

06/02/2011, 9:27 PM
A little bit, but they're mainly upset with Turkey and Azerbaijan.

I was aware of azerbaijan too, is it azerbaijan that has its border closed off to turkey?

Anyway point is, would irish players be bought? We are a very honest, catholic god fearing peoples though :)

06/02/2011, 9:29 PM
Head up to the border Ardeebhoy. Remember the Azeri's regularly send in troops across the border and there are regular threats against Armenia from that side. The Armenians aren't blameless, they can be eejits as well, but the Azeri's really want to give them a tonking and are trying to outdo them in everything - the latest 2 are tennis and chess, mad as that sounds.

well at least its all sporting. we just need azerbajian to beat russia in a friendly then.

06/02/2011, 9:33 PM
I was aware of azerbaijan too, is it azerbaijan that has its border closed off to turkey?

Anyway point is, would irish players be bought? We are a very honest, catholic god fearing peoples though :)
It'd have to be silly money. The Armenian players are mostly at second-tier Russian clubs with only a couple at big European teams. All of our players are on multi-million pound Premier League contracts.

06/02/2011, 9:39 PM
I know, i had a feeling you were going to say that, i was more speaking in the past or hypothetically speaking.

07/02/2011, 1:50 AM
It's really hard to gauge Armenia. We dealt with them very comfortably, I felt, but Slovakia were torn apart by them even though they seemed fairly solid when we played them.

Ah no, you can't say that. Apparantly according to most observers, we're useless, hopeless, gutless has-beens who couldn't kick snow off a rope, and Trap is on the brink.

The evidence for the assessment: A bad 60 minutes at home to Russia. :rolleyes:

We're still well in contention for the group, and are perfectly capable of winning the next 3 games before going to Moscow. Meanwhile, Russia have to go to Armenia and Slovakia, and at least match the results we got.

07/02/2011, 3:19 AM
Ah no, you can't say that. Apparantly according to most observers, we're useless, hopeless, gutless has-beens who couldn't kick snow off a rope, and Trap is on the brink.

We're still well in contention for the group, and are perfectly capable of winning the next 3 games before going to Moscow. Meanwhile, Russia have to go to Armenia and Slovakia, and at least match the results we got.

lets see what happens in the next three games and then Moscow before you start rolling your eyes.

Spudulika
07/02/2011, 3:13 PM

No, Armenia's border has yet to re-open (note the political language, this is what the official statement is).

I'm with mypost on how Ireland's chances were written off after a poor hour against Russia. They were solid against a good Armenia side away, did the job against Andorra, and got their tactics wrong or froze or both against Russia. Russia are a poor side, I said it before and stick to it. They're flattering to deceive and should have lost to Macedonia, were dreadful against a poor Slovakia side, and against Andorra, it was almost embarrassing. Ireland have a chance, a big chance, I just hope they'll grab it.

07/02/2011, 5:22 PM
I also still believe that the point won in Zilina was a good result, and may well stand to us over the next 8 months.

Whether we should have won or not is another matter, but we had to get out of there with something and did.

07/02/2011, 5:41 PM
We'd have taken it when the draw was announced but given how the game went it was frustrating only to get one. We just need to shake off the "decent away win" hoodoo. Armenia was good, but not what I'm talking about.

07/02/2011, 5:53 PM
I hate this talk.we would have been happy with a point and that's the problem.a very weakened already over rated team who were torn apart by a one man Armenian team -as we proved-and ppl say its great to get a point.

07/02/2011, 7:02 PM
We'd have taken it when the draw was announced but given how the game went it was frustrating only to get one.

If we win our home games and get a point at all the others, we'd have 20 points. That's more than enough to make the top 2 in most groups. I wasn't disappointed to get the point, as we had to soak up a lot of pressure after half time, similiar to the point we got in Bulgaria 2 years ago.

We have lost one home game, so have Russia, but we went to Slovakia and got the point we needed to stay in touch with them. Now lets see if Russia can go and get 4 points in Armenia and Slovakia as we did. If they get them, they'll keep pace with us. If they don't, we're back in contention for direct qualification.

07/02/2011, 7:06 PM
I'd be happy to match Russia's scrappy and fortunate 1-0 win in Macedonia.

Junior
07/02/2011, 9:50 PM
A master stroke by Delaney - I expect a very spirited score draw between Russia and Armenia now.

4-6 points a must in March/June.

I'm feeling optimistic.

07/02/2011, 10:16 PM
to hell with it, no looking past the next round of matches. Look after our own result one at a time and then see what happens to the others. We just need to beat Macedonia to keep the show on the road. Hopefully Armenia can nick something from the Russians, even a point as it will ensure that they go to Moscow still competitive in the group, something few would have thought to be likely when the fixtures were drawn up.

07/02/2011, 10:53 PM

So you believe that prior to the defeat at home to Russia, nobody was levelling any such criticism at Trapattoni? It all started after that?

08/02/2011, 9:01 AM
Hopefully Armenia can nick something from the Russians, even a point as it will ensure that they go to Moscow still competitive in the group, something few would have thought to be likely when the fixtures were drawn up.

Russia are home first. Have to play their home games sometime.

So you believe that prior to the defeat at home to Russia, nobody was levelling any such criticism at Trapattoni? It all started after that?

After the first 2 wins, most were content with how the team was doing. Most were saying how we could (we actually couldn't) put the Russians out of the running with a win here. Then we had a hard time against the Russians for a while and the toys have been fired out of the pram ever since. I was happy enough with the point in Zilina, if we'd lost there, you'd understand the aggro. There's 6 games to go and we're doing ok. Not perfect mind, but we'll be there or thereabouts c8pm on October 11.

Noelys Guitar
08/02/2011, 10:08 PM
Macedonia are home to Cameroon tomorrow and should be worth a look.

08/02/2011, 10:17 PM
Russia are home first. Have to play their home games sometime.

http://www.uefa.com/uefaeuro2012/standings/round=15171/group=700958/index.html
Uefa say otherwise....

08/02/2011, 10:58 PM
Kingdom, I think you gain some morsels of pleasure when you can factually correct something Mypost has written.

08/02/2011, 11:37 PM
http://www.uefa.com/uefaeuro2012/standings/round=15171/group=700958/index.html
Uefa say otherwise....

Indeed they do, but other fixture websites, e.g. Eurosport, Macedonia FA, have Russia at home first. :confused:

Spudulika
09/02/2011, 7:01 AM
Some good news from the Eastern Front, Kerzhakov went on the bottle big time over the winter break (pictured in the Russian yellow papers) and is in dispute with Zenit after they didn't allow him a move in January - no mention of who was in for him though there were discussions. He caught fire at the end of the season and was knocking in goals against weaker sides, but his confidence was up when he played us, and nobody stuck a boot in him to settle him down. So if this continues then Russia effectively lose their main threat. Here's hoping. They've Iran tonight out in Dubai, so it'll be interesting to see how they line up.

Yard of Pace
09/02/2011, 2:15 PM
Armenia beaten at home 1-2 by our old pals Georgia today. Macedonia have a rather exotic clash against the Cameroonians later.

DannyInvincible
09/02/2011, 5:21 PM
A "fairly unexperimental" Russian side were beaten 1-0 by Iran this evening in Dubai, falling victim to a last-minute goal.

Match report here: http://www.goal.com/en/match/57314/iran-vs-russia/report

09/02/2011, 5:40 PM
An objective comment about the Armenia Georgia game from a fan

Vracu baxt (The luck of a Georgian) !!! Armenians played the football-the Geo's scored the goals...Goe's look like the greeks in Euro2004. They don't even play, they just defend, foul and defend again, till something wrong happens on the other end of the pitch.
Well Done Armenians ! Proud of you, really am. Armo's played well, though they need to defend better, ...and we really need a goalkeeper other than the one that played today...
Udacha kak u gruzina...Though it Was Armenians Who played The Football !!!

Hibs4Ever
09/02/2011, 8:00 PM
Slovakia losing 2-1 to Luxembourg with 5 minutes left

09/02/2011, 8:05 PM
Slovakia losing 2-1 to Luxembourg with 5 minutes left

The mighty slovakians that we were so happy to get a point according to most of the posters on here.

Hibs4Ever
09/02/2011, 8:11 PM
Result, 2-1 to Luxembourg. Slovakia were 1-0 up too

abcd
09/02/2011, 8:22 PM
Andorra lost 2-1 away to Moldova. Moldova got the winner on 90 minutes to complete a bad night for our group rivals.

09/02/2011, 8:37 PM
The mighty slovakians that we were so happy to get a point according to most of the posters on here."so happy". "most". Really?

The same France team you've been so intent on rubbishing lately have just beaten Brazil. Are they brilliant again all of a sudden? Are Brazil now sh1t?

C'mon Paul, you're a grand lad and I love you dearly, but you need to get laid or something. You've been nothing but negativity and gloom lately.

09/02/2011, 8:55 PM
"so happy". "most". Really?

ya, the more vocal ones and frequent(probably the better word) - got to last 16 world cup, beat russia etc etc not the fact they were missing key players and had lost to armenia 3 -1 and could have lost 6 -1, all thats old ground though so no point going on again - like you and tets etc.

09/02/2011, 9:40 PM
I was disappointed with the Slovakia result. They were there for the taking in zilina as far as I was concerned.

09/02/2011, 9:55 PM
Yes so was I, a long list of games that over the last few years we should have won, but particularly this one as there were so many factors in our favour.

Imagine heading into the home game against macedonia 2 points ahead of everyone else, knowing that if we win we could potentially be 5 points ahead. And mores the point the loss at home to russia not really mattering.

09/02/2011, 10:02 PM
Yes so was I, a long list of games that over the last few years we should have won, but particularly this one as there were so many factors in our favour.

Imagine heading into the home game against macedonia 2 points ahead of everyone else, knowing that if we win we could potentially be 5 points ahead. And mores the point the loss at home to russia not really mattering.

Well we'd still be level with Russia though.
At least we can be glad that the group is still wide open and every team has shown a few chinks that can be exploited.

09/02/2011, 10:13 PM
Well we'd still be level with Russia though.
At least we can be glad that the group is still wide open and every team has shown a few chinks that can be exploited.

ya sorry my mistake.

09/02/2011, 10:32 PM
C.mon Paul, you're a grand lad and I love you dearly, but you need to get laid or something.
That sounds like an offer to me!

Closed Account 2
09/02/2011, 11:27 PM
Russia highlights, the commentator is going mental at the bad defending - they have given the Iranians the freedom of their penalty area for the goal

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TJqOsB_AIX8

Luxembourg Slovakia was nearly called off apparently it got so foggy you could hardly see it on tv.

10/02/2011, 12:47 AM

What factors?

If we're losing the marbles over getting a vital point in Slovakia, the Slovaks and Russians must be starting riots over the games they got no points at all in. There are 10 games in the group, there will be points dropped. Nobody is going to get 30 points, never mind us.

If you want a game we should have won, it was the game in 2007, when Staunton decided to get us to hang around the corner flag with 10 minutes to go instead of try to win 3-1, and we ended up drawing 2-2 in the last minute. Now that was definitely 2 points thrown away.

Spudulika
10/02/2011, 5:00 AM
Russia highlights, the commentator is going mental at the bad defending - they have given the Iranians the freedom of their penalty area for the goal

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TJqOsB_AIX8

Luxembourg Slovakia was nearly called off apparently it got so foggy you could hardly see it on tv.

Russia should have been home and dry before half time, lots of chances but the boys had been on the razz. It's in the media here today. Arshavin was good in fits and starts but didn't seem to care. Iran looked awful and struggled to get forward, they took their one good chance (out of 3) and it was so late it was shocking. The Russian defence, when pressured, were weak as always. I don't think the coach is capable of admitting defeat or bringing in better players, better for Ireland. But overall it was a bunch of players in pre-season mode on a jolly up and they played that way.

Hibs4Ever
10/02/2011, 5:11 AM

Definitely should have been called off. Was impossible trying to watch it.

10/02/2011, 8:33 AM
Yes so was II was disappointed too, very much so. My point was that the performance was OK though and was good enough to win the game. I've seen plenty of teams play worse and win. NI in Slovenia for example.

10/02/2011, 9:22 AM
I spose stutts, it just gets frustrating time and time again the attitude of build up to the game, seriouslly there is a serious trend/pattern* of around a 7 day period before and after a qualifier. The usual is positive from the start thinking this is our real chance etc etc. Then we seem to be disappointed but happy enough(halfway through the trend) with a point, and then the final day is a summarisation or conclusion and going forward where we see ourselves. This just gets very frustrating as its the same old crap when it shouldn't be. On another post you and a couple of others mentioned that football stats are a misnomer/anomaly and don't really relate to fairly to individuals or even teams, and I agree somewhat with this point. BUt at the same time then you cant go back and use stats on a run of results for a team 2 years in the past. At the end of the day as I say(oleary) if we are capable of beating a team, we should be doing it, accepting anything less should not be acceptable.

10/02/2011, 10:13 AM
We're 24 years without a "proper" away win. That's one stat I do completely believe in. Israel and Slovakia were among the most frustrating in that regard. The Slovakia result was really disappointing, especially with the chances we had, but the performance wasn't. It happens, it just happens to us too much.

Wolfie
10/02/2011, 1:01 PM
I spose stutts, it just gets frustrating time and time again the attitude of build up to the game, seriouslly there is a serious trend/pattern* of around a 7 day period before and after a qualifier. The usual is positive from the start thinking this is our real chance etc etc. Then we seem to be disappointed but happy enough(halfway through the trend) with a point, and then the final day is a summarisation or conclusion and going forward where we see ourselves. This just gets very frustrating as its the same old crap when it shouldn't be.

I think this can be explained by virtue of the fact that most of us who post are devoted fans of the team.

Therefore, when we get disappointing performances and/or results there can be a certain lack of clinical detachment in how we initially view and feel about the game.

As threads develop an element of consensus usually begins to emerge - except any involving our friends from NI.

10/02/2011, 3:02 PM
Slovakia were poor enough against us, I was surprised at how disorganised they were.
Maybe that was down to us, but I have my doubts.

Sullivinho
10/02/2011, 3:41 PM
Slovakia were poor enough against us, I was surprised at how disorganised they were.
Maybe that was down to us, but I have my doubts.

They were a mixed bag at the World Cup too. Wouldn't know what to expect from them in Dublin.

10/02/2011, 4:12 PM
Kingdom, I think you gain some morsels of pleasure when you can factually correct something Mypost has written.

Nah, I just get nervous waiting for someone to pull me up for making messing up!

Noelys Guitar
10/02/2011, 6:45 PM
Giles on Newstalk suggesting Coleman should start on the right side of midfield and is a better player than Lawerence, McGeady or Hunt. Duff should be playing upfront alongside the center forward with McGeady playing outside left.

SwanVsDalton
10/02/2011, 6:59 PM
Giles on Newstalk suggesting Coleman should start on the right side of midfield and is a better player than Lawerence, McGeady or Hunt. Duff should be playing upfront alongside the center forward with McGeady playing outside left.

Urgh. Have no desire to go back to 2005.

10/02/2011, 7:36 PM
Agreed. I think he may well be right on Coleman, though as Geysir points out, how referees let him away with some fouls in the box is quite a skill. But no way should Duffer play upfront. I think one of the reasons we actually passed the ball OK on Tuesday is because Duffer was always making himself available. I've noticed this in other games too, very notably in Bulgaria last time out.

10/02/2011, 7:50 PM
Giles was more positive about Coleman than Clark which is fair enough
Thing is, we are more desperate for a full back than a RM.
i'd say Clark's performance had more impact, pound for pound, on our team.