View Full Version : Euro 2012 Qualifying Group B - General Discussion

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 [19] 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29

AlaskaFox
08/06/2011, 9:44 AM
I couldn't give a crap if we play terrible football as long as we win. Doing well defensively is always an aspiration too.

08/06/2011, 10:12 AM
Struggled to put finger to keyboard in any meaningful sense after one of the best weeks of my life.

Pretty much throughout this group I've championed the merits of focussing on each game as it comes, and looking for the result on the night that is acceptable. Last Sat was no different. I've only been able to look at the pre match analysis and about 42 mins of the first half. I was surprised at the pessimism of the studio. I've never seen or heard an Irish crowd as confident over a tricky away game. Not one person mentioned taking a draw that I spoke to - all were of the belief that we'd go for the win and get it. Thankfully we did.

We've essentially 4 finals to finish with - no different to Russia or Slovakia.

On another Irish footie forum, the Irish team, the Aviva, and a combination of the two have been blamed on a poor atmosphere in D4. That we've needed a "big" game to set the stage (despite hosting Russia already). Well gents, that big game has arrived. It's next autumn vs the Slovaks. It's the pivotal game in the group. The outcome of the game changes how Russia, Ireland and Slovakia all approach the remaining head to heads. It should be a superb atmosphere, and all things being fair and equal, I've no doubt if we play with an ounce of what we can, we'll take the Slovaks. They aren't in anyway hectic. I'm extremely confident of that. Win and it changes everything for the group.

While I'm not engaging in what will happen in our group, I do speculate on other groups and it does look like Sweden will take the automatic runners up spot. They're in an extremely weak group and while they have a tricky one in Budapest, they should have enough to take them over the line. After them it's all up in the air in most of the other groups.

If it were to play out that we got a play off spot,

A - Between Belgium & Turkey. On the face of it, Turkey should sneak it - would prefer to avoid either of them, Belgium especially, they are going to be massive over the next decade.
C - 1 of Slovenia, Serbia & The North. Our neighbours still have Est h&a and the Faroes in Windsor, With the Serbs in Windsor too. They have a real chance - as the others all have games against each other - Would take Slovenia, and the North, but not Serbia.
D - Toss up between BosHerz, Belarus & Romania. BHZ/Bel double header still to come, might allow Romania to sneak in. Would take anyone of this group.
E - Sweden all the way, automatic too.
F - One of Greece Croatia and possibly Israel. - One to avoid.
G - Montenegro in the driving seat. Swiss could pip them in the end (last game is Swiss v Mont @ Basel.) Would take this.
H - One of Portugal, Denmark, Norway. Avoid like the plague.
I - If Scotland beat the Czech's @ Hampden next matchday, they'll take 2nd spot. I wouldn't be unhappy if we got them, but I'd prefer not to.

So, Turkey, Serbia, Bosnia, Sweden, Greece, Switzerland, Denmark, Scotland. Nothing overly formidable, but nothing really fanciable either. The masochist in me wants Switzerland. The thoughts of the Nazi gold chant and it actually having a bit of bite behind it brings me close to climax.

Murfinator
08/06/2011, 10:22 AM
Nothing overly formidable but bar Scotland they're all quite good too and would probably be favoured over us.

08/06/2011, 10:24 AM
I think a big result would captivate the nation though. McCarthy's team didn't really capture attention in terms of the quality of its football, but because they beat Yugoslavia, Croatia and, of course, Holland. Back-to-back victories in September would go some way to getting the nation engaged again. At the moment the jury is still out, but it's mainly because doubts exist about whether we can beat big teams in big games.

You got there before me, and with less rambling too.
The jury is out because we're a nation of event junkies. As stutts says, we can't help the teams we're drawn against, we just have to try and do the best with what we have got. I suspect the calibre of player has something to do with it too - gone are the Uniteds, Liverpools, Evertons of past ireland squads, and to be replaced with Bristol City, WBA, Preston, Coventry, etc. Also it's a tad unfortunate but we're getting close to what should be another bonus for the "Irish" public - a home grown first XI - Given, Josh, Dunne, ODea, Whelan, Andrews, Duff, Keane, Doyle, all grew up here. So much for the "mercenary" tag keeping the fans away.
I don't buy the ticket cost either. I'm almost exclusive in my dwindling group of friends in that i attend matches everytime. Yet my buddies will travel into the city to go to the boozer, spend many hours before kickoff and a few afterwards, far exceeding the cost of a ticket. It doesn't add up.

08/06/2011, 10:44 AM
Nothing overly formidable but bar Scotland they're all quite good too and would probably be favoured over us.

To be fair, I tried being conservative in my choices. The North are probably more favoured over serbia given the fixtures each have, the same with Montengro (Switzwerland) and Belarus (Bosnia). If those three were to get the play off spots it would change things completely with seeding in place. Taking Sweden out of the equation as best qualifiers, there would be a distinct difference between the remainder.

If push came to shove I'd take Turkey, I think we could cope with them, same with Norway if it came to pass they were 2nd. Group F & H are the ones to avoid.
In saying all that, if we keep up our road performances, nobody will want to draw us.

08/06/2011, 10:48 AM
They'd all be winnable, but also very losable. We need to win the group.

NI are in a funny position. They look to be in a poor position but could very easily get second.

What's the Nazi gold chant?

08/06/2011, 10:59 AM
They'd all be winnable, but also very losable. We need to win the group.

NI are in a funny position. They look to be in a poor position but could very easily get second.

What's the Nazi gold chant?

I think there's definitely a hierarchy (for the want of a better word) in who could come second. There's a couple (won't mention them for fear of jinxies) who I'd fancy us time and again against.
As it stands for the North, a draw against Serbia and solidity against the Faroes and Estonia could see them going to Italia knowing they'll come second with nothing to lose. Nice wouldn't it?

As for the Nazi gold, anyone that was in Basel in 03 will remember the smugness with the fake flags and the "Hopp Schweiz" bleating around the ground with 15 mins to go. The worst feeling I've ever had following our lads on the road. Maybe the circumstances of the day had as much to do with it. Anywho, there was a genuinely witty Irish chant that bellowed from our end along the lines of "....where's your nazi gold etc". Nasty? Certainly. Childish? Definitely. Cheaply satisfying. Sure. Did it resonate with the Swiss? Course not, they were going to Portugal, we weren't.

08/06/2011, 11:06 AM
On another Irish footie forum, the Irish team, the Aviva, and a combination of the two have been blamed on a poor atmosphere in D4.

the problem to date with the stadium has been that its only been half full most of the time and fans are too spread out. i also believe that attempts to create atmosphere over the last 10 years have actually had the opposite effect. you cant get atmosphere going before hand or even after we score as the fans are drowned out by terrible, unnecessary and inappropriate music. it wasnt broke pre 2003 when the FAI introduced items like the carlsberg band, post score music etc so it baffles me why they have introduced what they have done.

hopefully a sell-out stadium on a balmy sept friday night vs. slovakia will get the atmosphere going again. to be sure maybe someone could lock the stadium PA into his car for the night. wishful thinking

08/06/2011, 11:07 AM
I'll never forget Frei's goal celebration. If I was Kinsella I'd have decked him.

08/06/2011, 11:20 AM
the problem to date with the stadium has been that its only been half full most of the time and fans are too spread out. i also believe that attempts to create atmosphere over the last 10 years have actually had the opposite effect. you cant get atmosphere going before hand or even after we score as the fans are drowned out by terrible, unnecessary and inappropriate music. it wasnt broke pre 2003 when the FAI introduced items like the carlsberg band, post score music etc so it baffles me why they have introduced what they have done.

hopefully a sell-out stadium on a balmy sept friday night vs. slovakia will get the atmosphere going again. to be sure maybe someone could lock the stadium PA into his car for the night. wishful thinking

I know the SS doesn't envelope everyone, some like me love it. Others detest it. Something everyone seems to all agree on is that the PA, Declan King I believe, is doing something wrong. From what I've heard, that's a view shared from up top, but despite many discussions on the issue, nothing has been done.
Playlists for before the game, and at halftime have been presented to the FAI, but still nothing.

I don't share your opinion JB that all will be alright if the music etc was dropped. If the people of pre 2003 were in the ground, possibly, but they're not. A lot of new people came with Croker, and it's been for the worse.

08/06/2011, 11:29 AM
I don't share your opinion JB that all will be alright if the music etc was dropped. If the people of pre 2003 were in the ground, possibly, but they're not. A lot of new people came with Croker, and it's been for the worse.

i dont believe it would sort it either but it would help.

there is no incentive to get the atmosphere going before the game as we are blared out of it and if there was a good atmosphere before ko more people would arrive earlier and the whole atmosphere could build from there. my memory of my first few matches back in the late 80s is that there was no music pre match (except the garda band that played stuff the crowd sang along to) and the place was rocking for the 10 mins before the teams came out. doesnt happen now and the teams come out to a half empty stadium as there is nothing to turn up early for. all just my opinion really

08/06/2011, 11:34 AM
i dont believe it would sort it either but it would help.

there is no incentive to get the atmosphere going before the game as we are blared out of it and if there was a good atmosphere before ko more people would arrive earlier and the whole atmosphere could build from there. my memory of my first few matches back in the late 80s is that there was no music pre match (except the garda band that played stuff the crowd sang along to) and the place was rocking for the 10 mins before the teams came out. doesnt happen now and the teams come out to a half empty stadium as there is nothing to turn up early for. all just my opinion really

Is the kick off times anything to do with it?
I think most fans have an idea of what time they're gonna leave the pub at, and regardless of congestion, circumstance etc, that's what they do.

08/06/2011, 11:42 AM
Is the kick off times anything to do with it?
I think most fans have an idea of what time they're gonna leave the pub at, and regardless of congestion, circumstance etc, that's what they do.

maybe they would leave the pub earlier if they knew the pre match atmosphere was going to be better than it is now. away match pre match atmosphere is always excellent and you dont see loads of fans arriving just before KO as they dont want to miss the atmosphere. i genuinely believe if the FAI reverted back to what they did on match day pre 2003 it would make at least some difference

08/06/2011, 11:59 AM
maybe they would leave the pub earlier if they knew the pre match atmosphere was going to be better than it is now. away match pre match atmosphere is always excellent and you dont see loads of fans arriving just before KO as they dont want to miss the atmosphere. i genuinely believe if the FAI reverted back to what they did on match day pre 2003 it would make at least some difference

Not trying to be picky, but I don't think the two comparisons are fair. Away supporters are the hard core (most of the time) and will be making a racket anyway. Away supporters also know that getting into foreign grounds can be a hassle either finding them or being messed about by stewards (as we experienced in Macedonia, and I was sober) therefore allow plenty of time too. Finally they've taken the time to travel to the game and probably have been on the gatt for 24 hours or more, therefore the need for that one last pint isn't as great.
Whereas home supporters are more casual (not to generalise but you probably get my drift) or are going to the game after a few jars and the urge to down an extra one or two is greater.

The real reason is probably somewhere in the middle of our two stances, but I really feel there is a flaw amongst our support.

rebelmusic
08/06/2011, 3:29 PM
Out of curiousity, was there ever buses organised to bring people from around the country to matches? I'd love to go to every Ireland game but realistically, it's 60-70 bucks of petrol, the ticket price and then another 80-100 for a hotel which is the bones of 250 notes and then a few pints on top of that! I love irish soccer above all other sport but it's too much to spend. If there was a bus to the stadium for 20 quid up and down i'd be there most games.

08/06/2011, 3:46 PM
Out of curiousity, was there ever buses organised to bring people from around the country to matches? I'd love to go to every Ireland game but realistically, it's 60-70 bucks of petrol, the ticket price and then another 80-100 for a hotel which is the bones of 250 notes and then a few pints on top of that! I love irish soccer above all other sport but it's too much to spend. If there was a bus to the stadium for 20 quid up and down i'd be there most games.

I know a lad in here who can do it even quicker and cheaper by plane... stall the digger whilst I dig out the details...

08/06/2011, 4:12 PM
Just looking at that and I'd have to agree that the very least you'd expect Sweden to finish with is 24 points in the group (18 points in the second-place rankings table). And that would include a loss against Holland in Sweden. They've got Hungary, San Marino and Finland away otherwise. If they slipped up and drew with either Hungary or Finland and went on to lose to Holland, we'd have a very realistic chance, but it's not really that likely, is it?

It's not a write off just yet.
2 wins would be enough for Sweden, but I fancy they will get one win and 2 draws, 17 points at best.
Hungary are still in with a shout and gave Holland a big fright in Amsterdam despite missing a few players suspended.
Finland always have a chance at home and the Dutch will still be up for the last game.

DannyInvincible
08/06/2011, 7:06 PM
There's been talk of NI making second in their group. I wonder would NI fans boycott a play-off game in Lansdowne? Hmm...

rebelmusic
08/06/2011, 10:48 PM
I know a lad in here who can do it even quicker and cheaper by plane... stall the digger whilst I dig out the details...

From Cork - how could he fly back the same night?

gastric
09/06/2011, 12:54 AM
In an ideal world we'd have a successful and entertaining team. It's not an ideal world. We've been sub-standard for 8 years now and I for one am happy to place priority on results. If it doesn't capture the imagination of the casually interested public that doesn't bother me one bit.

We played very entertaining football under Mick. His team selections were imaginative and you always felt he knew who all the available players were. He secured 3 play-off places, including one success. But even before Saipan half the country were calling him a fool and wanted him out - even when he had virtually nothing to work with. It just seems to me that nobody is happy - ever.

I'm not brushing under the carpet the question of whether a less dogmatic approach than Trap's may yield results, but marks for artistic merit aren't awarded by UEFA, only points earned for winning & drawing matches.

Stutts, Another excellent post. Personally, a performance where I really felt completely and utterly involved emotionally was the infamous night in Paris. Our performance was brave, we played attractive football and no neutral spectator could not but support this small country in its efforts to qualify for the biggest sporting event in the world.

I am a child of the 80s where the team did not play attractive football - 'the long ball' era but captivated the nation. It was a time where we began to feel dreams do come true and it started like your name says - in Stuttgart in 88. A time I will never forget!

But to come to my point. An economist, I can't remember who, claimed that the confidence gained from this experience helped pull the economy out of recession in the 80s. Perhaps if this present team can again captivate the nation, it can next year give the country the confidence it so badly needs presently.

Fixer82
09/06/2011, 2:38 AM
But to come to my point. An economist, I can't remember who, claimed that the confidence gained from this experience helped pull the economy out of recession in the 80s. Perhaps if this present team can again captivate the nation, it can next year give the country the confidence it so badly needs presently.

It was Mick Byrne. Notoriously over-affectionate Irish team physio during the glory years

09/06/2011, 3:20 AM
With the benefit of hindsight would people have preferred the fixtures that we are left with as a result of UEFAs random draw or the fixtures that were 90% decided among the 6 associations themselves.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/the-road-to-nowhere-2101188.html

Must say I would have preferred what the associations had (almost) come up with themselves.

Firstly they were more fan friendly with two away double headers (Russia & Armenia) and (Macedonia & Slovakia).

We would have avoided the prospect of the Macedonia in the June heat (granted we past that test)

I would have preferred the current arrangement. Russia/Armenia are not fan friendly destinations, they are hostile environments for players anytime, and having the first 3 games at home would have been ludicrous. About Macedonia, we showed once again, that heat is not a problem for Irish players. We're just better than Scotland.

I think if we don't end up getting a top two position, I will look back at the away game against Slovakia as a massive two points dropped. That was a game that was there for the taking and I think in the last half hour both sides seemed to accept a draw. Its conservatism like that, that is the difference between winning a group or getting a playoff, and in a group as finely balanced as this it could be the difference in coming 2nd or 3rd.

If Russia and Slovakia fail, they'll point to the dropped points in Armenia as a reason. I still believe that the point we got in Slovakia was a good result, and it could be priceless come October. Russia still have to go there and get the same result or better it. Not an easy prospect.

I think that's Armenia out of it now, given they've still to travel to Lansdowne and Bratislava.

Armenia were out of it before a ball was kicked. They've only 1 home game left, which is where they've got most of the points. You need to be good at home and away to qualify.

It would appear that ranking of teams on equal points is based primarily on head-to-head results. Slovakia were top of the group with ten points this afternoon with ourselves and Russia in third and second respectively despite both having a superior goal difference; +3 each compared to Slovakia's +1.

I see, thanks, about time the UEFA site read their own rules then!!

It is a hellishly complicated method even if it is fairer.

Comparing one-leg head-to-head results, is like determining winners from first leg European games. There's still return games to play, and only after them, are the qualifiers determined, not before.

With that in mind, imo we are top now on goals scored, until a) we've played Russia and Slovakia again, and b) if we need to separate the teams on level points after that. Atm, we have a better gd than Slovakia, and more goals scored than Russia, so we are top imo.

Mother of god. Listening to Sadlier and McDonnell on NewsTalk.
McDonnell complains that Trap doesn't go to enough games in England.

Before then, it was the complaining that Trap didn't go to games in England. But we're doing better under Trap than previous coaches who did go to games, so what's the problem?

In our six qualifiers so far, we've only conceded one goal in the second half of matches. That's some top-quality catenaccio.

Which was an own goal.

Out of curiousity, was there ever buses organised to bring people from around the country to matches? If there was a bus to the stadium for 20 quid up and down i'd be there most games.

There's a train station less than a minute walk from the stadium. IE run long-haul trains after most game nights at Lansdowne. If they use the PP tunnel, there's nothing to stop them running a direct service from Cork to Lansdowne.

If of course....

Stutts, Another excellent post. Personally, a performance where I really felt completely and utterly involved emotionally was the infamous night in Paris. Our performance was brave, we played attractive football and no neutral spectator could not but support this small country in its efforts to qualify for the biggest sporting event in the world.

It didn't and it won't. It will however give the nation a boost in morale and something to look forward to next summer, walkouts and "Trap Out" press-hounders permitting.

They've wanted him out, as none of them wanted him here in the first place. Trap doesn't do charisma, he does results. The draw in Paris was the first time, that they appreciated how lucky we are to have one of the world's top football coaches. Then we hit the bar at home to Russia, had a difficult hour after it, and since then, it's been considered trendy again for the public and the press to turn their backs on the team.

gastric
09/06/2011, 7:09 AM
While I acknowledge your point about the economy in the 80s, there is certainly a correlation between the upturn in the economy and the rise in Ireland's soccer fortunes. However, can you explain who you are referring to when you mention ' they'? I hope we are not getting into a 'us' and 'them' mentality as in either you are supportive of Trap or you aren't. Such bu#lsh#t is cheap and divisive.

French Toasht
09/06/2011, 8:27 AM
I would have preferred the current arrangement. Russia/Armenia are not fan friendly destinations, they are hostile environments for players anytime, and having the first 3 games at home would have been ludicrous. About Macedonia, we showed once again, that heat is not a problem for Irish players. We're just better than Scotland.

I think you completely missed the point. I'm not suggesting Russia and Armenia are fan friendly destinations, but the group is what it is and they are locations we have to go to. For those of us that follow the Irish team abroad, it would have made a lot more economic sense for us to have those two away double headers (Russia & Armenia) and (Slovakia and Macedonia). This is posssibly the most expensive group we have ever had for fans to follow the Irish team in away matches and had the initial fixtures been set in stone, it would have alleviated the financial burden on the fans. Remember how the FAI were keen to get the away double header with Czech and Slovakia in the Euro 2008 campaign? The thinking was the same here.

As regards the first 3 fixtures at home, the thinking for the FAI there, was to showcase a brand spanking new Aviva early on in the group and also a good start to the campaign would hopefully set the tone for the rest of the group.

09/06/2011, 9:24 AM
So what though? Joint top with one home and one away game against our rivals. Andorra away and Armenia at home. It's worked out well enough. We should have won in Slovakia, but were sloppy where it mattered.

09/06/2011, 10:02 AM
I think you completely missed the point. I'm not suggesting Russia and Armenia are fan friendly destinations, but the group is what it is and they are locations we have to go to. For those of use that follow the Irish team abroad, it would have made a lot more economic sense for us to have those two away double headers (Russia & Armenia) and (Slovakia and Macedonia). This is posssibly the most expensive group we have ever had for fans to follow the Irish team in away matches and had the initial fixtures been set in stone, it would have alleviated the financial burden on the fans. Remember how the FAI were keen to get the away double header with Czech and Slovakia in the Euro 2008 campaign? The thinking was the same here.

As regards the first 3 fixtures at home, the thinking for the FAI there, was to showcase a brand spanking new Aviva early on in the group and also a good start to the campaign would hopefully set the tone for the rest of the group.

The amount of fans that would have done a double header to Armenia and Russis are the same amount that will go to both countries seperately. The real hardcore. Undoubtedly this has been an expensive group for the fans, but the trips can be done cheap. I've seen people complain about how expensive it was, while travelling and staying for a week, getting lamped for the week. That doesn't tally. I looked at Russia flights last night, and if you're prepared to slum it, you can fly in an out in 24 hours for 250. Thats excellent value.
When it comes down to it, everyone should/would take bettering the teams chances of maximising points, than easing things for fans, particularily when the majority will have no real interest in going to these far flung places anyway. As it turns out I think the fixtures debacle have done us a favour. We're looking at the prospect of the team going to Moscow with 6 wins on the bounce, full of confidence, if everything goes to plan. The original way, they could be facing a poxy trip to Yerevan on the back of a visit to Moscow.

My post made quite a good post in fairness to him. The logic behind IE's failure to utilise the PP tunnel for soccer internationals doesn't add up. I'd suspect the chance to get some money onto the Dart and Veolia services probably are as big a deterrent as anything. It would be far handier if a few trains were stored at the spare sidings in Grand Canal Dock and ferried down as necessary.

I'd agree more with Stutts than Mypost on the Russia Slovakia situation. We have overestimated how good Slovakia are. They were average (at best) when we drew them under Stan, and they have developed little since. We should have beaten them 3-1 in Zilina. The penalty and Robbie's poor finish cost us in that game, and while in one sense it helped eck out 3 points last Sat (as there was no room for manoeuvre) the three points back in Sept would make the world of difference ahead of the upcoming Autumn games. For what it's worth for all Russia's faults I think they could run amok in Bratislava, just like they did in Petersburg only for luck to desert them and side with Slovakia.
My Post is probably right about Armenia- they would have needed to continue an incredible upward curve to persist in featuring as a proposition in the group. It was more hope on my part that they would still have something to play for when they travel to Bratislava.

09/06/2011, 10:04 AM
Just for kicks I looked at the travelling options for the play-offs. The only tricky ones are Minsk and Sarajevo and both can be mastered relatively handily. Oslo would be a real kick in the fanny though.

09/06/2011, 10:17 AM
[QUOTE]I would have preferred the current arrangement. Russia/Armenia are not fan friendly destinations, they are hostile environments for players anytime, and having the first 3 games at home would have been ludicrous. About Macedonia, we showed once again, that heat is not a problem for Irish players. We're just better than Scotland.

Spot on, except the fans that went had nothing but good things to say about Yerevan - most have said it's been the trip of the tenure of trap.

If Russia and Slovakia fail, they'll point to the dropped points in Armenia as a reason. I still believe that the point we got in Slovakia was a good result, and it could be priceless come October. Russia still have to go there and get the same result or better it. Not an easy prospect.
I agree and disagree at the same time. I don't believe that we were the weaker team in Zilina, I believe we were the team with the better chances, and while we'd less possession, Slovakia weren't able to do much with it. We missed two sitters, and those extra two points are the difference between possibly having to go to Moscow and win, and going there closing shop. That said, one point in zilina was better than none, and yes it could be the difference at the end of the group. For what it's worth, I think Russia could win pulling up in Brat, but we'll see.

Armenia were out of it before a ball was kicked. They've only 1 home game left, which is where they've got most of the points. You need to be good at home and away to qualify.

Too true.

Comparing one-leg head-to-head results, is like determining winners from first leg European games. There's still return games to play, and only after them, are the qualifiers determined, not before.

With that in mind, imo we are top now on goals scored, until a) we've played Russia and Slovakia again, and b) if we need to separate the teams on level points after that. Atm, we have a better gd than Slovakia, and more goals scored than Russia, so we are top imo.

Exactly, have to have a positive mindset, well until the end of the Slovakia game anyway. Things might have changed by then.

Before then, it was the complaining that Trap didn't go to games in England. But we're doing better under Trap than previous coaches who did go to games, so what's the problem?

Which was an own goal.

There's a train station less than a minute walk from the stadium. IE run long-haul trains after most game nights at Lansdowne. If they use the PP tunnel, there's nothing to stop them running a direct service from Cork to Lansdowne.

If of course....

It didn't and it won't. It will however give the nation a boost in morale and something to look forward to next summer, walkouts and "Trap Out" press-hounders permitting.

They've wanted him out, as none of them wanted him here in the first place. Trap doesn't do charisma, he does results. The draw in Paris was the first time, that they appreciated how lucky we are to have one of the world's top football coaches. Then we hit the bar at home to Russia, had a difficult hour after it, and since then, it's been considered trendy again for the public and the press to turn their backs on the team

Don't agree with all of it, but good post MP - looks really well thought out.

DannyInvincible
09/06/2011, 11:08 AM
The Russian season begins in March and eventually ends the following Spring with a Winter break in between, so most of the Russian players will have six months of their season under their belts when it comes to playing us in Moscow in September. Most of our players, excluding McGeady, assuming he'll stay at Spartak, will have just under a month of their season under way. We'll have already played Croatia in August and Slovakia a few days earlier, of course, which should do us good for cohesion and whatnot, but might this have a bearing on the game? What about fitness or tiredness levels? To be honest, I reckon we should be OK. It looks like many of our players will be on the move, so hopefully we'll have a majority of the squad playing in the first-team at their respective clubs come August.

09/06/2011, 7:12 PM
The amount of fans that would have done a double header to Armenia and Russis are the same amount that will go to both countries seperately. The real hardcore. Undoubtedly this has been an expensive group for the fans, but the trips can be done cheap. I've seen people complain about how expensive it was, while travelling and staying for a week, getting lamped for the week. That doesn't tally. I looked at Russia flights last night, and if you're prepared to slum it, you can fly in an out in 24 hours for 250. Thats excellent value.

The flights are not a great problem for Moscow, more the visas, the expense, and the local environment, even though it's a fantastic city. It will put many off. Personally speaking, Russia is the only trip I can't organise without tour agency help. Daytrips are not an option, either practically or physically.

I'd agree more with Stutts than Mypost on the Russia Slovakia situation. We have overestimated how good Slovakia are. They were average (at best) when we drew them under Stan, and they have developed little since. We should have beaten them 3-1 in Zilina. The penalty and Robbie's poor finish cost us in that game, and while in one sense it helped eck out 3 points last Sat (as there was no room for manoeuvre) the three points back in Sept would make the world of difference ahead of the upcoming Autumn games. For what it's worth for all Russia's faults I think they could run amok in Bratislava, just like they did in Petersburg only for luck to desert them and side with Slovakia.

I don't want to go into the Slovakia game minutiae again, but I was pleased with the point out there. I came for a point, and got it. It was critical that we kept pace with the Slovaks going into their games with Andorra. We would have been 3 points behind them now, had we lost it. Don't forget they had just won in Russia, and recently Italy. As Liam Brady said after the game, "we seem to forget all these things".

Spot on, except the fans that went had nothing but good things to say about Yerevan - most have said it's been the trip of the tenure of trap.

Look, anywhere where they're served drink on tap is a "good" trip to them. Few imo are interested in sightseeing, or experiencing the local culture. They pay 800 quid to Abbey per trip for 3 days in an Irish Pub. They could do it at home as well for a fraction of the cost. There's not that much to do, but all they need is a pub, so as long as they have that, they're happy.

09/06/2011, 7:50 PM
I'm sure Kingdom, like yourself Mypost, is a sober cultured chap.

09/06/2011, 9:04 PM
it was not warm at all out in Macedonia bar a couple of hours Saturday morning....nonsense Scotland are just not as good or we are better-even if we did beat them recently.it was 9.30pm local time and it had not been warm that day at all.

Slovakia is far more hostile than Armenia

09/06/2011, 9:05 PM
i have to say there is a lot of ppl on here who don't have a clue What away trips are like bar the big day away games

French Toasht
10/06/2011, 1:40 AM

Couldn't agree more. After the Euro 2008 campaign, I vowed never to return to Slovakia, as I have never been in a city as unwelcoming as Bratislava. Gangs of skinhead thugs, just roamed the streets looking to cause trouble. So when we drew them again, I maintained I wouldn't return but persuaded by my friends I reneged. This time I had my bag stolen and luckily enough Davy Keogh leant me a jersey and Valdimer Weiss Snr paid for our dinner. (We blagged our way into the same hotel in Zilina as the Slovakian team were staying in. Literally couldn't find anywhere else open for food after the match!) But in terms of hostile places to travel to, Slovakia is up there with the best of them.

10/06/2011, 1:51 AM
ya its almost like a balancing act with the czechs,whatever you do we can do equally worsel

ArdeeBhoy
10/06/2011, 2:24 AM
Based on the hardened travellers I know, Russia is the worst of them all?

Many of them aren't going and definitely a place I would advise no colours on display, besides the obvious indicators that will point out any Irish fans that do travel.

DannyInvincible
10/06/2011, 3:26 AM
Gangs of skinhead thugs, just roamed the streets looking to cause trouble.

You sure that wasn't just half the team?

http://i218.photobucket.com/albums/cc12/poguemahone85/slov.png

10/06/2011, 7:47 AM
it was not warm at all out in Macedonia bar a couple of hours Saturday morning....nonsense Scotland are just not as good or we are better-even if we did beat them recently.it was 9.30pm local time and it had not been warm that day at all.

Ah Paul, c'mon it was warm in Skopje on the Saturday. Sure it was nowhere near the 40° predicted a few weeks back, but it was still as warm a day as we would get more often than not in summer. To Celtic people, that's warm. Did you look at the players when the ball went out of play? They were guzzling down the fluids - sure the FAI physio/kitman brought two bags of fluid to the far side of the pitch before the match.

Slovakia is definitely a tougher place to go than Yerevan.

10/06/2011, 7:48 AM
i have to say there is a lot of ppl on here who don't have a clue What away trips are like bar the big day away games

Can you expand on that?

10/06/2011, 8:07 AM
I don't want to go into the Slovakia game minutiae again, but I was pleased with the point out there. I came for a point, and got it. It was critical that we kept pace with the Slovaks going into their games with Andorra. We would have been 3 points behind them now, had we lost it. Don't forget they had just won in Russia, and recently Italy. As Liam Brady said after the game, "we seem to forget all these things".

It's no problem, we don't have to go round in circles, but they are the same team that took a tonking against Armenia, where we edged a close enough game, they were obliterated, in a nowhere-near-close game.
I think we just have a difference of opinion. I saw quite a lot of the Russia game, and they were excellent and quite unlucky and a brainfart of the highest proportions by Akinfeev meant Slovakia got more than they deserved out of the game.
We probably looked at the result of their game against Russia and went in the belief it was vital to not lost at all costs (which is was) rather than focus on the win that we could have, and should have got (based on the good opportunities we passed up).
I'm happy not to debate it further though.

Look, anywhere where they're served drink on tap is a "good" trip to them. Few imo are interested in sightseeing, or experiencing the local culture. They pay 800 quid to Abbey per trip for 3 days in an Irish Pub. They could do it at home as well for a fraction of the cost. There's not that much to do, but all they need is a pub, so as long as they have that, they're happy.

Unfortunately it's hard not to agree with that. Of tghe YBIG I know, few, if any, went with Abbey Travel. I know I certainly don't, as you say it's so handy to book things independently. I agree with the synopsis of what they seem to constitute a good trip though. Personally speaking, as Geysir alluded to, if I'm paying a few quid to go to a country I'll rarely, if ever, visit again, then I'm going to make the most of it and take in all that I can.
Not having touched a drink in a few years helps, but is also a hinderance in some respects, in that most of my travelling companions are eager to get liquored up. I was far more comfortable drinking casually with the Macedonians after the game over the other side of the bridge than with the large Irish crowd on the strip.

[off-topic for a mo, a good friend of mine who was there for the best part of 8 days, went to Lake Ohrid (or 'orrid as we christened it in advance) from Sofia for the first 5 days. Said it was excellent, extremely cheap, beautiful and well worth a visit if doing any kind of Balkan holiday - well recommended.]

French Toasht
10/06/2011, 10:18 AM
Based on the hardened travellers I know, Russia is the worst of them all?

I have been to Russia too and I think what possibly makes things worse there is just the sheer level of police corruption and beauracracy. For example the police have this scam where they ask you for your passport on the spot, knowing that it is a requirement that every hotel/hostel must hold your passport for 24 hours for a "verification period". If you can't produce the passport, you are hit with a heavy fine. Also be cautious with your camera, as a general rule, never take a photo within any distance of the guards at or especially on the undergrounds, as that is liable to get your camera smashed in front of your face.

I don't think the Russian fans are as outwardly hostile as the Slovaks but you will be continually eyed every time you step onto a metro until the time you leave it. I must have been stopped and searched about 30 times between the metro stop and the grounds of the Luzhniki for contraband, yet the Russian's would spark up flares etc every few minutes. The crowd were pretty racist that day towards Phil Babb, but I gather things have moved on great deal in terms of racism in football since then, as there are now several Brazilians actually playing in the Russian Premier League.

Great trip, so much to see and do, my advice would be just to have your wits about you.

DannyInvincible
10/06/2011, 11:24 AM
The crowd were pretty racist that day towards Phil Babb, but I gather things have moved on great deal in terms of racism in football since then, as there are now several Brazilians actually playing in the Russian Premier League.

I believe it to be as bad as ever. Wasn't there a lot of talk about the racism in Russian football around the time they were discussing the various World Cup bids for 2018 and 2022?

10/06/2011, 11:29 AM
I know that Advocaat was blocked from signing a striker for Zenit St Petersburg by the ultras, purely because the player was black

French Toasht
10/06/2011, 11:33 AM
I believe it to be as bad as ever. Wasn't there a lot of talk about the racism in Russian football around the time they were discussing the various World Cup bids for 2018 and 2022?

Yes. But I think that threat seems to come from extremists, ie Neo Nazi groups etc that would not be representative of the view of the vast majority of Russian people. Whereas back in 2002, racism seemed to be widespread and generally tolerated. I seem to recall around the time of their bid for the WC, that there have been several iniatives put in place to stamp it out.

10/06/2011, 11:34 AM
I know that Advocaat was blocked from signing a striker for Zenit St Petersburg by the ultras, purely because the player was black

Book I'm just finished reading, Dynamo, has said as much. Think it was published in 2009.

10/06/2011, 12:09 PM
They thought Zenit's racist fans would cast a shadow over the Manchester UEFA final.
How wrong they were.

TiocfaidhArmani
10/06/2011, 12:22 PM
They thought Zenit's racist fans would cast a shadow over the Manchester UEFA final.
How wrong they were.

Another bunch of anti-Irish racist goons stole the show:D

10/06/2011, 12:41 PM
Another bunch of anti-Irish racist goons stole the show:D

To call them anti-Irish would be incorrect.

They tend to be anti-Catholic and anti-Republicans/Nationalists but some Loyalists are Irish too you know. :)

10/06/2011, 1:08 PM
To call them anti-Irish would be incorrect.

They tend to be anti-Catholic and anti-Republicans/Nationalists but some Loyalists are Irish too you know. :)

I'm sure he didn't mean you personally Bonnie...

ArdeeBhoy
10/06/2011, 1:36 PM
Having seen the news reports after the recent problems in Moscow when that fan was killed by that person from the Caucasus, would believe their problems with racism and being anti-foreigner(s) are as bad as ever.