View Full Version : Limerick Premier Division 2010/11
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/soccer_results_faicup.html
Balbec77
03/06/2011, 9:33 PM
sligo 3 pike 2.any report on how the scoring went and pike team.
03/06/2011, 9:39 PM
Good showing from Pike, fair play to them. Felt we could have stepped up a gear throughout the game if needed but in the end up Pike came very close.
03/06/2011, 10:00 PM
Pike team was:
Gary Neville
Edward O'Donoghue
Patrick Mullins
Keith Hartnett
Brian Cleary
Conor Kavanagh
Eoin Hanrahan
Wayne Colbert
Colm Carroll
David Ryan
John Tierney
Subs:
Dermot Phelan (Came on with about 15mins left for Tierney)
Declan Considine
Michael Ahearne (Came on with same time as other sub for Hanrahan)
Colm Carroll and David Ryan with the goals.
theboywonder8
03/06/2011, 10:02 PM
They were missing moloney Barry and Enright,did themselves and the limerick district league proud,fair play to them,Carroll and Ryan scored.went 1 up,Sligo then went 3 1 up and pile got their second with 5 mins to go.hopefully LDL win the Oscar traynor now on Sunday,great result for sherrif as well by the way,
abbeyvale
03/06/2011, 11:23 PM
They were missing Moloney, Barry and Enright,did themselves and the limerick district league proud,fair play to them,Carroll and Ryan scored.went 1 up,Sligo then went 3 1 up and pile got their second with 5 mins to go.hopefully LDL win the Oscar traynor now on Sunday,great result for sherrif as well by the way,
They were also missing O'Grady & W O'Donovan aswell by the look of it............with 2 "B" Players on the bench!!!!
hoops38
04/06/2011, 12:51 AM
[QUOTE=HuRya;1493138]Lads,
I know most of ye ignore hoops38's comments as he is a general stirrer but i couldn't let this go, just to clarify Aisling's position on this over the last 10 seasons
01/02 (Prem) - 11th position (22 games played)
02/03 (Div 1A) - 3rd (22 games played)
03/04 (Div 1A) - 5th, Myross gave Aisling walkover 8/6/04
04/05 (Div 1A) - Champions (22 games played)
05/06 (Prem) - 7th, Mungret gave Aisling walkover 28/5/06
06/07 (Prem) - 7th, Fairview - 1 point each 31/5/06
07/08 (Prem) - 5th, Aisling gave Balla walkover 26/6/08
08/09 (Prem) - 6th, (22 games played)
09/10 (Prem) - 7th (22 games played)
10/11 (Prem) - 7th Aisling gave Balla walkover 31/5/11[/QUOT
so 2 walkovers is ok to give in prem football,aisling threatened to give us a walkover agin only last weel and only for them receiving a phone call they would be deducted points they would have done
theboywonder8
04/06/2011, 9:15 AM
Sure they give fairview walkovers every year,haha
theballboy
04/06/2011, 9:38 AM
3 2 to sligo was a great result was there many at it .
shellyriver
04/06/2011, 1:54 PM
How come there was so little Pike support? I mean, I counted about 7 blazers (green) jumping with Pike went ahead! What's the story with such abject support? What do you normally get at home for a Big Game?
theboywonder8
04/06/2011, 2:30 PM
Because it was on of a Friday evening and people prob couldn't get off work like so many of their players,they Are oy a junior club after all,if it was a sat evening like it was supposed to be I'd say there would have been a big crowd there,just look at the junior cup final the amount of support they had,if it hAd been in Limerick would Sligo have had much support,I don't think so.
booster 03
04/06/2011, 6:35 PM
very sad news after reaching me, Gerry Manahan has passed away earlier today, Gerry was the absolute heart and soul of our club for more than 20 years and Im sure lots on this site would know him personally, an absolute gentleman and will be sorely missed by myself and everyone involved with summerville rovers, and indeed Limerick soccer in general.
theboywonder8
04/06/2011, 6:46 PM
RIP Gerry a true gentleman,
azizi
05/06/2011, 10:05 AM
very sad news after reaching me, Gerry Manahan has passed away earlier today, Gerry was the absolute heart and soul of our club for more than 20 years and Im sure lots on this site would know him personally, an absolute gentleman and will be sorely missed by myself and everyone involved with summerville rovers, and indeed Limerick soccer in general.
agree totally booster.a true clubman for summerville who always gave his all for the club.very sad news. R.I.P
thomas72
05/06/2011, 3:23 PM
oscare traynor final
limerick 0 dublin AUL 1
winning goal scored on 90mins. a very poor game it was a even game dublin prob shaded the better of the chances gary nevllie pulled off a great save when dublin striker was through one on one last kick of the game alan barry had a great chance to level fron 4yrds out hit it straight at the keeper. limerick managment made some very strange selections
theballboy
05/06/2011, 3:30 PM
oscare traynor final
limerick 0 dublin AUL 1
winning goal scored on 90mins. a very poor game it was a even game dublin prob shaded the better of the chances gary nevllie pulled off a great save when dublin striker was through one on one last kick of the game alan barry had a great chance to level fron 4yrds out hit it straight at the keeper. limerick managment made some very strange selections
I totally agree Why Alan barry was a sub he is the top goal scorer in town a great target man, johnny grant looked 2 stone over weight and why he put him on the wing is beyond me, poor crowd bank holiday didnt help.
theboywonder8
05/06/2011, 3:33 PM
What were those changes Tom,Aidan ryans second ot final after losing last couple of years.players are definetly there to win it,
theboywonder8
05/06/2011, 3:50 PM
What was the starting line up,was Conor moloney playing.?
theballboy
05/06/2011, 3:56 PM
Neville, colbert, mcgarry, moloney, cleary, hughes, kavanagh, hartnet, sherlock, grant, clarke. I was very suprised to see Sherlock playing he wouldnt get on any of the top sides in limerick i was very suprised.
thomas72
05/06/2011, 4:00 PM
gary nevllie
wayne colbert
pa mcGarry
conor molonely
brain cleary
jason hughes
keith hartnett
conor kav
ronan sherlock
jon grant
shane clarke
subs used
alan barry for jason hughes 78mins
tommy heffernan for ronan sherlock 78mins
theboywonder8
05/06/2011, 5:01 PM
Where was pat Boyle,miles better player,and eoin Hanrahan,for that matter.Sherlock must be great pals with A.Ryan.Barry should have been in ahead of the other 2 forwards as well,strange decisions indeed.
theballboy
05/06/2011, 5:18 PM
Where was pat Boyle,miles better player,and eoin Hanrahan,for that matter.Sherlock must be great pals with A.Ryan.Barry should have been in ahead of the other 2 forwards as well,strange decisions indeed.
Pat boyle had a great season with carew pk, losing two finals to weaker opposition is a poor reflection on the league.
theboywonder8
05/06/2011, 6:02 PM
Cause he obviously hasn't a clue,mark slattery is only a b player,never knew thomas Clarke was in squad,a lot better centre halves in town than him,lost 2 finals in limerick as well,not good enough,why didn't they look for the match off,most of his team played on Friday night,and I'm sure there was a good few sherrif players on aul team as well,they wouldn't have argued I'd say,bad call by him,pike players were travelling half the night I'd say and sherrif crowd were in Galway,a nice little spin too.heard there was no one at it either,doesn't do his job prospects any good either,
thomas72
05/06/2011, 6:23 PM
Cause he obviously hasn't a clue,mark slattery is only a b player,never knew thomas Clarke was in squad,a lot better centre halves in town than him,lost 2 finals in limerick as well,not good enough,why didn't they look for the match off,most of his team played on Friday night,and I'm sure there was a good few sherrif players on aul team as well,they wouldn't have argued I'd say,bad call by him,pike players were travelling half the night I'd say and sherrif crowd were in Galway,a nice little spin too.heard there was no one at it either,doesn't do his job prospects any good either,
IF you think MArk sla is a B player you must of not seen carew play much this season he has been outstanding all season for carew park i reckon a lot of people on here would agree with me. PA boyle is away on holidays
theboywonder8
05/06/2011, 6:48 PM
Is he the second best right full in the league?
mark is a fine player when he puts his mind to it and deserves to be in the squad but im baffled with the tacics today sherlock played most of the game and was very quiet. where is all the left wingers in limerick surely there is better around town what about tierney walters doyle j boyle were they even asked or what is going on boris is another one beggars belief to be honest
theballboy
05/06/2011, 7:31 PM
I think Thomas Clarke is a good player, i think the game was lost on the sideline sherlock was suprised to be playing he couldnt get on the mungret team at the start of the season and hes playing oscar trainer, LDMC will have to take a share of the responsibility for giving Aidan Ryan that job he has great interest in football and has done great things for prospect but that is hes level.
Second
05/06/2011, 10:54 PM
Looks like ye finished where clare did last year.. Runners up... Unlucky limerick ..
streaker
06/06/2011, 2:54 AM
Lads its over,cant say the best team won,there was nothing between them,toss of a coin,89minute goal.Could have equalised in time added on,but on the day there has to be aloser,good luck to both teams always next year. Onwards and upwards if that makes sence.:o:cool::ball:
theballboy
06/06/2011, 8:17 AM
Lads its over,cant say the best team won,there was nothing between them,toss of a coin,89minute goal.Could have equalised in time added on,but on the day there has to be aloser,good luck to both teams always next year. Onwards and upwards if that makes sence.:o:cool::ball:
No it doesnt really make sence at all, losing two finals to weaker teams, AUL where not a good side.
theboywonder8
06/06/2011, 10:15 AM
Looks like ye finished where clare did last year.. Runners up... Unlucky limerick ..
Fai junior cup is in here though,AGAIN,can't ever see ye having that honour,can you?
azizi
06/06/2011, 10:15 AM
lads people are on here slating aidan ryan?when was the last time another manager got an oscar traynor team to 2 finals? admitedly losing 2 finals is not nice but it was a kick of a ball that decided yesterdays game.not a great game yesterday but a level enough game.its typical of people on this site to slate the easy targets.sherlock did alot better than half the "superstars" who played poorly yesterday.all he and hughes seemed to be doing most of the game was covering back and oh ya,everybody is very quiet about the fact it was 2 pike players who made a balls of it for the goal.nobody allowed say anything about that no?
U Know Me
06/06/2011, 10:47 AM
Care to fill us in azzi?I also agree it's harsh slating honest lads who turned up and gave there all,Sherlock is a good bloke,not his fault Ryan started him,but over all Ryan would seem to have to take the blame,there are plenty of lads who are good enough and wanted to play oscar traynor around but Ryan showed them no respect,anyways another loss in a oscar final,shame really.
Spindoctor
06/06/2011, 11:01 AM
typical,try and turn this debacle into a Pike bashing!granted,Aidan Ryan didn't have all the players at his disposal that he would have wished...but he still omitted some very good players and opted for some strange selections instead(which he's done every time he's been in charge).As in Askeaton a couple of years ago this game was definately lost on the sideline,leaving Alan Barry out the most obvious gaff of all.Everyman and his dog know you cannot bring Alan into a game,you have to start him!....For a finish they ended up with four strikers on the field!!......to some Mark Slattery might have been a strange selection,but he is a good attacking young player and would have been a threat on the flank but alas!!....for a finish Azizi,have you ever heard of Paddy Cusack?...a legend in this competition!!
U Know Me
06/06/2011, 11:18 AM
Did mark sla play for oscar traynor this year,he and Sherlock seem to be getting a slating for nothing,ye can't blame those lads,that was marks dream, I'd say and fair play to him!!!!!
theballboy
06/06/2011, 11:58 AM
lads people are on here slating aidan ryan?when was the last time another manager got an oscar traynor team to 2 finals? admitedly losing 2 finals is not nice but it was a kick of a ball that decided yesterdays game.not a great game yesterday but a level enough game.its typical of people on this site to slate the easy targets.sherlock did alot better than half the "superstars" who played poorly yesterday.all he and hughes seemed to be doing most of the game was covering back and oh ya,everybody is very quiet about the fact it was 2 pike players who made a balls of it for the goal.nobody allowed say anything about that no?
Azizi Dont make an ape of yourself pike players made up close to half of yesterdays team, losing two finals isnt good enough for the strongest league in the country and there is no one putting personal remarks towards A ryan he is the manager.
azizi
06/06/2011, 12:11 PM
typical,try and turn this debacle into a Pike bashing!granted,Aidan Ryan didn't have all the players at his disposal that he would have wished...but he still omitted some very good players and opted for some strange selections instead(which he's done every time he's been in charge).As in Askeaton a couple of years ago this game was definately lost on the sideline,leaving Alan Barry out the most obvious gaff of all.Everyman and his dog know you cannot bring Alan into a game,you have to start him!....For a finish they ended up with four strikers on the field!!......to some Mark Slattery might have been a strange selection,but he is a good attacking young player and would have been a threat on the flank but alas!!....for a finish Azizi,have you ever heard of Paddy Cusack?...a legend in this competition!!
nobody is pike bashing bud.the point i was trying to make was that in recent years i.e the last 4-5 the only oscar traynor teams that have gone far in the comp are the ones he has managed.correct me if im wrong but has the team even got out of the group in the last year or two?the defo havent made the final.
azizi
06/06/2011, 12:34 PM
Azizi Dont make an ape of yourself pike players made up close to half of yesterdays team, losing two finals isnt good enough for the strongest league in the country and there is no one putting personal remarks towards A ryan he is the manager.
the buck stops with the manager afterall ballboy but who would you have had in the squad?do you think eoin hanrahan or tierney or any other players would warm the bench for the OT squad?i dont think so and i dont think pikes management would have been happy with having any more players than they already had in the squad.losing 2 finals is bad but its better than the state of some of the squads in recent years who havent even got outta group
theboywonder8
06/06/2011, 12:49 PM
They had a handy enough passage to both those finals and should at least have won 1 of them.the buck definetly stops with him and his assistants,which were strange as well,if he doesn't like someone for whatever reason they don't get in the squad,which imo is totally wrong,his personal grudges should not come into consideration,there was a lot of quality players out there who weren't considered for one reason or another which is totally wrong,he's the manager,he picks the squad,he's to blame,maybe dermot finnan should be next manager,couldn't see him losing 2 finals.
theboywonder8
06/06/2011, 12:52 PM
the buck stops with the manager afterall ballboy but who would you have had in the squad?do you think eoin hanrahan or tierney or any other players would warm the bench for the OT squad?i dont think so and i dont think pikes management would have been happy with having any more players than they already had in the squad.losing 2 finals is bad but its better than the state of some of the squads in recent years who havent even got outta group
Why would Hanrahan and tierney warm the bench,are you telling me they are not better than Sherlock and Hughes,and if so you haven't a clue what you're talking about.
06/06/2011, 1:16 PM
Why would Hanrahan and tierney warm the bench,are you telling me they are not better than Sherlock and Hughes,and if so you haven't a clue what you're talking about.
Think he was trying to say the starting team can only be so many players and if he was to ask Tierney and Hanrahan to be subs they wouldn't cause they are too good.
U Know Me
06/06/2011, 1:28 PM
Wasn't Ryan the manager when they went out in the last sixteen 2 years ago,another disaster,2-0 up against cork and lost 3-2.I don't think he should be given the job anymore,holding personal grudges against junior players is not acceptable at this level.we should have the best players on show in the oscar matches,and that wasent the case yesterday.tierney would have been a good choice yesterday,sure didn't he call Thomas Clarke into the squad only during the week,dermot finnan would be a good choice,or even Declan casey for that matter.
Damnunited
06/06/2011, 1:51 PM
They had a handy enough passage to both those finals and should at least have won 1 of them.the buck definetly stops with him and his assistants,which were strange as well,if he doesn't like someone for whatever reason they don't get in the squad,which imo is totally wrong,his personal grudges should not come into consideration,there was a lot of quality players out there who weren't considered for one reason or another which is totally wrong,he's the manager,he picks the squad,he's to blame,maybe dermot finnan should be next manager,couldn't see him losing 2 finals.
who were his assistants and why are they strange,, the buck stops with the manager,, and limerick lost
theboywonder8
06/06/2011, 2:02 PM
Shane Fitzgerald and Gerry mcmahon,I agree the buck stops with him,
Damnunited
06/06/2011, 2:09 PM
gerry mcmahon is over prospect ,, who is shane fitzgerald with,, never heard of him ,, i think gerry is a sound man ,, why do you say he is strange,, i dont think he would like that said of him
theballboy
06/06/2011, 2:29 PM
Gerry Mc Mahon Managed prospect and does alot of work Oscar Trainer is to much for him sound bloke and not fair on him to be put in that position, I havent a clue who shane Fitzgerald is, who did he manage? or play with? is he from limerick?, did alan barry report injured before the game.
blueboy2
06/06/2011, 3:03 PM
No one has mentioned last years Oscar Traynor team who travelled to Cork with only 11 players and a sub goalkeeper.
So which would people prefer players who want to play for their league or players who are picked and dont turn up.
People have mentioned players here who should have been picked i know for a fact that at least 8 Premier players declined to play Oscar Traynor this year.
Also remember that the AUL have a budget of 10 thousand euro put a side every year to win the Oscar Traynor Trophy so it was a great achivement for the lads to get to the final and to lose by a mistake in the last minute.
I played under Aidan Ryan as a manager and i think he is a good manager and im sure if you asked any of yesterdays team they would say the same.
Second
06/06/2011, 3:15 PM
Fai junior cup is in here though,AGAIN,can't ever see ye having that honour,can you?
Ya nice of fairview to let ye have it for a year .... Seriously though you need to get over this limk v clare thing you have an obsession about.. We all know the limk league is better than clare league.. Ye have a way bigger pool of players to chose from.. So well done
Monster
06/06/2011, 3:32 PM
big lads coming on here and slaughtering lads who have given ther time for free.. shane fitz managed a fairview b team to promotion he and the management team done their best and wer very unlucky..easy to criticise people when your outside the fence..most of yee havnt a clue and are not involved in football but great in front of yer laptops..
theballboy
06/06/2011, 3:40 PM
No one has mentioned last years Oscar Traynor team who travelled to Cork with only 11 players and a sub goalkeeper.
So which would people prefer players who want to play for their league or players who are picked and dont turn up.
People have mentioned players here who should have been picked i know for a fact that at least 8 Premier players declined to play Oscar Traynor this year.
Also remember that the AUL have a budget of 10 thousand euro put a side every year to win the Oscar Traynor Trophy so it was a great achivement for the lads to get to the final and to lose by a mistake in the last minute.
I played under Aidan Ryan as a manager and i think he is a good manager and im sure if you asked any of yesterdays team they would say the same.
You are missing the facts there was still alot of players that wanted to play and were not picked, players that were better than the players that played yesterday, you surly must agree that both finals should have been won by limerick, Desmond league is a poor league and limerick should have won easy, Yesterday the wrong team went out on the pitch for starters and the changes were worse and i didnt think AUL were up to much, Limerick did have home advantage can anyone tell me who shane fitzgerald is i thought gerry mac mahon was Aidans assisstant.