View Full Version : Limerick Premier Division 2010/11
Balbec77
01/05/2011, 8:34 PM
Your gone a few miles off my point.
I was replying to your post stating all your points. You sounded alot like Wegner with the list of excuses. You've got a majority of local players. And most being Young. So what? Your at the wrong end of the league table most years.
You don't see other teams in the Premier giving out lists of excuses. If your good enough to stay up, your good enough. The manager gets the forms signed each year. Upto him to get names down, young or old. From Kilmallock or not. And then you come on here and berate someone for saying your overrated?
And what does what team I follow got to do with anything? And seriously come back on here when you've actually got the vaguest idea at what your talking about with "cheques"... Stupid comment.
im not making excuses im just replyng to your smart comment.talk soccer instead of knocking teams and you will be fine.cant say much more on cheques as itsd a rule from 12th man.also i would like to know your team as you have made your opinion of ours quite clear i would like to give mine on yours.
Balbec77
01/05/2011, 10:50 PM
Your gone a few miles off my point.
I was replying to your post stating all your points. You sounded alot like Wegner with the list of excuses. You've got a majority of local players. And most being Young. So what? Your at the wrong end of the league table most years.
You don't see other teams in the Premier giving out lists of excuses. If your good enough to stay up, your good enough. The manager gets the forms signed each year. Upto him to get names down, young or old. From Kilmallock or not. And then you come on here and berate someone for saying your overrated?
And what does what team I follow got to do with anything? And seriously come back on here when you've actually got the vaguest idea at what your talking about with "cheques"... Stupid comment.
i know its late blinx but just looking over your posts there and see you slated pike so that rules you out being a pike man even though you got slated by the micks fan at last game.
dalegend
01/05/2011, 11:10 PM
overated why do you say that.held our own with a group of young local lads who are still learning for the last 2 years and hopefully another year.name one other premier team that have 15 local lads and 1 not local,2 over 30,2 over 23 and the rest 17 to 21 in there squad and battle away every year.how dare you come on here slating us.we got to quarter final of fai last year and gave pike a run for 87 mins in the last 32 this year and you say overated.one last thing how come most premier teams are already tapping up some of our players.last year 7 were approached.not bad for an average team.3 players called up to oscar traynor team this year and 2 called to england on more than one occasion for trials.not bad for an overated team.
With all that talent ye are where in the league???? Ye big yerselves up all the time (just look at your post) the only ones who believe ye are the arsenal of the premier league are yerselves. In here ye are regarded as a soft touch....fact!!! Stop feeling sorry for yerselves in here corbally have had a number of their players sign for the boro, not a hope of that happing to ye. Ye have it handy
abbeyvale
02/05/2011, 9:39 AM
KBO Premier Lge P W D L F A Pts (Max Pts)
Fairview Rgs 18 16 0 2 48 18 48...(60)
Pike Rovers 17 16 0 1 63 11 48...(63)
Regional Utd 19 10 5 4 36 22 35...(44)
Ballynanty Rovers 19 9 5 5 42 33 32...(41)
Carew Park 18 8 4 6 28 18 28...(40)
Janesboro 19 8 2 9 30 40 26...(35)
Aisling Annacotty 19 7 1 11 33 40 22...(31)
Corbally Utd 18 6 4 8 27 34 22...(34)
Kilmallock 19 5 6 8 29 28 21...(30)
Star Rvs 19 5 2 12 24 51 17...(26)
Mungret Reg 19 4 3 12 30 48 15...(24)
Shannon Town 18 0 2 16 12 59 2...(14)...................RELEGATED
Fixtures
Tue 03/05/11
Pike Rvs v Carew Park, 6.30, M Kiely
Sun 08/05/11
No Prem games due to OT.
Tue 10/05/11
Janesboro v Pike Rovers, 6.30,
Carew Park v Ballynanty Rovers, 6.30,
Shannon Town v Fairview Rgs, 6.30,
Star Rvs v Aisling Annacotty, 6.30,
Thur 12/05/11
Corbally Utd v Pike Rovers, 6.30,
Title Run in:
Fairview
(4 games left)
(H) Kilmallock
(A) Mungret, Shannon & Regional
Pike
(5 games left)
(H) Carew & Aisling
(A) Corbally, Shannon & Boro
Relegation run in:
Corbally
(4 games left)
(H) Carew, Regional & Pike
(A) Boro
Aisling
(3 games left)
(H) Balla
(A) Star & Pike
Kilmallock
(3 games left)
(H) Mungret
(A) Star & Fairview
Star
(3 games left)
(H) Aisling & Kilmallock
(A) Shannon
Mungret
(3 games left)
(H) Fairview & Shannon
(A) Kilmallock
abbeyvale
02/05/2011, 9:42 AM
Anyone know why the fixtures sec has not fixed Kilmallock v Mungret & Corbally v Regional for next Tuesday night when EVERY other team in the Prem are playing (seems unusual considering 3 of those 4 teams are all fighting relegation, and would be the FAIREST & OBVIOUS time for them to play)
booster 03
02/05/2011, 11:02 AM
they'd get more sympathy out in the desmond league!!
tedd11
02/05/2011, 11:54 AM
Anyone know why the fixtures sec has not fixed Kilmallock v Mungret & Corbally v Regional for next Tuesday night when EVRY other team in the Prem are playing (seems unusual considering 3 of those 4 teams are all fighting relegation, and would be the FAIREST & OBVIOUS time for them to play)
agree with you here abbeyvale.the fixtures are a bit of a joke the last while.4 weeks we waited for a fixture until our match yesterday and now another 2 week wait to play pike who also have a fixture against janesboro 2 days before on the tuesday?ridiculous.we got no fixture either last week when we could have played carew pk.cannot understand why the above fixtures you mentioned cannot be played
abbeyvale
02/05/2011, 2:34 PM
agree with you here abbeyvale.the fixtures are a bit of a joke the last while.4 weeks we waited for a fixture until our match yesterday and now another 2 week wait to play pike who also have a fixture against janesboro 2 days before on the tuesday?ridiculous.we got no fixture either last week when we could have played carew pk.cannot understand why the above fixtures you mentioned cannot be played
Especially when come next Tuesday Star & Aisling will have 20 games played, where as Corbally will have 18 played and Mungret & Kilmallock will have 19 played.
I think all the last 4 sets of fixtures for all teams in all divisions should be played at the same time, including kick off times, that way its fair on everyone.
We'll just have to get on with it I suppose.
I heard today that Mungret are re-appealing the decision from the LDMC on the Boro game of 2 weeks ago, any truth in this or can they even do that?
Balbec77
02/05/2011, 10:18 PM
Especially when come next Tuesday Star & Aisling will have 20 games played, where as Corbally will have 18 played and Mungret & Kilmallock will have 19 played.
I think all the last 4 sets of fixtures for all teams in all divisions should be played at the same time, including kick off times, that way its fair on everyone.
I heard today that Mungret are re-appealing the decision from the LDMC on the Boro game of 2 weeks ago, any truth in this or can they even do that?
as usual abbey common sense dos,nt prevail.as for appeal does that mean its gone past ldmc if they appeal the ldmc decision.
abbeyvale
02/05/2011, 11:02 PM
as usual abbey common sense dos,nt prevail.as for appeal does that mean its gone past ldmc if they appeal the ldmc decision.
Not too sure
thomas72
03/05/2011, 11:22 AM
pike v carew. PRedictions pike seem to be destroying all teams in this league by 4 or 5 goals very strong team.
leather
03/05/2011, 12:38 PM
could be a tight game carew very good at the back...
Balbec77
03/05/2011, 1:07 PM
pike v carew. PRedictions pike seem to be destroying all teams in this league by 4 or 5 goals very strong team.
3 1 pike.
thats a complete joke if true.why even was there an objection in the first place?did an illegal player play for janesboro?
the only thing illegal about him is his hair style and his clothes
blinkx
03/05/2011, 8:01 PM
Pike 3 - Carew 0
2 for Alan Barry and Mick Ahern.
Pike 1-0 up at half time. Fitness told the second half as Pike tacted on 2 late goals. A lovely volley from Ahern to finish up.
thomas72
03/05/2011, 9:13 PM
Pike 3 carew park 0 tough game tonight missing four first team regulars. NO excuses against a very good team pike created nothing in the first half conceded from a free kick Alan Barry got a nick to wrong foot Gordon. 2nd half we tried to push forward to get the leveller we gave away a very soft 2nd goal. Mick ahern got a cracker. We kept working hard until the end I disagree about carews fitness they were still closing down up until full time. JUst did not cause enough damage in pikes box. A word on new dressing rooms fantastic job
theballboy
03/05/2011, 9:29 PM
Pike 3 carew park 0 tough game tonight missing four first team regulars. NO excuses against a very good team pike created nothing in the first half conceded from a free kick Alan Barry got a nick to wrong foot Gordon. 2nd half we tried to push forward to get the leveller we gave away a very soft 2nd goal. Mick ahern got a cracker. We kept working hard until the end I disagree about carews fitness they were still closing down up until full time. JUst did not cause enough damage in pikes box. A word on new dressing rooms fantastic job
I would have to agree carew were well in the game at half time, i thought carew park looked very fit some good players, first time seeing the pike dressing rooms one word incredible.
abbeyvale
03/05/2011, 10:18 PM
I would have to agree carew were well in the game at half time, i thought carew park looked very fit some good players, first time seeing the pike dressing rooms one word incredible.
Yeah I saw those dressing rooms about 6months back and have to say, it wouldn't look out of place in the English Leagues, well done to all involved, great job.
abbeyvale
03/05/2011, 10:20 PM
KBO Premier Lge P W D L F A Pts (Max Pts)
Pike Rovers 18 17 0 1 66 11 51...(63)
Fairview Rgs 18 16 0 2 48 18 48...(60)
Regional Utd 19 10 5 4 36 22 35...(44)
Ballynanty Rovers 19 9 5 5 42 33 32...(41)
Carew Park 19 8 4 7 28 21 28...(37)
Janesboro 19 8 2 9 30 40 26...(35)
Aisling Annacotty 19 7 1 11 33 40 22...(31)
Corbally Utd 18 6 4 8 27 34 22...(34)
Kilmallock 19 5 6 8 29 28 21...(30)
Star Rvs 19 5 2 12 24 51 17...(26)
Mungret Reg 19 4 3 12 30 48 15...(24)
Shannon Town 18 0 2 16 12 59 2...(14).....(R)
Result
Tue 03/05/11
Pike Rvs 3-0 Carew Park,
Fixtures
Sun 08/05/11
No Prem games due to OT.
Tue 10/05/11
Janesboro v Pike Rovers, 6.30,
Carew Park v Ballynanty Rovers, 6.30,
Shannon Town v Fairview Rgs, 6.30,
Star Rvs v Aisling Annacotty, 6.30,
Thur 12/05/11
Corbally Utd v Pike Rovers, 6.30,
Title Run in:
Fairview
(4 games left)
(H) Kilmallock
(A) Mungret, Shannon & Regional
Pike
(4 games left)
(H) Aisling
(A) Corbally, Shannon & Boro
Relegation run in:
Corbally
(4 games left)
(H) Carew, Regional & Pike
(A) Boro
Aisling
(3 games left)
(H) Balla
(A) Star & Pike
Kilmallock
(3 games left)
(H) Mungret
(A) Star & Fairview
Star
(3 games left)
(H) Aisling & Kilmallock
(A) Shannon
Mungret
(3 games left)
(H) Fairview & Shannon
(A) Kilmallock
hoops38
04/05/2011, 6:29 AM
cheers for compliments on new dressing rooms,i agree with the above i think pikes class shone thru in the end ,carew contested every ball for the 90 mins ,1 sour point how does albert slattery still get away with abusing referess and other players take a yellow for a 1st offence its a complete joke,
theballboy
04/05/2011, 7:24 AM
cheers for compliments on new dressing rooms,i agree with the above i think pikes class shone thru in the end ,carew contested every ball for the 90 mins ,1 sour point how does albert slattery still get away with abusing referess and other players take a yellow for a 1st offence its a complete joke,
I think Albert has slowed down last few years and he knows its time to hang up the boots but he was a very good player and has to be respected for that.
leather
04/05/2011, 9:04 AM
great too see another club progressing with changing facilities....saw in the star yesterday that ashling opened their new facilities aswell... i know that this will cause some people grief and it is not meant as a slight at any club , but should there be a certain standard of both playing and changing facilies required if a club wants too play in the premier division????
leather
04/05/2011, 9:05 AM
1 sour point how does albert slattery still get away with abusing referess and other players take a yellow for a 1st offence its a complete joke
ask the refs....
theballboy
04/05/2011, 9:25 AM
great too see another club progressing with changing facilities....saw in the star yesterday that ashling opened their new facilities aswell... i know that this will cause some people grief and it is not meant as a slight at any club , but should there be a certain standard of both playing and changing facilies required if a club wants too play in the premier division????
I agree clubs have to put in the effort in putting together proper facilities to play in the premier there should be certain standard required,every club should have at least showers.
Balbec77
04/05/2011, 11:15 AM
pike,fairview,boro,kilmallock,carew,mungret,region al,aisling,corbally are fine.havnt been to star yet and balla using lit is fine.
thomas72
04/05/2011, 12:01 PM
Agree about the facilities its great to see the pitches in the premier league have improved as well. IT tough going to get excellent facilities look at carew it took them around seven years to get what they have now fair play to AA as well there new pitch looks fantastic same to mungrets dressing rooms and all weather. Fairviews all weather is excellent everyone improving.
lfc at heart
04/05/2011, 8:38 PM
surely a team should be in the premiership on the grounds that they deserve to be there not on the size of their wallet, its all about getting a break regarding Lotto, tlecommunication deals, nationl road authurity running a road throught you pitch or owning your own bar to have these facilites and best of luck when you get these breaks but lets say star stay up this year and they didnt get a lucky break regarding lotto and so on are you saying they do not deserve to be there,
its easy call it Lads when you have these facilities some clubs dont have money and its SUPPOSE to be an amatuer sport
abbeyvale
04/05/2011, 9:45 PM
pike,fairview,boro,kilmallock,carew,mungret,region al,aisling,corbally are fine.havnt been to star yet and balla using lit is fine.
You'll be in for a shock
theballboy
05/05/2011, 7:23 AM
surely a team should be in the premiership on the grounds that they deserve to be there not on the size of their wallet, its all about getting a break regarding Lotto, tlecommunication deals, nationl road authurity running a road throught you pitch or owning your own bar to have these facilites and best of luck when you get these breaks but lets say star stay up this year and they didnt get a lucky break regarding lotto and so on are you saying they do not deserve to be there,
its easy call it Lads when you have these facilities some clubs dont have money and its SUPPOSE to be an amatuer sport
Your running way off the track the Irish junior team are Amatuers does that mean they dont have a shower after a match or a decent surface to play on, its about junior clubs aleast putting in an effort to improve facilities.
Balbec77
05/05/2011, 7:50 AM
You'll be in for a shock
are yee still playing in lee estate abbey.
lfc at heart
05/05/2011, 8:10 AM
Your running way off the track the Irish junior team are Amatuers does that mean they dont have a shower after a match or a decent surface to play on, its about junior clubs aleast putting in an effort to improve facilities.
would I be correct in saying that the irish Junior team dont have their own ground that they play in someones elses ground and that they have the backing of an organisation that have € millions in the bank, look I agree with you ot would be nice to have a shower and play on a decent surface but some clubs just dont have the money and cant get lotto money or money from the road auttority (and fair play to the clubs that have)because they dont actually own their own ground or are either renting/owning a field which has no electricity or water on it, look if a team comes up through the leagues and dont end up in the bottom 2 at the end of the season then they deserve to be in the premier div and not on what they own
leather
05/05/2011, 8:15 AM
like alot of loi clubs
theballboy
05/05/2011, 10:28 AM
would I be correct in saying that the irish Junior team dont have their own ground that they play in someones elses ground and that they have the backing of an organisation that have € millions in the bank, look I agree with you ot would be nice to have a shower and play on a decent surface but some clubs just dont have the money and cant get lotto money or money from the road auttority (and fair play to the clubs that have)because they dont actually own their own ground or are either renting/owning a field which has no electricity or water on it, look if a team comes up through the leagues and dont end up in the bottom 2 at the end of the season then they deserve to be in the premier div and not on what they own
A few fair points but a few clubs have not put in any effort in improving facilities Ireland was not always a poor country, i think if clubs were told you have to have at least shower facilities and a decent pitch you do not play premier football.
Balbec77
05/05/2011, 10:58 AM
A few fair points but a few clubs have not put in any effort in improving facilities Ireland was not always a poor country, i think if clubs were told you have to have at least shower facilities and a decent pitch you do not play premier football.
thats grand if a club can afford it.i remember going back years ago when practically no one had showers and we were togging out at side of road.its the result on the field that matters to most players and teams.i reckon most teams wouldnt mind winning games if it meant not having a shower.
Balanced bias
05/05/2011, 3:15 PM
Obviously some clubs will have more money that others from pubs, gate receipts, sponsorship etc but what’s to stop any junior league club doing their own fundraising and been able to afford some sort of shed with seats where players can get changed! Not much to ask at premier level.
I heard the new pike dressing rooms are top notch and also congrats to AA for their new surface. A lot of clubs improving facilities around the town which can only be good for Limerick football.
Who do ye think will go down now lads? Mungret will be up against it I feel!
abbeyvale
05/05/2011, 4:59 PM
are yee still playing in lee estate abbey.
We sure do
hoops38
05/05/2011, 6:38 PM
the junior international team have many grounds that are their own since they are representing their country and the fai owns most of the grounds where they play,unlike a certain senior team in our town who went cap in hand to junior clubs for yrs
lfc at heart
06/05/2011, 8:32 AM
the junior international team have many grounds that are their own since they are representing their country and the fai owns most of the grounds where they play,unlike a certain senior team in our town who went cap in hand to junior clubs for yrs
dont understand the last part of the statement, what club is it,how do you mean and when did this happen
06/05/2011, 8:47 AM
I don't think lfc at heart was having a dig at the Irish junior international team he was just saying having your own facilities while it being great to have is not the be all and end all if you get to where you are on the pitch. If changing rooms and showers where a must have for premier then teams like Newport wouldn't ever be allowed into the premier even though they have two fantastic pitches and a lovely Astro turf but haven't built a clubhouse yet. Personally I'd prefer to change at my car knowing I was going out to play on a decent pitch ahead of changing in dressing rooms with showers and go out onto a terrible and dangerous pitch.
lfc at heart
06/05/2011, 9:24 AM
your right no way was I having a dig at the irish Junior team, I was just making a point that they play in other clubs grounds and thats great i wish they would come and play in Limerick some time, would love to see them play.
theboywonder8
06/05/2011, 12:20 PM
Anyone new brought into it panel?
theboywonder8
06/05/2011, 1:33 PM
Oscar traynor panel I meant,or is it same squad,they should beat Kerry,
theboywonder8
06/05/2011, 2:11 PM
Any sign of faces,I'm sure he would have had a lot to say about some of the comments that were made about kilmallock,personally I think they are doing a very good job down there and a lot of the comments were very very harsh,and also balbec is right in saying that a lot of his players have been approached by a certain club in town,because one of them works with me and he was approached,they have a lot of very good players down there and it's no surprise they're wanted in town,looks like they're staying up again fair play to them,would like to hear what faces has to say?
Market's Field
06/05/2011, 3:12 PM
Change the record, it's getting boring :yawn:...
Balanced bias
06/05/2011, 4:15 PM
Oscar traynor panel I meant,or is it same squad,they should beat Kerry,
Id say they will stick with the same team with maybe Grant making way for Clarke to come in up front with Barry. God help the Kerry defenders marking them 2.
Kerry is a tough place to go to and get a result as many oscar traynor teams have leanred over the last few years.
I would imagine -
nevllie
cleary
goggin
mcgarry
colbert
P. boyle
hartnett
coner kav
hughes
clarke
barry
blinkx
06/05/2011, 5:39 PM
Change the record, it's getting boring :yawn:...
Back to the Limerick forums with you so.
Balbec77
06/05/2011, 7:43 PM
Any sign of faces,I'm sure he would have had a lot to say about some of the comments that were made about kilmallock,personally I think they are doing a very good job down there and a lot of the comments were very very harsh,and also balbec is right in saying that a lot of his players have been approached by a certain club in town,because one of them works with me and he was approached,they have a lot of very good players down there and it's no surprise they're wanted in town,looks like they're staying up again fair play to them,would like to hear what faces has to say?
think he is banned so you will be waiting to hear from him.i think he is gone next year so it wont trouble him too much who approaches who.that will be up to the new manager.
Market's Field
06/05/2011, 9:13 PM
Back to the Limerick forums with you so.
Some of us are capable of supporting both junior and senior soccer
hoops38
06/05/2011, 9:38 PM
your right no way was I having a dig at the irish Junior team, I was just making a point that they play in other clubs grounds and thats great i wish they would come and play in Limerick some time, would love to see them play.
point taken