View Full Version : Limerick Premier Division 2010/11

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 [25] 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44

TopperHarley
26/01/2011, 10:05 AM
It needed to be highlighted because currently it is not acceptable for certain referees to be officiating premier league games when they are not of the proper standard. How else should we voice our opinions? This is a forum to discuss such matters I was led to believe. Standards have dropped so low that it needs to be addressed or players and management will get disillusioned. This may sound OTT but this has been the feedback regarding refereeing standards for a long time now and its only getting steadily worse.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Lads ye can moan all ye want but nobody is coming up with any ideas of how to to get better refs?
The LDMC can only work with what they have...Where are these super refs gonna come from??are any former players takin up refin?No becuse its a lot easier bitch on the sideline than it is to make the call on the pitch...if these guys didnt do it nobody else will and then thered be no ball to play on a sunday morning..

leather
26/01/2011, 11:07 AM
just a quick questions lads,,,, if a player was sent off last sunday in his locla league and has a provincial fixture this comming sunday , can he play this sunday??? my reading of it would be yes he can as any suspension would have too be served locally as he was sent off in a local competition...genuine question and no smart answers about if not affecting the boro...helping a mate out...

thomas72
26/01/2011, 11:29 AM
just a quick questions lads,,,, if a player was sent off last sunday in his locla league and has a provincial fixture this comming sunday , can he play this sunday??? my reading of it would be yes he can as any suspension would have too be served locally as he was sent off in a local competition...genuine question and no smart answers about if not affecting the boro...helping a mate out...

yes he can play if the sending was in his local league he will only miss next LOCAL comp IE local cup or league.

faces
26/01/2011, 1:13 PM
yes he can play if the sending was in his local league he will only miss next LOCAL comp IE local cup or league.

spot on lad as we were in same situation and enquired and he was able to play.

blueboy2
26/01/2011, 4:41 PM
Dont think so F.A.I. rule says he misses next game no matter what competition his team are playing in.

nononsense
26/01/2011, 5:24 PM
Dont think so F.A.I. rule says he misses next game no matter what competition his team are playing in.

Incorrect. Faces and Thomas72 are correct.

tedd11
26/01/2011, 5:24 PM
there are loads of posts on the last few pages about refereeing standards etc.you have to agree with some of the points being made from club representatives and also from the ldmc.it is true that without refs there would be no ball on a sunday.there is one question i have tho.how come every time pike play fairview in a league game on a sunday morning that they also get linesmen?im sure they pay the linesmen but as far as im concerned its a disgrace.i dont see linesmen for any other premier fixture or any other game pike and fairview play which isnt against each other.i dont think its right that other matches/teams/fixtures are potentially suffering having poorer referrees in place or having no ref at all just to inflate the ego of pike and fairview for there games.by all accounts linesmen should be allowed for munster junior/fai home ties in the afternoon when there is alot at stake in latter rounds of national trophies.having them in normal league games is a total joke and is very unfair on every other team playing in the premier division on the same morning and teams in lower divisions whose games are potentially called off.the LDMC need to look at it.

also a suggestion for the LDMC would be to set aside a pool of 7-8 refs to just do premier games above any other.that would cover the top division every sunday.there are at least 4 refs who i always found to be very good in games

mogus
26/01/2011, 5:34 PM
there are loads of posts on the last few pages about refereeing standards etc.you have to agree with some of the points being made from club representatives and also from the ldmc.it is true that without refs there would be no ball on a sunday.there is one question i have tho.how come every time pike play fairview in a league game on a sunday morning that they also get linesmen?im sure they pay the linesmen but as far as im concerned its a disgrace.i dont see linesmen for any other premier fixture or any other game pike and fairview play which isnt against each other.i dont think its right that other matches/teams/fixtures are potentially suffering having poorer referrees in place or having no ref at all just to inflate the ego of pike and fairview for there games.by all accounts linesmen should be allowed for munster junior/fai home ties in the afternoon when there is alot at stake in latter rounds of national trophies.having them in normal league games is a total joke and is very unfair on every other team playing in the premier division on the same morning and teams in lower divisions whose games are potentially called off.the LDMC need to look at it.

also a suggestion for the LDMC would be to set aside a pool of 7-8 refs to just do premier games above any other.that would cover the top division every sunday.there are at least 4 refs who i always found to be very good in games
firstly you can have linesman in any home fixture as long as your willing to pay and the refs are available and secondly lower division teams pay the exact same fees as premier teams so why should ye get preferential treatment

tedd11
26/01/2011, 6:04 PM
firstly you can have linesman in any home fixture as long as your willing to pay and the refs are available and secondly lower division teams pay the exact same fees as premier teams so why should ye get preferential treatment

i know you can have linesmen in any home fixture mogus but since the pool of refs isnt exactly huge and so many people complain about them my point was that i dont think linesmen should be allowed for any league game regardless of what team is playing or what division there in.its taking away 2 potential referees from 2 other fixtures in the town that could be played.
regarding your second comment maybe i misquoted.i didnt mean that no other division should get there games played ahead of premier games.after all its only junior soccer and everybody is entitled to a game on a sunday no matter what division your in.but the truth is there are some refs out there who are not fit enough for premier games where the pace is alot quicker.that seems to be whats causing most of the arguments not the referees ability.

lfc at heart
26/01/2011, 6:30 PM
wernt linesmen suppose to be introduced for Premier and d1a game from this season onwards. if it happens it will break a lot of clubs, €100+ per game, clubs cant afford that

abbeyvale
26/01/2011, 11:54 PM
Predictions
Sun 30/01/11
Mungret Reg X Aisling Annacotty,
Carew Park 1 Corbally Utd,
Star Rvs X Regional Utd,
Janesboro 1 Shannon Town,

Noddy
27/01/2011, 11:19 AM
"its taking away 2 potential referees from 2 other fixtures in the town that could be played"

Totally agree with this. There isn't enough decent refs in town to be doing this. The Regional v Boro game was officated by a ref who would have been refereeing in the lower leagues that morning if it weren't for this and hence both teams suffered as the ref was completely out of his depth

thomas72
30/01/2011, 12:28 PM
carew park 1 corbally 0

fully deserved 3pts by carew not many chances in the game carew had a great chance in a even first half which hit the bar. 2nd half carew up the tempo and domanaited the game again without creating many chances corbally defended very well carew should of a a pen mid way through the half IMO. winning goal came from a fantastic ball from steven grant through to dermot o shea who finished very well into the bottom corner with 5mins remaining.

leather
30/01/2011, 2:02 PM
Boro 5 Shannon o
First half not great. Big improvement in second half

tedd11
30/01/2011, 3:15 PM
carew park 1 corbally 0

fully deserved 3pts by carew not many chances in the game carew had a great chance in a even first half which hit the bar. 2nd half carew up the tempo and domanaited the game again without creating many chances corbally defended very well carew should of a a pen mid way through the half IMO. winning goal came from a fantastic ball from steven grant through to dermot o shea who finished very well into the bottom corner with 5mins remaining.
wouldnt exactly agree with you there thomas.we were gutted not to get a point this morning.a very level game with little chances on target by both teams.i do admit carew were on top in the last 20mins but the fact that albert slattery and mark keane played so well today shows that ye didnt have it all yer own way.we had plenty of possession in the final 3rd but werent clinical enough today.regarding the penalty claim ive seen them given but also have seen them not given.the ref had a good view of it so you have to give him the benefit of the doubt.carew have a great bunch of young players coming through who were a real handful today.defo think they will push up the league now with there games in hand.all in all a good game today and a good battle but id be more of the opinion that carew shaded it thomas more so than fully deserved it.

widow
31/01/2011, 10:31 AM
Star 1-6 Regional

Star and shannon look doomed

pearse4t3
31/01/2011, 10:53 AM
KBO Premier Lge P W D L F A Pts
Fairview Rgs 14 13 0 1 38 15 39
Pike Rovers 12 11 0 1 39 8 33
Regional Utd 13 9 2 2 31 14 29
Ballynanty Rovers 12 4 4 4 28 26 16
Janesboro 12 5 1 6 21 26 16
Mungret Reg 13 4 3 6 25 29 15
Carew Park 10 4 2 4 19 15 14
Corbally Utd 12 4 2 6 14 23 14
Aisling Annacotty 11 4 0 7 18 25 12
Star Rvs 13 3 2 8 17 35 11
Kilmallock 10 3 1 6 23 20 10
Shannon Town 14 0 1 13 10 47 1

KBO Premier League
Janesboro v Star Rvs, 11.00, T Duggan
Kilmallock v Carew Park, 11.00, R McCann
Mungret Reg v Pike Rvs, 11.00, M Kiely
Fairview Rgs v Corbally Utd, 11.00, S Jordon
(Provisional Fixture)
Ballynanty Rvs V Aisling/A, 11.00, K Gorman

booster 03
01/02/2011, 5:02 PM
Star 1-6 Regional

Star and shannon look doomed

star will stay up at corballys expense

thomas72
01/02/2011, 5:39 PM
star will stay up at corballys expense

i think corbally will be grand they will pick up points.

tedd11
01/02/2011, 6:37 PM
lads its very hard yet to say who will go down apart from shannon who look doomed.a couple of good results can put any of the bottom aint clear in 4th.alot of football to be played yet with alot of different teams winning every week.no team can afford to be getting complacent.alot of big games ahead

True Supporter
01/02/2011, 7:00 PM
My predictions:

Janesboro v Star Rvs 4-0
Kilmallock v Carew Park 2-2
Mungret Reg v Pike Rvs 1-4
Fairview Rgs v Corbally Utd 2-0
(Provisional Fixture)
Ballynanty Rvs V Aisling/A 2-1

nosebleds
02/02/2011, 11:31 PM
::do u think pike or fairview would be as strong or meybe stronger than a few teams in the league of ireland 1st div.

lfc at heart
03/02/2011, 2:57 PM
maybe not stronger but would give probally the lower 3 teams a run for their money

twohalves
03/02/2011, 3:18 PM
::do u think pike or fairview would be as strong or meybe stronger than a few teams in the league of ireland 1st div.
Straight answer..No, it's a huge step up. Just ask Salthill Devons and Mervue,both very strong junior sides who went senior and they finished at the bottom of the league last season with 34 points between them! And they would have strengthened their sides even when going senior.

True Supporter
03/02/2011, 4:09 PM
They would give teams a good battle but I think they would be not no match for the top half of the league

leather
05/02/2011, 1:17 PM
Ldmc have informed us that all matches are on tomorrow even though parts of our pitch are under water
Another stupid decision by the most inept bunch of idiots in football. Will they help the clubs with the cost of repairing their pitches. Also helps to better the standard by playing in the mud

'El Nino'
05/02/2011, 1:21 PM
Would you recommend summer soccer leather ?

leather
05/02/2011, 1:51 PM
Would you recommend summer soccer leather ?

Yes. And hopefully with a committee that were interested in promoting football and no behaving like a bunch of td's in dail eireann

Balbec77
05/02/2011, 2:03 PM
what a joke there going to make carew travel out again to kilmallock and our pitch is flooded a bunch of muppets not fair on carew

05/02/2011, 2:59 PM
Haven't seen our pitch yet(coonagh) but every field or green area on this side of town is under water. Disgraceful.

faces
05/02/2011, 3:34 PM
how come when you ring ldmc and tell them the pitch is waterlogged they still make carew travel and say its up to the ref.will the ref see somthing we dont see.maybe its got to do with half fees for the refs.

lfc at heart
05/02/2011, 3:58 PM
lucky we have no home games in Cals park this weekend the pitch is under 2" of water, does anyone know how granvilles and northsides pitch looks

thomas72
05/02/2011, 4:27 PM
how come when you ring ldmc and tell them the pitch is waterlogged they still make carew travel and say its up to the ref.will the ref see somthing we dont see.maybe its got to do with half fees for the refs.

FFS this carry on needs to stop how stupid are these people

05/02/2011, 5:23 PM
Past northsides pitch earlier today, the near goal mouth has a big puddle in it. Both coonagh and hydes pitches are unplayable but we have been informed the ref will decide tomorrow if this game goes ahead.

faces
05/02/2011, 6:13 PM
Past northsides pitch earlier today, the near goal mouth has a big puddle in it. Both coonagh and hydes pitches are unplayable but we have been informed the ref will decide tomorrow if this game goes ahead.

all pitches are unplayable as we all know except about 10 people.always the same that crowd. adog with a mallet up his **** knows they wont go ahead.

The Dark Knight
05/02/2011, 6:41 PM
We all who is to blame, the Fixture Secretary. It's up to the clubs to vote him out of his position at the next AGM, but like previous incumbents, the clubs weren't willing to stand up and be counted.

blueboy2
05/02/2011, 6:52 PM
Only problem is you have to be 2 years on council before you can run for fixtures secretary and none of them down there want to do it.

old git
05/02/2011, 9:15 PM
Ldmc have informed us that all matches are on tomorrow even though parts of our pitch are under water
Another stupid decision by the most inept bunch of idiots in football. Will they help the clubs with the cost of repairing their pitches. Also helps to better the standard by playing in the mud

looks like you near neighbours in clare have a better bunch of people involved in clare league # all league & cup games postponed for tomorrow crazy to expect teams to travel tomorrow knowing full well 99% of pitches uplayable today ... some clubs must have even had schoolboy games called off today so with refs at pitches could they not have contacted league and advised pitches uplayable ..:mad:

Sunday 06/02/11
Prego Menswear Clare Cup First Round
Kilrush: West Clare United P-P Avenue United
P.Dunne 2.30

Tiermaclane: Manus Celtic B P-P Hermitage B
D.Brosnan 2.30

Cragg Tulla: Tulla United A P-P Kilrush Rangers
D.Hehir 2.30

Lisdoonvarna: Sporting Ennistymon P-P Rock Rovers
D.McCarthy 11.00

Cassidy Pk: Lifford P-P Hermitage C
T.White 2.30

Sixmilebridge: Bridge United B P-P Kildysart Celtic
T.Guilfoyle 2.30

Rineanna: Rineanna Rovers A P-P Ruan United
P.Sutton 11.00

Bridgetown: Mountshannon Celtic P-P Bridge Celtic A
J.Stanford 2.30

Kilkishen: Kilkishen Celtic P-P Manus Celtic A
T.McInerney 2.30

Note: In event of a draw 10 mins e/w extra time and penalties if necessary.

Husquarna Maloney Garden Machinery Premier Division League
Bunratty: Bunratty A P-P Newmarket Celtic A
M.O`Brien 2.30

Fairgreen: Hermitage A P-P Bridge United A
P.Gleeson 2.30

Prego Menswear First Division League
Lees Road: Avenue United B P-P Burren United
P.Gleeson 11.00

Lees Road: Turnpike Rovers P-P Corofin Harps
M.Monaghan 2.00

Shannon: Shannon Olympic A P-P Connolly Celtic
J.Murray 2.30

Sel Print Second Division League
Lees Road: Rhine Rovers P-P Inch Crusaders
T.Molloy 11.00

Tiermaclane: Kilmaley United P-P Moher Celtic
F.Coote 2.30

Suttons Lighting Third Division League
Cooraclare: Cooraclare Celtic P-P Tulla United B
M.Talty 11.00

Bridgetown: Bridge Celtic B P-P Shannon Olympic B
M.Maxwell 2.30

Gort: Coole F.C P-P Treaty Celtic
B.Corry 2.30

buddygeary23
05/02/2011, 10:36 PM
Most games if not all games are called off in the Desmond league tomorrow..I'd say 98% of games are off so far

Fairkop
06/02/2011, 9:43 AM
lads, this is going since the big freeze,we had to make two payouts to refs already and they were doing there best to hold in the laughter when collecting the money.we have had nearly 30 hours of non stop rain and our man says the refs will decide.
There is more to this than meets the eye as he can`t be that thick all the time.
The referees claim that it is up to the fix. sec. but this pushes the boat out a bit much today.

abbeyvale
06/02/2011, 1:03 PM
Fairview Rgs 15 14 0 1 41 16 42
Pike Rovers 13 12 0 1 46 9 36
Ballynanty Rovers 13 5 4 4 30 26 19
Janesboro 13 5 1 7 23 29 16
Mungret Reg 14 4 3 7 26 36 15
Carew Park 11 4 2 5 19 16 14
Corbally Utd 13 4 2 7 15 26 14
Star Rvs 14 4 2 8 20 37 14
Kilmallock 11 4 1 6 24 20 13
Aisling Annacotty 12 4 0 8 18 27 12

KBO Premier League
Janesboro 2-3 Star Rvs,
Kilmallock 1-0 Carew Park,
Mungret Reg 1-7 Pike Rvs,
Fairview Rgs 3-1 Corbally Utd,
Ballynanty Rvs 2-0 Aisling/A,

Sun 13/02/11
Corbally Utd v Mungret Reg, 11.00, M Weldon

abbeyvale
06/02/2011, 1:12 PM
Janesboro 2-3 Star Rvs,

Great game on a great surface.
Star went 1-0 up on roughly 40mins through a great strike from Kevin Barry from outside the area against his former club, to lead 1nil at the break.
Boro equalized on 55mins through Shane Clarke when his shot squeezed past debutant keeper for Star Mike Fitz,
Star then went ahead again on 70mins through a goal from Paul Lonergan from inside the area, but Boro were awarded a peno on 75mins, and again Clarke finished well.
With the scorline level at 2-2 and time running out, Star got the winner through Alan O'Carroll on 85mins with a neat finish from insde the 6yard box.
Boro then had a great chance to level in the dying minutes but once again Star's new keeper Mike Fitz stood tall to make a treble save.

Star's team:
M Fitz, G Roche, P Collins, A Morton, P Lyons, B O'Doherty, P Lonergan, Dale McNamara, K Barry, T Butler, D Hannon.
Res: R Flynn (for P Lonergan), A O'Carroll (for T Butler), D McNamara, G Tully, G Walters, G Busoli, K O'Doherty, M McDonnell, D Clancy.

allab
06/02/2011, 1:12 PM
Fairview Rgs 14 13 0 1 38 15 39
Ballynanty Rovers 12 4 4 4 28 26 16
Corbally Utd 12 4 2 6 14 23 14
Aisling Annacotty 11 4 0 7 18 25 12

KBO Premier League
Janesboro 2-3 Star Rvs,
Fairview Rgs v Corbally Utd, (Provisional Fixture)
Ballynanty Rvs V Aisling/A,

balla won 2 nil

barryk
06/02/2011, 2:17 PM
all pitches are unplayable as we all know except about 10 people.always the same that crowd. adog with a mallet up his **** knows they wont go ahead.

Some people with eggs on faces.
Pitches were perfect.
I think your all getting too soft. As for damages to the pitch nothing that a fork and a few days break would not sort out.
As for your summer soccer be prepared to lose a large number of teams if you revert to to GAA clashing not to mention anyone who has kids on Summer holidays.
Toughen up!

mundener
06/02/2011, 2:29 PM
Pitches were perfect.
I think your all getting too soft. As for damages to the pitch nothing that a fork and a few days break would not sort out.
As for your summer soccer be prepared to lose a large number of teams if you revert to to GAA clashing not to mention anyone who has kids on Summer holidays.
Toughen up!

well said.

nosebleds
06/02/2011, 4:27 PM
i see the pike rovers bandwagon is rolling over everthing in its path.:ball:

Fairkop
06/02/2011, 4:35 PM
i see the pike rovers bandwagon is rolling over everthing in its path.:ball:yep and with the squad pike have thats exactly what should be expected.by all accounts ref blew up early.

HuRya
06/02/2011, 5:33 PM
Fairview Rgs 15 14 0 1 41 16 42
Ballynanty Rovers 13 5 4 4 30 26 19
Corbally Utd 13 4 2 7 15 26 14
Aisling Annacotty 12 4 0 8 18 27 12

KBO Premier League
Janesboro 2-3 Star Rvs,
Fairview Rgs 3-1 Corbally Utd,
Ballynanty Rvs 2-0 Aisling/A

tedd11
06/02/2011, 6:52 PM
fairview 3-1 corbally.corbally took the lead after 25mins through ken neylon after a mix up in fairview defence.fairview equalised on 30mins through jonathan grant and it ended up level at half time.both teams came out of the blocks fast in second half but fairview got a break on 55mins when darren harrington finished well from outside the box from a breaking ball.corbally pushed on chasing an equaliser and were denied a stonewall penalty after 70mins which could have swung things.fairview scored a third through a james hayes deflected shot on 75mins which sealed the points.a good battle of a game and a fairly level game but in fairness to fairview they got 4 shots on target and scored 3 goals and unfortunately for us we had plenty of chances but couldnt get the second goal needed.afew dodgy decisions by ref today from which both sides had very dubious penalty decisions ordered against them.corbally have alot to take from this game but need to get afew more points on the board.on a final note the fairgreen was in excellent condition today considering the rain that fell over the weekend.overall it was good to see most games going ahead.maybe it isnt the worse thing to let the refs make the call on a sunday morning.

faces
07/02/2011, 8:15 AM
Pitches were perfect.
Toughen up!
have to admit i got it wrong.our pitch was in great nick considering the weather we got and great credit due to our groundsman.